You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Frances Fitzgerald Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Poll: Would you be happy to see Frances Fitzgerald return as a minister?

Frances Fitzgerald could be poised for a dramatic return to Cabinet.

YESTERDAY WAS A seismic 24 hours of news for lots of different reasons.

Between Storm Callum, the Charleton report, and the resignation of Denis Naughten as Minister for Communications, there was enough news in one day to fill a week.

One quirky overlap of the latter two stories is the effect they have on former Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald. In one fell swoop, she has been effectively exonerated with regard to her dealings with the case of Maurice McCabe (said dealings led to her resignation as minister last December) while at the same time a space has opened up at Cabinet.

But should Fitzgerald get that job? Or is her reputation still sullied by her own resignation?

We’re asking: Would you be happy to see Frances Fitzgerald return as a minister?

Poll Results:

No (8130)
Yes (6892)
Don't know / Not sure (986)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

124 Comments
    Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:09 AM

Ok so maybe she was exonerated from the mccabe affair, however she came across as a minister that really is’nt on top of the game and not qualified enough. I personally believe a minister needs to know the area they’re working in and not simply get a ministerial position because they’re part of the club.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:22 AM

@Conor Walsh: not over yet

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:25 AM

@Denonu: wrong on the misogyny. By that rational you cannot criticise any woman. Flanagan got loads of criticism when in charge of tourism. Was that misandrist ?

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:31 AM

@Denonu: you’re correct. Flanagan is also a waffler and really should’nt be in the role he’s in either.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:36 AM

@andyearley: When was Flanagan in charge of tourism?

Mute David Newman
    Favourite David Newman
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:49 AM

@Denonu: i wasn’t for Francis returning. But if she returned to Justice replacing Flanagan id have no issue. The stuff that man comes out with is laughable at times.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:17 AM

@Denonu: tourism, no i mean justice. I beg your pardon.
    Anyway he got lots of criticism over justice and equality.
    Very misandrist I thought.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:25 PM

@Denonu: your original comment was deleted.
    That’s a bit harsh eh?!

Mute Adam Johnson
    Favourite Adam Johnson
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Conor Walsh: Well we’ve had a few Doctors as the Minister for Health, but that hasn’t changed the fact that HSE is beyond broken

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 12th 2018, 3:23 PM

@Conor Walsh: You could ask the same question of most of our governments ministers, what qualifications do they hold which makes them suitable to the job they hold. Clearly the previous Fianna Fail government were a bunch of chancers when it came to finance, justice and health.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 8:26 PM

@andyearley: Yeah I thought so!
    Didn’t think it came across as personalised or abusive but there you go.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:10 AM

Absolutely not. She was only exonerated with regards to her dealings with the commissioner, she was NOT exonerated of misleading the Dail regarding when she learned of the matter.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:13 AM

@The Risen: “The matter” being what?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Denonu: Noreen O’Sullivans legal teams attempt to destroy Maurice McCabes reputation at the O’Higgins commission.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:27 AM

@The Risen: good point. she has not been cleared of her wrongdoing in the dail

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:28 AM

@The Risen: Read the Charleton report: there was no such “attempt to destroy Maurice McCabes reputation at the O’Higgins commission”

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:34 AM

@Denonu: “Maurice McCabe was not traduced before the O’Higgins
    Commission.

Further, any challenge to him never went beyond putting issues to him, asking him if he could support the serious allegations of corruption which he had repeatedly made with facts.
    That involved tabling a proposition that he had become mistrustful of authority in consequence of his colleagues having the deeply unpleasant duty of investigating an allegation of what was
    claimed amounted to a sexual assault.”

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Denonu:

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/garda-commissioner-claimed-maurice-mccabe-was-motivated-by-malice-399303.html

“At the very early stages, the inquiry was told by senior counsel for Ms O’Sullivan that evidence would be produced to show that Sgt McCabe had told two other officers that he was making his complaints because of malice he harboured towards a senior officer.

The inquiry was informed that the two officers had taken notes at the meeting in question and prepared a report which was forwarded to a senior officer.

However, a few days after the submission, Sgt McCabe informed Mr O’Higgins he had a tape recording of the meeting in question.

The commission took possession of the recording and arranged for a transcript to be created.

