You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/pixfly

Garda having his home fortified with CCTV and toughened glass following acid attack

The garda has a young family.

A GARDA WHO was attacked with acid by a Lithuanian drugs gang he is investigating is having his home fortified as a result of the incident, TheJournal.ie understands.

The officer, who is based in Dublin, is to receive the highest protection possible for his young family following the incident which occurred last month.

The Garda Representative Association (GRA), which represents rank-and-file members of An Garda Síochána, is aware of the threat to the officer’s life and has been offering him support. This includes lobbying management for the security upgrades to his home. There has been no pushback from Garda HQ which has promised that the safety of the member is its highest priority.

The upgrades will include a CCTV system, strengthened windows and doors as well as a panic button in cases of a serious emergency.

Garda units will also be conducting regular patrols around the man’s home as well as around the school where the officer’s child attends.

It is also understood that additional resources will be given to drugs units in Dublin’s North Central division to tackle this gang.

In recent weeks, the garda has had his property damaged. Soon after that incident, two well-known members of the gang turned up outside his child’s school while the officer was picking them up.

In the last month, the officer was driving home from work when his car was doused in what medics believe was an acidic solution. His car window was open at the time and he received some first-degree burn injuries as a result. He received treatment in a hospital and was discharged from medics’ care later that day.

It is understood that gardaí had conducted a number of raids on the criminal organisation prior to the officer initially receiving the threatening phone calls. Management believes it is more than likely that this incident was the catalyst for the threatening behaviour.

The GRA has called for minimum sentencing for those who attack members of the force.

John O’Keeffe, spokesman for the GRA, told TheJournal.ie: ”The GRA is horrified though not surprised at the level of violence that is directed towards frontline gardai everyday – up to and including acid attacks.

“The criminal fraternity has no fear of attacking gardaí as there is little or no judicial sanction. The association now calls on government to introduce without delay mandatory minimum sentencing for all attacks on our frontline.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:46 PM

The Garda are their to protect every citizen and there is nobody to protect the Garda. The justice system fails every day to deal with serious criminals. Poor sentencing or revolving doors in jail.

Mute Dáithí
    Favourite Dáithí
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:20 PM

@JesusMoreBullshit: How do you think his colleagues would not try protect them? This is horrific but the truth is there a thousands of people in Ireland living like this. I know council estates where their car is burnt as a warning , then the house and sometimes its simply to get the house vacant for a family member. the media would only show a passing interest in those people. its Horrible buy EVERYBODY deserves to be protected , FG party of law & order my ass.

Mute Martin Gordon
    Favourite Martin Gordon
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:50 PM

@Dáithí: how can everyone be protected when the people who’s job it is to protect everyone aren’t protected by our judiciary.

Mute Dáithí
    Favourite Dáithí
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:02 PM

@Martin Gordon: well it might shock you to know there is a significant portion of our population who don;t feel they are protected by the police,

Mute Jason Burns
    Favourite Jason Burns
    Jul 7th 2018, 10:44 PM

@Dáithí: no there’s not. Don’t lie.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Jul 8th 2018, 12:10 AM

@Jason Burns: Actually Jason, yes there are…. The elderly are especially concerned for their safety and consistently voice their concern about the lack of visable Gardai on the streets…. It’s the most vulnerable who are short changed when cut backs are enforced. And they are always the last to benefit from any upturn in the economy.

Mute George McCarthy
    Favourite George McCarthy
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:45 PM

Great to hear a pro active approach. They spend enough on 24 armed protection for criminal’s.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:52 PM

Yea, except it should be the criminals who are fortifying there hideouts against the possibility of Garda raids, not the other way around!

It’s a sad state when these foreign gangsters can come into our country and force a member of the security services into becoming a virtual prisoner in his own home!

At least our own homegrown criminals have the good sense not to attack the Gardai like this!

Round them up and send them back to Lithuania with a lifetime ban from Ireland and if they attempt to re-enter the country they get 10 years in the worst of Irish prisons.

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:19 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: the worst of Irish prisons? Would that be one with only a 32 inch tv and saorview as opposed to a larger one with sky sports.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:04 PM

@Brendan Hughes: Speaking from experience?

Mute Peter Walsh
    Favourite Peter Walsh
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:46 PM

All these dirt bags threatening this man and his family should be rounded up , it’s like they think there in charge , controlling the city , high time people like this are taken to task .

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:02 PM

@Peter Walsh: And deport the s€um and never allow them on Irish soil again.

Jul 7th 2018, 5:37 PM

@Gary: we actually have the ability to do that. As do all EU countries.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Deborah Behan: Unless they’re part of the Muslim Brotherhood.

