You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PICS: Egyptian protesters join 'Free Manning' protest at US embassy in Dublin

Chelsea Manning, formerly known as Bradley, was yesterday sentenced to 35 years in a military prison for leaking classified information.

OVER TWO DOZEN protesters turned up at the US embassy in Dublin this evening calling for the former US Army private to be freed.

Chelsea Manning, formerly known as Bradley, was yesterday sentenced to 35 years in a military prison for leaking classified information. Manning issued a statement this morning asking to be known from now on as ‘Chelsea Elizabeth Manning’.

Many of the protesters who were down the street at the Egyptian embassy calling for the release of the Halawa siblings joined the Irish Anti War Movement’s peaceful demonstration at the US embassy.

Here it is in pictures:

Free Manning Protest
1 / 7
  • Free Manning Protest

Sam Boal/Photocall IrelandSource: samboal/photocallireland
  • Free Manning Protest

Jodi Burke (16) from Tallaght calling for Manning's release. Sam Boal/Photocall IrelandSource: samboal/photocallireland
  • Free Manning Protest

Lorna Bogue from Co Limerick. Sam Boal/Photocall IrelandSource: samboal/photocallireland
  • Free Manning Protest

Egyption protesters Khalid Ahmed (11) joined the protest. Sam Boal/Photocall IrelandSource: samboal/photocallireland
  • Free Manning Protest

Egyptian protester Fatima Ahmed (10) from Tallaght joined Protesters from the Anti War Movement at the United States America embassy in Dublin this evening, to demand the release of Manning.Source: samboal/photocallireland
  • Free Manning Protest

Niall Carson/PA WireSource: Niall Carson
  • Free Manning Protest

Niall Carson/PA WireSource: Niall Carson

Read: “I am Chelsea Manning. I am a female.”>

More: A ‘Free Bradley Manning’ protest to be held at US Embassy, Dublin>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:43 PM

The Donald has a point. Just look at the state of the UK media.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:51 PM

@Reg: he never has a point

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:58 PM

@Reg: and eejits like you embolden him

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:19 PM

@Reg: He’s calling real news as fake news. He critiques everything and everyone that rightfully critiques him and your trying to equate that as the small amount of dodgy gutter UK media outlets. Note from below, as it shows Trumps hate and violent rhetoric in all of it’s unashamed glory. The first links video is poignant and representative of Trumps white supremacist KKK-esque machinations
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/arts-and-entertainment/wp/2016/10/14/about-that-viral-video-of-donald-trump-talking-about-the-good-old-days/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.ea35f00a5682
    https://www.nytimes.com/video/us/100000004269364/trump-and-violence.html

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:28 PM

@bmul: a mushroom?

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:32 PM

@Reg: He is correct on the US media also. CNN do create lies about him occasionally while Fox News create lies to defend him. Both sides are at it

Mute Carla Killeen
    Favourite Carla Killeen
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:48 PM

@Reg: Dope!

Mute White Rhino
    Favourite White Rhino
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:53 PM

@Reg: It’s recognised, but not held to account, for it’s heavily right wing bias.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:54 PM

I have to laugh, I rarely comment on Trump and when I do I think it has always been negative. When I say he has a point (which he does) I’m jumped on!

Trump is a hypocrite and liar, no doubt. But the way that much of the UK press has behaved during the Brexit campaign in particular has been truly awful.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:54 PM

@John Mullin: Have you an example of the lies they made up about him?

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:24 PM

@Reg: and a stopped clock is right twice a day. Relevance of UK media to Donald having a point is What?

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:27 PM

@Rob Cahill: Yes, Russian collusion. And the proof of it is in the FBI Agents Strock & Page e-mails that have been declassified. They boast of the success of the fake stories they wrote and sent to the MSM and speak of their (and DOJ’s) media leak strategy. They are online if you wish to go find them.

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:27 PM

@Shane Dignam: Strzok

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:48 PM

@Rob Cahill: inauguration photos they printed showing barely anyone there saying it was taken at 1pm when it was really taken early in morning as people were arriving. This of course, was to counteract the claims and photoshopped photos Fox news published showing “biggest ever crowds”. Like I said, both sides guilty of lying (fake media) proving Reg’s original point. Just because me or Reg or anyone else is big enough to admit when Trump has a point about something doesn’t mean we are supporters or that either of us deserve to be slated over it. That kind of bully boy behavior from some of the posters towards Reg ( not talking about you) resembles the tactics that Anti-Trump fans say they hate Trump for..

