You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man 'trapped in piece of furniture' in Co Cork

The incident happened earlier this afternoon.

cork1 Corks RedFM 104-106 / Facebook Corks RedFM 104-106 / Facebook / Facebook

A MAN HAS been hospitalised after apparently becoming trapped in a piece of furniture in Cork city earlier this afternoon.

The incident happened at a property on Model Farm Road.

Cork’s Red FM reports that the man became stuck in a fitted kitchen unit.

He was safely removed from the unit following the intervention of two ambulances, the Gardaí and Cork Fire Brigade.

“Gardaí were called to a scene at a property on Model Farm Road at midday,” a Garda spokesman told TheJournal.ie.

A male had apparently become stuck in a cupboard. The fire brigade were called and the man was released.
He was brought to Cork University Hospital with no apparent injuries.

A lucky escape.

friends It isn't confirmed whether or not the incident looked like this Youtube Youtube

h/t Red FM

Read: Someone called Jenna Jameson has joined the cast of Celebrity Big Brother *

Read: Keep your wits about you – there are a LOT of counterfeit tickets to big events doing the rounds

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:10 PM

Minister Foley is saying schools are a safe place. What a joke.
    I work in a school and we are doing the best we can on a shoestring.
    We have been supplied with basic masks, visors and hand sanitiser and we have to ask and sign for them every time we need to replenish.
    If this is what they call safe and say is fighting Covid then how come this high grade Covid fighting system hasn’t been rolled out in all those office blocks that are still empty.
    Every single school is a Petri dish for Covid. No exceptions. They are not safe and it’s not because the staff and children aren’t doing their best.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:28 PM

@2thFairy: How many Covid cases in your school ? If none, or only 1 or 2 with no cluster, then isn’t the Minister correct at least in relation to your school ?

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Tommy Roche: a school not to far from my house had 5 cases this week. So what’s your point

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:05 PM

@2thFairy: go on the covid payment so if you don’t want to be there

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Macca Attack: it was always said, they’re is going to be cases in schools

Mute Dawn Harvey
    Favourite Dawn Harvey
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:31 PM

@Tommy Roche: there’s plenty of examples…. there’s 10 cases in maynooth community college and post primary. 5 students, 5 staff. The fact its not being talked about does tmean the schools are all grand and fine.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Tommy Roche: we’ve had at least 12 cases that I know of. That’s staff and children. We aren’t informed of any of them. We find out by default and we can’t enquire about the circumstances.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:44 PM

@Mick Scanlan: I want the schools to stay open. I want to be in work. My point is that it’s not true that it’s safe. We have been little guidance and scant PPE. The conditions are laughable.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:45 PM

@2thFairy: How many confirmed cases?

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:48 PM

@2thFairy: She said that schools are not ‘amplification settings’. She did NOT say they were ‘safe’. Of all the cases mentioned here, how many were transmitted within the school setting?

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:58 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: 12 cases. Why so sceptical? That’s 12 cases I know of. There are many children absent so there could be more.
    She did say they were safe. It’s in an earlier article. You seem to be picking at points here.
    Trust me. Schools are full of children who are carrying around this virus. We have very little armoury to put up any kind of an effective defence. My mask has to last me a couple of days. I was given a pocket sized hand sanitiser. We have Aldi disinfectant spray to clean the tables. The school have to shop for all this stuff ourselves. It’s a joke.

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Oct 14th 2020, 10:11 PM

@Tommy Roche: In your school? that’s the joke. it’s the clusters from all of the people going to their local shops,takeaways where you have to navigate the gangs of teenagers to even get to the door,never mind the ones who then go home, and then meet up with other friends from other schools, then meet up with friends after school. None of these are tracked or even trackable, because guess what? teenagers lie. “I hope you where not hanging around with your friends today as you know that’s dangerous now? yes mummy”

Mute PaleoIreland
    Favourite PaleoIreland
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:11 PM

I find this very hard to believe. I have a lot of teacher friends and there are cases all over the place in schools. None being reported, however.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:13 PM

@PaleoIreland: that’s true it’s rampant but just ignored. Official documents from schools and HSE posted on Facebook daily

Mute Gerard McConnell
    Favourite Gerard McConnell
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:04 PM

@Mick Scanlan: You sounds like you are in school yourself with some of your comments, a primary school student judging by your comments.

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:16 PM

I’m not a conspiracy theorist, but I just do not believe this. I have friends with children who have contracted Covid from their kids whose classes were sent home because of covid. The numbers have shot up since schools are back. But they just will not shut them.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:46 PM

@a: nobody in a school is considered a close contact. This is purely to make sure schools don’t show up as hotspots. If 3 lads in the same class get it, the class is quietly sent home and the fact that they were in the same class is never flagged. Its happening all over the country.

