You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Gardaí question 38 people suspected of purchasing sexual services

Gardaí conducted a number of targeted operations across the country last week.

GARDAÍ ARE PREPARING a number of files for the Director of Public Prosecutions after  a number of operations across the country last week targeting the purchase of sexual services.

Over the course of last week, gardaí conducted intelligence-led operations in Dublin, Kilkenny, Carlow, Cork city, Kerry, Galway and Donegal, in both rural and urban areas.

Gardaí said the purpose of the operations was to enforce legislation which criminalises the purchase of sexual services.

The Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act 2017 criminalises the purchase of sexual services and the soliciting or purchasing of sex from a trafficked person.

Gardaí stopped and spoke to 38 people who were suspected of having purchased sexual services. They said a number of files will now be prepared for the DPP, with a view to establishing if any criminal prosecution should be initiated.

These days of action were coordinated by the ‘Operation Quest’ team at the Garda National Protective Services Bureau, in liaison with local detective units.

They were scheduled to coincide with an EMPACT (European multidisciplinary platform against criminal threats) week of action targeting sexual exploitation

“This operation reinforces An Garda Síochána’s commitment to target the demand for prostitution and to protect vulnerable persons, including victims of human trafficking involved in prostitution,” An Garda Síochána said today.

“This is the second national operation targeting the demand for prostitution in 2019 and further operations are planned.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

120 Comments
    Mute IrishFreeSpeechParty
    Favourite IrishFreeSpeechParty
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:08 AM

Don’t understand why this is criminalized. If we drive this underground, again this can then be exploited by the crime gangs, and makes the oldest profession in the world (as they say!) highly unsafe for the workers. We will take decades to catch up to the fact that making these things illegal drives them underground, and they are things you can’t stop anyway, even if you wanted to. I mean how on earth can we stop people providing these services? And ethically I don’t see a problem with a consensual exchange between two grown adults.

Sep 27th 2019, 10:10 AM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: *I note the “trafficked persons” part of this article. And that is indeed sad and should not be happening. But this fact further proves my point, how are they being trafficked so easily? If this was a semi-regulated industry, perhaps a safety mechanism could be part of this where Women (and some Men) could come forward without fear of reprisals.

Mute Michael Geraghty Bodycoach
    Favourite Michael Geraghty Bodycoach
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:22 AM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: I remember a previous article on the journal that said there are (and dont quote me) roughly 600 – 800 sex workers at any time. They spoke to 38 people buying sex in a week. Say a sex worker has 3 clients a day on average (I have no idea what the average would be, just assuming). And there are 700 workers, that’s 2100 men per day. 14700 men per week. Seems like a pointless exercise really unless it’s all just for media attention to please the holy Joe’s that they are doing something.

See 43 more replies ▾
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:08 AM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: That’s exactly it Michael! I mean even if the numbers where low, how can the prove anything if they wanted to prosecute? You would literally need to stake out a brothel or something and catch Men coming out of the place! The ultimate irony is, it’s the gangs who are profiting from this, and that contributes to real and serious crime that the Gardai actually do have to deal with.

Mute Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:19 AM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: there is an election around the corner after all and this would go down well with the grey vote and my Bible bashing parents.

Sep 27th 2019, 11:23 AM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: yup, it’s just a media sideshow without really trying to fix the issue. It’s easy just to say “criminalise it” to keep the bible bashers happy. How about helping these women who choose to do it and protect the potentially trafficked women by licensing it, regulating it and taxing it, everyone can be safe and happy and drive the criminals away.

Mute Gerry Quinn
    Favourite Gerry Quinn
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:53 AM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: I would assume the continual harping on ‘trafficked persons’ is mainly propaganda aimed at supporting the current legislative model.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Favourite Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:23 PM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: a lot of these ladies have been trafficked from Eastern Europe and have family at home who may be under threat from the criminal gangs running them in Ireland. The women cannot come forward to Irish authorities as it’s not what happens here that they’re worried about but what’s at home. If you legalize it that’s grand but these slaves will still be here to accommodate all the different “tastes” in clients. They are not shouting rape cos they cannot and will be used and abused until they are of no use anymore. Maybe in your world it’s all consensual and lovely but really it’s mainly people who are down on their luck being exploited by men with money and a sense of privilege most prostitutes will end up on drugs just to get by. But hey it’s all good

Sep 27th 2019, 12:35 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: what does criminalizing the purchasing of sex achieve to eliminate sex trafficking from eastern europe?

Sep 27th 2019, 12:41 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: so keep things the same, right? If you decriminalise, you have at least a system of some accountability and safety for Women. Secondly you will have more garda resources to spend their time on illegitimate operations where the shady stuff is happening. So you don’t actually help anything by maintaining what we already have, the trafficking will continue. Another point is that illegality creates a stigma around the Women who actually might come forward. Dont believe me? Okay well then look at the times when homosexuality was illegal in the states, and the mafias had them extorted to high heavens, because the Gay community felt they were better with the Mafia, over being in prison.

