You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

'I earned more when I worked in a newsagents': New gardaí speak out over low pay

Some have taken out loans to pay rent.

THE GARDA REPRESENTATIVE Association wants new gardaí to be paid the average industrial wage of €33,000 a year.

New recruits to the force currently receive an annual salary of €23,171.

It has emerged that three newly qualified gardai have resigned from the force due to low pay.

The GRA said it is unable to comment on individual cases, but “can understand why people might choose to leave An Garda Síochána, especially if they are having difficulties in paying bills and supporting themselves and their families”.

In a statement the association said it is very difficult to survive on €23,000 a year.

“With rents now at an all-time high all over the country, it is extremely difficult to survive on this basic wage. Furthermore, new recruits are not in receipt of rent allowance worth €4017.55.”

New recruits gave force magazine The Garda Review accounts of the financial hardships they are facing.

Here’s what they had to say:

Garda 1:

I am 25 years old with a partner and two kids, aged five and two months. I had to take out an €8,000 loan to pay the rent on my house while I was in the garda college, so from the get go I was in debt. My partner works but is on maternity leave at the moment so she only gets €200 a week. Our rent is €1,200 monthly. My current wage just covers the cost of living. Some months I rely on my parents to give me money if something comes up as I have nothing left after bills and rent. I have applied for family income supplement from the social welfare as we earn so little.

Garda 2:

Prior to joining, myself and my wife had calculated my earnings to include the €4,000 rent allowance. We had not been advised that this had been removed at this stage, so added to our reduced basic salary of €23,000, would bring my wages to €27,000 annually. This was much lower than what I had been on in the private sector, however with overtime and allowances, we agreed that it might not be too hard to manage. How wrong we were. Upon entering Templemore we were advised that the rent allowance does not apply to new graduates. So my annual salary would be €23,000. I earned more when I worked in a newsagents when I was 18 years old. That is a fact.

Garda 3:

I’m a probationer living in the south east and stationed in Dublin. I travel 1 hour 26 minutes every day to work. I come away with about €340 net pay; €80 of which goes on diesel. I have to pay a small mortgage and the usual bills and if it wasn’t for my partner earning a good wage I’d be in dire circumstances.

Dermot O’Brien, GRA president, has called on the next government to “immediately engage with us on the issue of overall garda pay, resources and also the restoration of rent allowance for new gardaí”.

The association represents more than 10,500 rank and file members of An Garda Síochána.

Read: ‘We thought that was it’: Cork woman gives eyewitness account of Brussels airport bombing

Read: Female cyclist hospitalised following collision at Ranelagh bridge

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 161 comments
161 Comments
    Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:47 PM

This is exactly what the government wanted. All the older generation who cheered Croke Park and Haddington because they targeted the younger generation while keeping their salaries, bonuses, and pensions safe, this is what they created.

They’ve effectively undermined some of the longest standing professions in the country at the stroke of a pen. Teachers, nurses, and Gards reduced to minimum wage workers. If you don’t think this is setting the stage for going after the other professions next, you’re delusional.

Sure if the government can make the people who educate, care for, and protect our population into minimum wagers, they can do it to anyone.

But don’t worry. I’m sure they’ll always find some extra money down the back of the couch for TD salaries & pensions, and the next time the bankers need a dig out.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:00 PM

Nothing to do with unions protecting their own positions at the expense of the new workers, then. Good to know.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:10 PM

It’s an Irish tradition once a generation the elders eat the young…

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter Murtagh
    Favourite Peter Murtagh
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:15 PM

The Garda association wasn’t allowed sit in on pay talks as they government don’t recognise them as a union.

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:29 PM

For those who are interested, the Garda Payroll bill for 2012
    Garda 11053 €693,150,783
    Sergeant 1903 €139,471,707
    Inspector 262 €24,785,924
    Superintendent 153 €13,831,332
    Chief Superintendent 41 €4,335,770
    Assistant Commissioner 9 €1,167,018
    Deputy Commissioner 2 €322,318
    Commissioner 1 €188,590
    Garda Reserve €879,522
    Civilian Staff €77,783,946
    Do the math

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:45 PM

€62,000 on average per garda

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:02 PM

I don’t think anyone would have a problem with giving Gardai and Teachers etc the kind of money their vocations deserve if they were becoming of their vocations as a whole.

Let’s face truths here. Gardai are a very unpopular force and the reasons why are no secret.

People have frustrations with teachers who just plank themselves behind a desk and enjoy a 169 work day calendar.

There are so many amazing public servants, at the same token, there are more who are not so amazing and everyone else is carrying the can for them.

The whinging from public sector makes me want to pull what’s left of my hair out.

