You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Slocum/AP/Press Association Images

Brooks the talk of Leinster House: GAA, Aiken & Council to be grilled over concert fiasco

Meanwhile, the Taoiseach says the Government would be criticised for overruling residents and the Council if it introduced emergency legislation…

Updated at 13.56pm

VARIOUS STAKEHOLDERS INVOLVED in the planning of this month’s ill-fated Garth Brooks concerts are to be called in to answer questions from TDs — with the meeting expected to happen tomorrow at the earliest.

Separately, Taoiseach Enda Kenny has rejected calls from Fianna Fáil to bring in emergency legislation, allowing for an appeals procedure whereby Dublin City Council’s decision not to allow two of the five planned concerts to go ahead could be challenged.

The meeting….

The cancellation by Brooks yesterday of all five concerts affected some 400,000 ticket-holders — including some 70,000 fans who had been expected to travel from overseas.

Dublin City Manager Owen Keegan and representatives of the GAA and Aiken promotions are now being asked to attend a hearing with the Select Sub-Committee on Transport, Tourism and Sport to discuss the fiasco.

The country star made the decision following Keegan’s decision last week to refuse permission for two of the gigs — on the basis that three concerts have already been held at the stadium this year.

‘A hot issue’

The decision to call the parties in to face questions was made at a meeting this morning.

Fine Gael’s John O’Mahony, who chairs the panel of TDs, said they had already heard back from the GAA, and that representatives of the association would be attending.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, he said no time had been confirmed for the meeting as yet, but that they hoped to schedule it for as soon as possible, as it’s a “hot issue”.

“We need to find out the chain of events, to establish what happened — you had all this talk of five concerts, four concerts, then no concerts.

We need to find out exactly what the issues are.

O’Mahony said that all of the factors that led to the cancellation of the concerts would have to be looked at in order to learn from what happened and ensure such a situation doesn’t arise again.

Responding to the invitation, Aiken Promotions this afternoon released a one line statement saying they had received notice of the hearing and were awaiting confirmation of the date.

A spokesperson for Dublin City Council said Keegan was at a meeting all day, and was unlikely to have had time to read the invitation — but that the Council would respond to it later today.

[File photo: Oireachtas.ie]

The Fianna Fáil ‘Garth Brooks Bill’

Separately, Taoiseach Enda Kenny has told Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin the Government can’t intervene with emergency legislation.

Martin’s party last week published a Bill aimed at introducing an appeals mechanism to the concert planning process, which would allow decisions to be challenged on economic and tourism grounds.

Speaking in the Dáil this afternoon, Martin told Kenny “it’s not beyond the houses of the Oireachtas to pass emergency legislation” and asked that the Government give time to the Fianna Fáil Bill.

And while Kenny said he was “as disappointed as anybody else in the country”, he stressed that “Dublin City Council made its decision based on the current regulation”.

“I will look at it, absolutely,” he said.

Let’s see if there’s something positive the government can do here so it doesn’t happen again.

But he warned:

If the Government decided to intervene with emergency legislation it would be criticised of overruling the rights of the residents – who have rights – and of overruling the decision of Dublin City Council.

He said that a process would be put in place to ensure such problems don’t arise again, and added that the debacle showed there was a “bitter economic lesson to be learned”.

It ain’t over til its over…

Fianna Fáil’s Timmy Dooley — the party’s tourism spokesman and a member of the transport and tourism sub committee — said he didn’t accept the Taoiseach’s assessment of the situation that “there will be no concerts now”.

Speaking to reporters on the Plinth at Leinster House, Dooley said that as it appeared Brooks’ concert equipment was currently still at sea, en route to Ireland “there’s still time to find a solution”.

And Fianna Fáil intends to press ahead with its mooted changes to the planning laws, he said — in spite of Enda Kenny’s indications that the Government is unwilling to intervene.

“He said he would read [the Bill] – but he has refused to allow Government time.

Tomorrow morning, we will move the bill in the House. We still believe there’s an opportunity to have these five concerts go ahead.

The controversy over the cancellation of the gigs has been covered by media outlets around the world — including US broadcasters CNN and Fox News.

Speaking earlier this morning, promoter Peter Aiken described the Council’s handling of the situation as a “joke” and said he was personally devastated by what had happened.

So far, there’s been no statements or comments from the Brooks camp. He’s expected to address the situation tomorrow in a press conference, which will be streamed on his website. 

Additional reporting, Hugh O’Connell and Cliodhna Russell.

