You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope Francis waves as he arrives for his weekly general audience in St. Peter's Square in the Vatican City yesterday. SIPA USA/PA Images

Garda crime operations scaled back in west Dublin in bid to save funds for Pope visit

There are fears that the cuts will create a more dangerous work environment for officers.

SPECIAL GARDA OPERATIONS targeting gangs and violent criminals in some parts of the capital have had their overtime stopped in a bid to save money for the papal visit later this summer, TheJournal.ie has learned.

In the last 48 hours, Garda units based in west Dublin have been told that local crime operations cannot be done while on overtime. Gardaí must now carry out these activities as part of their normal tours of duty.

These activities include surveillance operations targeting criminals, as well as community outreach programmes designed to reduce anti-social behaviour in certain areas.

Many of these operations take place during overtime hours as it is often the case that gardaí do not have enough time to carry out all of their core duties, as well as other specialised tasks, in their normal working day.

Well-placed sources said that the growing bill for the papal visit is one of the main reasons the overtime budget has been drastically curtailed. So far this year, the garda budget has gone over its estimates by €12 million.

Senior gardaí have been ordered to brief their members about the changes and to reject all requests for overtime until they are informed otherwise.

There is a separate budget for Operation Hybrid – a specialised garda task force targeting the workings of the Kinahan crime gang. These patrols will continue but, according to a circular sent to senior gardaí, “it is essential that this budget is not exceeded in any way”.

There will still be provisions for overtime under Operation Thor which targets burglary gangs operating nationwide.

Sources have explained that certain special operations were the only thing keeping a lid on the activities of violent groups in the west Dublin area.

Prior to their introduction, serious public order incidents were the norm and gardaí were routinely injured in rammings and assaults. It is feared that the same communities will now left exposed to criminal gangs again. 

The Phoenix Park is based in the Dublin Metropolitan Region West. It is hoped that any savings made in the garda region in the coming months will offset the high cost of protecting the pope and spectators at the event.

The visit

Pope Francis is expected to arrive into Ireland on August 24. He is scheduled to say Mass at the Phoenix Park a day later. He is attending the World Meeting of Families which is being held in Dublin between 21 and 25 August. The pontiff is also expected to visit Knock in Co Mayo.

Hundreds of uniformed members will be deployed around the Phoenix Park – many to assist public order units ,with others helping stewards to keep the event safe and to avoid any crushes or bottlenecks.

However, there will also be a large number of specialist units around the park on the day. These will include armed gardaí, bomb sniffer dogs as well as snipers. Members of the Emergency Response Unit will also carry out their own security detail for the Pope while he is in Ireland. Members of the Defence Forces will also be carrying out security details.

The Vatican will also bring its own security team.

90295807_90295807 The Papal Cross in the Phoenix Park. Wanderley Massafelli Wanderley Massafelli

An Garda Síochána is once again dealing with a serious cash flow problem and units across the country and local garda management have been ordered to cut back on non-essential policing operations in the coming months.

We reported earlier this month that overtime is to be capped across the country.

A new directive released to gardaí stated that overtime is to be strictly restricted to budget in a bid to stem costs.

The first five months of 2018 saw such work run over-budget in the force by nearly €12 million.

“Each district, division, and region must take measures to ensure that no overtime is approved which will exceed the relevant budgetary allocation in that roster,” a memo from the Garda executive states.

Gardaí refused to be drawn on claims the restrictions were being imposed to free up money to police events later in the year.

However, a spokesman said gardaí are satisfied with current resourcing levels.

A statement read: “Local Garda Management closely monitors the allocation of Garda personnel in the context of crime trends, policing needs and other operational strategies in place on a District, Divisional and Regional level, to ensure optimum use is made of Garda resources, and the best possible Garda service is provided to the public.

“Senior Garda Management is satisfied that a comprehensive policing service continues to be delivered and that current structures in place meet the requirement to deliver an effective and efficient policing service to the community. Garda management is provided with an annual budget and must work within that budget. The budget is kept under constant review by local and senior Garda Management. An Garda Síochána will maintain the current level of service provided to our communities.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

161 Comments
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 31st 2018, 12:09 AM

If this is true it’s a disgrace

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:35 AM

@bmul:
    These garda cutbacks were mentioned months ago. Somebody’s just stirring up anti Catholic sentiment with this odious slant on government failure.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 31st 2018, 12:38 AM

@Jack McGready: well I don’t want to Pay towards his visit .

