You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch our LIVE event: How to build gender and sex equity in healthcare

Peggy Maguire, Director of the European Institute of Women’s Health, on a quarter century of fighting for more data, more presence and more voice for women in health.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

THE DIRECTOR OF the European Institute of Women’s Health knows what it takes to change a healthcare system to make it equitable and accessible; she just needs every stakeholder – especially policymakers – to participate, to listen… and to want change.

“When you are talking about changing a health system, you are talking a multi-level approach, multiple expertise as well,” Director Peggy Maguire told Journal Media Managing Editor Susan Daly in a live fireside chat this week.

“You have to look at the clinicians, you have to look at the policy-makers, the NGOs; you have to involve everybody in creating this critical mass and understanding so that change can be made.

“But you also need political will, as well. If you haven’t got the political will, nothing will ever change.”

Launching in 1996, the Institute’s work over the past quarter of a century has spanned the worlds of clinical research, public health communication and EU-wide collaboration, all with the objective of promoting understanding and better management of women’s specific health and wellness needs, improving health outcomes for all in turn.

Watch our video of the event – with added questions from The Good Information Project audience – to discover the new research leading to better treatment of women and communication among health practitioners of the approach needed to give women the best possible results from the healthcare system.

The conversation ranges from the historic absence of women and older people in clinical trials to campaigns to tailored recognition of women’s symptoms in cardiovascular disease to a woman’s right to information and voice in life stages from pregnancy to pain management to the menopause and beyond.

“What women really want is certainty,” says Maguire, “They want certainty that the information they are getting is the correct information, they want certainty in accessing appropriate treatment and care.”

This work is also co-funded by Journal Media and a grant programme from the European Parliament. Any opinions or conclusions expressed in this work are the author’s own. The European Parliament has no involvement in nor responsibility for the editorial content published by the project. For more information, see here

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Mar 12th 2014, 1:47 PM

Shatter apologise?? Some chance alright

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Mar 12th 2014, 8:21 PM

Shines a bright light on the FG/Labour mafia, FF are looking like amateurs now and we won’t do anything about it!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Mar 13th 2014, 2:56 AM

No chance of Shatter apologising.
    But if he dies, can he also sack Cullinan and Resign himself.

ENDA ARE YOU LISTENING ?

Mute in_zane_burger
    Favourite in_zane_burger
    Mar 12th 2014, 1:47 PM

There is more chance of me shitting a Faberge egg than Shatter saying sorry

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:04 PM

Apologise?? FFS he should have been removed and prosecuted under the data protection act when he used confidential Garda information on national television to attack a political opponent.

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:08 PM
    Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:28 PM

But he should say sorry to a guy who did the same thing?

Mar 12th 2014, 1:45 PM

Shatter apologise? Never going to happen and Kenny going on about transparency you just know they are going to do a little as possible….

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:05 PM

They say that the only honour there is , is amongst Thieves -& my golly amongst FF/FG/Lab. there are many !
    They have robbed our Country and it’s Citizens of our dignity and our money too – when it was promised and given to the Bondholders and most Countries are laughing at us since then , as they would the soft touches that we are !

We have a Government Minister in Shatter , who has been complicit in a coverup with our most Senior Garda commissioner !

A Taoiseach , whose best buddy had his hand in the cookie jar of a “Charity” in the inner sanctum of FG !

Holy Jerusalem ! what more could come from Fianna Fáil , Fine Gael and the totally spineless Labour Party ?

It makes me vomit to think about them !

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:08 PM

Indeed…while SF/IRA robbed our banks and citizens….

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:16 PM

Shalom Shatter

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:21 PM

@KKK: “while SF/IRA robbed our banks and citizens….”

Better to support a party which robs its citizens for its banks, right kris?

By the way, which members of sinn fein are you accusing of bank robbery?

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:25 PM

Kris – of KKK – the original ‘one trick pony’ man !
    Like an old 78 scratched record repeating the same part of a sentence and making absolutely zero sense – while locked in a maze prior to 1997 !
    I pity you – a Chara !

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:51 PM

The IRA robbed £27 million in the Northern Bank robbery which kind of pales into insignificance when compared with the €240 billion debt Fianna Fáil landed us with and with FG/Lab contining to service that debt by paying unsecured bond holders via our taxes that are supposed to be for public services. That’s the biggest robbery of them all.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:02 PM

SF just use balaclavas when theyre robbing – a chara

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:26 PM

You must know Kris – KKK Were you a Recruit ?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 12th 2014, 6:52 PM

Still haven’t told us which members of SF kris. Usual BS.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Mar 12th 2014, 7:20 PM

No Carraioch…but I reckon you were considering your love for all “Republican”.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:54 AM

We shall not forget at election time.

Mute Oliver P Golden
    Favourite Oliver P Golden
    Mar 13th 2014, 9:11 AM

SF/IRA also murdered innocent civilians let’s not forget that but if you think that’s ok your sick and twisted.

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:06 PM

Do the honourable thing………Shatter and Callinan RESIGN

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Mar 12th 2014, 1:48 PM

Expecting a politician to do the honourable thing, & to hear it coming from the likes of Michael Martin.

