You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Drew Harris Brian Lawless

PSNI Deputy Chief Constable Drew Harris named as new Garda Commissioner

Nóirín O’Sullivan stepped down from her role in September 2017.

LAST UPDATE | 26 Jun 2018

PSNI DEPUTY CHIEF Constable Drew Harris been named as the new Garda Commissioner.

The role has been overseen by Acting Garda Commissioner Dónall O Cualáin since the former commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan announced her retirement in September 2017.

The Garda Commissioner is responsible for the general direction and control of An Garda Síochána, and reports to the Minister for Justice.

To fill the role, Minister Charlie Flanagan had to consult with the chair of the Policing Authority about a process to identify and appoint a permanent successor to O’Sullivan.

Drew Harris is currently Deputy Chief Constable of the Police Service of Northern Ireland (PSNI) and a statement today said his appointment “follows an open, international selection process run by the Public Appointments Service on behalf of the Policing Authority”.

This is the first time that this new model for the appointment process, introduced in 2015, has been used.

The selection process was designed with the objective of attracting the widest possible field of candidates from a broad range of backgrounds to ensure that the successful candidate would be tested against international standards in police leadership.

Harris is a former RUC officer and received an OBE in 2010. He was previously responsible for the PSNI’s Crime Operations Department. He also held the ACPO Hate Crime portfolio for eight years, and led PSNI initiatives where he took responsibility for the management of sex offenders and the introduction of Public Protection Units.

He also spent a two-year secondment in the rank of Superintendent to Her Majesty’s Inspector of Constabulary, Scotland. He holds a BA degree in Politics and Economics and an M St in Criminology.

The PSNI said that  Harris “has always been focused in protecting the vulnerable in society from serious harm”.

‘Rigorous selection process’

Announcing the appointment, Minister Flanagan said:

“I am pleased that the rigorous selection process by the Public Appointments Service on behalf of the Policing Authority has come to a successful conclusion with the appointment today by Government of Drew Harris as the next Garda Commissioner with the full functions of that role including safeguarding the security of the State. I thank both the Policing Authority and the Public Appointments Service for their intensive work on this important process over the past 10 months.”

He went on: “Drew takes up office at a time of major reform and investment which will redefine An Garda Síochána as an organisation. As we approach the centenary of the establishment of An Garda Síochána, the organisation is on the cusp of significant change. The expert Commission on the Future of Policing is in the final stages of its work; its report will chart a new model for Irish policing in the decades ahead. Drew will take up the post of Commissioner in September and this will come at a critical time – coinciding with the conclusion of the work of the Commission.”

Minister Flanagan said that he is “confident that Drew Harris has the necessary ability and vital policing, security and change management experience required”.

He will bring these talents to his leadership of An Garda Síochána – one of our most important institutions of state – along with a commitment to serving the public in the best tradition of the Gardaí.

“I very much look forward to working with Drew on our shared objective of ensuring the security of the State and the safety of the public,” said the Minister. “Drew can be assured of my support and that of the Government as he faces the challenge of transforming An Garda Síochána so that it becomes a model of policing excellence, equipped to deal with the huge range of challenges facing police services worldwide.”

On taking up the post, Harris will make a solemn declaration under section 16 of the Garda Síochána Act 2005 including to uphold the Constitution and the laws of the State on the day that his appointment takes effect.

RTÉ has reported that Harris’ father, RUC Superintendent Alwyn Harris, was killed in an explosion in 1989 after the IRA planted a bomb under his parents’ car, parked outside their home near Lisburn.

The Garda Representative Association (GRA) has welcomed the appointment of Harris.

“We are particularly pleased to note that Mr Harris is both a police officer and one with proven senior operational and management experience on the island. Mr Harris has worked very closely with An Garda Síochána over many years and so is likely to better understand policing issues as they present themselves across the country,” the GRA said in a statement.

The GRA noted a number of issues that it says need to be addressed by the new Commissioner.

“From IT systems, recruitment, supervision, equipment and training down to the current garda uniform which is not fit for purpose, all stakeholders are fully aware of what needs to be done,” it said.

“The organisation of An Garda Síochána is a large ship that has been listless for some time now without a permanent captain. Government must now provide Mr Harris and his team with all the financial support to ensure that these critical changes are made without delay.”

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said Harris is the “best person for the job”, adding that the government are delighted with his appointment.

When asked by the media about Harris working closely with MI5, Varadkar said as part of the recruitment process “background checks and security clearance that you would expect to be done in terms of due diligence” were carried out.

“We are absolutely confident the new commissioner will be loyal to the police and loyal to the State,” he said.

Acting Commissioner Ó Cualáin will continue to lead An Garda Síochána until then, and has notified the Minister of his intention to retire at that time.

Minister Flanagan said he wants “to acknowledge the leadership, integrity and commitment of Acting Commissioner Dónall Ó Cualáin”.

