You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA

Fr Brian D'Arcy receives OBE at Buckingham Palace

D’Arcy said he would celebrate by going for fish and chips with his family.

FR BRIAN D’ARCY has received an Order of the British Empire (OBE) today for his contribution to cross-community relations in Northern Ireland over the last 25 years.

Fr D’Arcy spoke to RTÉ’s Ray D’Arcy earlier today after receiving the OBE from Prince William at Buckingham Palace.

He said after the deaths of a number of his friends recently including Gay Byrne, Marian Finucane and Larry Gogan, it had been “nice to get something to celebrate about than be in grief about”.

“It was something that was offered some time ago and then they offered it again coming up to the end of last year. They were pretty keen that someone would step forward, because the political situation in the North was so bad and nothing was happening and they were just looking to increase some form of cross-community relations and some form of help towards a healing path,” he explained.

He said he had reservations initially about accepting the OBE because he did not feel he should be getting an award for something he “should be doing as a priest anyway”.

When asked about the current situation in Northern Ireland, Fr D’Arcy said “Brexit has not been very helpful to anyone in the North” and he added that political leadership has been “at an all time low” for some time.

He said Prince William was familiar with his work and told Fr D’Arcy that he underestimates his own work.

“It was very nice of him to say that, you know,” D’Arcy said.

The priest said he told  Prince William that he was praying for the royal family as it is going through a difficult period.

After the ceremony, he said he was celebrating the award by going out for fish and chip with his two sisters and his brother-in-law.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:04 PM

This is what the government wants. Leo was slagging Mary Lou for suggesting she’d like to drive house prices down. He prioritises the poor, poor homeowners going into a few grand of negative equity over the next generation being able to afford their own home and start their own family. FFG are creating a demographics crisis only solvable by immigration because young people cannot afford to move out and start their own families. All because, oh boo hoo, some poor homeowner will lose some money as FFG have commodified a basic need, housing.

Mute Furious George - The Wasp
    Favourite Furious George - The Wasp
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:08 PM

@Sean Murphy: spot on Sean

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:43 PM

@Sean Murphy:
    The only problem with that is homeowners outnumber non homeowners,
    And are more likely to vote.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Jan 3rd 2024, 3:31 PM

@Sean Murphy: the other issue with that is it is nonsense. It is a global issue, with many driving factors, but supply being the main one, yet you and Mary Lou castigate developers. Where is the sense in this? What do you suggest to alter this? Driving house prices down then punishes generations who have paid for their homes, namely parents and grandparents of the people you say are being punished. So actual ideas please, not negative rhetoric espoused by Mary Lou.

Mute ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Favourite ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere
    Jan 3rd 2024, 3:51 PM

@Sean Murphy: @Sean Murphy: You’re correct. Except in one respect.

Home owners would not lose money if their property declined in value unless
    1) They happened to be very recent buyers
    2) They had to sell

These two conditions would have to occur simultaneously, and would be very improbable.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 4:29 PM

@Sean Murphy: A few home owners going a few grand into negative equity…lol,it’s a lot more complicated that that….every building site in the country would shut down as it wouldn’t be worth their while in finishing them…..cost would be the same to build,and if the prices were devalued nobody else would build…..it is the stupidest idea I’ve ever heard from sf(and that’s saying something)……also imagine you just spent 450 on a home and this happened?…..it’s gas,I always hear people in here giving out about greed,The people hosing this happens are the most selfish people I’ve ever come across…anyway it’s a stupid idea because it can’t happen,it’s just thrown out there to try and gain more half wit voters like yourself.

Jan 3rd 2024, 5:05 PM

@John Terry: There has been an enormous increase in the cost of some building materials over the past couple of years.
    There is no reason the cost cannot decline back to more reasonable levels.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:15 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: We don’t have a say in the cost of building supplies,also people keep demanding wage increases(understandable)but they all effect the cost of housing.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:18 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Do people actually think that a government CAN Actually do as Mary Lou eluded to….No,they can’t,it’s impossible…….Of course they didn’t give any details as to how they would do it(because it can’t be done)….

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:25 PM

@Sean Murphy: Agree totally, the first signs of our Housing Crisis appeared over ten years ago, I remember in 2016, Simon Coveney Fine Gael was Minister for Housing and everyone but him and FFG could see that we would need to start building and soon but Coveney vanished under his desk and buried his head in the sand, his successors were no better and because they sat on their arses doing nothing the problem kept escalating.
    This was pre-covid, before the Ukraine war and before the genocide in the Middle East. Failure to prepare and all that jazz.