2shy
    Mute 2shy
    Favourite 2shy
    Sep 27th 2019, 1:29 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: it places the blame where it belongs. On the shoulders of people who think it’s ok to rent a human body for their own pleasure without the tedium of caring for the person who is being bought and sold. Each “john” should be placed on a list of offenders.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 1:31 PM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: maybe read my post again I said if you legalize it grand. But it won’t get rid of the underground trade as you seem to be suggesting. There will still be people trafficking for the sex trade. Legalizing will help but the vast majority of the problems will remain. Do you honestly think that the people running these ladies are gonna head down to the tax office to register for usc prsi and income tax……… Really ??? Even in countries where it’s legal there’s a huge underground trade and it’s built on exploitation of males females and kids. How do you propose to prevent that ??? The people running this trade are criminals. Very few brothels are self run coop business because girls need protection. Why would girls need protection??

Sep 27th 2019, 2:02 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: cigarettes are legal, people still sell black market cigarettes. What ratio of smokers smoke legal cigarettes over black market?

Sep 27th 2019, 2:08 PM

@2shy: you’re assuming all prostitutes are being forced to do this job. They are not. I am 100% behind stopping human trafficking and modern day slavery, but this will not work. Would you rather just arrest punters a few times a week while continuing to let traffickers traffick people, or would you rather reduce the amount of trafficking by letting the people that want to do this work do it safely which will make it easier to spot unregistered trafficked people, which in turn would make it easier to track and arrest the traffickers themselves, while reducing the market for them to make money off exploiting and forcing women to have sex for money and getting them hooked on drugs. I say it’s a damn good thing you are not making any decisions on this subject.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: seriously !! You’re comparing prostitution with selling fags ??? Btw a huge amount of illegal tobacco is sold in Ireland every day Does that make the exploitation of the most vulnerable of society ok ??

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:23 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: Well said.

Sep 27th 2019, 2:26 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: that’s not my comparison. My point was that you said making it legal wont stop underground trade. So I compared your point to black market cigarettes. Smoking is legal, people still sell black market cigarettes, but the market is much smaller. If selling cigarettes was illegal the black market trade would thrive. Today human trafficking is thriving. Your solution is illogical and damaging to these victims. If you’re trying to pull some PC point out of my statement to suit your agenda to try make me seem less human and without a care for these poor people, I think you should do a better job at picking your points. Youd be fantastic on fox news. All the talk of how it is bad for people to be trafficked etc can be made and I doubt anyone will disagree with it.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:44 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: I don’t have an agenda at all I cannot understand how anyone would think it ok to exploit the most vulnerable in society. I never mentioned cigarettes but your point on that should have been if you would encourage anyone to take up smoking in the first place. You said that legalizing it would have people safe and happy in an earlier post. Do you think anyone is happy working in the sex trade. How many girls set out in school at 16 or 17 with the idea of being a prostitute. Would you encourage your own daughter to go into it if it was made legal andj if not why not ?? Whether legal or not it’s the mass exploitation and rape of vulnerable women and if you’re ok to legalize that then that’s up to you. Remember it’s the buyers who are criminalized not the sellers

Sep 27th 2019, 2:56 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: ok, first of all, you do understand not every prostitute is forced into it. I saw a clip on primetime (I believe) where an independant lady was choosing to work and was making between €500 – €5000 per day off business men and loved her work. That’s not rape as you put it. That’s consensual trade. I agree that forced prostitution is a horrible thing, 100%. But what I would like to know is what your solution is to the issue, and please dont say criminalise it. We already know that it wont work. Same with drugs, same with prohibition. It makes things worse. So please, what’s your solution to fix human trafficking???

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 3:57 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: ah yes you one example of how lovely and safe it is out of how many cases. Would you encourage anyone to do it for a living I note you didn’t answer that. If it’s legalized to purchase do you think that’ll stop the abuses that happen in the vast majority of cases. My answer would be identify these men and women who are forced to sell themselves and give them the help they need to get out of the trade. Do you think the majority willingly go into the sex trade as a lifestyle choice. I’d say most are forced into it by poverty and or addiction problems so perhaps we should start there. You probably know that if it’s legal to do something then the bounds will be pushed further and further and more abuses happen.

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:09 PM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: there is also an ” erection” around the corner.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:12 PM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: But it’s not two grown adults consenting to sex, it’s one grown adult consenting and the other is having to do it to pay the bills; or has been trafficked; or is a child. The word exploitation is in the Act for a reason.

