You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Government silent as Snowden docs reveal access to Ireland's internet cables

It has been revealed that UK authorities have access to one Irish submarine internet cable.

PastedImage-98259 A map of submarine cables. Submarinecablemap.com Submarinecablemap.com

A NEW RAFT of documents released by Edward Snowden to a German newspaper allegedly details UK authorities’ access to Ireland’s internet traffic.

However, the Government has remained silent on the issue this morning.

The documents, published earlier this week by Süddeutsche Zeitung with the Irish connections identified by The Irish Times, revealed an extensive list of submarine communication cables that the UK’s Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ) has access to.

One of these is SOLAS, a 232km cable that stretches from Kilmore Quay in Wexford to Oxwich Bay in the United Kingdom.

Owners of the cable contacted by The Irish Times denied any knowledge of the activity.

Two other cables, ESAT1 from Kilmore Quay to Sennen Cove and ESAT2 from Southport, also appear on a list of cables.

partner_cables-page-001

Part of the “partner cable” list published. Click here to view a larger PDF version.

Another cable that lands at Ireland, Hibernia, is on a list of to which there is no access to currently.

These optical fibre cables carry a range of data, from internet traffic to telephone calls.

When contacted by this website today, spokespeople for the Department of Foreign Affairs and the Department of Justice had no comment to make.

Earlier this week, as part of an inquiry into the murder of UK solider Lee Rigby, it was revealed that UK authorities collect so much data that they are unable to access or monitor it all.

“However, the resources required to process the vast quantity of data involved mean that, at any one time, GCHQ can only process approximately *** of what they can access,” the report read.

As detailed in this inquiry earlier this week, some security services do have access to internet traffic to facilitate investigations.

First published 8.53 pm

Read: UK spies can’t handle all of the data they collect >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 116 comments
116 Comments
    Mute Patrick Corr
    Favourite Patrick Corr
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:45 AM

It will be interesting what comment we get from the government once they have a few days to think up some crazy response….

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:00 PM

This should be no surprise, Irish telecoms networks have always been monitored GCHQ Cheltenham.

Mute Petyr Baelish
    Favourite Petyr Baelish
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:30 PM

My thoughts exactly Patrick Corr

The scene in Father Ted (The old grey whistle theft) where Ted makes up the story of stealing the whistle to train horses comes to mind. ;-)

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:39 PM

The Smithwick Tribunal relied unquestioningly on MI5 information without ever considering anything else – and Callinan and Shatter were out like a rehearsed shot !
    Paddy is a bit too smart those ould shenanigans now so he is !

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:47 PM

Patrick, this government is the same as all others that went before it: it regards our sovereignty in the same way as it regards us i.e. with utter contempt!!

Mute Paul Downes
    Favourite Paul Downes
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:51 PM

What the fupp are ya talkin about ya fuppin fupper

Mute Gerard Byrne
    Favourite Gerard Byrne
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:47 PM

The government probably gave them the go ahead spineless lap dog muppets that they are ,the same blueshirt fraud labour clowns done nothing about the Dublin Monaghan bombings in 1974.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:59 PM

Patrick, the government think up any sort of response? It already in the hand of their “advisors” . They cant speak until told what to say.

Mute Tennis Shoes
    Favourite Tennis Shoes
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:18 PM

Can we just call a moratorium on the Father Ted references please? They pop up on every single page here. It was a good show – and it’s about 15 years old. Move on.

Mute Pancho Barrett
    Favourite Pancho Barrett
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:26 PM

This is a disgrace!, it’s an illegal act against an independent state and it’s citizens, I recommend people call their constituency office and ask their TD what is going to be done about this. The British Ambassador should be told to make a statement immediately

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:27 PM

Down with that sort of thing.

Mute Michael Kissane
    Favourite Michael Kissane
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:31 PM

Sure they have to monitor the sinister element orchestrating poor dumb Paddy’s resistance to the water tax and theft of his natural resorces that the Dame keeps telling them about.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:03 PM

Tapping govts is business as usual, you think G2 does not keep tabs on British ministers dark secrets? The Brits have had every phone of every cabinet member tapped since way back when. It’s not always for tapping your ‘enemies’ like people wonder why the yanks tapped Merkel, it could be anything from doing it on behalf of their companies to get a contract (the line between corporate and govt being very blurry these days esp with the power of money / donations in politics) to getting an inside scoop on what negotiating strategy she’ll use at trade talks, prob the same reason the Brits tap our cabinet.
    Why the general population? That’s where it gets creepy, in a lot of security service circles, since the tech came around there has been a ”collect everything .. you never know what you might need it for” atittude, that’s a direct quote from former NSA head. Now you can see how even with security being the motive, if you collect it all, how open to abuse that is…