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:11 PM

But they are a breeding ground for other colds and flu which will end up using up all the testing resources… I’ve already gotten a cold and ended up getting tested and I picked it up from my kids who picked it up in school… And it’s only October

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:20 PM

That’s not what my 15 year old daughter says. She says in the classroom there are some safety measures in place (depending on the teacher) but outside of the classroom it’s a complete free-for-all and the teachers turn a blind eye on the whole.
    She thinks that for the Government to bluntly say it’s not spreading in schools is a complete lie when all evidence is to the contrary.
    An early lesson for her politics.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:22 PM

@Shakka1244: Would just like to add that she says teachers do their best but it’s impossible for them.

Mute Aidàin O Dubh Glais
    Favourite Aidàin O Dubh Glais
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:26 PM

@Shakka1244: I’m glad you added that we really do.

Mute Michelle J. Ni Dhubhlaiocht
    Favourite Michelle J. Ni Dhubhlaiocht
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:27 PM

@Shakka1244: My daughter has said this too about her own school and I’ve seen it myself when I collect the 2 youngest from the primary school. I think it’s coming from the secondary schools mainly.

Mute Laura Ni Hearga
    Favourite Laura Ni Hearga
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:30 PM

@Michelle J. Ni Dhubhlaiocht: teachers are doing our best with zero support.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:21 PM

If schools aren’t mass tested then this evidence will never exist since most young children are asymptomatic. It’s infuriating hearing them peddle this line over and over.

Mute John brett
    Favourite John brett
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:15 PM

They are making up as they go along. Why didn’t they hold the leaving cert so when cases were down.

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast

The virus spreads among all humans young and old. Get on a Luas at school start and finish times and see the risk. 15 allowed in pubs and restaurants outdoors but 300 on a Luas inside at peak. The doctors and scientists need come back to earth to the real world and stop doing what the books say.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:12 PM

Let them all Pass it to each other sur! Covid doesn’t enter school gates lads

Mute Carl
    Favourite Carl
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:35 PM

Is she for real!!!

Mute Liam Morgan
    Favourite Liam Morgan
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:37 PM

There’s no covid because they aren’t testing kids

Mute Niamh Hayes
    Favourite Niamh Hayes
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:17 PM

@Liam Morgan: kids are fast tracked for test results so you are totally incorrect

Mute tim howard
    Favourite tim howard
    Oct 15th 2020, 11:07 AM

@Niamh Hayes: no they are not and no he is not …kids are only tested if they show symptoms and as every other government department tells us 99 percent of kids are asymptomatic …literally walking petri dishes …get your facts right

Mute SaveTheTrees
    Favourite SaveTheTrees
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:00 PM

6000 tested out of how many pupils/schools? Theres no way of knowing how many are infected without mass asymptomatic testing, fact is schools are being used as creches, secondary & third level should defo be closed afterall it’s where the virus first spread people have short memories

Mute Niamh Hayes
    Favourite Niamh Hayes
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:19 PM

@SaveTheTrees: so we need to close the crehes ,is that your point .I don’t understand this schools are crehes argument cropping up .I don’t think teachers would accept the crehe payscale because they are not babysitters.

Mute Smokeycarroll
    Favourite Smokeycarroll
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:39 PM

Babysitting not teaching

Mute Niamh Hayes
    Favourite Niamh Hayes
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:16 PM

@Smokeycarroll: I presume you are not a teacher .Schools are the most important thing in any community in Ireland .

Mute Smokeycarroll
    Favourite Smokeycarroll
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:13 PM

@Niamh Hayes: they are but when you shackle the teachers they can not teach simple stuff

Mute Adam O'Sullivan
    Favourite Adam O'Sullivan
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:19 PM

One case linked to Pubs and they shut them all.

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Adam O’Sullivan: one……hahahahaha. go back to sleep

Mute Paula Bartley Griffin
    Favourite Paula Bartley Griffin

Have a look at the page below and see how many cases are being reported in schools every day
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/600905740607906/?ref=share

Mute Colonel kurtz
    Favourite Colonel kurtz
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:55 PM

This is stuff like chemical Ali from Baghdad.how can she say things are grand

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:55 PM

Ahh come on! A minister wouldn’t stretch the truth??? Would she??

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:29 PM

Keep the schools open. Did anyone read the article before saying they are causing increased transmission? Stop spreading fake news. Follow the science.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:42 PM

@Fionn Darland: errrrrrr….. because the schools were closed …!!!! The numbers came down to a manageable number for the hospitals then the schools opened up again and the numbers have surged upwards….!!! It’s very easy to see the pattern and timeline.

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:50 PM

@2thFairy: errrrrrrrr……. Correlation does not imply causation.

