You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Gardaí will march to the Dáil on the new government's first day

They will not march in uniform, as originally proposed, but anyone taking part has been asked to wear something blue.

GARDA SERGEANTS AND inspectors will march on the Dáil on the new government’s first day, in a protest to highlight their calls for pay restoration.

Last month, at the annual conference of the Association of Garda Sergeants and Inspectors (AGSI), a survey revealed 86% of members supported a national march on the Dáil. Large numbers were also in favour of pickets at local constituency offices.

“The AGSI is seen as a soft touch by government because of our restrictions to strike under the Garda Síochána Act, however, there are actions that we can take that will hopefully have our concerns taken seriously,” general secretary John Jacob said at the conference.

This week, notices have been appearing in garda stations around the country, informing members of the association of a protest march planned for 17 May, the new government’s first day in the Dáil.

The notice says AGSI must deliver on its promise to march, to “show the new government that we mean business” in relation to pay restoration”.

‘Weak’

Sergeants and inspectors will gather at Castle Street beside Dublin Castle at 11am before marching to the Dáil with placards for midday. They will not march in uniform, as originally proposed, but anyone taking part has been asked to wear something blue.

“If we don’t have a strong showing of strength for our first protest, [the] government will see us as weak and won’t take our campaign seriously,” the notice said.

One sergeant said the seven years of austerity measures, including cuts in pay of between 20 and 32%, had pushed them into this action.

While the focus is on having their pay restored to pre-recession levels, an increase in resources is also high on the agenda.

“Frontline gardaí are embarrassed with the poor service they provide and stress is at a high level,” he said.

Another told TheJournal.ie that gardaí are “hoping to claw back everything we’ve lost since 2007″.

Members of the association and An Garda Síochána across the board are down substantially in the last ten years. People are struggling.

“We want to show the newly-formed Dáil that we’re serious.”

The national executive of the Garda Representative Association, which represents rank-and-file gardaí, is due to discuss the protest plans this week but it is unlikely they will join their colleagues on Tuesday.

Read: Survey reveals sergeants and inspectors support march on the Dáil, pickets at constituency offices>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

119 Comments
    Mute John Gallagher
    Favourite John Gallagher
    May 10th 2016, 4:32 PM

And I for one, support these men & women!! Good on them

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    May 10th 2016, 5:12 PM

We as citizens should erect barriers, stand behind them on the Leinster house side, have are batons ready and the odd can of pepper spray.

Mute Stibby
    Favourite Stibby
    May 10th 2016, 5:17 PM

Lol, now that’d be such a funny twist. I support them as should every Irish citizen who calls the guards when something goes wrong!

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Machiavelli Rises
    Favourite Machiavelli Rises
    May 10th 2016, 5:19 PM

I for one cannot support this illegal protest which amounts to nothing more than treachery.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 10th 2016, 5:33 PM

Im right with you lads…and ladies.dig in..

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 10th 2016, 5:53 PM

are you insured ..good end of …….make a report but the station is closed ,,,, robbed just mention it later ..the lingo goes on and on and on ..nothing done but DOB vile workings to keep the people down

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    May 10th 2016, 5:54 PM
    Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 10th 2016, 6:03 PM

I support them with this … They have a right to protest as well as everyone else… They need to do what’s best from them..

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    May 10th 2016, 6:04 PM

All gardai are perfect and do a great job

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    May 10th 2016, 6:49 PM

@Machiavelli

They’ll be off duty and they won’t be in uniform. Therefore, they’ll be doing nothing wrong by protesting.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    May 10th 2016, 7:12 PM

Yes LITTLeONE, the Gardaí need do what’s best for them. As you say. Just like the luas drivers I presume whom you undoubtedly support. I presume you will also support all those public sector workers who will follow in their footsteps. And the increased borrowings. There is not going back to 2007. At least not yet.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 10th 2016, 7:20 PM

John r…. You presume an awful lot…….luas drivers , as I live down in Offaly , don’t pay much heed to the jn s and outs of the luas drivers …..so I wouldn’t make presumptions on something I don’t know ..about. Unlike yourself…. Who just assumes a lot about people…

