You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Two members of the public take an antigen test as part of a screening programme. PA Images

Poll: Would you take a weekly rapid home test for Covid-19?

Antigen tests are quicker but less accurate than the gold-standard PCR test.

EVERYONE IN ENGLAND will be able to access two rapid Covid-19 tests per week under new plans to facilitate the easing of restrictions.

Antigen tests, such as the lateral flow test, provide a result in as little as 30 minutes, far quicker than the gold-standard PCR tests.

However, this speed comes at the expense of accuracy: one study suggests that antigen tests detect just 58% of asymptomatic positive cases when used by self-trained members of the public.

While this might provide a false sense of security, widespread use of rapid tests is seen as one potential method to detect asymptomatic cases which would otherwise be missed and could result in further cases – if people can be convinced to use the tests, that is.

Today we’re asking: Would you take a weekly free home test for Covid-19?

Poll Results:

Yes (11785)
No (2194)
Undecided (582)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

63 Comments
    Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    May 20th 2020, 11:54 AM

Let’s get fat some more ;-)

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 20th 2020, 11:56 AM

@Optimus Prime: People need a treat after all the DIY and gardening over the last couple of days.

Mute Wadi
    Favourite Wadi
    May 20th 2020, 12:02 PM

@Logan Shepherd: Love it

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    May 20th 2020, 5:13 PM

@Logan Shepherd: absolutely they need a treat. Why are they going to McDonald’s, though? Punishment?

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    May 20th 2020, 12:51 PM

Over 50% of the virus in Dublin and McDonald’s open first in Dublin

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    May 20th 2020, 2:24 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: culchies obviously don’t like McDonalds that much so.

Mute Glen Marsden
    Favourite Glen Marsden
    May 20th 2020, 2:39 PM

@Big Red: it’s a ‘mighee mec’ outside Dublin

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    May 20th 2020, 3:19 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: over 50% of the population are in Dublin.

Ridiculous comment.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 20th 2020, 5:29 PM

@Fabio Dillon: since when ?

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    May 20th 2020, 5:32 PM

@Fabio Dillon: people’s definitions of what consists of Dublin expands year on year. Almost 40% of Ireland’s population live in Dublin and the 3 counties immediately surrounding it. That is a significant amount of people, but in no way is it over 50% of the population living within Dublin itself.

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    May 20th 2020, 5:36 PM

@Glen Marsden: says a dublin scu. bag

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    May 20th 2020, 5:45 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: I’m guessing it’s something related to the fact that as people theoretically can only travel 5km to potential market is sufficiently bigger in Dublin than elsewhere

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    May 20th 2020, 5:47 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: larger population more cases of the virus. Main ports and airport more cases of the virus. More hospitals and nursing homes ……more cases of the virus. Larger population means more business for McDonald’s so yeah it would make sense for them to open up in Dublin first.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    May 20th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Kevin O’ Brien: citation please.

Up the dubs.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    May 20th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Big Red: nope, supermacs is the poison of choice for the aul culchies

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    May 20th 2020, 6:17 PM

@John Doyle: don’t choke on your American junk of choice Jackeen

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    May 20th 2020, 6:59 PM

@Big Red: they can’t win all Ireland either.. Oh but that’s because dublin get all the money!!!!

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    May 20th 2020, 7:04 PM

@Tony Mcgrath: yet highest per head of population covid cases are in cavan/ Monaghan not Dublin..

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    May 20th 2020, 7:27 PM

@chihuahua: did that really offend you that much?? Bad mood is it? lol

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    May 20th 2020, 7:27 PM

@Fabio Dillon: 50% of the population is in Dublin?! Yea good man.

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    May 20th 2020, 7:40 PM

@chihuahua: macdonalds is better than supermacs.

Mute Shane O'brien
    Favourite Shane O'brien
    May 20th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Fabio Dillon: Close to 2.5 million people in Dublin? I think your maths might need work

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    May 20th 2020, 9:32 PM

@chihuahua: until they start putting actual ham in the hamburgers, the culchies wont be interested

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    May 20th 2020, 11:12 PM

@Fabio Dillon: Tony McGrath is going to supply the figures. Up the rebels bai

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    May 20th 2020, 11:13 PM

@Robc: macdonalds, is that a local chipper..I agree, you can’t beat a chipper

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    May 20th 2020, 11:14 PM

@John Doyle: craving a snack box tbh

Mute chihuahua
    Favourite chihuahua
    May 20th 2020, 11:29 PM

@Big Red: uncultured savages!