The Government is very grateful to him for his dedication to duty and effective leadership of the organisation since last September. He has been a steady hand at the tiller in difficult times for the organisation ably supported by Deputy Commissioner John Twomey. They have led An Garda Síochána to significant success in targeting and disrupting the abhorrent activities of criminal gangs over the past year while also making progress on the challenging reform agenda.

The Chairperson of the Policing Authority, Josephine Feehily welcomed the news and said that the process of selecting the new commissioner “was comprehensive and thorough, as befits the significance of the position”.

“It was very heartening for the Authority that very many candidates, both internal and external, presented themselves for consideration for such an important role,” she said.

She thanked and complimented the Public Appointments Service “for the professional manner in which the selection competition was carried out”.

Feehily said that the Authority, having reviewed the process and considered his experience, qualifications and expertise, “was very satisfied to nominate Drew Harris for appointment by the Government”.

With reporting by Hayley Halpin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

178 Comments
    Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:23 PM

Whilst I’m no hardcore (or even fair weather, in many eyes) Republican, there’s something about having an ex RUC member, his father also being a chief Superintendent with them, in charge of our police force that doesn’t quite sit well with me.

Mute noah tall
    Favourite noah tall
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:47 PM

@Link: his father was actually killed by the IRA in a car bomb explosion.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:49 PM

@Link:

Chief Superintendent Alwyn Harris, was murdered by the Provisional IRA in a car-bomb attack, in which his wife was injured.

A few years ago, a report from Tommie Gorman of RTÉ featured archive footage in which Alwyn, before he was murdered, spoke to a reporter after a previous attack in which two RUC officers were murdered. Tommie also mentioned that Alwyn had reprimanded some British soldiers who were harassing a young woman.

Chief Superintendent Harris was not sectarian – and neither is his son.

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:58 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: wonder why his role as PSNI/MI5 liaison officer is not mentioned in this articles list of his previous experiences?????

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:03 PM

@M Bowe:

So what if he liaised with MI5?! MI5 and the PSNI are fighting against dissident Republican terrorists – the sort of people that carried out the Omagh bombing!

Mute El Sparko
    Favourite El Sparko
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:03 PM

@M Bowe: I get the feeling you have something you’d like to get off your chest…

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:15 PM

@M Bowe: Good, then he’ll already have a heads up about IRA activity down here. Hopefully he’ll come down harder on those that remain in that hateful, murderous organisation than previous Commissioners.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:26 PM

@Link: the ruc were biased so I can see your concern but poor yourself in his shoes and see would you be Any different.

Am outsider not indebted to the rampant nepotism and cronism who had both a very personal knowledge of the threats police face and working with huge sweeping changes that reshaped an entire force? Yes, yes please.

Looking forward to seeing what changes he makes

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:39 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: MI5 in 6 counties are the direct aftermath of old RUC special branch, who almost to a man transferred to that role after disbandment. The same type of people and mindset who handled and gave free reign to the likes of Mark Haddock UVF, Brian Nelson and Billy Stobie UDA and British agents. Respondsible for dozens if not more murders, many at the behest and orders of their RUC/ MI5 masters.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:16 PM

@Richard Keogh: Was the Old IRA also “a hateful, murderous organisation”?

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Richard Keogh: maybe he will get the information on the dublin monaghan bombings released

Mute Brian harris
    Favourite Brian harris
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Link: Too true Simon . You can thank FG the irish tory party for this one.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:04 PM

@George Sturdy: aye George, and he was a rite B. Just because he is from Dublin does nt make him a patriot.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:22 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: a “report” by Tommie Gorman – a contradiction in terms. NI politics for Beano readers, methinks.

Jun 26th 2018, 9:18 PM

@Link: you are hardcore enough though

Jun 26th 2018, 9:20 PM

@M Bowe: who would you have preferred as liaison officer then?

Mute Michael Madden
    Favourite Michael Madden
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:26 PM

@Link: he would have worked very very closely with British intelligence in the past. You would imagine he will have acess to sensitive information im his new role, wonder how that works

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:57 PM

@Richard Keogh: he might get the information on the Dublin / Monaghan bombings to

Mute Yourmam McCarthy
    Favourite Yourmam McCarthy
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:16 PM

@Link: we cant trust irish people to police our people either. At least he will not be one of them. Irish. I hate to say it but im irish and i do t trust irish people with power

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:08 PM

@Michael Allen: that’s a ridiculous assertion. He was murdered plain and simple. Wrong was done by both sides in that conflict. Every death was useless and sad. You sound like you take pleasure in the fact this man was killed. There are very few instances when taking a human life can be justified and this most certainly isn’t one of them.

Mute Brian Jp Kelington
    Favourite Brian Jp Kelington
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:16 PM

@Link: You need to look at the bigger picture and where Ireland is heading. With Brexit on the horizon and maybe a boarder poll within the next 10 years we need to be gradually merging our 2 nations. He was the best possible choice for a number of reasons notwithstanding major reform.

