You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Roger de Montfort

Ireland is one step closer to lifting the Good Friday alcohol ban

Cabinet approved a number of amendments to a private members bill which would lift the ban.

THE LIFTING OF the alcohol ban on Good Friday got one step closer today, as Cabinet approved amendments to a private members bill that will lift the ban in restaurants, registered clubs and hotels.

Tánaiste and Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald has already said the Government will not oppose the Bill tabled by the Independent Senator Billy Lawless earlier this year.

The Intoxicating Liquor (Amendment) Bill 2017 aims to reverse the obligatory closure of licensed premises every year on Good Friday.

Today’s amendments extend the scope of the Bill, but as it stands the ban on alcohol in pubs on Good Friday still exists.

Originally, the Government had intended to deal with the 90-year old alcohol ban with its own legislation, but it is now happy to allow the private members bill to proceed on, with amendments made to it along the way.

While lifting the ban in pubs is yet to be approved by Cabinet, one government source said today’s amendments “signals the direction and intention” of the government to move towards an overall lifting of the ban in pubs, restaurants, clubs and hotels.

What do you think?

Mini-poll: Should pubs be allowed to open on Good Friday?

Poll Results:

Yes (6948)
No (2608)
I don't know (199)

Read: Closing pubs on Good Friday ‘part of our national identity’, says Fine Gael senator>

Read: ‘We’ve outgrown this dated practice’: Bill tabled to open pubs on Good Friday>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

91 Comments
    Mute ricky bobby
    Favourite ricky bobby
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:43 PM

If people want to drink let them drink, if they dont then they can stay at home!

We need to change the name to great Friday now

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:01 PM

@ricky bobby: won’t someone please think of the off licences! No more panic buying just in case you run out…

Mute ....
    Favourite ....
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:54 PM

No religious at all, but surely people can last the 2 days of the year the pubs (not all) are closed.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:58 PM

@….: That’s not the point at all.

I’m not religious & I also don’t drink – but alcohol is either legal or it’s not, and religion should not be dictating any laws.

Mute Peter Smyth
    Favourite Peter Smyth
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:07 PM

@….: The vast majority of us last far more than two days a year of our own accord. It simply isn’t necessary to have an enforced dry day. It doesn’t curb drinking at all. In fact it encourages it. It’s probably the biggest house party day of the year.

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:11 PM

@….: surely people who wish to observe good Friday can muster up enough willpower without having state enforced prohibition.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:10 PM

@David McDermott: exactly, isn’t willpower the whole point?

Mute Billy Larkin
    Favourite Billy Larkin
    Jun 14th 2017, 12:02 AM

@Conor Hall: Well said Conor Hall.Archaic bollox.We need to separate Church from State once and for all.

Mute smithers
    Favourite smithers
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:42 PM

Has to be the first time I’ve ever seen this poll

Mute Davin Ryan
    Favourite Davin Ryan
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:33 PM

@smithers: Be honest though.. you didn’t expect it in June…

Mute TradingDuck
    Favourite TradingDuck
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:10 PM

I remember living in london one Good friday. Got the flight home for easter that afternoon.

It was beautiful weather. I was living by the river. It was early afternoon as i passed by on the way home. Everyone out eating food and drinking beer in the bars along the riverbank. It looked such a great sight.

And then i landed home 2 hours later with the country shutdown – in equally good weather.

It really hit me that day what a waste of such a lovely free day by our outdated laws.

Who won in ireland that day? Nobody !!

Jun 13th 2017, 9:30 PM

@TradingDuck: waste of such a Iovely day because you couldn’t drink alcohol ?

Mute snac
    Favourite snac
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: Because religion was trying to tell us what to do! Free Will, free choice. No pontificating!

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: You should be allowed drink whenever you want and if that’s in a pub yes hell yeah. Stupid fairy religion crap dictating that we can’t drink on a certain day. Move with the times.