Mute Jonathan Morgan
    Favourite Jonathan Morgan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:08 PM

Those averages are a bad reflection when the wages of the top 10-20% can badly skew the results. How about also mentioning how many of the 11053 Garda earn below that “62K on average”

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:28 PM

Over 200,000 Family Carers in Ireland provide almost 6.2 million hours of care each week which equates to a contribution to the Irish economy of €4 Billion each year. this means the average fulltime carer contributes € 62,000 of caring work each year. Yet on average each fulltime carer receives approximately .92 cents per hour for their work from the Carers Allowance.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:31 PM

@Killian

If that’s the case, then why were new powers and measures brought in for the DOE to dismiss teachers for failures to meet professional levels (among other things) only applied to the post-Croke Park generation.

That’s right, the teachers getting minimum wage are the ones who can be fired, who have to maintain their levels of profession at all times. It’s the previous generation, the same ones who love to call the Millennials entitled, who kept their salaries, pensions .etc .etc, while almost maintaining their unfireable status.

Older generation burned the country to the ground, and left the ashes to the next one while they ran off with whatever survived. But it’s Millennials who are entitled.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:36 PM

Well said Bryan Every new Garda should be paid the living wage at least Shame on the Gov and the fat payed union leaders it is time they stood up for our young people who have to face the Gun in some cases Wake up Senior Garda and back a fair deal fot them

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:47 PM

Agreed Bryan. The politicians in this country will never go without. Gardai, nurses, teachers etc are treated with disdain.

Mar 23rd 2016, 7:53 PM

The starting wage for Gardai should be well above the average industrial wage say 50k per year and there should be NO increases for increments. All Gardai of the same rank should be paid the same regardless of years served because if you are all the same rank you should all be the same pay.

to think Dart drivers want 70k per year to sit on their arse pressing a couple of buttons and pulling a lever??????

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:11 PM

THAT IS IF YOU CAN GET THE CARERS ALLOWANCE..WITH DOCTORS LETTERS HOSPITAL LETTERS THEN SOME UNKNOWN PERSON WHO HAS NOT EVEN SEEN THE PERSON SAYING NO UNDER THE THE GUIDELINES YOU DO NOT QUALIFY FOR CARERS ALLOWANCE..WHAT ARE THE GUIDELINES OTHER THAN A LETTER SAYING NO..IT SEEMS THE DOCTORS AND HOSPITAL LETTERS ARE OF NO USE.THE CARERS ARE SAVING THE STATE THOUSANDS EVERY YEAR..YET THE GOVERNMENT WILL PAY A RESIDENTIAL HOME OVER ONE THOUSAND EUROS PER WEEK AND CAN NOT PAY A CARER TO TAKE CARE OF EATHER OF THEIR PARENTS IN THEIR OWN HOMES .THUS LEAVING A HOSPITAL BED FREE

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:19 PM

There’s no early retirement & the full pension, which is paid into by gardaí, is only granted after 30 years service; so unless you’ve joined at 15, you’re not going at 45.

Mute Brian M
    Favourite Brian M
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:49 PM

Or the next time Bertie needs a dig out!

Mute Jeremy DeChad
    Favourite Jeremy DeChad
    Mar 23rd 2016, 10:11 PM

Yeah sustain and a job for life, huge pension and 100 % more salary than the average in the rest of western Europe!

Mute Jeremy DeChad
    Favourite Jeremy DeChad
    Mar 23rd 2016, 10:18 PM

30 years service that compares with age 68 for the rest of us and how much do they pay for their pensions that would probably take 1/2 million to fund. The fact that pensions are never considered when talking about public service pay is crazy.

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Mar 23rd 2016, 10:49 PM

Look forward to a pension

Mute Jeremy DeChad
    Favourite Jeremy DeChad
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:14 PM

Keep up the red thumbs sergeant!

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:15 PM

Starting rate is very low but:
    They all knew when they applied for the job.
    Within three years, with guaranteed increments, their wage increases by 60%.
    They have long and generous pay scales.
    They will be guaranteed a pension for life on retirement.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:49 PM

Incorrect. At three years service, the annual salary is in around €33k p.a. so the difference between that & the starting salary is around 43%. There are annual increments until the sixth year of service; it then ceases for 5 years when there is another increment, there is another plateau until the 17th year of service when the final increment is paid. The final annual salary for a member of garda rank is around €45k p.a. without allowances. Of course that means little to a new recruit who’s increments have been frozen by the government.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:37 PM

Dead right the garda are too under paid for the job the do…unlike luas drivers..

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:41 PM

Why is it always us versus them in this country? Could they not both look for pay hikes?? They’re completely unrelated! Divide and conquer tactics by those at the top.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:50 PM

The pay rise for luas driver will be passed on to the public as for the garda pay. .the tax payer. .if you use public transport that’s a form of double taxation. .not really for the garda I would rather see my tax money go too them..

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:13 PM

Are they underpaid? Really? What’s a good wage then? In my local park there are 2 guards in their 30′s and they too have kids but they are doing so well their wives don’t work at all.

