You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Russian President Vladimir Putin speaks during his visit to Russia Today's new studio in Moscow in June 2013. Alamy Stock Photo

German regulator bans Russian television channel amid tensions over Ukraine

Russia Today DE said it would seek to appeal in court against the regulator’s decision.

THE GERMAN BROADCASTING regulator has said it had banned the transmission of the German-language channel of Russian state broadcaster Russia Today (RT), amid rising tensions between Moscow and the West.

The transmission of the channel ‘RT DE’ was “prohibited because it does not have the necessary broadcasting licence”, the regulator’s authorisation and oversight commission said in a statement.

“This is complete nonsense,” RT’s editor-in-chief Margarita Simonyan said on Twitter, adding that the channel “will not stop broadcasting”.

RT DE was blocked from Europe’s satellite network on 22 December at the request of German authorities, less than a week after going on air, but was still available over the internet and via a mobile app.

In its response to the suspension, RT DE said it was broadcast from Moscow and had a Serbian broadcasting licence, which it said gives it the right to broadcast in Germany under European law.

“We cannot understand why a supposedly informed and independent regulator should act on what appears to be a purely political basis, based on a false version of reality that serves its own purpose,” it said.

But the German regulator said the channel was based in Berlin did not have a “legitimate permit under European law”.

RT DE said it would seek to appeal in court against the regulator’s decision.

Vladimir Soloviev, president of the Russian journalists’ union, told the Russian TASS news agency Germany was seeking to “ban an alternative point of view” and violating “principles of freedom of expression”.

Tensions

The decision comes at a moment of rising tensons between Moscow and the West over the massing of Russian troops on the border with Ukraine.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov in January said he was “concerned” about the RT DE situation and that the government would take steps in response “if needed”.

Launched in 2005 as Russia Today, state-funded RT has expanded with broadcasters and websites in languages including English, French, Spanish and Arabic.

It has been accused by Western countries of distributing disinformation and Kremlin-friendly propaganda.

It has generated controversy in many countries, including the United States, where it was required to register as a “foreign agent”, and in Britain, where authorities have threatened to revoke its broadcasting licence.

The channel has been banned in several countries, including the ex-Soviet republics of Lithuania and Latvia.

In September, Google-owned YouTube issued a warning to RT DE for violating its coronavirus disinformation guidelines and then shuttered two channels for breaching user terms.

A third channel was blocked in December for trying to circumvent the earlier terminations.

© AFP 2022

View 7 comments
7 Comments
    Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:39 PM

The whistle blower has stated that the issue of the ‘black briefcase’ had not been and never was properly investigated and he was curtailed in that line of investigation. If this is correct then everything that Bruton is pointing to are the usual whitewash from the elites.
    Didn’t they try to tell us there was nothing behind the Garda whistleblowers as well.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:21 PM

Also the fact that her roots and early political allegiances are in FF she may know even more than she has already said

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:47 PM

SF in power up the north were shown in a spotlight program to have false companies etc set up for siphoning off falsely claimed expenses from stormont (as were the DUP)
    Their supporters line was it was Brit money, no mention of the fact it was money for the ordinary person up north or at least for their services.
    They justify their behavior and are critical of everyone else. Classic two rules, one for you and one for me.
    If you think SF aren’t a bunch of hypocrites you are deluded

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:27 PM

spotlight do great work highlighting the shady underworld of SF/IRA, long may it continue

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:40 PM

If it’s been fully investigated and everyone’s “clean” I would assume the findings in the investigation will be made public then, or if not and guilt was found hopefully some arrests.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:18 PM

ask harney how fully it was investigated, another non inquiry so all are innocent. pity they forgot to tell the investigator.. the usual huff and puff from career politicians surrounding a white wash, good on any member of the dail for airing the dirt let the offended get justice and explain the misunderstanding…….I would call the revenue out to deny or explain what the fuss is about

Mute Indigo Kid . . o_0 .
    Favourite Indigo Kid . . o_0 .
    Apr 15th 2015, 12:08 AM

the non prosecution of the HSCB criminal tax evaders doesn’t bode well for this story either, even when they were caught red handed. open & shut case. How can not prosecuting ppl who defrauded the state on €3.6 billion of untaxed income not be in the public interest? i very much interested, as i’m sure all reasonably minded ppl are also… the golden circle doesn’t prosecute its own membership evidently..

