You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Gladiator II will be released in Irish cinemas on 15 November.
A sequel to the original blockbuster was discussed as far back as 2001, and the film was finally announced in 2018, with Mescal being hired in the lead role last year.
The film is set over two decades after the events of the original Gladiator film.
And while director Ridley Scott previously hinted that there would be a role for Russell Crowe in a Gladiator sequel, that has not turned out to be the case.
Last month, Crowe said he was “slightly uncomfortable” with the idea of a Gladiator sequel that didn’t involve him.
“I’m slightly uncomfortable, the fact that they’re making another one, you know?,” Crowe told the podcast ‘Kyle Meredith With…’.
***Spoiler alert for anyone who hasn’t seen the 2000 Gladiator film***
Crowe added: “Because of course, I’m dead, and I have no say in what gets done.
“A couple of things that I’ve heard, I’m like, ‘No, no, no. That’s not in the moral journey of that particular character.’
“But you know, I can’t say anything. That’s not my place. I’m six feet under. So we’ll see what that is like.”
Gladiator II was largely film in Malta last year, with some reshoots in Sussex.
Mescal will play the role of Lucius Verus, the former heir to the Roman Empire who has been “in the wilderness” for the past 15 years in the film’s universe, according to director Ridley Scott.
Speaking to Dave Moore on Today FM yesterday, Mescal said the film “picks the world of the first Gladiator up and plants it 20 years into the future”.
He said it has the “same energy and spirit of the first one” but that his character’s journey through Ancient Rome “couldn’t be more different” to that of Crowe’s character.
“It balances an honouring of the first film but is very much its own beast,” said Mescal.
Mescal once starred in an advert for Denny’s sausages and told Today FM that “going from sausage ads to this wasn’t in the bingo card for me”.
“We’re kind of as a country punching far above our weight in terms of the output and long may it continue,” said Mescal, who added that he is overwhelmed by the support he receives from Irish people.
Mescal, who was a minor and under-21 Gaelic footballer for Kildare, also remarked that his GAA days helped in preparing for the Colosseum.
“I’m well used to throwing myself around on a pitch and that was useful in the Colosseum of Ancient Rome for sure.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
26 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Finnster: could be worse, could be listening to Mary Lou making more unrealistic promises and not delivering. Part of me would love to see that happen just to silence their new followers but I don’t want the country to be ruined.
@Over the top: you mean like we were in 2008 by FF and the greens. Or by the crisis in our health service or by homelessness under FG. The new taoiseach has thrown his party under a bus for personal gain. Great way to start don’t you think?
@Over the top: one of the commitments in the programme is to lower tax for those earning over €100,000…. here we go again, more of the same FFFG shi*e already.
@Over the top: If you are happy with the parties that brought this country to it’s knees you have got your wish. As for the country being ruined, Think F.F./F.G. have a monopoly on that .Add the Greens to the mix.. the perfect storm.
@For Goodness Sake: word has it that Micky is planning on using an open top tractor modified by his construction buddies to parade around Dublin as part of his celebrations on becoming an Taoiseach.
@Over the top: What promise did she make that she didn’t deliver on? You know she’s never been in government. More incredible knee jerk clap trap from the I’m alright Jack brigade.
@For Goodness Sake: error yes it is. How come fffg thought one of the most important things they had to agree on was to lower taxes for anyone earning over 100,000? That was urgent was it? Jesus, if that’s not a sign right there of whats to come I dont know what is.
Christ, “ruined” “on its knees” is Ireland a 3rd world!!?? what a group of moaners. FG brought us out of a pretty miserable recession and last I checked pre covid, Ireland was not a bad place to live, unemployment really low and FDI very high. In fact our economy was so good we could battle through Covid on a lockdown!!
Yes there are improvements to make but you sound like a very entitled group. Comment on the €100k salary. So what, people on the high amounts contribute more to the economy. Stop begrudging and maybe set a goal to be on a high salary instead of resenting people on it.
@Over the top: pre covid, not a bad place to live? ??