What should gardai be paid then? The are not irreplaceable.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:44 PM

Maybe it’s not worth the wife working when you factor in childcare and paying for an extra car etc,must be nice living in your black and white world

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:47 PM

Hey there lukey they are talking about new recruits not lads 6.7 or 8 years on the force….ya cabbage

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:52 PM

Unfortunately the cops don’t have the luxury of striking. ..as much as I support unions ..

Mute Carol Clare
    Favourite Carol Clare
    Mar 23rd 2016, 10:30 PM

Do you know these guys are doing well maybe there working there ass off doing over time and if there wives were working they would only be working to pay child care just saying at the end of the day the shit they face today without any protection they deserve double its not a job id do would you risk your life for 27,000 a year

Mute shelly
    Favourite shelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:38 PM

Must be in between shifts for An Gardai as they are all working overtime on the journal red thumbing

Mute Anita Jenkins
    Favourite Anita Jenkins
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:13 PM

The trams driver will get over 40k then 50k garda get 23k years might go 2 30k for been out in the rain cold snow with drunks been spit at ect while the tram drivers sit in place where no 1 can get at them while pushing a button walk a mile in a garda shoes then u will no what they do for very little money in the irish weather

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:40 PM

It’s ridiculous that a Garda earns less than the criminals they help to convict.
    A lot of those criminals spend their lives on welfare and still with rent allowance, free travel and medical care earn more than the arresting Garda.
    Madness !!

I’m total in favour of ending welfare support for people with criminal convictions. Why should someone who has no respect for tax payers live off the same tax payers for free ??

Mute Packie O'Sullivan
    Favourite Packie O'Sullivan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:11 PM

Are the new teachers in this wage also?

Mute baz
    Favourite baz
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:37 PM

Teachers don’t get paid while doing there degree like most other professions

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:03 PM

Stupid statement baz.

Mute Shane C.
    Favourite Shane C.
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:39 PM

I can actually support this wage increase because it seems needed.

Unlike the Luas/ Irish Rail fiasco who did not warrant such an increase and just made the public look more harshly upon striking workers..

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:43 PM

If you are going to send a new guard to a different part of the Country to where they are from, the least you can do is sort out the rent for them.

Mar 23rd 2016, 6:02 PM

It’s not just Gardai that get sent to different parts of the country ,retail managers is another example . rent is never paid for them .

Mute Jess O'Neill
    Favourite Jess O'Neill
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:18 PM

A manager working for a retail chain makes good money though. A lot more than 23k a year. One of the German supermarket chains had an excellent package for graduate managers. Car and everything thrown in. They should take over running the gardaí. Instead of a garda station there could be a mobile station van in all Lidl/Aldi carparks. Instead of sending scüm jail you could just get the people queuing for the only open till to decide what body part of said scüm goes in the bread slicer.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:41 PM

@IGT, most people are working not where they are from so I think that point is a bit mute..

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:49 PM

Lol….and i bet retail managers get more than 23k a year

Mar 23rd 2016, 8:21 PM

Starting rates for some stores is €23,000 .

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:04 PM

Not for managers you numpty.

Mar 25th 2016, 12:28 AM

Yes for managers you numpty

Mute PaulJ
    Favourite PaulJ
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:40 PM

Very strange,did the three eejits who resigned not do a bit of research on the starting salary. Red thumb away but what sort of clown doesn’t know their starting salary before they join!

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:45 PM

The question isn’t what their salary is; the question is do they deserve more?
    And the answer most people in this country will agree is yes they do deserve more.
    There aren’t a lot of people who want to do their job and yet could actually do it
    Have you been in town lately and seen the complete filth Garda have to deal with roaming the streets ?

Mute Michael Conway
    Favourite Michael Conway
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:57 PM

Paul I think your totally right who gets a job and doesn’t look at the salary before hand. I also think the salary is completely carp and should be increased but they should know that before hand. It’s the first and last thing I clear up getting a new job.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:04 PM

There are over 30 applicants for each Garda post. f m, are you suggesting that 29 of them couldn’t do the job?

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly

Exactly Paul. The Garda above who went to Garda college and had to borrow money to keep him afloat while a student essentially can go take a run and jump if he thinks he’s getting sympathy from me. Anyone who has been to any college knows what that’s like. Is he somehow special?

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:24 PM

With no recruitment for 5 years, I guess most of them just wanted the job first , then deal with the pay situation. Mind you, when they applied, the rent allowance was still advertised in the Pay and Conditions. It was a shock to find out this had been removed “For new entrants”. They also weren’t to know that the Gardai would overwhelmingly reject the Lansdowne Road agreement, meaning that they wouldn’t get their increments.