Mute D. Moran
    Favourite D. Moran
    Apr 15th 2015, 6:21 AM

Wtf there’s been NO investigation you thick try finding out some facts before posting .

Mute Francis Fakeman
    Favourite Francis Fakeman
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:36 PM

That’s the “I want to speak to your manager” face.

Mute Official Shinnerbot
    Favourite Official Shinnerbot
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:44 PM

Dáil Privilige should only apply to allegations directed at non-Sinn Féin members.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:01 PM

No Francis that’s the “I Cant wait to oust iPhone Joan face”

Mute Official Shinnerbot
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:05 PM

This Committee ruling is a disgraceful attack on the Peace Process.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:07 PM

Ff fg labour = establishment = corruption https://youtu.be/27UL3tZW1bk

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:11 PM

Bobby you forgot to say “facist” “blueshirt” or “tan” have you been brought in by HQ for your media training at last!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:42 PM

Justin if you dont like it dont read it.I am not a member of any party i want change i am fed up of the crap in this country it has to stop.If you want to keep going down that road by all means do but i have enough. sf ind ddi the hub the ncm who ever they will get my vote.Ff fg labour sold us out and now is the time for change party loyalty is what ruined this country justin thats the problem.Justin its healthy for democracy to have protest if you didn’t you would get a dictatorship you should nt let words hurt your feelings! Hear watch this.Your backing this company thats going to fleece you and your family.Wake up

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:44 PM
    Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:56 PM

Irish Water will make you pay for rain water from your own roof.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FO_znyCZgoc&feature=youtu.be

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:41 PM

Not a SF supported but it does make a nice change that there is someone in there with a backbone that stands up for themselves and doesn’t just keep the head down and do what they are told.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:04 PM

Like I said before, she can and could easily raise any point and stay within guidelines, but that wouldn’t have had the desired effect for SF.

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:20 PM

She can “stand up” outside the Dáil & repeat her accusations.

These accusations being true (MLMcD would never pull stunts), she has nothing to fear.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:24 PM

“Not a SF supporter but…”

The immortal line that gets repeated on every SF-related article. Funny how the “not a SF supporter” commentators spend so much of their time defending the party.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:07 PM

Supposing she announces that you are a tax dodger Bill? She has no evidence (I’m sure) to support that assertion, and if you want to say the whistleblower made the accusation so that is enough, then I would ask why is an accusation (or several of them in fact) not enough when it comes to Gerry protecting child rapists, obstructing justice, not ordering murder and not being in the IRA?

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:50 PM

Even though the guide lines are designed to protect corrupt.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:39 PM

SF don’t do apologies just ask the McConville family etc etc etc. Mary’s allegations were just purely a deflection tactic at the height of the sex abuse allegations against this particular strain of republicans. The problem for SF now is people can now see through their smoke screens .

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:43 PM

The McConville family were, of course, apologised to. But, please, don’t let the facts get in the way of your SF bashing.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:45 PM

If it was a war, the killers should be tried for warcrimes. But don’t let sympathy get in the way of your irrationality.

Mute JTM
    Favourite JTM
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:47 PM

Adams apologised, that makes it all ok apparently

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:55 PM

WereJammin FG Fake identity Troll .

You FG guys are running so scared these times !
    Eoghan O’Duffy and his Blueshirt Stormtroopers will never be dead !!!!!

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:00 PM

Jammin =?more bull#hit and untruths from the SF troll !

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:00 PM

that’s the real shinner troll “Were Jammin”. Lol, he/she is a parody of him/herself!