Mute rossi
    Favourite rossi
    May 10th 2016, 7:24 PM

Jon your a clown plain and simple. A clown. I would guarantee at some point in your life you or your family or someone you know needed the gardai to help them. These people meet others at a low point in there life,put there life on the line for low wages and poor working conditions and are expected to do so with a smile on their face. They are trying to stand up for themselves and get better conditions by legally marching on the Dail. And your reply to that is to beat them and use pepper spray. A clown.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    May 10th 2016, 7:28 PM

Hey John r….. You best complie a strongly worded letter to enda Kenny and the new government pronto…… Didn’t enda promise Shane Ross the reopening of some Garda stations for his vote…. You best tell him, that can’t happen because you presume an awful lot and that this carry on is just not on…. It will result in increased borrriwings and we are not going back to 2007

Mute pbyrne
    Favourite pbyrne
    May 10th 2016, 7:56 PM

Good on them about time

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    May 10th 2016, 8:04 PM

Sorry guard

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    May 10th 2016, 8:22 PM

I hope you remember this comment if you or your family ever need to call them

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    May 10th 2016, 8:25 PM

I will not be supporting the guards dob lackys is all they are.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    May 10th 2016, 8:26 PM

Machiavelli Rises my previous comment was for you. I hope you remember your comment if you or any of your family ever need to call them.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    May 10th 2016, 8:30 PM

You a nut ou quoi.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    May 10th 2016, 9:15 PM

Rossi in fairness gardai are rarely in life and death situations. Ireland is one of the safest countries on the planet to be a cop.

Mute knowing it all!
    Favourite knowing it all!
    May 10th 2016, 9:19 PM

Bobby Phelan…You are a Dick plain and simple !

Mute rossi
    Favourite rossi
    May 10th 2016, 10:01 PM

There an unarmed police force.

Mute Seosamh Ohuaine
    Favourite Seosamh Ohuaine
    May 11th 2016, 10:58 AM

And u are basing this on your excessive first hand experience doing the job

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    May 10th 2016, 4:40 PM

I support the garda all The way, but don’t like the way they have handled The IW protests around the country,

Mute Stibby
    Favourite Stibby
    May 10th 2016, 5:20 PM

In fairness there hands where tied on that one, most if not all of them did not want to be standing over shores ruining the public relations they have tried so hard to get..

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    May 10th 2016, 5:31 PM

Stibby, I am not talking about they jad no choice but to be there at the protests, it was and is the way some of them pushed, dragged, physical handing of peaceful protesters, also the way they actually talked to some people, they where out or order, still as I said I support them,, was just highlighting I don’t like the way they handled the protests,

Mute Stibby
    Favourite Stibby
    May 10th 2016, 5:35 PM

Yeah when you put it like that i see your point

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    May 10th 2016, 5:59 PM

There actions at Irish water protests means I will not be supporting them

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    May 10th 2016, 6:15 PM

I agree with you Stibby most did not want to stop the protestors but there were a few evil fu(kers who took great pleasure in stopping them. Yes I support and/respect The Garda but I’d love to see the rotten ones jailed not sacked or asked to resign when they commit crimes

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    May 10th 2016, 9:22 PM

Mick their style of policing protests comes from a total lack of training. Six months learning public order act and traffic law is poor training for the type of work they do. Revenue collection seems to be the top priority. And that is just plain wrong.

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    May 10th 2016, 6:28 PM

Can’t wait to see rte’s reporting of the numbers involved.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 10th 2016, 6:44 PM

“80,000 members of the force took to the streets today in homage to the glorious leader Enda Kenny etc etc…. “

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    May 10th 2016, 8:07 PM

What is a fair starting wage – after attestation (62 weeks) – for a guard?

Mute Ross O'Callaghan
    Favourite Ross O'Callaghan
    May 10th 2016, 8:26 PM

€23,084 you can add max ,€3000 allowances on that. All Gross figures

Mute Fizzy O'Terrapy
    Favourite Fizzy O'Terrapy
    May 10th 2016, 4:39 PM

hold on a second…ARE YOU KIDDING ME???? Is this the same Gardai that prevented ordinary citizens from marching to the same Dáil to protest water charges??

Maybe Irish citizens should block off all the streets to prevent Garda access to the Dáil.