Mr O’Higgins indicated that the transcript coincided precisely with Sgt McCabe’s version of events and was in conflict with the allegation that he had told the two officers he was motivated by malice.

Following that, no evidence to show malice was called from the two officers who were at the meeting.

However, the failed attempt to impugn Sgt McCabe’s character did not appear in the O’Higgins report.”

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

Please feel free to point out any inaccuracies in what I posted above….

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About

@The Risen: thats pretty black and white. ta for posting.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:42 AM

@The Risen: That is a completely overblown version of events in the report from 2016.

I think that this is the relevant part from the Charleton report:
    “The probability is that, for reasons of confusion between complaints to Superintendent Clancy and against Superintendent Clancy, counsel for the Garda Commissioner at the O’Higgins Commission asked Maurice McCabe in evidence about whether he had made complaints against
    Superintendent Clancy with a view to the circulation of the ruling of the Director of Public Prosecutions to himself and the D family.
    The tribunal has listened to the audio recording of this.
    It takes all of 20 seconds.
    Then the matter is dropped.”

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:44 AM

@Denonu: the risen claims that there was an attempt to destroy his character. he then proved it by posting info on the matter. it was only a few years back. we all remember what happened.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:48 AM

@The Risen: I think that the definitive facts are contained in the Judge’s report, not two year-old newspaper reports that were based on incomplete evidence.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:49 AM

@Denonu: You don’t like detail. You like whitewash.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:51 AM

@Denonu: I ask again. Which part of the link I posted are you disputing happened?

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:57 AM

@The Risen: You say that “the inquiry was told by senior counsel for Ms O’Sullivan that evidence would be produced to show that Sgt McCabe had told two other officers that he was making his complaints because of malice he harboured towards a senior officer.”

Charleton finds that there was no such effort to undermine McCabe, as per the segments of the report that I have quoted above. He directly contradicts the claims made in the Examiner article.

We don’t know what evidence Michael Clifford had to support his piece in the Examiner whereas Charleton details all of the evidence that he read and heard in coming to his conclusions.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:08 AM

@Denonu: Charleton, it should be added, bases his findings on transcripts and recordings of the O’Higgins Commission.
    That is extremely strong evidence.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:09 AM

@Denonu: https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/transcripts-show-o-sullivan-instructed-legal-team-to-attack-mccabe-s-integrity-1.2651823

Transcripts show O’Sullivan instructed legal team to attack McCabe’s integrity
    ‘My instructions are to challenge the integrity certainly of Sgt McCabe and his motivation’

Mute Larkin About
    Favourite Larkin About
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:11 AM

@Denonu: i’ve yet to see the risen post something that he can’t stand over. you’re making yourself look really foolish at this point.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:22 AM

@The Risen: Again the idea that Noirin O’Sullivan directed this approach is flatly contradicted in the Charleton report. The letter that was central to this idea was never seen by Noirin O’Sullivan.
    “There is not any evidence that Commissioner O’Sullivan ever knew about this issue or about the letter or that she had any input into drafting it or that she was aware of any error in its contents.
    She was not.”

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:27 AM

@Larkin About: The Risen is posting news articles based on hearsay, incomplete transcripts from the O’Higgins inquiry and isolated emails.

I am posting Judge Charleton’s findings which he based on looking at the full transcript of the O’Higgins commission and witness evidence.

Here’s another section from his report:
    “28 November 2017: The Tánaiste and former Minister for Justice and Equality Frances Fitzgerald, facing a storm of allegations of failing to step in when Sergeant McCabe was accused of false sexual assault allegations before the O’Higgins Commission, resigns from her position as Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation.
    There were no such accusations, even on the basis of the small snippets of transcript illegally passed to the media.”

Mute Tony Hutchinson
    Favourite Tony Hutchinson
    Oct 12th 2018, 7:37 PM

@Denonu: wtf is wrong with you? Admit you’re wrong and just don’t like being wrong. It’s okay to be wrong sometimes but Dear Francis was wrong on many occasion so nobody wants her back.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 8:46 PM

@Tony Hutchinson: Except that Charleton clearly finds that she did nothing wrong. She didn’t recall reading an email which turned out, also according to Charleton, to be if little import. The drip-feed of emails fron the department at the time of the controversy damaged her even though she was not the line minister at the time, so was not responsible.