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:11 PM

His name was Eoin , the blue shirts were only in existence for about 15 months he had a longer association with the green shirts

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:16 PM

Good on you mary lou expose them for what they are rats._.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:14 PM

utterly disgraceful yet again from SF

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:15 PM

What’s the fups going on?? Now the SF trolls are accusing other SF trolls of being FG trolls? My head’s spinning. Paranoia is out of control methinks

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:18 PM

SF is in meltdown, the shinnerbots haven’t being told what to think so they are turning on themselves – hilarious. SF always good for laughing at anyways :D

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:33 PM

Bobby ” I’m not a SF supporter” yes whatever. What an empty head!

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:42 PM

SF and the other left wing loons are in a confused spin, since their policies started to be played out in Greece. We can all see what a disaster that is.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:02 PM

fg = scared of their own shadows and have to pick on everyone else like their “no you are” leader
    pathetic!

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:57 PM

So was the whistleblower a liar then. Is that what we are meant to believe. That’s there is nothing in this. Wasn’t it the same with the gardai whistleblowers. We know how that turned out. So whether you like Mary Lou or sf . at least she is highlighting something that should be highlighted. People talk about sf reflection then deflect themselves from the article itself. Irony of it.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:58 PM

Deflection

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:02 PM

She can easily raise any point and stay within guidelines, but that wouldn’t have had the desired effect

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:14 PM

I not talking about guidelines. I was talking about the actual allegations and the whistleblower. According to what Richard Briton has said . then he is saying the whistleblower is lying and and that there is nothing to see hear. So if there is nothing to see will we see the reports or will they be put away for 30 years.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:15 PM

Bruton.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:16 PM

Here ( autocorrect) .

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:31 PM

Yeah I know you’re not talking about the guidelines (conveniently not)
    But that is what this story is about

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:41 PM

A guideline is a statement by which to determine a course of action. A guideline aims to streamline particular processes according to a set routine or sound practice. By definition, following a guideline is never mandatory. Guidelines are not binding and are not enforced. 

Basically their just pissed because they can’t control what she’s saying.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:41 PM

Sorry . but the story is about it all. Mary Lou, guidelines, whistleblower, Richard bruton . if you want to ignore the full story ,( conveniently ) that’s up to you. But I am interested in all aspects of the story.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:00 PM

No it’s not, although you’d like to make it about that.
    It’s about Mary Lou v the Dail, read the headline.
    The Committee on Procedures and Privileges are there to make sure people don’t abuse the syatem, in this case they say she did.
    Why can’t she do like others and do her business within the guidelines ?
    Because her desire was to deflect away the negative spotlight that was on SF at the time, She could easily have raised this issue while staying within the guidelines

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:28 PM

Tom I don’t know what your implying that I would like to make it about anything. Unlike you I read more than the headline and there is more above in the article about not only the guidelines, but the committee, what Mary Lou herself said and what Richard Bruton said. So I will make any comment I want about the above article and not just the headline. Some of us in this country would like the truth to come out in relation to this matter and care more about that than guidelines. But you seem transfixed on the guidelines and nothing else. So that’s up to you. But I would like to know if there’s more to the actual crux of what she said.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:44 PM

If she believes it to be true, why doesn’t she repeat it outside the dail ?
    Because she done it to create a smoke screen.
    I’m implying that you are using the same smoke screen tactic to move the focus away from her breach of Procedures and Privileges to allegations that she won’t make outside the chamber

Apr 15th 2015, 12:13 AM

we got smokescreens in the dail alright.. HSBC – no charges? bang to rights too…

Mute #COYBIB
    Favourite #COYBIB
    Apr 15th 2015, 1:18 AM

Don’t be so naive littleone, there is no moral crusade being undertaken by Mary Lou here, it’s sh*t stirring and digging for dirt on opposition any time SF get an opportunity. Sure look at the presidential election, a character assassination through unsubstantiated accusations on a man heavily favoured to win the election, his vote collapsed and he lost, and is currently embroiled in a legal action suing RTE as a result, as the claims were never followed up or substantiated, but it was broadcast as though there was a shred of evidence at the time… They tickled the mood though, it was the most anti-FF election ever, so they accused him of being a FF bag man and claimed to have a witness and evidence – neither of which were ever produced or mentioned again when challenged on it.

