You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A plan to move 80 sergeants from Garda HQ to local stations has ground to a halt

At first, 80 were to be moved. Then 30. Now it’s hoped 5 will be redeployed.

OFFICERS BASED IN Garda Headquarters in the Phoenix Park are in a dispute with management over a plan to reassign them to stations across the country.

TheJournal.ie understands that as many as 80 sergeants were earmarked to be redeployed to stations to help shore up a large deficit of experienced gardaí in several districts.

A pay row at the more senior superintendent grade has led to a delay in the interview process to promote gardaí to the sergeant rank. As officers continue to retire, this has led to a shortage of sergeants at local stations.

Management has been attempting to reduce the deficit in garda sergeants by redeploying members carrying out specialist duties or middle management roles in HQ

It’s proposed they be moved out to stations and have their jobs filled by civilian employees. This, however, has been met with serious pushback from some officers.

At the start, 80 were officers were to be moved. That figure was later reduced to 30 by management – but nobody accepted the switch.

Management is now attempting to move around five people. The Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI), the body representing the sergeants in question, is liaising with management over the issue.

Many of the sergeants based in HQ work regular office hours. They don’t deal with the public, do not have to conduct their own investigations and are often the first to be chosen for promotion (some sources have described a lot, but not all of this work, as ‘cushy policing’).

There are, of course, important jobs based in HQ too – and the AGSI is aware that there are positions which should not be vacated by the sergeant currently in charge.

Many of the sergeants in HQ say they would need to be guaranteed additional training if they were to consider leaving for a normal station.

What do sergeants do? 

Middle-ranking gardaí like sergeants perform an integral role in the force as many of them train up new gardaí entering stations. Garda divisions are divided into sub-districts – many of which are led by sergeants, so a lack of personnel in this role effectively means a lack of leadership on the ground.

The lack of appointments has come about as superintendents have said they will not take on the task of interviewing gardaí for sergeant roles due to a pay dispute.

This was to have been the first year that superintendents were to conduct first round interviews for the promotions. Before this, all sergeant and inspector competitions were conducted by chief superintendents.

It is expected that chief superintendents will also decline to conduct sergeant-to-inspector promotion interviews. This move will mean significant delays in filling up to 300 vacancies for sergeants and inspectors.

Impasse

TheJournal.ie understands that discussions are ongoing with management and that it is hoped the issue will be resolved in the coming weeks.

Asked to comment on the apparent impasse, a spokesperson for the Garda Press Office said:

“The Acting Commissioner addressed the issue relating to the shortage of operational Sergeants at the recent AGSI and GRA Conferences. At those conferences, the Acting Commissioner said that this shortage was a matter of considerable concern to him.

“The Acting Commissioner said at that time that short-term measures were required to help alleviate this situation until the Garda to Sergeant competition, which is currently underway, was completed by the end of the summer. In addition, a competition for Inspectors is due to be completed by year end. Both of these competitions will significantly help in increasing front-line supervision.

“In the meantime, to alleviate the shortfall in Sergeants in the short-term, some Sergeants in administrative roles are being redeployed to operational duties. This process has begun. There will be consultation with those Sergeants to take into account their individual circumstances and relevant experience.

Training will be available to Sergeants as required.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:28 AM

Fantastic work by the guards. Some happy families in Ireland today once they are united with their loved ones.

Mute Norah Deay
    Favourite Norah Deay
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:18 PM

@James Fox: we need them out of Ashton Pound though – horrific place that it is. I hope the guards are keeping an eye to make sure that all the little mites that went in come back out again. Fair play to them though – they’ve really stepped up over this in recent weeks.

Mute Al Moore
    Favourite Al Moore
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:51 PM

@Norah Deay: Agreed. I brought a stray there a few years ago. He had mange, but was a friendly little fella. I told them that I would pay any and all veterinary bills and would home him if he wasn’t claimed. He was put down the following day. They never even bothered to contact me. Dogs trust should have been asked to take them.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:01 PM

@Al Moore: did u report this, they have no right to do this questions need to be asked who is running this place & why was a dog put down that somebody was prepared to take

Mute Al Moore
    Favourite Al Moore
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:15 PM

@Sheila McNulty: report it to who? Genuine question.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:16 PM

@Norah Deay: I read horrific posts on FB about that hole. Pity the gardai had to leave them there.

