Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Twisted Pepper via Facebook

Girl, 18, dies after tragic night out at Dublin nightclub

Ana Hick had been on a night out at The Twisted Pepper in central Dublin.

A YOUNG IRISH woman has died after an incident at a central Dublin nightclub.

This happened last night at The Twisted Pepper on Dublin’s Middle Abbey Street.

Gardaí in Mountjoy have said that Ana Hick, who was aged 18, was taken to Mater Hospital at around 3am this morning.

She is believed to have passed away at around 5pm this evening.

On its Facebook page, the nightclub has issued a statement saying that it is “deeply saddened and devastated” by the news, and that it is currently helping the police with their investigation.

twisted pepper The Twisted Pepper The Twisted Pepper

The incident is currently being treated as a sudden death and post-mortem results are pending.

Read: Cork prisoner stabbed to death over a remote control named

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

176 Comments
    Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    May 17th 2015, 8:45 PM

Nobody expects to go on a night out in town and never come home. Terrible for the family. Rest in peace

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 8:48 PM

A parents nightmare,I hope they get through this. RIP young lady.

Mute ryan humpage
    Favourite ryan humpage
    May 17th 2015, 9:16 PM

RIP

Mute Julie Fitzgerald
    Favourite Julie Fitzgerald
    May 17th 2015, 10:27 PM

I’m never going to that club again. I wouldn’t feel safe.

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    May 17th 2015, 10:40 PM

Julie what facts are you basing that statement on? Would ye cop onto yourself

Mute Ingo Weinhold
    Favourite Ingo Weinhold
    May 17th 2015, 11:00 PM

What? Why? what’s the club got to do with it?

Mute STARVIN MARVIN
    Favourite STARVIN MARVIN
    May 17th 2015, 11:37 PM

Get real you stupid person !!!!! Grow up

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 17th 2015, 11:48 PM

It’s a troll account , take no notice

Mute Ben Buggle
    Favourite Ben Buggle
    May 18th 2015, 12:18 AM

I wouldn’t consider myself particularly up to date on the coolest clubs or whatever, but even I know the Twisted Pepper is a dive that turns a very blind eye to patrons taking drugs.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 18th 2015, 12:27 AM

Well they won’t be turning a blind eye after this happening

Mute Labhaoise
    Favourite Labhaoise
    May 18th 2015, 4:35 AM

Scaremongering much?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    May 18th 2015, 7:11 AM

Can you please change the headline. It’s not exactly the night clubs fault she could have taken those pills anywhere.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    May 18th 2015, 7:13 AM

Girl dies from dodgy pills. And maybe tell people what she took so this won’t happen to anyone else?

Mute Allan Williams
    Favourite Allan Williams
    May 18th 2015, 6:03 PM

Did you escape custody Ryan !!

Mute Niall Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dawson
    May 17th 2015, 9:11 PM

If people are going to use ecstasy I cant stress enough to read up on pills in what ever area on pillreports.net – it has the potential to save lives.. Very sad to hear about what happened to this poor girl though…

Mute Michael Duffy
    Favourite Michael Duffy
    May 17th 2015, 9:26 PM

And to buy pill test kits. They are cheap and available online. At least you’ll know what shite is in them if you test them

Mute Shane Lambert
    Favourite Shane Lambert

Excellent advice chief. You can Leo purchase test kits on dancesafe.org and other sites that can help minimise the risk even further.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Jack Dunne
    Favourite Jack Dunne
    May 17th 2015, 9:34 PM

Leo Varadkar?

Mute The Hooded Biscuit
    Favourite The Hooded Biscuit
    May 17th 2015, 9:52 PM

Yeah that’s gonna happen. 12am, dark sweaty club – “Wanna yip?”, “Oh yes but wait hang on til I go online and check, what are they called again?, oh and I have my testing kit too”

Mute Rain-Shower
    Favourite Rain-Shower
    May 17th 2015, 9:59 PM

Or maybe just be happy in your own skin without the aid of psychoactive substances? RIP. A terrible waste of a young life.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:30 PM

Again a ridiculous comment from rainshower, the equivalent of the religious fanatics who say that instead of wearing a condom just don’t have sex at all, then you will be std free, receives so much positive feedback.

I’ll say it again. As long as stupid archaic ridiculous comments like rain showers here are received well by the General public, more needless deaths like this will happen.

Mute Julie Fitzgerald
    Favourite Julie Fitzgerald
    May 17th 2015, 10:36 PM

Over 50,000 people die every year in Ireland from drug related illnesses. It’s a serious public health issue.

