You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micheál Martin and Gerry Adams at a 2011 general election TV debate Julien Behal

Gerry Adams and Micheál Martin are preparing for government... but not with each other

The Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil leaders were in bullish mood today.

Updated 3.30pm 

GERRY ADAMS AND MICHEÁL Martin have both said today that they are preparing for government ahead of a general election which will take place in the spring of next year at the latest.

The Sinn Féin and Fianna Fáil leaders have been speaking today ahead of the resumption of the Dáil tomorrow afternoon, but Martin has again firmly ruled out any coalition with Adams’s party.

Speaking at Leinster House this afternoon, Martin said he had been saying since last September that he was preparing for government.

“Every political party has an obligation, every political leader has an obligation, to lay out a policy platform,” he said.

“What we would like is that the next 12 months would be on issues and the kind of society that we want to evolve over the next five years.

“I hate to think that the next election would become just another shallow election around who can meet the other person’s tax cut with a better tax cut. I think it needs to be more substantive than that.”

Earlier Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams said he believed that the current government is “on its last legs”.

He was speaking as Sinn Féin TD and Senators gathered in north inner city Dublin today for a think-in ahead of the resumption of the Dáil tomorrow afternoon.

“We’re actually here preparing for government, that’s our focus,” Adams declared to the media today.

“We’re seeking a mandate to be in government and this is a government which is on its last legs. Whether it lasts to 2016 or not, the people have clearly give it notice to quit.”

He accused the current government of having come in with “all those high-flowing promises” which he said have subsequently been broken.

Previewing the next Dáil session, Adams said the party was focussed on policy formulation and how best to hold the government to account.

Asked about potential coalition partners, Adams said that this was a “secondary issue”.

“First of all we need a mandate to be in government then of course we have to negotiate a programme for government… Our focus isn’t on who our partners might be,” he added.

Adams’s deputy, Mary Lou McDonald, stated last week that her preference was that Sinn Féin be the largest party in any coalition arrangement.

This view is shared by several of her senior colleagues in Sinn Fein with the party increasingly indicating that it would not entertain any coalition arrangement after the next election unless it is the largest party.

But Martin again reiterated his opposition to any coalition with Sinn Féin today.

He added: “I think they need to change as a party and I think they need to become far more facilitative of diverse opinions within its ranks and I’ve a lot of issues with Sinn Féin.”

- with reporting from Órla Ryan

State of the Nation: Can Fine Gael stop screwing up in 2015?

Read: Mary Lou thinks Sinn Féin would have to be the largest party to go into government

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

195 Comments
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:02 PM

In fairness to Sinn Fein they cannot under any circumstances be any worse than the lot of self serving politicians that we have had since the foundation of the Irish state.

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:13 PM

But all they have at their disposal is hype and criticism of the opposition. A little like a certain dead party who showed similar levels of support in the previous election….What were their names again? Daybour, Baybour…….

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:14 PM

@ Paul …. The problem Paul is they can do a hell of a lot worse (although they may not) what pray tell make you believe they are any different, remember in opposition you can say (as they do)or promise the sun,moon, and stars (remember Enda &Co) but in government it’s a different matter!

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:34 PM

Sinn Fein is dangerous in that they are fanatical about their cause. They will justify almost anything to further their cause.

Very recently they abused Dail Privilege, targeting civilians in order to deflect some attention from the story of their handling of child abuse complaints.

Anyone who doesn’t fear what they would be capable of in power is naive.

And all that is quite apart from their idiotic economic policies.

We have steered a difficult course and are coming out the other side. To now put idiots like SF in charge would be a petulant act by the electorate that would lead to economic and democratic catastrophe.

People have more sense, I hope.

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:37 PM

Au contraire – they are much worse

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:48 PM

Holesuck, I fail to see how anyone could do any worse than what the civil war parties have done for the last 90 odd years. Given the levels of unemployment, emigration and poverty since independence, I would be inclined to say it was a failed revolution, a semi successful war of national independence but a totally failed revolution, time for change. Time for fresh new government with a fresh approach to our economic woes, brought about by the civil war parties, not Sinn Féin. Time for a new constitution to reflect modern Ireland. Time for a party on the island prepared to confront the worst excesses of Loyalism / partitionism. Time for a breath of fresh air.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:49 PM

It will be incredibly painful economically to absorb the 6 counties into our economy and lose the GBP16 billion per annum from the UK to support them, and it is not likely to be a bloodless re-unification – but you just have to vote Sinn Fein at this stage and realise the United Ireland dream that is the core of their platform. The UK will be delighted to wash their hands of it given half a chance.

There are no other credible options on the table for the future.