Mute TradingDuck
    Favourite TradingDuck
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:26 PM

@Suzie Sunshine:
    On that day in london i referred to, those pubs would have been closed in ireland.

The pub is a place of social gathering. And yes it sells alcohol – but if you only focus on that then it’s such a shame as thats such a one dimensional view on things.

As i stated, passing by the river with so many people including groups of friends and families gathered together having food accompanied by a beer or wine was such an obvious day of pleasure for so many people. Given the great weather that day it was such a great sight to see.

Why is that a negative thing?

If pubs were closed in london that day most people would have been at home.

As i say, given that i saw such a contrast in the space of 2 hours it really hit me that day as to how such a useless law we have.

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:46 PM

I won, trading duck, its the national house party day of the year and i met my wife at such a party. Sorry you didnt receive any invites. Off licence and supermarkets also win with trolley loads out the door. But alas its no more.

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:00 PM

I work in a bar, is it too much to ask that we get 2 off a year? Religion or not, we deserve that.

Mute ricky bobby
    Favourite ricky bobby
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:06 PM

@Stephen Nix: you do your 39 hours a week like everyone else!!

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:31 PM

@Stephen Nix: if you’re working 363 days a year, you really should take that up with your employer.

Mute Eamon O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eamon O'Sullivan
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:38 PM

@Stephen Nix: excellent idea – every profession should have a couple of government mandated days off per year.
    On “IT Appreciation Day”, nobody shall be allowed use a computer.
    National “love your taxi driver day” means nobody can drive
    Etc

Mute sue
    Favourite sue
    Jun 14th 2017, 7:44 AM

@Stephen Nix: I used to work in the hospitality sector but got out of it as I liked my weekends off. You still had the days off but on different days. There are many professions that can’t close down even one day a year and days off have to be taken on rotation. In any case, just because they may be allowed to open doesn’t mean they have to open

Mute TradingDuck
    Favourite TradingDuck
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:02 PM

Making friday great again.

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:50 PM

Why not?
    Who are we to deprive the spiritually impoverished atheist community the opportunity to find solace in drink?. Let the poor divils spend the afternoon looking down the end of a glass.
    ‘Land ho Columbus’

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:54 PM

Carl Ingalls. Do you believe in the sky fairy?

Mute vectorsector
    Favourite vectorsector
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:57 PM

@Carl Ingalls: spiritually impoverished atheists? What about all the other non-catholic religions that are forced to observe this medieval law? It’s not just about atheists you ignorant phuck.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:03 PM

@Carl Ingalls: awww Carl. Bitter that your imaginary friend has lost its grip on Irish society?

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:05 PM

@vectorsector: as Ricky Jarvis eloquently put it. “We’re very similar, there are about 3000 gods. You don’t believe in 2999 of them. I just believe in one less”

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:15 PM

Remember lads, ye’ll be paying for yissur sins the following morning.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:28 PM

Carl Ingalls. Not when you can go to the early house for the cure.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:37 PM

@Carl Ingalls: boring obvious troll on his 17th account.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:06 PM

@Carl Ingalls: let the bitterness come out. It suits catholicism.

Mute Carl Ingalls
    Favourite Carl Ingalls
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:08 PM

@JJ O Riordan:
    A bitter pun?
    Very good.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Carl Ingalls: makes no difference once I feel sorry before I die

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:17 PM

@Carl Ingalls: so you expect if the law is changed that only atheists will be in the pubs?

Mute sue
    Favourite sue
    Jun 14th 2017, 7:47 AM

@Carl Ingalls: from a religious point of view it would make more sense closing the butchers than the pubs

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 14th 2017, 9:14 AM

@Conor Hall: 17th this year.. although you can see through them very easy.

Mute John Boyle
    Favourite John Boyle
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:46 PM

The off licences will be disappointed!!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:50 PM

@John Boyle: why? Pubs are still closed according to the article

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:30 PM

@lavbeer: jaysus me lamps are going !!!

