You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

CMO says PCR testing 'no longer needed' for most under 55s and suggests concluding NPHET

Dr Tony Holohan recommended change to the priority for PCR testing.

LAST UPDATE | 18 Feb 2022

TAOISEACH MICHEÁL MARTIN has confirmed that regulations that required people to wear masks on public transport, in schools and in shops are set to be lifted from Monday week, as NPHET’s letter to the Health Minister was published this evening.

In Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan’s latest advice to Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly, it stated that PCR testing will now differentiate between those at high risk of Covid-19 who would benefit from earlier treatment, and other people.

“As such, testing will no longer be needed for clinical or public health purposes for otherwise healthy younger people (<55 years) with symptoms,” it said, adding that the HSE “will support access to antigen testing for those in this group” as part of a transition period.

The letter also said that PCR testing will be recommended to symptomatic people who: have not had a booster dose and are aged 55 years and older; those deemed most at-risk and members of their households; carers; and pregnant women.

Asymptomatic close contacts will not need to restrict their movements, according to this latest advice; but if they develop symptoms, they should still self-isolate.

Dr Holohan also states in his letter that given the stage of the pandemic that we have reached, “it is now deemed timely to conclude the work of the NPHET”.

“My office will continue to closely monitor the epidemiological profile of the disease and I have today sent you a specific proposal on the appropriate structure and processes for this.”

The letter also stressed the need to shift from “emergency-type processes and measures” but also to keep maintaining “high levels of readiness for Covid-19 outbreaks” and new variants, meaning a “significant strengthening of existing disease surveillance systems”.

Cabinet is due to meet on Tuesday to consider NPHET’s latest, and last advice.

Taoiseach: Govt will be accepting NPHET’s advice

Speaking earlier today, the Taoiseach confirmed that the Government would be accepting the advice set out by the National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) on making mask-wearing advisory rather than mandatory.

“We are moving from the emergency phase of the pandemic to a new transitionary phase,” said Martin.

Martin said that NPHET were satisfied with the current trajectory of Covid-19 and that a public-health rationale for the restrictions was no longer there.

He did say, however, that the disease was not gone now that restrictions are being removed, but that the conversion rate from Covid-19 cases to hospitalisations was not significant.

The Journal reported earlier this week that it is expected that face-mask wearing is likely to become optional shortly in areas such as shops and on public transport.

While mask-wearing will no longer be mandatory in retail, education and public transport settings, it will remain mandatory in healthcare settings.

People, where they feel comfortable, will take their own decisions and personal behaviour is going to be very important here.

“People may feel more comfortable wearing masks, but they won’t be mandatory.”

Martin said that he would continue to wear a mask in shops and on public transport.

The Taoiseach also confirmed that NPHET would be wound down, following recommendations by the Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan.

He thanked the team for their work over the pandemic, saying that many had done so voluntarily.

“I want to pay tribute to NPHET and thank all the members of NPHET for the work that they have done,” said Martin.

In particular, he thanked Holohan for his work as CMO during the pandemic in what he said were “very difficult circumstances” over a longer period than most people expected.

“We saw other jurisdictions where public health advice was put to one side, with very negative consequences for the people in such jurisdictions.”

Fundamentally, if you look at the mortality rate of Ireland relative to others, I think Ireland has performed relatively well in relation to Covid-19.

Martin said despite the plans to wind down the team, the Government would continue to require public health advice on Covid-19 and potential future variants.

He also said that as the country moves from the emergency phase, lessons needed to be learned from the pandemic to ensure that the health system is resilient and that there is a strong public health element within the health service.

- Contains reporting by Gráinne Ní Aodha.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Rab C Nesbitt
    Favourite Rab C Nesbitt
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:10 PM

Micheal Martin said he will continue to wear one in shops and on public transport.
    When was the last time he travelled on public transport?

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:34 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: the public are paying for his transport.

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:33 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: oh my, the life of the whingers… Been in charge of running a country, yourself, recently??

Mute JohnDoe
    Favourite JohnDoe
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:19 PM

@Rab C Nesbitt: when an election is happening

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:37 PM

@JohnDoe: February 20th, 2025.

Mute Frankie J
    Favourite Frankie J
    Feb 19th 2022, 6:56 AM

@Rab C Nesbitt: he is the leader of the country how do you expect him to travel? Utter nonsense

Mute TheDublinGirly
    Favourite TheDublinGirly
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:05 PM

But multiple outbreaks causing shutting of offices etc. Why not just keep the masks for another while?