Mute Aideen Pollard
    Favourite Aideen Pollard
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:36 PM

@Al Moore: dogs trust send stray dogs to the pound too to do their stray time. They don’t take them all back

Mute kodomonster
    Favourite kodomonster
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:42 PM

@Al Moore: can you please report this to the CEO of DCC Chiefexecutive@dublincity.ie and your local council if not DCC – and also any councillors in your area – this is appalling.

Mute Davey Dwyer
    Favourite Davey Dwyer
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:29 AM

They should be charged with 32 counts of kidnap!! Hats of to the Gardaí outstanding work.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:38 AM

@Davey Dwyer: 0 arrests

Mute Don
    Favourite Don
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:02 PM

@Anne Feerick: ah Anne..you’re a gobsh!te

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Heffernan
    Favourite Tom Heffernan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:05 PM

@Anne Feerick: I take you don’t have a dog, and if you do, Lets hope it doesn’t go missing on you!

Mute Jo Clear
    Favourite Jo Clear
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:10 PM

@Anne Feerick: I think you need to get a grip yourself Anne….we’re supposed to be a civilised society.

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:10 PM

@Anne Feerick: Hope karma visits with what you’re due

Mute Simon Labong
    Favourite Simon Labong
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:18 PM

@Anne Feerick: Pity your parents weren’t neutered

Mute Kev
    Favourite Kev
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:23 PM

@Anne Feerick: Well that’s not true Anne.

Mute devotional
    Favourite devotional
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:31 PM

@Anne Feerick: narcissist thinking there

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:35 PM

@Anne Feerick: So Anne, how did that work out for you?

Mute marianne ryan
    Favourite marianne ryan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:50 PM

@Anne Feerick: it is possible to care about both. Don’t understand why some people always try to make it a competition

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:59 PM

@Anne Feerick: GS

Mute Mark Gough
    Favourite Mark Gough
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:06 PM

@Anne Feerick: ignorant response

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:21 PM

@Logan Shepherd: I’d say she like a dog now after all that dogs abuse…boom boom…;-)))

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:36 PM

@James Hayes: Haha .. Yeah James, sometimes it’s better to just think it :-)

Mute Garreth mc mahon
    Favourite Garreth mc mahon
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:39 PM

@Anne Feerick: at the very least it’s 32 counts of break and entry, unlawful entry of a premises and theft, 96 charges

Mute PΛÐÐY ЯOOПΣY
    Favourite PΛÐÐY ЯOOПΣY
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:49 PM

@Anne Feerick: I stolen dog may not be comparable to a kidnapped child but it is significantly more important then stolen possessions. You can replace a TV like for like but never a pet

Mute Aido
    Favourite Aido
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:07 PM

@Anne Feerick: You’re an absolute POS

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:09 PM

@James Hayes: Only out for Anne is a fulsome and profound apology …

Mute Miss T
    Favourite Miss T
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:23 PM

@Logan Shepherd: … or maybe an unreserved one? Wonder if the dognappers will use it too as a defence in court?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:46 PM

@Miss T: Wish the journal could delete them like Anne’s comment :-)

Mute Belter
    Favourite Belter
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:35 AM

Punishment for this needs to be severe…

Mute johnbrady
    Favourite johnbrady
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:33 PM

Pavee point remains silent

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:35 PM

@johnbrady: and will coz there gone to UK to pick up there UK benifits and sell some puppy’s

Mute Mindyourown
    Favourite Mindyourown

Taken To ‘Ashtown Pound ‘ or Ashton Pound ‘? From The Frying Pan into the Fire for these poor animals so.

Mute Gina Carroll
    Favourite Gina Carroll
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:32 AM

@Mindyourown: ya just read that…whats going on??

