You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Oireachtas TV

TD calls for Government apology to be issued to victims of 1979 Glen of Imaal explosion

The matter was raised this afternoon in the Dáil.

THERE HAVE BEEN calls from the opposition for the Government to apologise to the victims of the 1979 Glen of Imaal Army range explosion, following an extensive investigation by The Journal Investigates.

The issue was raised this afternoon in the Dáil with Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien by People Before Profit TD Gino Kenny, who asked the Government to apologise to the victims of the blast that day, in light of new information that has been revealed about the blast.

O’Brien was filling in for Tánaiste Micheál Martin during Questions on Promised Legislation. 

“Yesterday, TheJournal.ie published a very detailed article on an accident that happened in 1979. And that accident happened in the Glen of Imaal military range,” Kenny said.

“On that day, three children were killed and 10 other children were were really badly injured.

“Now, when the report was published yesterday, new information has come forward in terms of how this actually accident could have been avoided.

“And if you look at the article, this accident could have been easily avoided if precautions had taken place.

The families of the children never got an apology from the State. And considering this new information that has come forward, would this government consider giving the families of those that were affected and killed on the day, a state apology?

O’Brien said in response:

I’m aware of of the historic incidents you referred to and the tragic loss of life. I will raise this matter directly with the Tánaiste and minister for Foreign Affairs and Defence. And we will revert to you. 

The Journal Investigates published the results of an extensive investigation yesterday into the Glen of Immal blast.

Three boys were killed, and 10 other children injured, five critically, when an unexploded Defence Forces anti-tank shell exploded in the area.

The children were part of a group from the St Mary’s Youth Club in Lucan that had travelled to the Glen for the Easter weekend. 

They were hiking in the direction of Luqnaquilla when they entered the lands of a Defence Forces firing range, where one of the group picked up the shell. 

Investigations like this don’t happen without your support… Impactful investigative reporting is powered by people like you.

The investigation revealed that follow up searches discovered 54 other live shells in the area. The Journal also revealed a number of safety issues at the Glen in the months leading up to the explosion.

Read the full investigation here >> 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 27th 2017, 10:39 AM

The plastic bag lads must be in need of some publicity.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Dec 27th 2017, 8:32 PM

@Father Hody Commody: they are about as funny as cancer. How on earth are they even called comedians?

Mute GameOverMan
    Favourite GameOverMan
    Dec 27th 2017, 11:11 PM

@Pepper Brooks: if you cant see the truth and the comedy in the Rubberbandits…then you’re one of the content little spoon-fed gowls propping up the ever-rotting state media service… off with you now… theres a three month old episode of “Misses browns boys” on shortly with your name on it, pepper.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Dec 27th 2017, 10:18 AM

The local postman. Just like Leo’s letter of course he knows..

Mute Kenneth Hayden
    Favourite Kenneth Hayden
    Dec 27th 2017, 10:09 AM

… …… …. ….. . … …

Mute Kenneth Hayden
    Favourite Kenneth Hayden
    Dec 27th 2017, 10:14 AM

Mute Bennie from the jets
    Favourite Bennie from the jets
    Dec 27th 2017, 7:51 PM

If it was adressed langer he would have got it faster

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 28th 2017, 4:27 PM

@Bennie from the jets: Why so ? It wasn t meant to be delivered to your house so why would langer work.

Dec 28th 2017, 9:33 PM

@Kevin Cottor: Isn’t it great for all of us to talk crap when we’re anonymous like plastic head

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 29th 2017, 12:30 PM

@Bennie from the jets: Don t include me in your talking crap jibe there Bennie that s your own predicament .

Dec 29th 2017, 3:31 PM

@Kevin Cottor: defending a guy who pontificates whilst wearing a plastic bag on his head doesn’t say much about you’re opinion on anything

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 29th 2017, 3:57 PM

@Bennie from the jets: Not having the imagination to understand the use of masks in theatre which has been going on since the time of Greek tragedies says lots about your understanding of art. Stick to what you understand whatever that is cheers.

Dec 29th 2017, 7:20 PM

@Kevin Cottor: he talks shite,don’t try to call that art
    He’s an insult to art

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 30th 2017, 12:29 AM

@Bennie from the jets: Ignorance and begrudgery will always be just that no matter how you want to intellectualise it, Bennie. Just because you don t understand something doesn’t t mean it doesn’t exist.

Dec 30th 2017, 10:01 AM

@Kevin Cottor: enough already go away and live in the bubble of half
    baked ideas with your anonymous friend and his peep hole view of the world

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 30th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Bennie from the jets: Give us a shout when you’ve got a bestselling book critically acclaimed by the likes of Kevin Barry and Danny Boyle until then try not to topple from your high horse of begrudgery, its an easy way up but an awful long way to fall. Enjoy the bile.

Dec 30th 2017, 12:09 PM

@Kevin Cottor: enough enough, I’m off to donkey fords for a fish and chip

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Dec 30th 2017, 1:00 PM

@Bennie from the jets: Get yourself a pint of bitter in the horse and hound on the way back. :)

Dec 30th 2017, 8:00 PM

@Kevin Cottor: do land has a nice pint

Mute Humphrey De Fluff
    Favourite Humphrey De Fluff
    Dec 27th 2017, 5:18 PM

I doubt there is move than one Blindboy Boatclub living in Limerick so not really a miracle at all.