You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

"Such a historic building is wasted in terms of reaching its full potential," Simon Harris said. Alamy Stock Photo

GPO could be a 'focal point' in rejuvenation plan for Dublin city centre, Taoiseach says

Simon Harris said the historic O’Connell street building is “wasted” in terms of reaching its full potential.

THE GPO HAS the potential to be a “focal point” as part of a plan to rejuvenate Dublin city centre, according to the Taoiseach.

Simon Harris said the historic O’Connell street building is “wasted” in terms of reaching its full potential and could be used to attract families to the capital’s main thoroughfare.

He also said the Dublin city taskforce, which he convened earlier this year to recommend ways to improve the city, will bring their proposed actions to him next week. 

The taskforce was assigned with focusing on ways to improve the public realm, safety and experience in the city centre, with the aim of making the area a more thriving, attractive and safe cityscape.

The recommendations will also aim to make Dublin city centre a desirable location to live, work, do business and visit; and a destination for retail, hospitality and cultural experiences.

“I think Dublin City is a great, proud capital city. I also think it’s a city that’s in need of urgent attention, investment, a plan and a vision,” Harris told Newstalk’s The Pat Kenny Show this morning.

He said he convened the taskforce to propose actions that Dublin City Council and the Government could take to “revitalise” the capital. 

“I’m due to receive the outcome of that literally next week. I hope to be in a position to bring that to government and publish it in September, and then see if we can make progress, both through funding for the council and the government.”

Harris said the fact that the maintenance of Dublin “doesn’t fall to any one person or agency” is an issue, adding that ”lots of different people doing lots of different things” are needed. 

“I’ll give you one example. I think the GPO currently has such a beautiful building, and such a historic building is wasted in terms of reaching its full potential,” he said. 

‘Why not have a big vision?’

The General Post Office, which was completed in 1818, was the headquarters of the men and women who took part in the 1916 Easter Rising.

It had been the headquarters of An Post, but the postal service moved to a new building overlooking the city’s port and quays in July last year.

The GPO still operates as a post office and museum. It often plays host to events, such as the annual commemoration of the Easter Rising, and more recently, the homecoming of Team Ireland after the Olympics in Paris on 12 August. 

“There is space in the GPO. Why not have a big vision? Let’s bring people onto O’Connell. Let’s ensure there’s a reason for families and people to want to go and visit O’Connell Street,” Harris said, adding that he thinks there is potential for the GPO ”to become a real focal point”. 

The Dublin city taskforce will also look at the use of cultural spaces, the public transport network, and issues around anti-social behaviour and litter.

The safety of the city centre became an issue last summer following a number of assaults in the heart of the capital.

When asked this morning about the issue of safety in Dublin and a lack of Gardaí, Harris accepted that “we do need to see more Gardaí on our streets” both in Dublin and across the country. 

He said new recruits were graduating from Templemore next month, with many set to be allocated to Dublin, while also citing the Government’s actions in increasing the retirement age for members of An Garda Síochána and increasing the training allowance. 

However, he also said that when he speaks to communities about safety, the importance of street lighting and efficient public transport is also mentioned along with the presence of gardaí on the street.

“The purpose of the Dublin city centre taskforce and the purpose of our community safety partnership is to bring everyone around the table and say, ‘Well, what can I do? What role can my agent play?’.

“I’m very encouraged that we’re going to have an exciting plan for Dublin within the next couple of weeks.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Aug 30th 2024, 11:56 AM

Election season

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:19 PM

@Dere: We need a city centre plan!!! Government provide it: election season!!!! They just can’t win.

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:20 PM

@Dere: yup. It also shouldn’t be up to the Taoiseach to sort out Dublin. It should be up to an elected mayor and empowered council, who work together with council officials that have actual accountability.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:36 PM

@Name: Elected Mayors has proven to be problematic where it is used.
    Having council management accountable and accessible is the forst thing that needs to be done.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:59 PM

@Name: the council has absolutely failed Dublin , its so clearly visible. Major shakeup there. Then law and order needs to be central. No vagrants or drug dealing allowed in the very centre, push them out to the periphery like other cities do to protect the valuable retail, entertainment and tourist industries.