See 38 more replies ▾
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 31st 2018, 12:40 AM

@Steve1234: please show where I made that statement

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:42 AM

@bmul:
    ‘I don’t want to pay towards his visit’
    My advice then:
    Suck it up and stop whingeing.

Mute Steve1234
    Favourite Steve1234
    May 31st 2018, 12:47 AM

@Jack McGready: Who should pay for abortions?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 31st 2018, 12:50 AM

@Steve1234: was there a referendum on the pope’s visit that clearly established it as the will of the majority?

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:51 AM

@Steve1234:
    Please
    I’m having a spiritual discussion here.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 31st 2018, 12:53 AM

@Jack McGready: your getting confused I know I said I don’t want to pay for the popes visit that’s not the question I asked .

Mute Steve1234
    Favourite Steve1234

@Jack McGready: Sorry was meant to reply to bmul

Mute Steve1234
    Favourite Steve1234
    May 31st 2018, 12:54 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: Nope but almost 80% described themselves as Catholic in the last census.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 31st 2018, 12:55 AM

@Jack McGready: I made a one line statement hardly whingeing when compared to you since Saturday .

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:55 AM

@Dave O Keeffe:
    78.3% of the population identified as Catholic on the last census Dave.
    Believe me, you don’t want that referendum. Just find something else to do for the duration of the Pope’s visit and avoid a perpetual state of triggerment.
    Alternatively:
    BRING IT ON BABY.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:57 AM

@Steve1234:
    LOL! Dave wants a referendum on the Pope’s visit to a Catholic country?
    Don’t think he’s thought that one through.

Mute Steve1234
    Favourite Steve1234
    May 31st 2018, 1:01 AM

@bmul: Who should pay for abortions?

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    May 31st 2018, 1:58 AM

@Jack McGready: They didn’t identify as Catholic on the census, they ticked a box espousing to which religion they adhere to. Catholicism in Ireland is on the way out, thankfully.

Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    May 31st 2018, 2:27 AM

@Steve1234: ‘Who should pay for abortions?’

Hi Steve, in answer to your question.
    According to the UN & World Health Organisation, restricting access to safe healthcare including abortion is in itself a violation of a woman’s human rights.
    As abortion is deemed to be healthcare, then this procedure should be made available on the Public Healthcare System & also should be covered under Private Healthcare Insurance, such as VHI, Aviva, Laya, etc, etc.
    Ergo, access to safe abortion services on the Public Healthcare System should be financed through General Taxation, just like every other medical procedure currently available on the Public Healthcare System.

In short, you, I & everyone else on our fair Isle should pay for safe abortion services.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 31st 2018, 4:06 AM

@Jack McGready and Steve: would you care to point out where I stated my preference? I was just pointing out that the comparison is a bit silly as one has a very clearly established mandate and the other has a questionable number. In fact didn’t 66% of the population go against the church on the issue of abortion?

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    May 31st 2018, 6:22 AM

@Jack McGready: Spiritual discussion. Do you actually think that’s what you’re having.

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    May 31st 2018, 6:24 AM

@Steve1234: That’s because you can’t leave. It’s literally an organisation that is forcing us to remain members.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    May 31st 2018, 6:52 AM

@bmul:

I don’t want my taxes to go towards a lot of things either, but tough, that’s life.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 31st 2018, 7:20 AM

@Steve1234: The Church. From the funds they made selling babies and doing medical experiments.

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    May 31st 2018, 7:47 AM

@Jack McGready: 78% catholic, yeah? Are there 78% of the population in churches on a Sunday? No. Did 78% vote the way the RCC told them to last week? No.
    Those are the real stats rather than which box people ticked on a multiple choice form.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    May 31st 2018, 7:50 AM

@bmul: don’t worry. Surely God will keep the under-policed areas safe.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 8:10 AM

@bmul: I don’t like ed sheeran, the rolling stones, the gaa, soccer, horse racing, the st paddy’s day parade, garth brooks, rugby, presidents , elections and referendums, the electric picnic, in fact large crowds and visitng dignitaries make me nervous. …why should I have to pay for security at these and hundreds of other large gatherings ?