Read: Say What? Some of the mad things public figures are saying about Garth

Read: Timeline: Garth Brooks at Croke Park – from sold-out to cancelled

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:37 AM

I’m not standing up for the government here but they could not get involved with the Dublin City planners. Sure didn’t we spend millions on tribunals in the past to stop corrupt governments interfering in planning decisions.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:12 PM

Not to mention corrupt councillors and inept county and city managers —-LISSADELL

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:27 PM

Your point makes no sense. You want the government to get involve. But then you mention a tribunal which negates what you said at the start.
    There is no corruption here. There would have been if the concerts had gone ahead. Mr. Keegan applied the rules which doesn’t happen very often in this society. Pure cowardice if he is hung out to dry.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:41 PM

The problem is Mr. Keegan did NOT apply the rules. If he had done he would have warned all sides as soon as the concerts were announced that they would be in breech of agreements/planning conditions.

He didn’t. Instead he allowed this entire shambles to happen by allowing all sides to proceed on the same basis that ALL concerts in this country get planning permission. And from the minute he engaged with the stakeholders, whatever conditions were to apply, all concerts SHOULD have been granted permission.

So I’m bloody sure I want to know what Mr. Keegan did NOT apply the rules.

I also want to know how many of these planning objections were faked.

But at the end of the day the question I really want answered never will be.

Why have such a tiny minority been allowed to destroy a day out for hundreds of thousands of people while at the same time do enormous economic damage to the locality and the city?

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:20 PM

Alan –

Timeline:
    Garth Brooks sells out 3 nights in Dublin
    Aiken/Garth decided to push it to 5 nights
    Garth sells out a further 2 nights
    Dublin City Council refuse to sanction further 2 nights, only allowing the original 3
    Garth throws his toys out of the pram and cancels them all

Maybe Brooks just isn’t the saint you wish him to be.

Mute Thomas Byrne
    Favourite Thomas Byrne
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:41 PM

Think you may be missing some of the timeline. A lot of processes and discussions went on between selling 2 further concerts and permission being refused.
    DCC is a joke, both councillors and managers, this issue should have been highlighted months ago. They get paid far to much money and look at areas such as the north inner city falling apart with litter, junkies etc. and Grafton st a building site for far too long! They’d be far better getting taxes where they can and using them to clean up the city!

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:49 PM

Where did I say I wanted the government to get involved

Mute Richarddoherty
    Favourite Richarddoherty
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:52 PM

brooks all praise for his irish fans but refused to play for 240000 of them what does that say about him just greedy idiot who thinks about himself

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:55 PM

They could intervene for tax breaks for farmers

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:41 PM

Spot on, the fool knew in February this mess was en route and kept his gob shut instead of ringing the warning bells then, utterly utterly Irish

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:43 PM

Let’s get one thing straight Pedro. I fcuking HATE Brooks and his music.

And your timeline is irrelevant. One Brooks concert would have been, in accordance with that fabled agreement and with apparent planning restrictions placed on Croke Park when it was originally redeveloped, one too many due to the three One Direction concerts in May.

So once again what was Mr. Keegan and his E190,000 per year salary at?

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:44 PM

I just heard on the radio that at one stage he was offered 4 nights as a compromise but he stuck to his “5 or nothing” crap. But Alan is right, DCC come across as pure amateurs here. Leaving everything to the last minute and punishing hundreds of thousands of people.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 3:43 PM

Alan the agreement is between Croke Park/GAA & the residents, not with DCC. If the concerts went ahead the residents would have been able to bring Croke Park/GAA to court for their breach.

So yes, my timeline is relevant.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:02 PM

Would they?

After all this time I have yet to see this agreement written down, notarised and presented as something that has force of law i.e. a contract. An who was it agreed with? Which of the multiple residents’ associations and streets committees agreed or did not agree to it?

They’d have gone to court long ago if they thought whatever agreement they had had the force of law behind it. The injunction sought this week before Brooks pulled out altogether said nothing about any agreement, merely waffle about interference with peoples’ lives going about their business etc.

And anyway you’re completely wrong. They would have been bringing the DCC to court for allowing the concerts as they apparently contravene the original planning permission given when Croke Park was redeveloped.

None of which, of course, answers my question about Mr. Keegan and his actions. But we all know that he cannot account for them because this is a total FUBAR on his part.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:18 PM

Why would you see the agreement? It’s been referred to by both the residents and the GAA, both confirming the 3 concerts per annum quota, what more do you want?

DCC didn’t make the decision on the basis of the agreement, they made the decision because they felt that the residents were right to feel aggrieved. They don’t need an agreement to refuse planning permission…

Well whoever would have been brought to court the bottom line is Aiken applied for planning permission, Aiken were refused planning permission, Garth threw his toys out of the pram.