Mute Joey jabadoo
    Favourite Joey jabadoo
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:09 PM

Couldn’t agree more

Mute Joey jabadoo
    Favourite Joey jabadoo
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:10 PM

With wholeduck

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Favourite Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:48 PM

Great meeting today… proposed the election slogan “Better than the Other Shower”… #tiocfaidhárlá2016

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:50 PM

Prov, I thought the runner up slogan

‘Not yet proven any worse than the other shower’

was a bit too wordy.

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:51 PM

Wholeduck ,that’s a whole lot of paranoia and hyperbole you’re labouring under there. While not a SF supporter, your comments are extreme and irrational. Our greatest enemy now is the notion of a FG-FF coalition. Now that is something you don’t want yo contemplate. They would share out the fiefdom to their members and the country would be well and truly buried. SF are not the enemy but are they part of the problem. FF-FG are at the core of our diseased body politic and only extracting them from power will save the country from further decline.

Mute Lizzie Birdsworth
    Favourite Lizzie Birdsworth
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:57 PM

Gaelbots go go go go

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:09 PM

Don’t be afraid to upset the apple cart, The apples are rotting anyway, we can go on blaming till were blue in the face, i think everyone agrees the politics of the past has turned to a cancer, its time to change, now is that time, if its not made this political staleness will depress us for many more yrs. Kenny assured us of change, its worse then before. we need new policies, a new party, fresh faces, get rid of this political cancer thats ruled our country for eons. Vote for change next election.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:40 PM

Remember Gerry Adams was the Anjem Choudray of his times..i.e. an apologist for terrorists.

Mute Patrick Finnerty
    Favourite Patrick Finnerty
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:00 PM

Come on give them a chance.

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:08 PM

The day after the recent Charlie Hebdo attacks, one of SF’s councillors tweeted that a magazine was a ‘racist rag’ and ‘she wouldn’t dream of buying it.’ SF are so politically correct that they will blame journalists murdered doing their job for being blasphemous against the most intolerant religion on the planet, Islam, so as not to offend Islamic sensibilities.

Vote for SF if you must but you can look forward to a loonie left-wing immigration policy, political correctness overdrive and workers being taxed to breaking point to find the welfare state.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:32 PM

Another week and still can’t manage a whole duck.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:35 PM

Another week and Gerry Adams is compared with someone else. Not Hitler for a change though I see.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:41 PM

It is a racist rag which has been conveniently brushed aside by those wishing to make political capitol of the Paris incident.

The photos taken of the western leaders “leading” the march were taken in a sealed off side street. They were nowhere near the crowd.

Check Huff post for details.

Another week of deceit.

Mute Charlie Mountney

For deceit that is.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:09 PM

Wasn’t comparing Gerry to him. Mr Choudray is but a pupil and Gerry the master. Gerry wrote the book on how to spin, dodge, weave, avoid and lay the blame on anyone but him or his like.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:36 PM

Wholeduck well said & I think the majority would agree with you. Our fore fathers fought hard to give us freedom. We are not about to give up our democracy to any group of Marxists or left wing looneys! One has only to look to South America or the former communist states of Eastern Europe ,to see the hardship and human destitute & misery that similar failed ideologies inflicted on their people! We are not fooled with populist ramblings.

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Jan 13th 2015, 6:46 PM

Granted…but all they have to be is the same to continue the debacle.

Mute Thierry Ratt
    Favourite Thierry Ratt
    Jan 13th 2015, 7:04 PM

There have been lots of countries who ended up being ruled by a political prisoner through the ages.. Is Adams in charge that hard to imagine

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Jan 13th 2015, 7:07 PM

They might surprise you there, particularly in the fundraising area. Some of their TDs are experts in extracting cash from unwilling donors, like Dessie Ellis for example. Their expertise would (literally) blow you away….

Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Jan 13th 2015, 7:08 PM

Cordite scented air maybe…

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:17 PM

Not a hope of SF being in a position to be a significant part of government. FG and FF will enter a coalition rather than allow that travesty to occur. Even if SF does know where ‘the bodies are buried’- literally seaking. There is a very long way to go before SF and its sinister associates will be acceptable to ordinary, decent, law-abiding citizens here.

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Jan 13th 2015, 12:58 PM

Another week and more SF crap

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:12 PM

Gerry today is feeling envious of his mate Mitchel Mclaughlin after he has been elected to the high office of Speaker of the House in Stormont. Mitchel was voted into the job by a huge majority supported by the DUP.
    Gerry can only dream of getting elected as speaker of the Dial…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:14 PM

Speaker of the Dail?when was that position created Chris?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:21 PM

Exactly Norman……!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:30 PM

Chris the position doesn’t exist so seriously lad cop on .