Jan 3rd 2024, 5:40 PM

@John Terry: Dear me!

I though you were a believer in market economics.

Except when it can work for the benefit of the people, I suppose.

We’ve been told that the increase in the cost of building materials was due to the exceptional increase in the cost of energy.
    We saw increases elsewhere too, such as in food costs.
    As the cost of energy falls, should we not expect a fall in the cost of these building materials?
    If the state became involved in building large quantities of homes, then the purchasing power of buying in quantity should also allow price reductions.

Look, I understand that current government parties have no imagination or vision, but you should at least be able to recognise that not everyone here is incompetent.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:45 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I agree that prices ‘should’ come down but i doubt they will to the level they were at.Our purchasing power is tiny compared to other eu nations so don’t make it sound like we have some clout when it comes to buying power……and as for present government having no vision(I agree)but look at the ‘vision’ SF have,it’s laughable and worrying in equal measures……measures like devaluation and pretty much everything else they say.Time will tell.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 3rd 2024, 7:07 PM

@John Terry: after the economic crash 08 the cost building materials only decreased marginally, unlike labour:(

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jan 4th 2024, 1:44 AM

@John Terry: A house in Leitrim uses the same materials as a house in Dublin. Usually more as they are built bigger with more space. The cost of land is where the real rip off comes and it is all a scam. We will see at the next election just how much of an effect this has. I think SF will power ahead exclusively on the back of housing.

Mute Octaviolet
    Favourite Octaviolet
    Jan 4th 2024, 5:42 AM

@P.J. Nolan: are you having an actual laugh? Homeowners do not outnumber non-homeowners in this country.

Mute Spanner
    Favourite Spanner
    Jan 4th 2024, 3:28 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: The negative equity argument used to keep house prices high is redundant. No home owner goes into negative equity until they decideto sell the house. Up to that point its a residence or in some cases an investment property. Like everything else prices fluctuate but as homeowners we base our wealth on the current value of the house over the original purchase value. The government use the supply issue to keep house prices infllated and so appeal to their voter base. If the supply improved would it actually drive prices down, look at the celtic tiger, we had ample supply, prices still rose, but it was greed by developers, banker, poor financial and regulatory governance by the state that caused the collapse in house prices/economy not the supply of housing.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jan 7th 2024, 9:10 AM

@John Terry: just keep dreaming

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:29 PM

75k homeless in Ireland (Source: Guardian) and instead of helping them, or the record number of 30 somethings living at home, our government is helping Vulture funds and Airbnb operators.

Shameful.

And of course our nughtwing nutter brigade will be along shortly to tell you that Ireland – with its very weak regulations and relatively low taxes for property owners – needs to give MORE money to the hyper rich and slash more protections for renters and builders to solve the problem.

“Thirty thousand households, or just under one in 10 of every renting household, were evicted in the past three years alone. A no-fault eviction ban introduced in 2022 lapsed in March this year, and more than 15,000 notices of termination have been issued so far in 2023. That is more evictions than during the height of the Famine, when an average of more than 8,000 households were evicted annually.”

This is what they call over-regulation.

And don’t forget the lack of regulation which lead to the Mica blocks issue.

We’ve spent 100+ years electing Tories. Until we stop, nothing will change.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:32 PM

@Chris O’Brien: we gave away our natural resources. We got no money out of the corrib field. We don’t know how much gas has come out of it, and won’t see any money out of it for years by then it will be gone. Norway kept control of it ‘s oil and gas. Norway has billions for building schools hospitals road’s tax payers don’t pay for the project,s , in fact Norwigen citizen’s get money from it every few years. We have a bunch of corrupt politicians looking out for us

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Jan 3rd 2024, 9:15 PM

@Chris O’Brien:

75K homeless in Ireland? utter nonsense

Mute Finn Schøyen
    Favourite Finn Schøyen
    Jan 5th 2024, 7:47 AM

@Liam Byrne: No, Norwegian citizens don’t get money paid out from the fund. 3 % of the interest goes into the state budget. The rest is kept to grow the fund.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Jan 3rd 2024, 1:58 PM

The FFG Way working hard for the corporates while we foot the bill

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:49 PM

@Kevin O Brien: Always a conspiracy with people like you,and that it’s all some scheme.You listen to the opposition too much and believe that everything is easy to fix.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 3rd 2024, 7:29 PM

@John Terry: “people like you”, who the fookityfook do you think you are with your enormous ego and miniscule emotional intelligence?

