You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

French Ambassador Vincent Guérend. French Embassy in Ireland

French Ambassador offers support to Ireland ahead of 'unhelpful, not welcome' Russian exercise

French Ambassador Vincent Guérend spoke to The Journal about his country’s perspective on the Russian exercise.

THE FRENCH AMBASSADOR to Ireland has said the Russian naval tests off Ireland are “unhelpful, not welcome” and offered his country’s support to Ireland. 

Vincent Guérend spoke to The Journal about the security concerns of the French Government around the Irish coast.

The French coast is the nearest mainland European country to the test location – they are also our closest EU state. 

The Ambassador has said that Ireland and his Government’s diplomatic ties are presently at their strongest. 

Guérend said that French naval and air force were actively monitoring the Russian movements and had noticed an increase in activity in recent weeks in the Atlantic, Mediterranean and in general around Europe.  

He said that the French embassy had received word on Sunday that the Irish Foreign Minister Simon Coveney would raise the Russian activity in Brussels at the Foreign Affairs Council.

Guérend said the Dublin Embassy immediately began working with their colleagues in Paris to support the Irish Government. 

“We fully support Ireland’s stance on the matter. And we believe, and you can certainly quote me, that these exercises, if they are indeed rolled out they will be unhelpful.

“Particularly, in the current circumstances [Ukraine tensions], and more generally, we have underlined [the need] for dialogue and transparency and previsibility [foresight] of military activities in Europe through the OSCE which is the frame where dialogue on all military treaties and conventional treaties should take place,” he said.

The French and other NATO member states have issued a number of demands to the Russian Government in the wake of the threat of invasion of Ukraine. 

One key area of the demand is a greater “transparency” by Vladimir Putin’s Government in regard to the activities of his military.  

Increased patrols

Guérend said that the French military has increased patrols off their Atlantic coast and in the Mediterranean where Russian vessels have been spotted. 

Critically the French Ambassador revealed that his country’s forces have witnessed a marked increase in Russian military movements in European waters including “quasi-civilian ships”.

“We also have observed some more intense Russian maritime activity around the French coast recently.

“If you look at the French Navy tweet thread, we deliberately tweeted some videos of the exchanges between our Navy patrols and Russian vessels which are sometimes civilian or quasi-civilian Russian vessels, which in our view, requires some questions.

“And so we are very much raising our guards, because we believe this situation requires it. And so we very much understand how the Irish Government feels in this regard. And again, we fully support you,” he added. 

The French navy has joined with a German naval ship to carry out joint patrols.

Guérend also spoke about the French view on Ukraine and how the response to any Russian incursion must be EU wide.

The ambassador also said there does not need to be a physical incursion but that any attack on Ukraine should elicit a European wide response.  

“More generally, of course, we believe that both NATO and the EU Member States should continue to give utmost attention to the ongoing developments at the border between Ukraine and Russia and at the border of Ukraine with other neighbours.

“That’s something which continues to focus our utmost attention. And as you know, the EU line is very clear on the matter regarding any encroachment on the Ukrainian territorial integrity or indeed sovereignty,” he added. 

The Ambassador said that sovereignty did not just mean a physical invasion but “any attempt to destabilise the government”. He said any such action would have major “consequences for Russia” which would include sanctions.

Neutrality

The Journal asked the Ambassador about France’s opinion of Ireland’s commitment to neutrality. 

“Of course I know that’s kind of a burning question for many of us diplomats. And the Irish neutrality, is something which we observed with a lot of interest, sometimes intrigued, sometimes impressed by the way you have also evolved around this neutrality,” he said. 

Guérend said that he does not believe Ireland should join Nato but instead should focus on a commitment to assist in European security. 

“I don’t think that Ireland should almost accede to Nato. But I think indeed, that the world we live in today is probably more challenging than 20 years ago, 30 or 40 years ago,” he said. 

The Ambassador said that the physical barrier of the sea around Ireland was not enough to protect the State. 

He also said that the threat environment has changed considerably in the last 30 to 40 years and it features the potential for hybrid attacks which include cyber attacks.  

