You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gene Hackman: The roles defining an actor who thought himself not handsome enough for Hollywood

Alan Parker, who directed him in Mississippi Burning, said he was ‘incapable of bad work.

file-this-jan-19-2003-file-photo-shows-actor-gene-hackman-at-the-60th-annual-golden-globe-awards-in-beverly-hills-calif-a-new-mexico-police-report-says-gene-hackman-had-given-clothes-money-and Gene Hackman at the 60th Annual Golden Globe Awards in 2003. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

GENE HACKMAN, WHO has been found dead in his home in New Mexico at the age of 95, was once voted as likely to flop in showbiz but instead went on to enjoy a storied, Oscar-winning career as an everyman actor who mined personal pain to give intense, edgy performances.

Hackman is perhaps best known for his portrayal of the tough and vulgar New York cop Jimmy ‘Popeye’ Doyle in the 1971 crime thriller The French Connection.

Its five-and-a-half-minute car chase scene — in which Doyle crashes his way through bustling city streets, grunting, grimacing and honking as he pursues a bad guy who has commandeered an elevated train — is the stuff of Tinseltown legend.

Hackman won the best actor Oscar for that film, with the film taking five Oscars in total including Best Picture. 

JoBlo Movie Clips / YouTube

Hackman won another golden statuette two decades later for Best Supporting Actor for his portrayal of the brutal small-town sheriff ‘Little Bill’ Daggett in Clint Eastwood’s 1992 western Unforgiven.

The film itself won four Oscars including Best Film and Best Director for Eastwood. 

He earned three more Oscar nominations during a five-decade career in which he appeared in more than 80 films.

“He’s incapable of bad work,” Alan Parker, who directed Hackman in the 1988 civil rights drama Mississippi Burning, told Film Comment magazine that year.

“Every director has a short list of actors he’d die to work with, and I’ll bet Gene’s on every one.”

Oscars / YouTube

Midwestern roots

Hackman was a native Midwesterner, born in 1930 during the Great Depression in Illinois.

His father left the family when he was 13, waving enigmatically as he drove away one day. Hackman said he knew right then that the man was never coming back.

Hackman’s mother died in a fire before he had established himself as an actor.

He also served an unpleasant stint in the US Marines, which he joined at 16 by lying about his age.

He used his personal turmoil as fuel to flesh out his characters.

“Dysfunctional families have sired a number of pretty good actors,” Hackman told The Guardian in 2002.

‘An actor, not a star’

Hackman was an unlikely star — he came to acting relatively late after dabbling in a series of jobs, and only attracted attention in his 30s.

In fact after his enrollment at the Pasadena Playhouse in California in the late 1950s, Hollywood legend tells that he and a fellow student, one Dustin Hoffman, were voted the “least likely to succeed.”

Later, they would pal around with Robert Duvall in New York when all three were struggling actors.

Not blessed with leading man good looks, Hackman instead drew on his talents and versatility, taking on gritty roles and delivering thoughtful, intelligent performances.

“I wanted to act, but I’d always been convinced that actors had to be handsome. That came from the days when Errol Flynn was my idol. I’d come out of a theater and be startled when I looked in a mirror because I didn’t look like Flynn. I felt like him,” Hackman once said.

After studying journalism at the University of Illinois, he first tried television production, before going to acting school in Pasadena.

Upon graduation, Hackman moved back to New York, where he worked off-Broadway and began to turn heads.

In 1964, he was cast on Broadway in the play Any Wednesday, which led to a small role in the film Lilith starring Warren Beatty.

Guilherme Martins / YouTube

A few years later, Beatty was casting for Bonnie and Clyde and chose Hackman as Clyde’s brother Buck Barrow.

That landmark 1967 film won Hackman his first Oscar nomination for best supporting actor, and put him firmly on track for stardom.

A second Academy Award nomination came for I Never Sang For My Father (1970), in which he played a professor who feels he has never won his father’s approval.

“I was trained to be an actor, not a star. I was trained to play roles, not to deal with fame and agents and lawyers and the press,” Hackman said.

Movieclips / YouTube

In 1988 he starred in Mississippi Burning alongside Willem Dafoe. 

Drawn from the real-life FBI investigation into the disappearance of three civil rights activists in the Deep South in 1964, Hackman plays a former sheriff who uses his southern wiles to smoke out the Ku Klux Klan members responsible for their murders.