Release the flying pigs!

Mute Peter Redmond
    Favourite Peter Redmond

He should be made apologise by Kenny or be sacked! This country is rotten to the core!

Mute Genocidal Capitalist
    Favourite Genocidal Capitalist
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:51 PM

Alan Shatter has done nothing wrong, and should rewarded with a pay increase. Tax free of course.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Mar 12th 2014, 1:56 PM

Apologise? He should be walking

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:04 PM

Yup, if you agree, sign and share please:

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/dismiss-minister-alan-shatter

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:59 PM

The least Sgt McCabe deserves is an apology.
    His reputation, his professionalism and his integrity have all been questioned.
    Not an easy thing for anyone to go through. He is a courageous man.

Mute Paul Nelly Nelson
    Favourite Paul Nelly Nelson
    Mar 12th 2014, 1:46 PM

Where the lying ends the stupid, verbose jibes begin…

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns

And pigs may fly!

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:38 PM

Alan Shatter would probably get a panic or an Asthma attack if had to apologise .
    He would start hyper-ventilating and a brown paper bag is all he would be able to blow in to….

Mute Straighttalker
    Favourite Straighttalker
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:17 PM

Do the honourable thing Shatter and resign, and do Ireland a big big favour

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:43 PM

Shatter should go and michael should follow him.

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:33 PM

Apologise!!! More chance of Spud Jones speaking sense!!!

Mute James Sullivan
    Favourite James Sullivan
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:05 PM

Enda always comes back at Martin with when your government was in power you failed to do this must be hard for Martin to argue back with that

Mute paul burch
    Favourite paul burch
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:04 PM

I cant wait to hear that donkey of a man appologise !!

Mute David A
    Favourite David A
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:07 PM

Indeed the real reason Shatter should be dismissed is the manner in which he has conducted a free for all with Irish passports, over 70,000 in three years all the while genuine Irish people born and educated here have had to leave the country, Irish passports paid for with Irish blood, not the blood of Africans, Chinese or whatever. It is treason, pure and simple, what would Michael Collins think of this man who now holds the office he once held?
    Shatters family name was Sharonski, originally from Latvia, Shatter not just a name but a statement of intent for the Irish nation.

Mute Straighttalker
    Favourite Straighttalker
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:33 PM

@david A

Well said fully agree , shatter has no business inflicting the indigenous Irish with mass immigration , he does not have the Irish people’s permission to do what he is doing , it’s a travesty and disaster for out little island that he holds the position he does

Mute Conspiricap
    Favourite Conspiricap
    Mar 12th 2014, 5:21 PM

Could we stick please stick to the topic at hand. You can save the xenophobia for the dole queue.

Mute Declan Byrne
    Favourite Declan Byrne
    Mar 12th 2014, 3:00 PM

Donnelly seems like a well clewed in man and has been great in the Dail.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:34 PM

There’ll have to be a steward’s enquiry if Michael Martin flogs this dead political high horse any harder.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 12th 2014, 2:50 PM

John – are you and KKK brothers ?
    Same old nonsense from you too – a Chara !

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Mar 12th 2014, 5:10 PM

This demand for an apology coming from someone other than Michael Martin might get some serious attention but from this mediocrity of a man it means nothing.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Mar 12th 2014, 4:40 PM

“Do the Honourable thing”
    From an Irish politician of all people.
    It just shows how the biggest circus in town think of its citizens. We may be stupid to elect the people in the Dail but we are that that stupid to believe them. What evidence is there to demonstrate that one of these politicians has HONOUR. Please name one.

Mute eye-c-u
    Favourite eye-c-u
    Mar 12th 2014, 6:10 PM

Looks like shatter and commissioner will have to go.

Discipline the high officers that inappropriately cancelled the points and put in new lad at the top.

I do find it highly disturbing that commissioner called them discusting while they highlight what’s now proven to be holes in system.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 12th 2014, 6:31 PM

“Do the honourable thing”? Don’t think honourable is a word in the dictionary used by the main political parties in this country.

Mute Peter Lynch
    Favourite Peter Lynch
    Mar 12th 2014, 7:28 PM

Starting to get sick of this blame Fianna fail white they keep spurting

Mute Stevie Martinsbeak
    Favourite Stevie Martinsbeak
    Mar 12th 2014, 10:07 PM

Apologise??? Honourable??? Not words that are in the Ministers vocabulary.

Mute Vinny Mulhall
    Favourite Vinny Mulhall
    Mar 12th 2014, 8:57 PM

That’s the problem with all these cumts
    No liability for their actions but don’t forget the Gardai who came good once operated with that protection.
    And the one who hide behind it well their kids or grand kids may not work those jobs and will be open to persecution from the protected classes.

Mute Vinny Mulhall
    Favourite Vinny Mulhall
    Mar 12th 2014, 8:54 PM

Or Else What?

Mute Mark Kerley
    Favourite Mark Kerley
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:19 AM

Maybe shatter just needs to go to the bathroom with the shats