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 8:07 PM

@Mr Inbetween: I’m responding to a silly comment.

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:05 PM

Have DNG ever predicted a fall in house prices?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:12 PM

@Sean Murphy: Mary Lou didn’t go to the trouble of explaining, in any way, how she’d drive prices down. Mindless soundbites that get feted as some grand plan are lapped up by some. I’ve asked a few shinners on twitter and been ignored or, more recently, blocked. Take a swing at the government by all means, but don’t accept one liners are some glittering guarantee .

The devil is always in the detail. Buyer beware.

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:16 PM

@honey badger: Build more houses. Housing prices are high due to supply and demand. We need to simplify planning laws, put a stake into countless appeals and NIMBYs, and take drastic measures such as importing temporary migrant builders living in prefabs while they carry out housing construction.

I agree with you regarding Mary Lou, she’s full of soundbites and populist statements, and I don’t think she should lead SF – but that’s not to say SF as a whole are as bad as she is. Listen to Eoin Ó Broin for more sensible takes with real world solutions, not Mary Lou who just spouts crap for the cameras.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 3rd 2024, 12:24 PM

@Sean Murphy: O’Broins latest plan involves homeowners never actually owning their own home, ironically. I find him too ideologically constricted to offer a genuine solution.

Everone and their mother wants more houses built, and a lot of what you say would certainly help. I don’t see how the very limited information provided by SF addresses supply, cost, and timelines at all. Its a useful stick to beat the current government with.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Jan 3rd 2024, 1:39 PM

@honey badger: The immature threatened policies of the anti home ownership populist parties has already made veryone in the service of building, letting, furnishing, investing are running for a getaway. The damage and increase in homelessness has already started.

Mute Chris O'Brien
    Favourite Chris O'Brien
    Jan 3rd 2024, 1:47 PM

@thomas molloy: of course not a word of this is true.

In fact, we have a government of landlords working for the benefit of landlords, and have had for 100+ years.

And that resulted in 10s of thousands of homeless, more evictions than during the height of the Famine, and 14x more Airbnb properties than rental properties.

Since the 1930s we’ve slashed taxes on property, and sold off almost all our social housing.

And yet this sort of deregulated dystopia isn’t enough for Tom here. Tom wants zero regulations and zero taxes. He claims that by giving 100% to rich developers they’ll then build a million houses overnight. Etc.

In fact.

Germany, the Netherlands, France, Spain, etc etc etc have stronger regulations, higher property taxes AND more houses per capita.

Regulation is the opponent of corruption and excess. Which is why Tom hates it. He won’t rest until the homeless figures are hundreds of thousands. Because think how much his property will be worth then.

So to achieve that, lies and right wing ideology!

We don’t need your failed Tory polices Tom. Maybe try Somalia. They’ve no regulations and welcome pirates like yourself.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Jan 3rd 2024, 1:54 PM

@honey badger: sinn fein will get houses built, ffg are keeping the building of houses at a snails pace in order for house prices to keep rising lining their pockets and the pockets of developers, faster building means more on the market and lower prices overall

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Jan 3rd 2024, 3:46 PM

@honey badger: it’s nice that you form your political opinions based off what people do or don’t reply to your on Twitter but do you think you could live in the real world?

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 4:19 PM

@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s: rubbish,I’m in the building game 30 years and I’ve never seen such a shortage of tradesmen….we are at max building capacity,anyone will tell you that….any political party that says they will increase building is talking nonsense…..couple that with the increase in our population and it’s not a great prospect….also every country is experiencing the same thing(so don’t bother saying ‘bring builders in)

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Jan 3rd 2024, 4:58 PM

@Sean Murphy: poor Eoin lives with the cuckoo’s. If he was in charge of housing I would be amazed to see 10000 built each year. He simply hasn’t a clue!!

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:11 PM

@John Terry: Playing with lego and claiming to be in the building trade, lol, your a gas ticket.

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:43 PM

@John Terry: they should be checking the careers of all the ukranian lads here bet half them are in building trade

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:51 PM

@honey badger: I’m just glad we don’t still have our own currency anymore….I’m sure pearse Doherty would have some brainwave to devalue that for some reason(that only he knows and understands)

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:55 PM

@Mr Inbetween: Yes,I run my own electrical contracting business and am working on building sites 30 years……That’s probably hard to understand coming from someone as entitled and useless as yourself…..as I’ve always said,people who complain the most usually contribute the least.