Mute Tom Bombdadil
    Favourite Tom Bombdadil
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:06 PM

@TheDublinGirly:
    Why buy just wear one if you want or not of you don’t.

Mute Anthony Guinnessy
    Favourite Anthony Guinnessy
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:10 PM

@TheDublinGirly: Because they are a curse to wear and try and remember to be putting them on and off going into shops and trying to talk through them when meeting someone. I have my suspicions we’ll see negligible change in case numbers without masks in any case as they do v little for the spread of the virus.

Mute Kevin Hill
    Favourite Kevin Hill
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:16 PM

@TheDublinGirly: They are not banning the wearing of masks- those that are concerned should buy good quality ones that give personal protection.

Mute alan scott
    Favourite alan scott
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:17 PM

@TheDublinGirly: say what your really thinking?

Let’s return to level 5 restrictions and close everywhere.

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:35 PM

@Anthony Guinnessy: honestly, if the bain of your life is managing to put on and take off a mask you should be grateful

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:04 PM

@Ciara McCorley: “you should be grateful”

Grateful to have to wear an ineffective cloth mask?
    What a bleak outlook.

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:28 PM

@Anthony Guinnessy: It’s pretty simple to put on if your going into a shop or using transport. I’m sure it was a lot more inconvenient for healthcare workers who had to wear full PPE for hours on end while also looking after their patients. I wear one while working and have no issues communicating with my clients. After two years it should be second nature.

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:29 PM

@Will: Grateful that you have nothing more important to worry about

Mute Séamus Heffernan
    Favourite Séamus Heffernan
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:57 PM

@Anthony Guinnessy: It’s not that difficult. Grow up. I’ve a class of 9 to 12 year olds who whinge about their masks less than mopes like you.

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:19 PM

@alan scott: what indication was there she was really thinking that?

Mute O'Goire
    Favourite O'Goire
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:29 PM

@Heather Knowles: the only real effective mask to protect one’s self is an n95 mask

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:25 PM

But what about the CoNtRoL oF dE ShEePLe AnD tHe GrEaT rEsEt?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:06 PM

@Lee King Buckett: I haven’t read anyone spouting about the ‘GrEaT rEsEt’ here apart from you (repeatedly). You seem obsessed with this nonsense.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:10 PM

@Lee King Buckett: get over it lad

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:13 PM

@Lee King Buckett: still banging everyone with thoughts that didn’t chime with yours together with lazy stereotypes…says everything about you really!
    Never stop asking questions people.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:33 PM

@Lee King Buckett:

Great Reset already started

https://www.weforum.org/great-reset

There is an urgent need for global stakeholders to cooperate in simultaneously managing the direct consequences of the COVID-19 crisis. To improve the state of the world, the World Economic Forum is starting The Great Reset initiative.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Great_Reset

The Great Reset is the name of the 50th annual meeting of the World Economic Forum (WEF), held in June 2020. It brought together high-profile business and political leaders, convened by Charles, Prince of Wales and the WEF, with the theme of rebuilding society and the economy following the COVID-19 pandemic.[1]

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 3:24 PM

@Lee King Buckett: And he’s off……again:):)

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:02 PM

@Da Dell: I know exactly what it is and it’s actually the opposite of what the anti-vax anti mask loons were portraying it to be.

That’s why I specifically used font which identifies it as being sarcastic.

It seems even that went over your head…

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:03 PM

@Hear me now: Baaaaaaaa

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:19 PM

@Lee King Buckett: So more miss information from you then.
    For last while only person banging on about anti-vax stuff is you.
    Seems its you that follows them.
    You are as bad as they are, the extremes of both sides are loons.

Mute Dave Fleming
    Favourite Dave Fleming
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:02 PM

@Lee King Buckett: a sarcastic font?!?!

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:06 PM

@Lee King Buckett: amazingly that’s the most coherent, sensible response I’ve got out of you. Well done!

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:09 PM

@Da Dell: Out of interest, why don’t you explain what you think the great reset is about?

I’m looking forward to hearing your version of it…

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:28 PM

@Lee King Buckett: You’re upsetting the reality deniers.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:47 PM

@Tommy Roche: I know, right?