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:34 PM

Cop yourself on mate, the pisition certainly exists in the Stormont parliament and Mitchwl McLauglin is the Speaker of the House. Wise up on what is happening Norman…..the northern Sinn Feiners are laughing at the lot down here.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:50 PM

Chris the position doesn’t exist in the Dail,so wtf are you on about?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:04 PM

It must be a slow learner day for southern Sinn Feiners……

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:07 PM

Chris I don’t and never have supported SF,but I do like winding up fools that post bs.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:11 PM

Bigger fool you then Norman that doesn’t have some work to do…..

Mute Gravel Pitt
    Favourite Gravel Pitt
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:15 PM

Norm and Chris are nearly 7….

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:17 PM

Thanks GP…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:26 PM

Chris plenty of work to do,but can take time out of my busy schedule to call bs when I see it.Btw don’t make assumptions they’re usually wrong.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:25 PM

Chris again assuming, you shouldn’t just makes you come across as a twit unable to put forth a coherent point.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:44 PM

Will you all please stop fighting and ffs will someone please think of the children…….

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:26 PM

You have insight into how Gerry Adams is feeling do you Chris?

Are you psychic?

Perhaps you can predict the results of the 2016 as save us all this speculation.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:29 PM

Another week and more crap in comments about SF.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:29 PM

Chris – Surely Gerry is far more likely to be Taoiseach before being Ceann Comhairle ? – after all , he is the most popular Leader of the most popular Party in the whole of Ireland !

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:35 PM

Gerry is on a personal campaign of self-aggrandisement- a sort of latter-day patriotic hero! Will someone please put him right? Only those real and genuine IRA people, convicted-of-membership-of-the-IRA, can ever be ‘patriotic heroes’ usually after they have been long dead; ‘murdered’ by someone other than the Informer IRA Nutting Squad- or Maggie Thatcher.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:19 PM

But Gerry also said he wasn’t in the IRA.
    Gerry said he wasn’t involved in murders, including that of Jean McConville.

Gerry isn’t a reliable source. :)

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:22 PM

Tom, are you implying he was in the IRA and in the Jean McConville case? Because last year, the psni questioned him for four days straight on these two issues and were unable to produce ANY evidence whatsoever, and released him without charge. Did you not pass on whatever information you have to them at the time? No?

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:12 PM

The general population know, with an extremely high probability, that Gerry Adams was in the IRA. That is a FACT we all know. People don’t like being treated like gullible idiots and expected to believe his lines. The only decent thing he could now do would be to admit he was a member. Apologise for lying to me, to you and the whole country, and then to resign.

Whether or not he actually ‘did the deed’ with McConville, by virtue of his position he most likely would have known.

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Joey jabadoo
    Favourite Joey jabadoo
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:13 PM

He wouldn’t have been arrested without any evidence whatsoever. Whether there was enough to prosecute or progress the case is a different matter but they can’t just go around arresting lads for very serious offences like that willy nilly without any evidence of any kind.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:17 PM

that evidence might just be someone saying Gerry was in the IRA.. doesn’t mean he was though. plenty of people get arrested for false accusations.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:39 PM

Sean, what you are doing there is just casually brushing aside the two key facts that following a police investigation, no evidence what-so-ever could be found to substantiate accusations against Adams and that he was released without charge.

Sadly for you, this is a democracy with rules, and one of those rules is the presumption of innocence until proven guilty.

Anyone can throw facts about without evidence. Odd that absolutely nobody, in 40 years of trying (and God knows, there are enough people trying), has ever managed to produce a scrap of proof of the accusations against Adams.

And I say this as someone who doesn’t give a cr*p whether or not Adams was in the IRA. the IRA haven’t existed in almost ten years now. And all I can say is that the IRA brought Britain to the negotiating table and SF then delivered a stable peace process against all the odds. Who or what organisation Gerry Adams spoke on on behalf of at any stage in that process is of no concern to me. I’m just glad he was there because I no longer live in a state which discriminates against me for my religion and I no longer have to deal with daily physical and verbal abuse and threats from the police force as I go about my daily business or in the privacy of my own home.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:43 PM

Joey, you say he wouldn’t have been arrested without any evidence what-so-ever. Then why had they no evidence to produce to him? He was released. Without charge. There was NO evidence.

Besides, what sort of an argument is that for presuming someones guilt? “They wouldn’t have arrested him without evidence”. FFS. Good job you’re not involved in the justice system. Were you making the same claims about the Birmingham Six? ‘Ah sure they were arrested and questioned, they must have did it”.

Mute is_mise_nile
    Favourite is_mise_nile
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:46 PM

guess who’s never been to the north? that’s how it works up there.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

Gerry wants more accountability in Government.

His own record of accountability speaks for itself.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:49 PM

Have you got a more reliable source?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:50 PM

Since when has high probability become fact. On top of all rlse are anti shinner trolls now rewriting dictionaries?