Sep 27th 2019, 4:20 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: Thats irrelevant what I would and wouldnt encourage someone to do with their life. Its their life. What Im talking about is your black and white view on what prostitution is. Legalising it will not stop abuses happening, but it will drastically reduce them and make the job safer for the ladies that choose to do that job. Like most of us, we are forced to work. Does everyone love what they do, hell no. Does the prostitute that chooses to do it also have the choice to get a job working in a fast food place, a shop, a petrol station etc, yes they do. The choose prostitution because the money is better for them. I think you have this view that all working ladies have a needle in their arm, or work on the streets. I really think you are clutching at straws here simply because of your morals rather than thinking of it logically. I get you dont like it. Im not a fan of it, but looking at it from the outside I can see what the benefit is to make it safer for everyone.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:33 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: How do you know criminalisation won’t work? Have you heard of the Nordic model and how successful it has been in Scandinavia? You’re asking for something illegal to be made legal to suit who exactly, the buyer or the seller.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:37 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: Firstly, you’re a man, and 99% of those prostituted are women, so I don’t think you are entitled to be spouting nonsense about the exploitation of women. Secondly, legalisation does not make the women safer, it actually emboldens the client to even worse demands and violence as has been seen in Germany.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:48 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: nothing to do with my morals at all if you think it’s ok to buy someone then that’s up to you. I’ve seen it from the workers view and it’s a desperate situation for most of them. You are trying to paint it as a normal job like in a filling station when you know it’s not you won’t answer my question as to if you’d encourage someone to take it up because you know you probably wouldn’t. Most working women and men don’t want to do it. Most men buying are exploiting them. Whether it’s made legal or not you cannot dress it up as anything else you use the example of prohibition and legalizing drugs as law that doesn’t work well people still drink and drive and speed but if we didn’t have laws against them then a lot more people would be doing it.

Mute AffordableLeather
    Favourite AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:24 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: Please note that sex works want *decriminalisation* not “legalisation”

A legalised system effectively turns the government and police into pimps who tell sex workers how, when and where they can work.

It restricts sex work to those who are willing to hand over their identification information to the authorities and pay to register for licences to be allowed to do sex work.

It also paves the way for sex workers to be exploited by police who can threaten to take them in because their paperwork “isn’t in order” unless the sex worker gives them a freebie…

Decriminalisation (such as they have in New Zealand and New South Wales) gives sex workers the same rights and protections as any other workers.

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:28 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: ” Would you encourage your own daughter to go into it if it was made legal andj if not why not ?? ”

If my daughter (or son, or anyone else who is a *consenting adult*) CHOOSES to go into sex work (or any other work) I would want to know that, if they had any problems, they would be able to go to the police and be treated with respect and sympathy, rather than “you’re a prostitute, what do you expect? It’s part of the job…”

Criminalising buyers actually makes sex workers less safe because it is much more difficult for them to screen out potentially dangerous clients before things go to far.

Not only that, but it gives the power *to* the clients because it’s only the ones who are less caring about breaking the law who are likely to see sex workers, so can demand cheaper prices or extra services that the sex worker wouldn’t want to provide, but may have little choice if they want to pay their rent for the week…

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 27th 2019, 6:46 PM

@AffordableLeather: if you were paying attention you would know that it’s not the sex workers who are being criminalized as it’s not an offense to sell sex. The criminal aspect is the person buying and therefore exploiting the sex worker or the pimp running them. A sex worker who goes to the gardai with a complaint will be listened to and the complaint recorded and dealt with properly

Sep 27th 2019, 7:49 PM

@VMKilshaw: So thats what the issue is, youre a feminist, and because im a man I cannot express my opinion on womens rights? Well guess what chicken, just for you heres a fact. There are male prostitutes too, there are female punters also, but you only care about the women and not the people. What about the young men made to do slave labour around the world. You dont think of that, simply because youre a feminist, any only care about human rights, not people rights. I believe that people should be made to feel safe in whatever work they choose to do, if they are forced to do work, thats another issue.

Sep 27th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: I’ll just sit back here and watch your illogical solution fail miserably. Enjoy Church on Sunday.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 27th 2019, 8:29 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: However someone feels about working in the sex industry (personally I hated it) do you seriously think it cheers them up to have their income dropped drastically by sudden, unexpected sex buyer pogroms? Or do you think it makes them feel safer to be afraid to call the Guards for anything because if they do they can kiss their income goodbye for weeks?

Sex workers have to live in the real world, just like you.

Sep 27th 2019, 8:32 PM

@Gaye D: well said, did you choose to work in it?

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:05 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: I suggest *you* start paying attention, for instance to the case of the two sex workers who were working together for safety and both were arrested and charged and convicted of Brothel Keeping.

