You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Gerry Adams is off to New York to see the Clintons tomorrow - but he's flying economy class

Mary Lou McDonald caused controversy when it emerged she flew business class to Australia last month.

Updated 8pm

SINN FÉIN PRESIDENT Gerry Adams is flying to New York tomorrow at the invitation of Bill and Hillary Clinton – but in contrast to his deputy leader, Mary Lou McDonald, he will be flying economy class.

McDonald was criticised earlier this month after it emerged that she flew business class on a recent party visit to Australia at a cost of around €4,000.

She insisted at the time that the flights were paid for by party funds and that no taxpayers’ money was involved. McDonald said that flying business class was “extremely helpful just given the scale of the tour itself”.

Sinn Féin, which has been a vocal critic of austerity in recent years, received €720,000 in State funding last year and its TDs make much of their claim to only take home the average industrial wage with the rest of their €87,000 annual salaries going into party coffers.

Adams is in New York tomorrow, Tuesday and Wednesday attending the annual meeting of the Clinton Global Initiative – a humanitarian organisation established by former US president Bill Clinton after he left office.

Sinn Féin said he was invited by the Clintons and that he will fly out tomorrow – in economy class – before returning on Wednesday.

Adams is due to attend the National Ploughing Championships in Co Laois on Thursday.

First published 8am

Read: Mary Lou hits back at criticism of €4,000 trip Down Under

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

126 Comments
    Mute Gaz
    Favourite Gaz
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:09 AM

That flight to Australia is horrendous I must say in economy class. Kids crying, stranger people falling asleep on your shoulder, shit food, sore neck, numb a55, unable to take a dumb because of the food additives, top off with a nice few days of jet lag. I only done it 12 hrs ago…. grrrrr

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:15 AM

Nothing like lobster and a silver knife and fork at 38000 feet

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:20 AM

You make it sound like the titanic. It’s economy class on a plane. Just back from San Francisco direct – economy and had no one fall asleep on me.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute fergal ohagan
    Favourite fergal ohagan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:11 AM

Yeah he is flying economy but what the article doesn’t tell you is that he bought the seats either side of him so he can stretch out!

Mute Andrew Deegan
    Favourite Andrew Deegan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:27 AM

Hating taking a dumb on a plane. Should always take a dumb before you board otherwise its just dumb

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:30 AM

San Fran an easy flight. Bring a book and a long movie on your tablet and your there!

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:45 AM

Handy thing about a balaclava is you can just pull it down over your eyes a bit and it makes a great eyemask, or roll it up as a small cushion. Great for long distance flights in economy.

It also usually means the seats beside you remain unoccupied and few people tend to fall asleep on your shoulder.

Mute KentuckyWindage
    Favourite KentuckyWindage
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:58 AM

Gerry knows all about ‘stretching’ people ‘out’.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:44 AM

how do you know that?

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:07 AM

At least the taxpayers didn’t pay for Mary Lou’s trip, much ado about nothing !

Mute zozimus
    Favourite zozimus
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:13 AM

If you’re getting on a bit and have spine problems then first class on the way back can save you a few days of soreness afterwards. But economy isn’t a hardship and I applaud his attitude. It’s in stark contrast to some of Enda’s comments on water charges in recent weeks.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:57 AM

@John Gahan. Just snorted out into my Solpadine and water:-)). Good post.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 21st 2014, 1:17 PM

In fairness to Mr Adams as a writer of numerous amount of fine books he can travel what ever way he likes.
    He is not getting any younger and if chooses to travel economy class fair play to him.
    As far as I can make out he seems to live a reasonable frugal lifestyle compared to the champagne socialists who prop up our government.

Mute Truthy Truth
    Favourite Truthy Truth
    Sep 21st 2014, 2:45 PM

john gahan

you need help, you’re getting more and more bitter, let it out.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:41 PM

“If you’re getting on a bit and have spine problems then first class on the way back can save you a few days of soreness afterwards. But economy isn’t a hardship and I applaud his attitude. It’s in stark contrast to some of Enda’s comments on water charges in recent weeks.”

I wonder did Gerry take economy class when he was flying to have his eye operation at a private clinic in the US last year?

Mute deel
    Favourite deel
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:29 PM

Im going in 3 week’s time but stopover at Boston..only way ..