Mute Ink Tonic
    Favourite Ink Tonic
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:51 PM

Check out Menwith Hill/Echelon for yerselves, built in 1954 http://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/mar/01/menwith-hill-eavesdropping-base-expansion

Mark Thomas covered it years ago http://youtu.be/epWTJUajIdI

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:56 PM

DEAR TAOISEACH ,
    YOUR SWORN DUTY IS TO NOW ORDER THE CLOSING OF THE BRITISH EMBASSY – THAT’S WHAT THE ARMY IS FOR !
    YOURS
    AN IRISH CITIZEN …

Mute Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Favourite Trish O'Leary-Dunne
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:28 PM

Careful now!

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 29th 2014, 10:17 PM

Dermot
    First of all you should persuade us that you’re Irish so we can evaluate your moronic demand for the Taoiseach to carry our his sworn duty in respect of the closing of an embassy!
    Secondly you should let us know where you reside so that any such evaluation takes into account your mental stability and appropriate care.
    In order to humor you oar has you could indicate where this swearing took place and who was present. You might indicate the form of word used and any information about the ceremonial nature of this event.
    International Law has a number of issues with the use of any form of military assault on the embassy of a foreign State. You might usefully advise us as to which legal tenets you rely upon in terms of your advice/ instructions to the Taoiseach.
    Dermot………have you lost the plot entirely or just somewhat on this occasion?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 10:19 PM

Hugh -
    “Burn the Bondholders !”

Mute Conor Roantree
    Favourite Conor Roantree
    Nov 30th 2014, 12:39 AM

This tap would have been in place long before this coalition

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Nov 30th 2014, 12:47 AM

They will firstly deny it and then secondly and thirdly deny it !!!

Mute Adam Gill
    Favourite Adam Gill
    Nov 30th 2014, 2:57 AM

Dermot, i may be wrong here, but I’m not entirely sure it’s accurate to state that the “sworn duty” of the Taoiseach is to invade Britain? I’m open to correction though…

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Nov 30th 2014, 3:28 AM

Patrick Corr it will be lies for sure after all Fine Gael and Labour are proven liars

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 30th 2014, 5:56 AM

It would suit them better to sort out their own bullshit like all those english jihadist than sticking their noses in our privacy.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Nov 30th 2014, 6:35 AM

Can I just say, firstly, I have nothing secondary to say…

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 30th 2014, 11:27 AM

Adam ……
    whether it is it or not I don’t think Enda knows or cares what it is ….and that is the whole point of the silence isn’t it ?
    Simon Coveney and Frances Fitzgerald should be spitting fire – unless of course they use titbits from the MI5 to their advantage which would be fine except heroin is on the increase not decrease ….

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 30th 2014, 11:29 AM

Adam …….I didn’t say invade Britain – I said close the embassy – just for a week or two to make it look good and all that ……

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:43 AM

Ah sure God love Enda Kenny the poor man doesn’t even know what’s happening in his own head……

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:51 AM

God love Tom Red, he thinks he knows who knows what. How quaint.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:26 PM

George Orwell – on such a page – how are things in Cheltenham ?
    yours
    A “Peasant”

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:44 PM

“When will politicians realize that George Orwell’s 1984 was a warning, not an instruction manual?” DEREK CLARK Member of the European parliament

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:02 PM

John – Then I am doing my job

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:44 AM

Its kind of flattering the way the world superpowers included us in their spy games.

Now stop spying on us…

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:32 PM

The govt should shut off their access as best they can but we need to find out which of the two is happening, are they doing it without or with the govts permission, either way it’s illegal.

Our own agencies G2 and Special Branch do not engage in mass surveillance, and only recently very strict wiretapping laws were passed by this govt so I doubt they know about it. There are ways they can monitor our traffic anyway but we should do whatever we can to disrupt it.
    Our agencies give them unfettered cooperation with AlQaeda and other terror groups that operate here, there is no excuse for wiretapping us other than the main reason the US does it: economic espionage.

If the govt knew about this on any level then they will be out on their asses very very soon.