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:51 PM

Tir – seeing as you mentioned democracy, what fair trial did the disappeared get? What court of law decidesd to put a bullet through jean mcconvilles head? What guardian of the peace then showed up to beat and threaten her surviving children? What judiciary silenced victims of sex abuse? Which branch of law decided to move child abusers south?
    I sickens me to see filth who flout the law then hide behind it. I doubt I’m alone.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:52 PM

Gerry was never in the PIRA, he just negotiates and speaks on their behal..f. Ignore those who claim otherwise, namely investigative journalists, international security services, former PIRA memebers, and the dogs on the street.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:53 PM

It ia the 6 counties. They have been arresting innocent people for years. Try reading some cases like b/ham 6 oe Guildford 4. Lots more less high profile cases.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton

Tir eoghain, i wouldnt bother replying to the fools who claim to know all about gerry adams past as they know absolutely nothing about him. They are clearly trying to deflect. Same goes for those who criticise sf policies without having ever read sf policies. Soundbites and lies, something fg are good at.

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:00 PM

I don’t care whether he was or was not in the IRA. Most people don’t either. I have a lot of respect for Martin Mcguinness for his truths for example. Accusations are easy to make, but proving beyond a reasonable doubt is a different matter. I could cite examples in this regard such as John Gilligan and the murder of Veronica Geurin, OJ Simpson murder trial, Al Capone was never convicted of anything major other than tax evasion. You’re living in a world where only black and white are visible. Open your eyes to the vast grey area and use your brain to see common sense rather than what the authorities did or did not find.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:03 PM

Charles, like any armed organisation in an armed campaign, there will have been vile actions carried out by some. Let’s not forget that 26 counties won their independence thanks to an armed organisation that disappeared approximately 200 people (which is substantially more than the 15 disappeared by the PIRA). Disappearing bodies was as wrong then as it was in the 70′s. Over 75% of PIRA victims were willing participants in the conflict according to the book ‘Lost Lives’ which chronicles every death throughout. That’s a rate which is significantly higher than just about any armed organisation you care to mention, Including the Old IRA.

And democracy wasn’t being denied to just the victims. It was being denied to almost half the population on the basis of their religion. People like me. People who grew up under VASTLY worse conditions that those lived through by the people in the early 20th Century in Ireland when emerged the group we now refer to as the Old IRA.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:05 PM

Tyrone….why are you getting flustered over politics in the Republic….you live in a different jurisdiction….you have the upcoming UK elections in March to vent your spleen….

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:16 PM

Because I’d like to think that when Ireland is re-united, that the mess the free staters have made of the the place will have been cleaned up. And what a mess it is.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:28 PM

Charles you can make that statement about a wide range pf people today from members of government to security forces to bankers to regular joes north and south of the border

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:58 PM

“Freestaters”….For your information Tyrone, The Irish Free State ceased to exist in 1937. The mask is slipping Tyrone….you probably hold us in the Republic with as much contempt as your Unionist neighbours….as you consider this term to be derogatory…you talk about us in the Republic making a mess of things….This coming from a Northern Republican who has to rely on £16 Billion of her Majesty’s crispest pound notes annually in subvension to keep your failed State on lifesupport…You can’t even form a proper government…only an assembly between Unionist and Nationalists….your incessant whining about flags, “the past”, murals, parades or whatever childish whim tickles your fancy show you are unable to make grown up decisions when it’s comes to the crunch. You will never be in Government in the Republic. Thats the prize that you desire so much, power in the Republic, nothing else matters…The electorate see through your manure…you are nothing but wolves in sheep’s clothing….

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:04 PM

Sean D
    You do realise you have just compared Adams to OJ Simpson, Al Capone and John Gilligan ? All very upstanding members of the community.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:07 PM

You know they called Nelson Mandela a terrorist to!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:19 PM

Cuppantae, if at any stage you should happen to think back over the events of the past handful of years south of the border, and be suddenly struck by the irony of criticising the six counties for relying on money from overseas for survival, you can let me know.

I’ll give you a clue to help you along via a few keywords:

Bailout. Merkel. Germany. €85bn. Troika. Financial sovereignty surrendered (ok so that one was three words).

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:35 PM

You’re twisting my words. By that logic you could argue that in a way that they all breath oxygen, live on planet earth etc. What I’m saying is that there are cases the world over that when the general population are quite sure that an individual committed a crime, they may not have been convicted of said crime. That does not mean that the crime never happened. It just means they were not convicted of it.
    Please do not twist my words again to suit your own argument Stephen.

