You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A series of initiatives will mark the first 100 years of the Gardai (Brian Lawless/PA)

Series of events planned to mark 100 years since formation of Gardaí

Today marks the centenary of the inaugural meeting of the foundation committee that led to the creation of the police force.

A SERIES OF initiatives and events have been planned to mark 100 years since the formation of An Garda Síochána.

Today marks the centenary of the inaugural meeting of the foundation committee that led to the creation of the police force.

Called by Michael Collins, the meeting took place at the Gresham Hotel in Dublin and among the attendees was Michael Staines TD, who would go on to become the first Garda Commissioner.

Commemorative events and initiatives are planned for the year ahead include the presentation of a centenary service medal to all serving and retired Garda members, the publication of two books on the organisation in its first 100 years and the renovation of the Garda memorial cenotaph.

A specially commissioned piece of music by the composer Odhran O’Chasaide will be performed by the Garda band at a commemorative event in Dublin Castle in August.

Garda Commissioner Drew Harris said: “Over the past century An Garda Siochana has established a very strong bond with communities and has become a central part of people’s everyday lives.

“As an organisation it has adapted to change in order to serve the past and present needs of a national, unarmed police service, while also striving to provide a specialist response to prevent and detect crime.

“As we reflect on 100 years of Ireland’s police service and its achievements in keeping people safe, we must remember our 89 colleagues who gave the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.

“Their brave and courageous efforts will be a core part of this year’s commemorations.

“The history of An Garda Siochana belongs to the Irish people and to the generations of Gardai who have devoted their lives to keeping people safe.

“I hope that the planned events and initiatives will provide the public with an opportunity to learn more about An Garda Siochana, as well as pay tribute to those who currently serve and those who came before us.”

22 Comments
    Mute New totwit
    Favourite New totwit
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:11 PM

Just saw this on CBS news in New York. Protests here tonight. It’s a national disgrace and I’m ashamed to say I’m Irish for the first time in my life today.

Mute Claire Mullins
    Favourite Claire Mullins
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:14 PM

Well done all 2,000 plus of you , i couldn’t attend as I live over two hours outside Dublin & work until 5.30pm . We need change now before anyone else suffers such madness . This poor woman , her poor family , words fail me RIP Savita

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:57 PM

one on saturday at 4 o’clock at the garden of remembrance as well. people should make the effort to get up

Mute Garry Ian O'Leary
    Favourite Garry Ian O'Leary

I was there outside the Dail this evening. Easily 1,000 to 1,500 there. The sit down protest was a pretty solemn & moving action by all in attendance.

Mute Sarah Boland
    Favourite Sarah Boland
    Nov 15th 2012, 1:25 AM

Good to see support from the men. I wish more of them would realise this could happen to their wives or daughters. I was not there but will be on Saturday as I live in the west.

Mute Jessica Connor
    Favourite Jessica Connor

Re numbers, the pictures do not lie: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.404303952974596.94285.290394337698892&type=1
    Looks like well over 1k.

Doesnt matter whether there were 1001 or 2001, what matters is that the world is disgusted, this government should be ashamed, and we need to legislate for Savita, legislate for X and legislate now.

We are all Savita.

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:19 PM

Are we looking at different pictures!? Not seeing 2000 in them. There were more like 300 when I was coming through. Anyway, I’m not saying it matters what the numbers were, just being honest about them. Definitely agree that the law needs fixing up.

Mute Jessica Connor
    Favourite Jessica Connor
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:20 PM
    See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan

Legislation covered what happened to Savita. Stop leveraging a tragedy. It’s sickening.

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:26 PM

Still not seeing 2000 people. Meh

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:28 PM

I was there. The figure of between 1500 and 2000 is accurate. Not bad for such short notice but will anybody inside Leinster House listen?

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:37 PM

Vincent, it actually doesn’t cover this situation. And the legislation required should cover a wider scope than any specific situation (with the greatest of respect).

For doctors, the lines are blurred – taking action or engaging in inaction are both problems for doctors. Without clear legislation a doctor ending up in front of a judge will be under the microscope of a judge’s subjective interpretation of our unclear constitution. Doctors need to be supported in their decisions not wondering on which side of the tightrope they could fall.