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:43 PM

@Link: why? What exactly do you think is going to happen because of this appointment?

Mute Norvik_1602
    Favourite Norvik_1602
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:01 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Absolutely were, yes. Awful bigots. Glad to enlighten you. I think you should confine your contributions to Gaelic. I hope you can actually speak Gaelic and your ID isn’t just lip service…

Mute Norvik_1602
    Favourite Norvik_1602
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:03 AM

@Brian harris: FG the Irish Tory party? I wish. We wouldn’t be paying VRT on our cars for starters. No sadly there aren’t enough wise voters to allow for a proper conservative party here.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:14 AM

@Norvik_1602: vrt exists across Europe. Actually it’s more expensive in more than one

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 27th 2018, 8:00 AM

@Simon Miller: So, Simon, only a “hardcore republican sectarian” could oppose the appointment of Drew Harris? How absolutely clueless are you?

Drew Harris (if you had the first clue about him) is someone who has used every trick and stunt in the book to thwart investigations into murders carried out by/with the help of, the RUC.

The Historical Enquiries Team was set up to investigate such murders, and was intended to be institutionally independent of the RUC and the PSNI in that it was based in England and had no members who had ever been in either of those forces. It did not have to seek leave from the PSNI in relation to its investigations and it had its own finances. However, most Victims Groups had no confidence in it, and doubted it’s independence. They were soon vindicated in that belief. In 2010, none other than Drew Harris brought the HET in under his control as head of Crime Operations Branch of the PSNI. He removed investigative functions from HET officers; stripped it of the power to arrest and question suspects, he took control of their budget, and he closed down their thematic investigation unit which was cross referencing the individual investigations for links, patterns and systems drawing out the involvement of RUC personnel and wider collusion.

Victims families took the matter to court and Mr Justice Tracey found in their favour and accused Drew accused Harris of an “extreme” abuse of power in trying to cover up collusion. Justice Tracey also stated that this abuse of power by Harris showed that “the state is not genuinely committed” to addressing the concerns of families. Despite all this, Harris made a pledge to defend and protect the reputation of RUC – a totally discredited, sectarian, murderous police force.

To quote Stephen Travers, survivor of the Miami Showband massacre (and not a “hardcore republican sectarian” as you would allege) on hearing of the appointment of Harris yeasterday, “The Fox is now in charge of the hen-house. What a dreadful betrayal of victims who have been consistently blocked and denied access to evidence by his current office. Shame on you.”

Sad that so many in the 26 counties are so far removed from the reality of what happened in the six counties, that they are so welcoming of a man like Drew Harris taking charge of their police force, and so sneering, condescending and abusive to those who know of Harris’ background and oppose his appointment.

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Jun 27th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Ciarán Masterson:

Ciarán et Al,
    the problem you British apologists have with the rest of us, is that while the the British state have concerns about the IRA,
    the Irish state are supposed to have concerns about British/loyalist terrorism.
    That means the sectarian murderers, the RUC.
    Something the Blue shirts on this site like to ignore.

That said, it’s good for a post Brexit United Ireland that unionists are taking up positions in their real country.
    Just like the unionist senator and Irish passports.

Time they forgot about a sinking Britain and the 6 county freak state.

Wouldn’t be surprised if it’s a deliberate choice for the above ends.

It’s why we all are supporting it.

More unionists should apply to our civil service aswell, we’ll all be the one country soon.

Mute patrick gilmartin
    Favourite patrick gilmartin
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:24 PM

We have indeed come full circle in on the island as our political betters appoint Drew Harris as our new Garda Superintendent a man who cut his teeth in the openly sectarian RUC so bad it had to be decommissioned . The same Harris Who refused to hand over police Files on 31 shoot to kill operations carried out by the security forces . What possible good could this man bring to policing in this state ?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:04 PM

@Robert Harris: have a read at some books. Try a start with ‘lethal allies’. Out lining the duel role of RUC/MI5 in not only colluding with but actually full membership and controlling influence on the likes of glenanne gang etc. Therein lies the murderers of Irish people, solely on basis that they were and are IRISH.
    Drew Harris has blocked and stymied historical investigations into those murders!!

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:05 PM

@patrick gilmartin:

The handing-over of “shoot-to-kill” files has to be in line with the law to protect the identities of informers so that their lives are not put in danger.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:06 PM

@patrick gilmartin: maybe he can use his influence to get the release of the RUC’s Dublin bombings files. The Gardai said that they got no co-operation from the RUC on this.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:09 AM

@Ciarán Masterson: everyone deserved to know the truth about how their loved ones died. A lot of innocent people died protecting informers I’m sorry but the files have to be released

Mute Fred Conlan
    Favourite Fred Conlan
    Jun 27th 2018, 3:11 AM

@patrick gilmartin: why don’t you give it a go, paddy?