Mute Shane Lambert
    Favourite Shane Lambert
    May 17th 2015, 10:44 PM

It’s a given that you would buy them in the club is it? Look mate I’m not saying she should of taken them at all, but if people are going to do them there are ways they can minimise the risk by testing what they buy beforehand if you think that’s shot advice then fair enough but I would have to disagree with you.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 17th 2015, 10:45 PM

Same troll, different day.

Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    May 17th 2015, 10:46 PM

Jesus, a young woman has died and you lot has her down as some druggie already.

Read the story and you will see no mention of drugs at all. For all you know she could be over dehydrated or had a heart defect, at least wait until a cause of death has been found before you condemn her.

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 10:46 PM

Well said rain-shower. Why do people need drugs to have fun?

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:57 PM

Ya Jill, I suppose you never drink? You don’t need it to have fun? I suppose you wouldn’t dream of having a cup of coffee if you were tired.

Some drugs make nights out more fun. To say otherwise is to deny facts and is unhelpful in the debate. If drugs didn’t make nights out more fun than why do almost everybody I know go drinking on a Saturday night?

Mute Ingo Weinhold
    Favourite Ingo Weinhold
    May 17th 2015, 11:03 PM

I call bullshit on that stat unless you are including tobacco & alcohol in your term “drugs”

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 17th 2015, 11:07 PM

There are 30000 total deaths in Ireland annually. The 50000 figure has been repeatedly touted from different accounts as the number of alcohol related deaths. It’s trolling, and not even very imaginative.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    May 17th 2015, 11:12 PM

The hooded biscuit. In the Netherlands I went to raves and there were people employed to check out your pills if you wished. It only took a couple of minutes. Any death from drugs is terrible, surely if people are going to take them let them check them out first.

Mute Michael Duffy
    Favourite Michael Duffy
    May 17th 2015, 11:18 PM

Typical dope comment.

Mute Seosamh Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Seosamh Ó Raghallaigh
    May 17th 2015, 11:30 PM

Really 136 a day? A poor young girl has lost her life and you think it is a good laugh to post stupid comments, such as this and “I’m never going to that club again. I wouldn’t feel safe”, You should be ashamed of yourself.

Mute Eoghan O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eoghan O'Sullivan
    May 17th 2015, 11:33 PM

Jill it helps us put up with people like you.

Mute Maurice Murphy
    Favourite Maurice Murphy
    May 17th 2015, 11:34 PM

So what you’re saying is that approximately 200% of Ireland’s annual deaths are due to drug abuse?

Mute paul compton
    Favourite paul compton
    May 17th 2015, 11:46 PM

That’s nearly 1000 every week. Really ?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    May 17th 2015, 11:59 PM

It’s awful sad. I never took drugs waaaay back in the 80′s. It’s a different time now and no doubt I would be popping pills if I was a teenager now.

God rest her and help her poor family. She is a massive loss to her family and also her friends. I hope they learn to stay away from these pills. They aren’t good.

Mute Pat Conners
    Favourite Pat Conners
    May 17th 2015, 11:59 PM

Feck off u un educated mongo . life choices sometimes go south to the heartbreak of family and friends.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 17th 2015, 8:50 PM

Very sad news. Something has to change and the sooner the better. The war on drugs was lost here in the 70′s, and the sooner that decriminalization and regulation is brought in here the better.

By all reports the filth that this kid took was PPMA, which can kill people due to the dirt it’s cut with rather than the active ingredient. People will always try drugs, and in an environment where clubs are flooded with unregulated crap it is solely the responsibility of the state to act. The drugs genie will never be back in the bottle.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 17th 2015, 8:52 PM

Typo, PMMA – para-Methoxy-N-methylamphetamine

Mute ohaimhirghin
    Favourite ohaimhirghin
    May 17th 2015, 9:12 PM

Yea your right lets encourage drug use. It is the way forward. How about people grow an effin brain and not take this crap in the first place

Mute Tim Bingham
    Favourite Tim Bingham
    May 17th 2015, 9:14 PM

We have to wait for the tox reports we do know that there are a number of tablets now with higher amounts of MDMA. However none of this helps Ana’s family at this very sad time RIP

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 17th 2015, 9:22 PM

Drug use is encouraged every day on Irish TV by alcohol advertisers.

Mute Jay Christo
    Favourite Jay Christo
    May 17th 2015, 9:24 PM

You’re completely wrong about PMMA and PMA. It’s not “the dirt” it’s cut with it’s the drugs themselves. They function as serotonin releasers, re-uptake inhibitors and monoamine oxidase inhibitors. That triple action on serotonin levels in the synapse coupled with the lag time for it to kick in makes it dangerous since people accidentally take too much and the resultant monoamine spike disrupts thermoregulation in the body as well as causing other problems.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    May 17th 2015, 9:30 PM

Decriminalise and regulate?????
    What about massive increase in funding and 1000 extra Garda for a permanent anti drug and customs unit.
    The Oireachtas to grow a pair and have mandatory 30 year sentences for drug dealing………

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    May 17th 2015, 9:31 PM

@ Jay Christo

Good stuff. Came to try and explain just that but you did it better than i ever could.

http://www.pillreports.net

Just stay away from pma.