Mute Niall O Neill
    Favourite Niall O Neill
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:42 PM

I agree. One, aged 25, has a partner and a five year old child. Clearly planned his future from the get go.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:07 PM

The danger is that with the guards on such low basic pay it leaves them vulnerable to be exploited by criminal elements

Mute Sandy Coleman
    Favourite Sandy Coleman

€11 an hour with the chance of being physically harmed every day.
    Why would anyone chose to do it.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:30 PM

They are not paid anywhere near 30% extra in allowances. This waffle is brought up every time garda wages gets mentioned. There are a variety of allowances, but most are for specialist roles & the vast majority of gardaí only claim 4. Boot allowance (less than a fiver a week, before tax) uniform allowance (also less than a fiver a week, before tax), unsocial hours (amount will vary, depending on hours worked) and rent (about €4k p.a. before tax). As has already been stated, the new guys aren’t getting rent allowance, so they’re only claiming three & if they got another €2k p.a. before tax they’d be doing extremely well. All the allowances are out there on the net for all to see, they’re no secret. Some were given in lieu of pay & they’re all taxable. But all that doesn’t suit the narrative of some moaners.

Mute Sandy Coleman
    Favourite Sandy Coleman
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:55 PM

I take it you haven’t seen all the check points in Dublin. Too right they should get paid more for carrying a loaded weapon. Nobody should be given that level of responsibility on €11 per hour.
    Either way the youngest Garda walking the street gets abused daily & should be paid for the hassle.

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:48 PM

They should be paid more. Absolute crazy

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:46 PM

Young teachers also badly treated with no holiday pay,no pension rights,lower pay scale.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes

Don’t screw us, screw the guys coming behind us… This appears to be policy in the public sector has happened in teaching, nursing, soldiering & Gardai as their senior, better off colleagues pull up the ladders… Solidarity eh?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:49 PM

You do realise the rules are made for them not by them?

Mute baz
    Favourite baz

The GRA agreed to cuts for new members to protect existing recruits, it didn’t make the rules but they agreed to them

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 23rd 2016, 8:55 PM

Wrong. The GRA were not consulted. The GRA was not even allowed into the same room as the Public Sector unions. These cuts were imposed not agreed.

Mute faoidromchla
    Favourite faoidromchla
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:01 PM

I agree completely that Gardaí are completely underpaid.

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:36 PM

Good on them!

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:14 PM

That’s far to low for our police force but if be curious to know is their any figures on how much their salary is topped up by allowances etc

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:49 PM

I am sorry now but the guards are there own worst enemy s when I went protesting against banks and iw I said to the young guards that this bank bailout was going to effect them to, would they listen ans no now they know what I am talking about,what the guards have done is protect the needs of corporations while at the same time shaft them selves they should of listened to the people on the streets.the banks are shafting us all with the help of the politicians.the guards need to wake up arrest the corrupt.I am like you nothing in my pocket at the end of a full weeks work and I can relate to that but the problem is we cant afford to be paying back that 64billion private debt which was converted to public debt it is not our debt end of wake up

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:53 PM

Bobby the Gaurdi,just like you me and everyone else have to take orders from a superior regardless if we agree with it or not.Im sure you don’t enjoy doing every aspect of your job but you’ve no choice as it’s keeping a roof over head these guys are no different to you

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:53 PM

Jasus bobby what a sh!te comment …..gaurds are there to do the job the state expects them to do….what do you want them to do just walk in and arrest bankers on their own initative …..or just because you dont agree with something in society……i dont agree with iw either

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

Starting salaries in the majority of jobs in this country are way too low, everyone should have the chance to earn a fair wage. I certainly agree with the GRA here, new recruits need a much higher starting salary, along with nurses, paramedics and junior doctors

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 8:36 PM

Chis the guards job is to serve the people and up hold the law http://www.corruptioninireland.com/gardaoathofoffice.htm

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 8:41 PM

Alan corruption on a massive scale no arrests nobody jailed maybe they should stop listing to their superiors and start thinking for them selves and their children

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 23rd 2016, 8:59 PM

“Upholding the Constitution and the Law” the people elect the Dail, the Dail enact laws therefore guards are obliged to enforce the laws enacted by the Dail who are democratically elected by the people.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey

Not great detective work if they didn’t know what pay they were in line for before they started training……..

Mute Rachel
    Favourite Rachel
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:40 PM

I had a conversation the other day with a friend who’s a nurse and her husband to be is a guard, qualified 2yrs and both currently on less than 30k. They’ve had to downsize and postpone their wedding for another 2 years while they save because they can barely afford to live on what they’re earning. They both saved a life last week in their respective positions (not going into details). I was on the luas today and the driver had one eye on a young wan walking past and braked so hard at Abbey St that most people staggered and nearly lost their footing. That luas driver, according to media figures, earns what my two friends make after tax combined. What is it going to take to wake our country up to the staggering wage and workload inequality ripping through Ireland? Or does everyone under 30 have to emigrate to make a point to the government?

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:39 PM

How much did luas drivers want? RTE presenters? Politicians?