See https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/jailing-of-sex-workers-keeping-brothel-shows-law-not-fit-for-purpose-1.3921149

You might also like to note that there has been an over 90% increase in violence against sex workers in Ireland since they introduced the “client criminalisation” model, but that sex workers have *not* gone to the Gardai because they know that they won’t get treated with respect or helped, except to try to force them out of sex work, whether they want that “help” or not.

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/sex-workers-and-the-law-1.3843286

Mute Hugh Davison
    Favourite Hugh Davison
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:57 PM

@IrishFreeSpeechParty: The law doesn’t mention ‘trafficked’ persons. This is sloppy journalism.

Mute Eamonn O Connell
    Sep 28th 2019, 12:03 AM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: what’s church on Sunday got to do with anything. Just cos I’m against exploitation of people must mean I’m a religious fanatic. So by that note because you’re for legalization that makes you an exploitative sex offender ………. don’t be reduced to cheap shots. Debate away but if it’s not working then just stop and don’t start throwing insults

Sep 28th 2019, 7:14 AM

@Eamonn O Connell: if you’re insulted by that then you are easily insulted.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:30 AM

@VMKilshaw: Actually the “Nordic Model” has been shown to be an unmitigated disaster in Northern Ireland
    https://www.justice-ni.gov.uk/publications/assessment-impact-criminalisation-purchasing-sexual-services
    and there has never been any valid study of the operation of the Nordic Model in Scandinavia – not least because there was no “before” data for comparision.- all claims of “success” are based entirely on opinion and estimate…

My trusted friends who actually sell sex in Scandinavia guess and estimate that it has been and unmitigated disaster there too.

Besides, your own common sense should tell you that NOBODY benefits from a drastic drop in income or being unable to call the cops for fear on same.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:34 AM

@VMKilshaw: 98% of those who sell sexual access openly reject the Nordic model in many cases, primarily because they would like to go on being able to pay their bills, and feel secure in that…

What about them? Don’t they count?

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:38 AM

@Eamonn O Connell: A sex worker who goes to the Gardai under the Nordic Model knows that she will jeopardise the income that pays her bills for weeks until she can relocate and rebrand. This is the last thing anyone needs in a traumatic situation. In practice, under the Nordic model sex workers have to much to lose by calling Gardai that they only do so if their life seems to be in danger.

That doesn’t work very well for them.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:40 AM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: I’d would just settle for a situation where feminists with not idea of what they are talking about and a determination to avoid listening to those directly affected would stop superimposing their irrational and misguided opinions on other women’s lives.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:47 AM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach:
    Because my only viable alternative was suicide to spare myself destitution that would be ongoing torture because of my disability…not great options…but I wasn’t given a say in what my options were going to be, just in how I chose when they were delivered. I resent ANYONE trying to take the option of sex work away from anyone because of that alone.

For anyone who wants to suggest that I “only thought” those were my only options…

Nope…I spent 3 days checking out Civil Society in Dublin first before I was down to my last £5 and had to choose. I certainly could not go through that regularly – sex work gave me a way to survive and feel secure in my survival – I needed both equally desperately.

Mute sunshinesp411
    Favourite sunshinesp411
    Sep 30th 2019, 12:05 AM

@Eamonn O Connell: that’s precious, that you think sex workers can just call up the cops & be taken seriously, rather than be taken in & charged with brothel keeping. There were 38 in this article, & none of them charged. There have been almost 50 sex workers charged, convicted, fined, & some jailed, for sharing a flat to work. sure, they ‘can’t’ be charged with selling the services, but it doesn’t mean that they are going to seek out anything from a cop

Mute The Kinky Masseuse
    Favourite The Kinky Masseuse
    Oct 29th 2019, 5:28 PM

@2shy: I willingly chose this career in fact I gave up a job in finance to pursue it. Why would you take away my right to choose??? resources would be better spent protecting the real victims of trafficking instead of ladies like me to make an informed choice to rent our bodies!!!

Mute The Kinky Masseuse
    Oct 29th 2019, 5:31 PM

@VMKilshaw: It has not been successful at all. Its put women in danger

Mute The Kinky Masseuse
    Oct 29th 2019, 5:34 PM

@Eamonn O Connell: Ha ha ha , Have you ever asked workers what their experience is with the gardai?? I doubt it, if you had stopped to listen to women you never would have made such a statement

Mute Kevin Finnegan
    Favourite Kevin Finnegan
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:09 AM

Waste of time and resources government have no right to tell anybody they cant sleep with somebody for money

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:16 AM

@Kevin Finnegan: But they can and should stop women being held in prostitution against their will and enslaved into it. That’s what they’re interested in.

Sep 27th 2019, 10:51 AM

@Green Lentils: if they wanted to stop women being held in prostitution they should legalise it, licence it, tax it and put safety regulation in it. Then it’s a win for everyone. Driving it underground more makes it more dangerous for everyone involved except the traffickers. I am 100% behind the women in that industry being safe in their work.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:19 AM

@Kevin Finnegan: read the article. This is about trafficked persons and their safety.

