You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/wavebreakmedia

GAA votes to ban sponsorship deals with betting companies

The GAA’s annual congress today heard that sport is “besieged by gambling”.

THE GAA HAS voted to ban sponsorship deals with gambling companies.

At the GAA’s annual congress in Croke Park today, delegates voted overwhelmingly in favour of the motion, which was forwarded by Connacht GAA’s Mick Rock. He said sport today is “besieged by gambling” and that implementing a sponsorship ban would protect the integrity of Gaelic games.

Speaking to The42.ie this week, addiction counsellor Alan Martin from the Cuan Mhuire treatment centre in Galway said gambling has become “more intrinsic within the GAA”. Former Armagh footballer Oisín McConville and Galway hurler Davy Glennon are among those to have spoken about the time they spent in Cuan Mhuire on their road to recovery.

“What I discovered more and more is that these lads are looking for a high and a buzz from the sports field,” Martin said. “They lead a healthy life and when they come off the sports field, they’re kind of left feeling a bit somewhat empty and they’re looking for some buzz or that chase and it might be a small gamble that might start them off.

“And it builds up over the years.”

Today Alan Kerins from the Gaelic Players Association, speaking ahead of the vote, also said the GPA was “strongly supportive” of the motion.

“Gambling is a huge concern for the inter-county player at the moment. 77 players presented for counselling services this year, and over half of those were for gambling specific issue,” he told delegates.

“We would like to commend the GAA on taking this leadership step for society as a whole. We would urge everyone to support this motion.”

The motion to prohibit sponsorship of any GAA competition, team, player gear or facility by a betting company was passed with 93% of delegates voting in favour of it.

A separate motion proposing to remove a rule which allows a sponsor’s brand name to be displayed on jackets, tops, jerseys, and kit-bags of match officials was also passed.

Read: ‘It has become more intrinsic within the GAA… Gambling is the promise of a better life’>

Read: Casinos, gaming machines and online gambling to be overseen by independent regulator>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

63 Comments
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:32 PM

Fair play to them

Mute Jamie Smith
    Favourite Jamie Smith
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:54 PM

Well done GAA

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:58 PM

@Jamie Smith: do my eyes doth deceive me?!

Mute Jamie Smith
    Favourite Jamie Smith
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:08 PM

@Joe Kennedy: credit where credits due Joey. Normal service will resume shortly

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:11 PM

@Jamie Smith: haha…..ah damn!! You on your way down for the game tonight?!

Mute Jamie Smith
    Favourite Jamie Smith
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:16 PM

@Joe Kennedy: nah not today big Joey, a day of rugby on tv at home his a more appealing maybe next time when they’re at home…..

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:23 PM

@Jamie Smith: ah very good. Enjoy the old egg chasing so!!

Mute Jamie Smith
    Favourite Jamie Smith
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:57 PM

@Joe Kennedy: will do Joey enjoy your bog ball

Mute Marcus Massey
    Favourite Marcus Massey
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:35 PM

Best decision the GAA made in a long time.

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:32 PM

Fair play, proper order. Addiction to gambling is ruining many lives.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Feb 24th 2018, 4:38 PM

@Jointheclubtoo: Indeed. The GAA have faced a lot of criticism over the years but this is an excellent decision and should be applauded.

Mute John Clare
    Favourite John Clare
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:44 PM

Congratulations to the GAA for being the leading sport to do this. Gambling is a scourge on the young people of Ireland and we have heard horror stories about how this has affected families across the country. This is a positive step and I hope many other sports join in as they did with tobacco advertising way back when !

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:21 PM

@John Clare: indeed good news. The tv betting ads are terrible at the moment, they should be banned too

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:37 PM

Let’s raise a glass to that

Mute gold3n
    Favourite gold3n
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:05 PM

@Féach News: Done

Mute Sean Mannion
    Favourite Sean Mannion
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:38 PM

Good decision, the question now though is what constitutes gambling? Can Cuala still have a sponsorship deal with a stockbroker?

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Feb 24th 2018, 8:44 PM

@Sean Mannion: that’s an excellent question sir?