Mute Toki Wartooth
    Favourite Toki Wartooth
    May 31st 2018, 8:34 AM

@Steve1234: you with your taxes

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    May 31st 2018, 8:43 AM

@Jack McGready: And out of that percentage, 0.3% believe in the horse manure that’s called a deity and the same 0.3% go to mass.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 8:46 AM

@Pseud O’Nym: 74% coming out of the polls declared themselves as Catholic. They delivered a Yes vote to the nation. You should thank them.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    May 31st 2018, 9:09 AM

@Steve1234: You Steve, you should pay for all the abortions

Mute An bhearna
    Favourite An bhearna
    May 31st 2018, 9:10 AM

@Jerriko17: The GAA, IRFU, FAI and concert promoters pay for the policing operation for their events. The RCC should do the same.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 9:24 AM

@An bhearna: did the Queen, Mandela and Obama pay for theirs. We’re talking about heads of state here not Mick Jagger.

Mute Alan Carmody
    Favourite Alan Carmody

@Steve1234: I think it’s time you and your ilk get the boat, your time is over

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 9:30 AM

@An bhearna: And the church is no different. …it will contribute. .. That’s the point. …it should be treated the same as any other big event or visit.

Mute Scottyal
    Favourite Scottyal
    May 31st 2018, 9:35 AM

@bmul: The Vatican should fund this visit

Mute Sean O Sullivan
    Favourite Sean O Sullivan
    May 31st 2018, 9:41 AM

@Jack McGready: how in this day and age can anyone be pro catholic?

Mute Loretta stiletto
    Favourite Loretta stiletto
    May 31st 2018, 9:46 AM

@Steve1234: stupid question . where is peoples choice in the pope visiting Ireland. No one asked me if i wanted him to visit and pay for his security. I dont care if he visits or not its his Choice.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    May 31st 2018, 9:56 AM

@Dave O Keeffe: Nice one Dave. That put Steve back in his box.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    May 31st 2018, 9:59 AM

@Jack McGready: This ‘Catholic’ country voted overwhelming in favour of repealing the 8th amendment. Abortion is something the RCC condemns. I think that speaks louder than a census form.

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    May 31st 2018, 12:05 PM

@Jack McGready: it’s an absolute disgrace. Preventing good policing to help a criminal organization

Mute Clare McLaughlin
    Favourite Clare McLaughlin
    May 31st 2018, 5:18 PM

@Jerriko17: You don’t, the majority of the bill for these events are picked up by the event organisers and can usually be a nice bonus pay gig for the Gardaí. Given how poorly they are being treated on pay these gigs are much needed as opposed to covering this visit which is going to shortchange the Gardaí and communities desperately in need of Gardaí services. Hence the church/catholics of Ireland should pay for the visit. Separate church and state.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 10:27 PM

@Clare McLaughlin: So Ed Sherrin the Stones GAA matches the queen’s visit didn’t impinge on Garda resources…give me a break ! The state should provide security for all theses events with a contribution from the organisers…that’s the way things are..the Pope’s visit is no different. If we’re going to start pandering to lobby groups on every event and visit we’ll have no one visiting us because there will always be objectors .

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    May 31st 2018, 12:19 AM

Is the pope really that dangerous?

Mute EDun
    Favourite EDun
    May 31st 2018, 12:51 AM

@Larry Doyle: yep, who knew?

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    May 31st 2018, 7:54 AM

@Larry Doyle: article is just trying to get people worked up and cause anger and bigotry as always towards people of difference.

British Queen had security paid for my state
    American presidents had security paid for by state.
    Chinese and other state visits covered by the state

The same numptys who give out about st Patrick’s day parades and government ministers going around the world are giving out again and miss the point of the value in tourism and other benefits from a major visit like this covered by world media.

Mute John McQuaid
    Favourite John McQuaid

@Larry Doyle: Dangerous views certainly. Let’s hope he doesn’t mock Irish survivors of child abuse like he did in Chile recently when he started roaring aggressively at them on camera calling them liars. https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jan/19/pope-francis-victims-church-sexual-abuse-slander-chile

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 8:13 AM

@Greg Kelly: spot on

Mute Francis Glynn
    Favourite Francis Glynn
    May 31st 2018, 12:29 AM

The pope can well afford to pay the gardai.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:31 AM

@Francis Glynn:
    So can the government but don’t let that deter you from having a pop at the Pope.

