You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo of Edwin Poots. PA Images

DUP leader writes to French president explaining how Northern Ireland is part of the UK

Emmanuel Macron reportedly implied that Northern Ireland was a separate country.

THE DEMOCRATIC UNIONIST Party’s new leader has sent a copy of the Good Friday Agreement to French president Emmanuel Macron after he reportedly implied that Northern Ireland was not part of the United Kingdom.

The Sunday Telegraph reported that UK prime minister Boris Johnson attempted to explain his frustration with the Northern Ireland Protocol by asking Macron what he would do if sausages from Toulouse could not be moved to Paris.

The French president claimed the comparison did not work because Paris and Toulouse were both part of the same country, according to the paper.

It comes amid increased tensions over post-Brexit checks on goods moving between Northern Ireland and Great Britain.

Boris Johnson warned that he will do whatever it takes to keep goods flowing, with Taoiseach Micheál Martin warning that any unilateral action on extending the grace period would be ‘problematic’.

g7-summit Johnson and Macron pictured together at the G7 summit. PA Images PA Images

In a statement today, Edwin Poots said:

“Emmanuel Macron’s suggestion that Northern Ireland is not part of the United Kingdom is offensive and demands a statement from the French administration which recognises Northern Ireland’s constitutional status.”

He suggested that Macron’s comments expose “ignorance” within the European Union. adding:

It’s five years since the referendum. Northern Ireland has been centre stage for most of that time yet the most powerful man in one of the most powerful EU countries still doesn’t realise that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom. It’s incredible.

Poots again called for the Northern Ireland Protocol to be removed.

The Good Friday Agreement – also known as the Belfast Agreement – was passed by a large majority in referendums on both sides of the border in 1998 and states that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom.

It can only form part of a united Ireland “subject to the agreement and consent of a majority of the people of Northern Ireland”.

It can be read in full here.

Contains reporting by Press Associaton

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:04 PM

But having a border on the irish sea is what Theresa May proposed but could not get it through parliament. Borris came in to get brexit done, proposed that the border be on the irish sea, he had said previously that it would happen over his dead body, he then changed his mind. His oven ready deal was signed by the UK and EU and the northern irish protocol was born. He now wants that reversed. The brits can’t be trusted

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:51 PM

@Brian Madden: Bring back the backstop

Mute David Malone
    Favourite David Malone
    Jun 13th 2021, 1:57 PM

The UK is trying to reverse out of the Protocol. The DUP are allegedly stirring trouble on the streets with thugs on the take. The death throws of sectarianism in full view.

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Jun 13th 2021, 1:59 PM

@David Malone: I wish we could just skip to the wake.

Mute Sean Salmon
    Favourite Sean Salmon
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:48 PM

@David Malone: it is the death rattle of the Union which we are witnessing. The DUP loyalism and the British government may jointly manipulate a return to hostilities as they may perceive that it is the only way left to secure the Union. Otherwise they know their days are numbered.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:55 PM

@David Malone: Yep like 1920 tensions again in 6 counties unionists wanting it all their own way. Boris needs to learn the mistakes made by Lloyd George and his partners in government

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:52 PM

Macron is right, Northern Ireland was annexed from the rest of the country and is only part of the UK by force.

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:16 PM

@Seán Dillon: spot on

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:37 PM

@Seán Dillon: Its not even part of GB

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:18 PM

@Seán Dillon: Macron is well aware of the Year of the French, the landing of French forces in Kilala Co.Mayo in 1798 to help free the Irish people from the Tyranny of the Coloniser and he knows also that Joe Bidens ancestors were forced from Mayo by the policies of tyranny. He doesn’t need any history lessons from Poots who, as we all know thinks the dinosaurs roamed the earth less than 6 thousand years ago. He’s not in any position to give lessons on anything while he denies scientific fact.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:06 PM

And here was I thinking the Union was 4 countries. Maybe someone should explain to Poots that the United Kingdom is both a country in its own right but also composed of four separate countries. If he really believes it is all the one country then he should be calling for the closing of Stormont, ready to step down from his position and let Westminster have centralised power. Good luck getting Holyrood and the Senned to go along with that.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:31 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: Northern Ireland is a state. Has never been a country as to be recognised as a country it would need to have been an independent country at some stage

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:35 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: The definition of a country is as follows: a nation with its own government occupying a particular territory. Where are you getting your definition from? I’ve had a look at a few definitions and haven’t seen yours yet but would be interested to know.