Say that to the families in hotel rooms for years, say that to the people waiting years on cataract and hip operations, say that to the elderly person stuck in hospital cos theres no money to fund the carers so they can go home, say that to the people in their 30s still living with parents cos buying a house is impossible. Say that to anyone working their ass off just to make enough to cover the rent You clearly dont give a flying f**k about these people, just like FFFG. Those problems are still there wether u like it or not.
@Over the top: It’s encouraging to see that you are terrified about the rise in support for Sinn Féin and the Left. You should be. When they are in government we will get the real change we need.
@Over the top: the Shinners will revert to what they do best, sit on the sidelines whining and moaning about all and sundry. We’ll have to listen to Mary Lou pontificating for the next five years how things would have been so much better if they had been in charge.
@Over the top: what the carbon emissions. We were meant to have our carbon emissions reduced by 2020, we have not come near that. The biggest cause of that is from over farming, I wonder if the greens will target them, if they are as committed as they say they are. We will be fined over 7 billion , when it comes to 2030. That’s ok once we protect the farmers.
@Kate Mchugh: the first thing wrong is that farming shouldn’t even be included in our CO2 emissions. Most of our agricultural output is exported – it is the recipient market that should be incurring the CO2 ‘debt’. This model is already in use worldwide and widely accpeted, and no-one bats an eyelid: it’s called……..Oil. If hte ‘Irish’ model of CO2-on-farming was applied to the oil producers, we’d have no transport emissions because Saudia Arabia (et al) would be liable for all the CO2 their oil produces.
Except that we don’t.
We as a nation seem quite happy to be the whipping boy for everything, and the Greens are its main proponent. Whehter that’s emission or National Debt – witness their part in the last FF/GP government.
@Yun Wyn: any party to go into government with fine geal and fianna fail has gone in with corrupt incompetent fine geal and fianna fail have sold their soul to one most corrupt political partys in Europe not for the good of irish people but for their own corrupt agenda
@Richard Doherty: they’ve managed to get a huge amount of their manifesto into the program for government. I don’t know why you vote for a particular party but I vote for them to get into power to implement that manifesto.
@Jane: they got alot af agreements the last time in coalition with ff but ff reneged on those agreement, and still the greens stayed in with them and got anilated in the next election. Be wary of ff. Because they will do it again
@Jane: they will build a trainline between nenagh and templemore for a handful of passengers and will double the price of coal and petrol to pay for it. The greens will be the death of rural Ireland.
@Macca Attack: exactly, they can hardly be naive this time around about what government involves or what bigger parties will do to you.
Judging from what is in the program it looks like Eamon Ryan has learned to negotiate
@Jane: wouldn’t be voting for the greens because their policys mean extra taxes for ordinary so its a nightmare to see them in with fine gael and fianna fail
@Richard Doherty: but they haven’t sold their soul. They’ve achieved significant green policy promises.
You can’t have it both ways Richard – you can’t claim they’ve sold their soul and simultaneously say they’ll be the death of rural Ireland.
In order to be the death of rural Ireland they would have to get green policies enacted. Which means they’ve stuck to their policy platform. Which logically means they’ve haven’t sold their soul for power.
In my view rural Ireland will pass a harsh judgement on FF & FG candidates at the next election. The cult that is the Green Party will decimate what we do best in this country
Produce clean, traceable, nutritious and sustainable food. I sincerely hope we don’t roll over and take it
@Seamus Hughes: Ireland has the lowest level of forests in the EU. We also have one of the highest levels of carbon emissions per capita with the biggest factor being animal agriculture with the majority of meat and dairy produced being exported. We import most of our fruit and vegetables. It’s not the Green Party decimating the countryside but the hunger for profit over the environment.
Let’s see if FF councillors Endorse Micheal throwing them under the bus just for personal gain. It will be some craic watching the party trying to get their grassroots members out to knock on doors for the party when there is another election in 12 months. Micheal will have ‘retired’ from politics by then after rightly shafting the members. I suppose it will make a nice change from Fianna Fail shafting the public !!
@Alan McDonagh: Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups. People have short memories Martin was a cabinet member in a government that brought this country to its knees and our grandchildren will be still paying for it long after he and his cronies have sailed off into the sunset. The guy is a power hungry clown who doesn’t want to have a legacy of being the only Fianna Fáil leader not to be Taoiseach.