If fact I’m glad Mr. Keegan & DCC had the balls to stand up to the big business and government pressure that was put on them.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:23 PM

So you are happy to let Keegan off the hook by failing to acknowledge that the man, according to the agreements you claim are in place, shouldn’t have even considered granting permission for one concert, never mind three. He stood up to no one, merely fecked things up beyond all recognition.

And I want to see the ‘agreement’ because nothing has the force of law behind it unless it is in writing and signed by both sides i.e. a contract. A verbal agreement or a handshake isn’t worth a damn when it comes to the law.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:24 PM

And you might remember that it’s all those horrible ‘big businesses’ that provide people with jobs and money in their pockets. FFS

Mute John Denby
    Favourite John Denby
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:53 PM

@Ann Whats farmers got to do with anything?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:21 AM

Can we grill TDs for not concentrating on important issues?

Mute William Martin Murphy
    Favourite William Martin Murphy
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:23 AM

It’s things like this that make us appear like a banana republic

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five

The loss of 100-200 million Euro is pretty important.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute William Martin Murphy
    Favourite William Martin Murphy
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:30 AM

Those figures are spurious and you know it

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Favourite Leopold Dedalus
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:34 AM

€200m? Jesus it was €50m only yesterday

Mute John Stewart
    Favourite John Stewart
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:41 AM

it is a banana republic

Mute Paddy Mac
    Favourite Paddy Mac
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:41 AM

Awh shut the fcuk up about Garth Brooks.

Mute Tommy Hornblower
    Favourite Tommy Hornblower
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:46 AM

I like bananas.

Mute Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Favourite Weddingcar Ie Wexford Limo
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:53 AM

Horse and stable door ! Springs to mind

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell

Appear like one, I suppose a government minister laying out a red carpet, holding out the begging bowl, at Shannon for the likes of Donald Trump, would give you an indication of the type of Republic we are.

Mute John Stewart
    Favourite John Stewart
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:57 AM

appear ‘.. it is a banana republic

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:10 PM

64,000,000,000 > 200,000,000 in any case, just a tad

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:13 PM

Things like this only make us appear like a banana republic when they happen more than once and we don’t learn from our mistakes.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:20 PM

Holy feck. Now it’s a quarter of a billion euro. LOL.

Keep cancelling them until it gets to 4 or 5 billion, Then we can start issuing licenses.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:29 PM

I heard it was 700 billion euro….are you sure Johnny?

Mute Mark O'Brien
    Favourite Mark O'Brien
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:44 PM

Prob but so many companies are put of pocket it’s crazy burned stock(dunnes etc) everywhere taxi drivers golf courses(husbands) it’s high in millions for sure

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:24 PM

Mark –

Projected income does not equal actual income.

People need to relax on the “out of pocket” card, most businesses are no worse of than they were before.

Mute Mark K
    Favourite Mark K
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:32 PM

Over 50-100 million to the economy is not an important issue for government? Jes people thinking like you run the country hence the problems we have.

Mute Mark K
    Favourite Mark K
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:38 PM

50-100 million lost to the economy. That is not important government issue?? Thousands upon thousands out of pocket, travellers from abroad coming to spend in the economy, job creation….. That’s why we are in the mess we are, comments like yours and a government like we have… Useless and unhelpful.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:45 PM

I heard it was closer to a trillion Mark, crazy stuff.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:05 PM

Ask any city that’s hosted the Olympics or the Super Bowl.
    The revenues turn into a net loss in a big hurry.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:50 PM

Ah, take a chill pill Mark K. Projections are always so accurate nes pas?

Mute Flash Gordon
    Favourite Flash Gordon
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:47 PM

At least west Clare got €20m or so unlike those idiots in Dublin !

Mute John Joyce
    Favourite John Joyce
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:15 AM

No more time should be wasted on this arrogant arse bandit

Mute BensGlenn
    Favourite BensGlenn
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:27 AM

Well said JJ. More time, energy and probably wasted on someone who turned his back of 250,000 fans because that wasn’t enough.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:29 AM

Always nice seeing homophobic slurs broadly approved of on the journal

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:01 PM

And Fianna Fáil haven’t changed, they’re still backing self interest as they always have.

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Jul 9th 2014, 3:00 PM

Is that John “Sh ite in a bucket” Joyce.

