You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

DPA/PA Images

Fresh Prince of Bel-Air set for reboot as gritty drama

The project would feature episodes telling the story of how Smith’s character became embroiled in a fight with Philadelphia gang members.

THE FRESH PRINCE of Bel-Air is getting turned upside-down as a gritty drama set to be executive produced by Will Smith, according to reports. 

The idea for a dark modern-day “reimagining” of the smash hit 1990s sitcom that launched Smith’s acting career came from superfan Morgan Cooper, who shot and posted his own four-minute trailer last year.

Two versions of the trailer have been viewed over seven million times and won over Smith himself, who met Cooper last year and praised his “brilliant” idea.

“Morgan did a ridiculous trailer for ‘Bel-Air’ — a brilliant idea, the dramatic version of ‘The Fresh Prince’ for the next generation,” Smith said on his YouTube channel at the time.

According to the Hollywood Reporter and Deadline, the project is now in development with Smith’s Westbrook Studios and Universal TV, and being pitched to various streaming platforms including Netflix.

The project would feature hour-long dramatic episodes telling the story of how Smith’s character became embroiled in a fight with Philadelphia gang members before being sent to live with wealthy relatives in the affluent Los Angeles suburb of Bel-Air.

Sun Squared Media / YouTube

“I envision the first season being the rest of his junior year – there’s no worse time for a kid to land in a new place, in the middle of the school year,” Cooper told Smith last year.

Cooper’s trailer includes a young Will’s first meeting with popular characters from the original series, including Jazz – alias Jazzy Jeff – at a Los Angeles record store.

Cooper will co-write the script, direct and be credited as a co-executive producer, working alongside several original members of the Fresh Prince creative team and showrunner Chris Collins (The Wire) according to reports.

Smith and Cooper’s representatives did not immediately respond to AFP request for comment.

The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air ran for six seasons from 1990-1996, becoming a global hit. It showcased the acting and comedic talents of Smith, then a young rapper who would go on to become one of Hollywood’s biggest movie stars.

- © AFP 2020

View 27 comments
27 Comments
    Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:48 AM

And not one fuuuuuuck was given by me and all the intelligent people in the world

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:41 AM

@nelly: Bold claims.

Mute Let free speech live
    Favourite Let free speech live
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:55 AM

@nelly: so you and intelligent people don’t care, tell me how did the intelligent people let you into their group?

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 11:33 AM

@Let free speech live: obviously they are not that intelligent, if you have been allowed in too.
    Idiot ,go play with Snapchat

Mute Dani
    Favourite Dani
    Feb 23rd 2018, 12:14 PM

@nelly: Why did you click into the article then? Just so you could moan and write this inane comment

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 12:29 PM

@Dani: because I can .

Feb 23rd 2018, 12:35 PM

@nelly: learn to read you idiot I never said I was in the intelligent people’s group, your original comment pointed out that intelligent people plus yourself don’t use snapchat. The way that you worded the comment says you are not in the intelligent group. But ya I’m the idiot.

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 1:34 PM

@Let free speech live: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz get a grip and learn to read

Feb 23rd 2018, 2:00 PM

@nelly: look don’t take your anger out on me because you can’t construct a sentence, accept you made a mistake n some dick on the internet pointed it out to you. So to clarify you are the idiot and I’m a bit of a dick

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 6:47 PM

@Let free speech live: I understand now . You are a bit Sloooow. Can you count to 3

Mute Lilly white
    Favourite Lilly white
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:24 PM

@Let free speech live: vomit

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:43 AM

What is she famous for?

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Faoleán
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Faoleán
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:44 AM

@Red hurley: Who is she? Is she the fella who used to have a lad?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:00 AM

@Caoimhghín Ó Faoleán: Who did she give it too

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:01 AM

@Red hurley: using Snapchat apparently

Mute John Waldron
    Favourite John Waldron
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:18 AM

@Red hurley: She’s the sister of yer one what made that sex tape with yer man

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Feb 23rd 2018, 4:15 PM

@Red hurley: Being related to someone famous for a sex tape.. The bar for celebrity status has been lowered to unlimboable levels.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:04 AM

I wonder how much she was paid to send the follow up Tweet?

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:02 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: what would happen if she followed it up on Instagram that she doesn’t use Twitter, and says on Snapchat that she doesn’t use Instagram? Do all the “followers” have to get bebo or myspace to be told what to wear? Or maybe it’s just a coincidence.

