You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Former Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi PA Images

Ousted Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi dies after collapsing in court

Morsi was deposed by a military coup in July 2013.

FORMER EGYPTIAN PRESIDENT Mohamed Morsi died today in a Cairo hospital after apparently fainting during a session in court.

“He was speaking before the judge for 20 minutes then became very animated and fainted. He was quickly rushed to the hospital where he later died,” a judicial source said.

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, a strong ally of the Islamist president during his brief tenure as Egypt’s leader, paid tribute to Morsi and called him a “martyr”.

The official Al-Ahram news website also reported the death of Morsi, 67, who was Egypt’s first democratically elected president but spent just one turbulent year in office after the 2011 uprising before the army toppled him in 2013.

The Islamist leader has been in prison since his ouster on trial for several cases including for spying for Iran, Qatar and militant groups such as Hamas in the Gaza Strip. He was also accused of plotting terror acts.

Since his overthrow on July 3, 2013, his former defence minister – now President – Abdel Fattah al-Sisi has waged an ongoing crackdown targeting his supporters from the Muslim Brotherhood, with thousands jailed and hundreds facing death sentences.

The years following Morsi’s overthrow have seen a surge in bombings and shootings targeting security forces, particularly in the restive northern Sinai Peninsula, a stronghold of the Islamic State group.

Morsi’s turbulent rule was marked by deep divisions in Egyptian society, a crippling economic crisis and often-deadly opposition protests.

- © AFP, 2019

View 35 comments
35 Comments
    Mute Jason Kilroy
    Favourite Jason Kilroy
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:56 PM

Why was Martin not aware of taping given this had been going on for decades, and so whilst he was in Government?

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:17 PM

You mean to say that Shatter stills has the audacity to stay in Office and that An Taoiseach hasn’t fired him !
    Is there a reason ? Does he have something on Enda too – like he had on a number of other TD’s ? – or maybe he thought he did !
    It’s comedic at this stage – but it is no longer amusing to anyone on the Island of Ireland – we are the laughing stock all round at this stage !

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:59 PM

Correct me if I’m wrong here….but didn’t the recordings start when FF were in power??

If so, was the then minister for justice aware of the recordings?

I know the attention us pointing towards Shatter…but who implemented the process in the first place? That’s the real issue here

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:03 PM

Exactly. FF would like us to believe that the rot set in the day FG took office, but anyone who isn’t Seanie can see right through that. This culture of corruption and cronyism in the police force was fostered by FF, who were indulging in corruption and cronyism of their own at the time.

The hypocrisy of FF is sickening. That people believe a word that comes from the party is tragic.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:08 PM

From 81 to 87 fine Gael were steering the ship, save for a few months in 82. So it’s a strong possibility they were involved in the establishment of phone recording, currently elected ministers were TD’s then too…..

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:13 PM

The key difference is that a FF Minister for Justice was never informed about it. So how could they act on sonething they did not know was happening.

Reg
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:14 PM

And Fianna Fail were in government from 1987 until 2011 save for two and a half years in the mid ’90s. And they have history when iy comes to bugging!

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:18 PM

I thought they started under Noonan in 1984.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:22 PM

Seanie it seems “somewhat incredible and very difficult to comprehend” that the FF Minister for Justice was never informed about it. These were substantial operations, started under Fianna Fail, in budgets signed off by Fianna Fail Departments, no doubt with recorders supplied by Fianna Fail friends and family at a fat mark-up to retail price.

Micheal Martin really is a hypocritic slimeball

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:26 PM

Remember the phone tapping scandal of ’82, Seanie? Sean ‘the doc’ Doherty sure knew what was going on. As did Haughey, corrupt gombeen that he was. Your insidious party knows all about phone tapping.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:36 PM

There is no proof that anyone in FF knew what was going on or approved of it at any stage.

If you can’t prove it then you should shut your trap and focus on what we see coming out.

If clear proof comes out then I’ll be the first to condemn any past Minister involved.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:41 PM

Will you condemn Doherty and Haughey? It’s unequivocal fact that they knew what was going on in the early ’80s.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:45 PM

I think there is enough going on at the moment without raking through the ashes of the 1980′s. Doherty resigned from FF under pressure after it came out. There is no reason to believe that Haughey knew.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:49 PM

Seanie there are many things Fianna Fail were responsible for and profited personally from, the proof of which has long been destroyed.