Mute EDun
    Favourite EDun

@Jack McGready: we’re running a 900 million annual deficit. So no, we can’t afford it. The money could be better spent elsewhere.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 1:02 AM

@EDun:
    Maybe the government could force large corporations like Apple to pay their fair share of tax then and the country would be sorted out in no time.
    Blaming the Pope for our self imposed economic woes is ridiculous.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    May 31st 2018, 2:05 AM

@Francis Glynn: I’m pretty sure I’d be told to do one if I tried to hire Gardai and take them off the beat somewhere else..

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    May 31st 2018, 5:00 AM

@Jack McGready: you really aren’t good at economic are you?

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    May 31st 2018, 6:57 AM
    Mute O'Boyle Darragh
    Favourite O'Boyle Darragh
    May 31st 2018, 7:49 AM

@Jack McGready: The government could force large cults like the RCC Ltd to pay tax.

Mute Audrey
    Favourite Audrey
    May 31st 2018, 7:58 AM

@Jack McGready: have you ever visited the Vatican the wealth and splendour is unbelievable, they are a very wealthy organisation . There is something wrong about It, the church should pay for any costs for his visit.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    May 31st 2018, 8:00 AM

@Francis Glynn:
    So can American Presidents.

Mute Bearded Grump
    Favourite Bearded Grump
    May 31st 2018, 8:13 AM

@Aine O Connor: But we get trade from American presidents. What do we get from the pope?

Mute Toki Wartooth
    Favourite Toki Wartooth
    May 31st 2018, 8:37 AM

@Audrey: and when the disgusting wealth of the Vatican is brought forward, Catholics suffer from a serious lack of answers… respect to the priests and missionaries helping overseas and here…this Pope business and his lot…joke

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 8:55 AM

@Francis Glynn: so can ed sheeran, the stones, the gaa., Trump….etc….. etc. Cop on !

Mute Rob Lyn
    Favourite Rob Lyn
    May 31st 2018, 10:26 AM

@Bearded Grump: you get very little from the Pope but the Catholic church here runs and owns many of the schools and charities in this state. Personally I think they should not and they should give up the majority of these things i.e. the state should run them. However that would cost the state money it does not want to provide and in general when a church is not providing one of these services it is not the state that provides it but some other charity because just in case you haven’t noticed we are a neo-liberal country that like paying the private sector to deliver state services in general.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    May 31st 2018, 10:39 AM

@Audrey:

It’s called hospitality.
    The Vatican is also a state, like any other state, they have wealth. If the King or Prince of Saudi(super wealthy), was due to visit, or any other state leader, would you have them pay their way too?

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    May 31st 2018, 12:29 AM

It has already been mentioned but why does the taxpayer have to foot the cost of this papal visit. It should be limited to the same cost as a regular state visit and anything else above that should be covered by the Vatican, it’s not like they are short of a few quid. Is there any ROI for the visit that you might get with a normal state visit that has the potential for trade deals. Finally have they released figures for the full cost to the state and if so how can it be justified considering the many crises we currently face.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 12:41 AM

@Eddie O’Neill:
    The benefits to the economy of this visit are astronomical, incalculable, inestimable.
    Tourism Ireland will be beside themselves. And that’s just money.
    What about the spiritual benefits?
    Transcendent is the only way to describe it.
    Thanks for chipping in. Sit back now and watch the benefits accrue.

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    May 31st 2018, 3:54 AM

@Eddie O’Neill: While agree with you, as the Pope is indeed the head of a recognised state (The Vatican folks), it just so happens that this Head of State is umpteen times more important than, per say, the President of Vietnam – what’s his name… anyone? … Anyone? Hence the increase in soending required. What irks me us why there isn’t enough in the coffers to cover EVERY internatinal state visit. It’s as if our Government wants to blame the Catholic Church for their incompetency when it comes to managing the Foreign Affairs accounts.

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    May 31st 2018, 5:22 AM

@Martin Flood: why did you have to drag Tran Dai Quang into this. It has nothing to do with him.

Mute Toki Wartooth
    Favourite Toki Wartooth
    May 31st 2018, 8:47 AM

@Jack McGready: hahahaha! You have to laugh….

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    May 31st 2018, 1:29 PM

@Jack McGready: seriously. I hope my sarcasm filters having an off day

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 31st 2018, 8:13 PM

@Jack McGready: spiritual benefits? Please elaborate? The Ecumenical Congress called, Jack. Your Catholic Time Machine dropped you in the wrong century. Again.