Mute Gemma Coughlan
    Favourite Gemma Coughlan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:38 PM

I was at the protest and 1,500 to 2,000 is about right. The number of people around me made it difficult to accurately tell. It doesn’t really matter, everyone was there in the right spirit.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:40 PM

#Tomy- I honestly don’t know the answer to this- when was the last time a Doctor was struck off for administering a termination under circumstances such as this? Has it ever happened?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:44 PM

#Tomy- the Obstatrician and Gynaecological representative body said on RTE tonight that such eventualities are covered by existing law. The “greater scope” that you speak of is what I’m referring to. Pro-choice extremists using this terrible tragedy to kick open the doors to abortion on ðemand.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:47 PM

Can you stop calling her husband a pro choice extremist? It’s insulting to him and everyone else who doesn’t think her death should be dismissed Adam isolated incident.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:53 PM

#Nick- congratulations. If I wanted an “exhibit A” to illustrate how the facts are being twisted to an agenda in this case, you just provided it by invoking a grieving husband and father. I never referenced him. To my knowledge he made no political statement. He simply relayed the facts as he experienced them. He was told the law wasn’t there. He was misinformed. That doesn’t make him a zealot. That makes him terribly tragic in my book who has my deepest sympathy. In your book he’s somebody you can use to further your agenda. He’s a prop for your argument. Sick. Sick. Sick. Sick.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:00 PM

Vincent, I am hardly a pro-choice extremist and don’t even know where the line should be drawn on the availability of abortion (although I certainly wouldn’t agree with it as birth control). Nor am I trying to kick open any doors.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:03 PM

#Tomy- I wasn’t suggesting for a moment that you are.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:11 PM

He is in favour of legislating. Frankly, it’s sick how you refuse to support legislation which could have at best saved her life and at worse done no harm. You’re pushing an agenda, but I guess that’s easy when YOU will never be denied a life saving termination.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:17 PM

#Nick….I’d vote for legislation that would clarify the existing situation further (even though its already in place) tomorrow morning. But that’s not what you want, is it? It’s a comprehensive relaxing of termination laws in Ireland. Be honest. Have the courage of your convictions and admit it.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:17 PM

I think Vincent is the only one talking sense here. The rest are like a mob who ignore the facts and just want to blame whoever is an easy target. Irish people need to lose this mob mentality and start working with facts rather than rumours.

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:18 PM

This isn;t just an issue for women either. \it could be your mother, your sister, your friend. I’d be worried if I was a pregnant woman in this country.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:29 PM

How ironic that Vincent would make such a presumption about someone and then be followed by a supporter who advocates dealing in facts…..

Fact: doctors need help
    Fact: legislation would protect doctors where the subjective interpretation of the constitution currently doesn’t
    Fact: in this situation alone, action by doctors would likely have saved this lady’s life
    Fact: there is no such thing as aftercare for abortion in Ireland
    Fact: legislation can support such aftercare
    Fact: we’re currently exporting the problem

And please Vincent, before you deny this again (or completely ignore it and head into wild accusations) read my earlier post and actually try to understand the situation.

Mute Cathal Grennan
    Favourite Cathal Grennan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:54 PM

Vincent you’ve said this elsewhere but I’d love to know what legislation your talking about

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:10 PM

Yeah, you know I have been reading through the comments on all the stories about this today and I keep seeing Vincent stating that there is legislation when there clearly isn’t. That in itself is the issue.
    It may be in our constitution, but that does not equal legislation.. Look at the children’s referendum there at the weekend – they said it was added to the constitution and now the legislation and legal framework needed to be drawn up to give it backing. The fact that this (the X case) has been in the constitution for nearly 21 years and we have failed to legislate is the actual issue – isn’t it?

Mute Sarah Boland
    Favourite Sarah Boland
    Nov 15th 2012, 1:35 AM

Ms A I am not surprised you do not give your name . Your nit picking about numbers is sad. On the day that is in it and your behaviour on this site I am so glad I am not your neighbour.

Mute Mark Vieregge
    Favourite Mark Vieregge
    Nov 15th 2012, 6:59 AM

People are upset Vincent. It’s not using a story, it’s exposing their outrage!
    Why don’t you stop trying to justify those who want to force their religious crap on others?

Mute James Stapleton
    Favourite James Stapleton
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:23 PM

Was there myself, first time ever at a protest, and felt a need to so when I first heard the story late last night!

Mute Adrian Connor
    Favourite Adrian Connor
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:31 PM

Priestcraft and witchery out of our constitution! Holy Catholic Ireland, hang your head in shame.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:55 PM

Every single Catholic in Ireland is complicit in this woman’s death.

Most of the people attending this rally would be Catholics, thus supporting the Catholic Church and its anti-abortion stance. Hypocritical fence sitters.

Mute Rory Conway
    Favourite Rory Conway
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:17 PM

I am not ashamed to say I’m Irish. I am ashamed of the way Savita was treated. The law , as laid down by the Supreme Court is quite clear. The Medical Council ,also, has explicit demarcation in a case like this. Hunt the guilty.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:22 PM

Very well said.