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:02 PM

??? Self interest ??? The interests of 400,000 fans more likely

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jul 9th 2014, 7:12 PM

scandalous that the Journal does not remove a clearly liable and homophobic comment after 7 hours. site has really gone to the dogs

Mute Mick Curtin
    Favourite Mick Curtin
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:19 AM

It’s pathetic to think that the promoters just added 2 extra dates without seeking some assurances. They’ve been bitten by their own greed and as for Brooks: it’s money above fans. He’s an ignorant hick!

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:28 AM

Even more pathetic to think that the country couldn’t hold five concerts without the Dublin City Council messing up.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:32 AM

As I understand it they did seek assurances and the council or manager (not sure which is to blame) went back on their word. They needed assurances in any case as all 5 dates were sold subject to licence

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:18 PM

I hope that this doesn’t end up in the courts and the taxpayers picking up the tab….again!!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity

Doesn’t matter now it’s history

Mute Des Doris
    Favourite Des Doris

Why would the taxpayer pick up the tab if it ends up in court?

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:34 PM

Because dublin city council us funded by tax payers

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:39 PM

As I understand it, they approved 3 concerts as they were originally asked. And then the promoters went back on their word and sold out Croker for two more.
    As I understand it, the Croker was to have only 3 concerts per year, and they had ALREADY had 3 concerts this year with those girly boys.
    As I understand it, the promoters were given an inch and took a mile (or for those of you not imperialistically inclined, they were given 25.4mm and took 1.60934km).

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:40 PM

It’ll end up in court in America, perhaps. The concerts were cancelled by Garth Brooks.

Mute Flash Gordon
    Favourite Flash Gordon
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:43 PM

Of course it will ! Brooks will sue Akins & Akins will sue Dublin CC & Keegan!

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Jul 10th 2014, 11:01 AM

Everyone seems to be missing the key point “subject to licensing” … it was advertised that it was subject to licensing and says it on the small print tickets. Its not going to end up in court anywhere.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:33 AM

While the TD’s are wasting their time over a concert, I’d like to know why my uncle who has a long history with mental illness has been waiting 6 weeks now for contact from the mental health services. One of those weeks which was spent in hospital where a medical doctor took it upon himself to change his psychiatric medicine despite pleas from his family not to change them without a consult from a psychiatrist. Then discharged him in such a condition that he was unfunctuning and I spent the next 2 weeks watching him spiral into a very bad place, untill his own GP (still awaiting the discharge letter from the hospital) put him back on the medicine he was originally on.

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:24 PM

Carina I agree whole heartedly . Hope your uncle and all of your family are okay .

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO

Send in the clowns…. They’ll get to the bottom of this.

Mute Pat Morris
    Favourite Pat Morris
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:30 AM

Good old Enda, now the twit has a comment, closing the stable door when the cowboy has left.

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:31 AM

You know it, Pat. Government are delighted with this fiasco. It takes heat off them. Simple as that. He’s ringing his hands watchin this.

Jul 9th 2014, 12:58 PM

All this fuss over a fat cowboy with a dodgy beard, nice to see people concentrating on the importand issues!

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:32 PM

thats what i thought gus, but it sells papers and distracts people from real issues. If anyone ever needed evidence of a collusion of government and media working together to keep the public passive and distracted..then this is it!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:43 PM

The clowns have been in there for ages ; it’s time to get them out morelike ! They’re not funny anymore…..

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:24 AM

Can we all please move the fu*k on with our lives and forget about this. I’ve already put my hat & spurs back in the attic.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:42 AM

Ted, if we don’t learn from our mistakes then we are doomed to repeat them…

Mute RI Twing
    Favourite RI Twing

But Fozz this is “unprecedented” “once in a lifetime” etc etc

Mute Pat Morris
    Favourite Pat Morris
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:36 AM

The whole crux of this matter is allowing the ticket seller and promoter to offer tickets on sale for unlicensed events. It’s nuts, how much has Aiken made over the years from this. Seems a good business, get the licence after your bank account is full. Legislation on the sale of unlicensed events required. Licence first, sales then allowed.

Mute Oscar Duggan
    Favourite Oscar Duggan
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:59 AM

Well as Aiken has pointed out, tickets have to go on sale 3-4 months prior to the event. In this case, even if the three concerts were to have gone ahead, the license was only issued last week. That gives concert goers about 2-3 weeks to scramble for tickets, transports (in some cases involving overseas travel), accommodation, everything else (e.g. time off work). Just think too about the pressure that that puts on hotels, guest houses, everyone involved in the hospitality trade. It would be sheer insanity. So it was right to put the tickets on sale when they did. It just makes life easier on everyone.