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:28 PM

For me, if they want to make it a regular day. Do it. I don’t care….But then it can no longer be a day off either. The ‘holiday’ is based off a religious event, like it or not. So if we don’t recognise it as something important anymore, that’s fine.. but then I’m assuming, unless you are religious. You should work good friday too or go to school. It’s just a regular day, Right?
    But That wouldn’t suit the agenda of many. people’s logic is so screwed up in this country.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:32 PM

Chris Kavanagh. Good friday is not a holiday.

@Chris Kavanagh: very good point there . Are people willing to give up their “holiday ” too ??

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh

@ray.farrelly: Nope, you’re right it’s not. Which is why I wrote ‘holiday’…. However.. Schools and many businesses and organization’s recognise it as one and close. But there is no need for them to anymore as many said above’ it is outdated laws’.

So get rid of the law and have a regular school /work day. Right? No problems.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:38 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: I’d gladly work. It’s not my fault schools & workplaces close.

Mute Paul P O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul P O'Sullivan
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:38 PM

@Chris Kavanagh: Chris your point is void and you are proving everyone elses point for them. Good Friday is not a Public Holiday. Some schools and business decide to close but the Government dont recognise it as a hold day apart from the outdated drink law.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:39 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: no, they are no… But will find a way to justify it and make the masses follow them. Twisted logic is a favorite.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:45 PM

@Paul P O’Sullivan: its absolutely not void. Good friday recognised as a holiday by many business, schools and organisations. Like I said above if you read before you txt. Never said its an official holiday.

And its not ‘some’… Most recognise it. I doubt I’m proving everybodys point unless you think I have that kind of influence. We can pretend all that matters is the old drink law, but for a lot who want to argue. It’s really just more about making their mark and completely burying religion.

Dial a drink is handy on good friday. The drinkers find their drink… And the complainers find their reason… Like this one.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:47 PM

@Conor Hall: like I said, I agree. I just think this is one more excuse for a bunch of bitter Irish people to complain about.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:56 PM

Chris Kavanagh. Still does not make it a holiday.

Mute Chris Kavanagh
    Favourite Chris Kavanagh
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:05 PM

@ray.farrelly: we both agree. It’s a regular day.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 14th 2017, 9:17 AM

@Chris Kavanagh: “The ‘holiday’ is based off a religious event”

Yeah, The man the religion is based on, Dying on a different date every year. The miracles keep coming /s

Mute Catherine O'Connor
    Favourite Catherine O'Connor
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:01 PM

There’s an alcohol ban on Good Friday???

Mute dead right
    Favourite dead right
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:45 PM

proper order about time.

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:40 PM

Should we cancel Christmas too. It been a religious feast day

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:00 PM

@Rose: Nobody is cancelling anything….what are you on about!

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:14 PM

@Rose: yeah, feck it, get rid of Xmas and we’ll go back to celebrating Saturnalia instead, just like everyone did until the church decided it was a good time for the main man to celebrate his birthday.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:21 PM

Sure didn’t JC himself climb down from the cross for a sneaky pint. Someone should add that into the bible and it has to be factual then.

Mute Richard o Rourke
    Favourite Richard o Rourke
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:57 PM

We’re living in the dark ages. Someone needs to wake up and make the right decision. How much money is lost on that day? Country needs it.

Jun 13th 2017, 10:22 PM

@Richard o Rourke: we’re icing in the dark ages ? Try shopping on a Sunday in France .. everywhere is closed !

Mute oliverjumelle
    Favourite oliverjumelle
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:16 PM

Jesus christ can we not go 1 day without drink??

Mute Eamon O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eamon O'Sullivan
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:36 PM

@oliverjumelle: I think the plan is to go one day without Jesus Christ

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:36 PM

Oliverjumelle. We can go every day without drink if we choose. That’s the wonderful thing about choice.