Also, why are you mentioning Richard Bruton? He was not named by Mary Lou – in fact no government party member was – it was exclusively FF/PD politicians named and SF are claiming this dossier went through the hands of several ministers without anything being done about it, but it had actually been in several domains already, including the tribunals.

I also don’t know why the Journal don’t post the video of the exchange or publish the transcript, as it is merely reproducing publically available transcript from the Dail – not publishing libelous content and national print media have published the names in full that were mentioned.

But anyway, my main point is SF are VERY good at manipulating the fickle minds of the electorate and tapping into the mood. They throw out insinuations and/or open ended suggestions and allow the more cynical of us do the rest without actually saying it.

Much like their economic policy, it all sounds great and lets you fill in the dots, but in reality there is little to no substance to it at all.

Has anyone here actually asked “What was the investigation?”, “What was in the dossier?” Well, if you want to know, the dossier was reviewed by the Revenue Commissioners, the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation, the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement and the Moriarty and Mahon tribunals as well as the Director of Public Prosecutions. It has gone the length and breadth of the country and everyone from senior gardai, opposition politicians, high court judges have found that there is not evidence that would be sufficient to commence legal action against any of the people he accuses and the claims that there was a cover up also coincide with the investigation being halted by the civil service as it was then the subject of a tribunal and garda investigation, so would no longer be in the remit of the civil service…

But why let facts get in the way of a good ould “Dem politicians are all de same!”

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

So she disclosed the names of people suspected of wrong doing and now the knives are out for her and they want to impose sanctions on her. Irish politics makes me sick.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:25 PM

Poor Mary Lou :’( Butter wouldn’t melt in her mouth :(

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:16 PM

if she is so confined of it she would say it in public. but alas mary lou is a typical SF coward. how could anyone vote for that cult

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D

You hit a nerve there S.O. must be onto something.

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:23 PM

Revenue will never publish the out come of the investigation because all those mentioned by Mary Lou would be shown to be guilty and let off with a slap on the hand.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

Just to remind people that the committee who found that she breached Dail privilege is filled in proportion to Dail representation i.e. it enjoys the same large majority of government TDs as the chamber.

Oh, and Sean Barrett is the chair.

Mute Official Shinnerbot
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:45 PM

Exactly Comrade Jammin, the Committee would only be fair if it had a SF majority.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:46 PM

Just because you are paranoid does not mean they are not out to get you…she abused Dail privilege by namng people who were not present to defend themselves.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:46 PM

A committee of peers, unlike a kangaroo court for kids who were raped.

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:54 PM

Jammin you (and everyone in SF)seem to have a real problem with any form of authority.
    You were saying yesterday that people were free to do as they please (on thread about woman and glass door)
    Mary lou seems to be of the same opinion, but it’s wrong.
    The problem is with the committee you say, funny how when it comes to SF the problem is always someone else.
    Nothing to do with her at all, she & SF are right, everyone else is wrong.
    I think SF and their supporters have a definite persecution complex, that or hard necks

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:13 PM

yet again SF give two fingers to democracy. how could anyone vote for them

Mute Chris D
    Favourite Chris D
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:37 PM

Dodgy FG accounts out to get you today WJ. Never been so obvious for all to see.

I note and others will too that not one of them actually answer your point.

Mute Roland D Hay
    Favourite Roland D Hay
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:34 PM

Typical Mary Lou.
    Will never accept that she is wrong and SF are always right.
    Happy to defend rapists murderers pedophiles and kangaroo courts because Comrade Gerry does.
    Happy to slander people in the Dail and yet fails to do the same outside because she is so sure of her facts and knows that they will sue her ass.
    More attempts by her to distract people.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:24 PM

Any chance of sanctioning the FF pocket stuffers who ran our country into the ground?