It’s been a bad few months for them
    Dolores Cahill – fired and warrant issued in the UK
    Dolores Webster – arrested
    Gemma O’Doherty – arrested
    Antonio Mureddu – arrested
    Tracey O’mahony – finally coming under pressure over her gofundme…

And now NPHET winding down, covid certs gone, masks on the way out and no mass deaths from vaccines

They must be really feeling the dumb – no wonder they’re all particularly snarky…

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Feb 18th 2022, 7:19 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Lee, they’re all pedants. Whoosh, your sarcasm went clear over their simple heads…. I for one, appreciate it! :)

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:26 PM

@Lee King Buckett: It was you that brought it up. I was at it in Davos, I don’t have an opinion yet, except so far decisions made have proved correct so far, company has made record profits since.

What do you think it means ?

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:28 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Jays-us you really are a child.. or you need to get some help.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:29 PM

@Tommy Roche: You would be an expert in reality denying yourself..

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:45 PM

@Da Dell: Now I’m intrigued – it was never spoken about at Davos. It was slated for 2021 but postponed until this year.

That aside, it’s no great mystery, Schwab has written a whole book on it, called ‘The Great Reset’ – cryptic I know, maybe that’s why you’ve missed it…

Anyway, it refers to a rest of capitalism, away from shareholders to stakeholders, sharing wealth more equally, promoting a more equal society and focusing more on the environment.

He argues that capitalism is facing a crisis and is at risk of destroying itself unless it starts sharing wealth more equally.

So, back to the question, what’s your interpretation of it? Have you read the book? Have you any idea about any of its key points or have you just gotten swept up in the conspiracy stories on the Web?

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:59 PM

@Da Dell: So, come on, tell me what the Davis meeting was like – you know the one you were at where the great reset was discussed?

How does it feel to be completely caught out telling total porky pies?

On a related note, why would you be bothered inventing something like that? Would it be that you think it might make more people believe your theories or is it just to save face?

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 19th 2022, 1:05 AM

@Lee King Buckett: You seem a bit confused. Jan 2021 50th W.E.F annual meeting was announced as the “Great Reset” connecting both in person and online global leaders in Davis Switzerland with a multi stakeholder network in 400 cities around the world. The Great Reset was also to be the main theme of the W E.F’s summit in Lucerne May 2021 but was postponed till 2022.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 19th 2022, 1:50 AM

@Franny Ando: Davos

Mute Jean-Pierre Radu O'C
    Favourite Jean-Pierre Radu O'C
    Feb 19th 2022, 3:34 AM
    Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 19th 2022, 6:38 AM

@Franny Ando: I’m not confused at all.

1)Da Dell said he was at Davis when the Great Reset was discussed.

2) the last time the WEF met in Davis was January 2020 – the Great Reset was never discussed.

2) The great reset was announced as the theme for 2021 but the event was cancelled and hasn’t actually been held since.

Googling is not the same as reading dear boy.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 19th 2022, 1:54 PM

@Lee King Buckett: W.E.F Davos Jan.21st to Jan.29th 2021. It was discussed. I suggest you check reputable websites. Reading is a pleasure this lady enjoys.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 19th 2022, 8:27 PM

@Franny Ando: I guess it’s possible that I’m not actually typing in English at all but, to be on the safe side, I’ll try it again, in caps for clarity.

DAVOS DID NOT GO AHEAD IN 2021, IT WAS CANCELLED DIE TO COVID – THE LAST TIME DAVOS HAPPENED WAS 2019.

Assuming it came out in English on your screen then I take it that its relatively easy to understand?

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:37 PM

Is there any picture available where Micheal Martin doesn’t look like a gormless gombeen?

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:06 PM

@Ed: That’s a negative, he looks like one in real life too so there never will be such a photo!

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:22 PM

@Ed: Loads,just open your eyes.

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:42 PM

That’s all very well but what about Halloween

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Feb 18th 2022, 2:36 PM

Hallelujah! Au-revoir les masques ! Now can we just take the advice of the experts, say ‘thank you!’ ( they’ve lead us to this point), and get on with out lives.

Mute Kev Mak McClean
    Favourite Kev Mak McClean
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:04 PM

They hope everyone now catches Covid,especially this Omicron variation to build up natural antibodies.Sadly the number of deaths will increase of most vulnerable and looks like we’re all ready to accept that fact.
    That question hasn’t surfaced in any mainstream media news outlet.Seems to be avoided completely. Encouraging us to ditch all safety protocols, what do you thinks gonna happen?
    Good luck to you all out there.

