You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Varadkar at launch this afternoon. Leah Farrell

'Action was taken and our fears were conquered': Varadkar inspired by his generation's acid rain and ozone layer threats

New government plans launched today include removing petrol and diesel cars, and doubling the reliance on renewable energy.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR said global efforts to tackle and repair a hole in the ozone layer when he was growing up could be replicated now to tackle climate change. 

Speaking at the launch of the government’s long-term climate action plan at the Technological University in Dublin, he said growing up, acid rain and damage to the ozone were the biggest issues, but that they were successfully remedied by global action. 

“Growing up, for us, the biggest environmental concerns were acid rain and the depletion of the ozone layer,” he said.   

“These were real threats, not scare stories and action was taken, on a global scale, and our fears were conquered.  

For young people growing up today, one of their greatest fears is that the world will be destroyed in a climate apocalypse.

Varadkar and several government ministers attended the launch this afternoon. 

The measures outlined in the action plan follow the recommendations from the citizens’ assembly report which was published last year.

The citizens’ assembly accepted recommendations from members of the public, representative groups and other organisations before delivering its verdict on the measures needed to effect a change in Ireland’s carbon footprint. 

The new measures officially announced today include removing petrol and diesel vehicles from Irish roads over the next 11 years, and also moving toward electric-powered vehicles for public transport.

The government outlined plans to more than double the reliance on renewable energy from 30% to 70% and aims to close coal and peat plants.

In agriculture, it wants to expand forestry planting and introduce targeted changes to land management.

Climate change minister Richard Bruton said the new measures are “sensible and fair’ and “most economic” so as to “create the least burden on our people”.

“Ireland is far off course and we are very exposed as a result of that, we must act now to make ourselves resilient,” he said.

The longer we delay making that change the harder it will be in the long run.

“This effort we are making now is integral to the vision the government has set out in project 2040.

“The government will have central responsibly in creating the roadmap to do that,” he added.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar said: “Our approach is not a coercive one rather it is to nudge citizens and businesses to change their behaviour.”

Rural vs Urban

Asked if the new measures would have a disproportionate impact on rural homes than it would on urban ones, Varadkar said the effect would depend on individual households’ circumstances rather than the location of their home in rural or urban areas. 

“The impact on individuals, on households, is actually going to be different and it’s not a case of urban versus rural.

“If you’re driving a lot it’s going to impact you more than people who aren’t, but there are lots of people who live in rural Ireland who have a shorter commute.

It’s far too simplistic to say rural-urban… so we really should try and get away from that kind of binary simplicity.

On the effect of farming on carbon emissions, Varadkar said he believed consumers were concerned about the sustainability of the products they buy, and so it is in farmers’ interests to move to sustainable farming. 

“A lot of farmers get this already… you have to know your consumer, you have to know your market,” he said. 

Consumers want to know that food they’re buying is being produced sustainably.

Challenging

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan said he welcomed the added attention being given to climate change but said it fell short in some areas. 

“There is still a lack of clarity, ambition, and urgency,” he said. 

Responding to media reports that vehicles could be barred from urban town centres around Ireland, Independent TD Mattie MCGrath said the new measures look like “an absolute nightmare for rural Ireland”. 

“How can any one of us have confidence that these proposals will not hit rural Ireland hardest especially since we are already so badly served with the existing transport network,” he said. 

The Irish Cattle and Sheep Farmers’ Associations said farmers would respond to the “right incentives” but that the measures would be challenging for them. 

“We [...] need to look at policies to ensure that farmers who engage in best practice from an environmental point of view are rewarded,” a statement said. 

“We also need to look again at better policies at both national and EU level on renewable energies.”

Sinn Féin’s climate spokesperson Brian Stanley criticised the plans as falling short of what is needed to instigate a positive change.

“The Government does not have an ambitious enough action plan for renewable energy,” he said.

“It contains no commitment to a large-scale capital plan to develop renewable energy like bio-gas, bio-mass, wind, or solar on the scale which is required.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute kenneth clohessy
    Favourite kenneth clohessy
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:53 PM

wankbag

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:59 PM

@kenneth clohessy:

resorting to childish name calling.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:04 PM

@Just Some Guy: In fairness he doesn’t inspire much else. All spin, all image totally lacking in substance.

