You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jobs Minister Richard Bruton Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

'We can create full employment by the end of 2018': Bruton

Bruton and Enterprise Ireland say 2014 was a very good year for new jobs.

IRELAND CAN HAVE full employment by the end of 2018, Jobs Minister Richard Bruton has said.

The government minister made the claim as Enterprise Ireland announced its best year for job creation since the agency was formed in 1998.

Some 19,705 new jobs were created in Enterprise Ireland-backed companies in 2014, while 11,229 were lost – a net gain of 8,476.

Bruton today said it was now a “realistic” ambition that the country would be in full employment by 2018 based on the growth in both domestic firms and multinational investment.

“I think on the back of this performance, and the performance of the IDA, we can look confidently forward that we have the capacity now in Ireland to create full employment by the end of 2018,” he said.

Full employment is the the largest number of jobs an economy can support including workers who are between roles but still actively looking for work.

That would mean a jobless rate of about 5%, which compares to the current unemployment level of 10.6%.

Big year for IT and food startups

Enterprise Ireland, which works with domestic exporters, said in its end-of-year statement that over 180,000 people were now employed in companies it supported.

IT software and services was the industry which gained the most jobs in 2014 for the second year running, while the food sector added the highest number of positions on record.

Other highlights from the statement include:

• 102 “high potential startups” got investment last year
  • Another 81 startups won early-stage backing through competitive start funds
  • Female entrepreneurs led 43 of the 183 funded startups
  • 69% of full-time positions in client companies were outside Dublin
  • Job losses in client companies last year were the lowest since 2000

The IDA, the semi-state agency charged with attracting multinationals to Ireland, last week reported a bumper year for job creation, although it admitted it was falling well short of its regional-development targets.

- Originally posted at 12.53pm

READ: These were the bumper industries for Irish startups last year >

READ: Ireland sold bonds worth €4 billion today >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

104 Comments
    Mute Joseph MacGabhainn
    Favourite Joseph MacGabhainn
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:57 PM

Emigration must be about to rocket!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:00 PM

Do ya think the government might do a deal with a major airline for Irish Citizens and one way tickets –
    The savings from the social welfare would easily pay for the ticket …like the Landlords did years ago with the coffin ships !

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:13 PM

History repeating itself perhaps, but coffin ship emigrants were just a drop in the ocean compared to the clearing of workhouses to find workers for British cotton mills and railway construction during the nineteenth century, with some of my own ancestors amongst them. I think that the Catholic church had a role here through their connections in England and Scotland.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:15 PM

They always have their hand in it Chris – In one way aren’t they a secretive brotherhood ….

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:20 PM

In lots of ways Dermot the church has been a mover and shaker in this country…..

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:15 PM

They get a bit positive news, good to hear, Kenny and his secretaries ratchet it up, Bruton is given orders to release a press statement !, they won’t sit with Vincent Browne to relay all there good news to the constituencies they represent, paper doesn’t refuse ink, we’ll leave it there so……

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:00 PM

Crazy talk, we never had full employment even in the Celtic Tiger days. I wonder does he mean he will withdraw welfare payments to the thousands that haven’t worked in the past 20 years ?

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:01 PM

@ David .. not a hope in hell, its against their uman rights! Are they not allowed to spend the day in the bookies or riding around on sulkies!

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:03 PM

Electioneering

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Jan 12th 2015, 3:49 PM

Love the “we” part. He must feel they will still be in government

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:05 PM

You summed it up in one, Tony.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:23 PM

Absolute bull!! We were there before and too many people still sat on their social welfare arse

Mute AN other
    Favourite AN other
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:47 PM

It’s a pity he won’t be in power to see it!

Mute james broderick
    Favourite james broderick
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:56 PM

Bullsh*t

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:10 PM

Why? It is possible we had it before. It can happen again. Why dismiss something with a ridiculous comment and not back it up.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:44 PM

why make one when it is patently untrue?

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Jan 12th 2015, 3:52 PM

Would someone pleaessseee take the drugs away from that idiot. He’s starting to hallucinate!

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:53 PM

@ Jason, we didn’t have it even at the height of the boom, There were at least 100,000 on the dole here, and we choose not to sort out that problem when we were awash with cash.

BTW Stephanie s goal was far superior to either of the other!

