You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Grace case: 47 children went through foster home where there were abuse concerns

Two previously unpublished reports about the case have been made public.

TWO PREVIOUSLY UNPUBLISHED reports into the shocking ‘Grace’ case have shown that 47 children were placed in a Waterford foster home at which there were concerns about abuse.

The reports have details of the potential abuse the intellectually disabled girl known as ‘Grace’ suffered during the 20 years at the foster home.

The Conal Devine Report into the case from 2015 found that an absence of supervision and adherence of protocols meant that Grace was allowed to remain there.

The Devine report also identified at least four opportunities where action could have been taken and Grace could have been removed from the home.

A 2012 inquiry carried out on protected disclosures that were made about the case identified that there had been evidence of bruising on her body.

Despite Grace remaining there for 20 years, the report found no evidence to suggest the foster family were ever approved to be full-time foster carers.

There was also no evidence that they were given approval for more than two children at any one time.

In 1985 the family provided placement to at least 14 children for an average of one week per child, in 1986 it was 19 children and in 1987 it was at least 20 children.

The children were placed there by the former South Eastern Health Board or from schools or services provided for children with intellectual disability.

One person was placed with the foster family in the 1980s and said later that they were locked in a cupboard in the home.

The HSE has apologised for the failings that led to this point.

“The HSE wishes again to offer an unreserved and heartfelt apology to all those who experienced serious failings in the care provided and for the significant failures of the former South Eastern Health Board and the HSE to make the care situation safe,” said Dr Cathal Morgan of HSE Disability Services.

We welcome the establishment of the Commission of Investigation that will have greater powers of compellability in order to answer these questions. Substantial progress has been made to improve the quality of social care services provided to people with disabilities and to ensure that vulnerable adults are safeguarded.

Speaking about the findings of the reports on RTÉ’s Sean O’Rourke today, Fergus Finlay or Barnardos said it was “one of the most shaming things that I’ve come across for a long time”.

“Clearly what happened here was a duty of care to a citizen who needed care was simply abandoned and replaced by bureaucratic inertia or worse,” he said.

In the various reports that were done and investigated she was given a case number and in the end lost or appeared to lose her identity as a citizen.

Finlay said that she is now “doing well” but for too long was treated as “an inconvenience”.

“Grace is now living in a small residential centre and she is doing well and doing as well as she is entitled to do. Through all of that time it appears she was treated as a bit of an inconvenience by the system, somebody without a voice to whom a label has been attached.”

- The two reports are available to read on the HSE’s website

Read: HSE confirm that people were left in a foster home after allegations of sexual abuse >

Read: TD claims HSE manager tried to destroy career of whistleblower in Grace abuse case >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:00 AM

That is going to do nothing to stop human trafficking or prostitution, go the Dutch and German way, and legalize it and tax it.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:23 AM

There is massive exploitation of women in the Netherlands. Anybody who thinks it’s all above board and hunky dory is deluding themselves.

The red light areas of Amsterdam are run by shady underworld figures involved in organised crime.

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:30 AM

Prostitution in the Netherland accounts for 5% of national income

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:01 AM

It’s it amazing that in a an advanced culture that something so fundamental to the Human condition , the desire to have sex still ,it’s still seen as taboo and “dirty”. If there were a cultural shift whereby we could leave our “learned” sense of shame behind, it would all become rather perfunctory and wouldn’t be associated with red light districts and poor vulnerable women that are made to feel like they are the dregs of Humanity. This should be service like going to the dentist run by women, who protect their and treat their employees with dignity. The real irony is that the Bacik’s et al of the world and their disdain for the act of paying for sex and the women involved that creates the idea that this should be hidden away and frowned upon, therefore feeding very nicely into the realm of the male dominated criminal underworld who prey on vulnerable women

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:18 AM

Tom is right – there is massive exploitation of women working in prostitution in Netherlands… Tom is wrong in thinking that’s all that matters. There’s massive exploitation in Ireland too. The argument however, is that we have no idea how bad it is in Ireland and doing nothing is a lazy cruelty. No one says that Netherlands has a perfect solution, because there is none, but that doesn’t mean the Dutch approach doesn’t solve problems too, without solving all of them.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:50 AM

Tom it should be for the sex workers themselves to decide what is exploitation and not some religious or feminist activist

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:46 PM

Should prostitution be legal? Yes. Would I let my future daughter do it? No.

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:53 PM

Currenty most people think its illegal and it doesnt stop people. The goverment should take control of it to protect the women that work as a sex worker

Apr 8th 2016, 1:12 PM

FS, “Prostitution in the Netherland accounts for 5% of national income”, did you mean INCUM instead lol..