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Feb 25th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Sean Mannion: good question. Does this mean all the Club Lottos are now to be banned too? It’s a huge money spinner in some clubs. What about the Monday night bingo nights?

Mute The flute smoker
    Favourite The flute smoker
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:58 PM

Very surprised , it appears everyone doesnt have a price , well done gaa

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:13 PM

It’s an awful pity that they will now have to end their long association with the National Lottery and all the funds that different projects have got from it over the years.

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:18 PM

@Noel O’Gorman: The Lottery isn’t gambling nor going to the races. It’s part of our culture boss…

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Feb 24th 2018, 7:15 PM

@Noel O’Gorman: I thought most of those projects were already dropped now that the National Lottery is privately managed.

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Feb 25th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Noel O’Gorman: why would it?? Yes lotto is a form of gambling…. but its the bookies, casinos etc are the problem. Do boommakers etc give grants etc to local clubs and communities?? In terms of addiction lotto isnt a main problem… the main problem for people is bookies casinos and nowadays omline is getring worse and worse. If bookmakers and other gambling institutions were offering grants etc i would prob agree with u

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:39 PM

If ur going to gamble u will gamble,

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:47 PM

@John Ryan: nonsense, you think gambling company’s advertise for the laugh? They advertise to get more people gambling, to normalise the activity.

It’s a plague on this country and others and it ruins lives and families

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:55 PM

@Barry Somers: So did dozens of RCC employees….

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:03 PM

@John Ryan:

So why to gambling companies spend so much on advertising and how come the amount of people gambling is rising ?

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:50 PM

@Nick Allen: Did it stop people from drinking Guinness when they stopped the Guinness sponsorship in the hurling did there sales drop..? No it didn’t…..there is no one twisting ur arm to gamble, drink or what ever some people are easily led.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 24th 2018, 4:29 PM

@John Ryan: that’s the thing though…bit by bit…little drip of money…..gets bigger and your fucced…..its a big issue…open your eyes man

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:40 PM

As if these bans – on gambling ads, bags, jackets, jerseys etc. – are going to make any difference to anything! Closed income streams curtailing the games’ development abroad – something the GAA has failed miserably to manage for decades.

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:46 PM

@Bruce Miller: what??

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:50 PM

@Joe Kennedy: Awful hard to get a game of Gaelic football here in Marseille….

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski

@Bruce Miller: Awful hard to get frog’s in Dublin too.

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski

@Joey Navinski: frog’s legs :)

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Joey Navinski: frogs*….easy enough to get a game of rugby or soccer though…

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:00 PM

@Bruce Miller: yeah there’d be a big market for Gaelic Games in the south of France alright I’m sure!! What are the GAA thinking?!!

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon

@Joey Navinski: Frogs legs are actually from Indonesia, which was a French colony. Very cruel as well.

Mute Bruce Miller
    Favourite Bruce Miller
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:05 PM

@Joe Kennedy: Fair enough – but these great games never exported anywhere, and are only played here and by a few emigrants. Pity there’s no European championship/league or something. When you leave Ireland for work, you really have to stop playing.

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:15 PM

@Bruce Miller: that’s fair enough too….it’s a pity alright but I just don’t see how it’s ever going to be international really.

Mute Mick Ó Loingsígh
    Favourite Mick Ó Loingsígh
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:30 PM

Fair play. Others should follow suit. Very poor form to see in play betting ads flashing up before and during live televised games in other sports

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Feb 24th 2018, 4:26 PM

Fantastic news….hope other sports follow suit….i feel sick to my stomach when I see betting adds during half time…normally famous people asking who’s going to score next…have a quick bet on their smart phone…people are getting hooked bit by bit and could cause massive issues down the line…..i think this needs to be nipped in the bud as fast as possible…

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:49 PM

Strange one from a purely money oriented organisation…. Pity money wasn’t an issue when losing 1/4 final games of the national sports to Sky…
    http://www.universityobserver.ie/sport/head-to-head-should-the-gaa-stick-with-sky-sports/
    Check out the link, for and against..
    Have a read and make up your mind as to question their repulse at money from betting companies…

Mute Robert Callaghan
    Favourite Robert Callaghan

@Willy Malone: so, then, not a purely money oriented organisation?