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: So are you saying its right to shoot to kill,the informers were paid and took the risks of been an informer,how many people were killer or to put it another way murdered,as a result of their information,Ifor one are not happy about this appointment,as it smells of pleasing the DUP

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Jun 27th 2018, 3:34 PM

@Ciarán Masterson:

You’ll believe anything.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:47 PM

Appointing an Ex RUC as Garda Commissioner in the Republic shows that someone has certainly lost all perspective.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:00 PM

@Isabel Oliveira:

It’s OK for a former RUC Special Branch officer being Chief Constable of the PSNI (Even Sinn Féin accepted that appointment!).

So what’s wrong with a former RUC officer who is currently PSNI Deputy Chief Constable being the new Garda Commissioner?! After all, he was born on this island and so is entitled to Irish citizenship because of the Good Friday Agreement
    (meaning that there is no problem with him being in charge of the Republic’s national security).

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:29 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: correct, the first decision to be made based completely on merit.

Let me guess? Your a sinner who doesn’t fancy the new boss being anti IRA. Well personally I’m all for it.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:19 PM

@Karl: I assume you hold the same low opinion of the Old IRA as you did of the PIRA?

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:51 PM

@Karl: Yeah… I am a “Sinner” Iberian branch… My name really gives it away doesn’t it?

Mute Bull Spite
    Favourite Bull Spite
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:40 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Keep asking questions rather than making answers!

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:13 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: don’t worry, Isabel, we are all sinners!! Old Karl is a bigot as well.

Jun 26th 2018, 9:22 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: thats right keep looking backwards , its a national weakness, we live in the present, look forward!

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:41 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: I would sooner have a real Irish man in charge,who selected him or is it a political dodge to please the DUP,What are the rank and file to think

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 4:04 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: nope because they weren’t the same

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 4:14 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: ah yes, because you must be from where your name is from. Logical reasoning there.

So which is it? Irish with Spanish / Portuguese family or just a fool that doesn’t know what she is talking about?

Or option 3, supports a certain group from Spain and therefore think you know about Ireland?

(My kids are not Irish by the way but they still have Irish names. You can do that you know)

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:20 PM

Can only be an improvement on his predecessors.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:22 PM

@Cathal: Given than anything would be an improvement

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:44 PM

@Cathal: refreshing

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:21 PM

Here’s hoping for a radical reform & shakeup of how gardai operate & let’s hope no more bullying or corruption.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:11 PM

@Keith: well, the PSNI are a bit more polished in their interrogation techniques than what the Gardai displayed during last weeks trial which the judge had to throw out of court due to Gardai threats, profanities, bullying etc. https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/garda-probe-after-court-case-linked-to-killing-of-david-black-collapses-37036847.html

Oh, I see that they are going to have “an internal investigation” into that. Oh sweet Jaysus, give me a break.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:53 PM

@Larry Doherty: AND IT DOSE NOT HAPPEN WITH THE POLICE FORCE ACROSS THE BORDER,,YOU ARE HAVING A LAUGH

Mute Nell foran
    Favourite Nell foran
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:37 PM

I am no sf supporter but this seems crazy and is bound to lead to trouble. A man who was happy to be in a sectarian police force is surely not the right choice for Ireland

Mute Robert Harris
    Favourite Robert Harris
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:59 PM

@Nell foran:and SF are not sectarian ?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:21 PM

@Robert Harris: Correct, they are not. MAybe you missed the news yesterday or Mary Lou launching a major anti-sectarianism initiative? Or maybe you missed the news today where she announced she would be willing to go a 12th July parade, were she invited.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:20 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: I agree but she has just been told where to go by the bigoted Orange Order who want her on her knees apologising. After that they want us to agree voluntarily to go back to 1968 and to the back of the bus once again.

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:59 PM

@Robert Harris: SF accepts everyone no matter what there Religion or Colour ..

Mute Norvik_1602
    Favourite Norvik_1602
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:05 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: We missed all that. We were too busy thinking of those Protestant workmen ordered off the bus to be murdered. Kinda got in the way.

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:24 PM

Well, he can’t be any worse than the last two.
    So let’s all wish him the best.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Jun 27th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Edward Smith: At the end of the day he’s a police officer… lets just hope he hasn’t the same mentality as our lot.

Mute Brian Lilly
    Favourite Brian Lilly

It will be interesting to see if he can transform the Gardai. Starting at the top and working down.

Mute Rose Shanahan
    Favourite Rose Shanahan
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:11 PM

@Brian Lilly: or start in Templemore and work up!!!

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull

SF won’t be happy!