Mute Ken Byrne
    Favourite Ken Byrne
    May 31st 2018, 12:12 AM

Another father Ted episode….

Mute RMcG
    Favourite RMcG
    May 31st 2018, 1:12 AM

So from what I’ve heard, correct me if I’m misinformed but apparently it costs €38 to register interest in seeing the pope, 50 ppl from each parish will be chosen and those who aren’t chosen will just lose their €38. Surely this money should be used to pay for his visit or where are these registration fees going?

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    May 31st 2018, 7:38 AM

@RMcG: coke and hookers

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    May 31st 2018, 12:35 PM

@Stephen Devlin: Click Hate Bait. Again Yawn….

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    May 31st 2018, 3:38 PM

@RMcG: Unless all the people interested are just going to turn up anyway, and that’s why they need to take Gardaí off their duties for crowd control?

Mute MaxDemons
    Favourite MaxDemons
    May 31st 2018, 12:11 AM

Criminals should go to confession, problem sorted.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    May 31st 2018, 1:13 AM

Now here we go again , Criminals to be given a free run to unsure that money is available to police the Papal visit. Is the Catholic Hierarchy still running this State? Now time to get our priorities right here, fight Crime or do a PR job for TV. Where do we stand ?

Mute Cos Sullivan
    Favourite Cos Sullivan

The church should pay.

Mute pearse
    Favourite pearse
    May 31st 2018, 12:18 AM

First of all fire whoever set the budget as obviously they have no idea if they are over budget that much already. And second, nothing like giving criminals a heads up

Mute Steven Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Steven Fitzpatrick
    May 31st 2018, 12:46 PM

@pearse: are you talking about the pope, or the church as a whole?

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    May 31st 2018, 12:48 AM

Well they’re the organised crime unit aren’t they? Makes sense that they’d keep an eye on the Godfather while he’s here. Should also bring him in for questioning.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    May 31st 2018, 1:08 AM

Looking forward to the Atheist Ireland Meltdown.
    Should be entertaining.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 31st 2018, 7:31 AM

@Jack McGready: Molten metal dripping off your dried-banana-skin-fueled offerings, Jack. But keep them going. You cannot believe the favours people like you have bestowed on people like me. Thanks buddy. Truly sterling work. I don’t mind his coming. But really, why do we have to pay anything for him?

Mute O'Boyle Darragh
    Favourite O'Boyle Darragh
    May 31st 2018, 6:39 AM

So people might lose their lives so we can save money to facilitate the visit of the leader of a cult?
    Tax the RCC Ltd and all other cults.

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    May 31st 2018, 12:26 AM

Irish soldiers were summoned to help Gardai to search the field where the body of young man Cameron Reilly was found so where are the Gardai when It was supposed it was their jobs to search etc

Mute John Swan
    Favourite John Swan
    May 31st 2018, 3:23 AM

@Thosj Carroll: the defence forces regularly aid the civil power, what are you moaning about.

Mute Martin Gordon
    Favourite Martin Gordon
    May 31st 2018, 9:36 AM

@Thosj Carroll: stupid comment

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    May 31st 2018, 10:59 AM

@Thosj Carroll: Saying that crime only/mostly happens in West Dublin is damaging to that area.

Mute Cranky
    Favourite Cranky

Are the top commissioners on performance bonuses Or incentives? The Gardai on the beat are wasting their time showing up for work when the ethos is all about the money. Taxpayers would prefer to have their safety out first not the popes.

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    May 31st 2018, 7:26 AM

Would all the ultra Catholic amadáin and óinsigh on here just rent a field and meet him yourselves. I’m sure the Healy-Raes will cut ye a good deal on the rent of said field. We should not be paying a penny. Let the Catholic Church first pay their abuse bills.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 8:48 AM

@Ian Phillip Creaner: 78% of the nation are Catholic. Should we not have abortion because 66% of us voted for it? Think about it.

Mute Niall O'Neill
    Favourite Niall O'Neill
    May 31st 2018, 9:26 AM

@El Diego: Baptised Catholics, they don’t follow the religion! Your churches are crumbling from crashing attendances!