Mute Insider at RTE
    Favourite Insider at RTE
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:34 PM

@Willy Malone: “purely money orientated organisation.” Do you know where the money goes Willy? About 80% filters down to counties and clubs. If u want to see the games covered by Sky, but don’t have Sky, why don’t you go to them?

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Feb 24th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Insider at RTE: Your missing my point. 1/10 of people watching games now. That will inevitablly have an effect on players coming through. Game will die slowly for short term gain. Maybe this is an olive branch…

Mute Thomas Byrne
    Favourite Thomas Byrne
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:12 PM

Brilliant!!! At least the GAS stays too their roots one of few sports not to sell out

Mute JAMIE
    Favourite JAMIE
    Feb 24th 2018, 4:32 PM

Good…I see this happening across all sports in the next couple of years….

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Feb 24th 2018, 4:17 PM

Very well done to the GAA. Once again they have shown the way forward. I hope though other sponsors can be found. Slán

Mute Bridget
    Favourite Bridget
    Feb 24th 2018, 3:24 PM

Excellent

Mute Decky
    Favourite Decky
    Feb 24th 2018, 9:03 PM

Proper order, most enjoy a bet..but havin it flashed across the screens at every opportunity is a joke

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Feb 24th 2018, 2:53 PM

Great move from the GAA… I’d love to see soccer follow but I won’t hold my breath. I think the England national team have done the same but it is entrenched deep throughout the game https://yardofgrass.com/2017/06/16/yog-no-25-gambling-is-destroying-football/

Mute Andrew Cosgrave
    Favourite Andrew Cosgrave
    Feb 24th 2018, 5:31 PM

Well done GAA

Mute Gary Casserly
    Favourite Gary Casserly
    Feb 24th 2018, 5:46 PM

Delighted for them, betting companies are a scourge.

Mute colm mc sweeney
    Favourite colm mc sweeney
    Feb 24th 2018, 6:18 PM

I think too many people take too much notice of adds and sponsership. I will still drink and bet no matter. If say “vodafone” sponser them i wIll not decide to switch to them. Do you know what I mean like?

Mute Yurty Ahearn
    Favourite Yurty Ahearn
    Feb 24th 2018, 7:57 PM

Hmmm an “amateur” organization refusing money!!!! Something doesn’t add up!!!!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:47 PM

About f***king time

Mute @TJPPK
    Favourite @TJPPK
    Feb 24th 2018, 11:46 PM

Fair play to the GAA they banned drink sponsors a few years ago as well.
    Hopefully the soccer and Rugby do the same

Mute Matt O Connell
    Favourite Matt O Connell
    Feb 24th 2018, 11:30 PM

Wouldn’t it be far more appropriate for the GAA to end sponsorship deals with companies that sell alcohol. Gambling Is without doubt a serious problem for some but surely alcohol abuse is far more more pervasive and doing more damage.

Mute Gary Quinn
    Favourite Gary Quinn
    Feb 24th 2018, 10:47 PM

A few more replays to make up any shortfall… they’ll be grand.

Mute Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Favourite Séan Ó Nuanáin
    Feb 25th 2018, 4:32 PM

Go hiontach Beidh níos lú tionchar ag na comhlachtaí sin

Mute Leroy
    Favourite Leroy
    Feb 25th 2018, 8:11 AM

Will alcohol be next oh righteous GAA? Doubt it

Mute Daddy Long Legs
    Favourite Daddy Long Legs
    Feb 25th 2018, 11:22 AM

@Leroy: Do keep up.

Mute David Costello
    Favourite David Costello
    Feb 25th 2018, 12:18 PM

@John Ryan: you havent a clue about addiction do you??

Mute watson
    Favourite watson
    May 21st 2018, 10:49 AM

professional soccer betting tips Very nice information you have updated here , i am biggest fan of your site.

Mute Patrick Malone
    Favourite Patrick Malone
    Feb 24th 2018, 1:43 PM

It always amazes me that sports teams are not allowed to bet but clubs are allowed use gambling coys as sponsors