You had several opposition politicians at the time (incl. Howlin, Adams, McDonald & Callaghan) saying that she should have ignored her officials’ advice and intervened in Garda legal strategy. Charleton finds that such an intervention would have been wholly unethical, which is what Fitzgerald herself maintained at the time.

She did nothing wrong.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:06 AM

Stop voting for FF FG LAB

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:16 AM

@eastsmer: Would be more constructive if you suggested who we should vote for instead.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:13 AM

@Denonu: Have ever even looked at a ballot paper properly. without FG/FF in mind? try and think…

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:15 AM

@eastsmer: who should we vote for

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Tony Lyons: You should get some councelling that would help wean you off FF/FG.

Mute voice of raisin
    Favourite voice of raisin
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:15 PM

@Sean Conway: In favour of who though? There are no credible opposition parties unfortunately.

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Oct 12th 2018, 1:09 PM

@voice of raisin: vote SF. Not because the will be any better, they may or may not be, but until we show FF/FG that their duopoly of power is no longer guaranteed NOTHING will ever change. Short term (possibly )pain for long term gain.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 12th 2018, 1:16 PM

@voice of raisin: People who are upstanding in your community. FG/FF are prone to corruption

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Oct 12th 2018, 1:22 PM

@eastsmer: yeah vote for SF and have an extreme right thug party running things. Pedo coverups, punishment beatings, rampant internal bullying. Sounds like a trip alright.

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Denonu: ANYONE except FF FG LAB – surely that is constructive enough ?

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Oct 12th 2018, 3:11 PM

@Denonu: Sinn Fein

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Oct 12th 2018, 3:47 PM

@the-baldie-lad:
    For pedo coverups: see also FF & FG.
    For punishment beatings: read a history book and see also FF & FG.
    For rampant bullying: hep C & cervical cancer scandals and sexual abuse victims’ legal experiences (amongst others), see also FF & FG.

Mute Catherine Ryan
    Favourite Catherine Ryan
    Oct 13th 2018, 2:12 AM

@the-baldie-lad: Institutionalized enslavement and abuse of women and kids for decades under ff-fg. Varadkar sacks naughten for corruption, meets o brien himself and does not sack harris who is min for health when 20 women died, proving again what they think of women, Allegations from ff-fg of bullying and misogynism from ff-fg women. Catherine noonan fg said it was unbearable and unacceptable to have to endure it when she complained about being bullied within fg.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Oct 13th 2018, 1:31 PM

@voice of raisin: To say nothing of FFG nationalizing private finance and bailing out their partners in greed to the tune of 64Billion and we’ll pretend not to notice the current level of national debt which can never be repaid and which will see the IMF revisit when interest rates rise.

Mute Shane Kennedy
    Favourite Shane Kennedy
    Oct 13th 2018, 6:15 PM

@Denonu: Anybody but FF/FG/SF/Labour. New parties and independents only. Give zero preference to the old ones.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine

She can continue what she does best: “We’re looking into that”. “It’s outside my remit”. “I have no recollection “. And of course blatant lies. Perfect ministerial material for this country. Oink oink.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:26 AM

@Shelly Levine: That sound exactly like Minster for Education Richard Bruton to the survivors of abuse vs caranua and the treatment by them to vulnerable people. If any survivor contacts him regarding their ill treatment by caranua they are being told it’s outside his remit even though he department is responsible.

Mute Conor Walsh
    Favourite Conor Walsh
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:58 AM

@Shelly Levine: don’t forget “my hands are tied” “I inherited this mess” etc etc

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:02 AM

So she’s only temporally resigned? seems to be an Irish thing.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap

There might have been a few e-mails. Apparently she can’t be expected to read every e-mail.
    The mere suggestion of her possibly returning is an insight into the Fine Gael mindset and the parallel universe they live in.

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Favourite Corkonian In Dublin
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:41 AM

@Tweed Cap: In all fairness it’s not Fine Gael’s mindset…

Fianna Fáil, Labour et al would do the same. It’s an Irish Political Mindset that they are above the people and the truth.