Mute Glen Marsden
    Favourite Glen Marsden
    May 20th 2020, 12:17 PM

For the past 2 months there’s been a daily queue averaging 30 cars long at Burger King in Tallaght. Today there’s 4.
    Looks like Big Mac wins

Mute Bernard Sweeney
    Favourite Bernard Sweeney
    May 20th 2020, 4:57 PM

@Glen Marsden: you got all this in a spreadsheet to prove it?

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    May 20th 2020, 7:28 PM

@Bernard Sweeney: Will a spreadsheet confirm it for you?

Mute No
    Favourite No
    May 20th 2020, 1:03 PM

Bet their McFlurry machines still aren’t working though.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    May 20th 2020, 7:29 PM

@No: they bloody better be!

Mute kevin castelli
    Favourite kevin castelli
    May 20th 2020, 1:09 PM

Time to invest in your health. People suffering from obesity are particularly vulnerable to covid19. Fast food only adding to the problem. Eat clean and get up on the bike

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    May 20th 2020, 5:22 PM

@kevin castelli: and stay away from the pedigree chum in a bun

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    May 20th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Quentin Moriarty:
    pedigree chum??? More like yellow pack…

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    May 21st 2020, 11:15 AM

@kevin castelli: Always one cycling cures everything.

Mute Peter D Keating
    Favourite Peter D Keating
    May 20th 2020, 12:01 PM

GIVE ME 1500 CHEESE BURGERS!!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 20th 2020, 12:03 PM

@Peter D Keating: Don’t forget the diet coke ..

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    Favourite Adam O'Sullivan
    May 20th 2020, 12:48 PM

@Peter D Keating: I GOT THESE CHEESE BURGERSSSSS

Mute Paul Delaney
    Favourite Paul Delaney
    May 20th 2020, 3:24 PM

@Peter D Keating: you might have to bargain them down to 30 euros

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    May 20th 2020, 5:38 PM

@Adam O’Sullivan: MESSAGE!!

Mute Gerald
    Favourite Gerald

Glad the staff have jobs back. But I prefer a real mince burger cooked on BBQ

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    May 20th 2020, 5:20 PM

@Gerald: rather than meat powerhosed from a carcass ? No way .

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    May 20th 2020, 9:33 PM

@Gerald: great. One less person in the queue so. #notions

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    May 20th 2020, 12:46 PM

Anybody wanna give me a lift to one of them? I’ll lay down in the booth to keep my distance and I’ll give ya a McNugget for your troubles.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd

@Adam O’Sullivan: Stand at the entrance to the drive-thru and hitch a lift .. you never know ..

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith

@Adam O’Sullivan: Have ye not got a bike? I’d chance my arm. It’s still using wheels.

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    May 20th 2020, 1:53 PM

@Olivia Smith: Touché

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    May 20th 2020, 3:28 PM

@Adam O’Sullivan: Well who’s going to stop you? Ronald McDonald. :D

Mute Siobhan Rosemary
    Favourite Siobhan Rosemary
    May 20th 2020, 6:56 PM

They are going to need to bring the army in to deal with the crowds of people when Penny’s open lol

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    May 20th 2020, 6:33 PM

That is just sad.

Mute Zizhen Wang
    Favourite Zizhen Wang
    May 21st 2020, 8:49 AM

@Connoroconner: indeed Pathetic and sad

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    May 20th 2020, 6:28 PM

Waiting in line in cars for a Burger! What have we become? Just as mentally defective as those that lined up at all hours of the night to get Doughnuts previously!!

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    May 21st 2020, 9:19 AM

@Mick.: welcome to society in 2020. I regularly feel superior to the majority. I can’t help it as time and again evidence like this proves I’m above quite a lot of people by just not doing what they do.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    May 20th 2020, 8:04 PM

Who would queue for a McDonalds? Seriously ?

Mute Ste
    Favourite Ste
    May 20th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Hector Son: halfwits & fat fcuks

Mute Pat Butler
    Favourite Pat Butler
    May 20th 2020, 5:27 PM

Sad times…..

Mute Aunties
    Favourite Aunties
    May 20th 2020, 7:14 PM

Queuing in a car on a hot day to get a cheap burger … there are no words for these people .
    Dear COVID overlord ….. any chance ? Gwan

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    May 20th 2020, 1:22 PM

Simon Harris’ statement tonight jumping from behind his non essential curtains shouting “burgers can wait “ !

Mute Susan Adair Farrelly
    Favourite Susan Adair Farrelly

@Isabel Oliveira: this is excellent!

Mute Susan Adair Farrelly
    Favourite Susan Adair Farrelly

@Isabel Oliveira: this is excellent!

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    May 20th 2020, 12:53 PM

On a positive note, Burger King and Super Macs drive through open too.