Mute Ciaran Dillon
    Favourite Ciaran Dillon
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:30 PM

The case you and Vincent are putting forward is that educated and experienced health care professionals sat by doing nothing due to ignorance of a clearly defined law that they didn’t even bother to get guidance on for three whole days. I find this very unlikely.

Mute Cathal Grennan
    Favourite Cathal Grennan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:05 PM

The law as laid down by the Supreme Court is not clear by half. Legal scholars disagree on it. Judges pronouncements are no replacement for clear and unambiguous legislation and the Medical Council guidelines are guidelines not law and like judicial decisions are no replacement for law.

Mute Garry Ian O'Leary
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:30 PM

@Mark Dennehy….While you may disagree with Vincent’s comments, that does not give you the right to wish him killed in a fatal accident. Grow up in the way you act & respond to things & comments you don’t like. BTW I’ve reported your comment to have it removed.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:22 PM

#Ah yes, Mark. Anyone who disagrees with you is a troll. We’re not worthy…

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:30 PM

Garry, how is your internet cleanup campaign going? I see a lucrative career in store for you helping the Chines government, North Korea etc etc.

Mute Niamh.
    Favourite Niamh.
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:50 PM

Oh give up. Have a little respect and take your ‘he said/she said’ argument elsewhere

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:25 PM

#Niamh- I’m sorry. I didn’t realise you were compelled to read it.

Mute Shane Ellis
    Favourite Shane Ellis
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:45 PM

Very sad situation. It seems to me that the issue here is not whether you are pro-choice or pro-life. I think the fundamental issue here is control. A woman should have the absolute right to choose what happens to her own body. These are basic human rights. A woman should be able to make decisions that affect her free from the influence of the state.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:52 PM

Shane,

So a woman should be able to terminate a pregnancy, regardless of the wishes of the father?

If you agree with this, do you then think a woman should be able to decide to not terminate a pregnancy, against the wishes of the father, and he should be legally on the hook for support going forward?

Mute Shane Ellis
    Favourite Shane Ellis
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:44 AM

John,
    Some valid points there.
    Fathers should be granted some say and some recourse in the decision of whether or not to abort. I’m not saying that the father’s wishes are absolute and should always be honored. I’m saying he should have a voice that is protected by law.
    However, It isn’t their body. You have no rights to other people’s body, even if their choices within their rights affect your life. There’s no wiggle room there, you either violate peoples rights or you don’t.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:47 AM

Shane,

I support a woman’s right to choose what is best for her body and life and thus believe abortion should be available and pretty much without question, but in achieving that freedom I wholeheartedly believe that men should have a right to legally detach themselves from a pregnancy if they do not wish to be involved, should the woman decide to keep it.

Thoughts?

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 9:31 AM

The red-thumbs for the suggestion of providing rights to men while extending women’s rights goes to show the sheer hypocrisy of people on this issue.

I’m pro-choice, but I will vote against any piece of legislation put forward on abortion unless men’s rights are protected and extended.

Mute jimboandbear
    Favourite jimboandbear
    Nov 15th 2012, 9:43 AM

@John

“So a woman should be able to terminate a pregnancy, regardless of the wishes of the father?”

Yes. Unequivically YES!

The “father” is not a father until birth and it’s not his body being forced to incubate the pregnancy.

Mute Dani
    Favourite Dani
    Nov 20th 2012, 8:20 PM

John, you realize by saying, “I wholeheartedly believe that men should have a right to legally detach themselves from a pregnancy if they do not wish to be involved, should the woman decide to keep it,” makes you a disgrace to men all around the world, right? Said woman couldn’t have gotten pregnant without said mans help. It takes two people to get pregnant. Pregnancy takes its toll on women, good and bad. A lot of them suffer post pregnancy, and in the long run, so does the baby that you’re so keen to save. If the woman decides to abort, she should be allowed to, unless of course, you would take the baby after birth and raise it as a single father. And if she decides to keep it, and you end up being a deadbeat dad and removing yourself from the situation because it isn’t to your liking and she obviously got herself pregnant, then…welcome to the cesspool of humanity.

Mute Jake Behan
    Favourite Jake Behan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:55 PM

You realise that when a foetus dies in the womb it doesn’t have the luxury of being in a symbiotic relationship with the body anymore, it becomes a foreign entity that isn’t just going to cause an immune response but also start to decompose. With rotten flesh, masses of bacteria having a direct route to the mothers blood stream it becomes a race against time before septicaemia stets it, antibiotics or no antibiotics is often fatal.

The problem in this country is that the lack of clear cut legislation means doctors are unaware of if they are breaking the law or not. If we had legislation and this situation happened you could strip the doctor of his or her licence due to malpractice. But it wasn’t malpractice that caused this it was lack of implementing the legislation and procedures. Something that regardless of your abortion views should be done for the safety of all women giving birth in this county because the scary thing is it could happen to anyone.