The entire parliamentary party supports the deal. No one is being thrown under any bus. The vast majority of FF members will support this deal.
There is certainly a concerted Sinn Féin effort to blacken Martin’s name. Do you get emails with specifically what to post, or are you sent a broad outline and allowed to work within that?
Is the “throwing the party under the bus” phrase something you made up or something that was written for you? It’s a catchy one.
@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh: Brian, can you move your chair there it’s on my jacket. Ah ah I mean we don’t know each other. Brian who? We don’t know what your on about. Jesus darky, you’re really scrapping the bottom of the barrel.
I was going to write a comment to offer my opinion about the topic of this article, but I’ve decided not to. It’ll just be a waste of my time. If my opinion doesn’t match theJournal employee’s opinion they’ll delete it within minutes, just like they did with the US police article earlier this evening. It doesn’t matter if the comment is a statement of facts.
I’ve had plenty of people personally attack me on this website and the comments are never removed, but any comment that counters the narrative is quickly removed and the comments section closed so only the “right” comments remain.
I’m not sure if I’ll even bother with theJournal anymore. If I don’t come back, thank you to all the commenters who have debated me in a positive manner. I’ve enjoyed it while it lasted.
@Sylvia O’Regan: Your opinion is only that, an opinion. Plenty of your comments deserved to be deleted, just because you believe you’re debating in a positive manner doesn’t mean what you’re saying is factually correct or indeed right. I’m sure the journal editors will be glad to see you go, less work for them deleting your right wing views.
@Sylvia O’Regan:
The Journal are just protecting their business interests. Don’t let the bullies and thugs win. Remember that most of them don’t have the wit to debate anyone in a positive manner. Temper your comments so that they don’t fall foul of the Journal’s terms of service, and don’t engage with the more obvious trolls. And don’t be afraid to sublty wind some of them up. Their reactions can sometimes be very funny.
@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh: If there are no opposing views, there is no debate. That can’t be good. As you said, temper the comments, don’t be offensive. People have different world views, and we can learn from that.
Being offensive doesn’t seem to be a problem for Johnny 5! I’ve never attacked anyone online. I offer fact based opinions. People don’t have to agree with them, but they aren’t offensive. None of my comments break the rules, unlike Johnny 5 and his band of unfriendly men!
@Sylvia O’Regan: I wasn’t referring to you Sylvia, it was for comments in general. Everyone has a choice of whether to engage with someone or not. Nobody’s opinion is more or less important than anyone elses imo.
Sorry Logan. You’re right. I’m just frustrated by how unfair the enforcement policy is. People like Johnny 5 make personal comments about me and others constantly and their comments are allowed. Which is fine if it weren’t for how often my comments are censored.
@Sylvia O’Regan: You’re grand. Loads of comments on the journal are deleted and not always with good reason either. Plenty of mine go as well. Remember it’s also your choice to let that frustrate you.
@Johnny 5: Of course they will. This is the only chance they have of getting their policies implemented. It would be catastrophic for them if they didn’t take the opportunity. The people who voted for them expect them to implement their policies, and would destroy them at the polls if they didn’t.
@Feardorcha Ó Maolomhnaigh: And words similar to yours were also said to the greens when they went into coalition with FF in 2007. How did that work out for the green party back then? They will be destroyed at the next election without all the SF transfers they got this time around.
Be interesting how they handle the pension age, they wont be able to sneak anything in under our noses, SF will be watching like hawks and scream from the roof tops, if FFFG and Greens think they are going to get an easy few years I think they are very mistaken.
@Conan Campbell: and notice how u didnt say anything about the pension age? Ignore what u want and agree like a puppy, and then blame the Greens. Same old same old.
Both FF and the Green Party ran an election campaign that wanted change. The voting public endorsed this. Now both Mickey and Eamon have reneged on their pre election promise for change and have decided that they want more of the same. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.
@Johnny 5: Change? We never get change. You might change the party or politicians but the policies never change. The government always gets in with the same policies. And if SF were involved they would be the same, just like they are in NI.