Of course, you could make the sale of tickets conditional upon having a license. The license application process however, takes about 10 weeks, or so we are told and that’s after all the paperwork has been lodged. So really, you would need about 20-30 weeks of advanced preparation. In some cases, and this was one I am sure, there simply isn’t that much time. With those restrictions in place, and with the benefit of hindsight, Aiken promotions would probably have had to just say ‘no’ when the concert proposal was first muted. In all likelihood, that is what will happen in future – Ireland just won’t be at the races where staging top international acts is concerned. That is just the reality.

Mute Pat Morris
    Favourite Pat Morris
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:15 PM

Oscar, Aiken makes the argument to suit his position. Obviously the GAA grounds at Croke Park have limitations regarding the number of events versus impact on the local community. So the venue chosen was not appropriate for these reasons. The blame committees can convene, however regulated venues and effective licensing regulation will prevent recurrence. It seems in this case that the performers or promoters strategy to force the regulators hand on 5 performances backfired. It’s all about money at the end of the day.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies

bull poop oscar ! aiken would be well aware that there were restrictions on the number of concert allowed at crokepark, as were the g.a.a, but as usual in this country they thought they could just do as they liked , take the money and bully people into accepting the 5 concerts. i’m glad dcc made the decision in favour of the residents ,its high time the people of this country were put before the greed of big business, political interests , and government sponsored sporting groups . everyone who had tickets for these events should sue aiken promotions for breach of contract or fraud , they did after all sell tickets for a non existing event ! if it takes 6 -8 months to organise these things and get the proper licences then they should have applied earlier and done it properly,instead they held on until they knew the’d sell the place out and (like the bondholders) tried their luck, only this time it didnt go in their favour.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill

Kings of Leon one of the biggest acts currently touring. They were here not too long ago. They seemed to have enjoyed themselves.

Mute Bigus Bear
    Favourite Bigus Bear
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:38 PM

@Pat. That’s a very narrow minded view. Firstly, all gigs in Ireland are on sale before license is granted. It is not Aiken only. The current legislation allows for that. Secondly, a world tour needs to be planned in advance. Well in advance. Think about logistics. The bigger the name, the more gear to be moved and set-up around the world. Venues must be agreed etc. It is absolutely crazy to think that any artist can organize everything last minute.
    Also anyone who said that “well sure Garth can play 3 gigs now and 2 at the end of the tour” displays an utter lack of basic business knowledge. That set-up would double the logistic costs and for sure would have made no financial sense.
    Country music is definitely not my taste but I have to say Ireland scored a spectacular own goal. Well done lads!!! That’s what you get when you elect average Joe’s to run a country!

Mute Oscar Duggan
    Favourite Oscar Duggan
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:45 PM

“Aiken makes the argument to suit his positiion”

“It’s all about money at the end of the day.”

From the tone of your comments, I take it you disapprove of that sort of thing!

Mute Pat Morris
    Favourite Pat Morris
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:23 PM

No, just have a head on my shoulders.

Mute Laura Grimes
    Favourite Laura Grimes
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:22 PM

I am disappointed for the fans however why was a licence only applied for at the end of April when the tickets were sold in January?

It smacks of trying to force the deal through at the last minute.

Mute Maire re
    Favourite Maire re
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:22 AM

Can we move on and get over this now. Everyone is sick of reading about it now.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:32 AM

Then stop clicking on the articles? They’re being posted because they draw far more attention than most of the other articles.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five

Ireland vying to hold the Rugby World Cup when it can’t even string along five concerts. The Dublin City Council will pay for all of this.

Mute Leopold Dedalus
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:37 AM

I don’t think the Rugby World Cup organisers will suddenly try to stage a bunch of extra games to make a bit more money despite agreements already in place.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:50 PM

It shows a lack of organisational abilities on Ireland’s part. They’d be mad to give it to us after what has happened over the past month or so.

Mute Cowboy Ted
    Favourite Cowboy Ted
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:42 PM

This will be used by every competitor of Ireland to host events in the future… It introduces risk… We should have shown that we either stop the thing in its tracks from day one or we let go ahead…

We just shot ourselves in the foot… Let the thing go ahead… Simple way to do this is to bring all parties and suggest Croke park spend €1m on the local area for something.

If they get no agreement from the residents, just make Croke Park the National Outdoor Arena with no need for planning for the next 5 years…

Stop making us a laughing stock and show we are open for business…

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:47 PM

Ah here, we’re completely losing the run of ourselves if we’re comparing Garth Brooks to the Rugby World Cup…

Mute Tom Kiely
    Favourite Tom Kiely

Peter Aiken was on radio one this morning he said that he spoke with the county manager when they cancelled the two shows he was told by him that 4 concerts would be permitted, he then contacted Garth manager that night to tell him the news. The following morning City council issued a press release saying that only 3 concerts could go ahead. .
    He added that he was in talks/negations all the way with Dublin City council….The whole thing was a shambles. A lack of communication in my opinion being the main problem.

