You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Flickr/adriatic22

An RTÉ journalist has been chosen as Language Commissioner after 21 applied

An Coimisinéir Teanga acts as ombudsman service to monitor the compliance of state services in the Irish language.

RTÉ JOURNALIST RÓNÁN Ó Domhnaill has been nominated to become the new Coimisinéir Teanga (Language Commissioner) after the resignation of Seán Ó Cuirreáin.

Ó Domhnaill has been a political correspondent on Nuacht RTÉ and TG4 for the last seven years and has also worked on other RTÉ current affairs shows.

Ó Domhnaill will take up his role from 24 February immediately after Ó Cuirreáin’s vacates the position.

An Coimisinéir Teanga acts as an ombudsman service to monitor the compliance of state services in the Irish language. The position is appointed directly by the President of Ireland.

The Government say that 21 people expressed an interest in the position and that the candidates had a “wide range of experience”.

Ó Cuirreáin’s resignation came amid criticism of the Government when he said that they had failed to improve services to the public through Irish.

Ó Domhnaill, a native of An Cheathrú Rua in Co. Galway, will be appointed subject to approval of the Dáil and the Seanad.

The nomination was announced today by Minister of State at the Department of Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Dinny McGinley, who said that Ó Domhnaill is “held in high esteem by the Irish language and Gaeltacht communities”

Conradh na Gaeilge are this weekend organising a march in Dublin over the treatment of the Irish language in Ireland.

Read: 1,000+ for demo over Government ‘lack of support’ for Irish language >

Read: Language Commissioner faces questions over ‘backwards’ year for Irish language >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute Alfonso
    Favourite Alfonso
    May 25th 2016, 10:29 PM

Pathetic sentence.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    May 25th 2016, 11:05 PM

It was indeed.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    May 25th 2016, 11:30 PM

the victim had to have his spleen removed. the judge said it was lucky the victim didn’t have more serious injuries. I’d venture to suggest the judge have his spleen removed and see how trivial he thinks it is

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    May 25th 2016, 11:34 PM

These judges are clueless maybe desensitised but all the same not fit for purpose of the judicial system.

Mute Chris McNamara
    Favourite Chris McNamara
    May 25th 2016, 11:38 PM

I’m afraid it the power of legal profession . No money to be made with long sentences . The revolving door is far more lucrative . Legalgravytrain

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    May 26th 2016, 7:07 AM

If you don’t understand the judicial process, why it’s fair and why the 5 year sentence was given then it’s a good thing your not a judge or we would have chaos

Mute Chris McNamara
    Favourite Chris McNamara
    May 26th 2016, 7:12 AM

Listen no to democracy or FG/for or whatever . Don’t lecture me . The people of this country are SICK of guys getting paltry sentences for both serious and continually committing crimes .

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 26th 2016, 8:59 PM

So about 18 months.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    May 25th 2016, 10:39 PM

I’m one of 13 children who grew up in the 80′s when most people knew financial hardship of some sort. Amazing how we’re not all out causing mayhem on the streets because of it. Ridiculous!

Mute Niall O Neill
    Favourite Niall O Neill
    May 25th 2016, 11:10 PM

My dad was one of 13 born in the early 1900s. No money to speak of. All grew up to be useful and law-abiding citizens.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 11:55 PM

So often true Andrea.

Mute Shane Fearon
    Favourite Shane Fearon
    May 25th 2016, 10:31 PM

Ireland, gangsters paradise.

Mute Dain Bramage
    Favourite Dain Bramage
    May 25th 2016, 10:25 PM

Same old shit

Mute Vinnie Monaghan
    Favourite Vinnie Monaghan
    May 25th 2016, 11:05 PM

Can anyone tell me WHY do we give a certain amount of time off a sentence for good behaviour when it was the appalling and disrespectful behavior of individuals that has them in front of the courts in the first place??????

Mute Dawes30
    Favourite Dawes30
    May 26th 2016, 5:54 AM

To give them some incentive to reform. Bring on the red thumbs!