Mute Weldoninhio
    Favourite Weldoninhio
    May 31st 2018, 9:54 AM

@El Diego: According to certain bishops and priest, those that voted Yes are not catholics. So work that out.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 2:44 PM

@Niall O’Neill: My churches? Ha I’m agnostic. If people don’t consider themselves Catholic why state that they are. Almost 80% of this country is Catholic so presumably have no problem with the Pope’s visit as much as that might seem to annoy the small bigoted cohort of angry atheists.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 2:46 PM

@Weldoninhio: I believe the Catholic hierarchy stated that they had sinned and must go to confession. But sure everyone sins. May he who is without sin cast the first stone and all of that.

Mute Olive Gray Kelly
    Favourite Olive Gray Kelly
    May 31st 2018, 6:17 AM

For a minute there I thought it might be April 1st…if this is the case it’s appalling…if can think of better ways to spend 20 million

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    May 31st 2018, 12:21 AM

Makes you wonder about God’s protection. With all the yes voters and criminals heading to confession..surely garda supervision will be need to control the the crowds. Sweet Jesus (pardon the pun) what a nation of fools we are.

Mute Beale GAA
    Favourite Beale GAA
    May 31st 2018, 7:28 AM

The journal need to Fact Check their own story. This is completely made up and just another attempt at this so called news agency to stir up advertising by appealing to usual anti-church people who will click and share the story all day long.

And even if it were true then people didn’t complain much when Obama visited Ireland and we had to pay for much of his security. He has caused a lot more damage in the world and is responsible for a lot more death than most visitors to this country.

May 31st 2018, 8:16 AM

It appears the gardai and hence the gov can’t afford the popes visit, but they can afford 110 billion for their 2040 plan, and 5 million for Leo’s strategic comms unit, and 180 million for gov advertising and promotion, and plenty money for themselves and their own, over valued, political pensions and expenses!

May 31st 2018, 9:07 AM

They talking about wisely spending the state finances. This is not that!

Mute Salah & Chips
    Favourite Salah & Chips

We might not be coming back next time. They say Pope Francis does a good long mass. Three hours he does, on a good night. That’s value for money!

Mute Mark o' Leary
    Favourite Mark o' Leary
    May 31st 2018, 12:36 AM

I think it’s time our politicians help us in our “Quiet Revolution”!

Mute Tim The Bear
    Favourite Tim The Bear
    May 31st 2018, 1:01 AM

I give up.

Mute Mark Gearey
    Favourite Mark Gearey
    May 31st 2018, 8:00 AM

Why can’t the church be billed for this. Don’t other private events sometimes pay for the extra policing they require. I always assumed that was the case and gigs and such. And if they don’t want to pay then they shouldn’t be allowed take over and possibly damage a beautiful public park.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 8:56 AM

@Mark Gearey: did Queen Elizabeth pay for her visit, Mandela, Obama….? This visit will generate millions for the economy and worldwide coverage that will benefit our tourism industry in the coming years. Have the angry atheists nothing better to be moaning about? Clearly the garda budget is being mismanaged in the first place, that’s the real problem.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 9:46 AM

@Mark Gearey: who says they are not being billed ? They’ll be treated the same as any other big event. Or maybe you know of some secret power they have over the state….it’s 2018 not 1938.

Mute Liam Rogers
    Favourite Liam Rogers
    May 31st 2018, 7:05 AM

Who wants to see the pope any way? Isnt one of his top lads in court for smuggling kids into the Vatican

Mute the Goose
    Favourite the Goose
    May 31st 2018, 2:12 AM

As if the pope’s visit is not gonna generate huge amounts of money for the economy..but we can’t police it without falling behind on other policing .this is bullsxxt . and our boys and girls in Leinster HSE should explain why both can’t be done to the people of Ireland

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 8:18 AM

@the Goose: you’d be surprised how many people are visiting here from overseas because of this visit….all spending $€£…great for tourism

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    May 31st 2018, 8:11 AM

As someone who has several family members in the Gardai who are working hard and putting their lives in danger to protect the public I can assure you that this article is FAKE NEWS and every time the Journal publishes this type of rubbish the usual suspects fall for it hook line and sinker .

Mute Clinton Daly
    Favourite Clinton Daly
    May 31st 2018, 1:07 AM

Is it also a possibility it’s “fake news” to tease those in the underworld out of their burrows

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 6:23 AM

Cut overtime for crime to honour ireland’s history of abuse and paedophilia.
    What a backwards little hole we live in.

Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    May 31st 2018, 7:42 AM

@Trevor Hayden:

I think you mistake Christianity with Islam, Christianity doesn’t promote Pedophilia through it’s doctrine, as for Islam, just look into the life of Mo.
    Now the Pedos and Sadists that abused children in this country over the decades, well they’re not true Christians now are they, No true Christian would dare commit such sick acts, IMO these degenerate Human beings should be locked up and the keys thrown away.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden

@Native: Christianity, Islam, call it whatever you like, priests and nuns abused children and they are representatives of the Vatican

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Native
    Favourite Native
    May 31st 2018, 8:30 AM

@Trevor Hayden:

They should face the consequences and pay reparations etc, the Sadists and Pedos should be punished both by the Vatican and the State, but Christian doctrine does not promote their actions and crimes in any way, their actions undermined Christianity, you wouldn’t know as you’re not a Christian.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 8:38 AM

@Native: So why should we welcome the leader of the Vatican to Ireland?
    Until such time as the paedophile and redress is rectified, any representative of the Vatican should not be welcomed.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 8:50 AM

@Trevor Hayden: sports coaches, teachers, TV personalties….abused kids too. Should we shut down all of these areas too?

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 9:02 AM

@El Diego: At least these have been jailed.
    In comparison to the amount of clergy that have served time, its miniscule.

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 9:10 AM

@Trevor Hayden: any stats to back that up? Regardless, you haven’t answered my question.

Mute Weldoninhio
    Favourite Weldoninhio

@Native: “Christianity doesn’t promote Pedophilia through it’s doctrine” – it does through its actions though. Monkey see, monkey do.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17

@Trevor Hayden: check the stats….most abuse is committed by family members and close associates of the family…..a small minority is clerical. Very little of the crime you’re so concerned about is anything to do with the Pope or the church. We’re supposed to be a progressive society. .1st out of the blocks for marriage equality etc. Why can’t we ditch the begrudgery, live and let live and let those who want to welcome the Pope do so.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 10:13 AM

@El Diego: and jerlcho, is protection of the public not first and foremost.
    And no sports clubs and facilities should not be closed, but the perpetrators should be jailed.
    The church or Vatican should not be prioritized over the publics safety.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 11:44 AM

@Trevor Hayden: are you for real ? The Pope or Vatican aren’t getting this money ! It is for public safety !! 10s of thousndads of Irish TAXPAYING citizens descending on Phoenix Park are entitled to it as anyone else.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 12:40 PM

@Jerriko17: I never stated they were getting any money but the crime stats can go through the roof once the overtime hours are there for the papal visit?
    WOW, every day of the year is April fools day in Ireland, and we tolerate it.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 2:23 PM

@Trevor Hayden: is your birthday 1st of April ? Didn’t know that crime stats went through the roof when the Queen visited ? Or Clinton? Or the All Ireland …etc etc.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 3:05 PM

@Jerriko17: It would really help if you read the article.
    In the run up to the visit, overtime will be limited so hours can be used for the visit.
    About 6 weeks until the visit so no overtime until then.
    The queen, Clinton, what are you on about Jerriko?

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 3:57 PM

@Trevor Hayden: So this is the 1st time overtime has been cut because of budgets ? The problem is the budget, 6not the visit ! Every event…the queen & Clinton visit and all the hundreds of others cost extra in security….this is no different ! What do you want to do , ban all foreign dignitaries from visiting ? Let’s ban MichaelD from promoting our country abroad too ! I want to live in an open tolerant society not a closed narrow minded one.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 4:06 PM

@Jerriko17: Now your talking sense, scrap the presidency, a mere figurehead, similar to the royal family, maybe then we will not be discussing budgetary problems for policing, or other events.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 4:39 PM

@Trevor Hayden: Haha….me agreeing with you.. .you nearly had me there !! And replace it with what ? Leo or MaryLou or Micheál Martin or whoever the Taoiseach is has enough to be doing here. Not many countries without a head of state & our presidents esp the female ones and MichaelD have served us well.
    Agree with you re royal families. …totally outdated….at least our president is elected.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    May 31st 2018, 4:44 PM

@Jerriko17: Elected to waste taxpayer money and live in a 95 room mansion, we unfortunately voted to keep the Seanad, I wonder if a vote on the retention of the presidency would be as successful?

Mute David Quigley
    Favourite David Quigley
    May 31st 2018, 6:28 AM

The really disappointing part about this is that they want him to visit the inner city to help with the gang feud. Perhaps spending the money in the correct place would be a better use of funds.