Mute Tara Ní Dochartaigh
    Favourite Tara Ní Dochartaigh
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:20 PM

You think you own your future daughters body?

This is the problem I have with people paying for sex, they wouldn’t want their daughters or wives or mothers doing it, yet it’s okay for them to buy sex from other people’s daughters, etc. I don’t think there is anything morally wrong with selling your body for sex if it is your choice and you’re not forced in to it. But it is morally wrong to buy sex from a woman if you are against any woman in your own life selling themselves. I would hate to see any child of mine end up in the army, but then I don’t support the army and never will. If a man would hate to see his own daughter sell sex, then they shouldn’t support prostitution.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:26 PM

@ Tara. I would want my daughter doing MMA either. There’s a lot of scenarios like that. Come down off it.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:29 PM

Daughters, wives or mothers doing it. I think if you did want any of the above to be prostitutes I think you would have many more problems than this comment section could cope with. Thanks anyway Tara for your outrage

Mute up3bs9LF
    Favourite up3bs9LF
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:34 PM

Prostitution shouldn’t be legal, why because it undermines human dignity. You wouldn’t want anyone from your family doing this to support a lifestyle, it’s not an example of a good family culture…

Mute Anna
    Favourite Anna
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:01 PM

Gone Feisin you do know there are male prostitues as well?

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:24 PM

My goodness Larissa, I agree with you.

Mute Marg murphy
    Favourite Marg murphy
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:30 PM

@Tara. That’s an illogical analogy. Just because you don’t want your daughter selling HER body doesn’t mean that the right of another woman to sell HER own body for a price she sees fit should be impinged. It’s about adults making choices to engage in an activity in a private place that affects no one else. The state has no business interfering in this particular free market except to regulate it, tax it and keep criminal exploitation out of it.

Mute Ingo Weinhold
    Favourite Ingo Weinhold
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:33 PM

Would it not be her choice and not yours?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:55 PM

Ciaran
    Tom never said that’s all that matters.
    Otherwise I agree.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Apr 8th 2016, 3:01 PM

Nah as she would be a woman, I would make all her decisions. And my son could be a prostitute if he wanted, fair play to him for getting loads of action

Apr 8th 2016, 3:22 PM

@Tara

By your ‘logic’ can we assume that you would be happy for your children to end up cleaning toilets or do you not use them?

What we aspire for our children is always the best and should not be relevant to what other people need to do to make ends meet.

Mute Christina Coburn
    Favourite Christina Coburn
    Apr 8th 2016, 7:42 PM

Well said Tara

Mute Gaye Dalton
    Favourite Gaye Dalton
    Apr 9th 2016, 3:52 PM

Don’t forget the proposed Irish legislation sneaked in 1st offence jail for soliciting or sharing premises for safety/company.

Thise is more a quick crib sheet for the various sections than a sermon!
    https://mymythbuster.wordpress.com/the-covert-recriminalistation-of-irish-street-workers/

There is a vast gulf of difference between decriminalisation and 6 months in jail for people THEN declared “victims” in dire need of support from the very people who campaigned tirelessly to PUT them in jail. Ruhama refuse to answer questions on this.

I heard Benson on radio Thursday offering “help and support” to anyone who is or was a sex worker. To go to Ruhama for support would be like running back to a domestic abuser for safety.

I knew Ruhama would do this even in 1994 when wide eyed Nuns were swearing on their faith Ruhama would never support criminalisation. I was told I was paranoid…was I?

Mute Moderate Michael
    Favourite Moderate Michael
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:01 AM

Either the sale AND purchase of sex are illegal, or neither are illegal. Criminalizing one aspect of a transaction but not the other is just wrong.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:32 PM

It would also leave the door open for people who visit a prostitute to be blackmailed.

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Apr 8th 2016, 4:10 PM

Selling’s legal. F*cking’s legal. So, why isn’t selling f*cking legal?

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:01 AM

No. It’s morally reprehensible to criminalise those who seek sex. I have an immediate family member who hasn’t been in a relationship since he was 19. He has a severe mental illness. He doesn’t use prostitutes, but if he decided to as he’s now 45, the thoughts of Ivana Bacik wanting him charged and prosecuted for having a sex life makes me physically sick.

Bacik wants only the buyer criminalised and not the seller. That’s exactly the same as criminalising only the buyer of drugs and letting the dealer walk away. it’s sick and repugnant. And remember, sex addiction is a bona fide addiction too.