Mute derekcullen
    Favourite derekcullen
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:24 PM

@Kevin Finnegan: How is punishing people who use women and girls, who have likely been trafficked for sex, a waste of time exactly??

Mute Eleanor The Great
    Favourite Eleanor The Great
    Sep 27th 2019, 3:55 PM

@Chin Feeyin: No it isn’t. It’s about punishing sex workers for their ‘immoral ways.’ Here’s just one very recent example:
    http://archive.is/2lG5o

Mute Eleanor The Great
    Sep 27th 2019, 3:59 PM

@derekcullen: Because most have not been coercively trafficked. Most sex workers simply want to earn money & have made a choice to do so.
    What this law actually does is put more power in the hands of buyers, increase violence and sees women arrested & even imprisoned merely for working together. So it’s actually worse than a waste of time, it’s a misguided, dangerous & counter-productive moral crusade.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:46 PM

@Eleanor The Great: How is it a misguided and counter productive moral crusade. Most prostitutes are coercively trafficked, and children too. I suppose you believe in the “sex work is work” mantra which most middle class woke types are wont to spout these days. Sex work is dangerous, exploitative and degrading and the only way to make it safer is to convict the buyers.

Mute Noel Ryan
    Favourite Noel Ryan
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:51 PM

@Kevin Finnegan: Operation Breast.

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:41 PM

@Green Lentils: The problem is that they’re being told that *all* women are being “held in prostitution” or forced into it or enslaved.

The voices of actual sex workers who just want to be left alone to work and not criminalised for “running a brothel” because they work together with someone else for safety are being ignored.

Sep 27th 2019, 7:46 PM

@VMKilshaw: Where is your evidence that MOST prostitutes are “Coercively trifficked”?

Sep 27th 2019, 8:01 PM

@AffordableLeather: you’re 100% spot on, let’s just assume every single one is in the same situation because why the hell not, life is black and white right?

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 10:55 AM

@VMKilshaw: Eleanor and I have been sex workers, and in my case have known sex workers as equal human beings (not objects) since 1972 yet SOMEHOW we need you to instruct us on the nature of sex work and the structure of what you call “the sex trade”?

Why on earth would you think that?

How would you feel about letting Eleanor and I dictate the rest of your life based on pure guesswork?

Mute Eleanor The Great
    Sep 29th 2019, 4:12 PM

@VMKilshaw: As a sex worker with 15 years experience as well as someone with the basic power of logic, I can tell you everything in your post is wrong.
    Most sex workers are NOT coercively trafficked, as shown by even the most basic glance at local cases. Two years ago, the Guards raided 23 sex work premises on the same day in a planned country wide operation. They found many sex workers but failed to find a single trafficking victim. Most other cases involve women being cautioned, arrested, deported or even imprisoned, usually for the ‘crime’ of working together (still illegal in Ireland). If you have any evidence for your claim, I genuinely would be interested in seeing it.

Sex work IS work. If it wasn’t I wouldn’t have had an income or paid my bills for the last 15 years, nor would dozens of others I know. You’ll find that providing paid services on a regular basis is indeed work.

Sex work is not in itself dangerous or exploitative, but is much more likely to become so when either party is criminalised. And you don’t get to decide what others regard as ‘degrading’. I’ve done jobs which I found way more degrading than sex work.

As for ”the only way to make it safer is to convict the buyers”, look no further than the USA, where buyers have been actively criminalised for over a century. How has that worked out?

Mute sunshinesp411
    Favourite sunshinesp411
    Sep 30th 2019, 12:08 AM

@Green Lentils: this law has nothing to do with trafficking tho. this law targets consenting adults providing and receiving services. these cops couldn’t find a trafficking victim unless she walks in and introduces herself.

Mute Lar Meyler
    Favourite Lar Meyler
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:13 AM

Irelands very own “Religious Police”…

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:33 AM

@Lar Meyler: the Faith Militant

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:12 AM

What if the service was free and they were just tipping them?

Mute Kieran Woods
    Favourite Kieran Woods
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:15 AM

@Peter: Well they were in another manner of speaking.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:19 AM

@Peter: I think the word you’re looking for is ‘tupping’?

Mute Stephen Rogan
    Favourite Stephen Rogan
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:36 AM

@Peter: said the leper to the lady of the night: “Keep the tip.”

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:25 AM

I recently listened to blindboys podcast when he interviewed a gay porn star & sex worker advocate. He opened my eyes & mind up to the fact that this model we now have in Ireland is dangerous and will not work. This is a complex issue & those claiming that it protects trafficked people in the sex industry are wrong. Listen to sex workers. Listen to their advocates and advise. Judgement is not the way to deal with this.