Mute Eileen Roche
    Favourite Eileen Roche
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:58 PM

Mickey Finn , Phill Hogan likes the silver knife, cost the state 10.000 just to go to Spain. Pure propaganda about Mary Lou. As far as state funding goes the journal should have mention FF get double that , FG and Lb get 4 times as much. What does it cost to fly to Australia economy class, you wouldn’t get much change from 3000..

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Sep 22nd 2014, 12:09 AM

Ask Martin McGuinness did he fly business class from Newark to Belfast back in March. He did. Who paid for that?

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Sep 22nd 2014, 8:15 AM

All the red thumbs proves the Shinners don’t like hearing the truth..

Mute Stephen O Flynn
    Favourite Stephen O Flynn
    Sep 22nd 2014, 9:15 AM

Troll

Mute Mick Roach
    Favourite Mick Roach
    Sep 22nd 2014, 9:28 AM

John have you ever worn one? They’re the most uncomfortable thing ever. Very itchy, often must reposition it and you’ll sweat like a Devil whilst wearing it.

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Sep 22nd 2014, 1:40 PM

@stephen. How am I a troll? I was on that flight and I saw him. Wouldn’t be too hard to find out would it?

Mute Kane Abel
    Favourite Kane Abel
    Sep 22nd 2014, 9:59 PM

Gerry will fly economy and have about 16 rabid Shinners to carry onboard the trunks packed with champagne, lobsters, caviar and Wolfe Tones CDs.

Still laughing at Mary Lou’s selfish greed, she probably knew she’d get caught for it but the pathetic little hypocrite could get over her Marie-Antoinette tendencies – Let them eat Caca Milis she roared in defiance!!!!

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Sep 23rd 2014, 2:16 PM

I’ve often wondered about those knives and forks in first class, can’t terrorists afford to travel up the pointy end ?

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:07 AM

How many other TD’s have flown business class? Not a single article mentioned on the Independent. The selective outrage machine is absurd.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:17 AM

Karl Marx was once asked by a journalist while sitting in first class on a train “should you not be sitting with all the working class further down the train” his response was “some day I hope all the working class will be sitting up here in first class with me “

Mute E=MC2
    Favourite E=MC2
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:25 AM

Why was Karl Marks in 1st class?

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:10 AM

Green monkey that was BS then and it’s still BS now!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:47 AM

but until then they can fack aff.

Mute Cóilín O'Toole
    Favourite Cóilín O'Toole
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:57 AM

I all fairness, it was only complete and utter eejits who found the original story ‘controversial’.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Sep 22nd 2014, 7:56 AM

Typical of most ‘socialist’ leaders.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 22nd 2014, 8:57 AM

Because like all socialists he could only afford to be a socialist at the expense of others

Mute Eanna Hardwicke
    Favourite Eanna Hardwicke
    Sep 22nd 2014, 2:08 PM

Surely this is at odds with Sinn fein Palestine policy? To accept an invitation from unwavering Israel supporter- Hillary Clinton..
    But yes the focus should be on flight class.

Mute Cillian32
    Favourite Cillian32
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:09 AM

A article right out of the Sindo book of how to bash SF ….boring useless information …Lazy journalism!

Mute Brian Harrington
    Favourite Brian Harrington
    Sep 22nd 2014, 9:34 AM

Bashing SF. Really? Few things more distasteful that perpetrators whining on about being victims. These blood drenched murderers have bombed and butchered their way into government. Respect? No. Bashing? Yes…

Mute No Mauvaise Foi
    Favourite No Mauvaise Foi
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:43 AM

C’mon Journal, the two flights are not comparable. Gerry’s will be a morning flight arriving in the afternoon. Coming back will be a night flight but he’ll be coming home and prob straight to bed. How old is poor Gerry FFS?

I can’t sleep on planes and if MLMcD is like that she prob would have lost a day in Oz catching up on her sleep, that would have been a bigger waste.

I’m ok if thejournal wants to report on politicians’ travel but be balanced, how’s everyone else travelling?

Mute Banga Ncube
    Favourite Banga Ncube
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:46 AM

Man flies to USA. Alcock and Brown made the first non-stop transatlantic flight in 1909. This was a newsworthy event at the time. How can a man who is merely a passenger on a flight make news 105 years later?