Mute Tony O'Reilly
    Favourite Tony O'Reilly
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:56 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: Northern Ireland does not have its own government, it has a devolved administration with certain powers only as decided upon by the Westminister Parliment. The procedure of devolved administrations is the same for the other parts of the UK, namely Scotland and Wales.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:13 PM

@Tony O’Reilly: Stormont, Holyrood and the Senned all house governments even if they are not independent from Westminster. All in all the nitpicking by both yourself and Shaun seem to have no bearing on my original comment. If I had said independent country or if the definition of country said independent government you might have had a leg to stand on.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:26 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: It is recognised as a country by the UK only. It it not a recog country. Look up the international standards. Its a statelet.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:36 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: I understand the international standards. I also understand the difference between country, state and nation. Poots was arguing that its not a different country which is counter to what the UK says, he is in the UK. Where is the problem? Just being contrary?

Mute Tony O'Reilly
    Favourite Tony O'Reilly
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:08 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: you define a country as a nation with its own government Northern Ireland has only a very limited devolved administration, it is at all times subserviant to Westminister, it has no right to raise independance finance or effect foreign policy both bedrocks of any government. This is also the case for Scotland and Wales. The Westminister government is the sole legimate government for the UK.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:02 PM

@Tony O’Reilly: I don’t define it that way, several dictionaries do. It is of course different from the legal definition as Shaun has pointed out. Stormont, Holyrood and the Senned are all legitimate governments but they do not hold full authority. Look we’ll agree to disagree, I feel that for the purpose of my original post, in response to what Poots said, the word country, as defined in dictionaries is just fine, you don’t, that’s grand.

Mute James Quirke
    Favourite James Quirke
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:55 PM

@Shaun Gallagher: it is not recognised as a country by the UK only scotland and england are recognised as country’s. Wales is a principality and northern Ireland is a province or region of the UK

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jun 13th 2021, 6:39 PM

@James Quirke: Just going to leave this here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Countries_of_the_United_Kingdom Also a principality is a country ruled by a Prince or Princess. I knew that country is a relatively ambiguous term but I didn’t think there’d be that much debate over it.

Mute mick keane
    Favourite mick keane

The start of Poots getting his knickers in a twist, endless entertainment to come

Mute Seàn Mc
    Favourite Seàn Mc
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:39 PM

Poots really is a gift for Sinn Fein

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:15 PM

DUP are like dealing with a bold child.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:38 PM

@DB: wrong, a bold child can be taught, and eventually learns from mistakes

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:17 PM

@Tony Gordon: good point Tony .

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:27 PM

Fair play to Macron. He should just write ‘return to sender’ when he receives the letter

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:39 PM

@Declan Moran: Yea send Poots an Irish history book as a present

Mute Declan Moran
    Favourite Declan Moran
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:45 PM

@Joe Johnson: had posted before I thought of saying it. We should all chip in and send him one for Christmas:)

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:26 PM

Macron only saying what the rest of Europe feel.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:32 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: I thought I seen three French frigates sailing up the west coast this morning.

Mute On the right side
    Favourite On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 12:44 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: No the rest of Europe do NOT feel that way, inside the EU itself there is over 100 separatist groups and it a can of worms that no country in the EU wants to open, thats why no country in the EU has ever openly supported Ireland’s claim over NI.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:45 AM

@On the right side: wishful thinking much. The nationalist community in the north have the support of the republic and Europe and America the loyalists have the UK but not really because Britain has never cared about this island like the irish have been trying to tell you for about 100 years

Mute TonyB
    Favourite TonyB
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:48 PM

Well said Macron. About time someone said it out loud.