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:38 PM

Stephen
    Similarly we all know that collusion occurred between the British intelligence services/RUC and the loyalist paramilitaries. Was anybody convicted of it? No. Does that mean it didn’t happen? No.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae

You have completely missed my point Tyrone…you state we “Freestaters” have made a mess of thing yet you in Northern Ireland rely solely on the UK treasury to exist to the tune of an annual £16B subvension…..how would you fund this “United” Ireland Socialist Utopia governed by SF out of curiosity…aside from the magic “wealth” tax….?

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:45 PM

Another week of inuendo about what Gerry Adams said he did or did not do.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:47 PM

Another week of attempted sarcasm from Shinnerbot.

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:03 PM

…and on another note Tyrone the £16B subvention you receive in Northern Ireland is not overseas aid as you put it but from the United Kingdom…of which Northern Ireland is part of. A domestic subvention I suppose you could call it from Her Majesty’s Treasury….

Mute James Comiskey
    Favourite James Comiskey
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:03 PM

@ Tir Eoghain I suppose you think Al Capone never had anyone killed because he was never convicted of murder

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:16 PM

Charlie, didn’t see you there today, are you new?

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:00 PM

I am sure that he knows plenty about poor souls on their last legs.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:01 PM

Everyone appreciates that Adams has run SF with military precision.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:30 PM

Another week and more Tap crap.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:38 PM

And a Happy New Year to you Charlie.

Mute Rob O'H
    Favourite Rob O'H
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:01 PM

Is he planning to kneecap them?

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne

You stay classy.

Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:30 PM

Gerrymandering Adams…30 years in sole charge of sinn fein. And he talks about democracy.

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:36 PM

Sinn Fein is a Democratic Party unlike those that used section 31 against Sinn Fein for years in their vain wasted attempt to stop Sinn Fein fighting for the people-

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:41 PM

Luther, since he became party president, he has led his party to growth at every single election on both sides of the border with barely a single exception and has topped the poll in every election he has stood in himself. He has also taken the nationalist/republican people with him in support of the peace process and today is the leader of Ireland’s largest party, leader of the party on top in the polls in the 26 counties and is himself polling, yet again, as Ireland’s most popular leader.

Yeah, weird that the party aren’t getting rid of him, alright.

(P.S., he was elected president by the party membership each year, not selected. Is that not democratic?)

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:06 PM

The cult of Gerry.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:08 PM

Eoghain spare us the crap . He s been living off the back of the troubles for the last 30 odd yrs . If he ever gets into government he will be as disposable as any other politician that has come and gone in this country . He will be judge on real politics where the responsibility of his decisions will lay at his door not Westminster . If Sinn Fein ever gets into government in this country Addams will gone in four yrs . This is the real .

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan

Real deal

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:39 PM

Obviously touch a nerve there . No I’m not a member of the British army . Think we where talking about politics here did you run out of idea .

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:44 PM

Just look at the economic/population statistics for gerrys old constituency. The place is in a heap. Sinn fein have nurtured a welfare class. Their policies are the stuff of fairytales. It’s a supreme irony that he calls out our current jokers on making unrealistic promises before elections. They are doing exactly that now. Fantasy land from the louth td who can’t even pronounce louth properly. He gives 2 shytes about louth or its people. Maybe if he’s lucky someone will drop a credible economic policy through that magic letterbox of his. The people of this country deserve a better government but not those stuck in some warped leftie shadow dance.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:47 PM

Tir Eoghan gael – the only think Gerry has expertise in is kneecapping and denials and lies. If he ever became Taoiseach (which wont happen, SF got 15.5% last May remember? it was the same election FF and FG got 25 and 24% respectively?), we’d probably see Garda Gerry mcCabes killers nominated as senators to the Seanad. Thankfully its about as likely as Paul McShane winning the Ballon d’or next year

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:56 PM

Luther, nobody would dare challenge Gerry democratically.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim

@ Gael

Why do you constantly be an apologist for IRA violence on here, you are no better than them ISIS supporters that are starting to show up. Terrorism is wrong mate whether it’s Irish or Islamic.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:13 PM

You are right Antrim. Terrorism is wrong and that includes british state terrorism and loyalist terrorism as well as republican terrorism. Would you agree?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:41 PM

Good man Pepper, you remembered to mention one of the only two victims that matter south of the border. Though if you genuinely gave a rats ass about Garda McCabe, you’d know his name was spelt “Jerry”, not “Gerry”. Never ceases to amaze me how in a conflict with over 3,000 deaths, that Jerry McCabe & Jean McConville seem to be the only two victims that matter to the average free stater. I wonder could you name two victims of loyalism or the british army or the RUC without resorting to google, Pepper?