Mute Frank Comments
    Favourite Frank Comments
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:02 PM

Why do the minority extremists Catholics still get to tell us how to live. How long? Great to see so many people taking a stand. We need change.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:54 PM

Because 84% came out last year and said they supported them. That’s why.

Mute Andy Murray
    Favourite Andy Murray
    Nov 15th 2012, 7:26 AM

Religion is the opposite of science. Medicine is a science, therefore religion has NO PLACE WHATSOEVER in medical decisions. Time to kick the church out of hospitals. Get the Holy Mary and crucifixes off the wall, get the priest off the board of directors. This isn’t the middle ages. Relying on religion in hospitals shows disrespect for all the hard work and training that the doctors and nurses go through.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:15 PM

Well done to all who attended. Just came from the candle light vigil in Cork. Very moving. This is a real tragedy and the best way we as a nation can honour Savita’s memory is to legislate to help ensure this never happens again.

The time for reports and debate is over, I just wish it did not need the death of a young woman to make people see that.

Mute Garry Ian O'Leary
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:32 PM

@Censored….no Internet clean up campaign going on here. I simply raised the fact that regardless of how or why anyone disagrees with another persons comment, it does not give someone the right to basically start bandying about vile responses wishing people to be killed or go kill themselves. How you managed to use that to liken me to some oppressive Communist like regime in North Korea, feck knows.

Mute Sean Cassidy
    Favourite Sean Cassidy
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:47 PM

I was there. A very solemn moment when people started to sit down a baby started crying – when everyone sat down the crying stopped.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:13 PM

“X isn’t good enough. But it’s a start” according to Ms. Daly. Otherwise known as let’s leverage this to push through abortion legislation. How reprehensible is using this tragedy to forward an agenda. It’s pretty clear as today wore on that the necessary legislation is in place to have allowed for a termination in this instance. But let’s not let that get in the way of some quality opportunism. Some people. It beggars belief.

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:24 PM

If you have clarity on this issue please inform us all, we’d love to know. The only agenda being pushed here is women not dying for want of basic procedure. The fact you see something objectionable in that speaks volumes.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:27 PM

#Sam- The medical council position is pretty incontrovertible.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:02 PM

The Medical Council position is not enshrined in law. It says so in the article right underneath this one or did you not read the article which actually helpfully details how unclear the law is?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:07 PM

#Sam…you’re seeing what you want to see. The medical council interprets the law for the profession. And their interpretation is clear. Again I’ll ask: has a Doctor EVER been struck off or prosecuted under circumstances such as this? This poor woman was let down by our Health Service but not our legislation.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:14 PM

No, Vincent, because as this and the Michelle Harte case make clear, they err on the side of letting women suffer.

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:29 PM

The Medical Council interprets but there is still a grey area and once again the Medical Council is not the law and the law is unclear. Your utter unwillingness to acknowledge what the world is stamping it’s feet in anger about only belies your true agenda in all this. I suggest you head back to your bridge, there’s some goats that need questioning.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:35 PM

Vincent, if it was clear this would not have happened. Correct?

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:47 PM

In response to all who cite the very fact that this happened proves that there’s a grey area, I’d just point out that the law is misinterpreted by professionals every day of the week. This could well be a training issue…human error. For the record, as I’ve said a number of times- the core issue of clarifying the law is something everyone probably agrees with. But that’s not the impetus behind a lot of what is being said on here. The legislative change would not be limited to instances where there was a physical risk to the Mother, as was the case here. And that’s what’s driving many on here (not all, and certainly not all who are disagreeing with me) to urge for a legislative change, not what happened in Galway. And I think that’s shameful.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:13 PM

I don’t want any unconstitutional laws passed without the consent of the people of Ireland. But I am a young woman and when I start a family, I want my partner and I to be listened to if I’m ever in that situation.

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Favourite Stadler Waldorf
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:23 PM

@Vincent Dr Andrew Rynne was prosecuted in the early 80s for selling condoms to patients. (World apart from today but in the context of those days it was a huge scandal). He was following best medical practice but was found to be breaching the law. He was fined 500punts (worth a lot more nowadays).
    http://www.ifpa.ie/About-Us/Dr-Andrew-Rynne

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:27 PM

#Nick- thought so.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:29 PM

#Stadler…. Thanks for that. That’s absolutely the same thing.