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 3rd 2024, 7:14 PM

@John Terry: Lego building sites don’t count….

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Jan 3rd 2024, 8:23 PM

@Mr Inbetween: grow up ffs

Mute Mr Inbetween
    Favourite Mr Inbetween
    Jan 3rd 2024, 8:32 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Giz a hug, a big hug, it’ll cheer you up mate :)

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Jan 3rd 2024, 9:50 PM

@Sean Murphy: Eoin O Broin God Help us He has an answer for everything & of course he is never wrong

Mute John Moore
    Favourite John Moore
    Jan 4th 2024, 1:47 AM

@honey badger: It can’t get much worse than under FF/FG in terms of the housing market. People know what they will get from them and it just doesn’t cut it I’m afraid. They had the shots fired across the bow at the last election and were lucky SF didn’t field enough candidates in that one. They did very little to rectify it in the 4 years since. Times up I’m afraid.

Mute Brendan shanahan
    Favourite Brendan shanahan
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:26 PM

House prices up and up equals more and more Inheritance Tax to be paid. What happened to the political promises to restore bands back to what they were some years ago?

Mute Allo Allo
    Favourite Allo Allo
    Jan 3rd 2024, 2:40 PM

Not all bad, I bought semi D in Dublin in 2005 and after crash and recovery it has risen 12% in 18 years, about 0.7% PA. Still, god knows where my kids are gonna live when in the market in 15 years time.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jan 3rd 2024, 3:50 PM

Need to be building apartment blocks.

Jan 3rd 2024, 3:56 PM

@P. V. Aglue: You own SFA with an apartment.

All you have is a lease.

The building and the ground it stands on are owned by some other entity.
    When the lease expires, you have nothing.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jan 3rd 2024, 4:36 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: I own an apartment, pay a mortgage on it, don’t lease the land it’s on, can sell it any time i want, so it’s an asset not a noose around my neck, I’m sure alot of other apparment owners feel the same.

Jan 3rd 2024, 5:02 PM

@Seanie: @Seanie: I’m sure most “feel” the same.

That does not alter the fact that when the lease expires the then occupant is homeless.
    Despite all the money paid in mortgages.

Oh, and you don’t “own” anything, except a lease.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:08 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: What lease? It’s a mortgage, when the mortgage is paid i own the property, what lease are you on about

Jan 3rd 2024, 5:29 PM

@Seanie: When the mortgage is paid, you own the lease. A lease which will expire.

You do not own the property.

The entity – usually a company or corporation – that owns the building and the ground it stands on owns “your” apartment.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:38 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Yes i understand what you mean now, a lease which will expire in 999 years, in all fairness you are right, it is a lease but i don’t think the apparment will be livable in a thousand years so I’ll not worry about it too much.

Jan 3rd 2024, 5:42 PM

@Seanie: I think you’ll find that the length of apartment leases are a tiny fraction of that 1000 years.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jan 3rd 2024, 5:57 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: 999 year, leasehold

Jan 3rd 2024, 6:06 PM

@Seanie: Nope!

Although leases can be of any duration, and will be specificied on the documentation, the typical apartment lease is for 100 years from new, reducing 1 year every year.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:54 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: As per documentation 999 leasehold

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:58 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: isn’t 99 the minimum and 999 the max? And aren’t apartments , (or their leases any way) bought and sold every day for large sums?

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:58 PM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: That is absolute nonsense and if it was true do you think the cat would be out of the bag yet?…..It’s as much an asset as a house……In fact most houses are leasehold as well.

Jan 3rd 2024, 8:28 PM

@Seanie: @brian o’leary: @John Terry:

Sean: I think you should check the length of that lease again.
    Think of it this way:
    Some other entity owns the building and the ground it stands on. As you stated in another comment, the apartment building is unlikely to be still standing in 1000 years, but if you (or your descendants) still own the apartment lease through all this time, then nothing can be done by the building owner. It would be a legal nightmare.
    I did a quick Internet search and you might find this on the Chill website helpful “what-to-look-for-when-buying-an-apartment”.

Here are two pertinent points from there:
    “Purchasing an apartment in Ireland is very different from buying a house. This is chiefly because when you buy a house you typically acquire a freehold interest in the property, while when you purchase an apartment you are usually only acquiring a long leasehold interest. ”

“…unlike when you purchase a house, when you purchase an apartment you are usually only acquiring a long leasehold rather than a freehold. This means you essentially own the apartment you are purchasing, but are only ‘renting’ the land it is built on for a set period of time. Although this leasehold is typically long – with new leaseholds up to 99 years – it is important to understand exactly what is included as part of this agreement. ”

Let us use an hypothetical situation to make some points.