Mute John Barry
    Favourite John Barry
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:02 PM

My dear Ryan,

Firstly, this should not come a a surprise to you. The U.K authorities can and do monitor our communications for both political and economic advantage. This is actually old news as this 2008 ECHR case highlights:-

In the appropriately named Liberty v. The United Kingdom the European Court of Human Rights has held that a system of mass surveillance operated by the UK government to spy on all telephone calls, faxes and emails to and from Ireland was in breach of the right to privacy under Article 8 of the European Convention on Human Rights

The case, brought by the Irish Council for Civil Liberties, Liberty and British-Irish Rights Watch dealt with a system operated by the Ministry of Defence which monitored, between 1990 and 1997, up to 10,000 simultaneous telephone channels coming from Dublin to London and on to the continent. During this time the MoD intercepted all public telecommunications, including telephone, facsimile and e-mail communications, carried on microwave radio between two of British Telecom’s radio stations (at Clwyd and Chester), a link which carried much of Ireland’s telecommunications traffic. Those telephone calls, faxes and emails were then stored and filtering using search engines and keyword lists before being passed to intelligence analysts.

So you see Brian, this kind of surveillance is going on along time. Irish Governments have been aware of it and I am sure that there is a limit to the amount of sensitive data that can be sent via email etc.

What can the Government do about it? Well not alot really. Be aware of it and taper how you send sensitive material.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:08 PM

It’s not a surprise to me, it’s a surprise that they are tapping economic and political data, because that’s business as usual as I said above, we do it too. It’s quite another to do mass surveillance, USA style, without much filtering, they’ve never done that before to Ireland because the tech did not even exist for it 10 years ago, collecting everything nearly was not feasable until v v recent advances in IT tech.

We need more detail on what if any filtering they are using, are they just continuing to mine economic and political data, as they always did, just using a diff technique or are they monitoring the general population. The latter would be odd, there are all sort of genuine national security reasons to do certain kinds of mass surveillance in your own country and sinister ones in terms of supressin dissent, but to do it in someone elses is odd. I know they worry about us being an AQ base, a justified worry given we have been so used, but casting a net as wide as they appear to be is not on.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:09 PM

*not a surprise they are tapping economic and political data.

Mute Kevin Broaders
    Favourite Kevin Broaders
    Feb 25th 2015, 4:08 AM

.. and stealing our identities / faking passports and using Shannon in your misanthropic adventures.

Mute Gregory Torfs
    Favourite Gregory Torfs
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:52 AM

The Brits must have forgotten that Ireland isn’t theirs to control … I’m curious if the government will, for once, stand up for itself …

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:04 PM

There really is norhing strange about sharing communications networks, we don’t know how much Irish comms are being monitored and for most people it really doesn’t matter.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:40 PM

Chris – it’s illegal , it’s invasion of privacy – it’s perverted and paranoid ….so if you approve then you must approve of such behaviour or be involved in it …and don’t think the soft middle of road postings is fooling anyone ….

Mute Liam Long
    Favourite Liam Long
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:04 PM

Perverted :-D they’re probably looking into the optic fibre and spying on us going to the toilet :-D

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:06 PM

I see my comment about the government bending over and taking it was removed. Poor from the journal, that.

Mute Pancho Barrett
    Favourite Pancho Barrett
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:22 PM

I was just waiting for neo-con blue-shirt Chris Kirk to start telling us again that ‘this is completely normal carry on’ I mean just listen to him; ‘we don’t know how much Irish comms are being monitored and for most people it really doesn’t matter’….. talk about an Orwellian capitulation, just lie down and take it Kirk is that it? where’s your back bone and sense of national pride?

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:01 PM

Jihad. Bomb. Plane. Shariah. Infidel.

Have I got their attention yet?

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:42 PM

You forgot Dissident Republican. That should catch MI5′s attention

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:52 PM

myfive, see-I-ay, eslam, ….now they don’t see me – proves how stupid the whole thing is !

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:21 PM

And ‘sinister fringe’ will get FG’s.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:13 PM

They don’t do keyword filters with those words all it would do is give them 1m+ news articles and comment sections. They search for stuff they know to be terrorist code word or code word combos.

