You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Fianna Fáil calls on Minister to rule out cut to free travel scheme

It has emerged this week that the scheme is the subject of a review by an interdepartmental group ahead of December’s Budget.

FIANNA FÁIL HAS called on the social protection minister Joan Burton to rule out any cut to the free travel scheme.

It follows news earlier this week that an interdepartmental working group has been examining the viability of the scheme which gives automatic free travel to anyone who is over the age 66, in receipt of carer’s allowance or who has a disability.

Burton said yesterday and reiterated today that she “values” the scheme but concerns have been raised about the heavy losses that public transport companies incur in operating the scheme.

This has led to speculation that the scheme could be means-tested meaning some people who currently qualify for the pass have it removed.

In a statement this evening, Fianna Fáil’s social protection spokesperson Willie O’Dea called on Burton to rule out any cut to the scheme and said he had been contacted by dozens of people who were concerned their pass could be removed.

“It is very disappointing that she stopped short of ruling out any cut to this much valued scheme. She must immediately do so,” he said.

“The news that the scheme could be under threat due to a Government review caused anger and distress among thousands of older people who depend on their free travel pass.

“I was contacted by dozens of people in my own constituency who were deeply concerned that their pass could be removed. If this threat wasn’t real, the Government should not have waited so long to ease their concerns.

“The Minister has insisted that the Government places a high value on the free travel scheme. If that truly is the case, she should have put this issue to bed once and for all today by ruling out any cuts whatsoever.”

Read: Burton ‘very much values’ free travel scheme

Poll: Should the free travel scheme be means-tested?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Samuel Sotoo
    Favourite Samuel Sotoo
    Sep 7th 2012, 5:41 PM

This is sick, even in Mexico the public transport is free for the older people. Why do they don’t cut their own salary, Ireland will save more money by cutting politicians wages than cutting people necessities

Mute Alan Hanlon
    Favourite Alan Hanlon
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:52 PM

vincent its a FLAT RATE paid to transport companies , dosnt matter how many times you press the SWA pass button the flat rate is the only payment made by the SW to the transport companies.

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy
    Sep 7th 2012, 5:47 PM

Fianna fail…the party which tried to take medical cards off pensioners!!!…and was there not question marks about Willie’s travel expenses..???…getting a lift from someone else and claiming milage??…

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:16 PM

The mistake was the should have taken the travel first. Then there would not have been the numbers protesting outside the Dail :p

Mute Kim
    Favourite Kim
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:03 PM

@Triona well said.
    The reason we’re in this mess is because of FF and what now their trying to play the good guy!!!! Hoping people will forget that they caused it.
    Plz what a bunch of idiots

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 7th 2012, 5:49 PM

There is no saving here. Public transport is subsidised as it is. By taking away this money just means it will have to be replaced by more government money somewhere else. OAPs are not abusing this.

Mute Tim Jackson
    Favourite Tim Jackson
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:12 PM

Fianna Fail will do anything for power.

They are merely buying the corrupt votes by this call.

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Favourite Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:56 PM

Old people are corrupt?

Mute Thomas Daniel Foy
    Favourite Thomas Daniel Foy
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:13 PM

Fianna Fáil introduced Free Travel for pensioners in the first place. Surely they will do their utmost to preserve the positive aspects of their policy implementation.

Mute the truth hurts
    Favourite the truth hurts
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:00 PM

FF trying to score brownie points wit t public but their own self serving greedy past is too fresh in t memory. Public ain’t buying it. Gimme 100k per yr as a political adviser so I can tell ye the best move would be “shut t f*#k up”

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:58 PM

FF are a political party with elected representatives, as long as people give us in FF their votes and mandate we will never stay quiet.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Aug 4th 2013, 10:13 AM

well may be u should get rid of the people who sat around the table with bert brian an co. martin o dea get rid they brought us to where we are now.we have not for gotten u know.

Mute Paul Anthony Ward
    Favourite Paul Anthony Ward
    Sep 7th 2012, 8:00 PM

Accept that they’re still finalising the Budget etc, but they could really stop flying these kites & scaring the b’jaysus out of pensioners & people with disabilities… People just don’t need this sort of constant drama in their lives!

Minister Burton should clarify her position.

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:56 PM

Good move by FF, momentum building up to the budget especially after the FF motion of No Confidence in Reilly.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:24 PM

Ah stop it sean, grasping at straws there. vote hunting nonsense, if you really wanted to do something then start a protest against rising power prices.
    FF are just picking the handy ones.
    Failed in power, failing in opposition!

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:37 PM

Well when we proposed an immediate fuel tax cut for motorists we were laughed at and it was called ‘populism’ but since that proposal was shot down by the government things have only gotten worse!

Mute Oliver Whyte
    Favourite Oliver Whyte
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:21 PM

Free everything for everyone – yay! Not how are we going to pay for it? Tax everything that moves and borrow €300 million per week. Downside: The entire country is sold off, and then when the day comes we have no physical assets theentire country and society crashes.

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:40 PM

We’ve been able to afford the free travel scheme for decades even through an arguably worse recession in the 80′s so I think instead of just attacking some of the most vulnerable people in our society!