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jan 12th 2015, 9:49 PM

Bill most of that 100, 000 never worked and never had any intention of working.
    Full employment is 95% of the workforce. We are currently 5% shy of that figure.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:57 PM

How can you Richard…you probably won’t be in government?

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:02 PM

So you’re saying that whichever goverment replaces this one after the election, will fail to provide full employment? Please tell us who you expect that to be, so we can change our minds in advance and not vote for them. Like they do in “Back to the Future.”

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:04 PM

Bruton the Minister for waffle.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:21 PM

Neal ..I’m not claiming any of them can or can’t. I am saying that if Richard Bruton is saying they are assuming they are going to be in office then…which I doubt.

Mute Thomas Hamilton
    Favourite Thomas Hamilton
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:58 PM

Paul
    As a Sinn Fein activist would it not be better to dissect the argument put forward by a hugely successful Minister for employment rather than using the usual one line or one word vulgarisms.
    Bruton has projected a scenario of full employment based on the actual achievements of the past three years and factually he is correct should such a trajectory continue.
    It seems to me that Sinn Fein are very worried about the continuous positive reports on our economic recovery while similar data from Northern Ireland where your lot are in charge indicates an immaturity and lack of experience in political management .
    In fact West Belfast is one of the most economically backward areas or constituencies in the entirety of Wales Scotland and England yet Gerry your President for life has represented the area for all of his political career.
    I would ask you again to tell us why Mr Bruton is inaccurate in his assessment of our recovery and would urge you to start using rational argument rather that personal nastiness which seems to be a stock in trade of your Party members.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:11 PM

The Shinner quislings prefer put-downs to policy chat.

I’m sure the lads wouldn’t mind picking apart this work of vagueness?

http://www.sinnfein.ie/getting-ireland-back-to-work

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:18 PM

Where I live there is a move to try and get the diaspora to return home and set up business. I don’t see any of my family wanting to up sticks from the comfortable lifestyles they have created for themselves abroad……can you!!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:55 PM

@Thomas who is a Sinn Fein activist?
    It’s pretty obvious to the man or woman on the street who Mr Bruton represents and it is The common people.
    Bis business and the Fine cronies is what he stands for

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:59 PM

Sorry most definitely not the common people.

Mute Andy Burns
    Favourite Andy Burns
    Jan 12th 2015, 11:03 PM

Well said

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Jan 19th 2015, 7:08 AM

well said Thomas .. I agree with you

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:10 PM

Must be going to expand JOB BRIDGE

Mute Tracey Coughlan
    Favourite Tracey Coughlan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:59 PM

Hahaaaa!!!! Really!!!! ….Words are empty as the saying goes. Action speaks louder than words!

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:11 PM

Action does indeed speak louder than words. Over 8,000 times.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:28 PM

So 2014 was a great yr for jobs, we had a net gain of 8000 jobs. So if we continue to have ‘great’ years for the next 3 years we will add 24000 give or take a few. Will that constitute full employment? Or are the next 3 years going to be even better than great? Its a promise based on numbers that cant fulfill said promise.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:48 PM

The 8,000 net gain refers to enterprise Ireland backed roles only.

In total its around 78,000 net gain in jobs over the past year

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 12th 2015, 3:22 PM

Ok that makes more sense out of his prediction. I stand corrected

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:47 PM

I think everyone in enterprise Ireland should get a bonus for coming up with these figures. ha ha ha

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:20 PM

Just lots of pre election bull. . Ship sinking and fg will sink with it.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:52 PM

Indeed.

Come 2016 & SF in power we will see the glory of their jobs plan & the €13,000,000,000 in new debt they promise to fund it!

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann

Is it April Fools day today!!

Mute Cian Doherty
    Favourite Cian Doherty
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:39 PM

No mate it’s January.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:48 PM

no April fools day is when government start sending out IW bills.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:44 PM

Zero hour, min wage contracts or Scambridge “internships” aren’t proper jobs though… Not that Brutal cares, once the figures on paper look good.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:46 PM

Scam bridge is working well.This government is crazy like the last.Liars traitors

Mute Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Favourite Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:16 PM

We can create full employment the minister said by 2018 as he felt the Job Bridge slavery scheme could be extended to staff all multinationals and government facilities. FG bringing corruption and cronyism to a whole new level.