Mute James McCartney
    Favourite James McCartney

Starting rate in the security industry is €10.75 an hour. At that rate (including Sunday hours and site allowance) working 40hours a week in Lidl or wherever puts you above the €23000pa mark. Lidl probably pay above the industry minimum too. Some of these guards might consider a career change if they don’t get a raise, especially given that a static security licence takes 3 days to get and they wouldn’t have to deal with half of the hassle a guard has to.

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:55 PM

Yes james i think lidl brought in 11 or 11.50 an hour ….

Mute Philip Scanlon
    Favourite Philip Scanlon
    Mar 26th 2016, 7:40 PM

James to be fair the two cannot be compared. The difference is, the static security guard remains on €10.75 for the duration of their career, they are probably on a zero hours contract with no overtime rate and obviously no pension.

Mute Seamus Corcoran
    Favourite Seamus Corcoran
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:03 PM

No sympathy from the usual shinnerbots that infect this site. Seems expecting a fair wage for a dangerous job is considered greedy now.

Mute Hugh
    Favourite Hugh

This is an absolute outrage. Judges are paid high salaries so that want of necessity doesn’t interfere with the administration of justice. Gardai, who are on the frontline in such administration, should have the same principals applied to their situation.

Seems now that someone in such a vital role as a first responder is almost on par with someone who is on the dole. For all this government’s bluster about ‘work should pay,’ the way the junior Gardai are treated is a damning testament of hypocrisy.

Mute Cornelius Collins
    Favourite Cornelius Collins

that’s one good paying newsagents job!!

Mute Ariana
    Favourite Ariana
    Mar 23rd 2016, 10:07 PM

That was my first reaction.

Mute John Payne
    Favourite John Payne
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:38 PM

And there was me thinking that people joined up accepting the risks and the conditions.

If you’re not happy then leave, and make room for someone who wants to work.

Mute Jess O'Neill
    Favourite Jess O'Neill
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:45 PM

The problem with what you’ve said John is that very few people will want to work for that sort of money. That leaves you with either not enough gardaí because they can’t get numbers, substandard gardaí because that’s all that applied or ones open to corruption. I don’t think anybody wants that sort of situation. I wouldn’t want some halfwit turning up or nobody turning up at all if I needed assistance. Pay an attractive wage to attract the best possible candidates.

Mute Siobhàn Malone
    Favourite Siobhàn Malone
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:47 PM

They are not looking for extra just the average…… gardai, paramedics, nurses ect are valued across the globe not here i’m afraid.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:17 PM

Not here Siobhan? Are you out of your mind?Do you know what cops in the US are paid?!?

Mute Michael Donnelly
    Favourite Michael Donnelly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:28 PM

Cops in San Francisco start off on $81,000 a year, roughly €72,000.

http://sanfranciscopolice.org/salary-and-benefits

Mute Jess O'Neill
    Favourite Jess O'Neill
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:30 PM

@Luke That was a good question actually. I looked it up there. NYPD recruits start on the equivalent of about €37000. To be fair though, working for the NYPD is in my opinion a lot more dangerous than the gardaí. Police in mainland UK are on about €30000 which is probably a better comparison. Seems the PSNI recruits get a bit more than that.

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:54 PM

While $81,000 sounds high, the cost of rent and cost of living in the SF Bay Area is ridiculous… You’re looking at least $3,000 per month rent for a studio/1 bed apartment in the city. In the suburbs you’ll get a two bed house for around the same, but you’re commuting for an hour or more. 81K would still be tight to support a family. Same for NY. Cost of living is huge.

To keep corruption off the table for the Gardai we need to pay them a decent wage. We’re all human at the end of the day. 23K EUR is just ridiculous….

Mute Hans Eckhardt
    Favourite Hans Eckhardt
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:58 PM

Wish they got the pay hike and not the luas drivers! To be honest anyone for the government getting done over our age. Still thinking of leaving ireland to be honest. I earn 1 cent more the minimum wage with 5 years experience and a masters in what I do. I am lucky though next month I get a 1% pay increase….. thanks Haddington road.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:49 PM

Seems like a reasonable wage for somebody who just left a one year college course

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial

Indeed, unskilled labour seems to think it’s not being paid enough.

Mute Chris Treacy
    Favourite Chris Treacy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:03 PM

How many 1 year college heads have to deal with drug dealers, guns , rows etc….not too many i bet ..dop£y

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:58 PM

International research dictates that when you pay guardians of the state crap wages it opens them to corruption. Ironic that our politicians insist on huge personal salaries to allegedly curtail their own corruption.

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:57 PM

New Gardaí are just looking to be paid the same as their colleagues. All Gardaí took a 10% cut under Haddington Road but new recruits, of which there were none at the time, had their basic pay cut by a further 10% and with the loss of the rent allowance this amounted to a loss of nearly 30% in pay . They have been hit disproportionately and pay should be restored immediately to prevent other newly qualified Gardaí from being forced to leave. Anyone who thinks they should be paid €23000 needs to have their head examined. They do the same work and work the same hours , and take the same risks as other Gardaí.