This is hypocrisy of the absolute highest order. NO SUPPORT.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 10th 2016, 4:47 PM

Are those the same ordinary citizens that blocked up the city on several occasions last year, including standing in from of the cars and buses of ordinary commuters n the keys who were just trying to get home after an honest day’s work?

Mute Peter Mc Hugh
    Favourite Peter Mc Hugh
    May 10th 2016, 4:56 PM

Fizzy, they prevented no one from protesting peacefully.

Mute twit
    Favourite twit
    May 10th 2016, 5:23 PM

Well you can’t say every citizen was that way to be fair! That is like saying “is that the same gardai who squashed penalty points and abused the pulse system”

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    May 10th 2016, 5:41 PM

I won’t support the Gardai because they didn’t support the biggest protest movement in the history of the state but instead acted as strong-arm security for our neo-liberal government, bullying people into accepting water meters on their property. They have a lot of PR work to do to regain public trust and they must also remember that their primary role is to protect and the serve the majority against an unscrupulous minority and that doesn’t just include petty criminals ;) They have failed abysmally to carry out their duty to the Irish people in this regard.

Mute t
    Favourite t
    May 10th 2016, 6:52 PM

Who do you think should pay for your water? The tooth fairy?

Mute rossi
    Favourite rossi
    May 10th 2016, 7:25 PM

Gardai blocked main road for public safety 3 other smaller roads were available for protesters to walk right to the door.

May 10th 2016, 7:34 PM

t if you purchase anything that attracts VAT or have a car and pay your motor tax you already pay for your water. No need for a tooth fairy just an understanding that paying for the same service twice does not wash. Pun intended.

Mute Fizzy O'Terrapy
    May 10th 2016, 7:59 PM

I am not trying to make a case for the validity of either protest but does no-one see the hypocrisy in this? I am commenting on the freedom for some to protest in some places and others being prevented from protesting in the same place. This is undemocratic in my opinion. In terms of ANY protest for any reason, can you not see anything that resembles a “one rule for us, one rule for them” situation here?

Access to the Dail WAS blocked. By Gardai. In terms of gesture, who were the citizens trying to protest against? The Government. So where would be the best place to protest? Outside the Government building. Who are the Gardai trying to protest against? The Government. Where have they decided would be the most appropriate and significant place to protest? Outside the Government building.

They obviously feel there is no point in protesting on O’Connell street and disrupting people coming home from an honest days work when their problem is with people coming home from a dishonest days work in the Dail.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    May 10th 2016, 8:00 PM

No, it’s the same Gardai who protected normal citizens from feral yobs determined to cause havoc and stop those who work for a living going about their lawful, daily business

Mute Fizzy O'Terrapy

I have no argument with the reason for protesting as I believe everyone should be fairly compensated for their profession but I simply cannot support a protest outside the Dail by an aggrieved party who prevented another aggrieved party from doing the same. We should all be entitled to protest outside the Dail for any reason; I don’t care it’s Gardai, Luas Drivers, Farmers or any other group. It’s simply the principle of it that doesn’t represent equal right to protest.

Mute Fizzy O'Terrapy
    May 10th 2016, 8:19 PM

I work for a living Stephen. I have done for 20 years. When I started I just paid PAYE. Now I pay PAYE, USC, Property Tax and Water Tax. Do you think that’s fair? Do you think I should be paying back unsecured bondholders for debts I didn’t incur? Do you think that because you have a beard and glasses and you read the Times on Sunday that you have some sort of moral high ground which lets you refer to people as “Feral Yobs” because they’re not in the same Thursday night bridge club as you? I’m probably same tax bracket than you are Stephen if not higher but I can promise you I would NEVER EVER pass judgement or sneer at working class people and their right to protest an unjust tax.

Working class people built this country. Your political party destroyed it. I’ll tell you what, why don’t you make the topic of your next chairing of your Fianna Fail cumman “Compassion and respect in an all inclusive society” or better yet try to find a book about it for your book club.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    May 10th 2016, 9:00 PM

Who do you think should own our water? Alan Kelly’s brother?

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    May 11th 2016, 6:48 AM

Fuzzy you are still a layabout tosser !