Mute Robert Phelan
    Favourite Robert Phelan
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:33 PM

Fg and their action plans god the tripe that comes from them would make ya blue in the face.lets just look at the coal for one moment ffg were banning all Smokey coal by August now it seems the coal companies are lobbing government to change their minds or they’ll sue them what’s going to happen with oil boilers when the oil companies lobby government to not touch their market they’ll sue them also and what’s the bets ffg will buckle to their demands. No Fg is only going to do one thing and that’s tax the crap out of us.i don’t see any incentives for change here farmers will get off lightly even though it’s their spraying and over farming that’s causing most of the damage keep their voting base strong there,why not introduce biodegradable plastic right across the board. ffg will look after big business were guaranteed of that even though it’s their packaging and chemicals that’s destroying the environment.heatpumps work well in small homes but in bigger houses it’s a costly business where’s the incentive to switch from oil to biomass wood pellet boilers and wood pellet stoves there won’t be any because it all effects oil companies and coal companies who’s going to be able to afford new electric cars after we borrow to do the home’s no incentive there only a scrappage deal.hears how they should start ban oil gas after 5 years introduce decent incentives for heat pumps and biomass boilers.ban all plastic and introduce biodegradable plastic across the board do it now get the ball rolling instead of creeping along at a snails pace this should of all been done 15 years ago reward people for recycling not punish them that’s how you’ll get your change.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:36 PM

@Just Some Guy: Agree,but the shine is going from Leo.Spin and denial of the obvious only goes so far.Leo and his gang of FG spinners are finished.Who we get next is any ones guess.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:08 PM

@Robert Phelan: pardon?

Mute Frank Lloyd wright
    Favourite Frank Lloyd wright
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:51 PM

Varadkar is all about the soundbyte.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:01 PM

@Frank Lloyd wright: he’s all about his image, and remember he wasn’t the leader of the party when they formed the last government, always sticks with me that our leader was elected Taoiseach by his party, not us….

Mute Frank Lloyd wright
    Favourite Frank Lloyd wright
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:03 PM

@Devilsavocado: completely agree.

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:44 PM

@Devilsavocado: not his party but tds who were in his gift for a job. Such a pernicous person

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Jun 18th 2019, 2:09 PM

@Miller: t

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:54 PM

How do you make yet another new government tax seem more palatable? Just stick the word *carbon* in front of it and Bobs your uncle. It also has the added bonus of sending Joe Public on a guilt trip while they’re being rodgered sideways. If Carlsberg did money grabs…

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:31 PM

@Milk The Drones: The reality is the following. To recycle plastic at the moment the supplier/producer pays around 10% of the cost of the actual recycling. Your council pays the rest 90%. Surely we should have a choice higher price or pollution.

Mute paul jones
    Favourite paul jones
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:13 PM

Tax, tax, tax on top of tax, double tax, tax plus tax and just for good measure….. you guessed it .. another tax

Jun 17th 2019, 6:56 PM

@paul jones: that’s why I won’t come back

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:58 PM

Translated :

Taxes …..

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:33 PM

@Willy: it’s a choice. The main suppliers of this contibute 10^ to recycling. Should we applaud this. Or have a choice.

Mute Disabled Junkie
    Favourite Disabled Junkie
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:55 PM

Yesterday’s headline was something about FG being down in the poll. Today, Varadkar springs into action making promises and telling everyone what they want to hear. I don’t believe his lies for a second.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:40 PM

@Disabled Junkie: everyone wants tax increases?

Mute Disabled Junkie
    Favourite Disabled Junkie
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:58 PM

@James Wallace: No. I was referring to climate action.

Mute Sean Dempsey
    Favourite Sean Dempsey
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:25 PM

Will this Tax replace the 8 years old temporary Usc tax ?