Mute Declan Ryan
    Favourite Declan Ryan

Go back to the newsagents so moaning c##t

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:52 PM

I agree with sentiment just not the language

Mute Christopher Doyle
    Favourite Christopher Doyle
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:52 PM

Not Brendan Howlen minister for cuts … or our local Councillors who are looking for 40 % increase

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:05 PM

Wheres wally. Happily support an increase. 27k would be fair for new garda. Something should be done for rent considering the can be sent anywhere.

Mute Jack Reece-Murphy
    Favourite Jack Reece-Murphy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:26 PM

Was thinking the same thing myself. Dont forget the far left aka AAA have a strong dislike for the Gardai or any authority it would seem..

Mute .
    Favourite .

It is just like starting in lots of professions dont get paid much However the pay will quickly rise in a few years.
    The average Guard does not get paid €23,171
    Thet can retire at 50 with a generous lump sum equal to their salery and a generous persion for the rest of their lives.
    That is why there are 7 applications for every training post in Templemore

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:53 PM

They can only retire at 50 if they joined at 20; you need 30 years full service for the pension.

Mute jerry curtin
    Favourite jerry curtin

Boo hoo. Walk away then, we have all had to tighten our belts.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin

As the saying goes.. If you don’t like the heat….

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed

With respect to them all. The wage was made very clear to them before they took the job surely ?

Mute The Big Bad Wolf
    Favourite The Big Bad Wolf
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:26 PM

Incorrect. When the first phase entered the college at the time the GRA still had the old pay scale advertised on their website and also still advertised rent allowance

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:46 PM

Fair enough

I find it hard to believe that at no point did they either ask or were they told what their wages would actually be

They didn’t go online to check their wages !

Mute The Big Bad Wolf
    Favourite The Big Bad Wolf
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:52 PM

As I said they weren’t available online. Half way through training after continous questioning was when the pay scale emerged and the realisation of no rent allowance. The GRA took months before meeting with the new recruits also. When you look at the GRA website today the pay scale you get is the old style pay scale and for that reason people seem to think new probationers are due a pay rise after 22 weeks. Again not the case, first increment is after 1 year which we probably won’t see as there will be increment freeze for the next 2-3 Years meaning new probationers will be on 23k for the next 3-4 years

Mute Aidan Smith
    Favourite Aidan Smith
    Jul 18th 2016, 12:01 AM

GRA are not their employer, so completely irrelevant what they put on their website.

They’re self-serving and lazy.

Mute Jack Reece-Murphy
    Favourite Jack Reece-Murphy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:17 PM

Wheres Wally? With his usual “solidarity with the workers” BS or is that just his view when its wasters looking for astronomical wages such as the Luas drivers?

These guys (& gals) generally deserve a wage rise its an extremely tough job that not many of the naysayers on here would have the b@lls to do themselves. A lot more than just pushing a Lever back and forth.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 23rd 2016, 8:11 PM

Wally says that Gardai are not “working class.” .

Mute Colm Lambert
    Favourite Colm Lambert
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:19 PM

Let’s agree that 23,000 is a low starting point. But let’s also remember how it’s only 32 weeks before they get the first of several guaranteed raises for as long as they stay in the Gardai. Let’s remember too the allowances such as time and a quarter for night shift, an extra allowance for working on a Saturday, and double time for a Sunday. It means that even when on the 23,000 pay scale, the actual gross pay figure is higher when allowances come into it. Your Lidl security guard won’t have any of those guaranteed raises or allowances.

Mute James McCartney
    Favourite James McCartney
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:39 PM

I think it’s after 32 weeks that they move onto the 23000pa scale. I thought about joining when the embargo was initially lifted but decided against it when i was told you get a training allowance of €180 a week while in garda college for a 9-5 Mon-Fri. I was making more than that in college by working a handful of shifts in an off licence.

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:03 PM

You would have paid USC on that €180 leaving you with €165!

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:15 PM

Your Lidl security guard will not have to undertake a 2 year training period, When he detains someone for shoplifting he won’t have to arrest him, prepare a file and go to court. He’ll hand him over to a Garda. The increments or guaranteed raises as you say will not be paid to these new recruits as the Gardai have rejected the Lansdowne road agreement.Allowances are what it says on the tin,,,an allowance for something over and above basic duties and are usually paid in most jobs , i.e. Shift allowances and premium rates for Sunday

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:55 PM

no dave he won’t beacuse he didn’t apply to become a garda on those wages and conditions the lads in before shafted the new lads.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:58 PM

dave premium rates for Sunday do you work in disney land ?

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:59 PM

There’s 19 points on the garda pay scale, with two plateaus of 5 & 6 years respectively & a ceiling of €45k p.a.when you reach 17 years service at garda rank. There is no way that any new garda is getting more than €2k p.a. in allowances on top of their €23k salary.