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:03 PM

@Kev Mak McClean: He’s not “encouraging us to ditch all safety protocols”, he’s actually encouraging people to behave responsibly (“personal behaviour is going to be very important”) and followed that up by saying he’s going to continue wearing masks in shops and on public transport. So, to me anyway, it appears he’s definitely not “*encouraging* us to ditch all safety protocols”, but encouraging us to use a bit of cop on, reminding us that it’s not gone, we’ve just entered a new phase.

Mute Dave McCabe
    Favourite Dave McCabe
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:23 PM

@Kev Mak McClean:
    Nobody has “ encouraged “ you to ditch any safety protocols. You are free to socially distance , stay indoors , don’t use public transport or visit pubs. You can wear a mask day and night should you wish

The rest of us are also free to decide how to approach our own personal safety.

This is better then you trying to “ mandate” my safety levels. I’ll decide that thanks.

Mute Caitlin Far
    Favourite Caitlin Far
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:52 PM

@Kev Mak McClean: my parents are immunocompromised so I’m not ready to accept that fact.

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:12 PM

@FrustratedASDMum: problem is that there are too many people with too little cop on

Mute Jonathan O'Riordan
    Favourite Jonathan O'Riordan
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:19 PM

@Dave McCabe: there is such a thing as a social contract or do you support do away with that?

Mute Tom Joe Ryan
    Favourite Tom Joe Ryan
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:14 PM

When was the last time that any prime minister here or around the world travelled on public transport? I think their personal safety would have been a major issue

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:26 PM

@Tom Joe Ryan: I’m sure the Taoiseach is safe in this country.Say he likes his few cans on the train to a GAA match.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    Feb 18th 2022, 3:07 PM

When did Micheal Martin last travel on public transport?

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:23 PM

@Christine Downey: Ask him,I’m sure you might get answer then asking here.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:05 PM

It will be interesting to see how cases will present with the mask mandate removed.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:06 PM

@Franny Ando: Indeed – it’s all about control you know…

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:07 PM

@Lee King Buckett: If you say so you appear to be an expert in these matters.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:27 PM

@Franny Ando: Your going to be so bored now,what is the next thing for the tinfoil brigade.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:55 PM

@Daniel Roche: I’m genuinely interested in how this will affect cases. But you revert to tinfoil name calling. Its very sad to see the abject ignorance of some people. Though not surprising really. It’s easier to mock then even attempt an intelligent response. It’s a sad indictment of today’s society.

Mute Nicholas McMurry
    Favourite Nicholas McMurry
    Feb 18th 2022, 10:31 PM

@Franny Ando: We are likely past the peak of the Omicron wave, though it’s difficult to tell with stats no longer trustworthy. The virus is not spreading so fast because so many people have now had it within the last few months. We are on a trajectory to have most of the population infected anyhow, particularly those who are not taking extra precautions, but thankfully with a variant that is less fatal, and with better outcomes because of high vaccination levels. Wearing masks might slow that process down but it can’t stop it. Dropping the mask mandate may create a temporary pause in the decline in numbers but if anything will bring the end quicker. Let’s hope we don’t get another wave with a worse variant.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 11:19 PM

@Nicholas McMurry: Thank you. It will be interesting to see what the outcome will be. A temporary pause,an increase, a decrease. One way or another It should give a clearer insight into how the masks worked. No we definitely don’t need another variant of any kind:)

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:27 PM

So if you do get covid and are.under 55 you cannot get a recovery cert now? You basically have to get your booster if you want to continue to travel?

Mute Heisen berg1
    Favourite Heisen berg1
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:04 PM

Zip-A-Dee-Doo-Dah , best news of the day.

Mute WHUFCLad
    Favourite WHUFCLad
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:25 PM

Why are people opposed to this?

Mute Stephen Kelly
    Favourite Stephen Kelly
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:03 PM

The flu is now making a comeback.

Mute Dave McCabe
    Favourite Dave McCabe
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:09 PM

@Stephen Kelly: we live “ in a sea of pathogens “. Just get on with your life. My job isn’t to keep you safe.

Mute Zmeevo Libe
    Favourite Zmeevo Libe
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:09 PM

@Dave McCabe: Why not? I think in future if I feel a cold coming I might wear a mask in shops and busses. After all, it doesn’t cost me much.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:15 PM

Jaysus the heading of this article has changed more times than the colour of my hair!

