You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Is your area getting one of the 'Class of 2015' graduate gardaí?

Where are the new recruits going?

THE 99 NEW gardaí who graduated from Templemore in April have been assigned to stations around the country, where they will continue their training as part of the force’s radically overhauled training scheme.

It’s six years since the last batch of graduates left the Tipperary institution to take up duties at local stations.

New Garda Recruits Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

So where are the new recruits going?

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald revealed the locations, in answer to a parliamentary question from Fine Gael TD Sean Kyne.

Here’s the breakdown of where they’re being sent:

Dublin

Dun Laoghaire: 5
Ballymun: 5
Store Street: 5
Tallaght: 5
Pearse Street: 5
Blanchardstown: 5

Cork 

Cork City: 5

Limerick

Henry Street: 5

Galway 

Galway:

Rest of Ireland

Ennis, Clare: 5

Drogheda: 5

Portlaoise: 5

Navan: 5

Thurles: 5

Naas, Kildare: 5

Letterkenny: 5

Tralee: 5

Castlebar: 5

Waterford: 4

Wexford: 5

The government has sanctioned two further intakes of 125 Garda recruits later this year, bringing the total number of new recruits to 550 by the end of 2015.

According to the Minister:

On attestation they will be assigned to Garda stations throughout the country by the Garda Commissioner taking account of crime trends and policing priorities so as to ensure the best possible use is made of these resources.

Read: Think this TheJournal.ie staffer would make a good garda? Here’s 35 reasons why not…

Read: Inside Ireland’s Police Academy: Here’s what the new batch of Garda recruits will be facing…

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

50 Comments
    Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:41 AM

They can send either of them two in the photo to Ballinamore, we’ll keep an eye on them.

Jul 11th 2015, 9:44 AM

They need new blood. Best of luck kids.

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:20 AM

Like, is this totally your vehicle like.

Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:26 AM

I for one believe that thos two Gardai will live a happier lives than other gardai because men will do whatever they ask

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Jul 11th 2015, 12:46 PM

Cos they’ll be f*** all use on the streets of Ballymun…

Mute karl kenny
    Favourite karl kenny
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:58 AM

somebody in the department of justice has ocd with the number 5!

Mute Mad Hatter
    Favourite Mad Hatter
    Jul 11th 2015, 1:26 PM

5 Garda units. One Garda recruit to each unit would explain the fascination with the number 5.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Jul 11th 2015, 2:00 PM

A week on The beat in ballymun will soon wipe those smiles away.good luck to them they’re going to need it.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:43 AM

Well those two,can handcuff me anytime they like.

Mute foxyfonz
    Favourite foxyfonz
    Jul 11th 2015, 11:37 AM

I’d like to take down their particulars.

Mute Seán De Búrca
    Favourite Seán De Búrca
    Jul 11th 2015, 2:39 PM

The one on the left looks like a bit of a plank if you ask me. I’d say she wouldn’t know her asp from her elbow.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:06 AM

Nice gentle posting for the lucky 5 who got Dun Laoghaire.
    This is not going to be a popular statement but the Gardai have lost effectiveness by being overly feminised. The force is gender balanced in accordance with political correctness but then has to counter criminality, often violent that is 90% male. They have no credibility on the street. If you are getting the head kicked off you by a bunch of thugs, who do you want to arrive? A pair of strong agressive GAA type Gardai or two Barbai?
    But as everyone here keeps saying….. Ahhh sure aren’t they lovely!!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Jul 11th 2015, 11:43 AM

For once David your not talking Shite!

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 11th 2015, 2:32 PM

The force is not gender balanced, there are far more male gardaí than female. The size of the garda is of little consequence nowadays as practically everyone knows how hamstrung they’ve become by the system. There’s no deterrent coming from the courts so the gouger knows he’s little chance of being locked up, even if he assaults the garda. The ombudsman is only too keen to prosecute gardaí on the flimsiest of cases so if the garda does anything to the gouger he ends up in bother, regardless of the justification. If the garda does have to get physical with the gougers, the world & his wife whips out the camera phone in order to capture the ‘police brutality’ and he or she ends up in a clickbait article here with the do-gooder mob baying for their blood.

Lugs Brannigan himself could rise from the grave to go back on the beat and it would make no difference, ‘society’ doesn’t want that sort of policing anymore.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 11th 2015, 11:34 PM

The majority of those recruited are still male, the gender balance isn’t going to change soon. That vast majority of the time, you don’t get the luxury of deciding who gets to deal with an incident; whoever is available gets sent.

Mute Jennie
    Favourite Jennie
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:39 AM

ah the guards are going to look mad young now…

Mute West Cork Lad
    Favourite West Cork Lad
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:46 AM

She has a smile that could take away the pain,as she sprays the pepper spray into your eyes .