@ohaimhirghin

It is not about promotion it is about education regarding intoxicants that are readily available across the world.

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    May 17th 2015, 8:59 PM

Contaminated drugs, which is the issue at fault here, is a direct consequence of our failed drug policy. There are reasons we regulate the sale of alcohol, a far more harmful drug than MDMA (active ingredient in uncontaminated ‘ecstasy’), one being so that people don’t end up going blind when they buy a bottle of wine produced in some clandestine factory.

We as a society like to think we are ‘tough on drugs’, but we are actually doing very little to contain the problems surrounding drugs. Our policies are leading to other problems, often much greater problems than the consumption of the drug itself. With ecstasy, it leads to contamination with much more dangerous drugs, sales to minors, all while funding the black market which can use the money for an array of illegal activity. It’s time to grow-up and look at what works.

May she rest in peace and may we do all we can to prevent this happening again.

Mute CíarrCcOoCcKk
    Favourite CíarrCcOoCcKk
    May 17th 2015, 9:05 PM

Agree

Mute R
    Favourite R

I hope this is a wake up call for the government, but you know as well as I do it’s gonna be more of the same ‘lets get tougher on drugs, think of the children’ approach that wins elections.

I’m standing at a bus stop looking at an ad for vodka. If i walked into a shop and bought that and drank it, I’d probably drop dead. What makes one substance ok and another not?

For some reason the Irish people, litterally a nation of borderline alcoholics and binge drinkers, likes to have some enemy to make our huge drinking problem acceptable, is this case, it’s the ‘drugs’.

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland

We suggest you tweet the new minister for drugs @AodhanORiordain to let him know this issue needs to be addressed

Mute R
    Favourite R
    May 17th 2015, 9:17 PM

Should probably clarify I was talking about a 700ml bottle of vodka.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    May 17th 2015, 10:19 PM

R, I also hope it’s a wake up call for any dough brain that ever has or would ever consider taking drugs.

Mute Integra-Ted
    Favourite Integra-Ted

May she Rest in Peace…

Mute Ruth Murphy
    Favourite Ruth Murphy

Drugs are a scourge , god love her and her family hope all young people take note

Mute jaisus
    Favourite jaisus
    May 17th 2015, 9:08 PM

Dangerous drugs are a scourge.

Mute Kevin Hall
    Favourite Kevin Hall
    May 18th 2015, 3:29 AM

Alcohol is a scourge.

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    May 18th 2015, 10:27 AM

Ignorance and ridicules generalisations are a scourge.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 9:00 PM

There are some really insensitive people on this thread, we all did stupid things, we were lucky, no matter what you tell the kids today they will always try it, no matter what we say.
    My post was for the parents, a lot of commenters are parents, and I could not imagine how lost I would be if I got that call.
    A young lady died, a little bit of respect.

Mute Veronika Hladová
    Favourite Veronika Hladová

PMMA has a lot to answer for

Mute Meow
    Favourite Meow
    May 17th 2015, 8:47 PM

You forgot to mention the 3 dodgy ‘ecstasy’ pills she took that night :/

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 8:54 PM

I completely agree Vanessa, everyone has heard stories of people dying from taking pills. I suppose a lot of people have the “It will never happen to me.” Mentality.

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    May 17th 2015, 9:02 PM

I believe you can blame the drug dealers and the people making these PMMA pills. PMMA takes a lot longer to work in your system. Therefore she figured they weren’t working and took more. To come up of three pills in one go is a big hit. Before these PMMA pills arrived 2 or 3 years ago nobody had died in ireland from taking xtc in a long time considering there are thousands of these taken every night of the week.
    That’s why I believe the blame lies with the makers and dealers. If the dealers know they’re a bad batch and continue to sell then they are putting people’s life in danger.
    She made the decision to take them yes but if she got what she asked for it wouldn’t have ended this way. If she was taking 3 as reported it wasn’t her first time so looks like she’d taken xtc before with no issues. Ireland needs to fall in line with other European city’s that offer a drug testing centre in night clubs to see what these are made of

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

You cant gully blame the drug dealers , suggesting otherwise just beings use back to the typical blame anybody but yourself.

While its tragic what happened, fhe family, nightclub and dealers should take responsibility

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

Gully should be fully

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 17th 2015, 9:19 PM

Ronan why should the family take responsibility ?