Mute Freda Hanratty
    Favourite Freda Hanratty
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:33 AM

@Mindyourown: I have to agree with you on that! Anywhere but there.

Mute Mindyourown
    Favourite Mindyourown
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:39 AM

@Gina Carroll: Google ‘Ashton Dog Pound ‘. Apparently currently under Garda Investigation for alleged Abuse!.

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:47 AM

@Mindyourown: Yeah i was wondering if that was a typo.Seriously…anywhere else.

Mute Norah Deay
    Favourite Norah Deay
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:20 PM

@Mindyourown: I know :-( I think we all need to keep a close eye on this situation

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:07 PM

Ashtown compound!!!!.
    This place is never out of the news for cruelty, unnecessary euthanasia of animals, misappropriation of funds.
    Those poor dogs would have stood a better chance with new families.
    Why would the dogs be handed over to them??.

Mute kodomonster
    Favourite kodomonster
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:44 PM

@Michael Clinton: it’s under investigation by Gardaí! Ironically

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:21 PM

I can’t be 100% but I know this area and I can guess who this was.

Mute Norah Deay
    Favourite Norah Deay
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:22 PM

@Patrick:can’t we all!

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:56 PM

@Patrick: I’d say it was probably the nursing home across the road from the traveller camp.

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:30 PM

@Longlin: :-)))

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:18 PM

@Longlin: lol

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:43 AM

Excellent Work

Mute Sandra Molloy
    Favourite Sandra Molloy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:13 PM

If Fianna Fail could put away the golf clubs & get this law changed asap:
    http://chng.it/6z6kpGrmvj

Mute Sara Davis
    Favourite Sara Davis
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:16 PM

Well done to the Gardaí and other agencies involved. Now the courts need to step up to the mark and lock these low lifes up for a decent stretch as well as seizing any assets they own which may well have come from their previous callous behaviour.

Mute Mal Swan
    Favourite Mal Swan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:08 PM

Brought to that skum hole of a pound. Might as well hit them over the head with a hammer now. Also what drugs are they on with their €120k estimate?

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:29 PM

Taken to Ashton Pound, poor dogs. I hope they get reunited with their owners soon.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:54 PM

Brilliant news now jail and conficate vehicles

Mute Felim O'Rourke
    Favourite Felim O'Rourke
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:40 PM

@Gerard Heery: confiscating vehicles would be an attack in their culture

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 4:41 PM

@Felim O’Rourke: and who wants a load of new white ranger overs

Mute Alison Morgan
    Favourite Alison Morgan

Certainly won’t be cared for in that hell hole.

Mute Jason Cody
    Favourite Jason Cody
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:32 PM

Ashton Pound ffs, talk about out of the frying pan and into the fire.

Mute Adrian O Reilly
    Favourite Adrian O Reilly
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:56 AM

Outstanding work. Commendations to everyone involved. Disgusting crime.

Mute Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Favourite Shamel Jelupi Barron
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:51 AM

Estimated value of 120 k I doubt it. its like the price they put on drugs when they cease them. That’s 3000 euro per dog you would get a pedagre bull for that.

Mute Tomás Barrett
    Favourite Tomás Barrett
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:17 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: orice if dogs have soared during the lockdown hence the rise in thefts, even a Jack Russell, which were given away for free in the past are worth €1,000.

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:19 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: you’re right. 300 euro per pup would sound more realistic. I’d say it’s a typo and should be €12,000

Mute Tomás Barrett
    Favourite Tomás Barrett

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: Dashhound pups are making £3,000 in England, which was mostly there destination as generally when dogs get stolen they become to hot to sell in Ireland.

Mute Norah Deay
    Favourite Norah Deay
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:22 PM

@Mick Murphy: my sister paid 300 for a Cavachon at the beginning of lockdown. A few weeks later they were selling for 1,500! The main reason behind the theft of dogs

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:23 PM

@Mick Murphy: Have a look at the prices being paid for dogs in England. That figure may not be far off. Of course it’s potential worth, dependant on getting top price for them.