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    May 20th 2020, 5:23 PM

@Gerard Casserly: my local supermacs is still closed – I’d give anything for a wholemeal grilled chicken sandwich with chipotle sauce

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    May 20th 2020, 9:34 PM

@The only INFP in Ireland: all washed down with a nice cold glass of ivomec

Mute Marcas Ivarsonn
    Favourite Marcas Ivarsonn
    May 20th 2020, 5:14 PM

Days like today make me proud to be a human

Mute Donnacha Bhoicaire
    Favourite Donnacha Bhoicaire

It’s like we’ve learned nothing. After this pandemic we have an option to make real change economically, health wise, wellbeing, climate….I really hope something positive comes from this with learnings.

Mute Scotswahey
    Favourite Scotswahey
    May 20th 2020, 12:37 PM

€30 limit though? Family of 4 couldn’t all get a meal

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    May 20th 2020, 12:50 PM

@Scotswahey: as a big mack meal is about €7.50 and kids meals less then a fiver they can unless little Johnny needs 20′healthy ‘ chicken nuggets an extra large full fat coke a burger and chips plus couple of macflurrys, because god love him he is deprived for so long
    If anything let’s hope this pandemic might have helped child’s health

Mute jzT
    Favourite jzT
    May 20th 2020, 12:59 PM

@nelliekel: got no kids in lockdown for the past 2 months, eh? A wee treat of a happy meal and a mcflurry is hardly going to turn them into Augustus Gloop

Mute Zenith Quinn
    Favourite Zenith Quinn
    May 20th 2020, 2:05 PM

@Scotswahey: it’s probably because that’s the limit for most contactless

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    May 20th 2020, 7:02 PM

@jzT: imm maybe read comment about €30 not enough and as for 2 months in lockdown poor diblums they really were deprived of big mac Burger King won’t do

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    May 20th 2020, 1:29 PM

I was walking through Temple Bar area a few summers ago, and this big fat American lady stopped me and asks for directions as to was there a McDonald’s near. I looked saw her little (trying to be polite) oversized kids looking and her rather slim (maybe he had worms) husband looking at me as if I was their saviour.
    I said “Lady you did not come all the way to Ireland to eat a Big Mac did you? and she replied ‘it’s what we are used to in the States’ ….. I said ‘Lady I reccomend you should eat the Best Burger of all Ireland if not the World’ … where I duly directed her to ‘The Bankers’ just off Dame street…..

Cant wait to go in there when it reopens … and order a Celtic Burger with Clonakilty pudding…..August 10th ??

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    May 20th 2020, 1:56 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: shi’te story.. thanks

Mute Daniel Bohan
    Favourite Daniel Bohan
    May 20th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: m’lady

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    May 20th 2020, 6:40 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Food in The Bankers is shocking. Awful stuff fed to tourists. Could have at least sent them to Bunsen.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    May 20th 2020, 7:58 PM

@Paul O’Sullivan: sounds like the Irish abroad, no foreign muck

Mute Ste
    Favourite Ste
    May 20th 2020, 10:48 PM

@Mark Johnson:

Mute Marie Louise Ryan
    Favourite Marie Louise Ryan
    May 20th 2020, 5:32 PM

I’d rather starve

Mute SkepticalHippoEyes
    Favourite SkepticalHippoEyes
    May 20th 2020, 1:35 PM

“Artane Castle Shopping Centre” sounds terrifying

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman

They tucked their tails and ran and in doing so put the cost of their entire workforce on the state. I don’t plan on visiting them any time soon

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    May 20th 2020, 12:21 PM

Poor staff. Run off their feet.

Mute Garrett Colreavy
    Favourite Garrett Colreavy
    May 20th 2020, 1:15 PM

I’m lovin it

Mute Jimmy Cully
    Favourite Jimmy Cully
    May 20th 2020, 3:25 PM

About 50 cars at the drive through in nutgrove at 11 this morning

Mute Gavin Lynam
    Favourite Gavin Lynam
    May 20th 2020, 6:56 PM

Gyms and Heath stores remain closed.

Mute Sinéad Talbot
    Favourite Sinéad Talbot
    May 20th 2020, 10:36 PM

@Gavin Lynam: health stores are open

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    May 20th 2020, 11:10 PM

@Gavin Lynam: It is possible to exercise without a gym.

#justsayin

Mute Emmett Currie
    Favourite Emmett Currie
    May 20th 2020, 12:49 PM

Disgusting grub

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    May 20th 2020, 1:18 PM

@Emmett Currie:
    It’s esentially meat, bread and potatoes – even if you don’t like it – some others do.