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    May 31st 2018, 8:11 AM

West Dublin is the last place to be making cuts. I live there. You never see a guard on the beat. Seldom a squad car. Gangs of marauding young fellas looking for trouble. Burglaries. Come on ffs

Mute John Cronin
    Favourite John Cronin
    May 31st 2018, 7:43 AM

The journal prints a lot of crap now .the overtime situation with the gardai .has been going on for years .

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 8:52 AM

@John Cronin: yeah but it’s a good chance to get a kick in at the RCC. Atheist Ireland and the socialists are on a roll following the party at the castle last weekend. Time to start stoking the fires for the next crusade.

Mute Niall O'Neill
    Favourite Niall O'Neill
    May 31st 2018, 9:35 AM

@El Diego: sprinkle some holy water on them then?

Mute El Diego
    Favourite El Diego
    May 31st 2018, 2:48 PM

@Niall O’Neill: I’m agnostic Niall. You should probably check these things before you start coming out with bigoted comments about the church and it’s followers.

Mute Loretta stiletto
    Favourite Loretta stiletto
    May 31st 2018, 9:17 AM

Let the catholic church pay for his visit if they want him here they have plenty of money. I dont see why the taxpayer should pay .

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    May 31st 2018, 8:17 AM

So if we can’t afford to build local authority housing where did we find the money for this pointless bunfight?

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    May 31st 2018, 7:40 AM

Ireland;where EVERY day is April fools day

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    May 31st 2018, 9:11 AM

Why are we paying this cost , charge the church f f s

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan

Silly me, I thought the cult would pay for their own security!
    I had assumed that when the Pope was writing the cheque for the 1.2 billion they owe us, he’d add a few quid for security. And sure maybe he will!

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    May 31st 2018, 3:35 AM

Good to know

Mute leartius
    Favourite leartius
    May 31st 2018, 12:08 PM

Although I would not attend myself, I do see how a popes visit would be important to Irish Catholics. I would even donate myself because its only right that I respect those with different views.
    Even after all the suffering that the church and state has inflicted for almost 10 generations we must rise above our bitterness. Its only a few days visit, that would cost less in security if violence at demonstrations could be avoided.
    We are a open, kind and cultured nation. who seek justice for even the poorest in our society. But our past were church and state colluded to remove women’s constitutional rights, sell their babies and turn them into slaves due to there sins against the catholic church cannot be rewritten. Our own people are as much to blame as the current pope.
    Pope Francis cannot even admit that gay priests exist and live in his Vatican city. They church has two many rotten layers for most people to even care anymore.
    We must move on and build a better Ireland where peoples faith is private and state funds benefits everyone.
    Garda overtime is a disgrace, instead of cutting overtime for front line staff. overtime wasted by Gardaí standing around courthouses could be reduced but most garda rely on overtime to keep a family above the bread line.

Mute Elaine McSweeney
    Favourite Elaine McSweeney
    May 31st 2018, 1:43 PM

Thought a Waterford Whispers writer was helping out at the Journal when I read that headline

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    May 31st 2018, 12:08 PM

I do not want my taxes to pay for this visit

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    May 31st 2018, 8:49 AM

“well placed sources”! hah. I know a few of them…curtain shakers!

Mute Theodora Lament
    Favourite Theodora Lament
    May 31st 2018, 8:14 AM

That will not stop us wearing our #Pope Francis Wilson tee shirts…
    .and that’s not mabbee!!!!!

Mute Natalie May
    Favourite Natalie May
    May 31st 2018, 2:21 PM

So residents of west Dublin will suffer the consequences of inadequate Garda presence in order for the head of the Catholic Church to visit? Oh, Ireland. Who on earth makes these decisions?

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 4:21 PM

@Natalie May: Sorry to inform you. …the residents of Dublin west are already suffering the lack of a Garda presence. Get a grip…the problem is the Garda budget not the Pope’s visit. The church through the VdeP etc. are doing unsung trojan work in Dublin west.
    & we elect governments to make these decisions. I wonder were you on here whinging about the Queens visit ?

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    May 31st 2018, 6:23 PM

Thisis just popeulist nonsense.

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    May 31st 2018, 1:26 PM

like flies to sh*t!

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    May 31st 2018, 4:01 PM

@Missyb211: are you talking about this article attracting all the fundamentalist anti religion keyboard warriors ?