Mute sand
    Favourite sand

No wonder he can’t keep a straight face,he should have kept that story till April 1st.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc

Can and Will are two very different things Dickie darling.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:12 PM

That will be a first,as I don’t think there has ever been full employment here,just another load of bull

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:33 PM

The article actually explains the definition of full employment:

“Full employment is the the largest number of jobs an economy can support including workers who are between roles but still actively looking for work. That would mean a jobless rate of about 5%, which compares to the current unemployment level of 10.6%.”

There are always people between jobs or changing jobs or doing training courses before starting a new job.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:47 PM

so Ryan . just to ask the question . Has there ever been full employment in Ireland based on the definition given

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:50 PM

Yes.

Unemployment hovered around 4% for much of the early naughties.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:22 PM

Leslie from 2004-2008 we had full employment. The only people not working were those unable to do so and the usual spongers.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:40 PM

Scam bridge working well. low paid jobs was always there mission he’s crazy

Mute Mark O'Brien
    Favourite Mark O'Brien
    Jan 12th 2015, 4:51 PM

Get rid of jobsbridge and we have a look at the figures

Mute zacaramanta
    Favourite zacaramanta
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:42 PM

Of course we will be back full time employment
    Sure at 20 euro a week be no prob jobridge fooking best job in world

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:22 PM

Been at the same stuff as Moany Joany me thinks !

Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson

Are they real jobs or part-time/zero hour contract jobs?. Tell me what happens when Irish people come home from abroad to take advantage of the improved economic conditions? or the inevitable influx of people from other countries. Do the figures take immigration into account?

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:13 PM

We had full employment with the influx of the accession countries in 2004. We needed them as Irish people wouldn’t work in hotels or restaurants or do menial work. Why can’t it happen again?

Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:21 PM

That’s true to an extent but how many waves of immigration can we take?. The influx from 2004 never went home when the work dried up, so we have those people and a possible influx of Irish coming home and another influx of immigrants on top of this. I don’t think we have the infrastructure to handle it. I don’t think the Irish want another mass wave of immigration either way.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:23 PM

Many recent immigrants moved home or onwards to somewhere else.

Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:47 PM

Has the overall amount of immigrants dropped?. If we go back to boom time that number will explode, i think the government said only a few ten thousand would show up when we opened our borders and look how that worked out.

Mute Francis Sally
    Favourite Francis Sally
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:56 PM

He’s only saying that because he knows he won’t be in government next term….. bloody fool !!

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:19 PM

Is Bruton including himself? I wouldn’t.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:07 PM

“Some 19,705 new jobs were created in Enterprise Ireland-backed companies in 2014, while 11,229 were lost – a net gain of 8,476.”
    How many of these jobs were outsourced from one call center to another with a net loss of income for the worker?
    They are pressing down wages and cooking the books again. Has anybody really felt the “recovery” these parasites keep talking about? Housing crises, health care crises, emmigration and corruption.

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 12th 2015, 4:56 PM

thats a lot of job bridge placements richard

Jan 12th 2015, 5:44 PM

The momentum projects of “work practice” where you get the long term unemployed to work 37.5 hours a week for 12 weeks just working in order to get their dole of 100 to 188 euros a week or refuse and get thrown of the dole for 9 weeks and then have to apply again to get on the dole and after the 12 weeks your no longer long term unemployed but short term unemployed. You get no job out of it, no pay or anything extra as everything comes out of the dole payment you get as in travel etc and nothing from the business you end up working for.
    That was in full force last year by the Department of Social Protection done by a company working for the DSP…

Mute Legs Teamo
    Favourite Legs Teamo
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:47 PM

Full employment for everyone, jobbridge, tus, gateway,…. Yipee

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:08 PM

We need to be creating a surplus of 40,000 jobs a year for this to be remotely possible.. This is just the usual b*llocks we’ve come to expect from this government.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:30 PM

approx. 78,000 last year.

Jan 12th 2015, 5:38 PM

Where?

Mute Anne Kerins
    Favourite Anne Kerins
    Jan 12th 2015, 2:39 PM

Do they ever listen to what they are saying

Jan 13th 2015, 3:39 AM

No, it works by repeating the same lie that often that everyone starts to believe it…

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Jan 12th 2015, 3:00 PM

Yeah and pigs can fly…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 12th 2015, 12:58 PM

Adolf Hitler and Bertie Ahern are the only two European leaders of the last century that I can think of !
    It seems that Mr. Bruton wishes to join very esteemed company indeed !- Both men led their countries for years …just looking at it completely politicially and leaving all morals aside !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

think of ….that achieved full employment – sorry !

