You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

George Hook

George Hook gets his stolen credit cards back in mysterious package

The radio presenter’s briefcase had been taken from his car earlier this month.

NEWSTALK PRESENTER GEORGE Hook is having a good karma day, announcing on Twitter earlier that his credit cards and other items stolen from his car have been returned.

Earlier this month, his briefcase, which had his Apple laptop, his credit cards and driving licence inside, was stolen from his car. At the time, he had said the briefcase was his life and everything was on his laptop.

In a twist, this morning, some of the items appeared through his letterbox.

The return of the stolen items is a bit of a mystery.  The sender left no note so Hook doesn’t know if it was the original thief who felt guilty and returned them, or some kind citizen who found them.

Either way, that’s faith restored in mankind, even just for today.

Read: Whoever cut down the Carrauntoohil cross also stole a commemorative plaque>

Read: Laptop containing children’s personal details stolen from car of HSE staff member>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 25th 2014, 2:52 PM

So George Hook finally remembered where he left his brief case…
    He tells a good story though,
    about how it got robbed, found and nothing taken……

Mute Scipio Africanus
    Favourite Scipio Africanus
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:20 PM

Hook is a bore. Always manages to revolve whatever the topic of conversation on his show around himself or the ‘lovely’ Ingrid.

Mute Jim Kier
    Favourite Jim Kier
    Nov 25th 2014, 4:07 PM

What an idiot for leaving his brief case where it could be stolen. Not the usual sambo and apple. I say the thief posted them back to him as using a card with name George Hook or a driving license would be a bit daft. No mention if the computer I’d have kept that !! It’s the age of information tech that he got his sh$t back anyway it was a good thing as it will shut the fu€Ker up for a while

Mute Noongirl Fiveoclockshadow
    Favourite Noongirl Fiveoclockshadow
    Nov 25th 2014, 2:56 PM

Hooky gets lucky. I’m presuming it’s about as useful as an ice cube in the sahara as they are cancelled/replaced by now…

Mute Caillte
    Favourite Caillte
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:14 PM

I would have thought an ice cube would be really useful in the desert. Providing both cooling and water where it is most badly needed.

:)

Mute unknown
    Favourite unknown
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:18 PM

It would also be very entertaining to have ice cube with you in the sahara

Mute Noongirl Fiveoclockshadow
    Favourite Noongirl Fiveoclockshadow
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:24 PM

It’s an old gift grub one from George describing the Irish line out.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 25th 2014, 8:23 PM

My house was robbed a year ago, with car keys from house used to steal my car. Had also taken wifes credit cards which were cancelled quickly.
    A good samaritan found cards on road the other side of dublin and handed them in to local Garda station.
    As a result, the Gardai were able to home in on my abandoned car (no damage) and return it to me.
    So thanks to the (anonymous) person who handed in our cards. They were useless except for the fact that it helped us locate and get our car back before it got burnt out or used in an armed robbery.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 25th 2014, 6:13 PM

Hook comes on.Radio goes off.That voice!! Condescending aul’ shite.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 25th 2014, 8:25 PM

When I played for Greystones in 1878, there was none of this modern malarkey….

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Nov 25th 2014, 3:12 PM

If somebody could find his b@lls could they please return them.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Nov 25th 2014, 5:06 PM

Craig Breen also had his erc watch stolen from car over the weekend. Im hoping this will also be returned.

Mute GunsGerms
    Favourite GunsGerms
    Nov 25th 2014, 11:19 PM

Someone stole Hook’s marbles too but they didnt give them back.