You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This Dublin woman is on a mission to get her adorable nanny to the Toy Show

#GetOliveToTheToyShow

THE TOY SHOW takes place on 27 November and people around the country are already clamoring for tickets.

Applications recently opened and let’s just say people really, really want tickets.

One woman who wants to go? Sarah Morgan.

The Dublin woman has launched a Facebook campaign called ‘Get myself & my nanny to the Late Late Toy Show’ in an effort to secure tickets for herself and her 85-year-old grandmother.

PastedImage-84114

Morgan says her grandmother, Olive, is a devoted Late Late Show viewer and an avid Christmas enthusiast.

My nanny, Olive Morgan, is 85 years of age. She has 10 children, 36 grandchildren and 33 great-grandchildren. She is the most Christmassy person I know, and has passed her Christmas craziness on to me!

Morgan says Olive has endured some “health setbacks” this year and “she can’t get around as freely as she once did”.

But that hasn’t hampered her Christmas spirit.

Every year we start buying Xmas gifts for all her family, kids, grand kids, great grand kids even the neighbours kids get presents from Nanny Morgan, she carries the true Christmas spirit through us all and will continue to do so for ever more.

With all that in mind, Sarah is now petitioning RTÉ to give her grandmother a ticket to this year’s Late Late Toy Show and make her dream come true.

One of the main wishes she has is to sit in the audience of the Late Late Toy Show. She loves it and has never missed a show since oul Gaybo himself was the main host. I know the tickets are limited like gold dust, but I would love to tick this off her bucket list before she gets too frail to have the chance.

PastedImage-81772

The Facebook page now has more than 600 likes and continues to grow every day.

PastedImage-34284

And yes, Sarah knows it’s a long shot, but that’s not going to stop them.

I’m going to continue to hope and wish for a miracle that we can — like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory — get that golden ticket for the Toy Show.

Come on, RTÉ. Make it happen.

#GetOliveToTheToyShow

PastedImage-53227

People with tricky Irish names related hard to Catastrophe last night >

Gardaí in Galway took in a lost rabbit, and bought it some salad >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute catkins407
    Favourite catkins407
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:18 AM

Bring all the nannies.One for everyone in the audience!

Mute Michael G
    Favourite Michael G
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:55 AM

So what if she watches it. Some people are waiting years on a list to get on it. It’s not right if she does

Mute Karen Clelun
    Favourite Karen Clelun
    Oct 31st 2015, 1:04 PM

Don’t see any special reason here why should get one !! Plenty of people who’ve suffered loss n tragedy that would love one and won’t get one !

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:33 AM

My two favourite ever RTE moments.
    Posh woman turns her nose up at Toy Show tickets.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ypQyOZq7Eg

Marian Finucane asking a representative from the Hare Krishna community :
    ‘Is Harry not available to speak for himself?’

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Oct 31st 2015, 11:53 AM

I heard one years ago with Finnucane and she was hacking up phlegm all the way through it from all the fags.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:27 AM

Some people have two nannies

Mute Anthony Carroll
    Favourite Anthony Carroll
    Oct 31st 2015, 12:23 PM

Why RTE are not turning the toy show into a commercial event in a venue like the 3 Arena is beyond me! This has a solid foundation to realise huge financial potential and revenue generated could support class A guests in the following year.

Mute Karen Clelun
    Favourite Karen Clelun
    Oct 31st 2015, 1:06 PM

I know what ya mean but at the same time it just wouldn’t be the toy show we all love n know !! Deep down were all happy to sit in and watch it with our goodies in front of the TV ! N look what a bonus to get to the studio but so what if not !! This is defo something that works well in the sitting room !

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Oct 31st 2015, 4:15 PM

The granddaughter is mad to get going too. Hardly to avail of all the free stuff……

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran
    Oct 31st 2015, 12:47 PM

Here we go again , backwoods hick tv

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    Oct 31st 2015, 3:46 PM

Surely if she gets them now it’ll disprove the claim that the tickets are distributed by a draw.

Mute Jennifer Mckeon
    Favourite Jennifer Mckeon
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:01 PM

Some ppl can be so begrudging if she gets tickets fair play she is 85 she doesn’t have many yrs left so y not give her tickets to go with her granddaughter

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:34 AM

I read the headline quickly and thought ‘granny’ started with the letter ‘f’ which made a very amusing headline.

Mute JIMINYJELIKERS
    Favourite JIMINYJELIKERS
    Oct 31st 2015, 4:21 PM

Full of moochers in the audience

Mute JohnAbbs
    Favourite JohnAbbs
    Oct 31st 2015, 10:33 AM

I must remember to “Light My Fire” before the show starts.

Pope Francis’s Rock Album “Wake Up” will also be released on this date.