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    May 26th 2016, 7:04 AM

It’s because they had ‘situational depression’, whatever that is. Must be the new thing.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 26th 2016, 3:28 PM

It’s depression that’s not clinical, which arises from certain situations or circumstances, death of a loved one, etc

Mute David Mc Shite
    Favourite David Mc Shite
    May 25th 2016, 10:49 PM

So 5 years with 18 months suspended becomes 3 years 6 months and when the one third remission is applied for good behavior we are looking at 2 years and 2 months minus the unknown quantity of time already spent in custody.
    This for a crime spree that includes attempted murder, assault and armed robbery.
    I despair!

Mute Sebastian Manka
    Favourite Sebastian Manka
    May 26th 2016, 7:41 AM

Maybe he will grow up to have 77 previous convictions when he reaches his 30s. Just give him a chance!

Mute Conor Brady
    Favourite Conor Brady
    May 25th 2016, 10:32 PM

Not sure prisons going to do much for a poor mite that suffers “situational depression”!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 11:57 PM

Straight away the penal reform trust et al award him the label “vulnerable”….a victim also.

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    May 26th 2016, 9:02 PM

Conor it might not do anything for him but the rest of us innocent people have one less knife wielding maniac roaming the streets. That’s about 20 or 30 less victims for this animal

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    May 25th 2016, 10:44 PM

I often wonder how kids who were deprived of iPhones, games consoles and the latest trendy clothing managed to survive by kicking a filthy football around until late at night and climbing trees, yet they didn’t all rob and stab people, become junkies. I don’t know where we, as parents, went wrong with these kids…???

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 25th 2016, 10:44 PM

What a lot of horse shite!

The scrote should get 20 years minimum!

What a joke of a sentence!

Absolutely disgusted!

Mute Nick
    Favourite Nick
    May 25th 2016, 11:10 PM

Jail the judge

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 25th 2016, 10:58 PM

I have a situational pain in my arse with all these dirt bags and ridiculously lenient sentences.

Mute Oonaghpoonagh
    Favourite Oonaghpoonagh
    May 25th 2016, 11:21 PM

Every bodies appalled by the sentence and pathetic excuse of ‘situational depression’ what ever the frack that is??? But why do we tolerate it. Myself included. I’m watching that show “the Guards” and seeing people with 64 previous convictions walking free and im thinking, why and how are we as a society accepting this bull shy of a justice system????

Mute Matt Beaumont
    Favourite Matt Beaumont
    May 25th 2016, 11:32 PM

@oonaghpoonagh

Indifference and the classic “Ah feck it will be grand’ mentality I’d say!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 25th 2016, 11:59 PM

Civil liberties..diffusion of responsibility…

Mute RMcG
    Favourite RMcG
    May 25th 2016, 10:41 PM

Situational depression? in this case it’s more likely I’m a thug and I can get away with it, now what excuse can I use? Situational depression is normally when some drastic change has occurred in your life, what does a revenge assault (still wrong IMHO) have to do with him going on a robbery spree?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 25th 2016, 10:34 PM

You know the more and more you read articles about Dublin and the horrible stories…I wonder why Bord Failte aren’t pushing tourism away to the other side of the country. Its no wonder we arent growing in foeign investment also..if the top brass are being paraded around dublin..the state its in now. This country is not just Dublin..in fact being outside is a whole different place, magical beautiful, wondersome, our best welcome is outside of the capital. Why arent the relevant bodies advertising that? Or are they waiting for ryanair to do it for them?

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    May 25th 2016, 11:23 PM

They should.
    Galway is so much nicer than Dublin.

Mute Marcos Maguire
    Favourite Marcos Maguire
    May 26th 2016, 12:12 AM

We could do with having some of the army drafted onto the streets of Dublin at this stage in the guise of a civil guard like they have in Spain or Portugal. I saw them break up 2 scrappers whilst I was on my holidays, one of them fought back and he was dropped to the floor in a swift manner, cuffed and thrown in a van. Then they pointed to the other lad and he just raised his hands and the civil guardian pointed to the van and he got in himself before being cuffed too. If you behave like an aggressive animal you should treated like one.

Mute Bognor regis
    Favourite Bognor regis
    May 26th 2016, 12:31 AM

So you’d allow soldiers to use more physical force than most of the public would the guards? If a guard was seen or recorded ‘dropping’ someone in a swift manner regardless of circumstance most people here would cry assault.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 26th 2016, 1:09 AM

Love it.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 26th 2016, 1:10 AM

Tough.