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    May 17th 2015, 9:22 PM

The family? Really?
    You sir, are an ars#hole.
    How dare you blame a family you know nothing about for the wreckless decisions of a young adult.
    You should be ashamed

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM

Yes, was she brought up and warned about drugs etc..

The chances are last bight wasn’t the first night she took them. If it was then a very unfortunate girl.

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    May 17th 2015, 9:33 PM

She was brought up and warned about drugs by people who probably never had any idea about the world of recreational drugs. Thought by people who are still fighting the war on drugs. Wouldn’t it have been wonderful if she had be educated rather than warned and given the resources to know what was in the tablet.
    MDMA in its purest form is a very safe substance its when its substituted that the issue arrives.

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill

Ronan I agree with you about the dealers not being fully responsible but I absolutely do not think the girls family are remotely responsible. Parents don’t have control over their children. People are warned about the dangers of different things, like drugs, yet they still do them. You are making the assumption that if a person is fully educated about drugs they wont take them.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 17th 2015, 9:34 PM

Ronan , I don’t believe any parent has not spoken to their kids about drugs plus there is a lot of public awareness these days about them . this is not her parents fault .

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    May 17th 2015, 9:37 PM

We don’t raise automatons
    If I thought my kids mindlessly parroted my opinions I would think I failed as a parent
    You in your self assured ivory tower have decided her parents failed her in her life education

You my friend have no idea what they did
    And you really should disappear up your self righteous a#se.

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 17th 2015, 9:38 PM

You know nothing about the world do you Ronan…..

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:05 PM

I would also like to point out that yes PMMA pills are a lot more dangerous and pure MDMA is very safe in its pure form ( why it should be legalized)

But let’s keep things in perspective here. It’s still very very unlikely to die from taking them. This is one very very rare case out of the thousands and thousands that are taken everyday. Let’s not let the anti drug people highjack this poor girls death to spread misinformation and outright lies like they have in the past.

Mute Owen Daly
    Favourite Owen Daly
    May 18th 2015, 12:31 AM

Hold on there a minute folks and stop jumping to conclusions. Nobody knows how this poor girl died. Why have we all decided that she has died from taking ecstasy? How about we all just wait and see what the postmortem results say. It could be anything.

Mute Lepree Khan
    Favourite Lepree Khan
    May 18th 2015, 4:33 AM

Sweet God!!! Dr Marie Cassidy had better watch her job because evidently the cause of death can now be carried out by heresay, innuendo and speculation on The Journal!!!! Unbelievable.

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 18th 2015, 7:29 AM

Death is easy,living is a bit harder skippy!

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    May 18th 2015, 7:57 AM

As if the drug dealers care whether they have a bogey batch or not,they just want to get money!I wouldn’t blame the club either,the girl wud have taken them regardless of the venue!although it is a very tragic incident

Mute PAUL NICHOLSON
    Favourite PAUL NICHOLSON
    May 17th 2015, 9:20 PM

Please please all teenagers don’t take drugs you don’t need them to have a great night out with friends.

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    May 17th 2015, 9:32 PM

Yes that will work because teenagers are rational people and know their parents are always right

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 17th 2015, 9:46 PM

When ever I take drugs I always have a way better night that I have when I don’t take them so that kind of throws that theory out the window……

How can your opinion be taken seriously if you have never taken yokes.

Mute bo jangles
    Favourite bo jangles
    May 17th 2015, 10:17 PM

And I bet you just look lovely sitting in the corner chewing the face off yourself lol

Mute jaisus
    Favourite jaisus
    May 17th 2015, 10:33 PM

Don’t take too much and you won’t be sitting in the corner. They’re not called chats for nothing..

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 17th 2015, 11:22 PM

That’s the day after bo

Mute Antrim/Kurdistan
    Favourite Antrim/Kurdistan
    May 17th 2015, 9:09 PM

All drug dealers need their hands smashed to a pulp

Mute Padraig Piarais Mac AnTsaoir
    Favourite Padraig Piarais Mac AnTsaoir
    May 17th 2015, 9:17 PM

Pharmacists? Shops that sell Tobacco? Off licences? Oh, they’re legal drugs, so that’s fine. Carry on.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:26 PM

Padraig it’s sad to see your post has so many red thumbs. As long as this is the general attitude of the public needless deaths like this will continue .

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately

How can you possibly buy and swallow some tablets that you’ve no idea what they are? They can be anything and you’re buying from anonymous person you will never see again. People are so naive… Poor girl paid highest price, most people are lucky to get away, till the time comes. Think twice.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 17th 2015, 9:57 PM

Because it’s a basic part of being human to get off your head by any means available. Every toddler I have ever known has spun round until they get dizzy and fall over. Then they get up and do it again.