Oct 14th 2018, 5:27 PM

@Tweed Cap: 68 emails from her personal account, handy that because personal accounts are not available through an FOI request. She’s no innocent but Maurice McCabe was.

Mute Carl Pyne
    Favourite Carl Pyne
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:34 AM

No, not at all. When she was Minister for Education we had a problem getting our son into a school. We contacted her through 3 separate channels (one of which was via a local TD) and got the same form letter back each time. Career politician with no real concern for the people or Ministries she is in charge of.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

@Carl Pyne: She’s a TD in my constituency and is completely useless. Our local SF TD got more first pref votes than her in the last election, despite her being a sitting minister.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:00 AM

@Carl Pyne: Entry to a school is School Management, NOT Ministerial.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons

@The Risen: and he is useless to

Mute Colum Cusack
    Favourite Colum Cusack
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:06 AM

Maybe just hire Terry Prone, much cheaper. Save a fortune on speech writing.

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:11 AM

@Colum Cusack: now there’s an Idea

Oct 12th 2018, 4:01 PM

@Sean Leonard: He’s Prone to good ideas

Mute Wendy Lyon
    Favourite Wendy Lyon

This is the Minister who brought in the law to criminalise sex workers’ clients, despite being told firsthand by sex workers that it would endanger them – her response to them being “Won’t that discourage prostitution?”

She is responsible for the increase in attacks against sex workers which has taken place just as they warned her it would. Absolutely no way do I want her anywhere near a policy-making position.

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:56 AM

There is another raft of emails discovered since by the data comissioner that “Didn’t Exist” which would not have been included in this report..this woman is not fit for office

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:52 AM

She’s 68 and it’s time to move on regardless of whether the pressure for her to resign was fair or not. Reinstating her would be a move of arrogance from Leo to prove a point rather than it being something useful for the country.

Mute mursim
    Favourite mursim
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:03 AM

Fine Gael rewards failure – look at Simon Coveney.

Mute WillietheKid
    Favourite WillietheKid

Can’t stand her.

Mute Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Favourite Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:47 AM

Why would anyone be happy about her potentially returning to power.

Mute Seanniemac1983
    Favourite Seanniemac1983
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:41 AM

Phones first

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:16 AM

Bring her back.. Should see more seats lost for FFG…

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:12 AM

There’s more than a hint of misogyny around the criticism of Frances Fitzgerald.

Even though she has been fully vindicated by Charleton, I’ve seen more than a few comments calling her a ‘weak’ minister. That is a criticism that you seldom hear about many other less competent current or former cabinet members.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:20 AM

@Denonu: Misogyny? You’re getting desperate now.
    The public perception of Fitzgerald is all to do with being a liar. Nothing else.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley

@Denonu: it is not misogyny to criticise woman who has done a bad job. Wetheror not you don’t hear criticism of other ministers matters not. There has been lots of criticism of Murphy recently so that’s that argument done with. Stop trying to take the high moral ground on something that has no basis in reality.
    She was an awful minister for justice.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:23 AM

@Dave Doyle: That’s a big claim.
    What did she lie about?
    Judge Charleton is pretty clear that she acted appropriately at all times.

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu

@andyearley: Eoghan Murphy has been criticised based on the inarguable objective facts about the housing crisis.

The facts as determined by Judge Charleton suggest that Frances Fitzgerald was forced to resign over the Garda legal approach at the O’Higgins inquiry despite the fact that she behaved appropriately at all times.

Yet we still hear vague, subjective criticism that she was weak, not qualified, not up to the job etc.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap

@Denonu:
    She’s 68 years of age. Out to pasture with her where she can enjoy gorging on her inflated ministerial pension and maxing out her free bus pass.
    Richard Bruton is another lad past his sell by date. Clear out required.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Denonu: He also tell us only two people were responsible for the whole McCabe debacle.
    Whitewash is never as good as a good stripping back and a new coat of paint.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:33 AM

@Denonu: it is not misogyny to criticise a female minister who did a bad job in her portfolio. How many mess ups did she preside over???