@Ulick Stafford: Ah come on Ulick, you try sharing power with the political wing of the old testament and see how you get on. Ps very unusual name, Ulick. Knew a guy years ago called Ulick McGee. Sound lad :0)
Without a radical u-turn on Irish housing policy and an end to the usage of housing as a form of investment vehicle as opposed to primarily a place to live, the younger generations are only going to become more and more steadfast in their opposition to neoliberalism as time goes on and they are trapped paying more and more of their incomes to landlords. The tsunami is coming for both FF and FG if they don’t recognise that the state’s departure from the provision of public housing twenty years ago was one of the greatest political mistakes in Irish history, and not only tweak their course but entirely reverse it. Two entire generations of Irish people are now experiencing hyperinflation in the cost of living due to the cost of rent. If this government survives for five years and does nothing to fix this, there’ll be yet another generation of eligible voters who face the majority of their incomes being used to subsidise the property owning class at the expense of their own quality of life.
We need a return to the Herbert Simms era of large scale, publicly owned, affordably priced rental accommodation. Anything less, and the revolt against the status quo witnessed in the election of February 2020 will become more and more entrenched. Young voters have spent the last ten years being preached to about a “recovery” which has seen the cost of living soar while incomes increase by a pittance in comparison. They are not interested in macroeconomics or statistics and figures, they are interested in real-world policies to reduce the cost of housing across the board. Regardless of what else it achieves, a government which fails to deliver on this point is a government which will fail to get re-elected.
Excellent post, summing up tough challenges facing your generation in current housing mkt, particularly in cities.
It’s ironic that Herbert Simms era dove tailed with earlier halcyon day’s for centre leftists FF in Irish Politics, when it governed as a single party, having free rein to implement on decent social hsing policies right up until 1973. All that, at a time when
Never have I seen someone so desperate to get taoiseach as Martin, Ryan is a psychiatric case, with his save the planet proposals, more taxes for the lower paid, whilst the rich get richer. Clinging to power anyway they can. SF had more voted in on first counts, compared toFG/FF . Come on people, wake up.
More good news today – COVID on the ropes (for now) and a new government in waiting. All very positive apart from those pesky GP abstainers!
Deputy leader Catherine Martin in favour but Francis Duffy abstained….. Not saying anyone should be swayed by their other half but there might be some physical distancing at home tonight.
Does any FF or FG TD know or care what 7% pa carbon reduction, €100 carbon tax and a ban on fracked gas mean?
It would be nice if they could engage one or two brain cells in even a moderate analysis. Carbon reduction is lunacy based on bad science. It is really sad that we are led by lemmings.
It would be nice if they would watch Michael Moore’s ‘planet of the Humans’ before agreeing to this.
That’s finally the end of the Greens, awful shame they never stay true to their Social Policies and end up helping to feed the despair people feel after the cost of their Carbon emissions policies which aren’t weighted for social justice.
Spending on research and development is much better than simply carbon taxing those disproportionately in rural Ireland.
They will never see Government here again after this!
Comments about ff and fg grass roots and historical ideology is total bollox and dead forever. Centre left and centre right is the new norm. One will win One will loose and both will coalesce..
“Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Green Party parliamentary members endorse programme.” They’ve been sitting with their bowls and spoons in their hands for the past weeks. Now they have to sell it to the party drones and persuade them that there will be some gravy for them too.
The greens have to ask themselves is 5 years of half measures and the odd treat really worth it for nearly 10 more years out in the cold? They were destroyed after doing this before and will be again as FF and FG stutter on housing. The membership needs to think very carefully about this decision as does FF and FG rural party members don’t like Green Party policies it’s bad timing during brexit uncertainty.
@Ciaran Burke: what’s there to think about. They’re elected for one reason. To govern. Not to build the party or protect their jobs. To govern. They’re governing. Simple as that. And rightly so.
The social democrats and labour should have had the same attitude.
150 rounds of drinks ordered at the Dáil's bars on the day TDs failed to elect a new Taoiseach
17 mins ago
Dublin
What exactly is 'affordable' housing ... and how much should it cost?
6 hrs ago
Darndale
Discovery of human hand in yard of Dublin primary school not thought to be malicious
Updated
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 152 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 104 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 136 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 77 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 37 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 33 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 43 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 25 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 86 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 68 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 50 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 64 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say