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:29 AM

Banga
    Why are we being told that this Great Leader is flying down the back in cattle class with the people that Sinn don’t usually mix with at thirty five thousand feet?
    Sinn Fein must have been rattled that their “ruling class” we’re caught out by spending some ten thousand Euro to hide up the from of an aircraft in isolation from their “people”
    It’s important to also note that Gerrry is so important that he received a personal invitation from the Clintons to the meeting in San Francisco. What he didn’t tell us is that everyone at that meeting got a signed invitation but Gerry is there because his Party have been described as ” dysfunctional” in their administration of the North and this one more attempt to hold their hands and learn how to become practicing politicians.
    Gerry is aware that the stinging criticism of his Party by the US aides is the end of the road as far as further American ” assistance” in getting them to see sense.
    What a CV to have for a Party that considers it will enter Government in the Republic after the next election!
    What was it again?………..Dysfunctional……and these are the words of people such as Senator Gary Hart and many others.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:45 AM

I was wondering when the spoofer rodgers would raise its tinfoil covered head from under the rock to vent it’s well rehearsed spleen.
    C’mon richie (walter mitty) rodgers,tell us again how we should adore kenny & co and how honest they are.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:01 AM

Mike you don’t seem to like facts. You always attack the messenger who brings you those facts.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:31 AM

Facts? What facts? Rodgers is a bonafide spoofer, though it’s not surprising given he’s a blueshirt lover. Comes with the territory I suppose, to be a fantastical liar.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:10 AM

I hope he gets a free upgrade.

Mute Swanky Joe
    Favourite Swanky Joe
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:40 AM

Free upgrade onto a wing seat without a seat belt

Mute Aidan Mackey
    Favourite Aidan Mackey
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:06 AM

I was on a flight once Shannon to JFK and whilst Gerry Adams was seated in Economy Class same as me but as soon as everyone was seated, he was for some reason asked to go up front by the Air Hostess ………. must happen alot !

Mute Banga Ncube
    Favourite Banga Ncube
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:57 AM

Aiden, was he asked to keep his hands where everybody could see them?

Mute Truthy Truth
    Favourite Truthy Truth
    Sep 21st 2014, 2:51 PM

always be nice to the air hostesses, they are good people and if you are sick will sometines bring you up to business class.

Mute Declan Beach
    Favourite Declan Beach
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:26 AM

I think the journal should have written about fina fail wanting to buy a new private jet for them selfs rather than gerry adams flying economy.
    And our government does not need a private jet before any one out there says they do. they can do what the rest of us do and a lot of government’s world wide are doing. take a comercial flight.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:58 AM

Why would Fianna Fail need a private jet?

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:16 AM

I want a private jet.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:25 AM

Typical BS on this site…why are you lying you spoof, Fianna Fáil are not trying to buy a private jet..how stupid are you???

Mute Cóilín O'Toole
    Favourite Cóilín O'Toole
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:15 AM

In 2003 Fianna Fail said their brand new 8-seater Lear Jet was a “symbol of a changing Ireland. It’s time to step out and not have Ireland chickening out and being afraid to show itself off.”

Classy!

Mute zozimus
    Favourite zozimus
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:17 AM

Most countries have an air transport solution – if it increases efficiencies and gets politicians back home faster then I’m fine with it.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:41 AM

There’s a classic,talkingcrap/stinktoner calling someone a spoofer…..
    This fool wouldn’t know the truth if it got up and bit it.
    Fair play spoofer for giving us a laugh you muppet.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:50 AM

Ah mikey, tell me where I am spoofing…provide facts and figures and examples please? Or can you? I don’t think you can Mikey…prove me wrong kid…

Mute Charlie Sutcliffe
    Favourite Charlie Sutcliffe
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:29 PM

Idiotic comment. You do know Fianna Fáil are not in government

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:50 PM

Talking Sense the Government Jet is lying in a US Air Force Base in Texas at the moment awaiting to be serviced, our Government are wanting to purchase a new one ….. Watch this space!

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:57 PM

Are Fianna Fáil in government? Wats your point kid???

Mute Flash Gordon
    Favourite Flash Gordon
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:32 AM

Ah Jarry de Martyr – look at me I’m flying economy class !! At least McGuinness had the balls to admit he was in the IRA unlike Jarry !!!!!

Mute cormac flynn
    Favourite cormac flynn
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:43 AM

Personally I was always baffled by that denial. In recent years I’ve come to the conclusion that if there was any proof he would have been arrested, charged and jailed. How could one of the most intensely watched person on this island been in the ira and avoided detection.
    He certainly was a senior republican, no doubt, but where is the proof, other than hear say, pub talk and the accounts of dead ppl from the other side of the republican divide.
    Anyway my point it he very well may have been in constant negations with the IRA but never have been an active member.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:07 AM

Whether Gerry was technically a member of the IRA or not is trivial.