Mute Pamela Wrixon
    Favourite Pamela Wrixon
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:11 PM

@Deborah Behan: Wrong. We can’t deport EU citizens.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:13 PM

@Pamela Wrixon: One of the reasons why Britain is leaving the E.U.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:01 PM

@Pamela Wrixon:

Wrong. The ignorant preaching to the ignorant. The UK always had the right to deport and bar EU migrant workers if they didn’t get a job after a certain period, they just never enforced it.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:23 PM

@Peter Walsh: Thugs in control, thanks to Free Legal Aid ,soft sentencing and greedy solicitors milking the system

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jul 8th 2018, 12:05 AM

@Pamela Wrixon: once an EU citizen is convicted of a crime they can be deported and barred from reentry for a set period of time.

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Jul 8th 2018, 1:04 AM

@Pamela Wrixon: wrong yes we can .

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jul 9th 2018, 9:45 AM

@Pamela Wrixon: double wrong. Yes, yes we can. The right to live and work in any EU state comes with conditions and if you fail to meet them you can be deported or denied residency

Mute James Cotter
    Favourite James Cotter
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:28 PM

As a former member of An Garda Síochána, I can say without fear of contradiction, the job of enforcing law and order is becoming more difficult and dangerous with the passage of time. A policeman’s lot is not a happy one!!

Séamas Mac Coitir.

Mute Fred Jonsen
    Favourite Fred Jonsen
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:03 PM

@James Cotter:

Indeed. We need to empower the guards with the tools of the 21st century. Guns, body armour, technology and strong sentences for criminals. A few new prisons would also do no harm.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:30 PM

@Fred Jonsen: As long as you can accept that it will lead to even more deaths.

Mute DMur
    Favourite DMur
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:55 PM

Honest question, why can they not just be deported. And EU citizen who commits a crime in this Country, should be deported , simple as. If you have a criminal record, ur not let in . They should be charged with stalking and intimidation and kicked out.

Jul 7th 2018, 5:38 PM

@DMur: we have that ability and it should be used.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:51 PM

@Deborah Behan: Can’t risk inflaming the middle-class liberals and the loony Left.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:50 PM

@Battaz: Silly comment

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:23 PM

We are an Open Door – with open arms – to a lot of the Non Irish coming here, many of which are shady, have ” issues” , are drug gangsters or simply Criminals. There isnt a day goes by without reading about their crimes- which are hugely disproportionate to the actual Numbers here. No, i am not being racist or exclusive, i am simply calling it as it is ( before the PC brigade are on here). We are way too tolerant. Too many shady Eastern Europeans everywhere- could give numerous examples of what i mean…

Jul 7th 2018, 5:40 PM

@Margate: hey bot!

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:47 PM

@Margate: if this is the case the responsibility falls back to the Garda and the state for not investing enough resources to prosecute these people. If your talking about rounding up all foreigners with out proof or evidence and deporting them for crimes your imagining in your head with out proof and evidence well isn’t that a crime too.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:56 PM

@Deborah Behan: Open Border Globalists share much of the responsibility for the state of the world today.
    Perhaps some time highlighting the plight of girls & women still unaccounted for after being taken into custody in Iran, for the heinous crime of removing the compulsory headscarf?

Mute Tony Doyle
    Favourite Tony Doyle
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:58 PM

@Tom Ryan:
    Is there something wrong with you ….. it’s the likes of you and your stupid Remarks that has this country in the state it’s in regards crime and criminals

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:39 PM

@Tony Doyle: Grumpy

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:40 PM

@Tom Ryan: i never said to round up anyone. Nor is it the Gardai’s job to vet or screen- or even follow up- on Newcomers to this country. The reality is they seem to be as entitled as you or I to come and live here. I dont have the answers but it is open door, and when i see many- not all- and the tricks they get up to, its sickening. Whilst the rest of us have to toe the normal societal line. Their ” business” in cars, their ‘ jobs’ (??), their rental situations, their medical cards, their children getting many supports in schools ( and again, a disproportionate no of non national kids have either learning or behavioural issues). Etc etc ..Something is just NOT right..

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Jul 7th 2018, 9:29 PM

@Margate: exactly what is not right, what is it your trying to say, you sound like your very bitter towards immigrants that are working here and have the same entitlements as any one else, the reality is of course your going to have a certain amount that are into criminality but not all, and if these foreigners are repeatedly breaking laws well they should be prosecuted just like any other Irish citizen, the problem in this country is the Garda don’t have the adequate resources and man power to deal effectively in dealing with these criminals.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jul 8th 2018, 8:15 AM

@Margate: Love this talk with no figures of proof to back it up, you might as well have pulled your facts out of your a*se.