Hackman notched up dozens of film credits in his career, working well into his 60s and 70s although he stayed out of the limelight, living with his second wife in Santa Fe, writing and painting. 

Into the 21st century, he starred in The Heist and The Royal Tenenbaums in 2001. 

In The Royal Tenenbaums he played the patriarch of an eccentric over-achieving New York family, who has to explain to his grown-up children why he and his wife (Anjelica Huston) are separating. It won him his third competitive Golden Globe.

The Final Cut / YouTube

He made his final film in 2004 before officially retiring from acting in 2008. 

“It really costs me a lot emotionally to watch myself on screen,” Hackman once said.

“I think of myself, and feel like I’m quite young, and then I look at this old man with the baggy chins and the tired eyes and the receding hairline and all that.”

View 24 comments
24 Comments
    Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Feb 27th 2025, 10:39 AM

Hackman and Borgnine made the Poseidon Adventure such a brilliant movie

Mute Jimmy Bean
    Favourite Jimmy Bean
    Feb 27th 2025, 8:15 PM

@Dr Albert S Meinheimer: “I’m Gonna nail ya for picking your foot in Poughkeepsie”

Mute Donal Balfe
    Favourite Donal Balfe
    Feb 27th 2025, 11:00 AM

RIP Gene and wife. The French connections, two of the best ever.

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Feb 27th 2025, 11:19 AM

A fantastic and brilliant actor. The Conversation is excellent, as is Mississipi Birning, Unfoeg8ven etc

Mute Margret Walsh
    Favourite Margret Walsh
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:47 PM

@AnthonyK: indeed did he ever make a bad film – I don’t think so !!

Mute Robert Bell
    Favourite Robert Bell
    Feb 27th 2025, 11:36 AM

RIP Popeye, a true acting legend.

Mute Gerry Kelly
    Favourite Gerry Kelly
    Feb 27th 2025, 3:33 PM

“least likely to succeed”
    There’s a fair number of people who earned that tag in school or college, and proved the experts very wrong indeed.
    R.I.P. – one of the true greats

Mute karen delaney
    Favourite karen delaney
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:10 PM

One of my all time favourite actors. He was simply outstanding. RIP

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Feb 27th 2025, 11:40 AM

He despised the real Popeye Doyle, but used that in building up such a good portrayal of the character. A real actor, not some plastic hero.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Feb 27th 2025, 10:33 AM

“Listen to me you backwoods 5hita55 you. You got about two seconds to get the Sheriff out here or I’m gonna kick the God damn door in. OK?”

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:51 PM

What a man and lady. God bless ye.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:34 PM

Night Moves is one of his less well known movies but one of my favourites of his

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:34 PM

Another good film he was also in was ‘Narrow Margin’. I don’t know if it was a straight to DVD film?

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Feb 27th 2025, 9:38 PM

@Daniel Kelly: yea narrow margin great movie, the first gene hackman movie I watched was target with matt dillon another great actor and a very good film IMHO.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Feb 27th 2025, 4:44 PM

“little ducks, there is trouble in Russia, so they called us. “

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Feb 27th 2025, 12:21 PM

Cue “tributes” from so called journos who’ve been feverishly taking notes from Wikipedia

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Feb 27th 2025, 4:07 PM

@Padraig O’Brien:
    I thought he was great in “Enemy of the state” it’s a movie about Robert Dean who accidentally gets hold of a videotape that contains evidence of congressman Phil Hammersley’s murder. His life takes a drastic turn when he comes under the surveillance of NSA agents.

Mute Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Favourite Dr Albert S Meinheimer
    Feb 27th 2025, 5:06 PM

@KTH: brilliant research !!

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Feb 27th 2025, 6:30 PM

RIP mr Luther

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON
    Feb 27th 2025, 6:29 PM

The article doesn’t mention his wife or did I miss that?

Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    Feb 27th 2025, 8:51 PM

@SOCOMJON: Yes you missed that…She died with him…RIP to them both….

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Feb 27th 2025, 8:59 PM

Brilliant as Mrs Doubtfire.

Mute Seanie The Mad Cork Culchie!
    Favourite Seanie The Mad Cork Culchie!
    Feb 27th 2025, 9:46 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: Did you give yourself the 1 like?

Mute Patrick J. Ryan
    Favourite Patrick J. Ryan
    Feb 28th 2025, 2:29 PM

By coincidence, Hackman’s 1975 “Bite the Bullet” is the TG4 Western tonight.