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:28 PM

@The Irish Bull: Wise up. SF are all for this sort of thing. Many of the MLAs and councillors will know him well from the policing boards

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:33 PM

@The Irish Bull: Why not ? If any party has the inside track (dirt) on him it’s SF . All they have to do is wait until it’s politically useful to release it. Nobody in any position of power in NI is completely clean. It’s just a matter of waiting…

Jun 26th 2018, 9:25 PM

@John Ryan: and SF is squeaky clean of course

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin

The PSNI has its issues but hopefully he can bring some of the modernisation and professionalism learned in the creation of the force to the Gardai. It will be interesting to see how the sclerotic and corrupt public service deal with an Ulster Protestant that hasn’t been indoctrinated in their usual practises

Mute Paul Devlin
    Favourite Paul Devlin
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:18 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: lol you must hang around with different protestants than me

Mute tom mc
    Favourite tom mc
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:56 PM

THAT new cop on fair city should have got the job. He sorted out Spillane and has already hooked up with Carol. Deegan and him seem to work well as a team he should have been his deputy.

Mute Emmett Currie
    Favourite Emmett Currie

SS RUC

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:54 PM

@Emmett Currie:

You’ve got a very lazy understanding of history. Here’s a book that I recommend to educate you on the security forces in Northern Ireland (The Irish Defence Forces and Garda Special Branch are also featured).

https://ospreypublishing.com/security-forces-in-northern-ireland-1969-92-pb

Mute Ronan O' Grady
    Favourite Ronan O' Grady
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:06 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: will get that.goodman

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:12 PM

@Ronan O’ Grady:

Funnily enough (in relation to Emmett’s comment), Osprey has also published books about German police in World War Two.

Here’s another recommendation for Emmett.

https://ospreypublishing.com/world-war-ii-german-police-units-36115

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:23 PM

@Ronan O’ Grady: There’s only one book necessary to read if you want to understand the history of the ‘security’ forces in the six counties:

https://www.mercierpress.ie/irish-books/lethal-allies/

Jun 26th 2018, 9:26 PM

@Emmett Currie: its great to see Shinners hating this appointment, not a good time for them.

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:19 PM

His nickname will undoubtedly be “Ronnie”.
    I hope he grows a moustache to give it extra resonance.

Mute Ciaran Leonard
    Favourite Ciaran Leonard

@Phil O’ Meara: or Rolf!!!!

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:32 PM

Now first thing to do is investigate NAMA and Noonan bang them to rites

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:57 PM

This is a terrible decision, give it to any one but a former RUC officer, I don’t believe they have the interest of the Irish state at heart, this is a decision that will come back to bite government in the arse.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:31 PM

@Tom Ryan: maybe give it to one of the corrupt ruc / gardai that were in the ra pocket instead?

Face reality, the majority of gardai already hate the ra and the disgrace they bring to the tricolour

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:53 PM

@Karl: what utter rubbish are you talking, I think it’s a shame the government had to go north to fulfil this appointment and I have no doubt there are many great Garda that are honest decent people who are more than capable of doing this job, and if you feel someone has brought disgrace to your flag you should go get counselling.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:59 PM

@Tom Ryan: What utter rubbish you spout, and you’ve obviously had your head up your backside for the last number of years, and somehow managed to miss the absolute hames our own home grown Gardai have made of running AGS. The Gardai are crying out for reform, this was never going to happen under someone who has come up through the ranks, so I say fair play to them for finally giving the job to an outsider.

Mute Tom Purcell
    Favourite Tom Purcell
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:45 PM

@Tom Ryan: Tom you’re right it is a shame…a shame on us as a nation, that our public service cannot produce candidates to the level needed for the job. We only have to look at the various current enquiries and commissions. Our civil service, including the Gardai has produced an institutionalised mediocrity concerned mainly with grabbing money and minimising working hours.

Jun 26th 2018, 9:28 PM

@Tom Ryan: honest decent people in Garda HQ ? Who ?

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:49 PM

Worse we are getting!

Mute Dáithí
    Favourite Dáithí
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:50 PM

this is reform , looks a little political , his dad killed by the IRA , looks like an attempt to trow a Molotov cocktail into any future plans for Sinn Fein

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:54 PM

The PNSI are an armed police force, I hope the new Garda Commissioner Harris does not follow suit. I for one prefer an unarmed force. excepting of course the armed response units, sadly needed.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:19 PM

@Martin:

Drew Harris wouldn’t have the power to do that. That would be up to our government to decide.

Actually, An Garda Síochána has proportionally more officers with firearms than any territorial police service in Great Britain, e.g. Metropolitan, West Midlands, Greater Manchester (The Civil Nuclear Constabulary, all of whose officers are armed, doesn’t count because is a specialist police service).

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:22 PM

@Martin:

Just to add to my reply:

Police detectives in Great Britain are not armed (except Special Branch). All Garda detectives each have at least a handgun.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:35 PM

@Ciarán Masterson: incorrect. Majority of detectives are unarmed.

They have to apply and then undergo the training which takes time. Lots and lots of time and

About 20% of gardai are even authorised to carry firearms, doesn’t mean they all do day to day.