It also opens up the door to blackmail on a massive scale and we’ve already seen numerous cases of that this year.

It must be stopped.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:49 AM

Bacik is a man hater, that’s why she only wants to criminalise the purchaser.

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:06 AM

Agree. Rad-fem. Fortunately she cannot get herself elected despite 3 or attempts and a move of constituency. Another lab-rat.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:31 AM

Bacik is a do gooder who wants leniency shown to thugs, junkies,typical criminals yet wants to throw the book at people such as that referenced by Free Speech, time she went along with the rest of the Senate

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:17 PM

Oberwachtmeister Bacik…has a certain authoritarian,teutonic ring to it.shes very very well educated so she must be right.

Mute Conor Murphy
    Favourite Conor Murphy
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:02 AM

Driving women into the black market is not the way to go, legalisation and regulation would create a transparent and safe industry. Nobody needs to be afraid to call the Gardai if something goes wrong.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:37 PM

Absolutely. It is not for the state to interfere with a transaction between two consenting adults. Regulate and tax it. Use the tax to implement further measures to protect the workers.

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Apr 8th 2016, 3:02 PM

Brings new meaning to getting screwed by the taxman

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:02 AM

Surely a regulated and safe environment where services are run by women are preferable to blanket ban that criminalize everyone involved. This is ultimately the sale and purchase of a service. Like the war on drugs the “laws” appears to what drives things underground and into the hand of unscrupulous criminals . Unfortunately there are a lot of feminist that for all their bluster actually hate the choices some other women make because it conflicts with their world view

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:41 AM

While that’s true, I think the biggest factor here is their loathing of male sexuality. Anything from which they think men derive sexual gratification must be stamped out; prostitution, porn, lads mags, page 3, sex-robots, fleshlights, even video game characters in tight clothes.

Overriding the choices of women who also enjoy or who make a living from these things is no big deal.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:18 AM

That whole “a woman’s body, a woman’s choice” thing obviously only applies to certain choices

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:40 AM

True if a person doesn’t have issue with selling their body for sex I don’t see what the problem is. Legalise and regulate it to counter trafficking (ie slavery) as you would in any normal business practice

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:12 AM

Legalised Brothels where everything is above board ; run professionly it can ensure the women or men are safe and not being used against their will : regular health checks can be done for the benefit of both parties : revenue can get involved ; might aswell make a few bob out of it than spending money on resources trying to stop it : if u can’t beat them join them

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Apr 8th 2016, 9:59 AM

Does it mean sex workers will all be prosecuted? The payer and payee ? Some people choose the trade, what about them?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:05 AM

Nope, that will all remain fully legal. You can sell your body but the person who buys is a criminal.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:46 AM

Jason it’s not that simple. If sex workers are in a group they can be charged with pimping themselves. But if they work indoors they can be charged with brothel keeping.

Mute Bob Beaman
    Favourite Bob Beaman
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:54 PM

What if one decides to rent or lease as opposed to purchase?

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:36 PM

Would contract Hire or PCP based on mileage be illegal too?

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:42 PM

Feck it .. just pay for the condom and get a free demonstration.

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:29 AM

Legalise it. Regulate it. Tax it. Problem solved.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:00 AM

I’m sure all the Johns agree!

Mute China Photo Daily
    Favourite China Photo Daily
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:17 AM

Trust Francis Fitz to bow to the slightest pressure from the hysterical “progressive” Twitter mob. Shocking that this woman is being considered as a future Taoiseach when she has been so short sighted on this and the migrant issue.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:21 PM

China…you forget operation Thor was francis initiative..she eh rolled eh it eh out eh nationwide eh going eh forward…traveller burglaries are history.

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:35 AM

We all pay for it in some form !

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:36 PM

I’ve been paying (dearly) for it the last 25 years.

Mute Original Dodgy Boy
    Favourite Original Dodgy Boy
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:19 AM

Just like drugs take it out of the gangsters hands , tax it , regulate it, then the country would be awash with money…back to the boooooooom times

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:33 AM

People seem to be oblivious of the fact there are male prostitutes too.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Apr 8th 2016, 9:59 AM

Absolutely.
    If prostitution is a crime, which it is, then I can see no reason why those purchasing sex would not be guilty also.

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:03 AM

Prostitution is NOT a crime. And you think that the prostitute, the one that SELLS it, should not be prosecuted?