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:01 PM

Please Mr Varadkar, Your answer to everything is simply more Tax, more money from the people who bailed out everybody who robbed this country.
    You and your government do not represent the mainstream tax payer in this country
    Call an election and go away.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:32 PM

So 10 years ago we had the greens shouting from the roof top that diesel cars are the way forward, They even had 2/3 litre engines taxed lower than older petrol models half the size know their going after people who went out and bought diesel cars.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 18th 2019, 4:45 PM

@Dave Byrne: no they basically caved onto to ff who saw it as a way of propping up a failing moto trade in the recession

Mute ThatLJD
    Favourite ThatLJD
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:54 PM

Renewable energy will certainly be a big factor and with Leo and his pals, we will never be short of plenty of wind and hot air, as they proved today. All strategy and goals but no real firm plan to manage it. Changes to farming will probably come about due to pigs flying and pies in the sky!

Mute Charles McGuire
    Favourite Charles McGuire
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:55 PM

It doesn’t sound like an action plan, it sounds like going with the flow, there is no real creative initiative here. Stopping the burning of coal in a power plant is common sense. Only new electric vehicles to be sold by 2030, I doubt that is the government putting their foot down, car manufacturers are going down this road anyway as a result it is common sense to install more recharge points. it is really uninspiring. They don’t even know if they’ll have a scrappage scheme, they’ll consider it… Great, brilliant sounds like they mean it when they are all about taking action on…

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:47 PM

@Charles McGuire: and they’re planning on building more roads. And chopping down more trees. Environmental plan my arse. Electric cars are not the answer, proper funding for a country wide public transport system that’s cheap and dependable would make more sense. Did they announce a carbon tax for airlines? Or carbon intensive industries?

Mute Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite Jim O Brien - TechBuzz Ireland
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:24 PM

Leo must have an album coming out soon. Leo and the soundbytes, how to tax your way out..

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:53 PM

More diversionary spin to take light of his disgusting treatment of Ruth Morrissey

Mute M Stuart
    Favourite M Stuart
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:35 PM

Yellow Vests required

Mute Jenny Boyle
    Favourite Jenny Boyle
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:38 PM

@M Stuart: There is already a Yellow Vest movement in Ireland, all 10 members have so far been successful at (a) attempting to set fire to a work place with workers inside and (b) blocking the Port Tunnel before heading to the pub, delaying workers from getting home and (c) one of them sat on his motor-cycle helmet outside the Dáil and had a tantrum after none of the lads from the pub showed up for the protest. Basically these bums hate working people.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:29 PM

Jesus it’s only a few years ago people were being offered grants to install/ upgrade your gas boilers & now their telling us they will have to go eventually!

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:24 PM

@Colette Kearns: in fairness the grants were to help move to more efficient boilers which was probably a good idea at the time.

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:19 PM

GET ON YOUR BIKE LEO

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:36 PM

@Thomas Corrigan: Another Taoiseach with no public mandate making a pigs ear out of himself

Mute Ado Smith
    Favourite Ado Smith
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:59 PM

Unfortunately having worked here in a highly dependent carbon fueled based cement plant for over 22 yrs and for the last 7 yrs worked abroad in some of the largest pollutant countries in the world anything we do as a continent let alone a small island in western Europe is totally meaningless unless the main culprits (China, India, US, Russia, Saudi Arabia, UAE etc etc) are forced to do likewise while admirable as it is we as a nation might as well be pissing against the acid rain Leo was so scared of! Scary shit out there folks and the tree huggers campaigning to shut down Moneypoint and it’s equals is sadly a waste of energy, excuse the pun.

Jun 17th 2019, 7:00 PM

@Ado Smith: Leo the treehugger, who would have thought…

Mute Ado Smith
    Favourite Ado Smith
    Jun 17th 2019, 9:10 PM

@M Stuart: need a hug?

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:39 PM

@Ado Smith: that’s a cope out. So we as a small nation should do nothing. I disagree that’s its no point. We have leaf nations before in democracy, Gay right, etc.. we should continue to let our voice be heard. Ado thank you for your comments

Mute Ní Dhuill Patricia
    Favourite Ní Dhuill Patricia
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:49 PM

Get yourself a little electric car Taoiseach and leave the bmws for the Gardaí . Lead by example or do you want to wait till your out of office and deny the incoming leader safety that you have become accustom too .