Alas, you are probably right about the next election. SF will one day be the largest party. They are experiencing a growth that puts the others to shame, but this will be an election too soon. The sad thing about that is, that in a show of gross stupidity that many won’t even have the shame/brains to be embarrassed about, the free state electorate will in all likelihood elect for themselves a coalition of FF & FG. And in doing so, will deserve every bit of misery that these two parties will heap upon them as they always have done since partition.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:43 PM

Eoghain don’t try and twist my words as I said no such thing . Wether I serve in the past with many other Irish men like 100s of thousands of other Irish men before them is no concern of yours . As a Irish citizen that has a vote I believe I do have a opinion on Irish politics .

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:53 PM

Yes terrorism is wrong, im not the one being an apologist for it. You mention loyalists and the British being terrorists, you must see the IRA as the same the ruairi?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:54 PM

I’m not twisting your words. You claimed (with your dodgy spelling aside) that internment helped bring some degree of peace. Your exact words were:

“Internment save life’s . Internment was brought in because people where been murder on the streets in large numbers . The security forces where losing control of the streets to terrorists . It was a desperate attempt to stop people from been kill and it work to a degree.”
    http://www.thejournal.ie/northern-refugees-ireland-state-papers-1820942-Dec2014/

How can you claim that internment saved lives when it in fact was the spark which set off the bloodiest year of the entire conflict? If not total ignorance, then how else do you explain such a bizzare claim?

And that you were a member of the british army is of concern to me. How anyone who calls themselves Irish could join such a repugnant organisation which, aside from it’s crimes in Ireland for which it has yet to be held to account for, has been complicit in the slaughter of millions in Afghanistan and Iraq, I find deeply disgusting.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:14 PM

What about war crimes Antrim how do you feel about them seen as the country you aline yourself to should be dragged before the icc to face charges on mass murder covert operations and covering up atrocities against the people of ireland!

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:02 PM

Were republicans guilty of war crimes?

After all they were the only ones supposedly waging war, the army were trying to stabilise the country.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:22 PM

All hail our great and glorious leader. He will bring great prosperity upon us. Some say he has the power to control the weather.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Jan 13th 2015, 8:51 PM

No your mistaken him for enda

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:36 PM

A Green Dictatorship?

Mute Kevin Slater
    Favourite Kevin Slater
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:24 PM

Perhaps but SF are unelectable because of their past

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:35 PM

Unelectable? They are the largest party in Ireland (32 counties), teetering on the edge of becoming the largest in the six counties (the nationalist people of the six counties tend to remember who stood by them in the darkest days), and are leading the polls in the 26 counties.

Not bad for a seemingly “unelectable” party.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:37 PM

Its not the past that hampers them, it is the leadership of the party in the south that even northern parties acknowledge this.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:43 PM

If topping the polls for the past few months, and having the party leader polling as Ireland’s most popular, and having an ever increasing Dáil team with every election is how they perform when they are being “hindered”, well…

Mute Will Derbylight
    Favourite Will Derbylight
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:46 PM

Tir – why do shiners like you and weird completely ignore SF/IRA’s violent past. Just as if it never happened.

If there ever was an elephant in the room – this is it. And it makes a lot of uncomfortable. McGuiness was forced to admit IRA membership.

His mate, Jarry, hasn’t yet. If he does – will it really make any difference to you chaps?

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:49 PM

How about you do some real with in that Sinn Fein office Tir and get off the journal for an hour. You and Kerry are line broken records.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:54 PM

Will, speaking of “ignoring” facts, the IRA disbanded in summer 2005. That’s almost ten years ago. So your reference to “SF/IRA” tell it’s own tale. Ask Jeffrey (or is even he too progressive a mind for you?), http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/dups-jeffrey-donaldson-i-accept-the-ira-has-stood-down-28741424.html

And I am more than familiar with Sinn Féin’s past. Which is why I’ll continue to support them. SF stood by the nationalist people of the six counties when the others stood idly by and turned their backs.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:07 PM

It is not numbers it is quality that matters, SF in the Dial are a bunch of cowboys…..

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D

Northern Ireland?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:19 PM

Aren’t the cowboys the ones in government who have forced people to leave Ireland in their highest numbers since the Famine?

And again, for a party which only three Dáil terms ago had just one single solitary TD, to now have 14 (and counting) and to be toppinig the polls over the last few months…not bad for a party of “cowboys” which is being so badly “hampered” by it’s leadership!

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:00 PM

SF are electable because everyone realises they want a 32 county socialist republic.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:07 PM

Not bad at all, but I have my doubts on them getting into government for quite some time and certainly not with Gerry.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:19 PM

Well the party membership seems more than content with the rapidity of SF’s continuing rise under his leadership, so I can’t imagine Aadms being pushed any time soon. And when he does retire, you can be sure it won’t be as a result of any Sindo/RTE campaign.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H

So Will you have a problem with violence in the past when it comes to sf , what about the history of ff fg lab? I take it you have a problem with the violent history of those parties too right? I mean violence is violence no matter what banner its under right? A murder is still a murder whether it was in the 1920′s or the 1970′s right?