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:46 AM

@andyearley: Harris in Health is doing a bad job, Leo as Taoiseach is poor and self serving. An election is necessary. However, Fianna Fáil at all just as bad / worse or good depending on point of view, as for Labour they’ll sell you for scraps from Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.
    Sinn Féin would send us back to the 1950′s…

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu

@Dave Doyle: The “whole McCabe debacle” stretches back decades.
    Judge Charleton in this report is only concerned with the recent smear campaign against McCabe which he finds, based on looking at all of the evidence available to him, was the doing of Callinan and Taylor alone.

Do you have any objective reason to suppose that he is wrong?

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo

@Denonu: that is total BS on your part. To be honest you sound almost like a hired troll trying to sway an idea. There are plenty of male weak ministers/TDs, and they are regularly called such by the public, in the media and amongst ministers themselves – Leo, Paschal, Howlin, Micheál Martin etc etc. The public perception of Mary Lou MD on the other hand is condidered strong TD as is Catherine Murphy and Roisin Shorthall regardless of what one thinks of their parties. People don’t look at gender – it’s an insult to people’s intelligence to play that card

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:05 AM

@Skybloo: I’m talking about ministers, not opposition TDs (who never have to be accountable for anything that they say or do).

Talking about Murphy at housing (where the numbers are stark) or Harris at health (what health minister has ever not had scandals, waiting lists, trolleys etc. under their watch?) is whataboutery.

I just can’t shake the feeling that Frances Fitzgerald, only the state’s third female minister for justice, is shipping a lot more vague, “she’s just not up to the job”-type criticism than if it was a man in her place.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:07 AM

@Corkonian In Dublin: I agree. My point was with denonu saying there is misogyny in the criticism of Fitzgerald.
    Saying that a dail of independent td would get nowhere.
    What’s your suggestion

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:13 AM

@Denonu: completely disagree
    If you at our sitting ministers you will find a lot of not up to the job. Shane ross for instance?? In fact I commented recently saying that exact thing on Shane ross.
    Your argument hold no water for me Im afraid. You are of course intitiled to your opinion

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:53 AM

@Denonu: Two. Logic and common sense.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:05 PM

@Denonu: I dislike her over the dozens of “lost” phones which could have proven some guilt on her part, doesn’t matter if she is a man, women or whatever. Id still say the same regardless of gender.

Mute Corkonian In Dublin
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:41 PM

@andyearley: Direct rule from the EU. Joking aside… There needs to be a shake-up and a new political party founded on fairness, equality and committed to hiring professional advisors and not their wife / cousin/ best friend’s dog twice removed aunt’s niece.
    I don’t have faith in the state of Irish Political Parties. That’s true. However, a solution is escaping me also, because events over the last 20 years that should’ve wiped out Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael, Labour and Sinn Féin haven’t.

One can hope that things will change… But evidence suggests other wise. Just look at house prices again.

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    Oct 12th 2018, 1:59 PM

@Corkonian In Dublin: I hear ya. The powers that be have learned nothing from the past decade. I’d say they are going mad they can’t be seen having a tent at the races.
    It’s very frustrating isn’t it

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:56 PM

@andyearley: the criticism of Murphy must have been misandrist.

Oct 12th 2018, 1:54 PM

With a track record that included setting up TUSLA (HSE ‘child protection’) that was lambasted by Judge Charleton; Ms Fitzgerald also oversaw the ‘review’ process into 320 complaints of serious Garda and GSOC wrongdoing – but never actually interviewed even ONE complainant before ‘dismissing’ all of the allegations; who claimed NOT to know anything about those recently-discovered secretive emails between herself, Garda Management and FG’s PR Consultant Terry Prone who was being paid tens of thousands (of taxpayer’s money) by Garda Management AND the Department of Justice at the same time; the same Minister of Justice who had the brass neck to sign off on lies in her own name when refusing to accept over 7,000 signatures for the impeachment of a dodgy judge…? The only ‘good’ reason to put her back in government would be to hasten the demise of FG and the corrupt shower who support them.

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:28 PM

FG are more interested in exculpatory exoneration of Fitzgerald,(she was the minister in situ, it was right for her to resign, and right for her not to be reappointed) they are not texting or tweeting about the real victim in this shocking scandal,and what it has exposed, Maurice McCabe is the Irish Dreyfus, what the state can conspire to do to a citizen through conspiracy and/or incompetence sends a shiver down the spine.