Senator Bacik of, her body her choice fame, is a sanctimonious hypocrite.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:04 AM

Under the planned legislation, the person who seeks to pay for sex will be committing a criminal offense but the person who is actually seeking payment for sex will not be. That’s completely illogical and is the equivalent of charging a person who buys drugs but legally allowing the activity of the drug dealer to continue.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:13 AM

It is currently illegal to buy or sell sex on the street, or operate a brothel. So technically it is currently illegal, However one person selling sex from a private residence is not illegal.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill

“which it is”

If it was a crime we wouldn’t be asked if it should be made illegal.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:20 AM

FreeSpeech.
    “And you think those who sell sex should be prosecuted?

Is that a statement or a question?
    Please don’t put words in my mouth.
    Prostitution in Ireland is a crime. Fact.
    Whether you or I think that is right is a different matter. All I said was if it is a crime which it is, I believe those who pay for sex should also be prosecuted.

Slow down in responding and please read what I actually wrote.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:21 AM

@Tom no point trying to quote Freespeech if you make a balls of it. It kind of makes your last sentence ironic don’t you think?

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:26 AM

It’s a woman’s body. She should be able to do with it as she pleases. Pro choice and all that.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:27 PM

Tom, soliciting and brothel-keeping are both crimes but prostitution itself is not

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:12 PM

Honestly if someone wants to use their body to provide a service in receipt of money and someone else wants to pay for that service I don’t see an issue as long as it’s all consensual.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 3:26 PM

This new legislation also does not criminalise it, it’s criminalising buyers not sellers

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 6:20 PM

What two consenting adults get up to regards sex money or no money is their own business.

Mute Niall Lonergan
    Favourite Niall Lonergan
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:23 AM

Answer this. Does a drug dealer get away and and the buyer get punished?

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:39 AM

Absolutely Not….would be an extremely regressive dumb thing to do. Protects nobody but rabid feminazis and the main people to suffer would be people who work in this line of work. Legalise and regulate it and collect taxes to give workers health insurance and a pension. People have SEX and doing an ostrich is not going to make it go away except puch it further into the hand of criminals

Mute Pádraig Ó Máirtín
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Máirtín
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:52 AM

Let’s be grown up’s about this, prostitution will happen regardless of who is charged with a crime , why not legalise it , regulate it & tax it .

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:27 AM

Would it then be illegal for women to approach men and ask them to buy them a drink?

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith

Marriage is a church sponsored form of prostitution and there are no calls to ban that?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:11 PM

Winston, you’d make a good radical feminist with an attitude like that.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:50 PM

John I’ve been meaning to explore that side my personality more deeply!…. Traditionally marriage has been a food ticket in exchange for sex because the church and lately the state need to control this area to keep a grip on power.Prostitution was tolerated on the fringes as a safety valve but obviously as a rival to marriage it won’t be allowed to grow too much.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:43 AM

No. Moat of the prohibitionists are either religious eg Ruhama whose trustees are the nuns, or older sex prostitutes who think their bad experiences are reflective of every sex worker. In the internet age sex workers are often sole traders and less vulnerable to pimps.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 5:58 PM

And the feminists too are anti prostitution

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Apr 8th 2016, 7:02 PM

Their leaders are anyway. There are also some feminists online who oppose the new law

Mute Day-v Fatter-tea
    Favourite Day-v Fatter-tea
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:47 PM

Has anybody asked the people working as prostitutes what they’d like to see happen?
    Or is it our catholic duty to rescue them from sin with or without their consent?

Mute postman pat
    Favourite postman pat
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:06 PM

It’s not like 2 people having sex in a hotel room somewhere is harming anyone else, once it consensual because they are getting paid or whatever regulate and just make sure the prostitutes are treated properly

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:44 PM

No more buying a drink for a girl on a night out or bringing her for a bite to eat.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:24 PM

We are always hounding someone over their sex lives, first it was single mothers, then it was gay men, now it’s men who pay for sex.
    It seems Ireland will always be a dictatorially prudish country.

Mute Con O Connor
    Favourite Con O Connor
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:57 AM

Everything is not black and white. It is just soundbites to say that this is right. Just sounds moral but what about the girls or men I am sure most of them are not selling sex because they want to. Will the vulnerable girls be in even more danger? Society should protect the weak. The sex industry I would guess is around since the beginning of time. It is not nice but it is ever present. For me it is a matter of protecting the vulnerable and not false morality. Stop the trafficking and modern day slavery and give me less moral judgements.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:23 PM

Are not all girls vulnerable?

