You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Here's the one thing Enda Kenny and Joan Burton have definitely agreed on...

Over 70s will be happy with this one.

Updated 8.05pm

THE GOVERNMENT WILL make it a priority to introduce free GP care for the over 70s in the remainder of its term.

The commitment is contained in a draft policy document that has been worked out by Taoiseach Enda Kenny and newly-appointed Tánaiste Joan Burton during the ongoing discussions on the government’s priorities for the remained of its term and the imminent Cabinet reshuffle.

Kenny told the Dáil this afternoon that the policy decision has been made and he does not think it will require legislation to implement.

He said: “The Government has made a decision that all persons over 70 will obviously be entitled to access to GP services.”

However, the Irish Medical Organisation has said the government’s policy in this area is “in completely disarray”.

“The reality is that GPs are overstretched and under-resourced and priority must be given to providing services to those most in need,” Ray Walley of the organisation’s GP committee said.

“We are particularly concerned that the Government is using Free GP Visit Cards as an alternative to medical cards when the two are not comparable.”

It is of little help to an elderly patient to have his GP visit paid for but no support for all the additional services available under medical cards including medication, non medical support services and community services.

The government has already committed to free GP care for all by 2016 and a system of universal health insurance by 2019.

As part of this free GP care is being rolled out to children under six later this year – the legislation for this recently passed the Dáil and is currently before the Seanad.

Discussions between Kenny and the new Tánaiste are continuing with the coalition set to outline its priorities once it has agreed on the Cabinet reshuffle.

This could take place tomorrow at the earliest, but there are some indications it may be delayed until Friday.

Additional reporting by Nicky Ryan. Originally published 2.23pm

More: The Cabinet reshuffle may not be announced until Friday – but there’s ‘no particular rush’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:22 PM

So much for the stats that indicate that it is young males that are the problem drivers. It would be too expensive to put Gardai on the roads to stop them so go after low hanging fruit that you can identify from a desk.
    Absolute BS. Fair play to Leo.

Mute Pat the Baker
    Favourite Pat the Baker
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:30 PM

@Pato: Exactly, over-confidence combined with a lack of experience results in unnecessary risks being taken and an inability to react appropriately.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:22 PM

@Pat the Baker: That and driving like a madman

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:23 PM

@Pato: we’re a low density country with lots of rural roads, policing them all is not a realistic option.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:44 PM

@Pato: He probably also knows we have a third world country public transport system and it would not be very practical.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:28 AM

@Pato: 75% of road deaths are not in the 18–25 category.

Mute paul ruddell
    Favourite paul ruddell
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:12 PM

Why are comments open on this article, but not the prison one? Is it because we can’t upset the free legal aid gravy train? Hundreds of bad people out there, with hundreds of convictions wandering around terrorising normal decent people. How about instead of 45 million for a new jet, put it towards a new prison?

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Nov 19th 2023, 1:31 AM

@paul ruddell: legal aid is worth peanuts ffs

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 19th 2023, 9:20 AM

@paul ruddell: a new prison would be welcome, ensuring that people serve their full sentences. It should be for recidivists, with first-time prisoners sent to the existing prisons and with all the reform budget concentrated on them. If somebody keeps offending, the only answer from a societal point of view is to keep rhem locked up.
    Free legal aid needs to be reformed too. Give everybody two ‘tickets,’ if they use them up, they should represent themselves after that.

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:56 PM

I think I ‘d rather meet a septuagenarian me than a twenty something me driving on a wet dark night….

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:29 AM

@Mike Finnegan: Depends on the context really, circumstance, etc. Put a dragon in the story, entertaining like.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:37 PM

It seems reasonable to have ongoing assessment after a certain age. Old people carry a stigma with regards to acuity though so some actual stats on road safety with regards to seniors would be handy. I could be wrong have a feeling we’re focusing on the wrong age profile.

Mute Mary Conneely
    Favourite Mary Conneely
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:27 PM

@Louis Jacob: I would say that there are issues with young male drivers acuity or those whose ability is impaired due to drugs and alcohol.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:18 AM

@Louis Jacob: we have to ban or define the word “old” when referring to humans ..” seniors”is a more respectful word but when exactly is one a senior? Is it when one receives the state pension? Currently at 66 but heading up to 70 years asap.Live long #Live healthy but forget age#

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:17 PM

Of course he’s not.Thems the voting folk!!

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:22 PM

@Johnny King: I actually agree with him. Why force an elderly person off the road if they are still mentally and physically able, and pass an assessment to show they can still drive.