Mute A Right Pair Of King's !
    Favourite A Right Pair Of King's !
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:11 PM

Imagine WANTING to be a guard now. Children used to grow up wanting to a Guard. Parent’s would actually be proud to see their children become guards. How the world is changing. Absolute anarchy on the street’s. Politician’s all accross the board for generations are and habe slowly turnes this wonderful island of ours into an absolute hell hole. In every aspect. Health, Banking, Housing, Crime, the future is bleak. Hey, don’t worry we have Harris and Varadker.

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:56 PM

Anyone using acid with intention to harm should be sentenced to death……no joke!

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:05 PM

The joys of multiculturalism.

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:09 PM

Should you really be reporting that the Garda is having his home fortified Journal…..really??

Mute Joe Ryan
    Favourite Joe Ryan
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:45 PM

Eastern European gangs attacking the guards becuase they are investigating their criminal activities, as much as your average paddy loves the EU , in reality it has opened us up to a kind of criminal that makes the general look like a teddy bear. This new ireland is not a safe place but that’s seems to be a price we are willing to pay for, whatever we are getting.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 8th 2018, 2:12 AM

@Joe Ryan: our so called politicians these days are just lapdogs to the mighty EU. Most people are all for Europe but against the corrupt monster that’s the EU. People need to wake up to the difference!

Mute Mick12
    Favourite Mick12
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:28 PM

The justice system in Ireland is too elite they don’t live in the real world. They should be elected every 5 year’s so if theyre crap at giving out judgement they don’t get voted back into office.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 7th 2018, 4:55 PM

Should that not read maximum sentence?

Mute pg38
    Favourite pg38
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:52 PM

@Colette No have a think about it

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Jul 7th 2018, 5:09 PM

New Garda Court. Draconian mandatory sentencing

Mute Stu Teehan
    Favourite Stu Teehan
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:54 PM

Fair play for publishing that! I’m sure the Garda concerned and his family are delighted their security measures have been revealed…

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jul 7th 2018, 11:45 PM

@Stu Teehan: well I’m sure the Journal wouldn’t be aware of the situation if the Gardaí hadn’t informed them.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:40 PM

I hope this officer has had recent training for, and clearance to carry a PPW.

Mute Brian Jp Kelington
    Favourite Brian Jp Kelington
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:12 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: I doubt he was given one but you would really like to think he was issued one for his family sake.

Mute PJ Berry
    Favourite PJ Berry
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:43 PM

Are you listening Leo?

Mute Tricksy
    Favourite Tricksy
    Jul 7th 2018, 7:49 PM

An elite sniper team formed , and some little scrote is blown away , gardai to investigate but nothing to work on .

Mute Elizabeth Thewiz
    Favourite Elizabeth Thewiz
    Jul 7th 2018, 11:49 PM

The guards know who the gang are so deport them for Christ sake why are we pussyfooting around they need to make a stand . Ignoring this serious behavior is crazy nip it on the bud.

Mute Derek Blake
    Favourite Derek Blake
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:58 PM

Evidence shows we are not ready to arm our Gardai just yet. FG/FF should stop bending to the EU and take action using the mechanisms available to deport these criminals.

Mute Gavin86
    Favourite Gavin86
    Jul 8th 2018, 9:01 AM

@Derek Blake: They’re already in place.
    It was the EU that passed a law about deporting EU citizens who couldn’t get jobs after a certain period. Isn’t the EU’s fault if that law isn’t being enforced!

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:50 PM

People should be rewarded for information leading to the prevention of crime or to evidence leading to the prosecution of serious criminals. Incentivise ordinary people to tell the Gardaí when they know something.

There is a culture of not informing on criminals in the country, even when it means utter low lives can continue to operate with impunity. That has to end.

Mute Kevin Moylan
    Favourite Kevin Moylan
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:43 PM

Time to close the borders to these east Europeans criminals

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Jul 7th 2018, 8:22 PM

Get liam neeson in.

Jul 7th 2018, 5:42 PM

This Garda should be given all the security he needs and the criminals doubled up on surveillance. Fcuk them.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jul 7th 2018, 6:14 PM

@Deborah Behan: Promise you won’t get mad when they take your advice against the nutjobs who drive trucks through civilians?

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Jul 8th 2018, 7:20 AM

Two turned up at his children’s school, and why they are not on a long boat journey home is incomprehensible to an idiot like me !

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty
    Jul 8th 2018, 5:10 PM

Acid attacks should have mandatory 20 year sentence

Mute Elizabeth Thewiz
    Favourite Elizabeth Thewiz
    Jul 7th 2018, 11:45 PM

The g

Mute Joe Byrne
    Favourite Joe Byrne
    Jul 8th 2018, 9:09 AM

Acid attackers should get life sentence.
    Personally would prefer Death penalty.