You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FIREFIGHTERS BATTLING A large forest fire near Berlin had stopped its spread, a local official said, warning the danger from the blaze had not yet passed.
“The situation has not yet calmed down,” a spokesman for the interior ministry of Brandenburg state told the DPA news agency.
Around 600 people fled their homes in three villages in Brandenburg 50 kilometres southwest of the capital late last night as firefighters battled the blaze from the air with water-bombing helicopters.
The smell of acrid smoke reached Berlin as more than 400 hectares (1,000 acres) of woodland burned outside the nearby city of Potsdam.
Residents of one of the villages were able to return today, but those from the other two will not be able to do until Saturday.
However they would be allowed to briefly visit their homes to feed their animals, said local official Christian Stein.
“Our main goal remains to protect the evacuated areas from the flames,” Stein told DPA.
“We haven’t been able to push back the fire yet but no building has been affected.”
About 440 firefighters will be deployed to beat back the fire over the weekend, when no rain has been forecast and strong winds could increase the fire’s intensity.
Efforts to contain the fire were complicated because the affected terrain is still littered with munitions from World War II, regional emergency response coordinator Michael Knape told public broadcaster RBB.
He called the situation “dramatic”, saying there had already been small explosions from ordnance buried in the ground.
An enduring drought and heatwave have left European rural areas particularly vulnerable to wildfires, which wrought devastation in Greece and Sweden earlier this summer.
As the flames came within 100 metres of one of the German villages, residents were told to take only the most essential belongings like medication and documents before fleeing.
Emergency hotline operators received hundreds of calls from residents of Berlin saying they could smell smoke.
“The entire urban area is now affected. The cause is the large fire in Brandenburg,” the Berlin fire brigade tweeted.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
5 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Only last Monday morning, I was speaking to a close friend , who operates another one of O’Briens Oil brands , who hasn’t as yet had Topaz branding placed on his premises.
He told me that he was dreading this rebranding happening, as he was hearing from colleagues , with Topaz branding, that their sales had been suffering, as a result of the Irish Water influenced, Boycott . This influence of poor sales , was particularly to be seen in Limerick, Cork and Dublin apparently.
So maybe this sale of these huge assets , has been partly brought about by the contagion of The O’Brien factor , as much by O’Briens recent floating failure , on the stock market ?
Yes, the “boycott” has caused untold damage…Oh, wait:
“Irish fuel chain Tozpaz made a profit of €2.3m in the 12 months to the end of March 2015, reversing a near €5m loss the year before.
Accounts just filed with the Companies Registration Office for its 2015 financial year show that revenue at the firm fell slightly from €3.05bn to €2.95bn, with Irish sales dropping from €2.73bn to €2.53bn. The company said that the drop was mainly due to a reduction in commodity prices.
However, earnings before deductions increased from €23.7m to €26.1m while the amount of interest it paid out on loans and related charges fell by about €3m. The firm made a full-year profit of €2.25m compared to a loss of €4.84 the year before.
Topaz is owned by businessman Denis O’Brien. Mr O’Brien is also the largest shareholder in Independent News & Media, which owns this newspaper.
The number of people employed by Topaz rose from 1,512 in its 2014 financial year to 1,564 in 2015. A spokesman for the group said that the business is performing well and is benefiting from a “substantial investment which has been made over the past 12 months”.”
(So, Eddie’s either going to say I must be a FG troll, or that you can’t rely on anything you read in The Indo, especially when it comes to DOB’s businesses. )
Well topaz haven’t been getting my €55 euro a week over the last 2 yrs since DOB bought it …. I didn’t think it would make a difference to that business but it made a difference to me. I felt like I was doing something positive.
Trevor the while public sector are signing up to these type contracts now , the thing is most of these public sectors are already being supplied by these suppliers as it is , as is the case with topaz / statoil and the garda fleet .
I crossed the doorway last week of a Topaz for the first time in 2 years, I actually needed to buy a lighter, as i had come out without one, I was met by the bouncy girl behind the counter welcoming me to Topaz asking me what i needed, I replied Just a lighter please, she offered me a Topaz branded lighter, I replied no thanks can i have the orange Bic lighter next to those please, as I wouldn`t be seen dead with one of those in Public, her bounce was gone at this point……
Moral of the story, make sure you have a lighter for the joint in the evening, or otherwise you might have to sell part of your soul in a Topaz Station to get one, I still can barely forgive myself……
Brendan, he hasn’t the money…’sources’:-) say he hasn’t reduced the debt on his original purchase and therefore the 450€m price received is ‘at cost’. And the ‘phenomenal blah blah blah’ from the nephew should be taken with a grain of salt…..if Dinny can influence Ministers, imagine what he could perhaps do to a Family member!!