Mute John Mc Dermott
    Favourite John Mc Dermott
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:15 PM

@Ken Fallon: Don’t need a plan, there has been several of them to choose from, it needs Action, Investment & Policing, not more empty promises from Harris. People are tiring of hearing him comment on everything, but deliver on nothing, no substance to him.

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Aug 30th 2024, 4:06 PM

@Gary Kearney: we’ve only used one in Limerick and he’s only been in the job for a few months. Feedback so far has been positive. Council management needs to be more accountable, I agree

Mute Name
    Favourite Name
    Aug 30th 2024, 4:08 PM

@Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson: the council may have failed, but councils in Ireland are generally set up to fail. We have the worst local democracy in Ireland. This did not just happen by accident, but it’s been a legacy the Brits left us worsened by electorally self-serving Ministers and their civil servant mandarins.

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Aug 30th 2024, 8:58 PM

@Name: I agree on that alright though dcc seem to do less and less each year since late 90s

Mute 24RFAnAa
    Favourite 24RFAnAa
    Aug 31st 2024, 7:19 AM

@Ken Fallon: They can. When words turn to actions.

Mute Seanfhear míshásta
    Favourite Seanfhear míshásta
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:26 PM

Rejuvenation will take a lot more than that. The O’Connell Street area is fundamentally unattractive for lots of reasons but especially because of its threatening atmosphere. Let’s stop pretending it’s something it’s not.

Mute CORMAC McCann
    Favourite CORMAC McCann
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:20 PM

Simon is getting as hard to stomach as Leo was. Comments on everything and anything, just to be heard.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:28 PM

@CORMAC McCann: He’s worse.

Mute kevin rock
    Favourite kevin rock
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:10 PM

@Freda Peeple: definitely not !
    Definitely. Not even maybe , Just definitely

Mute max power
    Favourite max power
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:53 PM

@CORMAC McCann: he also loves a good photo opportunity, says it all about the man

Mute Stephen Feerick
    Favourite Stephen Feerick
    Aug 30th 2024, 11:38 AM

Ban pre sliced cheese and make Dublin grate again!

Mute Shimo F
    Favourite Shimo F
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:09 PM

More waffle from the waffleator. That migit boils my blood, comment on everything but actually does nothing.

Mute did you every wonder
    Favourite did you every wonder
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:18 PM

@Shimo F: 100%, anyone can say anything buy no real actions as usual. Just look at the generic statements he makes e.g. ‘we are at the crossroads’ referring to road accidents. What action does that actually mean ?. Same generic statements about Israel, etc. There are no actions from his statements.

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:25 PM

@Shimo F: Well then you should stop commenting and do something.

Mute Shimo F
    Favourite Shimo F
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:32 PM

@Richard Ford: wrong end of the stick the Rich.

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:48 PM

@did you every wonder: They are reducing speed limits on all non national roads. That’s doing something!’

Mute max power
    Favourite max power
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:57 PM

@Sean Hayes: no Sean, that’s just a knee jerk response instead of tackling the issues.

Mute Richard Ford
    Favourite Richard Ford
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:31 PM

@Richard Ford: . Nope. Do something yourself. It’s very easy to exercise your thumb and comment on an internet forum.

Mute Tárlach Ó Maoláin
    Favourite Tárlach Ó Maoláin
    Aug 30th 2024, 5:49 PM

@Sean Hayes: Reduced speed limits mean nada if the roads are not policed.

Mute Sean McGarr
    Favourite Sean McGarr
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:14 PM

Walk past it every morning and it’s usually surrounded by large groups of addicts shouting at each other under the portico. Around the corner on Henry St the same two dealers can be found every morning at 8.40 selling openly at the junction with Moore St. A competent or even semi-competent judicial system would have these people locked up. Any visitors to this country must be shocked seeing this going on. Unless we get proper policing and sentences any talk about rejuvenating Dublin is pointless.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:31 PM

While his minster for justice and the Dublin city council has over seen people fear in travelling to Dublin, which now rank as one of the unsafest cities in Europer… as with everything he is only paying lip service to the city

Mute Pierre Lecake
    Favourite Pierre Lecake
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:24 PM

@Paul Maguire: Dublin only ranks as the 20th unsafest city in Europe with Bradford UK being No. 1. Come on scrotes of Dublin.Where’s your pride.Lets knock Bradford off their lofty perch.