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:44 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: I paid 1800 UK pounds for my little one

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:48 PM

@Shamel Jelupi Barron: according to the Garda Facebook page the Dog Wardens valued the dogs not the Gardai.

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Aug 23rd 2020, 4:26 PM

@BriP75: Why?

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:08 PM

@Tony Donoghue: coz she is cute and was not stolen by a man in a caravan

Mute Robert Beatty
    Favourite Robert Beatty
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:14 PM

Its a sad world we live in when dogs have a street value

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:44 PM

Ashtown pound ???? Out of the frying pan into the fire. Hope they get reunited shortly for the dogs sake.

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson

Great work. I wonder who took these dogs?

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:31 PM

@Robbie Farquharson:
    You wouldn’t want to be Einstein to figure that out…..

Mute Robbie Farquharson
    Favourite Robbie Farquharson

@Joe Toner: We must be thinking the same thing so!

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:33 PM

@Joe Toner:
    *have

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:34 PM

@Joe Toner:
    Oh we are Robbie.. We are!

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:41 PM

Some positive news and good policing for a change. Hopefully the culprits involved will be brought to justice

Mute Gavin Power
    Favourite Gavin Power
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:20 PM

Google the address, Street fights, stolen Power tools, stolen dogs

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:58 PM

Money money money again boils my blood why dont these crooks get real job stealing dogs wat next like nothing surprises me absolutely nothing anymore cruel world

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:26 PM

A film comes to mind
    You Like Dags?
    Snatch, Yeah…. I Like Dogs

Mute Jason Cody
    Favourite Jason Cody

Ashton Pound!! Talk about out of the frying pan and into the fire.

Mute Woods PJ
    Favourite Woods PJ
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:21 PM

@Jason Cody: spot on Jason horrific place.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 1:50 PM

BRILLIANT NEWS

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:58 PM

Please get them out of Ashtown pound today. OMG 24 daschunds!!! The poor pets please god their owners will collect them today.

Mute Siobhan Rosemary
    Favourite Siobhan Rosemary
    Aug 23rd 2020, 4:39 PM

Brilliant news!! Delighted to hear their owners will be reunited with their babies very soon. The punishment for stealing pets should be no different to kidnapping a child. They are apart of a family, living breathing. Shame on anyone for stealing a family member for money, get a real, respectable job!

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    Aug 23rd 2020, 4:24 PM

I wonder did a traveller tip off the garda, I believe there is a traveller group housing scheme in the area so someone might have spotted some dodgy visitors

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:06 PM

@Tony Donoghue: why would they rat on them self’s
    Need to be put out of there

Mute Woods PJ
    Favourite Woods PJ
    Aug 23rd 2020, 2:20 PM

Ffs they will be slaughtered in that devils pound.
    Owners hurry!

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:55 PM

Well done to the Gardai. Now please don’t stop there. Many more stolen dogs out there waiting to be rescued. Just don’t bring them to Ashton Pound, they deserve better than that, after all they have been through. The Law needs to be changed so that the pigs who stole them are locked up and their property confiscated – caravans are fetc a good price at the moment.

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:11 PM

out of the frying pan and into the fire comes to mind. keep an eye on them poor little fur babies

Mute kodomonster
    Favourite kodomonster
    Aug 23rd 2020, 8:32 PM

Well done. But the sheer irony, that Gardaí have that very dog pound under investigation (as do the Dept of Agriculture) – it is beyond belief that that they are using this place to keep dogs safe, pending the investigation re Dolethal. Wow.

Mute James Coyle
    Favourite James Coyle
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:46 AM

Thanks u hub

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Aug 23rd 2020, 6:14 PM

Good job Guards, well done to all.

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Aug 23rd 2020, 12:26 PM

A film comes to mind
    You Like Dags?
    Snatch, Yeah…. I Like Dogs

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 23rd 2020, 7:07 PM

@John Keane: I like dags
    Ya wana buy a caravan

Mute James Coyle
    Favourite James Coyle
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:48 AM

Thanks u hub you use n

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Aug 23rd 2020, 11:36 AM

0 arrests?