See filtering for that stuff I think everyone understands, but that they are going down the US route, collecting EVERYTHING ….that’s way too wide a net cast and way too open to dispute. Another thing worries me, I recently became aware theres a lot of ”cross spying”, to get around their own local laws the UK and US spy on each others populations and cross match their info…if the Irish Govt is involved in some sort of twisted deal like that to engage British security services to do mass surveillance…then the GUBU era and Charlie Haughey tapping a journalists phone is going to look like petty theft in comparison to the size of the scandal…

Mute Keith DArcy
    Favourite Keith DArcy
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:33 PM

Jim Corr’s going to be handing out a lot of told you so today.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:58 PM

Now lets not give the conspiracy theorists this one. Remember their past predictions on Ukraine causing WWIII and an ebola outbreak rampaging through Europe, remember their track record.
    The real motives are two fold:

1. Overzealous ‘securocrats’ as SF calls them
    2. Political and economic espionage

..but the motives the conspiracy theorists give are not so pedestrian, they range from a world govt to murdering 5/6ths of the wold population and controlling the rest through microchips and contrails…
    A broken clock being kinda sorta right about just one of the 100s of crazy things they come out with one time does not a credible source make.

Mute DM
    Favourite DM
    Nov 30th 2014, 3:56 AM

Ryan it was actually WHO (world health organisation) and all news stations which were pumping out scaremongering that ebola would majorly break out in Europe and predicted 10,000 new cases of the disease a week…not conspiracy people who were saying the complete opposite..which turned out right.

It was the EU, NATO and the Americans that said the Ukraine situation could result in WW3…

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 30th 2014, 5:48 AM

Jim Corr is not a conspiracy theorist that is the state media construct most of what he said has come to light.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:44 AM

Is nothing sacred in this bog?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:48 PM

Turf !
    “when they come for the land take out the gun!”

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:58 AM

Enda, selling out his people again….

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:22 PM

Cos the Brits only started spying in 2011.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:49 PM

correct add bertie, haughey, bruton , cowen , Lemass ….. not sure about Lynch – but it was the same civil service and the same families therein ….

Mute Eamon Ryan
    Favourite Eamon Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:58 PM

A foreign government listens to the Irish people more than our own does? Maybe they should forward some of the messages to Leinster House for.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:04 PM

Why would the Government need to utter any public statement to the British?
    GCHQ just needs to hand Cameron the recordings of our Cabinet meetings

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 4:05 PM

That’s Enda’s job !

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 30th 2014, 4:26 PM

No – Enda hands the details to Mummy Merkel

Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:03 PM

Can anyone tell me what this means exactly?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:21 PM

Not much

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:02 PM

It means Facebook, Twitter, PayPal, Microsoft, Yahoo and other data processors in Ireland get their data through cables that are monitored by GCHQ.
    It also indicates, that however hard the Government pretend that we are ready for cloud computing, we’re not. And unless we see more direct cables landing here, we will never be.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 30th 2014, 4:25 PM

Direct to where?
    It has become evident via Wikileaks that every govt spies on every other govt they can, along with their own citizens.
    It is also not just for military or other security reasons but also for commercial advantage. It is a sad state of affairs and an unfortunate fact of life. Righteous indignation will not achieve anything constructive.
    If you have somthing private to send or receive, encrypt it. Strongly. And anonymise via Tor.
    The only reason to bypass your neighbouring country would be if you see danger in relations with them breaking down or possibility of going to war with them.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 30th 2014, 6:39 PM

Alan,
    I’d have thought the lack of transatlantic cable landing in Ireland was obvious. Direct to the U.S.

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:55 AM

Not surprised, in fact give me free phone call and internet and they listen and watch me all they like grand job lads

Mute Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Favourite Shayno O'Donnchadha
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:01 PM

Our government are awaiting their official statement on the matter, postal strike in Berlin I suspect.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Nov 29th 2014, 8:19 PM

Is this why broadband speeds are so shite in ireland?

Mute seamus mckenzie
    Favourite seamus mckenzie
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:09 PM

Absolutely, no surprise what so ever. You must have been living under a rock,if you did not think the Brits were not spying on us. LOL.

Mute edward fanning
    Favourite edward fanning
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:40 PM

Not a thing on the RTE news about this… AGAIN…

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Nov 30th 2014, 1:46 AM

I wonder why? RTE is the STATE-run broadcaster after all.

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:58 AM

With the large amount of Islamic extremist here somebody has to watch them. We cannot depend on our key stone cops .

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:15 PM

Vlad the Impaler has a point.