I know a few uniform guys that are authorised to carry be only when they perform protection duty which is not their normal function

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:45 PM

Well he’s already been through the process of modernizing a corrupt unfit for purpose policing force so at least he has a head start

Mute Robert Harris
    Favourite Robert Harris
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:01 PM

@David Edwards:and he has a great surname

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:08 PM

Must say I’d call the majority of comments more positive than negative as of now, and only a few real trolls. I for one wish him good luck and the cooperation of the entire Garda force.

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:41 PM

RUC man in charge. The orange order will be in charge of same sex marriage next

Mute Andrea Brown
    Favourite Andrea Brown
    Jun 26th 2018, 6:12 PM

Someone with actual qualifications in criminology for the job of Garda Commissioner, who has the appropriate work experience and has taken part in significant successful reform of a police force. This should be interesting to see which vested interest he upsets first. Also if an United Ireland does come about, he could potentially turn out to be the right person, in the right place at the right time. Not often I agree with one of the governments appointments, but on this occassion, I do think he is the best person for the job and wish him well.

Mute Travis O Bickle
    Favourite Travis O Bickle
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:52 PM

Well at least now you can build bonfires next to houses, cause lots of damage not bother to clean up the mess and hang flags all over the place and won’t have to take them down again, and the cops wont get involved.

Jun 26th 2018, 9:30 PM

@Travis O Bickle: you are a bonfire expert obviously

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:12 AM

@Gus Sheridan: he’s correct watch the news next month and you will see what he means

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:17 AM

@Mona Murphy: when have the gardai made people take flags down and pick up litter?

Even the bonfire part is mainly the fire brigade

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:39 PM

Popular choice for the rank and file, detectives and officers probable not so much. Not already in the crony system and hopefully stamps it out once and for all.

Went through huge changes already and by God we need that here.

Psni is a far more modern and fair force where officers are expected to earn their positions and gasp, sometimes patrol and arrest people!

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:31 PM

Congratulations Mr Harris, a man of immense integrity and ability, and who is not afraid of implementing reform

Mute Barry Foster
    Favourite Barry Foster
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:19 PM

The whole country wishes Drew Harris success in his new role. However in order to really clean out the malaise , corruption and mind numbing deficiencies at least a doz of the so called highly paid Deputy Commissioners would need to removed , otherwise the work of Harris will be stymied at every turn.

Mute Bart Teeling
    Favourite Bart Teeling
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:16 PM

Great, a man who was in the RUC, an organisation that aided, armed and gave intel to loyalist death squads. And all the usual Tory clowns on here cheer-leading.. Give me strength.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:48 PM

There will be a few PO’d assistant and Deputy commissioners with this breaking news, I sense a few early retirements coming shortly

Mute Paul Brierley
    Favourite Paul Brierley
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:17 PM

Drew Who?

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:20 PM

@Paul Brierley: Harris

Mute Sean O Neill
    Favourite Sean O Neill

@Paul Brierley: Drew Harris, policeman extraordinaire. Women want him, men want to be him.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe

@Paul Brierley: Drew ‘ MI5 British intelligence liaison officer with PSNI’ Harris.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario

@Paul Brierley: Does it matter that you don’t know who he is, or are you an expert on heads of Police Forces? Delighted to finally see them appoint an outsider, well overdue, and hopefully now that we have a head with no ties to the force, he will have the bottle to push through the many overdue reforms.

Mute John O Reardon
    Favourite John O Reardon
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:30 PM

@Sean O Neill:
    Get you tounge out of his @$£€. You’re sad….

Mute Sean O Neill
    Favourite Sean O Neill
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:34 PM

@John O Reardon: And you don’t get jokes. Calm down fella.

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:42 PM

@John O Reardon: fairly obvious joke passing you over at about 30,000 ft

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:39 PM

Strangely I think this is an inspired choice. Bit jaw dropping but inspired

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:11 PM

Give the man a chance – if he brings forward any historical baggage then that is that for him and those who appointed him. I would be amazed if there was anything dodgy about him in relation to his RUC days – but if there is – he is toast

Mute Páid Ó Donnchú
    Favourite Páid Ó Donnchú
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:45 PM

Go maith. Bhí neart seansanna ag na Gardaí iad féin a cheartú ach níor éirigh leo

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Jun 27th 2018, 8:55 PM

@Páid Ó Donnchú: Cinnte. A new broom.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:32 PM

Charley already on first name terms with Drew. What can go wrong.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:39 PM

I’d give him a year, eighteen months at the most. He will be hindered at every turn.

Mute Tony Doran
    Favourite Tony Doran
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:55 PM

MI6 will no doubt find it easier to collate information on the republic now!

Mute Brendan Sheridan
    Favourite Brendan Sheridan
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:50 PM

Does the position require an Irish speaking qualification…..???