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:46 PM

Will. I think most people are more concerned with the present state of the country than whether or not GA was or was not a member of any organisation. That is most people but obviously excludes you, a few others on here and enda kenny.

Mute Becky Eaton
    Favourite Becky Eaton
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:24 PM

Hi Tir I agree with all you have said well worded well said and good on you I wish I could come across as well as you do but I agree with all you have said.

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:55 PM

I’d say Mary Lou will heave Gerry into retirement as soon as she gets a real chance. Why would she wants an outdated and ageing albatross cluttering her nechklace?

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:28 PM

And today, I hear that Ireland’s economic recovery is unprecedented in Europe and our recovery is exceptioal.

Ger baby, do you just want that we now hand it over to you so you can run a (guaranteed) muck?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:46 PM

“I hear that Ireland’s economic recovery is unprecedented in Europe and our recovery is exceptioal.”

Yeah, and all Inda & Joan had to do to achieve this was make life so unbearable for the Irish people that emmigration rose to the highest level since the Famine.

Mute Sean D
    Favourite Sean D
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:24 PM

Emigration has slowed down. Almost a many are coming back too. Remember the vast majority went on short term visas. They have to come back. The are coming back and guess what, unemployment is dropping every single month.
    Without the British grant, Northern Ireland would have the largest deficit in the western world. They have a bloated (30%) public sector to mask as good it’s unemployment rate. Without your enemy British Government, Northern Ireland would be the worst darkest hell hole in the western world. Any educated person can see this.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:12 PM

If you check CSO statistics you will see that there were far greater periods of emigation out of Ireland right up until the 1980′s. At least now our emigrants are better educated and finding decent work abroad that they can afford to come home on holidays.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:31 PM

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/year-ends-with-emigration-from-ireland-highest-since-famine-times-185269862-237556031.html

As of the end of 2012, under this governments watch, emmigration was at it’s highest level since the famine. There was a 33% rise in PERMANENT MIGRATION to Australia and due to the number of young women leaving, the rate of births dropped by about 1,100/year.

But sure aye, as long as they are doing well for themselves in other countries as they leave in droves, that’s the main thing eh. Vote FG to get Ireland working (abroad)!

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:26 PM

Gerry: “This is a government which is on its last legs”

Is that because you kneecapped them, Gerry?

BADUM TISSH

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt

I wonder what type of vest is it, that Gerry is wearing under his shirt

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:19 PM

Cotton?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:31 PM

Marks & Spencer I expect…….

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:43 PM

Another week of questions about Gerry Adams undergarments. Now that one is a bit weird.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:20 PM

Nice photo from the Dail bar of the lovers at the top of the SF pile.

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:49 PM

It’s not the Dàil bar brains … In fact SF have called for that little club to be shut and wouldn’t be seen in it !

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:03 PM

Back in the day, they were most effective in taking a bar permanently out of action, including its customers.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:48 PM

If memory serves, John, attacking bars was more of a UVF/UDA thing…

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 14th 2015, 12:02 AM

I was probably including restaurants and hotels; general places where people might relax while some IRA hero was outside wiring the place, before running away a safe distance to hit the detonator.
    Brave courageous & honourable warriors they were indeed.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:42 AM

Agree in principle, John – but my point was less about the semantics around the type of establishments affected by terrorism during the Troubles and more about the fact that the IRA were not the only terrorist organisation operating in the North, and while not wanting to deflect from the terrorist activities of the IRA, it’s worth noting that when you look at the fatalities from the Troubles, 35% of those caused by the IRA were uninvolved civilians in comparison to over 51% for the British Army and an astounding 85% for Loyalist paramilitaries.

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 3:06 PM

I regard all terrorist murderers as the same – and anything I have to say about the SF-IRA also applies to all other savage murderers. But those other terrorists, active or retired, do not impose their philosophy on this State.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:34 PM

Micheal Martin can F off!

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:20 PM

Did you mean ‘FF’ off? Or did you really mean to use nearly all your vocabulary in one go?

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton

FF promise 3.5 billion in extra spending…Is that the best they could come up with at their think in? Is that even a policy? Sounds a bit wishy washy. Still as economically illiterate as ever. How are FF any different from FG?

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Jan 13th 2015, 1:41 PM

Preparing for government… Brain storming session of which office supplies have the highest resale value, aye boys?

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 3:01 PM

Not the ‘toner’ quiz again! I wonder what toner could be used for in the hands of a semi-retired bomb-maker? Can it be sniffed, or what? Any good for printing money? For slugs (as in snails) in the cabbage-garden?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:26 PM

@ thejournal. Can you explain why my post was removed? I’m genuinely puzzled, as I always check to see if what I’m posting falls foul of your guidelines.