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:11 AM

Have you held a readers’ poll on (a) the saying of prayers before a Dail sitting begins;
    (b) the Angelus bell on RTE; (c) special toilet facilities in schools for transgender students;
    (d) salaries for chaplains in the defence forces; (e) the wearing of green rather than orange jerseys by members of Ireland’s rugby team.

We should have heated debates about these and other vital issues while 157 elected TDs are racking their brains trying to form a new government.

Mute Alan McCarthy
    Favourite Alan McCarthy
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:20 PM

To put this bluntly, criminalization has failed, as it has brought the industry underground, full legalization has done very much the same, albeit it to a lesser extent, in Holland, Germany. E.t.c, partial criminalization , I.e the Scandinavian model has failed, as it has also brought the industry underground, away from safeguards, the only model that has succeeded in stopping the spread of the industry is the decriminalization model of New Zealand , where it is accompanied along with widespread support services for Sex workers,

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:20 AM

It says a lot about the people on the Journal comments — their mothers, daughters and sisters must be proud of them.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:37 AM

Do you ever wonder what the fathers, brothers and uncles of all those pro-choice activists think?

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:24 PM

Mindfulirish, but isn’t this precisely the point? That the decisions that a woman makes, for better or worse, are hers to make and should not be predicated on the views or opinions of her father, brothers and uncles? Of course the woman may take such views into account. Most of us, when making decisions which may impact on significant others, try to take their views into account. But if a woman chooses to sell sex why should the buyer be prosecuted? If the act of selling is a criminal offence then should not the payment made for sex be regarded as the proceeds of crime and be prosecuted. Your attitude is paternalistic in the extreme.

What this debate really shows is that when push comes to shove there is little difference between certain aspects of patriarchy and feminism. Both seek to control in accordance with their own values and when the behaviour of women or men is not in accordance with those values they are punished. So modern feminism disapproves of prostitution. It punishes and shames the man. Patriarchy disapproves of prostitution it punishes and shames the woman. We need to grow up. Vulnerable women need to be protected but prostitution is not about trafficking which involves kidnapping and enslavement.

A woman or man should be able to make a free choice to sell sex and a woman or man should be able to make a free choice to buy it. But we can’t have that of course because it does not accord with our values. Women are pure and childlike and are always victims. Men are predatory and always the perpetrator. It’s ironic to see feminists propagating these views as a form of social control and social engineering.

Apr 8th 2016, 1:19 PM

Mindfulirish, you know that there are gigolos as well?
    Some women in night clubs will prostitute themselves for a night full of free booze, what is the difference there?

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:31 PM

Prositution is going to continue regardless of whether it’s legal or not, just as it always has. Legalise it officially so that it can be monitored and made that but safer for everyone involved. Hell then the government can tax it and make money for themselves! It’s a win-win!

Mute Stephen Luco
    Favourite Stephen Luco
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:13 AM

I dont Think the finna women would get much. Bunch of Hammers

Mute TDV
    Favourite TDV
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:37 PM

how about we make corruption, banking fraud, tax evasion illegal and punishable with serious prison time and fines. there so many other things that are legal but morally very wrong because they effect everybody on this island, lets tackle them eh

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:43 PM

Would it not be the end of the Dail and Seanad? Those guys and girls get paid handsomely to screw over the whole population.

Mute John Ashe
    Favourite John Ashe
    Apr 8th 2016, 10:09 AM

What, no…

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    Apr 8th 2016, 3:06 PM

Look how many people watch porn, people watching people who are paid to have sex infront of a camera it all bananas if ya ask me.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 3:15 PM

Porn is basically prostitution by proxy. If you’ve ever watched porn you’ve engaged the services of sex workers. Now find me one person in the western world in this day and age that says they’ve never watched and I will show you a liar.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk
    Apr 8th 2016, 5:19 PM

I have never watched porn..

Mute Ingo Weinhold
    Favourite Ingo Weinhold
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:36 PM

New Zealand, probably the most evangelical and overly religious country in the “western world” have it legalized don’t see why our country flip flops on the issue so much

Mute margaret donohoe
    Favourite margaret donohoe
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:15 PM

I say most of the no votes is men

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:56 PM

Sorry to burst your bubble, but women also purchase sex from both men and other women as well.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 5:59 PM

And what would the problem be with that Margaret? Have you a specific issue or problem you wish to articulate?

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan

No to driving another reality for people into a black market situation. France is very conservative for a European country r.e. drugs, sex work and they’re not the book to take a leaf out on this. I think sex workers know better than do the politicians and many others.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Apr 8th 2016, 6:14 PM

And shure the French girls probably go on strike a lot as well!