Mute james spice
    Favourite james spice
    Feb 18th 2022, 1:48 PM

No mention of retail?

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:16 PM

@james spice: Apart from saying that they are not required in retail settings in the first sentence, it’s not mentioned at all.

Maybe they will give more clarity later…

Mute Mikey Richard
    Favourite Mikey Richard
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:24 PM

@Lee King Buckett:

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute james spice
    Favourite james spice
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:47 PM

@Lee King Buckett: the article has been updated since….

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 4:52 PM

@james spice: And comments removed.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:22 PM

@Lee King Buckett: As others have already said it wasn’t in the article at first.
    Scarlet for you and your pompous presumption of everything.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Feb 18th 2022, 5:25 PM

@Lee King Buckett: And now it’s changed again and a new headline.. do keep up.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:00 PM

@Da Dell: Oh dear, seems as if I have irked you… Its probably easier for you just to mute me really because I have no intention of not taking every opportunity to remind the loops how loopy they are.

If you’re not a loop, I’m not sure why you get so irked by it but there you go I guess…

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:08 PM

@Da Dell: careful…he’ll whip out his junior cert results again to prove wat a clever little boy he is!

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:13 PM

@Lee King Buckett: People in glass houses etc etc:)

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:15 PM

@Lee King Buckett: Servile much?
    anything that goes against the status quo & may force you to rethink your blinkered little existence is way too much for you, you just revert to name calling and stereotyping, sad really!

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:53 PM

@Hear me now: Ah now, why all the salt – are you feeling really deflated by the fact that there actually was no global conspiracy?

Are you feeling a bit like Jimmy in Quadrophenia when he saw Sting in his bellboy outfit?

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 7:34 PM

@Lee King Buckett: ah shur God love you.someone has to I suppose
    When did I ever say anything about a global conspiracy? Not once.
    Your problem & therw are many but your real problem is you cannot stand anyone who has an opinion that differs from yours.Plenty people on here who were vaccinated myself included, have had opinions on how this was being handled, what was the endgame, none of which were being laid out for by the government.
    Crazy legislation being rushed through, overreach by the government which any reasonable person would at least raise an eyebrow too & your argument to anyone who uttered the same or something similar was to mock, name call & to label them.
    Maybe you’re just scared, easier for you to just go along with everything thrown at us. Checks and balances fella!

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:22 PM

@Hear me now: OK so, enlighten me oh wise one – what is this endgame to which you are referring?

Should be interesting….

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:53 PM

@Lee King Buckett: man are you slow, seriously…there you go again looking for conspiracy.
    Ok here goes, try & stay with me now, you can do it…end game meaning what the government’s plan was going forward for Covid or was it to continually vaccinate people & enfirce restrictions/lockdowns.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Feb 18th 2022, 9:39 PM

@Hear me now: So are you saying the endgame was to continually vaccinate and lockdown people because if that was the case then why are we here now?

Or are you saying there was no endgame?

You’re not being very clear I’m afraid.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Feb 19th 2022, 12:35 AM

@Lee King Buckett: figured u wouldn’t get it…ah well, I tried, no helping some people I guess. Hang in there kid!

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Feb 18th 2022, 6:48 PM

What if there’s a new variant entering Ireland? Will we be ready to find that out without PCR test available to people under 55?

Mute Mo Jo
    Favourite Mo Jo
    Feb 23rd 2022, 7:42 AM

@Alex: So pcr test is no longer needed when entering the country? I couldn’t find anything regarding this

Mute Mary O Dwyer
    Favourite Mary O Dwyer
    Feb 18th 2022, 8:38 PM

We do have to live with this virus now as most will be absolutely fine if infected but I do think saying no masks in public transport is massively premature and also just a big why ? Many on buses trains have no choice and many are going for medical appointments or treatments so why make them more at risk . Very unnecessary and pushing people back in to cars when fuel so expensive. Those making the changes can probably never have to use public transport . Masks in poorly ventilated transport do help . Everything else you can manage but not if in a mobile box

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Feb 19th 2022, 1:49 PM

@Lee King Buckett: W.E.F, Davos Jan 21st to Jan 29th. 2021 It was discussed. I suggest you check some reputable Web sites. Like their own! Reading is a pleasure this lady enjoys.