Sep 27th 2019, 10:54 AM

@Mjhint: blindboy needs the freedom of Limerick or Ireland stat! He sheds light on so many important topics affecting our society, oftentimes the ones the establishment doesn’t want to touch. Government will never actually consult the professionals or the ppl on the ground in relation to policy. Much like what has happened in education. Richard Bruton came in and introduced the new junior cert which had been proven to have failed in numerous countries. Teachers haven’t been trained in properly on how to implement it still even and at in service are telling the facilitators that it isn’t working and is actually causing great anxiety in otherwise high performing children. The big issue is the children come out with an airy fairy ‘satisfactory’ type grade under a common level and have no idea where they stand in the subject. Fast forward to the leaving cert and they get the shock of their lives with the study they have to do. I’ve already heard of a child committing suicide with the pressure of it. Expect a huge drop in our oecd rankings and levels of anxiety in teenagers to increase and more sad stories like that poor boy. Government need to get off their high horse and consult with those in the know.

Mute Charmaine Walker
    Favourite Charmaine Walker
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:21 AM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: well done for staying on the topic of the story

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:30 AM

@Charmaine Walker: Bruce is on topic highlighting how government indifference to human trafficking, sex workers and education have the same root cause.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:51 AM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer: Totally agree with you on that

Sep 27th 2019, 12:14 PM

@Charmaine Walker: as other posters have mentioned, just pointing out the arrogance, almost disdain, this government shows towards the ppl they govern and then the impact that ignorance has on ppls lives.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 11:00 AM

@Mjhint: This essay is absolutely awesome it tells one person’s complicated story just the way it is:
    https://nplusonemag.com/issue-35/essays/cashconsent/

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 11:07 AM

@Bruce Van der Gutschmitzer:
    Sex workers were ruthlessly excluded from all discussion of this law, I know because I played a big part in the few times we shoehorned ourselves in (it was only OUR lives and futures they were deciding, so what business was it of theirs?). Even when were did get in what we said was ignored or distorted.

Not quite everyone ignored us though:
    http://opac.oireachtas.ie/AWData/Library3/Addendum_to_Prostitution_Report_124817.pdf

Mute Darren B
    Favourite Darren B
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:34 AM

Can’t we just mature as a country and legalize sex work once and for all?

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:30 PM

@Darren B: It’s not ‘sex work’, it’s exploitation of the most vulnerable in society i.e. women and children.

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:31 PM

@Darren B: Please note that sex workers want decriminalisation, not legalisation.

If you ask sex workers if they want to operate in places like Germany and the Netherlands under legalisation or under decriminalisation such as New Zealand and New South Wales, the vast majority will pick the latter.

Mute The Kinky Masseuse
    Oct 29th 2019, 5:24 PM

@VMKilshaw: You do not speak for me, how dare you assume that I am exploited, in some way vulnerable or what I do is not work? I was not abused as a child or forced into this WORK by another, The only thing I am a victim is of peoples small mindedness. Do not confuse women who come into this work willingly with women who are trafficked. Resources would be better spent protecting the real victims. I am degree educated, I had a good job in finance but decided on a career change. I am registered as self employed, I pay my taxes, yet because of people like you I do not receive the same protection in law…. The sooner people accept that some of us wiling choose this career the better!!!

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:27 AM

So now the state has to prove that the ladies were trafficked in order to prosecute? Wouldn’t you think they could just try prosecute the traffickers first? Just a thought….

Mute Brendan Hughes
    Favourite Brendan Hughes
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:42 AM

@Markonline: Not the case. The law specifies purchase of sexual services from another person AND purchase of sexual services from a trafficked person.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:10 PM

@Brendan Hughes: Well I should have known better than to make that assumption based on the reporting quality of this platform. I guess I’ll have to take your word for it so.

Mute sunshinesp411
    Favourite sunshinesp411
    Sep 30th 2019, 12:10 AM

@Markonline: the cops have no interest in charging clients of sex workers. Its hard work to try to prove it, plus it is far easier and far more profitable for them to target sex workers working together in one place.

Mute The Kinky Masseuse
    Oct 29th 2019, 5:44 PM

@sunshinesp411: Quite right, They are not interested in protecting us, if they were we would be allowed to work together for safety. No they prefer to do us for brothel keeping and take our hard earned money under proceeds of crime, that’s if it doesn’t line the gardi’s dirty little pockets first

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:55 AM

Why? If some people want to do it for a living & others want to pay for it then let them. It’s pretty much a victimless crime if you can even call it a crime.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:29 PM

@Keith McDonagh: It’s not victimless, it’s exploitation of the most vulnerable in society i.e. women and children.

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:32 PM

@VMKilshaw: Sex workers want to stop abuse as much as anyone.

They also want to be treated with respect like any other consenting adult who chooses to do a particular job.