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:21 AM

@Brendan Sheridan: no. It’s a political appointment so exempt the normal requirements

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes
    Jun 26th 2018, 5:24 PM

This guy lost his dad to an IRA murder and has arrested Gerry Adams just a cohple of years ago as a pokitical sop to Unionism during a time when tye focus was on their stupidity..media duly obliged and switched to Gerry. This is a disgraceful appointment by FG not to mention..ok mentioning…our national secrets being handed to English MI6. Have we no pride? Have we no national security policies? Small minded anti SF move by our Governments..not for the first or last time.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:42 PM

Hopefully the Garda can now move beyond the corrupt leadership of the last couple of decades.

Mute Seamus Hughes
    Favourite Seamus Hughes
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:58 PM

What?! So this guy was privvy to all of the security stuff in the North and is now head of Gardaí?! Have we no national security protocol?? This is madness. Seems like another anti Republican coup by FG traitors once again.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jun 26th 2018, 6:12 PM

@Seamus Hughes: its pro this Republic to have a man of his ability, though certainly the terrorist loving types won’t be happy, so another positive

Jun 26th 2018, 9:34 PM

@Stephen Kearon: yes lots of armchair shinners are upset and thats a good thing

Jun 26th 2018, 9:15 PM

At last someone without baggage from the old guard, best of luck to him!

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:18 AM

@Gus Sheridan: plenty from his days with ruc and psni lots of baggage there

Mute James_665
    Favourite James_665
    Jun 26th 2018, 12:59 PM

Nothing will chang.

Mute Dlow Brown
    Favourite Dlow Brown
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:51 PM

@James_665: but will it ching?

Mute Cranky
    Favourite Cranky
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:57 PM

Welcome to Ireland Law and disorder. A few tips 1. Don’t bother enforcing the law when Politicians, Councillors, or big business people as when they go to court they will not get the same treatment as the less privileged. 2. Our motto apparently is grab as much money and perks as you can get your hands on. It’s the Irish way for those in power. . 3. Don’t worry too much about anything as none of the judges seem to care about the Law being fair. 4. Your first job should be to see who gets away the most crime in Ireland. Generally it’s the better off.

Mute David Carino
    Favourite David Carino
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:17 PM

Is he not required to have at least a grasp of the Irish Language

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Jun 26th 2018, 10:33 PM

Already robbing us
    250,000+a year

Mute Peter Connolly
    Favourite Peter Connolly
    Jun 27th 2018, 7:34 AM

Good luck to the man and his family, who have given so much for this island of Ireland.

Mute Sean Beinead
    Favourite Sean Beinead
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:29 PM

Only time will tell if this is a good appointment, will he last longer than the previous 2,watch this space .

Mute Mari
    Favourite Mari
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:26 PM

Not sure how this will go down

Mute Anastasia
    Favourite Anastasia
    Jun 26th 2018, 9:54 PM

Now we may have a police force to be proud of

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:16 AM

@Anastasia: what like the ruc

Mute Aindriú Purfield
    Favourite Aindriú Purfield
    Jun 27th 2018, 1:02 AM

No surprise that the slavish Irish media have not done any homework at all-look at what a quick google digs up from BBC, no less;

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-44620243

Impressive CV but some could have concerns over new Garda chief
    By Vincent Kearney
    BBC News NI Home Affairs Correspondent
    5 hours ago
    Share this with Facebook Share this with Messenger Share this with Twitter Share this with Email Share
    Image copyrightPACEMAKER
    Image caption
    PSNI Deputy Chief Constable Drew Harris has been appointed the new Garda Commissioner
    The appointment of Drew Harris will have caused surprise, and perhaps even concern, in some quarters.

No one can question his policing credentials.

The CV he attached to his application form for this job spanned 35 years experience of policing. It’s the nature of some of that experience that may draw criticism.

Before being appointed deputy chief constable of the PSNI in October 2014, Drew Harris led the department responsible for tackling dissident republican activity.

Image copyrightPACEMAKER
    Image caption
    Drew Harris was the office in control of the investigation which resulted in Gerry Adams’ arrest over the murder of Jean McConville
    He was responsible for sanctioning covert intelligence operations, and was a regular visitor to MI5′s headquarters in Holywood where he liaised with the security service on national security issues.

Mr Harris was also the officer in overall control of the investigation that resulted in the arrest of Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams by detectives investigating the 1972 murder of Jean McConville.

He was released without charge.

The arrest prompted the deputy first minister at the time, Martin McGuinness, to claim there was a “dark side” within the police that were conspiring with enemies of the peace process.

Drew Harris’s intelligence role resulted in frequent criticism from Sinn Féin members of the policing board.

He also angered some within the Garda (Irish police) with evidence to the Smithwick Inquiry, which investigated allegations of Garda involvement in the murders of senior RUC officers Harry Breen and Bob Buchanan in south Armagh in 1989.

Image copyrightPACEMAKER
    Image caption
    The murders of Harry Breen and Bob Buchanan were the focus of the Smithwick Inquiry
    In evidence given in private, Mr Harris said there was intelligence to indicate that several Garda officers colluded in the murders.