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly
    Mar 24th 2016, 12:08 AM

So they should do nothing? PS I’ve never been to Disneyland

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2016, 12:18 AM

if your getting premium payments for Sunday you are working in disney land.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:12 PM

23k is a living wage, difficult to have sympathy for those straight out of college earning that with stable employment and guaranteed prospects of rises. Nobody forces anyone to live in expensive accommodation or 1 hour 40 away from your place of employment, those are an individuals problems.

Mute Martin Healy
    Favourite Martin Healy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:08 PM

They know the pay rate before they enlist, so why are they whinging?

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan

The man who these same garda showed allegiance to over the ordinary working people of this country can give them some money. Lots of people have to survive on 23k and less…no sympathy

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Mar 23rd 2016, 5:54 PM

Job too complicated for some.

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:14 PM

€23000 is too much for protecting water meters.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:23 PM

Baffling arguments being put forward by these new recruits. If they would be good enough to point me in the direction of this newsagents I would be delighted to avail of the salary on offer. I don’t doubt a little pain during the early stages of any career, I had my own but come off it, few if anyone in the private sector get a fraction of the allowances on offer in the Gardai let alone the knowledge of having a job for life and generous pension.

Mute Dave O Reilly
    Favourite Dave O Reilly

Not baffling really.The cuts in the Public Service have had a disproportionate effect on this group of Gardai, a minority within the force. They do not get rent allowance, which was originally introduced to help young Gardai in these very situations,,,,while the rest of the force who are further up the incremental scale DO receive it.They will also be on the bottom increment until 2018,due to the Gardai rejecting the Lansdowne road Agreement. Most Gardai are nearer the top of the scale and rejecting Lansdowne doesn’t affect them too much, but not these young trainees. As for other allowances,,,,these reflect the fact that Gardai work shifts, unsocial hours and can be out in all weathers etc. Anyone who thinks that the young men and women who make it through all the Aptitude and physical tests, as well as numerous interviews, are not among the most talented of our young people, doesn’t really understand the Recruitment process. These people deserve a fair basic wage, a living wage, and we need to wake up to that fact before it’s too late!

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:56 PM

A new solicitor or accountant can expect to earn less than that for up to the first 4 years of their job

Mute Cally
    Favourite Cally
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:06 PM

They are training and still doing accountancy exams…so its not comparable

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:55 PM

Does a new solicitor or accountant work a 24/7 365 roster? Does a new solicitor or accountant have to place themselves in physical danger as part of the job? If not, they’re not really comparable.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 24th 2016, 12:01 AM

no joe beacuse that is not part of the job a solicitor or accountant applied for .

Mute Alison Ni Ranall
    Favourite Alison Ni Ranall
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:43 PM

This is a joke. It’s the same with teachers I spent 4 years studying my ass of in college as well as working part time. I couldn’t get a job so won’t to London spent under a year there and came home as I never wanted to go in the first place. Still no teaching jobs where ever the 1000 are we were promised. If I could change my degree I would

Mute Caitríona Muireann
    Favourite Caitríona Muireann
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:09 PM

Totally agree the gardai deserve more especially for the work they do but, what newsagents did that particular person work in to earn over 22,000 a year?!? I’m a supervisor and barely make 16,000 and I consider myself lucky with my wage… Most people I know working in shops etc earn well under 15,000…

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:07 PM

Paramedics are also in the same category low wages starting off same as the Dublin Fire brigade recruits. These jobs are more suited to younger people still living at home with the wages on offer,It would be near impossible for someone with a mortgage to go for these positions due to the low pay on offer. Yet a TD/Senator gets multiples of these recruits wage,Only in Ireland.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:46 PM

The sense of entitlement is staggering… There are big sections of people earning less than €23k a year lots of who also live in Dublin or Cork etc. The average industrial wage is a red herring used by unions based on a largely fictitious number. They get a job for life no matter how good or bad they are at it, pensions, perks, guaranteed pay increases, overtime, sickpay, among many other extra oayments, their own credit union etc. They are not comparable with degreel graduates in any way shape or form at the same age… And really… Their job isn’t that dangerous… Unless they trip and either fall down a hole they are protecting or at a revenue collecting checkpoint.

Mute Hugo Russell
    Favourite Hugo Russell
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:28 PM

Disgraceful, no other word for it

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:05 PM

I thought they earned overtime at a rate of €88, if I’m wrong correct me. I dont mind, but if it’s true, I dont really have much sympathy.

Mute Adam C
    Favourite Adam C

€88 per hour?

Mute Aaron Hynes
    Favourite Aaron Hynes
    Mar 24th 2016, 2:12 AM

There is virtually no overtime paid at the moment, unless sanctioned in extreme circumstances. Vast majority is paid by time off in lieu, which is of no benefit to a young person paying city rent / mortgage.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:30 PM

Gardai number one is having a laugh. 25 years old, 2 kids and the wife on mat bringing 200e a week. Ser why not start out with the Gardai as a well when he has to new family to support . Planning doesn’t seem like this lads strong point at all to be fair.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:35 PM

Let’s do time warp again!