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:34 PM

@Vincent In the context of the day it had a similar ripple through society. The country was far more conservative back then and that was a major scandal. No need for sarcasm, you asked for an instance where a doctor was prosecuted for following the established medical guidelines in the face of the legislation of the day. Obviously there was no loss of life in that instance but it illustrates that the conservative government of the day was willing to prosecute for a small enough reach of the law, so imagine the fear the doctors might have had about performing an abortion this time around.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:53 PM

Yes, god forbid I don’t want to die of pregnancy related complications? I’m sorry, but the fact that you will never have this happen to you makes it seem incredibly callous.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:07 PM

#Nick- twisting words again, I see. What is it about your argument that makes you so insecure that you feel you have to misrepresent others. Please point to anywhere on this site where I have said a woman in danger as a result of complications should not have an option to terminate? If you can’t, explain please why you’re lying. My single point on here is that pro- abortion advocates are hijacking a tragedy to further their own agenda. You yourself have said you would not be happy with legislation that would have protected this lady under the circumstances in question only. You want more freedom. Which sort of proves my point.

Mute Nick Beard
    Favourite Nick Beard
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:37 PM

I said I feel legislation which goes further would be inappropriate without a referendum. Now who’s twisting words?

You would prefer that the situation remain the same, even if more women die. That’s appalling as a woman.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:48 PM

#Nick…again with the twisting? Seriously- how many times do I have to reiterate I’ve no objection to changing legislation to stop women dying. Should i explain it using sock puppets to make it simpler for you? I believe I said I’d vote for it in the morning. Despite it already being in our legislation. But that’s not enough for you, is it?

Mute Cathal Grennan
    Favourite Cathal Grennan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:48 PM

Vincent the law on this in Ireland essentially consists of an 1861 Act, a poorly drafted constitutional amendment and a confusing and in places contradictory Supreme Court decision from which doctors are expected to extract a coherent legal position. The Medical Council guidelines are just that, guidelines. They’re not law and do not absolve the need for clear and unambiguous legislation. I think that’s obvious. Obviously everyone has their views on this issue which will inform what shape thy think that legislation should take. Feigning disgust at that is the height of hypocrisy when it’s quite obvious that those of a pro-life persuasion wish to maintain the status quo, a lacunae in the law and absence of clarity, which is dangerous for women, only because it serves their agenda-to keep abortion out of Ireland. So please, spare us all the self-serving outrage.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:03 PM

I was watching the new rolling news channel this evening and it seemed pretty clear to me also that this situation was covered by the legislation.However it’s such a grey area that we really do need definitive legislation so that doctors are not able to evade their responsibilities either through pleading ignorance of the legal situation.
    There should be a system in place whereby a patient can be treated by someone else in case of religious objections.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:04 PM

#Cahal- lest there be any doubt (though I’ve been clear about this numerous times) 1. As legislation allows for termination where a womans life is in danger, yes I think the status quo is ok. 2). I’m not feigning disgust about this scenario being hijacked by the pro-choice movement and 3). If you think I’m feigning disgust about what happened to this lady and her family- you really shouldn’t have given me even the respect of a response. There’s no need to presume malevolence from those on the other side of the broader debate.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:06 PM

#Mary- I wholeheartedly agree.

Mute Cathal Grennan
    Favourite Cathal Grennan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:11 PM

Vincent please tell me what legislation you are referring to and keep referring to on this thread. I can’t help but notice that in some posts you say you would support legislation to clarify the current situation but in others you state current legislation provides for this situation so the status quo is fine. So please tell me what legislation you’re referring to?

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:15 PM

@Mary There is guidance in place in the event of conscientious objections. From the Medical Council ethics guidelines

2.5 Moral Disapproval
    Treatment must never be refused on grounds of moral disapproval of the patient’s behaviour.
    2.6 Conscientious Objection
    If a doctor has a conscientious objection to a course of action this should be explained and the names of other doctors made available to the patient.

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:18 PM

Sorry, that was an older guidance. The more recent one added an extra line 10(3)

10 Conscientious objection
    10.1 As a doctor, you must not allow your personal moral standards to
    influence your treatment of patients.
    10.2 If you have a conscientious objection to a course of action, you should explain this to the patient and make the names of other doctors available to them.
    10.3 Conscientious objection does not absolve you from responsibility to a patient in emergency circumstances.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:21 PM

#Cahal-the same legislation the Medical Council based its advice on. My position is not inconsistent. The law as it stands covers this. If additional legislation would clarify things to make this existing legislation less open to misinterpretation, lets do it. But this tragedy should not be used to promote additional changes. To do so is incredibly cynical. Which is where, I believe I signed in and where I shall sign out. Rest assured I shall presume that I am being further vilified while sleeping so don’t feel obliged to put your thoughts to words. More importantly, my last words are of sympathy once again for the family at the centre of this. Whatever the cause, be it legislative, doctors etc, we as a country let them down.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:24 PM

Vincent – With respect, I think this is where the other readers’ difficulty with your argument lies. The Medical Council’s guidelines are based on the Supreme Court rulings, which (as authoritative interpretations of the Constitution) are the highest possible legal authority.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:34 PM

Statler: The guidelines about religious objection seem to have been ignored here. The doctor seems to have told Sativa, “you’re in a Catholic country now”. He seems to have been intent on pushing his religious objections. That in itself is surely grounds for censure?

