You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
BRITISH OFFICIALS WERE “apoplectic” about the granting of a US visa waiver to Gerry Adams in 1994 but subsequently accepted it was “beneficial”.
Newly released state papers from the period demonstrate London’s opposition to the proposed US visa to the Sinn Féin president, with an Irish government document indicating that British officials said there would be “hell to pay” if the visa was granted.
Secret government documents are released annually under the 30-year rule and sent to the National Archives, providing journalists and historians with a fresh glimpse into historical events.
This year, even more recent files up to 1998 are also being released to bring the National Archives up to date with material released by the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland.
Two months before Adams’ visit to the US, the British and Irish governments outlined their common approach to the Northern Ireland peace process as part of the Downing Street Declaration.
It was argued that a visit by Adams to the US would allow him convince IRA supporters in the US to support the both governments’ plans and a ceasefire.
The documents show concerns among US officials about allowing Adams enter the US, with a member of the National Security Council saying there was a “strong resistance to him”.
President Bill Clinton intervened to ensure the visa was granted to Adams ahead of a conference in New York but the documents also show significant reluctance on the part of US officials.
The conference at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in February 1994 was organised by a US non-profit organisation and invited representatives from all the main parties in Northern Ireland.
Unionist parties declined to attend but Adams spoke at the conference along with John Hume of the SDLP and John Alderdice of the Alliance Party.
However, a private briefing memo sent by a civil servant to then tánaiste Dick Spring suggested the entire seminar may have been a “subtext” for Adams to apply for a visa.
The granting of the visa also provided Adams with an opportunity to speak to supporters of the republican movement in the US ahead of the first Provisional IRA ceasefire later that year.
In the letter to the Tánaiste, Spring was advised that the Irish government may be criticised by the Fine Gael-led opposition if it favoured granting the visa to Adams and criticised by Irish-Americans if they opposed.
The official position of the Irish government was that it was it was entirely a decision for US authorities to make, whereas the British government was said to be opposing the visa “with vehemence and determination”.
Nancy Soderberg of the US National Security Council was said to have told the Irish Ambassador in Washington that British officials were “apoplectic” about the consideration being given to Adams’ visa.
Concern over the granting of the visa was also evident among US officials however. Specifically, whether Adams would use the trip for fundraising purposes and due to the potential that he may “embarrass” the Clinton administration while in the US.
A record of one conversation between Irish embassy staff in Washington and Soderberg shows that the National Security Council was seeking that Adams would “make a public statement renouncing” violence.
Soderberg told Irish officials that there was ”blood on the floor” within the administration over the White House potentially speaking to Adams and that he must not underestimate the strong resistance to him, given that the IRA was still “blowing up buildings”.
Irish officials were told that there was a “genuine domestic sensitivity here about terrorism” in the context of the 1993 bomb at the World Trade Center and that Adams should appreciate the decision to speak to him was a substantial one.
Individuals involved in the 1993 bomb at the World Trade Centre were connected to Al-Qaeda and there have never been any suggestions that the IRA were linked to it.
The memo instead referenced the bomb as part of wider concerns about the visa.
Various papers show differing opinions on whether the visa should be granted, with the SDLP leadership split on whether it would be a positive move.
Party leader John Hume was in favour of US officials granting the visa waiver to Adams with SDLP deputy leader Seamus Mallon opposed.
Hume argued that the visa would help Adams to sell support of the Downing Street Declaration “to the more hardline elements” in the IRA.
In a meeting with US Vice President Al Gore in Washington, Gore told Hume the US administration had “taken a gamble” in issuing the visa and that Hume’s input was “vital”
Granting of the visa
Adams was granted a waiver on 30 January 1994 but the visa was “strictly limited” in duration and Adams was not permitted to be outside a 25 mile radius of the conference.
In a fax sent by the Irish Ambassador to the US informing the Irish government of the decision, it was recorded that the White House emphasised to the Irish Ambassador that it was a “difficult decision” to grant the visa to Adams not because of “British pressure” but because of “domestic terrorism politics”.
The comunique added that London was informed of the visa decision by way of a phone call to the Prime Minister’s Office.
“They seemed resigned to the decision and, while clearly not welcoming it, hoped it would help the process,” the Ambassador said in the fax.
