You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Press Association

German police launch raids after death threats by anti-vaxxers against governor

Opponents of Covid rules allegedly plotted to kill Saxony’s governor Michael Kretschmer.

GERMANY SAID TODAY it would “defend itself” against radicalised anti-vaccination groups after police launched raids in response to death threats against a top politician backing sweeping measures to fight the pandemic.

Police and special forces staged an operation in Saxony after an anti-vaccine group targeted the region’s state premier, who has vocally supported national measures against the unvaccinated in one of the areas of the country with the lowest inoculation rates.

Chancellor Olaf Scholz, who took office last week, said Germany would “not allow a tiny minority of uninhibited extremists to try to impose its will on the whole of society”.

The security forces launched the raids targeting five suspects in the eastern cities of Dresden and Heidenau, following threats from an anti-vaccine group against Saxony state premier Michael Kretschmer.

“Statements from certain members of the group suggested they might have real weapons and crossbows,” police said, without indicating if any arrests had been made.

Audio messages called for members to oppose the restrictions in place and “if necessary with weapons”, targeting politicians — in particular, Kretschmer.

Authorities suspected “the preparation of a violent crime that threatens the state”, police later said on Twitter.

The investigation was opened after journalists from public broadcaster ZDF infiltrated an encrypted chat on the Telegram messaging app and reported on the death threats last week.

‘Bloody resistance’ 

ZDF revealed the contents of messages allegedly involving a hundred members of the chat group “linked by their opposition to vaccines, to the state and the current health policies”, police said.

In his first speech to parliament as chancellor, Scholz vowed a zero-tolerance policy against such extremist groups.

Germany will “use all the means of its democratic rule of law to defend itself against this tiny minority of the hateful attacking the rest of us”, he said.

The rise of violent far-right extremism in Germany was the “biggest threat to our democracy”, Scholz added.

A large, partly radicalised movement has emerged in Germany against health restrictions imposed during the Covid-19 pandemic.

In the midst of a strong fourth wave of the virus, the national government decided to strengthen restrictions on unvaccinated people, banning them from public venues, restaurants and non-essential commerce.

Scholz has said parliament could vote on compulsory vaccination in the coming weeks, with the obligation to get the jab coming into force in February or March.

Police in Berlin confirmed they were investigating threats sent to several politicians across the country, which promised a “bloody resistance” against obligatory vaccines.

One of the letters, of which there were “more than a dozen”, contained a piece of meat wrapped in aluminium foil.

‘Radicalised’

Opposition to health restrictions is particularly strong in Saxony, in former communist East Germany, one of the regions worst hit by the resurgent coronavirus and where the vaccination rate is lower than the national average.

At the beginning of December, protestors gathered outside the house of the Saxony state minister of health with torches and whistles, a demonstration which was condemned by politicians.

The anti-vaccination scene was “being radicalised, not just politically but also showing a readiness to use violence,” police union chief Rainer Wendt told local media.

The movement was attracting individuals who had “not significantly participated in protests up until now”, Wendt said, while many who dismiss the authorities “just cannot be reached” by efforts to pull them away from extremism.

Between 15,000 and 20,000 people were currently implicated in the radical tendency, security expert Sebastian Fiedler of Scholz’s Social Democrats told the Bild daily on Tuesday.

Germany has seen a rise in political violence in recent years, often attributed to far-right assailants.

In January, neo-Nazi Stephan Ernst was sentenced to life in prison for the June 2019 murder of pro-migration politician Walter Luebcke.

View 40 comments
40 Comments
    Mute Billy Davies
    Favourite Billy Davies
    Dec 15th 2021, 12:17 PM

Anto vaxxers generally seem to be an intelligent open minded and friendly bunch. This really is surprising news

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 15th 2021, 12:33 PM

@Billy Davies: These boards are swarming with them. A lot of them say they’re “not anti vaccine but…” which i always find hilarious.

Mute Ixtrix Net
    Favourite Ixtrix Net
    Dec 15th 2021, 12:48 PM

@JusticeForJoe:
    it’s somewhat adjacent to ‘I’m not a racist..but….’

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:07 PM

@JusticeForJoe: They now start posts ‘Double Jabbed here but…’

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:34 PM

@Lee King Buckett: yes or the “I’m double jabbed but I won’t be taking the booster because blah, blah…”

PW
    Mute PW
    Favourite PW
    Dec 15th 2021, 7:35 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: saddest thread ever above! I’d say you spend your days trailing RIP.IE

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 15th 2021, 7:47 PM

@PW: Did someone upset you?

Mute Josepi
    Favourite Josepi
    Dec 15th 2021, 9:05 PM

@PW: This is the journal 80 % are brainwashed by the media without a single brain cell amongst them.

