Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Simon Harris to extend emergency Garda powers until 18 May

The health minister said he would sign the updated regulations tonight.

HEALTH MINISTER SIMON Harris this evening said he will sign an updated version of  regulations which give gardaí the powers to enforce Covid-19 distancing measures.

The powers will now extend until 18 May. 

Speaking to reporters at Government Buildings this evening where the roadmap for the lifting of restrictions was announced, he said the regulations will ensure the gardaí can carry on with their duties until the end of the two-week extension to the current restrictions. 

Earlier today, the Taoiseach announced the current restrictions would remain in place until the 18 May, however some tweaks were made. 

The over-70s will be able to leave their homes for exercise now, and the general public will be able to move within a 5km radius of their home, instead of 2km. The new measures kick in on 5 May.

“I think it’s appropriate that we continue to have ability for An Garda Síochana to enforce these public health measures, but they’ll continue to do so in a manner that I think, has been quite excellent to date,” said Harris. 

The expanded power of the gardaí first kicked in on 7 April. The powers can see people fined €2,500 or face up to six months in jail if they fail to adhere to public health guidelines during the Covid-19 outbreak.

In the emergency legislation which enables these powers, it says: 

A member of the Garda Síochána who suspects, with reasonable cause, that a person is contravening or has contravened a provision of a regulation made under subsection (1) that is stated to be a penal provision, may, for the purposes of ensuring compliance with the regulation, direct the person to take such steps as the member considers necessary to comply with the provision.

In other words, if people are gathering in groups outdoors, not social distancing or leaving the house when they shouldn’t under the present guidelines, gardaí can direct them to comply with these restrictions.

A full explainer of the powers can be found here

Oversight

Earlier this week, the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission (IHREC) said that “more information is required to assess whether these new powers are being exercised proportionately and whether they are being implemented in line with human rights and equality principles”.

“The Commission believes that more detailed data is required to consider how the implementation of this legislation is impacting people in different sectors of society.”

The IHREC also called for parliamentary oversight on the implementation of the emergency legislation, either through a dedicated Oireachtas committee or an Oireachtas justice committee.  

Junior Minister John Halligan also raised concerns about the powers recently, stating that a more “even-handed approach to policing during the Covid-19 outbreak” was needed. He also raised concerns about the treatment of protesters taking part in a demonstration outside Debenhams.

On Thursday, Garda Ombudsman (Gsoc) said it had received more than 70 complaints from members of the public about an aspect of enforcement of Covid-19 restrictions.

One in three of the complaints alleged gardaí were not observing social distancing or were not using gloves and/or masks.

On Tuesday Garda Commissioner Drew Harris revealed gardaí have invoked their emergency pandemic enforcement powers 76 times since they came into effect on 8 April.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

51 Comments
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 2nd 2020, 12:28 AM

So much for living in a democracy!

Mute JarryWasNotInTheRA
    Favourite JarryWasNotInTheRA
    May 2nd 2020, 12:56 AM

@Paul Mc: We do…our elected representatives passed these laws…try keep up.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    May 2nd 2020, 1:01 AM

@JarryWasNotInTheRA: Well, Some of them…

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    May 2nd 2020, 1:06 AM

@ Paul Mc: whatever about it’s legitimacy the health minister signing off on a Garda sounds v haphazard.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 2nd 2020, 4:22 AM

@Pauliebhoy: yes all of them

Mute Trevor
    Favourite Trevor
    May 2nd 2020, 5:39 AM

@JarryWasNotInTheRA: Shane Ross Catherine Zapone and others are not elected

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 2nd 2020, 7:12 AM

@Trevor: yes they were elected

Mute EFitz66
    Favourite EFitz66
    May 2nd 2020, 7:14 AM

@Trevor: yes they were They are ministers until the the Taoiseach replaces them. Leo is the Taoiseach until the Dail votes to replace him
    This is all allowed for in the constitution

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 2nd 2020, 9:31 AM

@Peter McGlynn: I’d imagine since the reason for the extension is under his remit that he should be involved.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    May 2nd 2020, 1:16 AM

Well it is a comment section and to be fair thats all I do is comment ! I want to say in my oppinion for what it’s worth the polititions on this Island as a rule are full of bull,its the people who are working in nursing homes, hospitals and shops who are the people who deserve the highest praise not bags of wind ie political oppurtunists.

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    May 2nd 2020, 1:39 AM

@Paul Mc: well said my might say.

Mute Dave Phelan
    Favourite Dave Phelan
    May 2nd 2020, 6:39 AM

@Paul Mc: ffs don’t trot out the same old rubbish about all politicians. As far as I see it , in weird dreadful circumstances they are playing a blinder. Yes! In hindsight some things might have Been done differently but overall the government is doing a great job. Our hospital and essential workers are amazing. We are trying to pull together in this , so , really , is you negativity really necessary.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    May 2nd 2020, 7:31 AM

@Dave Phelan: I would disagree that they’ve done a great job but they’ve gotten some key pieces right. I do wish that the NPHET would come up with some of their own ideas though. Seems like they just copy other countries and do whatever WHO says

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 2nd 2020, 9:33 AM

@Aidan: yeah, how dare they take the advice of an international body of experts with access to far more data than them.

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne
    May 2nd 2020, 1:13 AM

Why is the minister for health minister signing the form not the minister for justice?

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    May 2nd 2020, 2:23 AM

@Pj Browne: keep up

Mute ruairi
    Favourite ruairi
    May 2nd 2020, 10:12 AM

@Pj Browne: Minister Flanagan is too busy for announcements; he’s putting the final touches on a ceremony (NOT celebration!) to commemorate the Coronavirus- ya know, as an acknowledgment of the historical importance the pathogen has played in our society.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 2nd 2020, 12:54 PM

@Pj Browne: becaise a pandemic is a health issue.