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 12:48 AM

@TonyB: Your constitution recognises NI is part of the UK. Macron is playing a dangerous game with so many active separatist groups in his own country with some willing to use violence.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_active_separatist_movements_in_Europe

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:08 PM

They will struggle to get the empire going again if bits are dropping off like the six counties and maybe Scotland

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 12:51 AM

@Alan Kelly: The British are not interested in an Empire only the Irish and the EU are obsessed about Empire.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:46 AM

@On the right side: all of your comments seem to show you don’t know what your talking about

Mute Dav Nagle
    Favourite Dav Nagle
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:07 PM

Well it’s a republican stance from France so

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:14 PM

Just give us back our country

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 12:54 AM

@David Lynch: Its not yours and you have formally recognised NI is part of the UK. You were embarrassed last time when over 40% of Catholics in the North told you were to shove your United Ireland.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:20 AM

@On the right side: When was that? I missed the vote on a united Ireland. I am sure I would have noticed something.

Mute Christybhoy67
    Favourite Christybhoy67
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:44 PM

President Macron is right NI is a separate from the UK & part of the island of Ireland

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 12:59 AM

@Christybhoy67: Lol….I feel embarrassed for you, they have already told you where you can shove your United Ireland and that included over 40% of the Catholics in NI, now you just sound like the jilted lover that just does not get the message, find some self respect!

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:48 AM

@On the right side: wham was this exactly? Cause I’m going to assume it was before England through you under a bus

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco

I wonder if it will be like that time Churchill wrote to Dev and it was completely ignored (the only good thing he did)

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jun 13th 2021, 11:07 PM

@Simon Fusco: Take it you are referring to the use of the treaty ports. No fan of Dev , but even he knew British governments could never be trusted.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:49 AM

@Donal Desmond: i suppose it is reassuring that it doesn’t take a Genius to figure that out

Mute VJH
    Favourite VJH
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:24 PM

The irony of Poots. The six counties are Irish

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 1:00 AM

@VJH: Im afraid they are not, now get over it.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:50 AM

@On the right side: you are aware where Northern Ireland is situated geographically the clue is in the name

Mute Travis O Bickle
    Favourite Travis O Bickle
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:28 PM

Did he tell him the part about how they’re foreign invaders and its occupied land?

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 1:03 AM

@Travis O Bickle: No he told him how the Irish invited the Norman King of England over and then the Kings of Ireland voted to make the Norman King King of Ireland.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:22 AM

@On the right side: History has fine points to it, you missed out them all. Nothing new there I suppose

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:59 PM

Poots doesn’t have time to be First Minister as he is too busy being the Recruiting Sergeant for Sein Fein

Mute Christybhoy67
    Favourite Christybhoy67
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:49 PM

@trebloc01: Poots doesn’t want to be first minister as he can’t be blamed when things go wrong ,

Mute brendan o connell
    Favourite brendan o connell
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:19 PM

Cahoots with poots, lets point out to him that england is over there across the water on a separate island, Ireland is over there a separate island , if he wants to to be English we will help him pack and send him and his kin on their way to his master’s who don’t want them or most don’t know they exist.

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 1:09 AM

@brendan o connell: You do know that Corsica is an island and part of France, also France has oversea regions in South America and Africa that are part of France as well as the EU?

The people of NI already told you where you can shove your United Ireland and that included over 40% of the Catholics, now find some self respect and stop sounding like some jilted lover that does not get the message.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:52 AM

@On the right side: your comments are sounding more desperate

Mute LUCY Thomas
    Favourite LUCY Thomas
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:10 PM

Did he use his crayons and also explain the world is 4000 years old?

Mute Noirin Kavanagh
    Favourite Noirin Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:54 PM

@LUCY Thomas: ah, to be fair to him he thinks it’s 6,000.

Mute Jimmy Jones
    Favourite Jimmy Jones
    Jun 13th 2021, 7:27 PM

@Noirin Kavanagh: No he estimates 4000 (in response to a direct question once )

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:05 PM

Poots should have read what Macron actually said, instead he, like a drooling dog with a pavlovian reaction, fell for Johnson’s spin.

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:17 PM

@DJ François: Typically lost in translation, the english media run with the lies from BJ and the DUP row in behind!

Mute Patricia O'Reilly
    Favourite Patricia O'Reilly
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:59 PM

He is writing to Macron? Oh for heavens sake , what a joke, il bet Macron knows more of the actual Irish history than the majority of UK residents..