Mute Peter Lewis Jnr
    Favourite Peter Lewis Jnr
    Oct 25th 2018, 7:00 PM

@John Mullin: stop it with your truth ye little rascal..

Mute Nicholas Lynch
    Favourite Nicholas Lynch
    Oct 25th 2018, 7:01 PM

@bmul: bmul. I think reg is talking about the Sun and co. Some of the headlines are close to incitement

Mute Dara Wyer
    Favourite Dara Wyer
    Oct 25th 2018, 10:06 PM

@John Mullin:
    Its not about you being big enough to offer a counterpoint. The media (plural) has always pursued different agendas, some if which currently are against Trump, and some of it helped to get him elected. What the article refers to is terrorism happening in the US right now, and Trump is downplaying it by bringing the issue around to a generalised point about the nasty media. If it was the “right” type of terorism, Trump wouldn’t be rounding on the media, he would be using it to stokie up fear and anger and spewing his alpha male nonsense. I know you are not claiming to be a Trump supporter, but it really isn’t about the media- at least in this case. For the record, I dislike Clinton only a bit less than I dislike Trump.

Mute John Mullin
    Favourite John Mullin
    Oct 27th 2018, 4:36 AM

@Dara Wyer: it’s about how media can manipulate stories to either get people to support their agenda or incite anger against them by their bias. Then they claim the moral high ground with no right to it. Funny how the media Trump is giving out about always manage to blame him for everything. When people were rioting in the streets in protest at Trump being elected, it was his fault. If people rioted because he didn’t get in, it would be his fault also. Some people don’t want to see this obvious observation, do you?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:37 PM

Trump is victim blaming? I’m shocked!

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:59 PM

@Rochelle: With the many who are confused or mentally unstable being fed with daily hate and counter-hate by media what we be surprised at what happens anymore. “Fake News Kills” may be a slogan of the future.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:17 PM

He’s actually saying…..”I strongly condemn the acts I encouraged you to commit!”

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:54 PM

@Paul Furey: And no mention of terrorism because it’ll look bad when they find the white American right-wing nutter behind it.

Mute Dara Wyer
    Favourite Dara Wyer
    Oct 25th 2018, 11:11 PM

@Tom Molloy:
    And the hate coming from Trump is somehow different?

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:40 PM

He’s great craic, all the same…

Mute Malcolm Smith
    Favourite Malcolm Smith
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:48 PM

Amazing, according to Trump every Muslim is a terrorist,but talking about Americans sending bombs to fellow Americans then the word terrorist is not used by the man. Seems American killing American is perfectly acceptable.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:53 PM

@Malcolm Smith: over 30,000 a year killed by guns they seem fine with it .

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce

@Malcolm Smith: I’d put my house on those bombs being politically motivated and deliberately put there in order to hopefully tarnish the upcoming elections for the republicans.. And no iHaven’t got my tin foil hat on.. Its American politics we’re talking about.. And the most divisive president ever.. These stunts happen in America.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:06 PM

@Acedeuce: No tin foil hat, just a lead hat.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:23 PM

@Acedeuce: you sound like Trump not a good thing

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:29 PM

@Luke Campbell: More like a dick head.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: You mean mushroom head

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:50 PM

@Acedeuce: did momma ever tell you that life is like a box of chocolates

Mute Acedeuce
    Favourite Acedeuce
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:51 PM

@Larissa Nikolaus: it’s not nice to call people names

Mute White Rhino
    Favourite White Rhino
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:56 PM

@Acedeuce: they do….and you’re proof is? Ohh yeah they elected a lying clown for President

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:56 PM

@Acedeuce: Well obviously you don’t have your tin foil hat on.. That would keep the crazy stuff out.

Mute Stormin' Corbyn
    Favourite Stormin' Corbyn
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:04 PM

@Acedeuce: Interesting that your ilk were yelling non stop about how Christine Blasey Ford had no evidence for her claims, yet you feel awfully comfortable to claim a conspiracy with NO evidence.

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:18 PM

@Acedeuce: Pull the other one, it was clearly a Trump fan sending them. Stop with the deluded bullsht.

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 5:18 PM

@Stormin’ Corbyn: Also interesting how your side are so quiet about the sexual assault claims made earlier this week against Senator Corey Booker. Whatever happened to #ibelieveher. Is it because the allegations were made by a man or because he’s a democrat?