Further documents show that British opposition to the visa decision remained following the decision.
This includes a letter from Prime Minister John Major to Taoiseach Albert Reynolds a week later in which Major said the US administration “must be regretting their decision to let him in” because Adams did not provide unequivocal support for the Downing Street Declaration in his speeches during the visit.
This anger at Adams’ visit waned over time and by June 1994 British Cabinet Secretary Robin Butler told Irish Ambassador to London Joseph Small that “the granting of the American visa was, with benefit of hindsight, on balance, beneficial.”
“Butler admitted that what hurt the British most in this case was the failure of the American administration to accept the advice of the British Government in the matter,” a report of the meeting states.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
49 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
This association has a vested interest in keeping a monopolisation of the industry due to the massive profits. Just compare their prices internationally ;)
Get your facts right Keith. The new regs are from the eu not the Irish dental association and they are intended to give people some protection from the sort of horrors you see on this article. And by the way, who should bleach teeth, if not qualified dentists like myself? Your monopoly argument is a lazy quasi left wing cheap shot at a profession which has taken a hammering during the recession and has had to accept it. Our patients have suffered even worse privations because of cutbacks. Kindly keep your ill informed rants to yourself.
While I dont agree with all of what Keith says, I disagree with what you say. The dental industry lobbies the EU commission etc to legislate. The reason the dental industry has suffered is because they are still charging celtic tiger prices. Until they cop on they will continue to suffer.
Inaccurate I’m afraid. Dental fees have dropped or remained static for several years. Suspension of prsi and rationalisation of med card schemes have caused a significant drop in revenue for practices while costs have not changed. I’m not asking anyone to feel sorry for dentists, after all most of us still have our jobs but I’m not prepared to allow the profession to become an easy target for criticism. We are not recession proof.
I want to see more dentists that help people keep their teeth through preventative dentistry.
I want to see oral hygiene taught in schools.
I want to see ways in which patients are made aware if and when they actually need dental treatment.
Teeth are very important living physical parts of a persons body.
How do you really know when your tooth needs to be drilled and filled??
Are you supposed to take the dentists word for it??
A separate practitioner should be available to patients, to evaluate their teeth/oral hygiene.
So that they are well informed about the state of their dental health, before they even consider approaching a dentist and his sharp implements.
A separate practitioner?! There is nobody more qualified than a dentist to assess your oral health. You are entitled to go to a few dentists though for more opinions, something which I think is a good idea!
Go on Journal.
Stop skirting around the edges of dental hygiene.
Go on, stick in an article that that reveals the deadly truth about the billions of metal fillings in peoples mouths throughout the world
Yes the ones that contain amalgam/mercury
Mercury, the substance thats listed as a deadly poison.
So poisonous that the the dentists that use them have to dispose of them through special hazardous waste management companies.
Mercury in fillings is in an inactive state. There is not one single solitary piece of evidence linking amalgam fillings to any systemic conditions. Not one.
I have questioned many dentists on these matters.
And they have confirmed to me that.
Most dentists are pro mercury/metal fillings
because a dentist needs a higher level of skill and time to place a white filling thus metal fillings are more profitable for the dentist and their greedy suppliers.
also
Because metal fillings don’t bond to the teeth (as white fillings do)
so a (very unnecessary deep dovetailed crater has to be drilled into the tooth to place the mercury filling
this leads to
loose fillings
unnecessary decay in the teeth
cracks in teeth
premature death of the nerve in the tooth
leading to (avoidable) deeper wider fillings or painful and expensive root canal treatment.
Crowns
Extractions
Bridges
Implants
And guess what?
More profits for the greedy dentists and their suppliers who ill inform their unknowing patients/victims/cash-cows.
I am pro patient choice. Metal fillings are usually less expensive than white fillings. I will give patients the pros and cons of both materials. Ultimately it’s their choice. Personally I much prefer composite fillings. They look better and are a chance to show my skill and get “arty”. If patients choose amalgam, that’s also fine. I’ll carve that to the best of my ability.
Amalgam fillings do not cause unnecessary decay in teeth. You must be referring to secondary decay around a filling. This is caused by plaque bacteria, sugar and time. All dentists will agree, secondary decay is much less around an amalgam filling than a composite filling. Amalgam contains zinc which is highly anti bacterial.