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:49 PM

I completely agree it isn’t spreading much within schools but once the kids are released en masse into the community they’re gathering in large mixed class groups outside take-aways and that’s where it’s spreading

Mute Da_Dell
    Favourite Da_Dell
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:23 PM

@Lorraine Mac Rory: oh right so they spread it outside school but not inside!!! Like wtf, sure lets all go to school then and sure that will fix it !

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:46 PM

Presume normas eyes were spat in in her job and norma is frequently bitten thus rendering ppe completely useless keeps schools open but dont blatantly lie about the safety.

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:51 PM

@Lisa Quinn: *.keep

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Oct 14th 2020, 8:32 PM

All available evidence? Show as the data and source, give us access to the raw data!
    Until then, I call BS… no one is house partying that much!

Mute feargal ‘2 metres’ de cantuin
    Favourite feargal ‘2 metres’ de cantuin
    Oct 14th 2020, 11:12 PM

The Cabinet has agreed a ban on all household visits from midnight tomorrow, for four weeks, except on compassionate grounds and for essential reasons, such as childcare.

This ban on visits includes homes and gardens, but up to six people from two households can meet in other outdoor settings while maintaining physical distancing as part of the enhanced Level 3.
    But hey 800 in a secondary school no problem!

Mute Ronan Mullen
    Favourite Ronan Mullen
    Oct 14th 2020, 7:01 PM

Schools mass testing = testing of those who don’t necessarily have symptoms = lower positive test results. Community testing = testing those who present with symptoms = higher positive test results.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Oct 14th 2020, 9:56 PM

First we were told that the young are less affected than the old… that bit is generally true.
    Later on some (The Donald & others) pushed this further and claimed children are immune.
    Now we are told they don’t even spread it.
    I’m wondering how long it will take before they start claiming that having kids in school actually protects YOU from covid…

Mute Seosamh Púinse
    Favourite Seosamh Púinse
    Oct 14th 2020, 6:38 PM

Neither are the pubs or restaurants

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Oct 15th 2020, 1:35 AM

Ah ah ah you only have to look at clusters reports . Zero in university this week and only 3 open clusters and schools 25 this week and 62 clusters open. Pinocchio

Mute tim howard
    Favourite tim howard
    Oct 15th 2020, 11:52 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: when are ya gonna get it …testing only occurs when symptoms present …every govt dept except education will tell you the young are a problem as they are mostly asymptomatic. That means no symptoms and no testing . So schools and university could be riddled with covid and we would not no.
    Schools in particular are full of very young kids with mostly very young parents again asymptomatic who then go to pub hotel gym work etc and pass it on. Contact tracing then identifies the pub hotel gym or workplace as the problem area when in fact it all started with the asymptonatic schools …common sense …thats why you wont see ministers doing school visits now or for the forseeeable future they are terrified but golf outings are fine

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Favourite Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Oct 15th 2020, 2:51 PM

Analysing data, published by NPHET, the proportion of 5-14 year olds who got COVID up to the 20th August was 1.7% of all infections. In contrast, the proportion who got COVID between 21st August and 12th October was 7.4% of infections during this period. The proportion of the population infected AFTER schools opened is much higher than the proportion infected BEFORE schools opened. In fact the proportion has more than quadrupled and is not equal as Minister Foley alleges.

Similarly for the 15-24 year old cohort the proportion rose from 8.3% of the population up to the 20th August to 32.4% of total infections for the period 21st August to 12thOctober, a tripling of the proportion affected by COVID, not equal as the Minister alleges.

I could only work with published data for the 5-14 age cohort and the 15-24 age cohort. The Minister referred to data in the 4-18 age cohort for similar time periods but that information isn’t published, or if it is I cant find it.

Given the facts that the 5-14 and 15-24 cohorts, that their proportions of total infections have increased dramatically (quadrupled and tripled in effect), I find it very hard to believe that the proportions of 4-18 year olds has remained steady at 14% for the period before schools opened and the period since schools reopened. It doesnt add up.

Sources of data
    https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/b3fd5-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-monday-12-october/

https://www.gov.ie/en/press-release/f501e-statement-from-the-national-public-health-emergency-team-thursday-20-august/

Mute tim howard
    Favourite tim howard
    Oct 15th 2020, 11:00 AM

I would love to see this evidence. Asymptomatic cases are a huge factor in the spread of this virus and we know this because so many government departments tell us this.
    However the department of education seem to ignore this warning. Children are not tested regularly and are only tested when they show symptoms and yet we know that many many children show absolutely no symptoms when infected, they are asymptomatic. These asymptomatic children pick it up in school and bring it home to most likely asymptomatic young parents who in turn pass it on in a pub or hotel or work and hey presto after contact tracing the pub or hotel or workplace or gym are identified as the source of new infections when in fact its the schools …
    Common sense is common sense and this is common sense…

Mute Tom Cullen
    Favourite Tom Cullen
    Oct 15th 2020, 9:36 AM

Liability against the minister for endangering children the only way to go on this