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:27 PM

Any chance of NOT deflecting all criticism of Sinn Fein?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:36 PM

How far back would you go Al Ca, would you go back to when Mary Lou was a member of FF ?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:46 PM

Like I care about SF.
    The only thing I see in that Dáil is every TD jumping up and about stuff that might take them off the gravy train.

Mute jaisus
    Favourite jaisus
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:30 PM

Could ye please put up a nice picture of her. The one where she’s wearing sunglasses is a nice picture. Thanks :-)

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:37 PM

She has no problem naming alleged tax dodgers but won’t name alleged republican child abusers and rapists. (Journal note the alleged before deciding on wether to delete) I love a politician who stands on the high moral ground.

Mute Love Guinness
    Favourite Love Guinness
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:07 PM

Philip

If you add some lipstick, a bit of mascara and some rouge you may start to see a difference

Mute jaisus
    Favourite jaisus
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:23 PM

Just heard her interviewed on today fm. Kept giving the same answer to every question, she’s gone down in my estimation… we don’t need politicians like this in Ireland. She’s lost my vote.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:24 PM

pure car crash interview :D

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:38 PM

You can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:55 PM

And about 12 pints of Guinness …. But it’s still a pig

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:37 PM

you would piss in your pants after 3 pints of Guinness.

Mute Philip McKeon
    Favourite Philip McKeon
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:50 PM

Yes Gerry that’s right. Good lad

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:03 PM

Just read about thirty FG Rightwing Trolls repeating their hateful almost racist, type remarks .
    It’s quite amusing , but sad too , how these people live their miserable so sad lives.
    Their only means of argument is attack like schoolyard Bullies. Together with their multiple fake trolling Twitter names.
    The latest Were Jammin fake Troll one, is so pathetic in its childish content.

How these so miserable people are so much on the run now – that their pathetic way of life and putdowns have been found out, by the ordinary Citizens of Ireland .

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:55 PM

@ ciarraioch Hi Eddie

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:19 PM

Would she use her Dail Privilege in naming sex abusers in the I.R.A.?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:22 PM

now now she only has strong views on those who cover up abuse in the church…. it doesn’t apply to her own party somehow though… strange that?

Mute Carry Horry
    Favourite Carry Horry
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:27 PM

Seriously Journal, how can you let the same twisted trolls regurgitate the same bile every day ??????
    I’d love an answer..

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Apr 15th 2015, 1:49 PM

It beefs out their comments section so they probably love it. The sad thing is that all the troll comments come one after another, yano, because they are all the same person backslapping themselves. It truly is sad.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny

She has been hiding for a while. It is easy to find a hiding place when you live in a luxurious11-room detached villa close to the Phoenix Park. It is also easy to run a 254s.q.m house when you take home the average industrial wage.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:46 PM

Mary Lou has a VILLA on the average industrial wage. WOW.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:40 PM

A stunning looking woman

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Apr 14th 2015, 4:26 PM

Looks like a pitbull chewing a wasp.

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:35 PM

You are looking through your squinted eyes,Johnny :) #funnyguyisjohnny

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:12 PM

She’s a cunning stunt.

Mute Cronin1984
    Favourite Cronin1984
    Apr 14th 2015, 3:34 PM

Why did they use a picture of Kathleen Turner?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:12 PM

another mockery of democracy brought to you from SF. how could any decent person even dream of voting for those thugs

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:19 PM

unfortunately patjoe the hamfisted effort being made by the people in power are driving people in their direction.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:23 PM

they shall always remain an irrelevant immoral sideshow :)

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny

A side show they ma be, however the government needs to be held to account. As someone who believes in water charges (modest, user pays, conservation, etc.) the whole IW thing is such a debacle.If they tried they couldn’t have made a bigger balls of it.
    I find the whole thing a joke except it just isn’t funny.
    Can we not have competent people running the country. Out of our population you’d think we could find a few honest, competent people to put in charge of running the country.
    The government may have had quite a few successes, jobs etc that they deserve credit for but they’ve burned a lot of that credit with this whole IW fiasco

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:47 PM

@Tom and Patjoe,
    get a room you guys.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:28 PM

It’s great that people accused of tax fraud can just declare themselves innocent, and the media just takes their word for it.