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    May 12th 2016, 2:30 PM

Have you been under a rock for the past 2 years, people are blue in the face from telling fools like you we pay for our water through general taxation, THROUGH GENERIAL TAXATION!!!!!!

Mute will
    Favourite will
    May 10th 2016, 4:41 PM

Fair play .the need all the support they can get .

Mute Machiavelli Rises
    May 10th 2016, 5:25 PM

People should not encourage such lawlessness from the force that is supposed to uphold the law. If they wanted to right to protest they should have become Luas drivers.

Mute Steve McMahon
    Favourite Steve McMahon
    May 10th 2016, 5:04 PM

And who’s going to police this protest ..

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    May 10th 2016, 5:13 PM

I hear Dinny O Redacted has a security firm…..

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    May 10th 2016, 6:23 PM

The Maltese police

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    May 10th 2016, 5:07 PM

Support the Gardai on this. Even as an Irish Water protestor were I see video day after day of them arresting protestors, sometimes being physically abusive.

They are only following orders from higher up. Deserve more pay for having to do a job that shouldn’t , but does, alienate you for the exact people you should be policing FOR.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    May 10th 2016, 5:34 PM

Very Fair….

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    May 10th 2016, 8:04 PM

@ TTIP +1

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 10th 2016, 5:01 PM

Whingers from the IW protest outraged at gardai who did their jobs. Muppets…

May 10th 2016, 7:36 PM

Bit like you O’Reilly with your outrage that citizens of this country protested against the double charge for water. BTW news flash the citizens won!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 10th 2016, 10:13 PM

Good man Kerry. I’d say if your income was halved you’d keep spending at the same level. Maths clearly not your strong point…

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    May 10th 2016, 7:33 PM

They must be totally fed up with no prisons being built and the legal profession making millions from repeat offenders and people out on bail. They have a dreadful job dealing with drug dealers and thugs.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    May 10th 2016, 5:01 PM

The enforcers of the law may be breaching the laws which they are sworn to uphold but I would not decry An Garda Siochana for engaging in civil disobedience. It poses an interesting irony.

Fortunately and properly, none of these Garda Sergeants and Inspectors will be subject to dawn raids or other enforcement action.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

I doubt they’ll be detaining ministers unlawfully or throwing bricks…

May 10th 2016, 7:31 PM

I think you need an allegedly inserted in your claim O’Reilly otherwise you may be in trouble with the law.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    May 10th 2016, 9:33 PM

Fiona they are not breaking any laws.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 10th 2016, 10:06 PM

No need Kerry. A minister was illegally detained…

Mute Derek Hughes
    Favourite Derek Hughes
    May 10th 2016, 5:09 PM

And their Solidarity with the plight of the Water Protesters will ensure that they have record crowds lining the streets to support them.

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    May 10th 2016, 5:45 PM

Isn’t well for them ? They can protest without fear of being pepper sprayed or arrested for obstruction.

Pity we don’t all enjoy such utopian rights !

Mute Machiavelli Rises

The Gardai enjoy incredible pensions and benefits, their basic wage shoots up after merely a year on the job. They’ve some neck on them breaking the laws they are supposed to enforce.

Mute Pat O Brien
    Favourite Pat O Brien
    May 10th 2016, 5:34 PM

What laws are they planning on breaking?…..

Mute Seán O'Ciardubhain
    Favourite Seán O'Ciardubhain
    May 10th 2016, 7:01 PM

hypocrits, theyre perfectly happy to baton people of the streets and arrest them when protesting

Mute Mel Kelly
    Favourite Mel Kelly
    May 10th 2016, 6:11 PM

It’s amazing how ignorant the Irish public is.. supporting an absolute shocking excuse for a police force in looking for a raise… we might as well give Enda Kenny and Michael Martin a raise while we’re at it.. The Icelandic police force now they deserve a raise

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 10th 2016, 5:21 PM

Bit hypocritical if you think about it.

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    May 10th 2016, 5:20 PM

A rank and file enjoys a pension in his early 50′s that would cost the average Joe €1.2 million, tell us about all the allowances Mr Jacob, the builder used as a template during the ‘blue flu’ epidemic are abroad so who is the current scapegoat???????????

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    May 10th 2016, 5:39 PM

Will the army rangers be policing this illegal protest after all you reap what you sow

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    May 10th 2016, 4:46 PM

Will Eoin O’Duffy be leading them?