“EU, as a whole should raise its awareness and raise its capability to withstand external threats. So this, in our view, of course, applies to all member states,” he added. 

french-and-greek-navy-joint-exercise-eastern-mediterranean French Navy's helicopter carrier Tonnerre and frigate La Fayette, take part in a joint exercise with the Greek navy off the island of Kastellorizo on August 13, 2020. ABACA / PA Images ABACA / PA Images / PA Images

Macron talks

On Wednesday there were more than eight hours of talks between Russian and Ukrainian delegations in Paris.

Reports stated that the meetings were “difficult” but sent a “good signal”, an aide to French President Emmanuel Macron told AFP.

Describing the discussions as an opportunity “to test Russia’s desire to negotiate”, the aide told reporters: “In the current circumstances, we received a good signal.”

On Tuesday Macron said he would hold talks with Vladimir Putin on Ukraine on Friday.

“I will have telephone talks with the president on Friday morning,” Macron said alongside German Chancellor Olaf Scholz, saying the talks would be part of a “demanding dialogue” with Russia and provide the chance to gain “clarification” over Moscow’s Ukraine strategy.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

55 Comments
    Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:15 AM

Mind your own French affairs and stay out of Irish foreign relations and business. The sovereign NEUTRAL Irish nation doesn’t require unhelpful soft political posturing and side-alligning language from France. We are part of the economic union, not NATO and don’t require your support to illustrate our neutrality to Russia.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:25 AM

@Shane McGrath: 100% agree!

Mute ChadChaderson
    Favourite ChadChaderson
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:28 AM

@Shane McGrath: Relax the cacks 

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:31 AM

@Shane McGrath: That’s right Shane. Sure didn’t our fishermen get a great spread put on for them, when they visited the Russian ambassador, for their classified meeting today. We got this. Good man.

Mute Vonvonic
    Favourite Vonvonic
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:33 AM

@Shane McGrath: All the while the French are actually mediating the solution to the actual problem. The French are our friend Shane. Always have been. Stop being lead astray by the British media.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:46 AM

@Shane McGrath: It’s not neutrality we’re demonstrating Shane, it’s impotence. Just take a look at the military forces the other neutral states of Europe invest in to exert that neutrality and their sovereignty. The Austrians have 16 Euro fighters, the Swedes have an ocean going Navy of 35 vessels, including 6 attack submarines. We may be non-aligned militarily in Ireland, but the idea we are neutral is farcical. Our friends and allies are the nations of the EU and North America, those that oppose our interests are the Russians and the Chinese, let’s not fool ourselves that we can live in an ivory tower. Personally I’d very much welcome the presence of some serious warships from our close friends in France and Germany, in the absence of our own capability. Something we must now look at.

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:47 AM

@Vonvonic: I’m not led by the British media. It’s in the UK interest for Ireland’s neutrality to crumble. I’m also not suggesting the French are not our friends, but Russia is not an enemy of the Irish nation. Media promotion of French comments suggesting there is a pseudo-political alignment between France and Ireland are designed to antagonise Russia and push Ireland closer towards and acceptable proposition of the dissolution of our neutrality. We have no quarrel with Russia. Loose political lips…. Chief EU members are utilising these exercises for propaganda opportunities and to drive some momentum behind the path to Ireland’s militarization / Ireland becoming part of a NATO-led European warring army.

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:48 AM

@Shane McGrath: We are Neutral and should remain so. The EU military look on out west coast with envious eyes and our spinless leadership will ultimately fail to resist EU pressure to arm-up. Peaceful nations don’t need weaponry. Ireland should remain neutral and friend to all. Do you want your kids marching off to war?

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:52 AM

@Eoin Roche: Please explain just what you think our interests are Eoin. Does ‘not antagonising superpowers’ or ‘staying out of wars’ feature?