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:01 PM

The last six words of the fourth paragraph kinda contradict the recent caps on cars carrying bigger shoppers into town, the safety on the LUAS carrying smaller impact shoppers & the general feeling of safety in the city at present given (lack of garda) and inability to deal with bad actors running quite literally wild. There’s also a feeling of Dublin city drifting away from what it used to be. Of course, if designs of aestheticism are aimed purely at inviting people to sit about drinking coffee, Parisian-like (in lieu of paying close to 8 euro for a pint) while they sit there looking at fences or fending off the unfortunates grifting for spare change or the invitation to accompany them to the host’s cash machine, then okay, if that’s your thing. Dublin: Uncouth.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:43 PM

@Keth Tgi: To save people checking: “……… more thriving, attractive and safe cityscape.”

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Aug 30th 2024, 11:48 AM

Yet another flawed plan developed by the rich. Damian Dempsey’s ‘Ghosts of overdose’ hits the nail on the head, rip apart communiyies to make way for yuppies unyil tye yuppies no longer want to liver there. Give it to DCC to set out a longterm vision for the communities that live in Dublin City Centre, not just O’Connell Street, instead of making changes for tourism. Desolate poverty can’t be swept under the carpet.

Mute h5kFhdYI
    Favourite h5kFhdYI
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:46 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Back to primary school Brian. Your spelling and understanding of words needs a third class brush up.
    Do you want to liver there with tye yuppie communiyies unyil tye no longer want to liver there?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 30th 2024, 10:48 PM

@Brian D’Arcy:
    It’s not where your from,
    It’s who you are from.
    Old Corpo flats proverb.

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:10 PM

One simple solution to Dublins problems: Round up anyone wearing a Tracksuit and fire them into Space. Sorted.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:21 PM

@Meh Meh: waste of space in space

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:41 PM

@Meh Meh: That means a lot of sports people and others are shot into space.

Mute Meh Meh
    Favourite Meh Meh
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:12 PM

@Gary Kearney: meh

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Aug 30th 2024, 9:56 PM

@Meh Meh: on a Boeing craft so they never come. Back

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple

“Let me be clear” I’m an absolutely useless Taoiseach and I’m way out my depth.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Aug 30th 2024, 11:54 AM

Bring back Dublin in the rare auld times

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:00 PM

@James Leahy:
    People tend to look at those rare auld times with rose tinted glasses.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:03 PM

@P. J.: Yes: people made the best they could of grinding poverty and widespread abuse and disease, but it would have been better if they didn’t have to.

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:17 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: The UV is moderate today. Factor 20 will suffice.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:40 PM

@P. J.: Usually people who did not live there!

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:53 PM

@Stephen Gaffney: is UV a Clockwork Orange reference?

Mute Stephen Gaffney
    Favourite Stephen Gaffney

@TheGood Feign: No but will Buddy Well, brother.

Mute ian
    Favourite ian
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:59 PM

Removing feral youth from the city centre would be a better start

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris

Been one week in Halkidiki, Greece, thousands of people every day, every beach, every area BUT no thugs. Very safe.
    Been 1 week in Bucharest, Romania, 3 million busy city, no thugs, no violence, friendly and peaceful everywhere.
    Came back to Dublin: track suites, NFacers and violence everywhere

Mute Shane O Neill
    Favourite Shane O Neill
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:58 PM

@Chris: violence everywhere? Big stretch. You think wearing a tracksuit is anti-social behaviour.

Mute Tárlach Ó Maoláin
    Favourite Tárlach Ó Maoláin
    Aug 30th 2024, 5:54 PM

@Shane O Neill: Wearing NorthFace is.