Mute Rob Hopkins
    Favourite Rob Hopkins
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:21 PM

Well that’s it folks, we are literally living our own stereotypes. The very fact that opening pubs on Good Friday is even in the news speaks tons towards where our actual priorities are.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:25 PM

@Rob Hopkins:

The reason it is in the news is because the law states that pubs can’t open. It has nothing to do with stereotyping Irish as drinkers.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:08 PM

It was one day where bar staff and those in the alcohol industry got a deserved day off but that’s over now, its those workers I feel sorry for.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:25 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: it’s not as if these staff work the other 363 days of the year though

Mute EvieXVI
    Favourite EvieXVI
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:26 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: poor babies – I’ve worked every Good Friday for the last 15 years, it sucks!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:00 PM

That’s grand so the old GAA and Golf clubs could do with a few euros extra around easter time.

Mute Ian Oh
    Favourite Ian Oh
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:35 PM

Good to see that they’re dealing with the big issues like homelessness, no correlation between house prices and wages, a crumbling health system, a renegade police force, traffic gridlock for commuters, zero hour contracts etc, to name but a few.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:37 PM

From the point of view of religion the closure of pubs is because we are not supposed to drink alcohol, as it is a day of fasting and abstinence. However, because the reality is that many people do drink on Good Friday (possibly more because if pub closures) it’s completely redundant. Also, we are no longer a nation of mostly practicing Catholics so why is the rule being imposed on everyone?

Mute John O'Shea
    Favourite John O'Shea
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:44 PM

Good, I do be parching.

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Jun 14th 2017, 12:16 AM

Its the only bank holiday that bar workers can enjoy, its not like theyll get time and a half for it either. Stock up and get over it for a day!

Mute Keith Fealy
    Favourite Keith Fealy
    Jun 14th 2017, 5:38 AM

It’s not a bank holiday and bar staff are entitled to same amount of time off as everyone else.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Jun 14th 2017, 6:48 AM

I find not being able to by beer if shopping on Sunday morning far more annoying than the good Friday rule

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jun 13th 2017, 8:55 PM

It’s absolutely stupid not including pubs,

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jun 13th 2017, 9:22 PM

@Mick Hannigan: pubs are included the amendment is to include clubs hotels etc

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Jun 14th 2017, 5:50 AM

Cant ppl stay out of the pub,for 2 days in the year?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 14th 2017, 9:20 AM

@billy Dorney: I stay out most days of the year. But it’s my choice. Why do Catholics think they should make rules for everyone else?

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Jun 14th 2017, 7:24 AM

Watch out for the publicans giving out about their staff complaining about having to work on that day as they want more pay!!!

Mute Jonathan Gaffey
    Favourite Jonathan Gaffey
    Jun 14th 2017, 7:05 AM

Hmm so we pick and choose what parts of catholicism we want. Keep Xmas, Easter, church weddings etc, but get rid of good Friday, lent etc. It’s 2 days a year that we can’t take a substance that kills at least 5 Irish people a day, get over it!!.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:03 PM

Good Friday Agreement tag missing. Missed opportunity. :’(

Mute Michael Devlin
    Favourite Michael Devlin
    Jun 14th 2017, 3:33 AM

Believe in what ever invisible man in the sky you like but when it stops me having a pint on a Friday afternoon that’s when I’ve a problem

Mute Des Doyle
    Favourite Des Doyle
    Jun 13th 2017, 11:51 PM

It’s a disgrace *hic*

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Jun 14th 2017, 1:26 AM

Slainte!!!

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Jun 13th 2017, 10:37 PM

As The Good Lord said, “It’s not what you put into your mouth, but rather what comes out of it, that causes sin”. Hallelujah Jeesusss!!!

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Jun 14th 2017, 7:34 AM

Two days of the year and people can’t do without drink.pathetic.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 14th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Red hurley: Most people go a lot more than 2 days, But they also get to choose the days they do drink. It shouldn’t be dictated by silly superstitions.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jun 14th 2017, 2:21 PM

Why not open just open at 9? Jesus would be totally cool with that.