Mute Marcos Maguire
    Favourite Marcos Maguire
    May 26th 2016, 3:04 AM

Bognor, I actually saw a motorcycle garda board a Dublin Bus maybe 2 months ago to deal with a public order problem. The guy he was attempting to arrest was like a wild cat, he lashed out at the guard repeatedly and grabbed him by the helmet. In the end the Guard had to push the guy down by using his boot. He didnt kick him violently he just put a decent bit of pressure on him and grappled with him for a good 3 minutes. I was at a bus stop full of people and not one person cried assault. Infact people were impressed. This is the only kind of language that these people understand, they would be ashamed of themselves if they even knew what shame was. Yes to the soldiers question by the way, its about bloody time somebody stepped up to deal with these filth roaming our streets endangering ordinary decent people.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    May 25th 2016, 11:44 PM

Yet another clueless, idiotic judgement and this thug will go on to kill some innocent person before finally getting another short sentence !

Mute Joe Doyle
    Favourite Joe Doyle
    May 25th 2016, 10:34 PM

Not difficult enough financial circumstances. Better for society if he had starved to death. A true ignorant loser. Should be made into Soylent Green to feed the homeless.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    May 25th 2016, 10:24 PM

Jasyus the journal is just full of good news tonight..ahhhhh.

Mute Andrew Farrell
    Favourite Andrew Farrell
    May 26th 2016, 12:46 AM

I’d call that attempted murder! This country is a joke when it comes to sentencing… He’ll be out in 2 years

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    May 25th 2016, 10:36 PM

Bring back hanging…….

Mute gus sheridan
    Favourite gus sheridan
    May 26th 2016, 12:31 AM

This failed human experiment should be jailed for 10 years minimum.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    May 26th 2016, 2:25 AM

Genuine question, what is the purpose of giving a specific sentence and suspending some, or all, of it?

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    May 26th 2016, 3:03 AM

Good question Lily, something to do with acting as deterent to go straight I think. If you commit another crime during the suspended part of your sentence you have to finish the suspended part plus whatever sentence you get for the new charge. It maybe suitable for some crimes and some criminals but not for “serious” crimes. I think the real answer probably has more to do with the cost, each prisoner at 90k drains a lot of gravy out of the trough. The pigs don’t like that. They like loadza gravy.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    May 26th 2016, 3:15 AM

Thanks Lazlo.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    May 26th 2016, 1:56 AM

Attempted Murder, Armed (presumably) robbery of a shop of €400, Armed (presumably) mugging of a man of his wallet, what is average sentence for each of these offences? I would guess the sum of them is far more than 5 years. I did actually research this but surprisingly could not find the information. On re-reading the story it says the charge is “assault causing harm”, fair enough. The story doesn’t say if he had previous convictions. Does entry into the Irish prison system actually offer any rehabilitation for lowlilfes like this or do they come out 3 years later angrier than they went in and looking for their next victim. If judges are shy to impose custodial sentences we have to question why that is, is it because of a lack of prison space, a lack of prison staff, a lack of prison resources. Is it because a prisoner costs the state €90,000 a year. Is there some other reason? Can we find out please. If we don’t look into that we will be reading and ranting about lenient sentences here on the Journal for many years to come.

Mute Eileen Charters
    Favourite Eileen Charters
    May 26th 2016, 12:33 AM

Just looked at his address on Google earth. Classy area !!!

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    May 26th 2016, 7:41 AM

Partially suspended sentence? What the point? Even if this filth reoffends in the suspended 18 months of his ‘sentence’ it will be impossible to reactivate due to it being deemed unconstitutional by the high court. Joke of s country. Reward the spongers and walk all over the workers.

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    May 26th 2016, 8:04 AM

5 years!!!
    I’ve read horror stories where elderly people GOOD citizens got more for not paying the fat cats in RTE the TV licence,
    Pathetic and a crime in itself,

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    May 26th 2016, 9:33 AM

@ Hilary.
    Could you forward me the info where these elderly people got 5 year plus sentences for not paying TV licence.

Mute Edmond Mc Grath
    Favourite Edmond Mc Grath
    May 26th 2016, 8:49 AM

Pretty paltry sentence for the crimes comitted and just wondering what bright spark thought up the term “situational depression” Is this a new excuse for violent criminal behaviour?

Mute PaulOD
    Favourite PaulOD
    May 25th 2016, 10:59 PM

Nice guy