Mute Anna Duggan
    Favourite Anna Duggan
    May 2nd 2020, 7:12 AM

How can people so easily give away their freedom and succumb to a police state? It’s a human right not be imprisoned in your own home, work, go wherever you want and meet friends/family. What happened to ‘my body my choice’?

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    May 2nd 2020, 7:28 AM

@Anna Duggan: I’d usually agree but it’s not just your body in this case. This virus is lethal and very contagious and most people who have it don’t know for a week or two, so people flouting the rules are endangering others.

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    May 2nd 2020, 7:38 AM

@Anna Duggan: What a selfish thing to say.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 2nd 2020, 7:39 AM

@Anna Duggan: our country comes first, very selfish comment.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    May 2nd 2020, 8:03 AM

@Anna Duggan: except it’s not your body your choice. Your body can infect and kill another body right now so keep your body indoors. No choice.

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    May 2nd 2020, 8:17 AM

@Anna Duggan: I suggest you go live in a real police state.

Mute Anne Wedell Seerup
    Favourite Anne Wedell Seerup
    May 2nd 2020, 8:47 AM

I agree with you 100%. They have so many deep seated fears around health and survival though that they can’t see clearly. People totally rely on external information and (medical) authority for anything. It has been going that way for a while, so people have almost no intuition, insight or inner power.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    May 2nd 2020, 8:59 AM

@Anna Duggan: where does it say you aren’t allowed leave your home ?

Mute Andy Royle
    Favourite Andy Royle
    May 2nd 2020, 9:01 AM

@Anna Duggan: What an enlightened, well thought out comment. Your right to be able to get out with your friends is clearly higher in your mind than your obligations as a citizen not to pass on a deadly virus than could kill your granny.

Nice.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    May 2nd 2020, 9:20 AM

@Anne Wedell Seerup:
    Nonsense.
    People have always had need for ‘external authority’ to find out about things they know little or nothing about.
    Peoples ‘intuition and insight’ had them avoid those infected and isolate either the sick or themselves since time began.

Mute Anne Wedell Seerup
    May 2nd 2020, 9:45 AM

It will take a paradigm shift and a 1000 lifetimes for you to understand what I mean. I am sure some people will understand what I meant, so I will count on them.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    May 2nd 2020, 10:59 AM

@Anne Wedell Seerup: You wouldn’t be an antivaxer by any chance. Bet you won’t be volunteering to work in a hospital though, even with your super inner power

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    May 2nd 2020, 1:42 PM

@Anna Duggan: You are a prime whinger. No one is imprisoned in their home and you know it, or you are more stupid than your comment.

Mute Anne Wedell Seerup
    May 2nd 2020, 2:08 PM

@Pablo: Why categorise people with labels, or put words in their mouths? What do you know about what I do or think? What purpose does your attack serve?

Mute Self Employed Anarchist
    Favourite Self Employed Anarchist
    May 2nd 2020, 12:27 AM

It would probably work better if they were enforced ?
    Soft touch not working.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    May 2nd 2020, 12:52 AM

@Self Employed Anarchist: how do you mean not working , the numbers in icu continues to decline as does the infection rates and the R0 number – not working how – ya mean you don’t like the look of it when people want to get out and move around within the restricted boundries because they somehow arent fitting into your BS view of the world – read the articles – all the levels of activity have dropped -sufficiently to make the impact required to stop the health system from being overwhelmed – that means they are working – it’s not 1930s Nazi Germany FFS

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    May 2nd 2020, 1:03 AM

@Dave Hammond: anarchist by name, certainly by nature.

Mute Jeannie Laing
    Favourite Jeannie Laing
    May 2nd 2020, 6:08 AM

@Dave Hammond: I’ve been cocooning, for 11wks..I’m beginning to seize up.i need exercise..
    When will this all end, so fed up.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 2nd 2020, 7:38 AM

@Jeannie Laing: go for a walk

Mute Derek glynn
    Favourite Derek glynn
    May 2nd 2020, 12:28 PM

@Self Employed Anarchist: the guards are enforcing them but there very selective where there enforcing them

Mute Nurse on call
    Favourite Nurse on call
    May 2nd 2020, 1:29 AM

3 Scenarios following the first wave of COVID-19 in spring 2020:

Scenario 1: a series of repetitive smaller waves that occur through the summer and then consistently over a 1-to 2-year period, gradually diminishing sometime in 2021
    Scenario 2: a larger wave in the fall or winter of 2020 and one or more smaller subsequent waves in 2021
    Scenario 3: a “slow burn” of ongoing transmission and case occurrence, but without a clear wave pattern.
    Whichever scenario the pandemic follows (assuming at least some level of ongoing mitigation measures), we must be prepared for at least another 18 to 24 months of significant COVID-19 activity

Mute cian
    Favourite cian
    May 2nd 2020, 8:31 AM

And on the 18th of May it will be extended until the 8th Of June and then extended again and again…

Mute Anne Wedell Seerup
    May 2nd 2020, 8:50 AM

Yes until we are all broke…the matrix has collapsed.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    May 2nd 2020, 9:20 AM

No comments from Garda comissioner , maybe hes happily living up in his homeland .

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 2nd 2020, 6:43 AM

Where is Charlie Flanagan is he not in charge of the Gaurds

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 2nd 2020, 7:40 AM

@pat seery: are you serious