You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell via RollingNews.ie

'Silence means survival': Groundbreaking garda audit finds culture of fear within the force

Acting Commissioner Dónall O Cualáin said the detailed report has given management “great insights and information”.

GARDAÍ ARE AFRAID to speak out about malpractice within the force as to do so could harm their careers, according to a new in-depth study of our national police force.

An Garda Síochána today published the findings of its Cultural Audit. The report was independently conducted by PwC on behalf of gardaí and responded to by 6,500 across the organisation.

The audit found that:

• Gardaí are afraid to speak out because of the potential consequences
  • The promotion process is all about ‘who you know’
  • There is too much box-ticking
  • There isn’t enough front line supervision to mentor new recruits
  • There is a feeling that certain officers are not held to the same standards as others
  • Not enough access to the right resources

Acting Commissioner Dónall Ó Cualáin said the detailed report has given management “great insights and information”.

“The audit is an incredible resource for us. I want to thank our people for honestly giving their deeply held views of the organisation. The findings from the audit will help inform the Garda organisation in providing the best supports to our people so as to improve the service we provide to the public.”

The acting commissioner conceded that supervision within the force, especially at the rank of sergeant, is something which needs to be addressed as a matter of urgency. He also urged those who wish to speak out about malpractice to do so and promised that they would be protected.

Ó Cualáin added: “The audit makes it clear that we have a lot more work to do to reform our culture to meet the needs of our people, which should then result in an improved service to the public.

“For example, as managers, there needs to be greater engagement with the people working for us so they have a clear understanding what is expected from them in delivering a professional policing service.

“I completely agree with the need expressed in the audit to increase our supervisory ranks, particularly at Sergeant level. At a time when we are bringing in so many new Gardaí, we need Sergeants to provide them with proper supervision, mentoring and support.

On speaking up within An Garda Síochána, the organisation has improved from Garda personnel coming forward on issues, and we would encourage and support anyone who wishes to speak up in the future. Based on the Cultural Audit though we have more work to do in this area.

“To strengthen our approach, we are currently reviewing our Protected Disclosures Policy in conjunction with our colleagues from the PSNI and additional Protected Disclosure Managers were appointed in December 2017.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

37 Comments
    Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    May 4th 2018, 11:17 AM

No surprises in that report….. But I’d say that’s Where the story ends…. In 20 year’s time there will be another similar report…… nothing will change.

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    May 4th 2018, 1:23 PM

@Sean Leonard: Be a bit more positive Sean. This is the first time I have seen a proper insight into what the rank and file think. A new commissioner should now be brought in from abroad, with no baggage, and allowed 3 to 5 years to change the culture.

Mute Andrew Tuite
    Favourite Andrew Tuite
    May 4th 2018, 2:32 PM

@kevin: this is a good suggestion

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    May 4th 2018, 11:11 AM

Where was their solidarity with maurice mc cabe ,they had their chance and stuck their heads in the sand .not impressed .

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    May 4th 2018, 12:18 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: He might have been very unpopular before any of this started, In every company there’s always someone in the office that everyone hates and maybe he was that guy…as in “oh God here comes that gowl again”

Mute Shane McGrath
    Favourite Shane McGrath
    May 4th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: an idiotic and dangerous comment.

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    May 4th 2018, 1:46 PM

@Shane McGrath: Dangerous how? sharp edges? flammable? slippy when wet? I just said that he might have been unpopular in the station and in Garda circles, I of course don’t know this is true or untrue but either do you

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    May 4th 2018, 2:25 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: I never judge a person on their personality ,none of us are perfect ,my father gave me good advice when i was a young man ,never look up to anyone and never look down on anyone ,treat everyone as your equal .mc cabe was hung out to dry because he believed in decency ,integrity and above all the rule of law ..no democratic society can function without respect for the rule of law .its a pity this brave man had to be totally humiliated and belittled for protecting the very thing in society that was enshrined to protect us all .

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    May 4th 2018, 2:39 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: of course you judge people on their personalities! How else would you decide on whether you liked or disliked someone

Mute Chicinho
    Favourite Chicinho
    May 4th 2018, 3:38 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: has some level of argument until your communion pic amplified idiocy! Should have used neither too btw seeing as you’re highly sanctimonious

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    May 4th 2018, 4:20 PM

@Chicinho: just one more thing you low rent Colombo its not a Communion picture

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    May 4th 2018, 4:34 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: How very convienient for them, if you know about corruption and do nothing about it then imo you are part of the same thing.Uphold and enforce the law its what you are paid for otherwise walk away.

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    May 4th 2018, 6:29 PM

@Fergus Sheahan: Where did you get that awesome intellect? Are you just gifted or did you have to work at it?

Mute Fergus Sheahan
    Favourite Fergus Sheahan
    May 4th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Virtual Architect: i stopped using words like “”awesome” for a start as i am not a teenager in America in a 1980′s sitcom

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    May 4th 2018, 11:07 AM

It’s a click just like RTE. getting bankrolled by the public for their own ends.