Damo
    Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Dec 15th 2021, 9:58 PM

@Josepi: Well if it isn’t the re-tard-igans…
    …ye little scamps ye…
    Colouring-in allll finished for the day and ye just can’t wait to tell us all about it…

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 16th 2021, 11:12 AM

@Josepi: But not you lads, wha? You clever foxes. Hahahahahaha

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 16th 2021, 11:16 AM

Funny how the education history of most anti-vaxxers on Facebook is “the school of hard knocks”. Must’ve been an amazing school, that. I’m joking of course. It makes perfect sense tho

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:57 PM

The elephant in the room here is why are we not treating covid early. Why are we not recommending vit d and zinc. Treating people late in the game when they need hospitalization is too late.

Imagine a woman or man in their 90s. They get sick test positive and we do NOTHING to help them. Doctors are failing their patients by their refusal to do nothing to help them at the early onset of the virus. Then they die because they are only treated when they enter the hospital and can’t breathe. By then the damage has been done. Covid is the only disease we handle like this. Why?

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:11 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: “The elephant in the room here is why are we not treating covid early. Why are we not recommending vit d and zinc. Treating people late in the game when they need hospitalization is too late.”

We are preventing it early, by vaccinating people.

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:18 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: the vaccine is not treatment for covid. People in their 80s can still die even though they are vaccinated.

When someone who is vaccinated gets covid we do nothing. We let them get worse and then if they need hospitalization only then they are treated and by then it is too late the damage has been done.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:38 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: What’s your area of expertise, Diarmuid? Where did you get your phd?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:42 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I doubt very much that giving an elderly person in their 90s Vit D and Zinc tablets after they’ve contracted Covid, is actually going to save their life. Prevention is better than cure.

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 15th 2021, 2:51 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: “We are preventing it early, by vaccinating people.”

People could prevent many illnesses in their lives if they ate nutritious food, exercised regularly and practiced good hygiene.
    This used to be common sense.
    Even something as simple as taking a multi vitamin every day would make a huge difference.
    These days we make a life time of bad choices and then expect medical science to ride to the rescue once the damage is done.

Mute Diarmuid O'Braonáin
    Dec 15th 2021, 3:02 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: They should be on Vit D and zinc right now as recommended by the WHO! I did not say it was going to cure them but its a tool in the arsenal. Vit D is very important for the immune system.

If someone is sick from Covid what do we do to help them? We do nothing. They should be given medication from their GP straight away in the home rather than letting them get sicker and the virus spreading. The last thing we should be doing is NOTHING at all. People have died because their doctors did nothing in the early stages of their illness.

Think of it like this when they arrive at the hospital by ambulance the doctors throw the kitchen sick at them with medicines hoping they get better. Why not do it earlier especially for those in the high risk category. The elderly and obese.

Mute Hans Stofberg
    Favourite Hans Stofberg
    Dec 15th 2021, 3:11 PM

@Diarmuid O’Braonáin: if I am in my 90 s please don’t worry . Some day our time will come . How old is it to have age to say thats enough .?

PW
    Mute PW
    Favourite PW
    Dec 15th 2021, 7:36 PM

@Seán Ó Briain: we’re really not?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 15th 2021, 12:35 PM

Love the headline. Is that all anti-vaxxers or was it just those native to Germany that were in on the plot?

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Dec 15th 2021, 12:55 PM

@Will: is the an attempt to shoehorn something irrelevant in?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:05 PM

@DJ François: “is the an attempt to shoehorn something irrelevant in?”

Maybe try that again DJ?

Mute Bobby Jones
    Favourite Bobby Jones
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:37 PM

@Will: Think the journal is adding all them by the looks of it. Looks at the piece just above where comments are closed. “Violent rhetoric, within Irish anti-lockdown movement should not be underestimated”.

Mute Daniel O'Neill
    Favourite Daniel O'Neill
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:01 PM

Sounds like a knife will be found in their kitchen.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Dec 15th 2021, 1:25 PM

@Daniel O’Neill: or a smoking gun

Mute Hans Stofberg
    Favourite Hans Stofberg
    Dec 15th 2021, 5:09 PM

Best not leave a comment if anyone does not agree with your views they can report you and your comment is immediately deleted without the admin reading it and than make a decision . This is the last time I leave a comment . And will not look at The Journal anymore. Goood luck

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Dec 15th 2021, 6:56 PM

@Hans Stofberg: I don’t think I can remember an incident when they deleted a post including all the replies. Well, your original post was in line with the German “querdenker”, aka “antivax”, “anti-lockdown”, “anti-everything”, based on your accumulated knowledge from FB and Telegram anyway – so I think it’s not that much of a loss. Most likely the follow-ups where of the same quality and hence they delete all of them :-)

Mute Ellie Mae
    Favourite Ellie Mae
    Dec 15th 2021, 6:28 PM

I cant wait for the fully vaxxed people to argue with the half vaxxed people , and then the half vaxxed giving out to the 1/4 vaxxed and so on

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Dec 15th 2021, 5:33 PM

They should be arrested……