Mute Leopold Dedalus

Let’s take what Peter Aiken says with a generous pinch of salt

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:42 AM

Absolutely Leopold Dedalus. He’s pointing the finger everywhere else trying to save face. He messed this up and he knows it.

Mute Tony Keely
    Favourite Tony Keely
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:50 AM

Well said tom, if it turns out that city manager has been responsible for this not going ahead he should be removed from office very quickly, all the businesses that would have benefitted from this should react by refusing to pay rates until he resigns, certain ego that comes with power of holding keys to the gate of Dublin springs to mind

Mute Shaun Kenzy
    Favourite Shaun Kenzy
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:17 PM

Fair play to ticketmaster for refunding the service charge too, they have earned some respect from me at last.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:45 PM

Fair play to them

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:28 AM

Owen Keegan better watch his back because FFerTimmy Dooley is already on record as being four square behind the GAA and Brooks, even stooping so low to write his Garth Brooks Emergency Bill, like the gombeen that he is. Dooley is trying to set Keegan up, his inner gombeen is raging that the gigs aren’t going ahead and his buddies in the LVA and IHF are demanding a public humiliation of the City Manager for making a fair decision.

Mute Pat Morris
    Favourite Pat Morris
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:20 PM

Totally agree ICR. Parish pump politics and FF to the fore. Utter gombeens.

Mute Shalalovely
    Favourite Shalalovely
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:19 AM

If the articles are going to continue, can there be one about when people will get their money back? As that’s all ticket holders want to see at this stage.
    What a joke.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello

There is already an article all about how to get your money back.

Mute John Stewart
    Favourite John Stewart
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:57 AM

how many millions of euro will be pumped back into Ireland with this cash refund?

Mute Shalalovely
    Favourite Shalalovely
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:25 PM

That article actually doesn’t say how people will get the money back. It just says that they will issue a statement with how.

Anyway, doesn’t matter now because I got an e-mail about 5 mins ago saying it would be back on the credit card in 7-10 incl booking fee.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:26 PM

Nail on head John

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:39 AM

NOW it’s getting political. No politician could get involved before this . Where is Leo now? He was wheeled out for every departmental disaster and now it is his tourism departments problem.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:36 AM

Now that’s what you call an a***ole!! Hope he’s lost all them fans…

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:28 PM

Indeed we need to get to the bottom of this and find out why the DCC has stopped taking brown envelopes. It threatens the very core of the political system here in Ireland.
    Why is it the DCC failed to cave in to threats made by the money interests?
    Have they no respect for the gouging hotel business?
    The poor publicans who will go out of business now? Oh wait, it was the smoking ban that…oh no, it was the drink-driving legislation…oh wait…it was the Garth Brooks decision.

Why oh why oh why did the Dublin City Council stop taking bribes? What is the world coming to?
    Well, at least we have the core political process intact in Leinster house.
    If money is the root of all evil, then certainly we have roots in Ireland.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:43 AM

Keegan is to blame for most of it as he was too cowardly to take on the cranks, he was afraid he would be taken to court. He and the rest of the d city council should be sued for all the money lost.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:13 PM

if only the members of the dail had paid this much attention to the bailout and the promissory note we might have avoided years of debt and austerity! its a poxy country and western concert –get over it ffs !

Mute Mervyn Queally
    Favourite Mervyn Queally

5 in a row is fair hard to do old Garth buddy up in Croker . Just ask Kerry and us down in kilkenny

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill

Proving to be even more difficult for us down in Carlow.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:47 AM

A lot of shinner comments today trying to keep attention for lack of action from the largest party in Dublin city council namely Sinn Fein not forgetting the new race of independents.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:04 PM

Have you actually followed what has been going on with the whole fiasco. It was the decision of the city manger and the councillors themselves were not in control of the decision. But don’t let the facts get in the way of your rant, clown!

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins

Mustard a good name for a fool shinner.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:51 PM

“Mustard a good name for a fool shinner.”