Mute On the right side
    Jun 14th 2021, 1:18 AM

@Patricia O’Reilly: What a Tool, 30% of British people have Irish ancestry, 10% of people in England have Grandparents who were born in Ireland(ROI) most are still alive living in Ireland that means more people in England have Irish Grandparents than people in Ireland do. So many of you seem so uneducated about the Irish in the UK, its embarrassing.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:24 AM

@On the right side: Actually we are fully aware of the Irish in the UK, it is our friends and family after all.
    Us undereducated, hardly we are the land of saints and escolars after all.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:53 AM

@On the right side: did you just say people in England have more irish ancestry then irish people in Ireland?are you mental?

Mute Ronaldo Blanc
    Favourite Ronaldo Blanc
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:50 PM

Its a redundant little political entity unfit for purpose. No doubt Poots letter will be consigned to the rubbish bin by the French.

Mute Michael Healy
    Favourite Michael Healy
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:55 PM

Poots is starting to lose the plot already….

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:48 PM

I find it offensive every time time the north is referred to as part of the United Kingdom.

Get over it Wuss in Poots.

Time is on our side.

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:05 PM

@Philip Cooper: time the EU America most things really

Mute Simon Fusco
    Favourite Simon Fusco
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:55 AM

@On the right side: so you don’t believe Ireland was United under British rule?

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:47 PM

Viendra le jour.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jun 13th 2021, 2:49 PM

Away with the fairies

Mute Una Dwyer
    Favourite Una Dwyer
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:50 PM

Andrew NI is not a country it is part of the province of Ulster which is part of the island of Ireland.

Mute Jimmy Jones
    Favourite Jimmy Jones
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:34 PM

And Pootsy ‘hopes it doesn’t come to violence’

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Jun 13th 2021, 6:21 PM

The United kingdom is not a country macron is right

Mute Nora McElhinney
    Favourite Nora McElhinney
    Jun 13th 2021, 3:18 PM

@Keith O Hanlon: hahaha hyou could land a 747 with those lugs

Mute Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Favourite Carm(Orange Vampire)
    Jun 13th 2021, 6:38 PM

I’m already fed up of seeing pictures of another DUP neandertha l

Mute joe oneill
    Favourite joe oneill
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:56 PM

Hopefully no mark Trigger read the section about The Irish Language Act, which the bigots has failed to act on, before he posted the document of to Macron.

Mute Fred Matthews
    Favourite Fred Matthews
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:21 PM

Toulouse and paris play sport for france
    Scotland n irl wales england
    Each contested seperately to play in current european football tournament

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 13th 2021, 4:43 PM

Northern Ireland is a separate country Wales, England and Scotland all are distinct countries within the UK.

Mute John McCloskey
    Favourite John McCloskey
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:56 PM

I can’t wait to read the reply

Mute lesley smith
    Favourite lesley smith
    Jun 13th 2021, 5:19 PM

Pompous he can write to anyone he wants. They cannot be trusted

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Jun 13th 2021, 6:33 PM

Local county councillor goes all Skibbereen Eagle on someone important.

Mute Self Employed Anarchist
    Favourite Self Employed Anarchist
    Jun 13th 2021, 6:30 PM

P. Rick

Mute Gordon Davies
    Favourite Gordon Davies
    Jun 14th 2021, 7:10 AM

Ask any woman faced with an unwanted pregnancy. She will explain in clear unambiguous terms how NI is a different country, with different laws… I f she wants an abortion she will have to leave NI.
    The UK is a union of 4 different countries each with its own laws, education system and languages. NI and Scotland even print their own bank notes (which most places in England will not accept).
    Johnson and the DUP are peddling myths once again.

Mute Joe Kelly
    Favourite Joe Kelly
    Jun 13th 2021, 10:20 PM

Parlez vous Francais??

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jun 14th 2021, 8:30 AM

So a man who does not believe in science, sends a document he does not believe in to a French President.
    Apart from playing to the cheap seats, what exactly does he think that will do.
    Make Mr Macron, apologise and run away crying! Or think “and I though I had it bad, this guy is way out there, Poor Michael and Leo”.
    When our politicians look like major statesmen by those around them like bojo and poots. It says a lot.