When the metal filling cannot bond directly to the tooth,
a space is left,
a space where decay can thrive.
Over the last 35 years I have seen many teeth that were butchered by greedy dentists.
I have seen…..
The Mercury fillings.
The high speed high temperature drills (that fry the nerve in healthy teeth)
The long waiting lists from quiet dentists, pretending to be busy.
The greedy dentists more interested in the Drill Fill And Bill mantra than their patient’s health.
The numerous dentists drilling perfectly healthy teeth because it was a quiet week.
And I have even seen a “highly regarded” dentist advising a lady to have all her teeth pulled 24 years ago just before 2 of her children graduated
thank god she did not take his advice
and she still has her lovely teeth to this day.
I have seen
The pain.
The trauma.
Lads can ye please reply to a different comment than mine. Jaysus . My original comment wasn’t even funny or insightful but now I have notifications thinking it might be a good reply and it ends up being tinfoil hat people. I’ll be grinding me teeth in me sleep again . Move along to another reply button please . Haha disaster
If you have the ability to place composite fillings with proficiency Paul and as you have said above, you actually prefer to place composite fillings,
Would you not consider practicing as a totally mercury-free dentist?
Advising your patients of how to avoid brutal conventional dentistry?
You only have to run a fork over a mercury filling to know that its not good for the patient.
Mercury is a metal
a highly toxic metal
metal corrodes
metal corrodes faster in a moist environment
metal corrodes even faster in a moist, salty environment
a patient’s mouth is moist and (more often than not) salty.
Mercury is one of the most poisonous substances known to man (hence the term Mercury poisoning).
Why bother putting it in peoples mouths??
If you could make cyanide or plutonium stable would you make fillings out of it because it was cheaper??
Smoking was killing people a long time before it was widely accepted that it was bad for people’s health.
This is also the case with mercury fillings.
The game is up on mercury.
I know you think you have to tow the party line for fear of the ensuing, malpractice lawsuits.
But some brave dentists have told the seedy, corrupt truth about the profession
I’m with them.
I will go mercury free when there is evidence it causes harm. Currently there is none. There is still a place for amalgam in modern dentistry although it is being used less mainly because patients are more image conscious now. You get more mercury from a tin of tuna fish!
High speed drills? Butchery? I think you will find that the high speed was an evolutionary step in dental practice. The high speed can remove caries quicker, and less invasively. This means less time in the chair for the patient and a more comfortable experience.
O.K Paul
Can you explain why dentists are not permitted to dump mercury/amalgam fillings along with standard household waste?
Granted the high speed drill was a big step from a slower hand drill ( and a great was for a dentist to maximise his profit margins)
However the friction and heat that many of us have frequently experienced in the dentists chair due to the high speed drill has damaged and killed manys the healthy tooth.
Low speed/low friction drills available for many years now, that most non mercury dentists use.
(patients should be made aware of this).
A dentist needs to drill out more of the healthy tooth to place a poisonous mercury/metal filling, than when he is placing a composite filling (which bonds directly to the surface of the tooth)
( a fact that can be seen plainly, when white fillings are placed on front teeth)
this is a widely known fact in the dental industry.
Teeth (as are bones) are a living part of a persons body.
Do you explain these facts in detail to all your patients Paul?
What is your opinion on the effect that Metals in the body have on the nervous system.
Do you think that these metals disturb the signals that the body relays through the nervous system Paul?
Seen as metal is a conductor?
High speed gets through enamel. Slow speed does not get through enamel but removes infected dentine which all dentists use. How does a non metal dentist prepare a tooth for a crown? low speed drill? No! that would be hugely uncomfortable. Of course this is explained to patients. The risk of non vitality after procedures is explained. White fillings are a lot more minimal of course, something that i agree with you. Amalgams though do have a greater longevity and survive a lot longer than composite, something that in recession times, is an important consideration for some patients. Dentists have an ethical and moral obligation to explain everything to patients to enable them to make an informed consent regarding their treatment. Are you a dentist?
My dentists (as I always use a couple for a 2nd opinion) use a drill the minimizes heat to a tooth.
The metal fillings last longer but only according to the dentists that use them,
however the teeth that are mutilated to house them do not.