So we’ll take that as a “No, I haven’t been following what has been going on…”

Mute Kevin Tuite
    Favourite Kevin Tuite
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:38 PM

If this is how Ireland reacts to cancellation of a few concerts, imagine how we’d react if someone tried to impose €70bn debt on us. Oh wait…

Mute Ann Flanagan Lynch
    Favourite Ann Flanagan Lynch

It’s the first time in my life I can say I am embarrassed to be irish , we are a joke to the rest of the world . Read what the editor of Hot Press has to say on all of this fiasco.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:59 PM

Ann I’m embarrassed that you are Irish, and f*ck what the editor of Hot Press has to say. Jeez, get a bit of cop on and a bit of perspective. If you are keen on being “ashamed to be Irish” there are a lot more important things to be ashamed about.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 3:47 PM

Jaysus, who reads Hot Press…

Mute Eidhne Conlon
    Favourite Eidhne Conlon
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:53 PM

What is it with these Country & Western fans?

I thought they loved misery…..

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:32 PM

Pity they weren’t as quick to set up the banking enquiry!

Mute Jack Dexter
    Favourite Jack Dexter
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:19 PM

Aiken breaky hart..I washed out all of my roots and put on my hurling boots but Gareth wont come to town he says he threw out his pram before his toys reached the ground.

Mute Gary Bissett
    Favourite Gary Bissett
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:26 PM

The only thing embarrasing about this is the fact our government are talking about it. We have our leader talking about some American country singer who acted like a kid not getting his own way. I wonder would Barak Obama be going mad if a band was cancelled in America? Small country mentality, embarrasing

Mute THE REBEL ONE™
    Favourite THE REBEL ONE™
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:13 PM

I’m deleting the journal app. Asta La Vista baby!

Mute Mervyn Queally
    Favourite Mervyn Queally
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:25 AM

Well said John Joyce . Spot on

Mute John Henry
    Favourite John Henry

Proud to be Irish????
    When the horse has left the stable start an enquiry, usual story. How much more of this shit does the people of Ireland have to endure.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:24 PM

It was just about a fat cowboy singing in the middle of a field, the sun will still rise in the morning and we’ll still put our strides on one leg at a time.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:15 PM

The only useful Brooks article out of a 1000.

I’m actually quite impressed at how many articles you have managed to get out of what is essentially this:

Garth Brooks sells out 3 nights in Dublin
    Aiken/Garth decided to push it to 5 nights
    Garth sells out a further 2 nights
    Dublin City Council refuse to sanction further 2 nights, only allowing the original 3
    Garth throws his toys out of the pram and cancels all

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:28 PM

Siúcra, that comment was meant to be on the “how to get refunded” article…. Add this article to the rest of the useless Brooks tripe…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:51 PM

Please Pedro ; what will the people read if everything is stripped down to the bare bones …. besides you would have to go through the Naked Emperor bit to get there and no-one wants to go there – not yet anyways !

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma

Well Ticketmaster just emailed re a refund. Will be processed next Tue. Give it up Timmy it is over.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:57 PM

“We’re sorry for your loss. Move on”

Mute BroadSideSkid
    Favourite BroadSideSkid

Talk about shutting the stable door, after the cowboy’s bolted …

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane

Too late for the blame game now.Damage done !!!

Mute Ross Casey
    Favourite Ross Casey
    Jul 9th 2014, 11:59 AM

Four Garth Brooks stories and its not even midday!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:46 PM

Why don’t we just get Daniel to play the three nights …..it’s all the same anyway isn’t it – that country music ?

Mute Gary Bissett
    Favourite Gary Bissett
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:37 PM

Yeah its all rubbish

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:41 PM

Dimmy Tooley must have nothing better to do than shill for his idol Gart.

Get a proper job, Dimmy.

Mute deerhounddog
    Favourite deerhounddog
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:51 PM

We ye all get over it and move on. He does not deserve to enter the country. Congratulations to the residence association. I salute you and don’t listen to these bitter people pressuring ye. :-)

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:28 PM

I still think that whoever is responsible for this situation should be charged with paying out compensations for lost revenue to the tourism industry. Hotels were refusing businesses to accommodate people of course making money but still this is too big to just let it go.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:30 PM

Point ALL the fingers you want! We F $#ked up as a nation! Tough Titties!!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:07 PM

this fat cowboy says it would be like giving up two of his children and he couldn’t do it then he gives up 3 more get to be f@@@ed garth

Mute John Stewart
    Favourite John Stewart
    Jul 9th 2014, 3:37 PM

a great boost for the economy, all this money that would have ended up in an American bankaccount will now go back into Irish bank accouns

Mute Iain Danger Drennan
    Favourite Iain Danger Drennan
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:57 PM

this is getting outta control nobody cares anymore!