Mute Nicholas Lynch
    Favourite Nicholas Lynch
    Oct 25th 2018, 7:04 PM

@Malcolm Smith: more common at any rate

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:41 PM

It`s like there is a mini angel and a devil on this guys shoulders, and as soon as the angel tries to speak up, the devil firmly puts it right back in it`s box.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:36 PM

@Pixie McMullen: Nah, he’s got two devils, each of them urging on the other one

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:43 PM

@Larissa Nikolaus: Ah poor Donald…sure he’s head’s full of wee doors… and they’re all slamming.

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen

All Trump had to do was be calm, quiet and non-confrontational – in other words, unifying – just for a week or so. How long did he last? 12 hours, if that? Pathetic.

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:00 PM

This is a man telling his supporters Democrats have helped Terrorists infiltrate the caravan descending on Mexican border. Sexual abuse victims are liars, His political opponents wife is Ugly and his opponents Dad helped assassinate Kennedy,.He is responsible for lowering the Tone , even before being elected.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:59 PM

@Dáithí O Raghailaigh: He has totally lost it, he just keeps going with the lies within lies within fake news within alternative facts. Screwball!!

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:24 PM

Unfortunately he has a point, to a large degree the media is poisonous in attacking candidates in the political arena that would be considered enemies of whichever corporate entities own various media institutions, the smear campaigns against Bernie Sanders carried out by mainstream media during his failed attempt for the democratic nomination, closer to home the presidential “debates” here during last week where the debate chairs behaved as if engaged in a form of badger baiting attacking each candidate on perceived weaknesses to be exploited for the purpose of creating brownie points for tv channels instead of getting balanced view of each candidates character..I think in future no quality candidates will step forward because of fear of this type of public character assassination

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 5:47 PM

@Moss Cotter: Bernie Sanders didn’t have a failed attempt, The DNC literally stole the Primary from him and handed it to Hillary.
    Also for those who think the MSM are an honest bunch, when have any of you ever heard or seen anything at all positive said about Trump in his nearly two years in office? I can’t remember one thing.

Mute Moss Cotter
    Favourite Moss Cotter
    Oct 25th 2018, 6:09 PM

@Shane Dignam: yes Bernie Sanders had it stolen by democrat party bosses but he was also hammered by mainstream media all through his campaign..again you are right bout trump continually getting bad press from mainstream media cos he’s a political outsider and they need to blacken him but the American permanent government are secretly delighted with trump cos they know they can control him and then when trump is gone they can put forward another polished fake like Obama to regain the office, it was Sanders the wall st set feared

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Oct 25th 2018, 8:27 PM

@Shane Dignam: Hillary was a life long Democrat , Bernie was an Independent .So why should Hillary’s big donors have their money used to help Bernie beat her in the primaries ? (Answers on the back of a postcard ) Anyhow’s,she beat Bernie by several million votes #iwasaberniesupporter

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 9:36 PM

@Moss Cotter: I doubt very much they are controlling him as he seems to be undoing all their work piece by piece. There’s N.Korea, no more funding ISIS, an agreement to withdraw from Syria if & when Iran leave, Summits with Russia, Peace talks with the Taliban and Afghanistan, tightening immigration policy to name a few. They worked hard to create all those messes, so no, they despise him. But my personal favourite and it’s something all of us should be grateful for, he binned the TTIP agreement with the EU. That has really saved our bacon. TTIP gave corporations way too much legal power over our governments. I couldnt stand Trump until he did that. TTIP was a corporate takeover. Our government and the EU would have signed this agreement and sold us down the river. He saved our asses

Mute Dara Wyer
    Favourite Dara Wyer
    Oct 25th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Shane Dignam:
    Are you saying Fox isn’t MSM? Genuine question.

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 25th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Dara Wyer: Of course it is Dara, my apologies. I thought it was a given that I wasn’t referring to FOX. But you get my point anyway I’m sure.

Mute Dara Wyer
    Favourite Dara Wyer
    Oct 25th 2018, 11:15 PM

@Shane Dignam:
    So for completeness, you are agreeing that Fox is MSM and the MSM is dishonest? Again, I’m not trying to have a go at you- I occasionay watch CNN and it seems to act as a polar opposite to Fox- they are both totally off balance as media outlets.

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 26th 2018, 12:26 AM

@Dara Wyer: I don’t watch Fox and I definitely wouldn’t class myself as a Conservative. But if what your getting at is are Fox as biased and dishonest as the rest of the MSM, from what I’ve seen, absolutely.