Michael Martin should take your advice and cease asking innuendo-laden questions if he has no proof either. Fianna Fail can’t have it both ways. It is easily proven that the recording system originated 30 years prior to this Government; perhaps it was an immaculate conception and the devices just came into being. It seems more likely Fianna Fail approved them though, doesn’t it?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:54 PM

Are you serious? Do you not know why Haughey resigned, in disgrace, in ’92? Because Doherty publicly stated that he had informed Haughey, personally, about the phone tapping in the early ’80s. You haven’t a clue what you’re talking about, mate.

Better start condemning, unless you want to seen as a hypocrite.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:11 PM

if you check back you will also find that one Michael Noonan was minister for justice the same Michael Noonan who was wheeled out to discuss this with miriam o callaghan on prime time when this story broke last week…funny miriam did not feel it necessary to ask noonan was he aware of this when he was justice minister…

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:17 PM

Fianna Fail’s argument is that all Ministers for Justice prior to Shatter have an amnesty; that also covers Noonan presumably. Shatter has to take all the blame, it’s what the people want.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:24 PM

I was three at the time, how is it relevant to me.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:31 PM

FF are as guilty as a puppy sitting next to a pile of poo

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:28 PM

Sean, it is relevant to you because that’s how long the bugging/tapping/recording has being going on.
    You can’t on the one hand cry foul and ask for the head of the minister, and then on the other hand claim ignorance and infantilism as excuses for your less than even-handed outlook.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:42 PM

Seanie – you dig the FF hole even deeper for yourself constantly – you must have extremely mucky clothes on you at this stage ?

Mute Declan Pollard
    Favourite Declan Pollard
    Apr 2nd 2014, 7:49 AM

The phone tapping was implemented when the provisional IRA were active. The reason for this was they could record somebody ringing up to warn if there was a bombing going to take place.

Apr 1st 2014, 4:58 PM

I see Enda is going to chair this new committee to review the recordings. Looks like Enda has already voted no confidence in Shatter.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:47 PM

The Cabinet sub-committee is involved in reviewing the legislation to set up a new civilian Garda monitoring body, which is being fast tracked following recent events. The Committee has nothing to do with reviewing the recordings. That investigation will be carried out by the Supreme Court judge appointed today.

You may have your opinions Kerry, but you can’t have the facts.

Mute Robert Zombies
    Favourite Robert Zombies
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:18 PM

The statisticians that measure corruption in governments may want to revise them. Our lot are up there with worst of them.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:46 PM

Fine gaels credibility is decimated at this stage,and will only get worse.The die is cast and theres nothing left for the drowning rats to cling on to.

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:32 PM

Caretaker gov then elections it’s the only way who in their right mind would believe this lot

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:18 PM

and with all parties aware of what was happening since the 80s its funny not one party in govt or opposition called halt or asked questions of the justice minister of the day….then along comes a couple of independent deputies and 2 brave whistleblowers who despite shatter actions and in the case of the whistleblowers not one single ounce of support from the GRA eventually opened up this can of worms….

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:14 PM

list of ministers for justice is a whose who of party heavy weights, including mcdowell,mitchell,geoghan quinn,noonan, lenihan jrn,noonan and we had ff/pd govts,ff/lab fg/lab, fg rainbow coalition,ff/greens the whole lot of them were aware what was going on….

Mute Nicole McCormack
    Favourite Nicole McCormack
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:17 PM

What a waster Martin is. As much credibility as US state dept official. Man couldn’t lie straight in bed. Seems shatter proven right. As much as I don’t want it to be true.

Mute Fiona Heneghan
    Favourite Fiona Heneghan
    Apr 1st 2014, 6:44 PM

Same sh1t different day!

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:23 PM

Martin – all these phone tapping happened under fianna fails watch

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:16 PM

I realise Micheál is not the brightest, but I doubt he actually said “inconceviable”.

Your quotes, not mine. Christ.

Mute The_five_lamps
    Favourite The_five_lamps
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:50 PM

I’m no Fine Gael cheerleader but, in all fairness, same question could be asked of 9 Fianna Fáil Justice ministers (excluding Brian Lenihan Jnr), 4 Fine Gael and 1 PD over the past 30 years. When it comes to Finance and Justice, the point scoring attempts by here by Fianna Fáil is a little bit pathetic. Do they think the people of this country are goldfish?!!!