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:31 PM

@Jason Ebbs: I actually do agree too.Just trying to get in there with the first smart ar!e comment to be honest!
    In fact the older I get the more I respect older people and dislike them younger people.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2023, 11:02 AM

@Johnny King: Respecting older people is good but please extend to younger people also…just finding their way on our treacherous roads..They will be good drivers some day if they live long enough

Mute Jerry LeFrog
    Favourite Jerry LeFrog
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:33 PM

Cognitive and knowledge tests should be compulsory for everyone renewing their licence, regardless of age.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:32 PM

SF are still going to be the largest party and lead the next govt no matter how many articles you have about 5th count Leo & FG, must be the 5th article so far.

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:53 PM

@9QRixo8H: if Sinn Fein want to lead the next government they will have to run more candidates and have them elected on fifth and sixth counts. Even Mary Lou acknowledged that “heading the poll” cost them seats last time out.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:02 PM

@9QRixo8H: The largest party? Larger than the ‘FFG’ we hear so much about?

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:04 PM

@Mike Finnegan: Currently we have Socialist led govts in France, Spain, Germany, Denmark, Portugal, Norway, and soon it will be England and Ireland.

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:08 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Check any of the opinion polls to see which party is the largest support party by the majority in Ireland. Would you like me to link you to one?

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:10 PM

@9QRixo8H: SF is essentially a one-issue, no-wing party that has tacked on some ‘left-wing’ policies it thinks might be popular. It is no deep beliefs (apart from believing that the border is a bad thing) and is more nationalist/populist than socialist, although it’s to its credit that it hasn’t jumped on any anti-migrant bandwagon.

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:11 PM

@9QRixo8H: no argument with you. I was only referring to their mistake in strategy in last election.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:14 PM

@9QRixo8H: My point is that if people claim (as SF supporters often do) that FF and FG are essentially one party, that’s the biggest and most popular party (as your opinion poll will show).

Mute 9QRixo8H
    Favourite 9QRixo8H
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:48 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: They were all single-issue parties. FF was for framers, FG for corporate elites, Labour for workers, SocDems for workers, Aontu is male reproductive controls, far-right for eradicating minorities/human rights… Who would you vote for?

Mute edward killeen
    Favourite edward killeen
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:31 PM

Easy fix,tell them to fu%k off,and leave the elderly alone,been driving for 45 years without an accident.

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:33 PM

Varadkar was not voted into this job he’s doing he did not get the numbers joke of a country

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:56 PM

@sleepy joe: educate yourself on our voting system. Your opinion does not equate to fact.

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Nov 18th 2023, 7:47 PM

@Paul C: you go to bed it’s late

Mute sleepy joe
    Favourite sleepy joe
    Nov 18th 2023, 8:06 PM

@Con Rafferty: yes she will

Mute GVR
    Favourite GVR
    Nov 18th 2023, 10:29 PM

@sleepy joe: you’re like a broken record

Mute Will Q
    Favourite Will Q
    Nov 18th 2023, 7:16 PM

Pen pushers trying their best to come up with ideas to make everybody’s life as difficult as possible…

Mute Drin Pog
    Favourite Drin Pog
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:51 PM

We should totally have a medical at 70 plus a smaller test, people deteriorate rapidly with eyesight and reactions.
    No politician would ever go for it though as he’d instantly lose a majority of his over 70s voters.

I know a few people over 70 who shouldn’t be on the road but drive everyday.

Mute vf6o4yXY
    Favourite vf6o4yXY
    Nov 18th 2023, 8:12 PM

@Drin Pog: I know a lot of people under 70 that shouldn’t be on the road that drive every, I also observe people every day on our roads I don’t know under 70 that drive recklessly, go through red lights, brake speed limits, use their mobile phone while driving and are nothing but a dangerous hindrance on our road to others including the over 70s.

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Nov 18th 2023, 8:39 PM

@Drin Pog: I have a friend who just stopped driving at 92. The persons doctor said person had no cognitive issues. Nothing to do with age has to do with ability to drive.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:31 AM

@Drin Pog: Seniors defined here as people 70+ usually drive to their local town/ shops and use trains planes and buses to go further afield. They are amongst the safest drivers out there not on speed or coke as far as i know?

Mute Jo Jo
    Favourite Jo Jo
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:36 PM

Absolute bs sure over 70s need their cars to get to work!