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:38 PM

I would see that as conscientious objection, so absolutely. But the third provision in the list is probably most important as it refers to duty of care being above any such objections

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:17 PM

Rabbiting on about numbers and ignoring the core issue seems incredibly insensitive.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:58 PM

Comments on Youth Defence’s website have exploded. For once the anti-choice mods over there can’t keep up. The outrage is real and directed.

Mute Richard King
    Favourite Richard King
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:31 PM

When Fox News is criticizing the strictness of your abortion laws, you know you’re a backward country.

Mute Sam Rhodes
    Favourite Sam Rhodes
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:02 PM

So it appears from this thread and others that the response from the ‘pro-life’ cohort to this tragic event is to accuse pro-choice organisations of somehow profiting from this for political gain. Pro choice organisations have been campaigning for 20 years for the legislation which could have prevented this tragedy and have been met by a cynical, well oiled, suspiciously funded, manipulative and coercive lobby who would seek to keep women’s rights in the dark ages. If this hospital had provided an abortion and a civil suit had been taken who would have funded it? Who tried to prevent a woman carrying a foetus with massive cranial abnormalities from seeking an abortion abroad? Who attempted to deny a 14 year old rape victim the right to travel? These are the people attempting to assert the moral high ground here tonight. Anybody who would declare themselves ‘pro-life’ needs to have a good long think about that.

Mute Kim Guerin
    Favourite Kim Guerin
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:33 PM

well said. I’m sick of being branded a sheep by some people here simply because my opinion is in the majority and is the opposite of theirs. as a woman attending the same maternity unit I found this story terrifying. I can only hope my pregnancy goes well and count myself lucky to have a husband who was also horrified by this story and will ensure my health is also a consideration should anything go awry for us

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:55 PM

It’s also making the news here in Toronto, the main focus/how it is being portrayed is that the woman was begging for her life and she was bluntly told “sorry dear but we are a Catholic country”I think it’s only natural for those of us abroad to feel ashamed.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:00 AM

They had the voice of 84% of the population behind them when they said that.

I can’t wait to emigrate, renounce my citizenship and lose the accent – I’m generally disgusted with the carry-on of the Irish but the sheer hypocrisy on display today has been vile. Catholics coming out and pointing the finger at everyone but themselves, their church and their bronze aged beliefs while the truth remains that it’s the Church and its influence here that killed the poor woman.

I hope they’re all smug and happy in mass on the weekend when the priest is talking about this, when their belief system maintains that the woman is now in Hell for eternity and the baby is in Heaven alone.

I’ll say this, Irish Catholics who are reading this: If there is a God, a Heaven and a Hell, you had better be sure that every one of you will face judgement and go straight to the fiery end for the people you’ve continued to support here. The brutal revelations of the child abuse within the RCC here over the past few years obviously wasn’t enough to stop people supporting them, as 30% remain regular visitors and 84% claim membership. You disgust me.

Mute jimboandbear
    Favourite jimboandbear
    Nov 15th 2012, 10:04 AM

Here here John. Well said.

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:10 PM

Definitely not 2000, passed through it myself.

Mute PunchUinFACE
    Favourite PunchUinFACE

I was there myself 1500 -2000 is about right

Mute John Masterson
    Favourite John Masterson
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:22 PM

As was I At around half six….and I would have thought there was more. And there was more on the way up to it. It’s a national disgrace and I’m ashamed to call myself Irish today.

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:28 PM

Oh well if someone argues with me, it must make me wrong.

I passed at 6, so it’s possible more turned up alright. Dunno wtf people are getting so bothered about my correcting the numbers for. It’s not as if I said anything about the cause or subject.

Mute JP SHERRY
    Favourite JP SHERRY
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:29 PM

Why do you feel ashamed? Did you do something wrong?
    It’s the church and state as usual that should be ashamed.
    The people know wrong when they see it so dont be made feel ashamed by those who refuse others their basic human rights.

Mute JP SHERRY
    Favourite JP SHERRY
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:33 PM

Yeah exactly, you just keep banging on about the numbers. Who cares??
    Build a bridge!

Mute A
    Favourite A
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:35 PM

How do I keep banging on about the numbers? I said something, not requiring a response, others responded, I replied… it’s called a conversation. I’m not banging on about anything.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:05 PM

More like 500-1000. Imagine if it was raining or cold. Nobody would have shown up.