Mute Seán O' Dulaing

*we should focus on imaginative ways to balance our budget and return to prosperity!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:57 PM

Fianna Fail doubled public spending in a ten year period between ’97 and ’07 with taxes from the Bertie property ponzi scheme. They make me sick.

Mute Mark McGrail
    Favourite Mark McGrail
    Sep 7th 2012, 5:37 PM

how is this paid for? does the govt pay transport operators a flat fee per pass?

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:07 PM

Fee per use. Driver records it on ticket machine as is case with paying passenger however no ticket is issued for pass user. Is this subject to abuse to push up pass numbers to bring in more money to buseireann. Hmmmm! I’m sure it is used efficiently. Irishrail issue tickets so can be properly monitored.

Mute LittleSparrowC
    Favourite LittleSparrowC
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:43 PM

Leave the pensioners alone . It’s not their fault the government can’t manage their budget . For some of them a trip into the city centre A visit to a friend or family is the only thing they have . This can cost over €5 . And coming out of their pension would mean cutting back on something else . Which could be food or heating .

Mute Sean O'Rourke
    Favourite Sean O'Rourke
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:12 PM

OMG, are those the new Jimmy Choo sandals? Good job she doesn’t have to pay for the fair home.

Mute Charles McCormack
    Favourite Charles McCormack
    Aug 4th 2013, 1:42 PM

Well MISTER O’Rourke,as you’re SO interested in the Free Travel scheme as to put your tuppence worth into this forum,surely the word FARE is the one spelling you should ensure is correct,!! Capiche,?? Clever dick,!!!

Mute Stephen Redmond
    Favourite Stephen Redmond
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:16 PM

simple take the free travel pass of junkies and people milking disability benefits (not genuine disabled persons), introduce a better pass with proper photo id not something you can photocopy and print out at home.
    the amount of people with fake or ill gotten passes is disgraceful the ticket inspectors on the transport companies should be doing a lot more to catch those using them and be able to give a really hefty fine. Roma gypsies seem to have an endless supply of them as well as young Irish lads who know how to use a printer and scanner.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 7th 2012, 11:28 PM

Stephen rediculous statement. Have you ever seen a travel pass?

Mute Irish Tax Payer
    Favourite Irish Tax Payer
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:55 PM

If there are to be cuts then those who contributed via PRSI should be exempt, however those who never worked should be the first to have it withdrawn

Mute Mark McGrail
    Favourite Mark McGrail

why should , what is often leisure travel , be free when minimum wage earners pay full whack.

there should be a cap on number of travel units given with age id required

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:44 PM

On what basis or research do you reach the conclusion that the free travel scheme is used primarily for leisure?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:58 PM

Sean are you the FF version of FG’s Mick Collins?

Mute mark power
    Favourite mark power
    Sep 7th 2012, 8:27 PM

Fianna Faill introduced this it was introduced to benefit the lives of elderly who mighten be able to afford travel it was important then and is equally important now .
    This is not about scoring political points which by the way is what people who are posting negative comments here are doing it is about caring for the less well off in society of which many are Fianna Fail members themselves .

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Sep 7th 2012, 9:19 PM

Mark not a member of any political party,its good FF want the elderly to keep the free travel at least it won’t cost them anything as they travel to the airport to bid their loved ones goodbye.All due to the policies of the FF party in looking after their croonies and Golden Circle buddies.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Sep 7th 2012, 6:30 PM

Diversion from the bigger issues

Mute Aisling Brady
    Favourite Aisling Brady
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:35 PM

for goodness sake, will you stick to the point and don’t let this become an issue of FF v FG/Lab. Fianna fail are finished so forget about them and get on with safeguarding old age pensioners’ free travel.

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:42 PM

FF are the third biggest party nationally as well as leaders of the opposition and the 2nd largest locally. FF are far from finished!

Mute Stephen Fuery
    Favourite Stephen Fuery
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:42 PM

its right to have free travel for our people over 67years old. BUt total free travel country wide free to travel we cannot afford just one. Britain does not have free travel country wide. nor does France.Germany etc. i agree city travel yes. two trips a year country wide . tell me what the free travel ticket cost per journey on Irish rail , how much do we pay. i bet its not the lowest rate.

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Sep 7th 2012, 7:56 PM

I am told Irishrail get 30% of ticket cost. The balance 70% made up from other paying users.

Mute Catherine lonergan
    Favourite Catherine lonergan
    Sep 8th 2012, 10:55 AM

Isn’t it funny how fianna fail are trying to make out like they know what they are talking about and how they are trying to make themselves out to look like they are for the people of Ireland…wasn’t it them who put this country this way in the first place??

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government#share?utm_source=guides&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=weekly_summary

Mute Stephen Redmond
    Favourite Stephen Redmond
    Sep 8th 2012, 3:33 AM

yeah all the time i work for a public transport company

Mute Mark McGrail
    Favourite Mark McGrail
    Sep 7th 2012, 8:25 PM

@ Sean, pensioners are not gainfully employed. hence retired and leisure.
    I know many contribute hugely through voluntary work work and through looking after grandkids .
    free travel used to only be off peak

Mute Bren Adams
    Favourite Bren Adams
    Sep 8th 2012, 8:42 PM

Fianna Fail stands for corruption they destroyed this country and we all have to pay because of them.
    I notice the Fianna Fail party are keeping very quiet about Quinn and his family