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:33 PM

Full employment…except for the 80,000-100,000 who were unemployed the last time we had full employment….

Mute John Whelan
    Favourite John Whelan
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:31 PM

Booking my ticket home dose he have a date for 2018 I will come home that day

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jan 12th 2015, 4:59 PM

Horse shite !!

Mute David Fleming
    Favourite David Fleming
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:05 PM

It’s clear from the usual moaners and whingers here that the last thing that a large cohort of shinners and AAAnarchists want is full employment.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:40 PM

Liars and parasites, let their record speak for them. The record says spin and lies, broken promises, scam bridge, and mass emigration.

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:33 PM

19,705 new jobs …?? – Yeah, – I know a few people who got those jobs, 20h./wk. staring at a wall, – nothing to do, – a cynical exercise at massaging the unemployment figures.

Mute Gussy Hughes
    Favourite Gussy Hughes
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:01 PM

That man is insane. The photo illustrates that.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:11 PM

Now tell us why we should believe you, sorry but i wont be voting for and of the big parties, and NOTHING you or your fellow liars can say will convince me otherwise.

Mute mitch connors
    Favourite mitch connors
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:13 PM

For once I’m not going to be negative , I’m going to listen & support my government .

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:05 PM

Hasn’t Dickee Bruton – the rich mans politician – just like his fat brother John Pensions Bruton – got such a slappable face ..

Jan 12th 2015, 5:37 PM

ONLY IF YOU WENT TO UNIVERSITY AND AS LONG AS THE NEW JOBS GO TO AREAS THAT HAVE A F.G. T.D. IN THEM… Am I right?

Jan 12th 2015, 5:56 PM

“Enterprise Ireland, which works with domestic exporters, said in its end-of-year statement that over 180,000 people were now employed in companies IT SUPPORTED.”
    So this does sound like internships, jobbridge and momentum projects where people fill up work spaces just to to be working for the dole if not a 50 euro extra on top to take up places that would be used by employees that employers instead of the tax payer would pay for?
    How does “Article 5 – Prohibition of slavery and forced labour” apply to internships, jobbridge and momentum projects that the Department of Social Protection forces the unemployed on by using a third party company in order to play the CSO figures by threatening the unemployed with throwing them off the dole as they did in 2013 and in 2014 as they did.

Jan 12th 2015, 5:58 PM

All that does is prevents employment as businesses will always have free labour.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:09 PM

Jam tomorrow!

Right so!

*Tightens belt…..

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Jan 12th 2015, 6:41 PM

Taking thru his hole again.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:44 PM

Is it another jobsbridge richard, you condescending wa@@er.

Mute Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Favourite Jeanette A Mcdonald
    Jan 12th 2015, 9:04 PM

And in other news from la la land, fairies, unicorns and leprechauns were seen astride flying pigs

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:24 PM

8476 that’s a lot of scam Bridge placements to open up in such a short space of time.

Mute Kieran Doherty
    Favourite Kieran Doherty
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:51 PM

Someone call on Karl Pilkington

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Jan 12th 2015, 11:08 PM

Yes Richard or course you can…. We believe every word out of your mouth… Like all in Fine Gail and Labour right? Oh no… I forgot… We aren’t falling for your lies any more.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 12th 2015, 7:46 PM

SF/IRA are out in force today! Must be under orders from Gerry.

Mute wilfried keulemans
    Favourite wilfried keulemans
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:13 PM

So in your opinion if you don’t agree with the spin from the morons in government then you from SF, I heard it al now.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:53 PM

Powerabbey, the same bleating from a beaten troll, defending a beaten government.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 12th 2015, 8:23 PM

I don’t see Gerrry Adams getting involved in IDA trade missions to drum up new business for the country. I suspect that they wouldn’t lift a finger to help this countries recovery.

Mute Alan Dooley
    Favourite Alan Dooley
    Jan 12th 2015, 1:13 PM

No, you can’t

Mute David Fleming
    Favourite David Fleming
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:28 PM

We are creating MORE than that, Ben.

Mute 2Billionto20Thousand
    Favourite 2Billionto20Thousand
    Jan 12th 2015, 5:12 PM

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Jan 12th 2015, 9:13 PM