Joking aside. We need to protect ourselves from extremism, drug trafficing, human trafficing, european wide child abuse etc. If Britain has the ability to help us monitor the situation then it should be cautiously welcomed.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:15 PM

had

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:51 PM

Windom – this is an Irish site – there are no Islamic extremists here and if there are then they have dollars in their cupboards – toddle of with your bullshit good lad !

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:35 PM

Can you say that for certain Dermot?
    Where is the cold hard evidence to prove that no such extremist cells exist in the Republic or the North?
    Afterall China, Russia, US, UK, Belgium, Austrailia etc are really worried about the extremism that exists there. Why would be any different?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 4:08 PM

Pol the guy that was on the Late late Show as some sort of hero freedom fighter for Syria was supposed to have half a million dollars stolen from his house in Dublin – he was not an Irish extremist – he was a C.I.A. operative ….
    The north could be a different matter – the muslims in Northern Ireland have a reason to dislike their government !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 4:12 PM

..why would we be any different – we don’t send troops to the middle East – we have no beef with them and they have no beef with us – except perhaps that we haven’t produced politIcians who have the balls to stand up to the injustice- probably too distracted going through british sourced data !
    Remamber one thing last night on the R.T.E. we had a report that Dublin was the safest place to access free wifi …how ironic (sic) the timing – Mr. Backhurst and all being a fellow country man of Richie Boucher isn’t lost on us either !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 29th 2014, 5:05 PM

Darren Brown is a really good magician so he is ….

Mute Windom Earle
    Favourite Windom Earle
    Nov 30th 2014, 4:02 PM

Lol u have been sleeping there are loads of Islamic extremes here.

Mute Pavel Shipilov
    Favourite Pavel Shipilov
    Nov 29th 2014, 7:22 PM

I think we all must cool off and stop talking sh*te. Secret Services have been monitoring ALL types of OUR communication for SECURITY REASONS and simply to know whats going on in our kitchens and bedrooms. Those who feel surprised and shocked and angry, please don’t waste your precious time because nothing, I repeat NOTHING will be changed. I will be surprised if Brits and Americans were not spying on their own citizens, don’t mention the Arab countries and Russkies.

I think we don’t know the full extent to which we are monitored. Governments and Media have well brainwashed us the public so why some ppl feel shocked or surprised?

This article is yesterday news. For our governments we are just numbers, our democracy is an illusion that serves the interests of the richest elite and we should stop talking about being an independent state, IMF which is owned by Rothschilds family ( owns half a world) cares only about how the elite can multiply its wealth.

The fact that water charges were introduced is a direct consequence of IMF requirements – don’t fool yourself thinking that Edna can have a slight possibility to maneuver and take decisions. All decided in Berlin and in IMF headquarters.

Mute raymond grehan
    Favourite raymond grehan
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:57 AM

http://chrisspivey.org/hells-angels/

It is no wonder the British ‘Intelligence’ services need to know what is going on as yet another of their fear porn dramas in support of it’s military campaigns overseas is completely unraveled.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:12 PM

No doubt they gave them full permission and hoped on one would ever find out

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:07 PM

No dpubt Mary Lou will find it as another excuse to disrupt the Dial next week.

Mute horses for courses
    Favourite horses for courses
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:34 PM

Sweet baby Jesus…..

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:38 PM

Chris, you are a clear example of how little the current Government and their party members are not listening to or trying to understand what the people consider important or what the people consider to be good governance.
    Every time one of you open your mouths or write comments like you just did, another voter switches allegiance. Well done man, keep it up. FG/Labour/FF have overtaken Ian Paisley as the main instruments by which SF gain in popularity. Go raibh míle maith agaibh :)

Mute Liam O'Brien
    Favourite Liam O'Brien
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:22 PM

Secret UK spy agency engages in spying. Must be a slow news day?

Mute Brendan O Brien
    Favourite Brendan O Brien
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:14 PM

“Careful now”.. “Down with this sort of thing”..

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Nov 29th 2014, 2:06 PM

What a load of crap. This article is just trying to stir up a English-V-Irish argument. One of main transatlantic cable between Europe and America goes through Ireland. You can bet any amount of money that not only is the UK tapping it, so to is Ireland, and France, Germany, Russia and god knows anyone else! Big woop, countries with spy agency’s are spying. What ever will the journal.ie think up next?

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:30 PM

They want to hack us. Fine let them. We should retaliate and develop a nasty virus or something or drop a political bombshell like re opening that case court case that amnesty international want us to open about British government torture in the north that will cause them havoc. To ignore this and let it go unpunished will only invite more of it.