Let us imagine that I am living in my own home, a home that was built in the 70s. Let us imagine that I have been living there almost 30 years, and the property is mortgage free. Let us also say that I will probably live here another 20 years, assuming average lifespan, or maybe even a decade or more longer if I were to live as long as my Granddad.
    Now, let us say that I will leave that home to my daughter, which she can use to build wealth, particularly as it will come to here unencumbered with any debt.
    If this property was an apartment, the the lease would expire around the time my daughter might be expected to die, or even earlier.

She would therefore have nothing to pass on to others.
    Indeed, it is possible that the lease would expire before she dies, and that would potentially leave her homeless in the last years of her life.

Let us look at it another way:
    Let’s assume a typical mortgage duration of 25 years. Now, would a bank provide a mortgage to a potential purchaser when there is only 25 years remaining on the lease? Would a potential purchaser be willing to pay a mortgage when at the end of that time they will have no home?
    What value would you put on such a property if selling, or buying?
    Now, apply that to an apartment with 30 years left on the lease.
    And then 40, or 50 years.

With a house, when you pay a mortgage you are building wealth for yourself.
    With an apartment, you are building wealth for the owner of the building and the ground it stands on.

John:
    We were taught these things in school. Are they really not teaching people such basic things anymore.

Brain:
    No. 99 is a sortof standard. It can be anything really, as far as I know. (They may have brought in laws since I left school that I am unaware of.) it would make no legal or common sense for a person to own an imaginary building – or part thereof – on ground owned by someone else, as no apartment building could be expected to survive 1000 years. Anyone owning an imaginary part of a building that no longer exists could present all sorts of legal problems for the owner of the land who might want to build some new apartments there.

In short, when the (normally) 100 year lease expires, the owner of the ground and building can now demolish same and build something else there (perhaps more apartments).
    And the then “owners” of the apartments have nothing.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 4th 2024, 9:59 AM

@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: long leases make perfect sence as they reasure buyers at the time of purchase and make sales more possible which is what developers want. Developers don’t want to retain any interest in the land or building after the sale, they just want their profit . Also the shortest lease on an apartment that I know of is 750 years, most are 999?

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jan 3rd 2024, 2:08 PM

@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s: Can you kindly explain how? Nobody in the party can say, none of their members can say, and here you are brimming with certainty. I’m not certain you’ll reply though.

Mute John Terry
    Favourite John Terry
    Jan 3rd 2024, 6:56 PM

@honey badger: Of course he won’t,people like him just regurgitate the nonsense they hear SF spouting.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Jan 3rd 2024, 7:20 PM

@John Terry: government’s don’t stand or fall because of good clear concrete policies, often its the feeling on the ground. This next one is touch and go, hard to imagine with full employment.

Mute J M
    Favourite J M
    Jan 3rd 2024, 3:56 PM

The world over there’s a squeeze on homes. I think the real reason is to keep commercial properties valuable. It already getting big in the uk thousands of commercial properties have been converted to residential.

I have been in a few and not all are nice feels like what they once where offices.

Based on this I believe if there where more homes been built and where easier to build developers wouldn’t look to convert and home buyers wouldn’t compromise unless the cost to buy was cheaper.

So by building traditional homes slowly till AI and wfh becomes the norm and every town and city has been converted to residential. We going to have a housing crisis. Other wise we would end with hundreds of cost cites and towns throughout the world. And remember 15 min communities are in the making.

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Jan 3rd 2024, 7:40 PM

Got to love it,I told ya Rodney, we will be millionairs next year.

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth
    Jan 4th 2024, 9:45 AM

I think the real question is how do you get house prices down. To me there are only two ways to achieve this.

1. Massive house building, but this is going to be very hard to achieve as the lack of housing is a Western European issue. Materials etc. while decreasing slightly in cost are still being sought all around the world.

Also we just don’t have the builders in the economy.

2. You could completely destroy the economy and destroy demand.

Before the last election FG we saying they would get rid of the USC, but when you really looked at this proposal it was a sound bite as the USC brings in approx 4b in taxes. It would be a massive hole in finances.

I think this is the same issue. Reducing house prices is a complex statement and i can’t see it being done

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jan 3rd 2024, 10:41 PM

One day, some politicians will do the right thing and nationalise the ressources of the culture funds or tax the heck of them…