You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Street View

Gardaí find human remains during search for rapist James Nolan's body

Gardaí began a search of Tolka Valley Park a week and a half ago.

GARDAÍ CONDUCTING SEARCHES in connection with the death of convicted rapist James Nolan have found human remains at a Dublin park.

On Saturday 1 April, a search was launched at Tolka Valley Park in Finglas after gardaí received information that Nolan’s remains may be found there.

In February 2011, a human arm discovered on Dollymount Beach was identified through DNA testing as that of the convicted criminal. Nolan, 46, of Fairlawn Road in Finglas had been released from prison in 2010 after serving a term for burglary.

He had not been seen since his release when his limb was found on the Dublin beach, but he had not been reported missing.

In 1986, he was sentenced to 14 years in prison for his part in the gang rape of a 23-year-old woman.

With reporting from Michelle Hennessy.

Read: Gardaí begin search in Dublin park for remains of rapist James Nolan

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Apr 10th 2017, 7:58 PM

Normally I would say that some sensitivity is called for but this gentleman got his just desserts

Mute Darren Boothman
    Favourite Darren Boothman
    Apr 10th 2017, 7:43 PM

He’s the hide and seek champion since 2010

Mute Denise Prendergast
    Favourite Denise Prendergast
    Apr 10th 2017, 8:34 PM

If it is him god help his family but at the same time feck him he got what he deserve

Mute Brendan McLaughlin
    Favourite Brendan McLaughlin
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:54 PM

Would it not be cheaper and less hassle to re-bury the offenders arm rather than waste time and money digging him up so the State can bury him again?
    Just saying.

Mute Gwen Denny
    Favourite Gwen Denny
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:22 PM

I’m nearly sure it was his own brother confessed in his suicide note

Mute louis walsh
    Favourite louis walsh
    Apr 10th 2017, 8:02 PM

I’m all for revenge but the person who murdered him is no better than those who raped that poor person

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Apr 10th 2017, 8:17 PM

@louis walsh: got what he deserved

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe

@louis walsh: I’d say you’d be surprised how far revenge could take you if it was your loved one that got gang raped.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Apr 10th 2017, 10:58 PM

@louis walsh: In my book they’re miles better than him.

Not that I ever cared much for this concept of “being better than”, never could grasp that one.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Apr 11th 2017, 7:06 AM

@Ron North: they’re all filth. We have a judicial system, we don’t need murderers.

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Apr 11th 2017, 9:18 AM

@Martin Byrne: our judicial system is broken. If it wasn’t this guy woulda been still in prison. Most of our serious crimes are carried by ppl with multiple previous’s. We’re the land of the concurrent and suspended sentences.

Mute shaz
    Favourite shaz
    Apr 10th 2017, 11:34 PM

Leave him to rot were he is. Waste of garda resources. Hats off to who ever killed that s(um. Karma is a birch and it hit him hard!

Apr 10th 2017, 8:16 PM

Now to find the murderer …

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@Suzie Sunshine: just don’t try to hard

Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    Apr 10th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: They already know the murderer. Someone confessed to the killing and told them where the body was buried in a suicide note last year.

Apr 10th 2017, 8:34 PM

@Paul P O’Sullivan: cheers I wasn’t aware of that

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:14 PM

@ Paul P o’sullivan, that’s so sad, I guess we all say what we would do if someone who carried out such a horrendous act to a loved one of ours, I guess the person whom you speak of as I’m not aware of them just couldn’t live with either. Rip to who ever that poor soul is.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Apr 10th 2017, 9:15 PM

* to

Mute IRONYMAN
    Favourite IRONYMAN
    Apr 11th 2017, 11:55 AM

The guy done his time for his crime. Nobody deserves to be mutilated and spread across the city and the fact that everyone on here is ok with that is sick. You should all have a long hard look at yourselves.

Mute Andy Hynes
    Favourite Andy Hynes
    Apr 11th 2017, 6:35 PM

@IRONYMAN: they love getting up on their hind legs when the reality isn’t on their door. Tough talk and spiting dead criminals on the internet is what the brain-trust invest their time and talent in these days.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Apr 11th 2017, 2:35 AM

Might still be a rapist out there unable to pull himself off not a good thing though one might say no ‘arm in that nor if he’s dead either hope the latter. Though better he were banged up for life to mean life.

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 11th 2017, 4:17 PM

Incinerate him.

Mute shaz
    Favourite shaz
    Apr 10th 2017, 11:35 PM

Bitch! Not birch