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 18th 2015, 7:18 AM

Why don’t you spin around and get dizzy on the edge of a cliff!

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 17th 2015, 9:20 PM

The twisted pepper is a brilliant place for a night out and I have had a lot of great nights out there. Everyone get off their heads and it’s a really friendly environment.

But a lot of people do go over board and there is a lot very young people who aren’t experienced enough in life to know their limits or to know how to stay safe.

Prohibition is the problem here, many people like my self will take drugs when they are young, but grow out of it with no I’ll effects. People who don’t(grow out of it) need to be supported but pushing drug use into the underground leads to situations like this.

My heart goes out to the family and friends of this girl and I don’t think she was to blame for this tragedy.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    May 17th 2015, 9:04 PM

I saw a girl die in the Temple Theatre. Will never forget it. R.I.P to the young girl.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 8:57 PM

Back when I was younger xtc was a great drug with so many helpful benefits for those who are shy and introverted. Even after the drug has worn off you were left with a glow and social situations were easily handled.
    Today they sell you muck which will kill you.

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 9:01 PM

A shy persons answer to social situations should not be drugs. That’s a bit messed up to be honest.

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    May 17th 2015, 9:03 PM

Glen, serial commentator, serial cock…

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Maybe you should do some research
    Before MDMA was made illegal it was prescribed for people with awkward social phobias.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

“A shy persons answer to social situations should not be drugs. That’s a bit messed up to be honest.”

Tell that to every young man who needs some dutch courage to talk to a girl in the local.

Mute Niall Dawson
    Favourite Niall Dawson

Unfortunetly thats what peer pressure does…

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray

That makes you part of the problem Glen. The ‘muck’ would not be available if they weren’t a ready market for it.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 9:15 PM

John
    It’s 15 years since I took it so how am I part of the current problem.

Mute Jane Ryan
    Favourite Jane Ryan
    May 17th 2015, 9:21 PM

Are you talkin bout them white doves glen and places like the assylum on sackvile place or sides or the olympia

Mute Padraig Piarais Mac AnTsaoir
    Favourite Padraig Piarais Mac AnTsaoir

John, the ‘demand’ for drugs has been there since the dawn of time, and like it or not it always will be. Of all the approaches we could take, head in the sand is probably the worst, and it leads to tragic events like this.

Mute John Murray
    Favourite John Murray

Put simply, if the generation that originally enjoyed using E had of turned their backs on it there would not be an increased market now. Everything has a root cause. Many criminals got wealthy on the back of Ectasy and that money started the tide. Did you ever think where the proceeds of your happy pills went?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 9:25 PM

Glen, sorry mate, ecstasy was never good, and now it’s even worse. These kids could be taking rat poison for all we know. My dad always had a rule, you take a drug you’re out of the house and out of the family. Bejaysus that scared us and to this day neither me or my siblings ever took one.
    I made the same rule with my kids and they are nearly all adults now, and I gave them a lot of rope, but they never ever took pills, snorted or injected.
    Maybe I’ve been lucky, but kids need to be warned of the scourge out there, there are ruthless demonic people out there just to make a quick€20, and we should be warning our kids

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Jane
    Doves were a particular fave of mine. Sh!t I would drop one now to be perfectly honest with you.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 9:29 PM

Jenni
    You claim that xtc was never good !
    Have you ever taken proper xtc?

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    May 17th 2015, 9:37 PM

And what the demonic bar owner? Does he get your €20?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 9:43 PM

Glen, to be honest with you the answer is no. And I never had any interest. And I’m grateful I never had any interest ( or I was scared to) because in the hands of the wrong person it just causes devastation.
    I went to the funeral of a girl I went to school with, 2years ago, she died from heroin, it was like a whole school reunion again, so many of us had decided not to take drugs.
    And we all asked the same question, how did this one girl get lost in the drugs world?
    We need to bring back the education on this, we need to be warning our kids.
    Glen, you may be a user, but luck only goes so far my friend

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 9:47 PM

Jenni
    I haven’t taken xtc since the late 90′s but back then they weren’t putting shite in the tablets like they are today. There is no comparison.

Mute Bunny
    Favourite Bunny

Actually Glen I think it was invented as a weight loss pill in the 60′s.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni

Exactly Glen. And that’s my point.
    These days life is so different, there are people that want drugs regulated, and I can see an argument in favour of that.
    But in the meantime, our kids should be warned of the dangers. They should be warned against the €20 fix, my gosh it’s not rocket science.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 10:07 PM

@ bunny
    1912 to be precise.