Mute miketrout
    Favourite miketrout
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:36 PM

Fact 1 – Ireland is bankrupt
    Fact 2 – This concert would have generated a lot of revenue and positive international recognition
    Fact 3 – Local residents suffer noise pollution and have rights

Can we really not compromise and collaborate for the greater good of our country? No winners here.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:10 PM

Pretty much every thing of artistic value in this country has been ruined by govt involvement. Look at the fiasco in Limerick not so long ago. This government is by far the worst government in the history of teh state. they’ve been shown up time and time again to be a shower of tits.

Mute Alan O'Driscoll
    Favourite Alan O'Driscoll
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:17 PM

So Dublin City Council can make a decision and there is no chance of appeal? Pretty much everything in todays world has an appeal process..looks like they are law to themselves

Mute Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    Favourite Riocard Ó Tiarnaigh
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:54 PM

“A province once again, a province once again, and Ireland long a nation be a province once again”!!! Pathetic!!! Would that Saint Patrick might come back and banish all the gombeens from this island of ours!!!!!

Mute John McNally
    Favourite John McNally
    Jul 9th 2014, 4:25 PM

Just reading about this shit€ for the first time.
    My 2 cents….
    Concerts should not be sold without license.
    Brooks is a greedy hasbeen who let his fans down badly

Mute Clark Hetherington
    Favourite Clark Hetherington

I got Loom Bands in Low Places… Spend your refund on something constructive.. http://www.loombandsireland.com

Mute seamus mcdermott

That’s what they used to purchase Manhattan Island in New York. Fair and square.

Mute Richard Lippy Collins
    Favourite Richard Lippy Collins
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:58 PM

Well at least it’s nice to know that the government are tackling real issues for a change. I was getting pretty fed up hearing about health services and debt etc… it’s a nice change to have something real to read about in the news.

Mute Petra Madill
    Favourite Petra Madill
    Jul 9th 2014, 2:24 PM

Cant introduce emergency legislation?? What did they do several years back? Starts with a B….

Mute Louise Gatica
    Favourite Louise Gatica
    Jul 9th 2014, 12:21 PM

Could they not just have changed the venue ? Or is that a really stupid question?

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:16 PM

Happen to know of any other 80,000 seater stadiums available on two weeks notice?

Mute Louise Gatica
    Favourite Louise Gatica
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:25 PM

But if a venue is not 100% guaranteed should there not be a contingency plan in the even of some rubbish like this happening?

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:37 PM

Maybe but there is a massive (and by massive I mean absolutely f’ing huge) amount of logistics involved.

The best way to look at it is that these are music events being held in sports stadiums. Sport is the priority for the stakeholders of the stadiums so an awful lot of boxes need to ticked before anything is approved, not something that can be done on short notice. For example, if hypothetically it was to be moved to the Aviva, you can bet your bottom dollar its not something the IRFU would pass in short notice.

Mute Louise Gatica
    Favourite Louise Gatica
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:43 PM

Totally agree with you there good point, what is a capacity at Phoenix park I wonder.

Mute Pedro
    Favourite Pedro
    Jul 9th 2014, 1:56 PM

Yeah but it was to be move the Phoenix Park the tens of thousands of seated tickets for each night become a major problem…

If it was a smaller stadium it would be easier but as Croke Park is so huge it makes things all the more complicated – its the 5th largest stadium in Europe, 32nd in the world.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 9th 2014, 3:01 PM

Oh no, Pedro, it’s de biggest and de best in the entire, whole world. I heard it on RTE (about a million times).

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jul 9th 2014, 6:07 PM

thank god he pulled the plug. GB is a man of his word. Only losers here are the fans. If i bought a house near croke park i would expect it to be used for concerts and events and why not sure its a fine example of what we have to offer. Croker and the event management should be sound proofing there houses around the streets with in a reasonable distance and putting in cctv cameras for trouble makers. No cop on here at all …. every one could have been on a win win but not in this little corrupt country. Garth should have played for 7 nights im not a fan but the demand was there.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:23 PM

This whole saga will make a great country song someday.

At least the songs for karaoke are sorted.

Aikens… The Gambler
    GAA… Harper Valley GAA
    DCC.. Red Strokes
    The Fans… Blue eyes Crying in the Rain.

Jul 9th 2014, 5:31 PM

Its not over till the fat cowboy sings…………….

Mute Ed Meyler
    Favourite Ed Meyler

Ooooooooooow!!! A slap on the wrist for y’all.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:11 PM

Just issue the refunds and move on(I’m expecting 2 ticket refunds)..all concerned are a disgrace,learn,change the rules or just don’t bother holding any future concerts in croke park!..looking forward to 5pm tomorrow to hear what mr brooks has to say on the matter!…

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    Jul 9th 2014, 5:22 PM

Its a FU#@ING concert… (was)