Mute Jessie Ginger
    Favourite Jessie Ginger
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:21 AM

No because she’s Fine Gael

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway

People like her just keep to the script. the backbenches of FF and FG are full of her type.

Mute David Clarke
    Favourite David Clarke
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:27 AM

Could see this getting messy for poor old Leo. Will see what he gives her a job after she backed him for leader

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Oct 12th 2018, 1:57 PM

Is this the best that Ireland can offer??

We really have low standards for our lawmakers!!

Oct 12th 2018, 4:00 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: well ppl did vote for the blueshirts

Mute David Newman
    Favourite David Newman

Never get back with your ex.

Mute paul kelly
    Favourite paul kelly
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:44 AM

Would it not be stupid to reappoint her before the report is complete?
    We could have the crazy situation where a minister has to resign twice over the same matter?

Oct 12th 2018, 3:11 PM

42.5% yes and it’s the middle of the day? Jesus wept the Irish truly are gluttons for punishment. That woman is unfit for office and should be permanently turfed out along with Eoghan Murphy, Harris, Alan Kelly,the Healy Raes .

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:47 PM

No No And No

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:21 AM

Hell no.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:41 AM

I hope to feck she does come back and it spells the end of that rotten party for once and for all

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:13 AM

She reminds me of “M” from James Bond.

Mute dave mc nevin
    Favourite dave mc nevin

We can’t be that stupid to believe she new nothing her and o Sullivan up to there neck in it callinian the scapegoat we have to stop believing this shite FG trolls on today getting worried

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:17 PM

Useless Minister of Justice like the rest of them

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:24 PM

No way should be allowed near any govt department, at the very least she hadn’t a clue what the hell was going on.

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Liam Harris: harsh
    Retired maybe dead?

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Oct 12th 2018, 12:49 PM

Politicians are the slimmest bunch of people if ever seen

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Oct 12th 2018, 3:41 PM

@Margaret Kane: Must be due to their diets.

Mute Andy Lawrence Moore
    Favourite Andy Lawrence Moore
    Oct 14th 2018, 10:09 AM

@Margaret Kane: Exactly . Maybe innocent in Mc Cabe affair & did the honourable thing , but guilty as hell for leaving a lobbying agency (Communications Clinic) write her scripts for her & that is unforgivable !!

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Oct 12th 2018, 3:43 PM

Latest Red C poll puts FF on 27& and FG on 32%. Doesn’t matter what they do they will get back again.

Mute Henry Porter
    Favourite Henry Porter
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Liam Harris: ah Liam c’mon. No need for that.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Oct 12th 2018, 6:52 PM

Absolutely not – She wasn’t going around the department with ear muffs.

Mute CtrlAltDel
    Favourite CtrlAltDel
    Oct 12th 2018, 10:33 AM

Fuk noooooooo

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:20 PM

emails

Mute John Mooney
    Favourite John Mooney
    Oct 12th 2018, 11:38 PM

Another pro-government poll from the Journal.

Mute jmc1189
    Favourite jmc1189
    Oct 12th 2018, 6:19 PM

She should never be allowed in politics again she’s useless just like the rest of them. Minister for justice ibwrote to her 10 times and never got a reply she’s useless.

She likes a good shot of whiskey…

Mute jmc1189
    Favourite jmc1189
    Oct 12th 2018, 6:17 PM

@dunonu I think that your a blue shirt.

Mute Martin A Coyle
    Favourite Martin A Coyle
    Oct 13th 2018, 8:56 AM

We in Ireland have a bad tendacy of PENSIONER’S retaining top jobs in Politics etc why? Why is it there laws for the rest of Irish SOCIETIES PENSIONER’S and different laws for our LEGISLATORS

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Oct 12th 2018, 6:54 PM

Wait until the next module reported on

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Oct 12th 2018, 4:21 PM

No because she is useless

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Oct 13th 2018, 11:40 AM

She’s a waffler!!!!

Mute Tina Maxwell
    Favourite Tina Maxwell
    Oct 13th 2018, 9:27 AM

Yesterday morning the NO vote was 52%
    How come it is DOWN 2% to 50%????
    More RIGGING?

Mute Dennis Cox
    Favourite Dennis Cox
    Oct 13th 2018, 12:07 AM

Let’s face it people no one no matter what qualifications they have could run this country.