Trying to gaslight them by telling them that they’re victims helps nobody.

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Sep 27th 2019, 6:02 PM

@VMKilshaw: The keywords there were “wants to do it for a living” implying consent & adults, not children. When that’s the case, there is no exploitation & no vulnerability so yes, entirely victimless. When there is exploitation & vulnerability & indeed children, then it’s not victimless because it’s all down to trafficking. There’s a reason why trafficking should remain illegal but theres no reason for consensual prostitution to be illegal. There’s a very distinctive difference between the two.

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:32 AM

Jaysus , I have been buying sex from the wife for the past 28 years. No direct exchange of cash , but the reality has cost me a lot more.
    House, cars , holidays , jewellery , clothes , cruises, I could go on.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Colonel Grant:

She’ll be buying you a one-way ticket for the next cruise Pal, if she has any sense!

Mute Ananya Sharma
    Favourite Ananya Sharma
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:10 PM

@Colonel Grant: Seems I’m getting off lightly with her so.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:28 PM

@Colonel Grant: Maybe if she was enjoying it she wouldn’t be asking for payment.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:22 AM

This is nuts… if it’s ok to sell it then it should be ok to buy it.

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:19 AM

I’ve never availed myself of such service, I would say that wouldn’t I, but this is beyond stupid and a total waste of time (everybody’s).

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:25 AM

@Cosmological: so if you have a a child that is been trafficked for sex you think that that’s ok and should not be investigated

Sep 27th 2019, 11:26 AM

@FlopFlipU: I agree that child trafficking is one of the worst possible crimes a human can commit. How does criminalizing the purchase of sex stop child trafficking?

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:50 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: Perhaps, and it’s just a thought, if men stopped buying sex then no women or children would be trafficked. No women or children would be abused, defiled, humiliated, killed, raped, beaten. Just a thought, but you do get my point don’t you?

Sep 27th 2019, 3:35 PM

@VMKilshaw: And wouldnt that be the perfect world to live in, but unfortunatly its not. So what is the real solution to the problem that youre offering?

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:23 PM

@Michael Geraghty Bodycoach: The real solution to the problem is that men shouldn’t be exploiting women, and one way to stop that is to criminalise the buyer which is what is happening. Sex work is not work, it’s exploitation of the most vulnerable in society. Your cosy little view of prostitution is not the reality. Most women in prostitution are trafficked, drug addicts or beholden to a pimp. What’s your solution?

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:27 PM

@Cosmological: Why is it a waste of time? Are you saying the Gardai should not go after anybody committing a crime because it’s a waste of time?

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:34 PM

@VMKilshaw: If people stopped going to Nail Bars or buying Cockles or using Hand Car Washes, that would stop people being trafficked into those jobs too…

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Sep 27th 2019, 6:35 PM

@VMKilshaw: maybe if we all stopped wearing clothes they would close sweatshops? No point in turning this into a gender issue either. People of all types (m/f) buy and sell sex; it might not be to your, or my, taste but it has been around longer than practically anything else we know. Fire and brimstone didn’t stop it, stds/stis didn’t stop it and journal gender-guilt certainly won’t.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 27th 2019, 8:24 PM

@VMKilshaw: Simple fact – the worst abusers do not expect to pay for anything anyway.

How does destroying their Mum’s income protect sex worker’s kids?

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 28th 2019, 11:14 AM

@VMKilshaw:
    So your solution to child trafficking is to force other adults to live in terms of your belief system including misrepresentation of who they are as “trafficked” “drug addicts” and “beholden to a pimp”.

In the real world most sex workers can eat a pimp for breakfast then call for toast…and sex worker live in the real world, not your imagination.

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:29 AM

I once heard it said, In reality men aren’t paying for the sexual service, they are paying for the woman/man/undecided to get lost after the sexual service.

Mute VMKilshaw
    Favourite VMKilshaw
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:26 PM

@Robin Basstard: Really? Why have the sexual service in the first place? I’m sure there’s loads of women who would be glad to ignore him without him having to pay for it.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Sep 27th 2019, 1:58 PM

Let’s hope this story has a happy ending.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:37 AM

The poor Kerry lad lifted on the night of the dubs five I’m a row. Could life get any worse

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Sep 27th 2019, 11:47 AM

@Chewey Bacca:

Yes of course it will get worse, especially when he discovers a peculiar itchy feeling in the nether regions in the near future

Mute Mike Conway
    Favourite Mike Conway
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:24 PM

I think it says alot about the sorts of people who pay for these services, and the Gardai should rightly pursue them.