The fact that a senior British police officer with strong links to the security service has been appointed to the most senior role in Irish policing will undoubtedly cause surprise and possibly some concern.

So too will the fact the the appointment comes at a highly sensitive time when relations between the UK and the Republic are on edge because of Brexit, with policing and security the most sensitive issue on the agenda.

Some may ask whether Drew Harris will have divided loyalties in the security debate given his previous roles.

Supporters would argue it was those roles that made him the perfect candidate.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jun 27th 2018, 8:26 AM

@Aindriú Purfield: I’m not so sure that he is the correct man right now. There are a few very good officers at the top in the Gardai, at least two.! . Whether they hang around now remains to be seen .He has the job for 5 years, unless of course the sack him in the meantime . Men in their early to mid fifties will not have much reason to hang on.

Mute the Goose
    Favourite the Goose
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:12 PM

Will he wear a Garda uniform??

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 26th 2018, 1:36 PM

@the Goose: presumable but he may not have arrest powers

Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Jun 26th 2018, 3:05 PM

@Karl: of course he will have arrest powers ffs.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Jun 27th 2018, 4:08 PM

@Ciaran Rice: no, no he won’t. If you don’t know the subject, don’t speak.

Only sworn gardai can arrest, he is the commissioner, not a sworn Garda.

Commissioner doesn’t even need to have any police training or experience.

Mute Aindriú Purfield
    Favourite Aindriú Purfield
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:57 AM

So apparently according to some of the bots on here questioning the wisdom of approaching an Ex RUC Officer/MI5 agent as head of the security of the Republic of Ireland makes you a corruption loving terrorist.

With the Yanks dossing around hotels and petrol stations illegally in uniform in Shannon(breaking the 1954 Defence Statute, section 17) , Orange-Tory Direct Rule in the North, the border on the way back, and a British mole in charge of our country’s security and immigration, why do we even bother pretending. Electing Fine Gael time and again is as good as having the Brits back at this stage. Overpriced Tenements, evictions, and weird coloured socks for all while we’re at it.

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Jun 27th 2018, 6:25 AM

It looks like the Government are still trying to get at Sinn Fein what next Arlene Foster running for Fine Gael.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:05 PM

Brave man coming in to sort out the mess left by his predecessors, possibly drew the short straw, they don’t tend to last for long

Mute James_665
    Favourite James_665
    Jun 26th 2018, 8:36 PM

R.U.C are as corrupt as our lot; expect changes not a hope.

Jun 26th 2018, 9:35 PM

@James_665: who are the RUC?

Mute Bernadette Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Bernadette Fitzpatrick
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:05 PM

Great it’s not an insider after recent shennanagins with on going tribunal painting a very dismal picture of how our most senior police were behaving. Sometimes I feel ashamed to be Irish with the corruption that’s rampant in so many parts of public ‘re for especially recent cervical smear cancer debacle another shameful episode and no one will be held to account . ..

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Jun 27th 2018, 12:16 AM

@Bernadette Fitzpatrick: yeah the security forces in the north are really held to account!!!!

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jun 27th 2018, 7:19 AM

I’m not sure at all that this is a correct appointment, hopefully this “high powered” six that selected him will not have egg on their faces in a few years or less. I still think that there is one or two near the top in the Gardai that are more than capable of doing that job. It will be interesting to see how they react now, maybe retire and leave him at it! . He was in the RUC .

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Jun 26th 2018, 5:30 PM

Wish him all best with that job. Nothing only crooks and pompus two faced fat lazy Gardi needs an over haul and deep cleansing

Mute Shane Mitchell
    Favourite Shane Mitchell
    Jun 27th 2018, 2:44 AM

I wish him well

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:46 PM

@Larry Doherty
    Hello Larry I thought it would be obvious it was just because of his red hair.

Mute Ros Aodha
    Favourite Ros Aodha
    Jun 27th 2018, 8:48 AM

Anyone seen Michael Jackson? He went to the lobby to get popcorn for me a half hour ago :D :D :D

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:40 PM

Nancy Drew me thinks my old adversary Paddy from Kerry should of got the job.
    As young fellas we called him Redser. Mind you he done very well to reach the level he has.

Mute MA Hend
    Favourite MA Hend
    Jun 26th 2018, 11:31 PM

Great news, fantastic appointment

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jun 26th 2018, 2:57 PM

I must correct myself Paddy Leahy is from Cork. I was sure he was from kerry.
    Anyhow though he would get the job.
    https://www.garda.ie/en/About-Us/Our-Executive-Team/Assistant-Commissioner-Dublin-Metropolitan-Region.html

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 26th 2018, 4:27 PM

@Aidan Dorney: why was he called Redser, I am wondering. Was it due to the rugged complexion of what I take is a rural gentleman or would he just not take a reddener, which I understand is an essential criteria on the job description of all senior Gardia.