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    May 4th 2018, 11:21 AM

This is how it is EVERYWHERE….the bigger the company/organization the worse it is.Its not how good you do your job.Its if your buddies with the boss.And if you play the cover up game all the better…Bring up what wrong you get ostracized.

Mute kissmyarse
    Favourite kissmyarse
    May 4th 2018, 11:49 AM

It’s time to retire the Garda and come up with a new completely restructured police force for a modern Ireland, a police force that will respect the opinions of the lowest ranking members to a police force that will have total community respect and trust in all walks of Irish society, in its current form I do not have any faith in them.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    May 4th 2018, 11:40 AM

When there is no accountability anywhere regarding politicians, how can we expect other public servants to behave any better.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 4th 2018, 11:53 AM

@Patabake Kennedy: you are talking nonsense It’s up to every member in the force to stand up like that good man McCabe and stop hiding behind I won’t get promotion if I talk up. This is the reason the cop bullies at the top are holding on to power

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    May 4th 2018, 12:11 PM

Little did we know that when front line Gards requested stab proof vests, it was for the knives in the back.

May 4th 2018, 11:30 AM

Silence through scare tactics. The gov and the HSE tried to keep Vicky Phelan quiet. It’s the disgraceful culture in the shambolic system. But the people ain’t scared by these shameful gombeen tactics any more.

Mute Gerard Power
    Favourite Gerard Power
    May 4th 2018, 11:21 AM

It sums up Ireland for you a little boys club.

Mute Johnny Mason
    Favourite Johnny Mason
    May 4th 2018, 11:05 AM

whistle blower Protection legislation must be adequate for people to speak out and Garda must be put as a priority even if it means a finance or promotion incentive

Mute Eugene Farrell
    Favourite Eugene Farrell
    May 4th 2018, 11:47 AM

Fear within the Gardai !!!! …..which they then spread outside the farce by way of corruption, negligence, incompetence, perjury, criminally and worst of all is the institutional silence about all of those things…..McCabe & Wilson are heroes against the fallen, falling and failing institution….

Mute Kieran Magennis
    Favourite Kieran Magennis
    May 4th 2018, 10:58 AM

In a nutshell: the individual Garda thinks he’s much better than the organisation he works for. Try this in your own organisation and shake a stick at the similarities…

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    May 4th 2018, 11:44 AM

We needed PwC to tell us this?????? FFS

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    May 4th 2018, 12:33 PM

@Damien O’Cáthail: __ It’s a safe bet to say that it must have cost the tax-payer more than a fiver.

Mute Damien O'Cáthail
    Favourite Damien O'Cáthail
    May 4th 2018, 11:20 PM

@Ted Murray: who do PWC know??????

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 4th 2018, 11:44 AM

The Gardai were always promotion driven They don’t have their shiny new hat on their head after coming out of Templemore when they are talking about promotion so now they don’t want to point the finger They should support people like McCabe If this is their attitude they might as well forget about a union as each and every member will be required to stand up and point the finger when something is not right.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 4th 2018, 12:24 PM

Some things never change,fair play to the gda that stood up.

Mute Chris Donnelly
    Favourite Chris Donnelly
    May 4th 2018, 12:40 PM

Rotten to the core, needs external leadership urgently!! Corruption is the modus operandi, it’s actually quite depressing in a constitutional democracy to have such a force.
    Our country would be so much better and so much safer at every level with a complete overhaul of our judiciary and police force, it’s why we have such corrupt politics and banking, as the people who should have our backs are part of the problem and we have a judiciary so out of touch with reality that they focus on the perpetrators of crime, not the victims…incredibly sad…

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 4th 2018, 1:59 PM

@Chris Donnelly: rant much? If it was “rotten to the core” this report would state everything is fine and dandy. Those on criticising Gardai don’t seem to realise this report reflects the opinion of ……. Gardai!

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    May 4th 2018, 12:36 PM

Sounds like a few multinationals I worked in. Seems to go with large organizations

Mute Liam Burke
    Favourite Liam Burke
    May 4th 2018, 1:04 PM

There needs to be a whistleblower legislation passed in the dail and an independant whistleblower agency setup where people can goto without fear.

Mute Aiden Heary
    Favourite Aiden Heary
    May 4th 2018, 1:39 PM

I would imagine had this report been done in the majority of companies the world over the findings would be pretty much the same, Whether it was a public sector or private sector report.

Mute Kris Moore
    Favourite Kris Moore
    May 4th 2018, 9:32 PM

Newly reconstructed police force, new government and get rid of this one sided out of date state television, the country needs a revamp, seems the country also is held to ransom by guards, teachers and farmers crying all the time poor me and my big income

Mute Lovely Man
    Favourite Lovely Man
    May 4th 2018, 6:26 PM

It is impossible that the political parties will ever relinquish their complete and total political control of the Garda. Why would they? Who will make them? Just as an example, woe betide any Garda who crosses a councillor. A councillor!