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 27th 2019, 3:19 PM

There was no justification at all for any of this in the light of the scathing official impact review of “End Demand” legislation in Northern Ireland last week:
    https://www.justice-ni.gov.uk/publications/assessment-impact-criminalisation-purchasing-sexual-services
    Ruhama called the review “unrepresentative” and criticised the methodology which is a little odd when you take into account that their own, EUROPAP funded, 1995 report contains uncanny similarities particularly in demographics once adjusted for overall cultural changes:
    https://www.drugsandalcohol.ie/5616/1/2030-023Women.pdf

It also contains the following statement, by Ruhama and the Women’s Health Project:
    ““In conclusion, women working in prostitution in Ireland continue to be labelled and stereotyped and deprived of their basic rights. Their lives are put in danger by a law that criminalises them. Women working in prostitution are entitled as citizens to have their rights respected. They have the right to a safe and healthy environment in which to work, the right to be able to seek appropriate medical care, and the right enjoy the protection of the law on the same basis as other citizens. Instead women working in prostitution in Ireland continue to be excluded and silenced. Their voices must be heard and their rights and needs addressed.”

The level of blatant deceit and misrepresentation ever since is just a little bit mindboggling.

:

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:35 PM

@Gaye D: Ah, yes, Ruhama, by the same people who brought you the Magdalene Laundries.

Obviously their ideas of how to “care” for people are ones that should be listened to…

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 27th 2019, 8:14 PM

@AffordableLeather: I am reading “Republic of Shame” at the moment…and it is all making the most horrible kind of sense.

It seems that once people, even little baby people, were deemed outside the pale on a very deep and unconscious level nothing about them mattered any more, not their mental, physical and emotional well-being, nor even their right to life, much less their human rights…they became “non people” dealt with, contained and disposed of as civil society deemed fit (not just the church – the WHOLE of Irish Civil Society was involved and 100% on board they just didn’t want to know the details).

This carries over through Ruhama today. Whatever your perspective on sex work, be it sexual rights or human rights, sex workers are, first and foremost human beings entitled to the same rights and respects as any other human being, somehow the Irish Government have succeeded in conning themselves into believing the inequality and dehumanisation of the Sexual Offences Act 2017 with only an organisation that consistently speaks and acts against the best interests of sex workers as their only relief discharges that obligation.

It doesn’t.

Ruhama are unable to understand why sex workers cannot just be grateful for what they are given like all the other rescue animals.
    They really see us that way

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Sep 27th 2019, 12:49 PM

Everything about the guards under this drew Harris is good
    I have faith in the future at last
    Fighting the trafficking and drugs is brilliant
    not having guards badgering people in old cars who are struggling

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Sep 27th 2019, 2:22 PM

Ah so the purchase is illegal but the sale is fine? Lol, pathetic.

Mute JeremiahMcDonagh
    Favourite JeremiahMcDonagh
    Sep 27th 2019, 3:42 PM

How many Guards were prosecuted for the same??? Didn’t think so…. rotten to the core

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Sep 27th 2019, 4:26 PM

A waste of time, traffickers should b punished heavily, the women treated as victims

Mute AffordableLeather
    Sep 27th 2019, 5:38 PM

@Angry_Man41: Before you treat someone as a victim, it’s a good idea to ask them if they *are* a victim.

There are too many people with a “Saviour Complex” who consider consenting adults who do sex work as “victims”, no matter what they might say, because they can’t believe that anyone would be a sex worker unless they were forced, coerced, abused as a child…

Mute Gaye D
    Favourite Gaye D
    Sep 27th 2019, 8:21 PM

@AffordableLeather: Also very dependent on how you intend to treat your victims. If what you are going to do is sit them down with coffee and a bun and ask them what they need from you while making a list of the answers with every intention of giving as much as you can from that list, then fine.

All sex workers in Ireland *ARE* victims, at least of the Sexual Offences Act 2017 that cold bloodedly denies them every aspect of adult autonomy and equality that any other citizen can expect to take for granted in their work.

Fortunately fixing that would end a huge amount of real and harmful victimhood without using up a lot of resources, which leaves far more resources to deal with people who are victims in other ways.

What’s not to like?

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Oct 12th 2019, 1:51 PM

Any society that uses trafficked women as a bait to lure and weed out clients has to take an honest look at its values and motives.
    Since when “sending a message” to sex buyers outweighs the duty to save these women from their fate and punish the sex traffickers?
    How do you think these stakeout operations go? Those sworn to serve and protect stake out a targeted residence waiting for the “sex offender” to emerge and then confront him with the evidence. All this while trafficked women and forced into prostitution under their watchful eyes.
    At this point the powers that be have 2 options: either admit that the vast majority of sex workers are not coerced, or admit that they knowingly engage in what could be best described as criminal negligence.
    As I’ve stated before, the new law and its implementation have little to do with feminism, equal rights, or stopping human trafficking. In reality it’s about middle aged women closing down the last avenue of forbidden/guilty pleasure for their men.