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:04 AM

@Shane McGrath: Our interests are in protecting our EEZ resources. Our interests are in being ‘all-in’ with the democratic free trading nations of the West. Our prosperity for 40 years is wholly at the hands of that free trade and the support of those partners. Even the Taoiseach sheepishly said the other day, “we’re militarily neutral, not politically neutral”, what rank hypocrisy is that? We’ve talked out of both sides of our mouth for too long and relied on the charity of others to uphold our awkward and nebulous position. We ought to be mortified. If this incident does nothing else maybe it will provoke a long overdue debate on the nature of our neutrality, which is currently very much in name only.

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:30 AM

@Eoin Roche: I agree with what you’re saying buy Ireland can never equip ourselves to protect our country from any larger nation. You mentioned Austria and Sweden, either (or both countries together) would only last a few days if a country with the military might of Russia, US, UK, Germany or France invaded. We would only waste money needlessly on warships that quite frankly would be overwhelmed in an instant. But the Falklands v UK comes to mind, a one-sided conflict if ever, and yes, we’re the Falklands.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:57 AM

@Alan Wright: we don’t need to protect ourselves from open warfare Alan, we need the capability to exert a presence in our own area of responsibility against irresponsible and polluting naval activities, against illegal switching off of aircraft transponders and any other such behaviour which violates our sovereignty and endangers our resources. We haven’t got so much as a primary military radar system or naval patrol vessels equipped with sonar to detect and drive submarines from our territory. Our protection lies in our deeper and more engaged cooperation with our European and North American partners, as well as in taking proper responsibility for our own bit of real estate, which is currently a massive gap in European continental security, one Russia wants to exploit.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 2:05 AM

@Donal Desmond: the fishing guys were made mugs of. By tonight the Russians were disputing they had guaranteed them anything. Pure propaganda on the part of Ambassador Filitov and the boys fell for it hook, line and sinker, pun intended. Meeting at the embassy gave Filitov’s position legitimacy and when they took Russia’s side over Ireland afterwards, well, it was like a second Christmas. Thankfully the Embassy is sound proofed to spare them the humiliation of the laughter. Despite having very legitimate grievances and thanks to some very naive engagement on their part, they finished the day looking like Fredo Corleone. And I thought the Cork and Kerry lads were supposed to be cute hoors….

Mute B Collins
    Favourite B Collins
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:28 AM

@Shane McGrath: Russia is not our enemy or anything else really. We are nothing to Russia. Parading around our waters at a time like this is a clear demonstration that they (correctly) perceive Ireland to be a military weak spot in the EU, which is also (correctly) why the French are being vocal about their availability to support. Russia amassing troops on the Ukrainian border to the east of the EU while conducting naval exercises very close to the smallest – and weakest – country at the west of the EU is a ridiculously obvious flex. Personally I’m happy to see our French neighbours – historical allies – slide in to say bonjour.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:25 AM

@Eoin Roche: Even if Ireland hand 16 euro fighters and an ocean going navy of 35 vessels and 6 attack submarines they could absolutely nothing about the Russians testing where they are. It’s international waters. And why only the outrage now it’s the Russians? Feel free to check what other nations conducted military exercises in a lot closer to our a coast than the Russians have. Ask yourself why those tests were not made public?

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 5:41 AM

@Roy Dowling: I don’t need to check. The Western nations are our partners. I don’t particularly care what they do. The Russians are a criminal mob run by corrupt and dangerous ultra nationalists trying to gaslight their own poor f00l people, that the Soviet Union was a golden era! Those same unhinged grifters want to park 6 ships and no doubt a bunch of submarines directly over the transatlantic cable network that runs through the porcupine basin. Why couldn’t these exercises be run in any of the millions of square kilometres of Russian territorial seas? The conditions would be identical. If you don’t believe the Celtic Sea activity isn’t connected to a coordinated plan to harm Western interests then you are, at best, naive.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:42 AM

@Shane McGrath: relax. Joining NATO or even an EU army would require a referendum. It’s not something we can just be signed up too. Some of your points are valid but spoiled by exaggeration.

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:57 AM

@Shane McGrath:
    You can at least read the article ffs:
    France Ambassador “I don’t think that Ireland should almost accede to Nato”
    Shane: “We are part of the economic union, not NATO”

So, you both agree so? lol

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:21 AM

@Shane McGrath: what an ill-informed anglocentric sentiment. The French are our neighbours and allies. Put down that British tabloid, it’s embarrassing listening to you.