@jenni
    Who is going to warn them? The war on drugs is a farce. MDMA should be legalised to stop drugs gangs from profiting and stop people from dying.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:21 PM

First off glen is right. Mdma was used to treat a number of mental disorders before it was banned and there still is a number of doctors campaigning to have it regulated for the treatment of PTSD etc.
    Jenni, old fashioned attitudes like yours do nothing to combat drugs or help the problem but only make it worse as history has proved. If MDMA was legal as some of us here call for the girl would almost certainly still be alive.
    But your answer is to give a ridiculous rule that your father gave which by the way is totally unenforceable, not a deterrent and will only lead to your children alienating themselves from you if they experimented with drugs (which they probably have but you don’t know because of your archaic views)

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 10:44 PM

Parents Glen, proper parents like you or me. Eventually if there is no market for the stuff they move on.
    Look really, I didn’t want to get into a big drugs debate, I just wanted to put my opinion out there.
    The sad thing is I was at a 25 year olds funeral this week, and that was sad. He died from an epileptic fit, something we don’t normally hear of, so if I could, everyone say a nice wish for the ons they love tonight.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 11:12 PM

Robert, it worked for me and my siblings, and now works for my kids, and the same rule applies to my siblings kids.
    I never said it should be ‘the rule’ but back in the day, the 80s , my dad had that rule and it worked for us.
    If you want to have or have another method of stopping your kids from becoming addicts I commend you, I was only sharing a story from my perspective

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 11:23 PM

And I was saying that your view is archaic almost certainly doesn’t work and only pushes drug users to the streets because they receive no support from their family’s who hold equally misguided views based on no research or fact

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 11:44 PM

Robert, if it worked for me and mine that’s ok by me. Feel free to call it archaic, I don’t mind.
    I also suggested that if parents have another way they could share it.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 11:54 PM

Jenni you are naive to think that all your kids, your brothers and sisters and their kids have not taken drugs because of this stupid rule, and it it a stupid stupid rule that could only come from an ignorant mind not interested in their own research. You do not know if they have experimented because they would not tell you if they did and they loose out on the only people that they should be able to rely on for support.

Mute PatMarie Cahill
    Favourite PatMarie Cahill
    May 17th 2015, 10:42 PM

This should not be open to comments. There is a family grieving tonight.

Mute Rust Cohle
    Favourite Rust Cohle
    May 17th 2015, 9:14 PM

This is indeed a terrible tragedy, but hopefully it can be an opportunity to sit down and have a proper conversation about drug use. Events like these generally cause the reflex “all drugs are terrible” reaction which leads to just more scare mongering and disinformation.
    When will the powers that be take the power out of the hands of the cowards who make these crappy chemicals and sell them as MDMA.
    If these substances were controlled and made correctly than these events would hardly ever occur.
    Regulate and educate. The war on drugs is an astronomical failure.
    My thoughts are with her family and friends. A completely unnecessary death.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 8:51 PM

…… Due to taking bogey xtc

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

Not even ecstasy glen, the recreational drug equivalent of anti-freeze labeled as alcohol. The dealer should be done for manslaughter.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 9:15 PM

Why only manslaughter, were, murder. That’s the only way to get the dealing vermin off the streets.

Mute Sam McAllister
    Favourite Sam McAllister
    May 17th 2015, 9:31 PM

Give it a rest Glen, a girl has lost her life here.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Give what a rest Sam?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    May 17th 2015, 9:54 PM

@ jenni: Usually to get a murder conviction you gave to prove intent. A dealer would probably walk on a murder charge, but would be convicted of manslaughter i.e. causing unintentional death.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 10:01 PM

Ah but does that make it right?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 17th 2015, 10:10 PM

We’re, ah come on, anyone out peddling this stuff knows it’s sh!te, that’s how the drugs world goes around. And why should they care, there’s no sanctions, no punishments. The bleedin heart brigade muster up and inevitably save this dealer from jail.
    The whole thing is a load of b***+**at the moment.
    If you sell a drug or so called drug to anyone it’s attempted manslaughter or murder if they die.
    Now bring in the laws that give people who need these drugs a perfectly legit reason to have them and use them.
    You see I can be reasonable.

Mute Robert Cummins
    Favourite Robert Cummins
    May 17th 2015, 10:10 PM

If it was legal we wouldn’t have this problem and she would still be alive!

Mute Jack O Donovan
    Favourite Jack O Donovan
    May 17th 2015, 10:14 PM

Exactly Robert, clean pills are being copied and sold as the same thing

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 18th 2015, 7:24 AM

I see a lot of reds SKIPPY!