You have to admire his transcendent wisdom at never actually signing the papers or whatever would have been required of him to have been on the official member’s register.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:28 AM

Wonder how many of Labours crew were on that ‘official’ list?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:40 AM

Good man gahan,never miss a dig eh. Kinda like the spineless and ball less worm you are always defending.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:05 AM

You’ve got real problems Mike if my mere stating of a near universally accepted fact is something you regard as a dig.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:24 AM

No gahan,your the one with the problems .
    Just read over some of todays tripe you have posted.

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:38 AM

John
    You will notice the nearly perfect Shinner speak from Clinton as he intellectually responds to your statement of fact. He is probably incandescent with rage but can only resort to vulgarity and nastiness.
    These are the field supporters of Sinn Fein that we would be welcoming into our Houses of democracy if they were to garner any more support.
    Dysfunctional on many levels I would suggest.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:49 AM

Richard I always make allowances for Angry Mike. He types with his fists so it is a miracle he gets anything posted at all.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:53 AM

At least I don’t have to hide & spoof in order to post on a public forum rodgers.
    I’m not the one cowering behind multiple false accounts .
    I’m not the one that spends all day switching from one false account to another rodgers .
    Still though richie(walter mitty)rodgers hope you get wellpaid for working on sunday.
    You need the extra cash to feed your family…. Oh wait !!

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:12 AM

Clinton, pipe down you angry man, you are a lot angrier than before,is that because the corner has been turned, no more spoofing from your corner…good times ahead…

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:23 AM

Ah the anti SF brigade never miss an opportunity. What is it they say about empty vessels?

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:26 AM

As for you stink toner/talkingcrap you are another spoofing cheek of the arse.
    Your another mouthpiece that cowers behind a false name.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:40 AM

Easy Mikey, easy…I reckon that you have been rattled…time to come off this and go out and enjoy the good times kid…oh, and get a job and contribute while you are at it..

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:58 AM

Haha,your some comedian talkingcrap/stinktoner,it would take a lot more that a coward like you or the other muppets to rattle me.
    And I actually quite like & enjoy the job I have.
    Unlike you I have never once had to claim social welfare.
    So what other spoofing are you going to come out with today.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:58 AM

Haha,your some comedian talkingcrap/stinktoner,it would take a lot more that a coward like you or the other muppets to rattle me.
    And I actually quite like & enjoy the job I have.
    Unlike you I have never once had to claim social welfare.
    So what other spoofing are you going to come out with today.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:05 PM

***Boom****spoof alert above****Mikey Clinton Spoofs Again******
    When have I had to claim social welfare Mikey? I never once had the time to claim social welfare, was always working, good times and bad. Don’t spoof mikey, it makes you look weak and pathetic and confirms that you are a spoofer…

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:10 PM

Ps…this stink toner/ ink toner profile is not me by the way…you have been mentioning it all morning…how embarrassing for you mikey…I feel for you…

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:14 PM

Your living up to your name talkingcrap,I can prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that I have never claimed social welfare/dole or whatever .
    Unlike you I don’t cower behind false names you muppet .
    Who’s spoofing now gombeen.
    Now prove me wrong.

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:27 PM

Settle petal…you are grasping at straws now…how embarrassing… Mikey, i must go to the match but I will be back and if you spoof again, I will rat you out, and embarrass the hell out of you, this will continue until you stop lying on the journal…it’s for your own good mikey, you have a problem with the truth..

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:47 PM

McGuinness had immunity under the Bloody Sunday inquiry to say he was a member- Gerry would have to serve two years in prison if he said he was a member of the IRA- know the law to beat the law-

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Sep 21st 2014, 4:15 PM

Mike

People are laughing ‘AT’ “TalkingSince” . Comedian he’s not .

Mute TalkingSence
    Favourite TalkingSence
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:59 PM

Yeah? Yawn…

Mute Gabbi Johnson
    Favourite Gabbi Johnson
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:35 AM

Day 1035 in ‘the Journals Adams Big Brother House’.

Mute Peadar O Buaigh
    Favourite Peadar O Buaigh
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:57 PM

Get the peasants arguing about a few grand over a f-/(%^# airplane seat whilst the elites steal another few billion. Get over yourselves.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:36 AM

Hopefully Gerry isn’t too nervous at the Ploughing Championships that nothing odd gets trawled up from deep beneath the turf.