Apr 15th 2015, 12:15 AM

even when they have been caught publicly, and bang to rights. not in the public interest to charge HSBC fraudsters, even on €3.6 billion?

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:20 PM

Does mary Lou or any of SF/IRA have any respect for our democracy?

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:28 PM

She’s a nasty piece of work. People are entitled to their good name? Well then why do you viciously try to destroy their good name in the one place where they cannot defend themselves. A pure bully.

Repeat your allegations outside the Dail or else shut your face.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:36 PM

Alan, for somebody who likes to remark on your good manners and how much class you have, you seem to be very quick to make derogatory comments about women.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:01 PM

And what part of my comment is offensive about/towards her as a woman? I refer to her as a nasty piece of work, as a bully and suggest that she repeats her allegations where they can be tested or else shut up.

None of those are things you say only about women.

Stop trying to be offended, and on someone else’s behalf too.

Apr 15th 2015, 12:34 AM

People are entitled to their good name? like jimmy savile you mean? yeah, sure, why not.

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:40 PM

Mary-Lou was 100 per cent right- and it’s killing those that she named that they can do absolutely nothing to stop her-

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    Apr 14th 2015, 7:49 PM

Fair play mary lou exposing the filty corrupt right wing thieves that have robbed this country for decades ,
    Expose them all i say
    The elite establishment have &ucked this country over and over with out been accountable to the irish people
    Fine gael fianna fail labour pds have destroyed ireland and the stupid sheep on here defend them
    Fools

Mute Irish Sceptic
    Favourite Irish Sceptic
    Apr 14th 2015, 5:34 PM

If this were anybody else she’d be demanding ‘justice’ ‘fairness’ ‘accountability’ ‘transparacy’ and a load of other buzzwords. One law for them and another for everyone else. God help the country if this shower of populist idiots ever get into power

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Apr 14th 2015, 6:01 PM

if she had any morals she would resign immediately

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:40 PM

If Enda had any shame he would have resigned when he first went to meet angela and came back with bruised knees and a brown tongue. But then nobody expected anything else from this coward.

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:32 PM

Interesting that the shinners got very upset when dail privilege was used to criticise them. That wasn’t on at all, at all but I suppose that’s what happens when you have a monopoly on virtue.

Apr 14th 2015, 8:59 PM

This is a woman who sat in the dail and smirked as a debate went on about the child rape of Marie Cahill while Marie Cahill sat in the gallery watching. She’s not fit to be called a woman or a mother let alone a TD.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Apr 14th 2015, 9:34 PM

Whatever happened to marie cahill? Why isn’t enda still fawning over her did something happen?

Apr 14th 2015, 9:48 PM

Unlike Sinn Fein who laugh at victims of paedophilia while protecting the paedophile most decent minded people whatever their politics try and support the victim in their struggle for justice. If you have children I hope they never end up alone with one of these patriots.

Apr 15th 2015, 12:51 AM

there are whispers that FG & Lab have “distanced” themselves from Miss Cahill. She seems to have out lived her usefulness some might argue..

Apr 15th 2015, 9:12 AM

Well we all know Marie Cahill outgrew her usefulness to Sinn Fein supporters a long time ago. Around her 16th birthday. Imagine sitting in the audience at a Sinn Fein ard fheis? Now that would make my skin crawl.

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:42 PM

Eh, once she was a poster girl for sinn fein but now she’s just the same as all those other doublespeak phonies?

Mute Jeannie Laing
    Favourite Jeannie Laing
    Apr 14th 2015, 10:37 PM

Double standards,from kenny and Burton, as they sup cheek by jowl with two very unsavoury Carachters,both were members of the “workers party” whose Crimes knew no bounds. Pot/Kettle comes to mind.

Mute Simon Haden
    Favourite Simon Haden
    Apr 14th 2015, 8:55 PM

Sorry I don’t understand what the “twist” is