Mute Niall McQuaid
    Favourite Niall McQuaid
    May 17th 2015, 11:51 PM

I would be helpful if the press could give a description of what the pills she took looked like, the shape and colour of them. The Guardian had a report in January about PMMA pills and fatalities as a result of them, they described them as pink or red in colour and were triangle shaped with an S embossed on each side, they were called Superman pills. I would like to print warning posters for Life Festival as I’ll be working there, I hope others will do likewise for Forbidden Fruit, Body & Soul, Longitude and Electric Picnic, and parties and raves nationwide.

Mute Efa   
    Favourite Efa   
    May 18th 2015, 12:23 AM

See my post there a minute ago the link has a photo of them

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 18th 2015, 12:34 AM

Why would you need a picture of them , surely the mindset should be , just don’t pop pills or any other drugs ?

Mute Luke Smyth
    Favourite Luke Smyth
    May 18th 2015, 1:12 AM

Such a classically ignorant retort Suzie. It’s actually sick that people like you snidely take the high ground and say “just don’t do it” when you obviously know that people will do it anyway.

Mute Johnny Joyce
    Favourite Johnny Joyce
    May 20th 2015, 7:58 PM

Cos she is attention seeking Luke…. oh and surprisingly upbeat for someone who doesn’t have any “help”. “You are my sunshine, my darling sunshine, you make me happy when skies are grey”

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 17th 2015, 9:58 PM

Poor girl, really sad news.
    I hope anyone who knows anything about who supplied the drugs she took comes forward and helps the Gardaí, to prevent this happening to anyone else.
    My deepest condolences to her family…nothing can ease such a loss.

Mute David cullinane
    Favourite David cullinane
    May 17th 2015, 8:52 PM

Hopefully, this can stop the “drugs kills” and we can use this tragedy as a benchmark to prevent this from happening again. Rip.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 17th 2015, 9:27 PM

Why are they “helping the police”?
    Ireland = Gardai.

Mute Keith Murphy
    Favourite Keith Murphy

What word do we get when you translate “gardai” into english?

There’s no harm in calling them the police. There is also no harm in calling Enda Kenny the prime minister of Ireland. They are only words; innocent ones at that.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 17th 2015, 9:50 PM

It translates as Guard.
    On this site the way to know something happened in the U.K. is they use ‘the police’ but it was in this case Dublin.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    May 17th 2015, 9:56 PM

Gardai = Guardians.
    Fool.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 17th 2015, 11:00 PM

Keith I have to agree with David on this one .

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty

devastating news. does anyone know the cause?

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 8:51 PM

Apparently she took 3 dodgy ecstasy pills. Such a preventable death, so sad.

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 8:53 PM

I’m not sure what pill but it was definitely drugs.

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner
    May 17th 2015, 8:54 PM

PMMA, very tragic

Mute The Man With No Name
    Favourite The Man With No Name

But the article says it was sudden death? Not OD?

Mute Jill
    Favourite Jill
    May 17th 2015, 9:07 PM

I read somewhere else that there was something wrong with the pills, I don’t think it was an over dose. My thoughts are with her family, may she rest in peace.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Jill
    Here’s what happens
    People don’t get any effect so they take another pill and another pill the PMMA builds up in your system and kills you.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine

She went into cardiac arrest .

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 9:19 PM

She went into cardiac arrest due to the PMMA

Mute ©AROLE
    Favourite ©AROLE

A young girl with her whole life ahead of her died after taking illegal drugs, no matter what drug it was or what was in it,she shouldn’t of being do it in the first place. What’s after happening to this girl is a reason why these drugs are illegal. As blunt as it sounds that’s the bottom line of it.

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    May 17th 2015, 11:30 PM

‘Drugs’ aren’t illegal. The nightclub she was in exists because of the demand for a legal one, and it’s the most harmful drug in our society according to Professor David Nutt’s study published in the lancet journal.

Youngsters are well able to look at these studies, they are well able to hear and see how their friends are alive and well after using MDMA many times. When we say ‘drugs kill’ when they clearly have different levels of danger, that don’t even correspond with their legality, we lose credibility in that argument.

Mute helixjo1
    Favourite helixjo1
    May 18th 2015, 10:41 AM

As blunt as it is ignorant. Prohibition didn’t save this girls life. Time to look at things logically rather than reactionary.

Mute Seán O'Kelly
    Favourite Seán O'Kelly
    May 17th 2015, 11:03 PM

My sister is a friend of this girl. The information written in this piece is wrong. She this incident happened on Friday night and she before 5 today. There should be a campaign urging young people not to take drugs because this is what happened to her.