Mute john mccarthy
    Favourite john mccarthy
    May 10th 2016, 6:20 PM

Will make a change to see them on the streets.

Mute ironballs mcginty
    Favourite ironballs mcginty
    May 10th 2016, 7:04 PM

Garda stations at risk of burglary on the day as the guards rarely leave office. Have a defibrillator on the ready, the walk might be too much for them.

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    May 10th 2016, 6:38 PM

Behind Fire Brigade and Paramedics, the Gardai have the next worst job in the country.

I have mixed feelings. On one hand as a force (and lets be honest) they are a bit of a joke. On the other, they aren’t going to get any better in their current condition.

The fact that the Executive control them is what bothers me the most. I’d like to see them put under the control of a fourth, Civil branch or Government to ensure they can never become a “Hire from the State” police force for Private companies like Shell and Irish Water again. Indeed also to suppress public dissent in any form. The fact that in the case of Irish Water we paid for them to suppress dissent about an organisation we don’t want in existence was the really what killed my last bit of respect for them.

Take control away from the State and I’d be happy to give them what they deserve.

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    May 10th 2016, 8:06 PM

The water protesters should be deployed with hoses just in case the garda get out of hand!

Mute KevJ
    Favourite KevJ
    May 10th 2016, 6:41 PM

Sergeants and inspectors moaning about pay. Spare a thought for the new gardai out of templemore who can barely afford to live on the wage they are on.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    May 11th 2016, 6:05 AM

Why join if they know the money is crap? I can never get my head around this.

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    May 10th 2016, 6:55 PM

There pay has been cut badly but I can’t say I support them I used to have a tremendous amount of respect for them but they have seriously burned their bridges with me personally. I can’t support them while i sympathies with there plight’s they were asked which side are you on boys they chose wrong. There are I’m sure great Gards with the right mentality to do the job and they should be paid well, and they are but the current tax regime is what is killing them and everyone else. However before any pay concessions are made they should be reformed and if they cant be reformed then overhauled, and put under civilian oversight rather than under the thumb of the minister for justice. Who quite frankly can’t be trusted to be impartial. Case in point Ray Burke. But I personally can’t bring myself to side with them considering how many of them have behaved. However I hold no animosity toward the good garda and wish them well.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    May 10th 2016, 6:11 PM

Gardai asked yo wear something blue on March how about something black and blue

Mute @traceyireland
    Favourite @traceyireland
    May 10th 2016, 4:49 PM

those of you who support them should march with them IN PROTEST OF IW REFUNDS

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    May 10th 2016, 5:13 PM

Lmao :))

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    May 10th 2016, 5:40 PM

May their be an almighty downpour of rain on that day and everyone of them get soaked to the skin with the water they are so vehemently protecting for IW. NO SUPPORT!!!

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    May 10th 2016, 7:30 PM

Blu flu

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    May 10th 2016, 8:03 PM

Much rather the hundreds of millions spent on legal aid to repeat offenders be instead used for Garda salaries. Legal aid should end after 3 convictions

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    May 10th 2016, 8:34 PM

It’s difficult, this one. I support all workers in their actions to better themselves and their working conditions. But the Gardai, as a force no. Yet i personally know some very decent members of the force, and had dealing with others who were always fair minded.
    Their attitude to water protesters has been disgraceful. They have pushed old men and women around with impunity, like as if they were given carte blanch to do the job with as much heavy handedness as they could. Yesterday’s shenanaggins in Wicklow took the biscuit. The battoning of an elderly man at an auction protest for no reason. The refusal to allow a woman get into a taxi to take a sick child to hospital. To many uncalled for incidents, carried out with a level of unnecessary vindictiveness.
    I realise they are only “following orders”, but where have we heard that being used as an excuse before. It wasn’t acceptable then, its not acceptable now.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    May 10th 2016, 7:02 PM

Well they wont be putting innocent people in jail that day!