Mute E=MC2
    Favourite E=MC2
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:38 AM

Are you insinuating that Gerry has something to do with dozens of ‘disappeared’, people murdered by the IRA on some pretext or other, then buried in shallow graves? Might an arm or a leg be ploughed-up during the Irish ploughing championship?
    Surely not! Gerry and Ian were never responsible directly or indirectly for hundreds or even thousands of murders, on the contrary they ‘saved’ Ireland and were two of life’s gentlemen. (This last line is an extract from Irish school history books as re-written following the appointment of the first SF minister for education in the so-called ‘do a deal with the devil coalition’ government of 2065).

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:42 AM

I wonder if kenny will pay back the monies that was deemed illegally used by their party during the childrens referendum gahan.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:48 AM

Yeah Mike, I really can’t differentiate between referendum funding and shallow grave executions. I mean, they are both the same really aren’t they. Which do you think is worse?

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:34 AM

John
    The graves of the disappeared were not shallow. They were very deep because they were all tortured before being murdered and the physical marks on their skeletal remains ( evidence from the pathology report of the post mortem report on Jean McConville)
    It is clear that this involved in such depravity were completely psychotic and this had to be hidden at all costs.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:27 AM

Didn’t take long for Jean McConvilles name to be dragged up by those who only use hers and Gerry McCabes name to bash Sinn Féin. You care not a jot about either. It seems with your sort that these were the only 2 victims of the war. On away with youse, Enda’s arse needs wiping.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:04 PM

So raising the issue of The Disappeared is off limits for SF/IRA supporters – because people don’t care as much about these people as SF/IRA did.

That’s some irony Roland.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:40 PM

You use her name for political gain Gahan. Desperation on your behalf. Sling your mud, it’s like water off a republicans back.

Mute Cóilín O'Toole
    Favourite Cóilín O'Toole
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:53 PM

What was it that the Fine Gael backbenchers were bellowing across the Dáil at Gerry Adams last year?

“We’ll never forget Jane McConville!”

You couldn’t make it up.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Sep 21st 2014, 2:19 PM

@Roland – Let’s not call them “Republicans” ok? We have a Republic, and these terrorists actively try to subvert it.
    I would spit on them if I ever had the misfortune to meet one. Thankfully I don’t wallow in those circles.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:43 PM

John Gahan the irony is that your party in the government which you defend so robustly have files on thousand of disappeared children over years yet refuse to help family reunite by opening those records.
    If there was half as much cooperation as republicans have the disappeared commission then lots of families would be re united today.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:00 PM

I am a proud Republican & member of Sinn Fein, if you need to spit on me to express yourself then your expression is an act not worthy of expression.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:13 PM

M Bowe are you really saying that the Government caused children to disappear?

While the co-operation of Republicans who have information about Republicans who abducted, executed and buried people is welcome, it is hardly deserving of praise given their own brethren, if not they themselves, committed the heinous cowardly acts in the first place.

Mute Ross Hamilton
    Favourite Ross Hamilton
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:02 AM

Hi Hugh/The Journal,

Just to give you a heads up, I am deleting the journal app. Sick to the teeth of all the Sinn Fein articles, are they shareholders?

Your editor loves highly viewed, highly commented articles, but at what cost?

Has really sucked the life out of the journal for me. You’re article has just pushed me over the edge.

It’ll be the Indo, BBC, Irish times, The Guardian, RTE, Aljazeera & Waterford Whispers, for me from now on.

Any other news apps worth getting?

Kind regards,

Ross

Mute Cillian32
    Favourite Cillian32
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:08 AM

Indo Ross ? … LMAO

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:10 AM

Don’t go yet, there is a Journal Special planned next weekend ‘Fly Fishing with Gerry’ where he takes us on a wonderful trip around his favourite waterways, with his new puppy Tickles and his woolly jumper.

Mute Some Feen
    Favourite Some Feen
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:19 AM

Do yer lives revolve around thejournal.ie or what?

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:33 AM

The indo? Lol ye may as well read the beano!! Has less fiction!!!

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Sep 21st 2014, 2:22 PM

is it too late to say goodbye?