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    May 17th 2015, 11:46 PM

There is a campaign
    It doesn’t work
    A new approach is needed

Mute Pobo.89
    Favourite Pobo.89
    May 17th 2015, 11:04 PM

It’s not about needing drugs, people drink every weekend, do they all need it? People take drugs for something different. I did them when I was younger and had some great times! Didn’t need them, wanted to try them. It’s awful what happened and sadly this is another story the daily mail are gna have a field day with, using their scare tactics, with misleading information! And people will believe it.

Mute Patrick Poolekniptow
    Favourite Patrick Poolekniptow
    May 17th 2015, 9:54 PM

ecstasy has been killing young since 1990′s bout time it was given mandatory prison sentence caught selling it that might discourage selling it .So many young people and friends of mine died from drug overdoses if its worth anything to all youth please stop using these drugs its not worth so much pain caused to friends and family who are left behind and suffer with their death May this poor girl and all other thousands who died over 40 years RIP God bless them all and I hope they all have peace now

Mute Jack O Donovan
    Favourite Jack O Donovan
    May 17th 2015, 10:12 PM

Contaminants are a bigger issue than overdoses with ecstacy.

Mute The Man With No Name
    Favourite The Man With No Name
    May 17th 2015, 9:02 PM

This sudden death phenomenon is truly terrifying

Mute jaisus
    Favourite jaisus

Suddenly dieing from a pmma overdose. Testing and regulation is the only answer.

Mute Brigid Patricia Johnson
    Favourite Brigid Patricia Johnson
    May 17th 2015, 9:58 PM

Very sad taking the pills is bad but mix that stuff with alcohol deadly lost life how do parents cope with that.

Mute Efa   
    Favourite Efa   
    May 18th 2015, 12:21 AM

IF Ana Hick died due to ingestion of PMMA IF found out after toxicology reports, here are similar stories in Sydney of a 19yr old girl at a festival Nov 2014 and a 26 yr old guy at a festival in Byron bay December 2014.

Delay in PMMA effect Vs E (which I presume they believe they are buying) seems to result in people taking more to get an effect however this is a more toxic substance this then results in overdose/organ failure from what I’ve read. There have been a couple of cases in the media in the UK also.

Http://www.mygc.com.au/news/dr-death-superman-pill-often-mistaken-for-ecstasy-or-mdma/

Terrible tragedy RIP & condolences to the family & friends.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    May 17th 2015, 10:39 PM

“Currently helping the police…”

You mean they are currently helping the Gardaí, right?

Mute Shane Fearon
    Favourite Shane Fearon
    May 18th 2015, 1:24 AM

If only every person who died a sudden death could of had the life skill expertise of most the idiots on here, they could have been saved. Idiots. RIP young lady.

Mute Zoltar
    Favourite Zoltar
    May 18th 2015, 12:10 AM

Another victim of prohibition, RIP

Mute Keith Murphy
    Favourite Keith Murphy
    May 17th 2015, 9:30 PM

This is very sad, my thoughts are with her and her family.

People need to think before they speculate on this. We do not know the cause of her death. We do not know that it was drug related. For all we know the young woman may have been attacked. We do not know.

Regardless to how it happened; its still very sad. I wish the family to have the strength needed to get through this; it will be extremely difficult I would imagine.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 17th 2015, 9:45 PM

Keith , she went into cardiac arrest outside the club and she did take those pills

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    May 17th 2015, 9:50 PM

Attacked??

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 18th 2015, 7:36 AM

Suzie,maybe she died from spinning around a poll!

Mute KevinMunster
    Favourite KevinMunster
    May 18th 2015, 10:03 AM

Dont do drugs kids.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    May 18th 2015, 1:52 AM

While it is very sad news, it’s not like young people are not warned of the dangers……….yet they chose to ignore warnings about alcohol drugs and speeding while driving. It’s a sad day that no matter how many times you tell them they chose to ignore advice. But I think it’s a feeling of entitlement. And until our young learn respect not entitlement, nothing will change. We will only have many more privileged young lives lost. So sad and yet so preventable. R.I.P Ms Hicks

Mute Malachy Rivers
    Favourite Malachy Rivers
    May 17th 2015, 10:36 PM

Bad tastys.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 17th 2015, 10:56 PM

You’re heartless. -.-

Mute Owen Daly
    Favourite Owen Daly
    May 18th 2015, 12:42 AM

Why are we talking about drugs? A young lady has died suddenly outside a nightclub. A tragic incident granted but there is no mention of drugs? If it happened outside the cinema would we be speculating in the same way. Calm down and wait for postmortem results to be released you bunch of lunatics.

Mute Nurse oncall
    Favourite Nurse oncall

Why don’t the media say it was drugs? Surely the truth would highlight the problem thus making people aware or cautious of these drugs. Media in Ireland hide everything