Mute Derek McDonnell
    Favourite Derek McDonnell
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:43 PM

Nice, looks like the house that myself and my wife went to college, worked all of our lives to get a deposit to buy is now seriously devalued as its stone and cant be retrofitted. Maybe ill quit my job and get a house for free. Seems like u do things right u get punished, do nothing at all u get rewarded and looked after

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:50 PM

Leo’s 50 ways to kill off those who can’t afford a home over their heads now he wants to make sure if you have a home you will freeze to death in it. Naked populist and nasty man just ask Ruth Morrissey

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:30 PM

Joker! Clown ! Do you think we can afford them ? They can’t even pass 400 km. There is no way these cars get recharged in a few minutes. Technology is not ready and only the rich can afford them. It is the BIG EXCUSE to Tax tax tax…

Mute Owen Logos
    Favourite Owen Logos
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:35 PM

The Acid Rain Hysteria turned out to be natural variation and forest diseases, no correlation between forest damage and air pollution could be shown.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 18th 2019, 4:52 PM

@Owen Logos: acid rain destroyed forests in Scandinavia. the cegb at the time basically retrofitted flue gas desulpherisation which solved the problem. it was easy to solve because british power stations had been built with higher and higher chimneys to.prevent localised air pollution. if Leo thinks reversing climate change will be like that heaven help us.

Mute Charles McGuire
    Favourite Charles McGuire
    Jun 17th 2019, 5:58 PM

I’ll mention this aswell, we have the biggest US tech companies here in Ireland, I bet they could come up with some really good solutions to problems to do with climate change, making smarter cities, making traffic control better, but what they have come up with is just crap.

Mute Ann Kearney
    Favourite Ann Kearney
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:24 PM

Ryanair Easyjet

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:47 PM

Another debt our children is burdened with. Tax tax tax . Thats all they know

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:41 PM

Lol.. What a pile of horse manure.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jun 17th 2019, 8:17 PM

I’m honestly starting to dislike Leo the light head. Post the Green’s election success he’s playing the populist card.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Jun 17th 2019, 8:05 PM

“If you’re driving a lot it’s going to impact you”… he’s gonna come with alternatives right? he is, I know he is.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:07 PM

@thesaltyurchin: Leo the liars solution will be to tell people to live closer to work, he doesn’t miss a trick the smarmy fudger

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Jun 17th 2019, 9:00 PM

Never mind the acid rain I think Leo’s on acid

Mute M Stuart
    Favourite M Stuart
    Jun 17th 2019, 6:53 PM

We would be better off tied to the back end of a cow and scuttered to death

Jun 17th 2019, 6:59 PM

@M Stuart: might feel a bit warmer too!

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:21 PM

Know what , I’m delighted.
    You voted for them so suck it up.
    Remember this when you can’t afford to heat your homes or drive a car.
    You put them where they are and inflicted them on the rest of us so stew in it !!.
    And if you didn’t get off your arse to vote then you have no right to complain.

Mute M Stuart
    Favourite M Stuart
    Jun 17th 2019, 7:44 PM

@tommytukamomo: They are not a government with a mandate from the people. Don’t forget they are a minority government voted by at most 20% of the population. The Greens have 2 x TDs in the Dail and 5% of the local council. This has been cooking for a long time and needs to be stopped asap.

Jun 17th 2019, 9:27 PM

Varadkar: blah blah blah, whatever! Nobodys listening.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jun 17th 2019, 10:58 PM

He will do what his boss, Dinny, tells him to do.

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Jun 17th 2019, 8:21 PM

Trolling Leo isnt the thing here fuknuts. Its the simple fact that every one of ye out there has to do something deliberate every day to alleviate the fact were fu%$#d as a species.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jun 18th 2019, 5:44 AM

He’s talking about working towards densely populated cities while their housing policies force us to live further from work and commute more.

Mute Declan Hickey
    Favourite Declan Hickey
    Jun 18th 2019, 2:21 AM

He is gauging where the public stands before an election is called.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Jun 17th 2019, 8:30 PM

So be it

Mute SandraMeyler
    Favourite SandraMeyler
    Jun 18th 2019, 8:09 AM

Will the precious dairy and beef farmers be forced to pay for emissions… doubt so

Mute Brian Flavin
    Favourite Brian Flavin
    Jun 17th 2019, 8:39 PM

Bullshit Leo will vote out

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Jun 18th 2019, 2:52 PM

Bolloxology

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Jun 18th 2019, 5:01 PM

The only thing destroying this country is decisions made by fools like varadkar.