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:54 PM

Everyone regardless of age should have to do 3 certified refresher lessons before renewing a license. No pass or fail, just mandatory refresher lessons before a license can be renewed.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan

@Martin O Connell: how about applying that to anybody gathering 6 speeding penalty points in any 2 year period and leave the law abiding safe drivers alone to get on with their safe driving

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:25 PM

@Martin O Connell: I disagree, those who built this country and are driving safely and for years shouldn’t have to go through the same hoops as some young fella driving like a lunatic on a back country road to get somewhere 1 minute quicker

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:37 PM

@Gerry Ryan: spot on, don’t paint the age or any group in the same category, 9 points re take the test,

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s

A test to see if they are still fit to drive is so far from a restriction, if they are still able to drive safely then they should have no problem passing a test

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:31 PM

@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s: You could say that about any age group, young men for example, many of whom are terrorists on the road

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:56 PM

@Louis Jacob: exactly, if it was up to me id have everyone resit a test on licence renewal every 10years, test is a joke though needs a complete overhaul to include driving at night and driving in the rain

Mute Shane Doyle
    Favourite Shane Doyle
    Nov 18th 2023, 5:36 PM

This get together have been nothing but an electioneering event to saturate the media with feel good titbits aimed at their targeted voters

Mute Shane Doyle
    Favourite Shane Doyle
    Nov 18th 2023, 7:26 PM

@Con Rafferty: this isn’t an ard fheis mate

Mute Eugene Sol
    Favourite Eugene Sol
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:31 PM

Definitely we should apply that, older people need to be regularly cheched by independent doctor or someone. Not just known one, I have seen several old people passing NCT like go to the door and after 3 min got new cert, without even passing the line, while i was waiting my car to be passed. Same they got permission to drive from friend GP. And at the end we have no roadworthy car with no roadworthy drivers. We much accept that eu rule

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Nov 19th 2023, 6:33 AM

@Eugene Sol: I didn’t know old people had to pass a nct, I thought it was their cars

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:40 AM

@Eugene Sol: Don’t worry Eugene it was just a bad dream! you really are ok

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Nov 18th 2023, 11:01 PM

Ridiculous to add age limits and stuff. Some 80 year olds are much better drivers than 19 year olds, just because they aren’t breaking speed limits doesn’t mean they’re incompetent.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 18th 2023, 4:46 PM

Varadkar is more in favour of drivers being assessed on their cognitive and physical ability rather than age.That should remove most of these incompetent 70 plus year olds off the roads.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:28 PM

@Gerry Lamont: Just to be clear on the point you’re making.
    Are you applying this to pedestrian 70 year olds too?

Mute Jo Jo
    Favourite Jo Jo
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:37 PM

Sure over 70s need their cars to get to work!

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Nov 18th 2023, 11:44 PM

Euzilla Von Der Crazy is at it again. Unelected, unmanaged coupled with a federalist schizophrenia leaves us with this BS. Time to leave the EU. Food prices show the EU has failed us. The game is up.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 19th 2023, 4:45 AM

@Peter Murray: fair to say the EU has been ran arseways for some time now to be fair soon they’re will be more non nationals in EU than EU citizens which I thought was the whole idea to begin with, people within EU would benefit from being in it not everyone outside of it entering it hard to see overall benefits fully long term when faced with housing and overloaded health problems and growing aging population many pension problems ahead also finding wise which supposedly are a myth to those in power

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Nov 19th 2023, 6:36 AM

@Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh: what has that to do with over 70s driving.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Nov 19th 2023, 2:22 AM

Basically what he is saying that with an election coming up he wouldn’t do it but if voted in again he would. Bad idea to go after pensioner’s before an election.

Mute Gearld Stapleton
    Favourite Gearld Stapleton
    Nov 18th 2023, 7:33 PM

Serious note, my dad renewed his licence last year. He is 76 can barely walk among other ailments and he still got it. It’s a joke! I wouldn’t get in to the car with him he is lethal.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2023, 10:54 AM

@Gearld Stapleton: He’s using wheels because his legs won’t( will not) take him where he needs to go..Smart man..

Mute Fr. Todd Uncious
    Favourite Fr. Todd Uncious
    Nov 18th 2023, 6:15 PM

Of course he isn’t, that would be leadership!

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 19th 2023, 4:40 AM

No one cares what he’s in favour him,FF or cabbage head at this stage all they’re in favour of is increasing homelessness and hospital waiting lists due to overloading from immigration as Irish birth rate has been dropping for years as quite obviously people see they cannot afford children like Japan and China has become and government there is panicking not our idiots we’ll just increase immigration without housing or health great plan.

Mute John Roberts
    Favourite John Roberts
    Nov 18th 2023, 9:41 PM

All drivers should do refresher courses, insane amount of poor drivers out there who don’t know the rules or obey them.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Nov 19th 2023, 12:54 PM

Nanny state

Mute paul ruddell
    Favourite paul ruddell
    Nov 19th 2023, 12:40 PM

@ Martin Mongan, according to 2016 independent article it was at 47 million a year. I’d say it’s gone up a bit since. What job have you got, that makes that peanuts? Any suggestions of what to do with people with 200+ convictions or ya just here to knock ideas?