Sky TV/Fibre & Virgin TV/Fibre are all installed, serviced and maintained by a company called GMC Sierra. The same lads that install your water meters. Sierra is owned by your Topaz owing friend, Denis.
Yeah, But i haven`t got Sky/Virgin stamped on my lighter when i am out and about either wesole,which is basically all i cared about, I have no other reason to use a Topaz whatsoever as i don`t drive in this country.
Was that a freudin slip wesole? “owing” instead of “owning”
FTA TV satellite and Saorview – 170 once off payment for one room,do it youself kit up to 4 rooms for about 450, easy peasy.
Eircom for Broadband, streaming,work,chatting to you, and just about everything else – never have to give Denis a dime again, and you could save a fortune overtime to boot
The fact that Topaz is using advertising gimmicks on his radio stations to sell their fuels says the boycott worked as for 2.25 m profit seems a very poor return for such a big company. Still won’t be buying fuel there Topaz the dearest around the country.
Trevor you’ve missed the point ive been making , Topaz / statoil already had the contract to supply these fuels , they’ve basically won it again after it went out to tender as the goverment now does with all its contracts , Not sure what your talking about
Just like the taxpayer waved goodbye to the €55m IBRC generously wrote off when Denis bought Topaz. Don’t suppose they put in a claw-back clause in case he subsequently sold it for a huge profit? No, didn’t think so.
Why is O’Brien ‘really’ selling Topaz? Is there a worry that the dealings with the IBRC to purchase Topaz were at best dodgy? SiteServe has already been liquidated? Or maybe I’m just being cynical..
I think the 30% quoted is probably a share of the retail fuel market? Don’t know what the story is with imports, something tells me it might be worse, as a small island on the edge of Europe there’s only going to be economically feasible for one/two importers?
Anyway, the margin on the fuel for these petrol station/convenience stores is so low that it’s almost a loss leader to get you in to buy some overpriced coffee and pastries. That’s where the profit is.
I go around Europe a lot and always do a quick price check – I’m not seeing fuel prices way cheaper elsewhere. In the states they are but that’s a whole different world.
Is fuel margin much higher in ireland or is this hair obrien bashing?
The 30% figure refers to the 130 “company owned” Topaz stations.
Their website, Topaz.ie says this:
“With over 330 stations across the country, Topaz is Ireland’s largest fuel and convenience brand, and we’re growing every year. We at Topaz are committed to change for the better, where standards in service, convenience and quality, alongside our responsibility to the environment, are paramount.
Topaz. That’s better. (Sic)”
So, over 200 franchise stations would indicate that Topaz are supplying well over 30% and quite possibly well over 60% of Irish petrol and diesel.
Most other european countries have car tax included in the pump price and it still seems cheaper or around the same price than rip off Ireland who pay car tax separate
Malvolio32
The article only makes reference to 162 Topaz owned stations representing 30% of the market. When Topaz say they have over 330 stations, this would still, to you, mean 30%?
” Mr. Anthony Lang, one of the
solicitors in the firm of Kilroy’s, from handwritten
notes he made at the meeting and that his method of
working is that once he dictates the notes he destroys
the handwritten notes. So just to explain the
circumstances of these being typewritten notes.” http://www.moriarty-tribunal.ie/images/transcript_171.pdf
Thanks David.
You can’t see that it’s an unusual way of working, but it was deemed worthy of comment in the Tribunal.
Anyway.
Anthony hasn’t been seen on TheJournal.ie in a while.
The Phoenix has been saying for months. Denis O’Brien is in financial trouble. He is selling assets. His floatation of his mobile business went tits up. If it continues at this rate he will be joining ‘Sir’ Anthony and Sean Quinn on Queer Street.
Exactly, Topaz beside Northwood on the Ballymun Road considerably more expensive than Maxol beside OMNI in Santry and the unmanned station on the Swords Road towards the airport all only 5-7 or so minutes drive from Topaz.
It would appear that the instructive thing about this, and earlier, announcements is that He who cannot be named is desperate for money, as is evidenced by recent divestments. Can you give us a steer as to why this might be, Journal? ;-)
So VLI you want him to apologise for getting up off his arse an earning hundreds of millions and also conform to the train of thought that he owes you and everyone else is Ireland a living. Pure green eyed nonsense.