The metal filling lasts virtually forever but the poor tooth does not (mainly due to the larger than adequate crater created to house the metal filling)
Also you did not mention that the patients teeth which chew against the metal filling are softer than the metal filling,
thus the metal filling wears the natural teeth in the patients mouth prematurely and unnecessarily.
The composites are softer and of more similar density to natural teeth
thus cause less wear to the natural teeth in the patients mouth.
I have many composites that have lasted 12 years+ and are still going strong.
Metal seems to be far too rigid, to be cohesive with human teeth.
You can’t be serious when you say that Mercury is cheap in recessionary times.
I have seen to many healthy teeth go down the
Small Mercury Filling
Larger Mercury Filling
Root Canal
Crown
Extraction
Bridge/Implant
Path
A path which costs the patient thousands of Euros.
Without even taking into account the cost of the side effects.
Now you’re just plain wrong. They have similar wear rates and do not damage opposing teeth. How do your mercury free dentists restore a cavity with decay below the gum line? Do you think composite will bond to a tooth in this moist environment? No. It won’t. I recommend you read some evidence based articles and channel your commendable thirst for knowledge into the correct route and not quackery in the form of websites and books from amazon that retail for $1.50.
The majority of cavities are above the gum line.
The entire interior surface of the mouth is moist.
Are you suggesting that a mercury free dentist would leave a cavity beneath the gum line untreated?
or resort to filling it with mercury as you imply?
Quakery?
I’m sorry Paul but the majority of the books and research available on the hazards of mercury and conventional dentistry is produced by dentist themselves.
Reputable,very Brave dentists who were not afraid to rock the boat.
Firstly, please cease from reporting my Facebook account and trying to temporarily disable it. Secondly, these reputable dentists, do they replace their patients’ existing amalgam fillings with white fillings for free? Or do they capitalise on this scare mongering and perhaps charge for replacing them for no reason? The latter, I suspect.
I do not have a Facebook account .
Please explain why you say that?
The non mercury dentists I have used over the years charged for their services and I have gladly paid them in full, as they done their best to avoid invasive brutal conventional treatment.
After a youth of dreading conventional dentistry,
its constant lust for
drilling
billing
filling
the smell of burning tooth enamel
the misinformation
the total lack of information
the chewing on the cotton rolls
the painful jabs
the dentists bad breath
etc
etc
etc
I find a visit to a non mercury/holistic dentist these days is something to look forward to.
Sometimes just for a bit of advice and a clean,scale and polish.
These dentists deserve all the business they can get, especially because they have to be subject to abuse and being labelled “quacks” by the likes of you and your limited perspective.
You say that you that “Dentists have an ethical and moral obligation to explain everything to patients to enable them to make an informed consent regarding their treatment”
Paul
As me being a potential customer of your dental practice,
and I required a filling,
please give me an example of how you would explain to me the difference between a mercury filling and a composite filling so that I may make an informed decision on my treatment.
You might suggest some books that you might recommend to a patient seeking advice on their dental health and how to keep their teeth for a lifetime.
So your treatment plan for a small cavity would be to skip straight to extraction and implant? Stop spamming this comment thread with obvious nonsense. I don’t know why I can’t revisit feeding trolls here…
Just let Darwinism take its course..if people are so stupid as to chemically burn their own mouth then maybe they are too stupid to pass that gene on and the whole world will benefit :)
I use hydrogen peroxide as a mouth wash ( a dash of 6% in half a glass of water). It should be cheap cause it’s only water with an extra oxygen molecule attached (H2O2) but mine cost over 2 euro from a chemist in swords for a tiny bottles. I’ll be buying online next time or making my own.
Activated Charcoal works unbelievably well . The tannines in tea and coffee are attracted naturally to the charcoal , after 4 or 5 applications your teeth are gleaming and it’s safe and dirt cheap , try it you will be surprised!
The groupon and similar discount company deals should be avoided at all costs, unless that is that you want the enamel of your teeth stripped off to nothing. There’s a reason there’s a cost to get this procedure done at a dentist etc…
Sinn Féin says Verona Murphy has until end of the week to resign or face a no confidence motion
Updated
3 mins ago
Evening Wrap
The 5 at 5: Wednesday
6 mins ago
White House
Trump says he will 'look into' Yemen group chat leak but continues to defend security advisor
19 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say