You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda Barker has stood down from duty

Gardai say he ‘handed in his leash and badge before heading home’.

Updated 15:40. 

ANOTHER ADORABLE ANIMAL was handed into gardaí after being found alone this week.

This time the puppy was handed into Ballymun Garda Station where the officers gave him the temporary name of “Garda Barker”.

His owner has now picked him up with gardai reporting that he ‘handed in his leash and badge before heading home’.

This is not the first adorable animal that has been handed into the gardaí this year – not by a long shot.

In April there was this guy:

While gardaí in Blanchardstown called this pup Jeff back in February:

And in January, a cat made itself comfortable in Finglas station:

Read: Gardaí are looking for information on these ‘quack addicts’ they have in custody>

Read: Puppies, pugs and birds stolen from Kerry pet farm>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Josephine Carroll
    Favourite Josephine Carroll
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:18 PM

Benji….he looks like a benji to me…hes adorable

Mute fergal ohagan
    Favourite fergal ohagan
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:24 PM

I can smell the benji off him from here!

Mute Khaos Komputing
    Favourite Khaos Komputing
    Jun 5th 2015, 8:41 PM

I don’t think you fully understand what a link is….

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:41 PM

For the year that’s in it- CHEWIE

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:28 PM

Note to Gardaí in Cork ….
    Lads ring Finglas Gardai there – they have a spare cat …might solve the rat problem for ye and save the State a fortune !
    Rats are very expensive creatures when they chew wires and stuff !

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:34 PM

Call him lemon skunk. And claim he has a street value of €100,000

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:17 PM

Brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!! Or maybe just call him hashish and say he’s 100 per cent pure when in fact he’s a mixed !!!!!

Kian
    Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:50 PM

Can I have them all?

Mute Kerry Templar
    Favourite Kerry Templar
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:18 PM

Have you a Chinese takeaway or something?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:06 PM

How about Denis? The dog will have no scruples about shitting all over Ireland either.

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:03 PM

Would be a insult to the nice dog

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:59 PM

For the year that’s in it Breda

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:55 PM

Is this the surprise finale to “Red Rock”?

Mute Sarah S
    Favourite Sarah S
    Jun 5th 2015, 1:55 PM

Nidge

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:27 PM

Butt nugget .

Mute Robyn Morton
    Favourite Robyn Morton
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:41 PM

Only Garda? Seriously, should at least be Assistant Commissioner Barker!

Mute Elaine Moriarty
    Favourite Elaine Moriarty
    Jun 5th 2015, 8:34 PM

Looks like my little yorkie, they are characters alright and certainly do know how to bark :)

Mute David Carino
    Favourite David Carino
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:25 PM

Get off the bleedin couch .. No ?

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 5th 2015, 3:23 PM

Blatter or john probably ? With Garda christening dogs and giving people escort to do exams what’s next I wonder ?

Mute anfearbocht
    Favourite anfearbocht
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:59 PM

Aren’t you glad you live In reland?

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:17 PM

Fudge

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:14 PM
    FlyB
    Mute FlyB
    Favourite FlyB
    Jun 5th 2015, 4:12 PM

Integrity Ireland. What a bunch of ambulance blocking morons!!

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 5th 2015, 5:40 PM

the cops – what a bunch of pig ignorant legaleses …
    we can play this game all day !

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jun 5th 2015, 2:41 PM

Smigglels