I don’t care for apologies. I do think the state either has to clearly show by 55 mil write down was necessary or I want Denis to pay us back the money. Only common sense that people pay back what they were given. I’m working on a business idea myself at the moment, I want every irish citizen to be a success, even if they do unfortunately pay their taxes in Malta
We are already 55 mil down given Denis got topaz at write down price. Unless he donates 56 mil to charity to irish people will see little benefit from this. My hope is that new owners will treat staff better as many are struggling
Yes better. For example in South dublin alone there are roughly 20-30 supervisors on sales assistant contracts. They are fully trained and experienced but the topaz board must have been thinking about the cents saved. Anyway nobody can get a mortgage because 100% of all sales assistant contracts are flexi. It’s a disgrace
I would be a fan of Denis if he was transparent, didn’t donate massively to fine gael & didn’t bring the state to court. If he treated his staff well & paid his taxes here in Ireland. Oh and if he rejected write downs off the state knowing the taxpayer foots the bill
He gets kncoked for having a few bob and playing the game. Typical irish begrudgery in plentiful supply on here. I pointed out here before he is a huge charity giver but nobody wants to hear that apparently….
Never did I give out to Denis for being successful. Try read my comment again. The money lost to Malta trumps the money donated to charity by a long shot but it does help spin people’s perception of him.
Check what the moriarty tribunal did find, not what it didn’t. I don’t know a single reason why 55 million euro of your money & my money was taken off the price for Denis. Either way he has now sold topaz for a fat profit, making much more than 55 mil yet 0 will go back to the state.
Hats off to him VLI. You of all people should know that the Irish government have spent the last 7 years riding its citizens i.e. Me and you. I for one love to see somebody with the balls to ride them back. We all have 55 million reasons to give Kenny and co the middle finger. They’d only squander it on some failed project anyway in a matter of days
If you wish to run a successful country it’s never about the people vs the state. It’s about the people voting & engaging to make sure the state acts in their best interests. Unfortunately a FG dominant government means only looking after the top earners in this society
David and Tweed…there’s no doubt Denis has business acumen but what really got him rolling was a bribe…..and that was to the cost of you, me and the taxpayers of this country. the Government have sat on the Moriarty report when it should be handed to the Gardaí…..the report followed the money and found the bribes. So where is the full and proper court case?
To be honest with you Al I’d be more p1ssed at the €200 million that was squandered on the said inquiry. All it proved was that O Brien is a sharp cookie. But sure everyone knew that already. There will never be a court case because they simply ain’t as smart as him. He played FG for the total muppets they are. I’m a fan.
I wonder if the new company will be requiring Brian Cowans financial wizardry in the boardroom. I heard he’s on linkedIn now so maybe not! So what was he doing for DOB, i’m guessing making the tea and getting the bikkies.
No real surprise here but couche-tard is part of the Rothschilds global cabal DOB the slave just handing over his work to his masters like a good boy. He got it cheap and they will get it cheap. All roads lead to the Rothschilds sadly
Interestingly Couche-Tard also operates under ‘on the run’ which used to be in most Esso’s in Ireland until they pulled out or were forced out, I think. Never thought much of those shops, I wonder what brand they will bring this time.
Wow you get 300 million for 150 million. How did IBRC go out of business with such a clever decisions being made for wealthy businessmen? Alan Dukes is right it’s the begrudgers fault.
I hope none of the people who claim to boycott Topaz, IW, Newstalk and Today FM or the Irish Independent have Sky TV, Sky Fibre broadband, Virgin TV or Virgin fibre broadband…wouldn’t want to be hypocritical in anyway.
The picture of the topaz garage!!!
Diesel is €1.12 per litre
Unleaded is also €1.12 per litre ( probably wrong price )
If topaz is owned by the same dick how come the topaz garage beside me the price for fuel is diesel €1.18
Petrol € 1.30
'Did he just say Prevost?’: St Peter’s Square stunned by first American Pope, Leo XIV
Diarmuid Pepper
in Rome
Updated
9 hrs ago
The Morning Lead
'Utterly shameful': Irish MEPs slam EU offer to assist Israel in replacing Gaza aid agencies
David MacRedmond
7 hrs ago
As it happened
How the day played out as US cardinal Robert Prevost became Pope Leo XIV
Updated
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 184 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 123 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 163 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 127 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 90 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 148 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 87 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 93 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 105 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 99 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 82 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say