We’re back to 2005-2006 public sector pay bonanzas.

If the gardai get a pay rise then can the private sector all get their state supplied €1m pension pots please?

Mute Ray Browne
    Favourite Ray Browne
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:10 PM

If your not happy then leave!

Mute Eimear Lavery ™
    Favourite Eimear Lavery ™
    Mar 23rd 2016, 11:13 PM

Luas drivers looking for €60k a year but a newly qualified Guard has to survive on €23k? Even with overtime through the nose, no-one can survive on that. God help them

Mute Fran Lynch
    Favourite Fran Lynch
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:19 PM

Welcome to the private sector!

Mute Alison Ni Ranall
    Favourite Alison Ni Ranall
    Mar 23rd 2016, 6:46 PM

This is a joke.same with teaching no jobs and if there is they are part time no hol pay etc. I feel my four years of college were wasted

Mute Fiona Murphy
    Favourite Fiona Murphy
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:48 PM

Low paid law enforcement equals corruption.

Mute Whiskeyste
    Favourite Whiskeyste
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:13 PM

Probably the reason why alot of Gardai put in compensation claims.

Mute Clodagh O'Rourke Doyle Dunn
    Favourite Clodagh O'Rourke Doyle Dunn
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:52 PM

Do these new recruits even get benefits, like health insurance?

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 24th 2016, 12:50 AM

No, they have to pay for it like everyone else.

Mute Neal Murphy
    Favourite Neal Murphy
    Mar 25th 2016, 8:16 PM

I have no pity for them whatsoever. They signed up to Haddington road and sided with the oppressors like little lap dogs. They showed their true colours time and time again as bullies and they can starve for all I care.

Mute Ann Moles
    Favourite Ann Moles
    Mar 26th 2016, 12:50 AM

Why not emigrate to australia where the starting salary for a police officer is 67,510 AUD that’s €45,436 my friends husband was a cop just retired

Mute Olar Perez
    Favourite Olar Perez
    Mar 26th 2016, 1:28 AM

HACK ATM AND BECOME RICH TODAY!!!!

Hello everyone. There is a new way of making cash, although it is illegal but also a smart and easy way of living big. I used to be a barrack girl until i became eager and decided to change my life one way or the other. I got opportunity to register for the militant amnesty through connection thereby taking me out of the country for training in the United States for a period of 3years. To cut the story short, during my training i made some white friends who were geeks and also experts at ATM repairs, programming and execution who taught me various tips and tricks about breaking into an ATM. with my knowledge gained from my white geek friends, i have been able to counterfeit and programme a blank ATM card using various tools and software’s. I have ready-made programmed ATM cards; I am just 29, my family are in USA and i have cash, i have a car, i live in malaysia and i travel all around the world. i do my things on a low-key to avoid suspicion. Some of you will wonder why i am selling this out if truly i am already living large. It is because it is hard task doing it yourself, i wont lie to you, its not easy to hack ATM talk more of to reprogramme the card alone and be able to get 40,000 Kuwaiti dinar each day. It takes days and sometimes weeks. Some of you will want the ready made card to avoid the stress of doing it yourself and i don’t give the ready made card out for free because i spent days trying to make it available for you. on yahoomail, (luciafernando222@gmail.com) for request of the ATM NOTE: the ATM card has no pin, no registered account number. It has no limit for withdrawal and it is untraceable.(luciafernando222@gmail.com)

Mute Arnie
    Favourite Arnie
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:56 PM

Pathetic that Luas workers get more than the men and women in our police force – and it’s still not enough for those scroungers.

The Garda put their lives on the line, their salary should reflect that.

Mute Scot Tanner Buchholz
    Favourite Scot Tanner Buchholz
    Mar 24th 2016, 1:53 AM

A Gards pay should be linked to the amount of policing they do. The fact that they do not follow up on crimes that they deem to involve to much paperwork is appalling. Irish people need to depend less on the government and more on the people. Dublin, Cork, Galway, Limerick, and any city with a population of 30,000 should have their own city police and their own city laws, on top of state laws to enforce. It is time to bring policing back to the #NewIreland and hold people responsible for their actions. There is no free pass because of the Catholic Church influence on our society by putting their beliefs into the Irish Constitution. The Gards are paid correctly for what work they do.

Mute Christopher murray
    Favourite Christopher murray
    Mar 23rd 2016, 9:45 PM

No

Mute Neal Murphy
    Favourite Neal Murphy
    Mar 25th 2016, 8:16 PM

I have no pity for them whatsoever. They signed up to Haddington road and sided with the oppressors like little lap dogs. They showed their true colours time and time again as bullies and they can starve for all I care.

Mute De Butlier Seamus
    Favourite De Butlier Seamus
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:46 AM

They should get more money , these new recruits that have left , how much did it cost t Irish tax payers to train them up ? And then they walk away ??