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:22 PM

I was there, there wasn’t 2000 at six but it close to it afterwards. People are saying 1500-2000, say that’s about right.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:36 PM

You passes through it . Well done there A for doing you bit

Mute Kerry Cavanagh
    Favourite Kerry Cavanagh
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:53 PM

even if one person showed. we have a right of freedom & speech. so get over your numbers. we know a life is lost thats one less voice in this awful sad loss.

Mute Seán Foley
    Favourite Seán Foley
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:07 PM

A woman dies and people argue about how many people showed up at a protest.

Mute Alicia McGrath
    Favourite Alicia McGrath
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:12 PM

@John Byrne Yes I passed through it, what’s the problem with that? My c*nt, my choice!!

Mute conroypete
    Favourite conroypete
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:49 AM

the numbers shouldn’t even be an issue, why bring it up.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:39 PM

Sad to see Richard Boyd Barrett and Daly using this for political gain…but I suppose what is to be expected of the say anything to impress an angry crowd duo?

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:12 PM

Do you think they should stay quiet like the rest of the gimps in our parliament?

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:16 PM

I might agree if they had voted No in April’s Bill – but they didn’t. They voted Yes.

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/04/19/00006.asp

Mute Conor Black
    Favourite Conor Black
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:56 PM

Well seeing as Clare daly brought forward legislation to legislate for x case but waS voted by the rest of the catholic sheep that is our parliament

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Nov 14th 2012, 9:10 PM

This country is a disgrace. Why has nothing been done in 20 years??

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:28 PM

I was so upset hearing this today, I want to wait till the investigation is complete before passing judgement but if someone is found at fault then the full rigours of the law should be enforced. Such an upsetting story:(

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:07 PM

Tax breaks for horse breeding and people die on hospital beds , if their lucky to get one . Something has to happen enough is enough .

Mute David Duignan
    Favourite David Duignan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:35 PM

referendum

Mute Shane Freedom
    Favourite Shane Freedom
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:44 PM

Pathetic protest against austerity today. Should have been thousands there like in other European countries. I’m very ashamed to be Irish and cant wait to leave this dam country. My condolences to the woman’s family. Thumbs down for yourselves.

Mute David Duignan
    Favourite David Duignan
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:14 PM

we are no good for standing up against our government. we could do with taking a leaf out of greece, spain and frances book on protesting.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:07 AM

David,

Yeah definitely mate, another well thought out comment. Sure Greece is going through a extreme right-wing uprising and is rapidly running out of money, with no more approved for the time being, and sure Spain has unemployment of >25%, but you’re right, protesting is definitely the way to go.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:13 PM

Im a little ashamed of being Irish today. It looks like this woman may be the reason we have to sort out the legislation on abortion in this country. We are not capable of doing this without emotional bull from prolife activists & the church. Countries were abortion is legal normally are better places for women to live. I imagine if this woman was Irish we would have heard nothing of this story. Its time we grew up as a nation & decide for ourselves whats best for our citizens & not listen to the non scientific views of credulous people.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:37 PM

A woman is more likely to die from abortion than giving birth. This is why Ireland is safe for both mother and child. One case doesn’t change this stat. An abortion in this case may have not affected the outcome so stop speculating. And less of this shamed to be irish rubbish!

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:53 PM

John do you know any women that have had abortions? I do & they are all alive & healthy. This is not a new issue in Ireland but now its international news. I know that a lot of it is hype but this country is not reponsible when it comes to looking after it citizens. We never make decisions for the future only for the past. Now we will have abortion in this country at some time in the future & all because of this womans death. If abortion was legal here she would be with her family now.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:25 PM

I think there are many more cases like this one. Sativa’s husband has had the courage to come out publicly and nail the lie that Ireland is the safest place for women to give birth.
    Well, as I said in another thread in the Journal it certainly isn’t the safest place to have a miscarriage, in, ironically, a maternity hospital. I speak from experience of having been treated for two miscarriages, one in a general teaching hospital and one in a maternity hospital.

Mute John Scully
    Favourite John Scully
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:12 AM

Lets get this straight, the woman who died today has nothing at all to do with abortion. Its simply that a complication arose and the baby would not have lived anyway. The woman pleaded for the baby to be removed. This is a case that she was not being listened to and therefore the doctor or doctors attending her should be sacked forthwith without salary or pension. Anyone who disagrees with this are not from this planet.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan

And how many of that 2,000 people were Catholics, whose Church is the number one reason that this poor, innocent woman died?

That’s right folks, keep pointing the finger at everyone else. It has worked wonderfully so far.

Mute Harry Coffey
    Favourite Harry Coffey
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:09 AM

The poor lady who died, did so on the 28th October, over too weeks ago.

