You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gallery: Former taoisigh… where are they now?

Bertie, Albert, Brian and co. What are they up to these days?

YESTERDAY IT EMERGED that former Taoiseach Brian Cowen is in California to complete a €47,000 six-week course at Stanford University.

The course is “designed to equip senior executives with the knowledge, relationships and tools necessary to drive results at the highest level of global management”.

It got us thinking… what are the other surviving former taoisigh – Liam Cosgrave, John Bruton, Albert Reynolds, Bertie Ahern – up to these days? And how have they been getting on since they were the leaders of the country?

All images: Photocall Ireland/Julian Behal/Niall Carson/PA Wire

Read: 30 former government ministers receive pensions of over €100k>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

28 Comments
    Mute Graham McC
    Favourite Graham McC
    Jul 9th 2012, 7:57 AM

The last two should be in jail with some bankers

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 9th 2012, 8:29 AM

There are 3 there that should never be allowed see the light of day again and John Bruton should be ordered not to laugh in public anymore. Reynolds, has his blackmarks but they aren’t as big or as toxic as the others and he pursued peace under great attack from the likes of FG and the media.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jul 9th 2012, 8:33 AM

Maybe he is going to be running new water or organ form to rob the Irish people again that way. That low life traitor got away with murder and FG/Lab can’t even say they were drunk at the time. Liars and thiefs how can richest land in europe be bankrupt by bad government and bankers

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:16 AM

Who drove the Northern Ireland peace process in the 90s? It was John Hume, not Albert Reynolds, Bertie Ahern or Gerry Adams.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:19 AM

John Hume didn’t drive the peace process in reality. It had to be the main driving forces in the conflict, London, Dublin, the Republican Movement and Loyalists para’s and Unionist pol’s.

Hume played an important role but it was as a contact and ice breaker to Dublin and London.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:09 AM

It was Mo Mowlam MP that put every ounce of her being into the peace process.

It was her that got all of them around the table talking. Yes, they came to the table, but it was her deplomacy and straight talking that did it. John Hume did play a huge part in it and unfortunately he’s suffering from Alzheimer’s also.

Mute Old Nokia Charger
    Favourite Old Nokia Charger
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:09 AM

@ Paul

Fagan is correct. Hume/SDLP didn’t have much of a constituency, as has now become very clear. They get a lower share of the vote than the ULA do in the south.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jul 9th 2012, 7:50 AM

A bit late in the day for Cowen I would think.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:57 PM

Two shocks

Mute Michael Everson
    Favourite Michael Everson
    Jul 9th 2012, 7:53 AM

Oh, please… Not before breakfast…

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Jul 9th 2012, 8:32 AM

They all have bloody big pensions and all are working and being paid in some capacity. As long as you are receiving a wage you should not be allowed draw down on your pension. Total bullshit.

Mute Patrick Conboy
    Favourite Patrick Conboy
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:48 AM

In fairness, I doubt Reynolds is working… he’s suffering from Alzheimher’s Disease.

Mute The Avarus Animus
    Favourite The Avarus Animus
    Jul 9th 2012, 5:07 PM

He has been a business man his whole life…extremely wealthy and he gets €150,000 a year….disgraceful…..you should get your pension like everyone else at 65 and it should capped at €50,000 or lower..the country is broke!!! This nonsense of being in your forties and fifties and getting a €100,000+ a year!!! Most get a million euro or more by the time they even hit 65 and another million or two by the time they kick the bucket.. people like Mary Harney, Martin Cullen, Mary Coughlan, Willie O Dea, Michael McDowell,Noel Dempsey,Dermot Ahern,John Gormley etc etc etc etc (the list goes on and on!)..People who wrecked the country are getting rewarded!!FOR WHAT??The country is BROKE!!!

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Jul 9th 2012, 6:55 PM

Suffering is something the less well off do Patrick. Terrible illness but I doubt he is suffering like my grandfather did. Money hungry bastards.

Mute Betty Bestie
    Favourite Betty Bestie
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:18 AM

Oh gawd, that picture of Bertie Ahern. It’s all in his face really. You wouldn’t trust him to fix your fridge let alone run your country.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jul 9th 2012, 8:34 AM

Training to run Irish water and charge the suckers for free stuff

Mute Tom Callaghan
    Favourite Tom Callaghan
    Jul 9th 2012, 9:47 AM

Bahama’s with all their stolen millions, who gives a Shi* they should be in jail

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:28 AM

Incredible pensions coupled with other incomes.The level of greed is staggering. What kind of society do we live in when the most avaricious people are the most rewarded.

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:44 AM

A shower of bastards the lot of em

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Jul 9th 2012, 10:58 AM

Liam Cosgrave is in his 90s yet you often see him walking around near where I live. Fair play to him!

Mute The Avarus Animus
    Favourite The Avarus Animus
    Jul 9th 2012, 5:14 PM

Why wouldn’t he be? I’m sure €150,000 a year buys you some nice healthcare… I’m not begrudging the man his longevity but I know of many 70 and 80 year olds who wont even make it to 90 because they cant afford light, heat, a decent diet and certainly don’t have any medical insurance!!One little 90 year old man getting all that money is plain wrong…..

Mute Mark Hamilton
    Favourite Mark Hamilton
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:38 AM

Without commenting on the abilities or personalities of any particular former Taoiseach do the people who have posted here realise that each of these men were elected and in some cases twice re-elected by substantial numbers of the Irish electorate. Do any of you target one bit of invective at them for being primarily responsible specifically for electing Bertie three times in his career. nI would suggest that most of you belong to some sort of a political life yourselves at the lower levels and alienating members of the public rather than telling the truth could be damaging to your goals in many cases. The Electorate new exactly what they were GETTIN from Bertie and DEY wanted it. Just like the hundreds of thousands who had bogus non resident accounts. Corruption in this great little country is pretty common…tax cheats…social welfare cheats…sick leave cheats…black economy cheats…etc etc.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:04 AM

The two faces say it all….. aherne and Renolds.

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    Jul 9th 2012, 11:04 AM

I would have thought they were down in the Costa del Sol!

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Jul 9th 2012, 7:07 PM

@justsaying,

No, overrun with other gangsters! ;)

Mute Sean Lankstead
    Favourite Sean Lankstead
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:28 PM

The way there on big pensions and they ruined the country!!!!
    And yet people on the dole are called scroungers, its the same in Britain!!!

Mute Paul Matthews
    Favourite Paul Matthews
    Jul 9th 2012, 12:34 PM

Fantastic bunch of people. All great leaders in their own right.

Mute Brendan Bernes
    Favourite Brendan Bernes
    Feb 11th 2014, 9:02 PM

So was Indy , until he got the power