Mute JillyBean
    Favourite JillyBean

Slightly pathetic, just slightly.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 20th 2020, 5:21 PM

You know what they call a quarter pounder with cheese in Paris !!

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    May 20th 2020, 5:54 PM

@Wayne Connor: a royale with cheese…..

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    May 20th 2020, 1:53 PM

Will they open a range of clothing too bearing in mind everyone is struggling to keep the weight off now, and this will push them over the edge

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    May 20th 2020, 6:23 PM

Should the Journal set up a queue for the food snobs and tut-tutters here?

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    May 21st 2020, 9:22 AM

@Michael Kavanagh: I enjoy a big mac as much as anyone but it doesn’t mean I have to debase myself by sitting in my car blocking other cars because I need a hit of sugar and salt in a box. I’m better than that. Pigs in cars is what I see there. Where is decorum? We’re not the peasants we once were but seems a lot still have that in their genetic mapping.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    May 20th 2020, 7:26 PM

Would it not have made more sense to just open some of them as delivery only? Would have avoided queues and they could just reject orders when they reach capacity.

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    May 20th 2020, 8:40 PM

Does anyone else think it’s a bit silly to open 6 outlets in Dublin, where there is the highest number of confirmed cases, suspected cases and people self isolating, and the biggest population density, thus, more risk of spreading infection? Would it not make more sense to open some outlets around the country instead?

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    May 20th 2020, 6:35 PM

GET A KCUFING LIFE!

Mute Paul Costello
    Favourite Paul Costello
    May 20th 2020, 5:25 PM

There won’t be a dinner cooked in Dublin this evening. Chicken Nuggets all around

Mute MollyMsalone
    Favourite MollyMsalone
    May 20th 2020, 12:47 PM

Hot air chips/frys.

Mute Rory Mackle
    Favourite Rory Mackle
    May 20th 2020, 6:38 PM

Would love an infected spinal column in a bap

Mute silveryD
    Favourite silveryD
    May 20th 2020, 1:41 PM

So are they not doing breakfasts at all from now on

Mute classic
    Favourite classic
    May 20th 2020, 6:05 PM

Two quarter pounders with bacon large fries and a strawberry milkshake please!

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    May 20th 2020, 11:20 PM

McGobsh’tes

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    May 20th 2020, 1:24 PM

What is more interesting to me is why the journal have pictures of tweets and have not disguised the names have they permission to do that?

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    May 20th 2020, 1:32 PM

@Richard: it is all in the public domain if your privacy settings are open

Mute Tommy the postman
    Favourite Tommy the postman
    May 20th 2020, 5:24 PM

Some chance a getting bacon n cabbage in one of their houses oh ffs

Mute Ed Dunne
    Favourite Ed Dunne
    May 21st 2020, 12:11 AM

Just had to have that burger. Just have to play golf in spite of never playing a round before. Just have to go to woodies. Just have to go to the beach. Just have to have 20 people over to the house. Just have to go to Tesco for one item. Cannot do without the rich tea with the cuppa. And sure the staff should be only too delighted to see us. They’re well paid for it. Go nuts people. We deserve it. A whole 2 months sitting on our behinds and sure we are near breaking point now. Poor creatures. Grab the wife, throw the kids in the Datsun, head for McDonald’s, and to hell with sensibility. Throw that Cheltenham programme in the glove box in case anyone sees it though.

Mute Ciaran Farrelly
    Favourite Ciaran Farrelly
    May 20th 2020, 5:30 PM

Morons. All for crap food too.

Mute Jimmy Murray
    Favourite Jimmy Murray
    May 20th 2020, 6:23 PM

What dumbass thought Kylemore was a good option.

Mute Gerald
    Favourite Gerald
    May 20th 2020, 8:00 PM

You are sad. Fat burgers and a tinge of meat. Chips full of vat. Get a life Dublin

Mute William Lyones
    Favourite William Lyones
    May 20th 2020, 11:00 PM

Your kidding me, people lining up to get fat.!! Gosh, these people need to get a life, creating traffic problems to buy a burger,!!they will be injecting bleach and buying a sunbed next week.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    May 21st 2020, 1:26 AM

Yep, they all clap when the plane lands.

Mute Christy Mc Carthy
    Favourite Christy Mc Carthy
    May 20th 2020, 11:36 PM

Pure muck it turns you trump orange

Mute phil reilly
    Favourite phil reilly
    May 20th 2020, 9:50 PM

Queueing up for a dose of the shits, I’d rather not thanks

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 20th 2020, 10:46 PM

@phil reilly: made me laugh out loud for reals !!!

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    May 21st 2020, 9:17 AM

McDonalds – yeah, set yourself up for a cytokine storm.