Mute Danny Reilly
    Favourite Danny Reilly
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:09 PM

He’s absolutely wrong about starting with the GPO as a focal point for rejuvenating the city.
    The primary focal point for this ambitious project should be Mountjoy prison where all the feral toe rags that are currently terrorising the city should be locked up.

Mute Shane O Neill
    Favourite Shane O Neill
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:25 PM

Move the civil servants out of the Customs House to one of the many new vacant modern office buildings. Move the museum from Collins Barracks to the Customs House. Open up the grounds of the Customs House as a small park. Convert Collins Barracks to homes, if possible.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:48 PM

We need more Gardaí on the ground and much more support staff in the stations.
    Gardaí spend too much time doing paperwork and not enough time on the street.
    We need to change the GDPR rules to assist the Gardaí. At the moment we have the strictest rules in Europe. We need to be able to use CCTV better than we do now. People know that the cameras are virtually useless now, as if you try and use them, they scream GDPR and the law errs in their favour.
    Finally we need to understand Dublin is Dublin, Not Paris or Barcelona. What works there will not automatically work here.

We need DCC management to listen to the people and stop thinking they know everything.

Mute Sean Hayes
    Favourite Sean Hayes
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:52 PM

@Gary Kearney: listen to which people? You? The councillors do listen – that’s how they got elected

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:48 PM

Need to get the dole scroungers out of of the city centre

Mute Peter McCormack
    Favourite Peter McCormack
    Aug 30th 2024, 6:13 PM

The city centre is never going to be safe or as technically pleasing until all the social housing gettos are removed out of the city.

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy

The face of him below in that Israeli

Mute James Leahy
    Favourite James Leahy
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:26 PM

@James Leahy: ,,article wouldn’t you swear that butter wouldn’t melt,,,,

Mute Mick D
    Favourite Mick D
    Aug 30th 2024, 4:49 PM

Until the moore st buildings are preserved and developed for the Irish people, any of this commentary will be weasel words. Don’t try to cod us. The Dubliners put it perfectly;

When we have sold enough of Ireland to be but strangers in it
    For what died the sons of Róisín, was it greed?

Mute H Woo
    Favourite H Woo
    Aug 30th 2024, 10:55 PM

@Mick D:
    Why would any proud country want to preserve a shameful surrender site, Where a group of middle class idealest lead out the working class of Dublin to die for Ireland and they did, along with the poor of the slums who were ordered to be shot for looting by the same leaders for “disgraceing the revolution” and when it was there turn to die they came out with there hands up.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:12 PM

BAM buddies

Mute Tom L
    Favourite Tom L
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:14 PM

Will still be a kip

Mute tara tevlin
    Favourite tara tevlin
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:06 PM

Need a plan to RID of that dirt

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Aug 30th 2024, 12:57 PM

Moan moan moan that’s all everybody does on these comments … do something useful and make a positive contribution instead of all the negativity… not one of you has even suggested what could make a difference.. ye would rather bitch than help

Mute Willie Marty
    Favourite Willie Marty
    Aug 30th 2024, 1:03 PM

@Gerry Ryan: i thought Ians proposal of removing fereal youth from the city centre was a positive one.

Mute Mojo
    Favourite Mojo
    Aug 30th 2024, 2:32 PM

Excellent news! Hopefully they would come back with a great plan for it

Mute Stephen.
    Favourite Stephen.
    Aug 31st 2024, 8:43 AM

Let me guess the outcome……Less cars, and more trees and green spaces…..oh and dont forget cycle lanes. That process hasn’t worked so far.

One of the biggest issue facing towns and cities all over ireland , and despite the efforts of government with the dereliction grant ( which is doing a lot of good) is the dereliction of 2nd, 3rd, 4th floors of often empty commercial units which in a lot of cases began life as residential units.
    The buildings need to be returned to residential use, Put residents back into the cities, it solves housing crisis, traffic crisis and will generate local economy so commercial units will have a purpose serving locals again….

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Aug 31st 2024, 4:50 PM

Stephen ::: the first sensible comment made.. well done