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:37 AM

@Liam MacSuibhne: relax cl0wn. It’s obvious you have read neither the contributions nor the article.

Mute Richard Carroll
    Favourite Richard Carroll
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:05 AM

@Shane McGrath: Yes Shane, spot on.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:09 AM

@Shane McGrath: always one to go the extra mile. When you call someone names you lose the debate straight away. I see your learning from 45 to belittle anyone that disagrees with you. Russia don’t care about Ireland, if they wanted to invade Ireland tomorrow to attack the uk and other NATO countries they would do it in a heartbeat, and neutral or not they won’t give give a flying FOOT.

Russia is a dangerous threat.,

This rubbish of Ireland is neutral is 100 years old. It’s time for Ireland to hiding behind the uks and Europe’s skirt.

Il make a exception, the only one that is a clown is you mate, everyone is laughing at you with your Little statement.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:10 AM

@Shane McGrath: always one to go the extra mile. When you call someone names you lose the debate straight away. I see your learning from 45 to belittle anyone that disagrees with you. Russia don’t care about Ireland, if they wanted to invade Ireland tomorrow to attack the uk and other NATO countries they would do it in a heartbeat, and neutral or not they won’t give give a flying FOOT.

Russia is a dangerous threat.,

This rubbish of Ireland is neutral is 100 years old. It’s time for Ireland to stop hiding behind the uks and Europe’s skirt.

Il make a exception, the only one that is a clown is you mate, everyone is laughing at you with your Little statement.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:26 AM

@Shane McGrath: we are non aligned not Neutral. 2 very different things in international law.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:38 PM

@Eoin Roche: Oh so because there our “partners” that makes it ok. Funny enough our “partners” have been in a lot more wars than the Russian criminal mob. But those are good wars aren’t they? I know exactly what these exercises are about. Can I ask you what the western powers naval exercises and tests in the black sea are about?

Mute RZ
    Favourite RZ
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:14 PM

@Shane McGrath: You didn’t read the article, did you?

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:29 PM

@Eoin Roche: A pair of gullible eejits!

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 4:17 PM

@Paul Clancy: Lost referendums in ireland are just a temporary set-back. Every little inch matters to the promoters of the EU army.

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:06 PM

@alan scott: that was funny son.

Mute Padraig Carey
    Favourite Padraig Carey
    Jan 28th 2022, 3:44 AM

The French have always been Irelands strongest Allie and since Brexit our closet Allie to prosper , rosslaire now our busiest port while Brexit tried to slow supply’s. Show some respect that their hundred of million euro fleet show up to oversee the exercises.

Mute Bitcoin Buddy
    Favourite Bitcoin Buddy
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:19 AM

Have a beer Shane

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:47 AM

Noticed something interesting about where Russia plans to hold its naval exercise next month, it’s over the world’s highest capacity undersea communications cable, Amitíe.

https://i.imgur.com/6YsyFZ2.jpg

Ocean depth is 1.7 to 3.8 km deep there (2.15 km deep where it crosses Apollo North).

Amitíe cable, built by Facebook, Microsoft, Aqua Comms and Vodafone, started operating this year. It carries 368 Tbit/s of data. They might hack it or it might experience an unfortunate accident.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/hisutton/2020/08/19/how-russian-spy-submarines-can-interfere-with-undersea-internet-cables/

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:59 AM

@David Jordan: no coincidence. In fact there are between 6 and 10 cables systems between the UK and France and America within a narrow corridor across the porcupine basin right where this zone of exercises has been planned.

Mute Atlas' burden
    Favourite Atlas' burden
    Jan 28th 2022, 1:03 AM

Get your nose out of our business. He’s obviously looking for attention. If we need French assistance, we will ask if needs be.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:52 AM

@Atlas’ burden: it is off the French coast too so it is their business and at least they have planes and a navy? What have we got? A couple of paper planes and a bathtub of ships. What is it ? Three? And where are they?0
    It’s like a chewowa guarding it’s garden against a pack of alsatians! Big on noise, a bit of a nip but ultimately no credible threat in Russian eyes. The French give us a little more chomping power that’s all!