Mute Truthy Truth
    Favourite Truthy Truth
    Sep 21st 2014, 3:09 PM

let it out gahan……….ommmmmmm…….ommmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:49 PM

Martin Mc Guinness is the angler not Gerry. F- on that 1

Mute Big Yellow Crane
    Favourite Big Yellow Crane
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:42 PM

Just a question for the Journal. No agenda really. Did the Sinn Fein press office tell you Gerry was flying economy class in the release or did you ask them? Because economy class is in the headline, the first paragraph and the last but one paragraph of the story and as I’m writing this I can’t even remember the rest of the story except it’s something about the Clintons. I’m sure Gerry’s not flying to the U.S. economy class just so he can issue a press related saying he flew economy class…..is he?

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:26 AM

With my average industrial wage I get taxed. Can anyone tell me does Mary Lou pay the same taxes on her average industrial wag? Or are we being misled

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:22 AM

There is no tax relief on political contributions, so Mary Lou will pay full tax on her TD salary.

What she does with her take home pay after that is her own business.

It is an interesting question though: is the ‘average industrial wage’ they keep in their pocket the true net take home pay after tax on the ‘average industrial wage’, or is it the gross amount, in which case their take home pay far exceeds the ‘average industrial wage’ they tell everyone about?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 21st 2014, 11:54 AM

I would imagine that all politicians pay tax on their gross earnings as well as those of additional declared earnings from speaking at private functions. The question should be how much is actually declared when speaking at overseas functions. It is hardly likely that Adams and Co travel for the fun of it.

Mute E=MC2
    Favourite E=MC2
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:23 PM

Do you honestly expect to ever get a straight answer to that question?

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Sep 21st 2014, 3:15 PM

This is not news…. there are several other national issues/scandals much more deserving of attention. Lazy journalism i guess.

Mute haven80
    Favourite haven80
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:11 AM

Our day is coming

Mute Patrick Collins
    Favourite Patrick Collins
    Sep 21st 2014, 1:17 PM

Hugh,
    Could you have been a real journalist and not a yellow one like your fellow national broadcasters by writing a section on the March that took place in Dublin yesterday,that no-one seems to be talking about on the usual main stream “Meeja” instead of writing this crap??

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:32 AM

Will Adams sing the Sinn Fein song on Palestine to the Vocally pro Zio n ist Clintons

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Sep 21st 2014, 10:14 AM

Wonder if he’s getting any more medical treatment while he is in USA? Health system here not good enough for gerry.

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Sep 21st 2014, 12:42 PM

You need some treatment yourself McBab.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Sep 21st 2014, 2:23 PM

Comment of the week for Roland. Hard to compete with that classic.

Mute Horgay H
    Favourite Horgay H
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:03 AM

A humanitarian organisation established by the Clintons. I guess they do believe in Karma. I don’t think it will matter how many they establish for the pure evil they have caused.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:48 AM

I am no Sinn Fein supporter but does anyone pointing a finger a Adams point the same finger at Clinton. Adams was the leader of the IRA in

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:49 AM

In my opinion. Clinton is responsible for far more deaths though!

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 21st 2014, 8:03 PM

Tiocfaidh Armani.

Mute Adrian McBride
    Favourite Adrian McBride
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:33 AM

He was treated better in Antrim PSNI

Mute Bernard O'Brien
    Favourite Bernard O'Brien
    Sep 21st 2014, 9:33 PM

While he’s there he should ask Bill why he ordered the bombing of a pharmaceutical factory in Sudan responsible for producing life saving medicines for 60% of the population and most of Africa undercutting American pharma by 40%, on dubious intelligence which turned out to be false, because the people of Sudan are convinced that their factory was bombed to divert attention from Clinton’s troubles 6500 miles away in Washington his presidency in jeopardy after Monica revealed all. One person was killed in the bombing but it’s estimated that much more people suffered and lost their lives in the ensuing months and years from lack of medicine than lost their lives in 9/11. The Sudanese refer to it as their ground zero. No apology from Bill or the Americans to date.

Mute T. MacDonnell
    Favourite T. MacDonnell
    Sep 22nd 2014, 12:51 AM

What is Gerry doing down there? I thought he was a proud Ulster Irish man, you never even hear of him in northern news these days

Mute Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Favourite Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Sep 22nd 2014, 9:35 AM

Journal.ie has just hit on an excellent marketing idea – A private jet for Gerry Adams called “Sinn Plane”.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Sep 21st 2014, 4:04 PM

Too late the damage is done. hypocrites..

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Sep 21st 2014, 1:32 PM

and

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Sep 22nd 2014, 7:54 AM

Why ?

Is the fundraising not paying for it like MaryLou?