Mute Tony Dunne
    Favourite Tony Dunne
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:46 AM

I don’t use Snap chat any more so that’s €0.0001 knocked off the value

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:45 AM

And she does what?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:10 AM

@niall: I dont really know. Of course its not her fault she is a megastar. But its scary to think the influence she has. Lets hope she doesnt start taking heroin or we’ll all have to copy her..

Mute Eleanor of Aquitaine
    Favourite Eleanor of Aquitaine
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:45 AM

Who?

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:15 AM

Who ever listens to Kylie Jenner or uses Snapchat is someone who lives a very sad life and they have my pity

Mute John kane
    Favourite John kane
    Feb 24th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Gavin Gray: I use Snapchat. It’s convenient and I love it. Why hate it? How did you find yourself to be so much better than people who use a picture message app?? I know f&@k all about Jenner though

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:53 AM

First time I heard about her

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:42 AM

literally who is she and why is she famous? why are all the Kardashians famous??

Feb 23rd 2018, 9:58 AM

@James O Carroll: If you don’t know who she is how do you know there is more than one of them? I think you are pretending you don’t know who she is so you appear hip and cool.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Feb 23rd 2018, 11:36 AM

@Let free speech live: I’ve heard of the Kardashians but I couldn’t tell you how many of them there are or what their names are or why they’re “famous “ so I believe him when he says he’s wondering who your one is. .

Feb 23rd 2018, 12:41 PM

@Dean Anderson: But that is the point, everyone has heard of them, we might not know how many there are or which one is which but we have heard of them

Mute Lilly white
    Favourite Lilly white
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:28 PM

@James O Carroll: because you and another blllion parot’s keeping repeating yourselves!!! Seriously. WGAF?

Mute Lilly white
    Favourite Lilly white
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:44 PM

@James O Carroll: because you and another billion parot’s keep repeating yourselves!!!!

Mute Frank Lee
    Favourite Frank Lee
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:33 AM

I’m really starting to panic that someone like Kylie Jenner has this kind of economic & social power….get me off this rock now!!! Please god someone!!!

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 7:47 AM

Is she the one that all her family expose themselves on a daily basis and her sister is a pornstar,classy

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:08 AM

I could never navigate through Snapchat. It’s hard to believe they could make it worse!

Mute BillRochdayle
    Favourite BillRochdayle
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:41 AM

This is important

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:34 AM

Snapchat?

Mute Geralyn Early
    Favourite Geralyn Early
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:18 AM

To hell with it….please allow me to go back to the Early 19th century…I’ll take my chances at life and at least I will be among the great thinkers of that time.

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:51 AM

American royalty speaks.

Mute Dazz
    Favourite Dazz
    Feb 23rd 2018, 11:11 AM

If only she had known she could have asked Snapchat for half a billion “or else”…

Well, the idea’s out there for other celebs now.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:29 AM

And …….so what?

Mute Terry Cunningham
    Favourite Terry Cunningham
    Feb 23rd 2018, 10:13 AM

Who is this one

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:02 AM

Dumb ass snapchat users unable to figure out some changes to the app. The idiocracy has arrived.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 23rd 2018, 12:47 PM

Well that is not something most of the old crusty on here will understand. This is strictly a young persons issue. All those young people are going to be running the planet soon. Considering what the educated old men did to the planet I’m not too worried.

Mute Yurty Ahearn
    Favourite Yurty Ahearn
    Feb 23rd 2018, 10:21 AM

Breaking news : Kylie Jenner tells all her followers to jump of a cliff!!’ Thousands plunge to their death!!! #daddyissuesorisitmammyissues

Mute Phil Lambert
    Favourite Phil Lambert
    Feb 23rd 2018, 8:37 AM

What the fu(k is going on with this world!!! I hate you all millennial fu(kwits!!!

Mute Sean c
    Favourite Sean c
    Feb 23rd 2018, 11:34 AM

Good

Mute Richard Lippy Collins
    Favourite Richard Lippy Collins
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:07 PM

What’s a Kylie Jenner?

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Feb 23rd 2018, 3:56 PM

The value drop’s nothing to do with her, it happened after it was discovered that I’d never used it.

Mute Tom Mc Cormack
    Favourite Tom Mc Cormack
    Feb 23rd 2018, 9:54 AM

what a sad,sad planet Earth has become.no wonder any other life form in the universe does not come any where near us,id say they either 1. feel sorry for us 2.are laughing their ass** off at us.

Mute Mr. H
    Favourite Mr. H
    Feb 23rd 2018, 4:06 PM

I told her I wouldn’t be using it any more and then she tweeted this!!! She stole my thunder!!!!