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:03 PM

GSOC and US homeland are monitorin us to fo ck for years nothing new there
    China are monitoring the US and Russian is monitoring everyone except Antarctica
    Do people think it’s a coincidence all the major IT companies are USA
    So I’d like to say to the Oxford numptie reading this
    Po g mo tho in

Mute jonathan
    Favourite jonathan
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:42 PM

Why am I not surprised

Mute beachcomber
    Favourite beachcomber
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:29 PM

With friends like that who needs enemies?

Mute Joe Maher
    Favourite Joe Maher
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:58 PM

Shock spying organisation is spying

Mute Marcus Clifford
    Favourite Marcus Clifford
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:39 PM

Goddamit, they’ll ruin the surprise!

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 29th 2014, 5:34 PM

Keeping an eye on terrorists. There is no harm in that, in fact, it should be commended.

Mute jon-boy55
    Favourite jon-boy55
    Nov 29th 2014, 10:13 PM

Indeed, but should we really trust terrorists to keep an eye on terrorists?

Mute Patrick O'Farrell
    Favourite Patrick O'Farrell
    Nov 29th 2014, 1:46 PM

Would this solve the mystery of GSOC being bugged I wonder? UK spying make sense as they are extremely accessible from us and with common security a nutter might get through easily. I reckon govt were aware but ignored it on basis of it would only cause them more trouble. Well now it has.

Mute Ashleigh Labron
    Favourite Ashleigh Labron
    Nov 29th 2014, 11:18 PM

What the f**** The balls were expected ta put up wit in this country!!! This is a disgrace

Mute Niall Quinn
    Favourite Niall Quinn
    Nov 29th 2014, 10:56 PM

Knew they’re was something fishy about Kilmore quay….

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Nov 30th 2014, 1:49 AM

This is scary stuff. The Irish Government should take action to protect the integrity of the Irish Nation.

Mute Mark McCafferty
    Favourite Mark McCafferty
    Nov 30th 2014, 2:20 AM

Has Leo nothing to say about this??? It’s nothing to do with the Health Service so he should give us his tuppence worth as per normal…
    *silence of the gaels*

Mute Adam Gill
    Favourite Adam Gill
    Nov 30th 2014, 3:06 AM

I’m not sure if this point is being missed or willfully ignored, but as much as it’s an Irish cable, it’s also a UK cable. The British government is tapping a British internet cable which happens to terminate in Ireland

Mute seamus mc manus
    Favourite seamus mc manus
    Nov 29th 2014, 9:08 PM

When all means of security designed to prevent this is imported, are we really supposed to be shocked?

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 30th 2014, 10:57 AM

Perhaps our poppy wearing FG west brits think its ok? Why Inda speak now and justify your salary. Quisling!

Mute Highwayman
    Favourite Highwayman
    Nov 30th 2014, 9:56 AM

This is not a republic. The Tans still control. WAKE UP.

Mute Joe Sullivan
    Favourite Joe Sullivan
    Nov 30th 2014, 1:51 AM

Ryan its fantastic to read someone who’s head isnt buried in the sand like so many in this country. Your notes on the line between corporate and gvt, and the US main goal of economic espionage is particularly refreshing. Its just nice to know theres people out there who can see the truth as i do, it is hiding in plain sight, its just sad how people actually choose to not look. Our own govt is made of economic backhand artists too, agin their own people.

Mute Dave Wallace
    Favourite Dave Wallace
    Nov 30th 2014, 1:52 AM

It’s a wire, with one end in Ireland and one end in England. The English end of the wire is no doubt subject to English law, and accordingly I’m sure what they are doing is fully legal (from their perspective).
    It’s wrong and should be challenged. But Its likely sure we can do nothing unless we turn off the internet.

Mute Maria Clery-Breen
    Favourite Maria Clery-Breen
    Nov 30th 2014, 11:56 AM

Selling our secrets !!!!

Mute Barry O Donovan
    Favourite Barry O Donovan
    Nov 30th 2014, 9:23 AM

Is anybody really surprised?

Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    Nov 29th 2014, 3:41 PM

i don’t feel this is so top secret or confidential. any company wanting fibre connectivity to another country would want to know diverse fibre lines undersea etc…before ordering from the telecom company. if one wanted this information it is easy to find it out.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Nov 30th 2014, 6:36 AM

Turn off the modem then.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Nov 30th 2014, 7:55 AM

Who cares