You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Missing man (42) found safe and well

Patrick Maloney (42) was last seen at his home in Mallow on Wednesday, 23 February.

A 42-year-old man missing from Cork has been found safe and well.

Gardaí thanked the public for their assistance in locating the man, following an appeal made on Friday.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Feb 1st 2025, 7:26 AM

Thank Bridget January is gone and hopefully everbody will have their power back soon and the policitians in the Dail will get down to some real work although I wouldnt hold my breath on the latter.

Mute Niamh Flanagan
    Favourite Niamh Flanagan
    Feb 1st 2025, 10:38 AM

A really lovely article and very well written ! These are our ancient traditions and beliefs, so thank you for sharing and keeping them alive . I for one love this time of darkness to light , growth and healing . ” A presence and possibility”

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Feb 1st 2025, 8:21 AM

Big shout out to all the Brigid’s out there. I hope ye are spoiled this weekend.

Mute Andy Preneur
    Favourite Andy Preneur
    Feb 1st 2025, 10:22 AM

We need more characters from folklore to give us more special days and reasons to have a bit of craic.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 8:23 AM

Saint Bridget was also known as a matchmaker and told men “Go take this girl and look after her as your other half of God”

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Feb 1st 2025, 8:34 AM

@thomas molloy: I always knew my other half was a Goddess but never thought that I was ” half of God”

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 9:03 AM

@James Leahy: “How’s your other half” is a traditional greeting.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Feb 1st 2025, 10:23 AM

Nice article but it would be nicer were it not adorned with floral headpieces borrowed from other traditions, I dare say the shown arrangements were not seen here in Ireland 30, 40, 50 years ago.
    Why can’t we be happy with what in all likelihood was a more humble – and more important – seasonal approach in floral decorations?
    I’m all for keeping up traditions but blending it with Wished-it-was-like-thats isn’t doing tradition, cultural heritage nor history any favours.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 1st 2025, 7:16 AM

I didn’t think the Rubber bandits were religious.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 9:50 AM

@brian o’leary: Everyone is religious in their own way even a declared atheist is expressing that they think deeply about life.

Mute Rose Sheridan
    Favourite Rose Sheridan
    Feb 1st 2025, 10:08 AM

Early Febuary not a good day for a bank holiday..it’s cold and won’t help tourism at all ( in a post christian country trying to revive St Bridget is laughable)

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Feb 1st 2025, 10:22 AM

@Rose Sheridan: it’s a pagan holiday co-opted by the Christians in order to assimilate the Irish into their cult.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 12:14 PM

@Dere: It works both ways. You must be very annoyed at the Xmas cult.

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Feb 1st 2025, 12:35 PM

@thomas molloy: I’m just stating facts…stop projecting your own annoyance.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 1:22 PM

@thomas molloy: Spending merrily on high: €1.5bn Xmas bonanza
    Retailers enjoyed an anticipated spending bonanza at Christmas, with consumers expected to splurge about €1.5bn.

Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Feb 1st 2025, 5:39 PM

The day is coming when irish people will go back to their forefathers faith. I am sure it won’t be too long. St. Bridget is a great place to renew your faith. May God Bless you all.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 1st 2025, 8:34 AM

Bridgey connors in the trailor

Mute Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Favourite Declan Tiberius Kelly
    Feb 2nd 2025, 8:34 AM

Nice story Fiona

Mute tony mc g
    Favourite tony mc g
    Feb 1st 2025, 5:39 PM

It’s amazing how people seem so certain about events and people over a thousand years ago but can’t recall or wish to forget what was happening in this country 40 years ago.