I have a copy of the post here, word for word, and I cannot see which comment policy I breached.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:38 PM

Your ID might have been mistaken by the Journal server as a spambot.

Can’t think why.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot

It’s like Section 31 all over again : (

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:44 PM

@ johngahan:

“Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.”

Abraham Lincoln

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:50 PM

Do you still get your commission for promoting SF if your post was deleted?

Hate to see you out of pocket after a hard morning’s work at your kepboard for the cause.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:05 PM

You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time – Abraham Lincoln

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:20 PM

‘Fool me once, shame on, shame on you. Fool me……you can’t get fooled again.” (Supreme Court?)

Dubya

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:08 PM

Maybe they think you’re a shinnerbot, which you are not.

Are you?

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:17 PM

David, I can neither confirm nor deny that fact.

Mute Gravel Pitt
    Favourite Gravel Pitt

Put simply – SF/IRA’s violent past will derail their political aspirations for generations to come.

The partnership is/was deep seated and ‘disbandment’ is pure rubbish/folly. But a necessary ploy to get credibility.

Sad that it didn’t work…

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:12 PM

Again, as even Jeffrey Donaldson of all people has conceded, the IRA don’t exist any more. Sad to see just how deeply rooted in the past some folk still are.

Mute Gravel Pitt
    Favourite Gravel Pitt
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:20 PM

Tir – you can’t fool everyone. Look as Sean D’s recent post which clearly sets out the position relating to SF/IRA and Adams.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:20 PM

I must have missed that post. Can you quote the part where he outlined the evidence against Adams to support the accusations for me please?

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:51 PM

sinn fein haters still living in the past bringing up IRA violence, its 2015 FFS get with the times free staters

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jan 13th 2015, 6:05 PM

Yeah, what relevance is it if somebody who is up for election is a murderer?

Why on earth would anybody want to know that?

It’s in the past, leave it.

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:22 PM

Or a bomb-maker, or a gun-runner, or even a supporter of sex abuse?

Mute R Neuville
    Favourite R Neuville

Political Parties are just Private Clubs that Max Your Tax just like Landlords Max Your Rent and Banks Max Your Debt. “Bring Your Brains to the Polling Booths” Voters will win the next Election NOT Political Parties!

Mute John M. Doohan
    Favourite John M. Doohan
    Jan 13th 2015, 6:10 PM

What will be dangerous if FG get in again..that is something one would hate to imagine..and worse if FF join up with them.
    That will be a tragedy for the people of ireland..
    More importantly is begining talks of a united ireland..the current government has done nothing to try and get the 6 counties back..if anybody on here doesnt want them back then they SHOULD NOT be on here

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:49 PM

We cannot finance and feed all the people of our 26 counties!

Who wants the burden of 6 counties cossetted and fattened by HM Government for decades?

If the 6 counties had any sense they would stay with the U.K. and forget the old fairy-tales of Old Ireland!

As well as that, neither God nor the Devil could satisfy all of that Northern Crowd!

A better idea might be re-unite the whole 32 with dear, old Mother England who looked after our tired and hungry and workless hordes for centuries – whether we were a colony or a ‘republic’ ??

And, John M Doohan, democracy may be a newconcept for SF-IRA , but do not attempt to force your opinions on tthose who don’t agree with your simplistic little vision of real Irish ‘unity.’ That day has long gone, or has it?

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:47 PM

It’s like a merry go round.

Same old faces, same old policies, same old kite flying, same old everything.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:24 PM

Don’t know why Michael Martin is bothering,wasting his time and the party’s money

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 13th 2015, 2:54 PM

I left two comments here and they are gone

Mute John O'Shaughnessy
    Jan 15th 2015, 3:09 PM

Repeat them, please.

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:48 PM

So it look a like it is shaping up to be another week pretty well just like all the rest.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:56 PM

Throw free housing, tax cuts and free medical cards at them…and if that doesn’t wash,a new road sure.. They ll love that..

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 13th 2015, 4:05 PM

Neither deserve it, both yes men once they get into power.
    Vote independent, but watch out for the new independents ex FF/LAB/FG.

Mute Stiofán Na Mara
    Favourite Stiofán Na Mara
    Jan 13th 2015, 5:30 PM

Any chance of an all Independents government please? ;)

Mute Michael Connick
    Favourite Michael Connick
    Jan 13th 2015, 3:34 PM

how does one prepare for government?

Jan 14th 2015, 12:26 AM

Mouthwash and nappy wipes?

Jan 14th 2015, 12:24 AM

Micheál Martin look unwell in that photo but Gerry Adams looks genuine. I know that if F.F. gets in then it will be more of the same…

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Jan 13th 2015, 6:09 PM

Is he threatening to knee cap them?

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird

All hail lord Gerry