Mute ironballs mcginty
    Favourite ironballs mcginty
    May 10th 2016, 7:09 PM

Would love to see a poll – In your experience of interacting with gardai do you believe they where competent and professional in carrying out their role. Yes / No

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    May 10th 2016, 7:57 PM

An underpaid police force is a corruptable police force.
    We should show solidarity, regardless of the actions of a small few thugs in their midst.
    Remember, not all protestors were shining their halos either

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    May 10th 2016, 7:59 PM

Would they not just retrain as LUAS drivers?

Mute Chris Wakefield
    Favourite Chris Wakefield
    May 10th 2016, 8:45 PM

Gardai wasting their time, the Gardai will be working for G4s when TTIP comes our way. Best of luck lads.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    May 10th 2016, 8:21 PM

Its about time this happened. There entitled to a decent wage like everyone else. Keeping us safe.Its a no brainer.They need to be supported by everyone.

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    May 10th 2016, 8:57 PM

It’s different when they want something

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    May 10th 2016, 8:40 PM

Wonder if guards on duty that day will be as brutal when ordinary citizens protested against government draconian policy’s, or the private security company they became concerning Irish water

Mute patrick keenan
    Favourite patrick keenan
    May 10th 2016, 7:36 PM

Well good for them if they get pay rise as for 4 garda in my local shop centre two of them doing shopping and other two say in patrol car. That what I call bad policing

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    May 10th 2016, 11:38 PM

So 2 guards are seen in a shop (workers and patrons know they are safe and guards are mixing with the public) and two stay on the street so street is bring policed too. Yup. That’s bad.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    May 10th 2016, 6:24 PM

I hope they won’t march in their uniforms

Mute Eugene H. Krabbs
    Favourite Eugene H. Krabbs
    May 10th 2016, 9:18 PM

Who will defend them when their soldiers turn on them…

Mute nifty50
    Favourite nifty50

Sure cowboys don’t march .

Mute Stephen Murray
    Favourite Stephen Murray
    May 11th 2016, 12:18 AM

A member of the GRA Central Executive had a retirement party in CFJ nightclub last week. By coincidence the Central Executive had an official meeting there that night. Travel expenses, overnight expenses, free bar all paid for out of garda members union subs.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    May 11th 2016, 7:05 AM

I 100% support the Gardaí, just surprised they haven’t done this sooner.

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    May 10th 2016, 11:40 PM

The garda are requested to wear something blue for the March how about BLUE BUCKETS on their heads they beheave like RoBOTS anyway

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    May 11th 2016, 1:41 AM

I hope that the army don’t get called in to quell this unruly behaviour imagine looking for a wage that you can live on. If they get they’re way enda will be out protesting next

Mute liam
    Favourite liam
    May 11th 2016, 8:46 AM

This might be the only exercise the 900 + office bound gardai get!

Mute Colin Brady
    Favourite Colin Brady
    May 11th 2016, 12:19 PM

Why only garda sergeants and inspected? ?
    Will they be arrested Like The Water protesters ??

Mute YurtyGertie McMac
    Favourite YurtyGertie McMac
    May 10th 2016, 8:45 PM

Vay Hick il.

Mute Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Favourite Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    May 11th 2016, 5:30 PM

If they stuck to common law policing as per oath instead of acting as Corporate Policy Enforcement Officers, they might have more support

Mute Jack Baylor
    Favourite Jack Baylor
    May 12th 2016, 4:06 PM

These are the same Gardaí who tried at every opportunity to shut down whistleblowers?

These are the same Gardaí who have spent the last 10 years under reporting crime stats by failing to put up to 30% of crimes into the PULSE system?

These are the same Gardaí who have been involved in several political policing events in the last year against democratically elected members of government?

These are the same Gardaí who allowed major crime gangs to wokr with impunity up until the point where they’re killing each other in the streets in broad daylight?

These are the same Gardaí who have been REPEATEDLY filmed using excessive force on the elderly, on women, and on children for taking part in legal protesting events?

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    May 11th 2016, 11:14 AM

ABSOLUTELY FULLY SUPPORT THESE GARDAI THEY ARE JUST MEN DOING A JOB

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    May 15th 2016, 9:21 AM

I will be there with my camera filming these law breakers

Mute Paul O Riordan
    Favourite Paul O Riordan
    May 10th 2016, 7:05 PM

I hope the army comes out and gives them a beating the same as they did to iw protesters. Oh I forgot the same rules don’t apply to them