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:21 AM

all the best to all of them, I hope they blend with the area and build good relationship with the public.

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:29 AM

Congratulations to you @mdmak33…..you’ve won Miss World.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:36 AM

There was a time when the big tall guard was feared by kids in an area…not anymore. If you are going to have young small guards patrolling the streets then arm then fur gods sake…even a Batton or taser

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 11th 2015, 2:35 PM

They’ve always had batons & pepper spray has been issued for a few years now. There was a time when you got good jail time for assaulting a garda; now you’ll get feck all & can make a complaint against the garda for looking at you sideways, with no comeback if it turns out you were lying. Why would you fear them?

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:49 AM

Jaysus Bán Gardaí didn’t used to look like that. Saw a young Ban Garda last year – fully made up with lipstick on while working – thought it strange.

Mute Caitríona O'neill
    Favourite Caitríona O'neill
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:57 AM

ban gardi you can be arrested for that now!

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:59 AM

I’m hoping the two in photos are in the online unit.

Jul 11th 2015, 9:57 AM

Sgt.Yates you sexist dinosaur!

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:44 AM

There are no Ban Gardai anymore. There are Gatdai who get maternity leave and Gardai who don’t get maternity leave.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:58 AM

Nice.

Mute Martin Harte
    Favourite Martin Harte
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:10 AM

Those five Garda gone to Portlaoise would be better off in Portarlington! that way with the officers that are already here the station could open 24/7. at the moment Port might as well not have a Garda station it’s open 9 a.m to 1 p.m then open from 8 p.m to 9 p.m outside those hours you have to ring Portlaoise guards to come over by the time they get here you could have robbed five shops and get a clean getaway

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:40 AM

New guards should be assigned to big stations first to learn the ropes.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Jul 11th 2015, 10:04 AM

Doesn’t matter how many or where they’re allocated. Two weeks in their new stations and they’ll be indoctrinated into the lazy, slovenly ways of their senior colleagues.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:08 AM

Class2015. Started.training this year?collect 5 packets.of crisps.and become a garda ha

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Jul 11th 2015, 3:09 PM

God you’re hilarious altogether. Any other good ones there for us?

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jul 11th 2015, 3:55 PM

Loads Marty

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Jul 11th 2015, 5:23 PM

Class of refers to when you graduate. Everyday is a school day.

Mute Shane Goodwin
    Favourite Shane Goodwin
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:43 AM

Looks like some one in Garda HQ done a lot of research to where the garda were needed the most.Then got there phone out Garda dived by stations = 5 with Waterford getting the short straw

Mute Has-an
    Favourite Has-an
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:24 AM

hmm beautiful faces, wouldn’t mind to get arrested :P

Jul 11th 2015, 9:58 AM

There is no crime in Roscommon then? Where is our hero Fearless Frank Feighan? I hear hes a stand in on the Conor McGregor fight!

Mute Louise Donnellon
    Favourite Louise Donnellon
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:49 AM

So Carlow is grand no need for guards no crime here? ? ?

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Jul 11th 2015, 12:29 PM

The Garda on the left would make a great stripper if a career in the guards doesn’t work out for her. Not sure about the one on the right though.

Mute Kevin Denny
    Favourite Kevin Denny
    Jul 11th 2015, 1:25 PM

One can always rely on some dick to demean women.

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Jul 11th 2015, 2:37 PM

If you prefer male strippers then that’s fine I won’t hold it against you.

Mute Claire
    Favourite Claire
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:56 AM

The figures are incorrect.

Mute baz newham
    Favourite baz newham
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:01 AM

Count again Claire

Mute Claire
    Favourite Claire
    Jul 11th 2015, 9:03 AM

It’s not the number in total, it’s the allocation.

Mute foxyfonz
    Favourite foxyfonz
    Jul 11th 2015, 11:37 AM

County Claire.

Mute keano
    Favourite keano
    Jul 12th 2015, 10:43 AM

Simple yet Brilliant !

Mute twooggy
    Favourite twooggy
    Jul 11th 2015, 3:57 PM

Aren’t they lovely in their little hats!

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jul 11th 2015, 8:46 PM

More prisons needed as the Gardai are simply chasing the same people around every day, such a waste of their time. More prisons with longer sentences needed in order for the decent people of Ireland to feel safe in their homes. SF would let the existing prison population out tomorrow as they are soft on crime – they don’t have a problem with child abuse or elderly people being beaten up as they have members who have a history of the same crimes.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jul 12th 2015, 2:22 AM

Mindfilirish
    You need a mind flush as your brain is full of sh&t

Mute Paul Duffy
    Favourite Paul Duffy
    Jul 11th 2015, 11:23 AM

Can either of them see over the steering wheel in the police car ???