Mute Ross Fehily
    Favourite Ross Fehily
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:15 PM

media polarisation is a huge problem. The only non bias media outlet now is euronews. They just report what’s happening and don’t give their opinions on it

Mute Mark McDermott
    Favourite Mark McDermott
    Oct 25th 2018, 4:20 PM

@Ross Fehily: I love the no comment section.

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:03 PM

If he simply said something like ‘ if anyone thinks that I want this they are mistaken ‘ it wouldn’t have cost him anything but he sees that as taking blame and sociopaths never take blame

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:04 PM

A lecture to the Media from one the worlds most ignorant men.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:12 PM

This is why this is happening! Because this ignorant pos is fanning the flames of hatred. Even now he’s essentially victim blaming the media for the attempted attack on CNN.

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:11 PM

Tool

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:12 PM

Have a look at Trumps hate and violent rhetoric in all of it’s unashamed glory and he has the gall to keep on creating hatred against real news media. He’s repugnance personified and some dotards love the hate. The first links video is very poignant and representative of Trumps white supremacist KKK-esque machinations
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/arts-and-entertainment/wp/2016/10/14/about-that-viral-video-of-donald-trump-talking-about-the-good-old-days/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.ea35f00a5682
    https://www.nytimes.com/video/us/100000004269364/trump-and-violence.html

Mute Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Favourite Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:55 PM

The problem is he’s trying to keep everyone happy. When people aren’t happy with him weather they are celebrities or democrats or republicans he throws a tantrum that reminds people of a 2 year old.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Sorcha Hendry instagram: @SorchaHendry86: That’s an insult to all tantrum throwing 2 year olds

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:53 PM

@Larissa Nikolaus: you can sometimes reason with a 2 year old

Mute Kendra Jackson
    Favourite Kendra Jackson
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:57 PM

@bmul: 2 year olds grow and learn.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:02 PM

“Keep your hair on folks – it was only a few ‘oul bombs! And you Media people, what are ye on about? Must be a slow day that has you making up stories like this!!!”

There’s the insanity that was unleashed by the election of Donald. Come on Americans, show us that you understand that you’re being manipulated by a dangerous lunatic.

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:52 PM

The guy’s official lie tally as president is already 5000+, but it’s the media that’s fake. Yeah, right.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:49 PM

I wonder if he will post that on Twitter?

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 1:57 PM

He behaves like a spoilt child at every opportunity

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:06 PM

Be nice to folks on way up. Same folk u meet on way down…Agent Orange gonna get his ..Believe me

Mute Drahcir Neirbo
    Favourite Drahcir Neirbo
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:47 PM

Look at the belly on him, hes a great bunch of lads

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:45 PM

That shouldn’t be #anger it should be #langer (in the headline)

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Oct 25th 2018, 3:15 PM

Has anyone marketed a President Trump action figure with speech synthesiser and recordings of incoherent and provocative statements? [Had to word that blandly due to the 'Toxic' calculator for comments]. Or is Trump actually a ‘performance’ artist deliberately satirising either himself or the office of the U.S. President?

Mute White Rhino
    Favourite White Rhino
    Oct 25th 2018, 2:52 PM

Sick of this President of Lies, the ‘prove it’ punk, endless spin of logic into absurdity…zero values president except show me the money. He’s an insult to democracy, even capitalism. Trying to outwit this clown with logic is pointless.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Oct 25th 2018, 6:01 PM

He should practice what he preaches when does he set a civil tone he’s a bully

Mute Noreen Court
    Favourite Noreen Court
    Oct 25th 2018, 9:16 PM

Then he should practise what he preaches

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Oct 26th 2018, 8:13 AM

Regardless of what you think of what the media says they can’t be told what to do or what to print by a sitting president because then it’s not a free press and the press should always be free regardless of opinions by cynics. In Saudi Arabia we know what comes of journalists who don’t do what there told so journalists in the west where they have the chance to express there right to free speech should always use that right

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Oct 26th 2018, 8:29 PM

Trump is evil he hasn’t a good word to say about anyone and dare say anything bad about him dangerous dangerous man

Mute Steven Smyth
    Favourite Steven Smyth
    Oct 25th 2018, 8:04 PM

He’ll send the next device to himself throwing everyone off the scent

Mute Craig Lynch
    Favourite Craig Lynch
    Oct 26th 2018, 12:28 AM

A case of do as I say not as I do.