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:19 AM

The Russians are carrying out exercises in.multiple locations. Not just off the SW coast of Ireland. They plan exercises in the Mediterranean; the Baltics, the Pacific etc. Let’s not panic here. They do this on an annual basis.

Mute Michael Drennan
    Favourite Michael Drennan
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:51 AM

It’s very welcome that our friends and ally’s speak up in our support at this time. Of course in any country there will be those who side with the enemy and hate their own. The French call them “ Collabos” and the Norwegian word is Quisling. Maybe somebody can coin a term for our own “ as Gailge”

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jan 28th 2022, 8:56 AM

@Michael Drennan: I think the English term is Colaborator!, if that helps at all?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 28th 2022, 11:57 AM

@Michael Drennan: Enemy? Since when is Russia our enemy. The quislings as you call them would be the Catholic Church who blessed the Blueshirts as they sailed to Spain under the Swastika to fight for the Facist regime of Franco. The Republic of Ireland is a natural county. The sooner this government realise that ,the better.

Mute Donal O'Carroll
    Favourite Donal O'Carroll
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:11 AM

And we don’t have Military Radar…we don’t have Navy Ship.that we can man.Let just disband our defence force..its not fit for purpose. Its simple disgusting the way the Army has been historically treated.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Jan 28th 2022, 9:29 AM

@Donal O’Carroll: We don’t need an army. We would be much better off disbanding it and investing in a modern well equipped coast guard. We’re an island nation!

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Jan 28th 2022, 10:29 AM

@Gerard Smith: when did we get the 6 counties back, I missed that.

Mute billy bound
    Favourite billy bound
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:54 PM

@Donal O’Carroll:
    And that’s the reason ireland can’t join nato. Expect others to defend the borders such as the French.

Jan 28th 2022, 4:45 PM

@Donal O’Carroll: maybe Ireland should look at National service once you reach 16 you are obliged to do 3 years service and use this to gain a skill electrician engineer mechanic etc. once you complete the 3 years you can continue or leave. This would be a way of manning our defence forces also.

Mute Crypto_Dav
    Favourite Crypto_Dav
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:03 AM

Va dire à notre suprême leader ” Emmanuel Omicron” de s’occuper de notre pauvre pays et pas celui des autres ! Juste scandaleux !

Mute Peter B
    Favourite Peter B
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:01 PM

Hopefully the French assistance help will go a bit better then in 1796…..

Mute billy bound
    Favourite billy bound
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:51 PM

@Peter B:

Good thing it wasn’t the British ambassador with a comment like that. Jeez.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jan 28th 2022, 10:37 AM

If only there was an organisation we could join composed of like minded countries with all the modern resources available to help Ireland protect its borders and coasts ….

Mute mark o donovan
    Favourite mark o donovan
    Jan 28th 2022, 7:26 AM

The russians are shaking in their boots

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Jan 28th 2022, 11:40 AM

:( Independent.ie saying

quote: ‘A good day… a breath of fresh air’: Irish fishermen negotiate with Russian embassy over military exercises”
    “The fishermen said they exchanged gifts with the Russian Ambassador and that they were “well looked after” with coffee and biscuits.”

Sold us out for Tea and Biscuits apparently – and some unnamed “gifts”.
    :(

Mute Ernie Gallagher
    Favourite Ernie Gallagher
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:37 AM

But is it ‘mandatory’? ;-)

Mute Daniel Morris
    Favourite Daniel Morris
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:14 PM

Calm down will ye.
    I have it on good authority that the fishermen will sort it out.

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Jan 28th 2022, 10:21 AM

I didn’t know Dublin had a french Ambassador.

Mute billy bound
    Favourite billy bound
    Jan 28th 2022, 12:49 PM

Send the fishing boats out. That will scare the Russians away

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Jan 28th 2022, 10:00 AM

Staying neutral does not make you any friends. Even siding with even the weaker party in an argument puts you in in their goodbooks, and you have a friend.