Meanwhile anti austerity protests were organised across Europe today in Spain, Italy, Portugal and Greece. The very day our media decided to drop an abortion bomb on the public psyche.

We were played perfectly today in a game of media mastery.

And I do remember a political commentator stating before that “Fianna Gael have always understood the power of the media more so than any other Irish political party”

Mute Kim Guerin
    Favourite Kim Guerin
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:45 PM

john Hayes if you seriously think a termination wouldn’t have saved Savita’s life then I really think you haven’t been reading any of the articles properly at all

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:01 PM

@kim her husband(who was there)thinks a termination would of saving her life.i think you need to read them again.

Mute marcezjakuz
    Favourite marcezjakuz
    Nov 14th 2012, 10:41 PM

such a disgrace, poor savita. may God rest her soul.

Mute Martin Mac
    Favourite Martin Mac
    Nov 14th 2012, 8:01 PM

What organization is to blame for this?

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan

Catholic Church and the stranglehold it has in Ireland, thanks to 84% of the country being happy to come out and say they support them and their beliefs.

Mute SL
    Favourite SL
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:10 AM

people need to use the next census to make a break from identifying themselves as catholic unless they practice and agree with all aspects of the organisation and its track record. why? because the govt uses the census figures and statistics to define policy such as this. if your not at mass every Sunday do u really need to identify and label yourself as catholic.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:37 AM

SL,

They had that chance last year and let themselves and the country down in a massive way.

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:02 PM

sorry kim i am the one who read yoir comment wrong apologies.

Mute Emily Vandaele
    Favourite Emily Vandaele
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:32 PM

Stop bickering like children and stop pointing fingers! Blame doesn’t reside on the shoulders of just one person and it is up to us to make sure it should never happen again!! So working together would be more productive in this case rather than taking pot shots at each other so cop on

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 15th 2012, 12:02 AM

No, it resides in the 84% of the Irish population that continue to support the organisation that is responsible for the inability to save this woman.

I have enjoyed the Catholics coming out today and trying to shift the blame to the Government, to the medics or indeed anyone but themselves, and I’ve no doubt you’re attempting to do the same here Emily.

Mute Emily Vandaele
    Favourite Emily Vandaele
    Nov 15th 2012, 9:37 AM

Thanks John. Its always nice to know someone else is in my mind bar me and directing my opinions. If you care to read back you would see I pointed at no one in particular that should be handed the blame for this, but that i inferred to everyone! And since I am also strongly pro choice, I think you should be more considerate about who’s opinions you try to direct and just concentrate on your own opinion instead of telling people what theirs is.

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:49 PM

I just hope, one day, that even 2000 people will care enough to say something about the rapidly diminishing rights men have regarding their children.

I’m pro-choice, extremely so, but when abortion does come in, we welcome with it a woman’s ability to terminate a pregnancy without any input from the father, while our society still demands that should she decide to keep it that he be on the hook for financial support. A society that already is horrendously biased towards women when it comes towards children.

It would be great but I won’t hold my breath given the massive double standards that now exist.

Mute Raymond McCaul
    Favourite Raymond McCaul
    Nov 15th 2012, 3:20 AM

would love to know why all pro abortion advocates wish to use this case to advance their own cause.it certainly is a tragedy but one more of medical negligence rather than a right to life issue.mother nature should always be allowed to take it course and really while man/woman will always try and change things and outcomes I really think that there are many unfortunate events where we as humans fall short.my extreme sympathys to all connected .

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Nov 16th 2012, 2:47 AM

Appeal to nature.. Fallacy.
    Mother Nature had Savitas cervix dilated and left it so for a couple of days, leaving her wide open to infection which could well be what killed her.
    So if someone gets cancer, should we let Mother Nature take her course or should we try and help the patient?
    Same thing – a woman’s life was in danger due to nature, but we have developed ways to improve her chances of survival. They were not used.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Nov 14th 2012, 7:18 PM

If that’s true that’s very worrying considering it happened last month!

Mute Maeve McKernan
    Favourite Maeve McKernan
    Nov 15th 2012, 8:29 AM

There was definitely 2000 or more there for the first hour at least. Some press are reporting there was only a couple of hundred people there which is a gross misrepresentation!

Mute Andrew Fitzsimons
    Favourite Andrew Fitzsimons
    Nov 14th 2012, 11:01 PM

The most truthful thing I’ve read all night. Well in, Mike!

Mute The Connexion
    Favourite The Connexion
    Nov 16th 2012, 5:58 AM

Islam and Christianity are two sides of the same coin. They are rabid, medieval and impose their views on innocents like Savita and others. These two religions have been destroying the lives and happiness of billions of people around the world. My curses to these barbaric villains.