You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Damaged town of Qaraqosh, Iraq SIPA USA/PA Images

German woman sentenced to death in Iraq for joining ISIS

She was sentenced in an Iraqi court earlier today.

AN IRAQI COURT has condemned to death by hanging a German woman of Moroccan origin after finding her guilty of belonging to the Islamic State jihadist group.

She was sentenced for providing “logistical support and helping the terrorist group to carry out crimes,” said court spokesman Abdel Settar Bayraqdar.

“The accused admitted during interrogations that she left Germany for Syria then Iraq to join IS with her two daughters, who married members of the terrorist organisation,” he said.

In September 2017, the same court sentenced to death by hanging a Russian man who was captured in Iraq’s second city Mosul and found guilty of fighting for IS.

Iraqi forces expelled the jihadists from Mosul in July 2017, ending three years of IS rule in the city.

The same month, a German teenage girl suspected of joining IS was arrested in Mosul, according to Germany’s justice department.

German daily Der Spiegel reported she had been held in Baghdad with three other German women including one of Moroccan origin.

Baghdad declared victory over IS in December after expelling the jihadists from vast areas of Iraq it seized in 2014.

There are no official figures for arrests of jihadists during the battle against IS, but Iraqi commanders and Iraqi Kurdish fighters say hundreds gave themselves up.

Others are said to have escaped by blending in with civilians fleeing the fighting.

In the province surrounding Mosul alone, more than 4,000 jihadists were arrested, police chief General Wathiq al-Hamdani said.

Despite Baghdad declaring victory over the jihadists, IS has continued to carry out attacks including in the capital.

© AFP, 2018

Read: Man (54) arrested after eight-year-old girl stabbed to death in England

More: Kabul Intercontinental Hotel siege ends after gunmen kill at least six people

View 42 comments
42 Comments
    Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:27 AM

Have no sympathy for her

Mute Jamie Jj Tobin
    Favourite Jamie Jj Tobin
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:38 AM

She is just misunderstood……..I’m sure the Looney Left and open borders brigade will shout.

Mute Féach News
    Favourite Féach News
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:25 PM

@gjpb: Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.

Mute Eleanor of Aquitaine
    Favourite Eleanor of Aquitaine
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:28 PM

In Sweden, the poor beheading, raping, Islamofascist, misunderstood sods are rehabilitated & offered housing for their troubles.
    No wonder Swedish society is in the S#it

https://www.google.ie/amp/www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/sweden-isis-fighters-city-lund-returning-jihadis-housing-job-education-benefits-reintegration-a7371266.html%3famp

Mute Tom Tom
    Favourite Tom Tom
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:33 PM

@Jamie Jj Tobin: No Jamie they’ll probably agree she deserves it because they can appreciate that there is a difference between an obvious terrorist and someone who is fleeing a war.

Jan 21st 2018, 12:58 PM

“We have 60 vulnerable areas” – Dan Eliasson, National Swedish Police Commissioner.

https://youtu.be/NNEZQTSJv4Y

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    Jan 21st 2018, 1:15 PM

@Tom Tom: How can you tell the difference between a genuine refugee and a jihadist , if they have destroyed their documents .
    Even the article states that they are mingling with the refugees .

Mute Tom Tom
    Favourite Tom Tom
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:15 PM

@Ken Hayden: That’s not what I said though Ken. Interesting diversion. I said they realise there is a difference (not that they know the difference) therefore the “open borders brigade” will not start to shout about this. This one has been arrested and tried. I don’t know one terrorist from a non-terrorist. I saw the border fox in a pub once – looked like an ordinary small little man. Presumably the terrorists are the lads shooting at you shouting “allahu akbar” or “tiocfaidh ár lá” as they do it.

Mute Gav Quinn
    Favourite Gav Quinn
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:37 PM

@Eleanor of Aquitaine: Are you from Sweden or have you lived there? If not shut your mouth.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:44 PM

@Ken Hayden: I am sure not all refugees are not all Terrorists but our Government did not pay any attention to this when they opened the gates No one has no idea who is coming in and what background they are from.

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:48 PM

@Eleanor of Aquitaine: holy jaysus!

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jan 21st 2018, 3:24 PM

@Gav Quinn: She has been there a lot ..on Google maps

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Jan 21st 2018, 6:10 PM

@Jamie Jj Tobin: But ISIS might be regarded as the Looney Right!

Jan 21st 2018, 10:04 PM

@Gav Quinn:

No, but the National Police Commissioner in the video clip I posted is, I won’t shut me mouth either, Arsehole.

Jan 22nd 2018, 1:47 AM
    Mute frank murphy
    Favourite frank murphy
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:28 AM

If only we did the same here

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:19 PM

@frank murphy: ya if only we were like Iraq

Mute Nick Drake
    Favourite Nick Drake
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:04 PM

Moroccan woman who lived in Germany.

Mute Shane Molloy
    Favourite Shane Molloy
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:31 AM

She’s not really German. He abused German citizenship

Mute Tommy Hawk
    Favourite Tommy Hawk
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:47 AM

She’s not German. Fake news

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:38 PM

No sympathy for her. She would have no sympathy for the innocent victims of an ISIS attack. It’s tough justice but the message has to be got out that joining ISIS has consequences. No sympathy for her at all.

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:30 AM

Is Ticketmaster selling the tickets ?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:45 PM

@Joe Caulfield: Sheikwave

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:57 AM

No loss

Mute Al Coholic
    Favourite Al Coholic
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:53 AM

Hopefully they will use too long a drop and here entrails will spill all over the shop. She deserves no sympathy

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Jan 21st 2018, 5:30 PM

@Al Coholic: moron

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Jan 21st 2018, 9:03 PM

@Al Coholic: I prefer the short drop myself, if only for the clean up, and the Angel Lust.

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Jan 21st 2018, 1:25 PM

Moroccan women who integrated into European way of life.!

Mute cc87e
    Favourite cc87e
    Jan 21st 2018, 12:30 PM

Judge here gave a six year sentence for raping sister and niece … we need a few Iraqi judges here

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:47 PM

@cc87e: Have you ever looked at how women are treated in those Countries if you did you might want to change your view.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:33 AM

This is why religion and paradise were invented. It’ll do little to stop others.

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jan 21st 2018, 1:17 PM

Fair enough.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Jan 21st 2018, 2:31 PM

Ye live by the sword ye die by the sword….

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Jan 21st 2018, 7:46 PM

If she’s ISIS then she has to removed from planet…..gone and forgotten!

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Jan 21st 2018, 11:54 AM

Stupid uncaring bitch

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Jan 21st 2018, 6:30 PM

and you shall hang by the neck until dead.