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 8th 2016, 12:52 PM

Criminalise the purchase of sex, not the seller of sex. That way trafficking & exploitation can be tackled without putting the prostitutes into the criminal system, while targeting those who would happily pay to have sex with a trafficked person. Simples.

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:09 PM

Why criminalise a transaction between two consenting adults on what is a physiological function? Do you understand the concept of personal freedoms?

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:07 PM

The majority of adults (mainly women) involved in been prostitutes are not freely consenting women. Many are either exploited or trafficked, the majority have addiction issues which again are exploited. More again are kept under financial pressure by pimps. Not all adults, but the majority. The utopia of freely consenting adults etc is not what the reality is on the streets.

Mute FreeSpeech
    Favourite FreeSpeech
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:09 PM

“The majority of adults (mainly women) involved in been prostitutes are not freely consenting ”

I’d like to see evidence of that. firm evidence.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 6:05 PM

The evidence is, that people like to think women are vulnerable fragile creatures, therefore any distasteful or unappealing behaviour by women is not their fault and the result clearly of some sort of force or exploitation as women are the gate keepers of morality ….. This viewpoint allows the likes of the throwaway to make comments like that and convince themselves of the truth… It is also the same reasons females enjoy preferential treatment in the court system etc so it can be useful for them too

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Apr 8th 2016, 7:42 PM

An appropriate name ‘throwaway.’ Virtually everything in your post is wrong.

The PSNI stated in 2014 that the majority of sex workers are ”there by choice.” Do you somehow know better?

You show your ignorance of the subject by talking about ”the reality on the streets.” I don’t have figures for street workers in the South, but the PSNI state there are less than 20 in all of NI. Most sex work takes place indoors, most do not have a pimp and only a small minority have a drug addiction.

I would invite you to contradict any of the above.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:48 PM

Hang on.. Stop..Woah !!! … They want me just give it away !? As The Joker said.. “If you’re good at something never do it for free”….

Mute David On Tour
    Favourite David On Tour
    Apr 8th 2016, 7:49 PM

The US criminalised sex buyers more than a century ago. As with the ‘war on drugs’, it has been a spectacular failure. Sweden did so in 1999. They have been unable to show any evidence that the number of buyers and sellers has reduced, while human trafficking has actually increased. What the law has done is make life much more difficult for sex workers by targeting where they work (homes are put under surveillance by police, landlords are informed resulting in evictions, hotel staff are trained to spot sex workers and brothels and street soliciting remain illegal).

Contrary to the likes of Bacik, Moran and Benson, the proposed law will NOT decriminalise sex workers in ANY way. Working together for safety, soliciting and advertising will remain illegal. The rights, views and wishes of local sex workers are being very deliberately ignored.

Mute Tomás Ó Briain
    Favourite Tomás Ó Briain
    Apr 8th 2016, 1:06 PM

In Mediaeval times prostitution was often under the control of the Roman Catholic Church. Tariffs were paid to the Vatican and records were kept. If prostitution were once again under Roman Catholic Church Control could we expect Francis to canonise some of the ‘labourers’ in the future for performing miracles? May we some day have a church dedicated to say ‘St Cecilia the Prostitute’? It would serve to placate the financial greed of the Church and also, possibly, the vocations shortage, if apprentice priests could be issued with vouchers for reduced rates or freebies. Then they could pretend to ‘love one another’ and even enjoy the process.

Mute Niall Connery
    Favourite Niall Connery
    Apr 8th 2016, 11:25 AM

Well hello ‘john’

Mute Daniel De Síne
    Favourite Daniel De Síne
    Apr 8th 2016, 2:25 PM

It already is an offence in Ireland – section 7 of criminal law sexual offences act 1993 – soliciting someone for Sex in public place. All needs to be amended is public place & brothels can be targeted as well.

Mute Rory McGuirk
    Favourite Rory McGuirk

What happens if i pay her in 1 for all vouchers? Technically its bartering, not a sale.

Apr 8th 2016, 1:15 PM

I see the prostitutes are still stealing the red lights from the rail workers who use to work at night on the tracks lol.
    Without brothels in Southern U.S. then Jazz wouldn’t have become popular and Louis Armstrong wouldn’t have become famous???

Apr 8th 2016, 1:17 PM

As Franky Boyle said, he wants prostitution to be illegal as he wants to feel dirty as he does it lol.

Apr 8th 2016, 1:21 PM

Zika virus can be spread by sex and I believe many prostitutes here now are from South America? I believe in free will but no harm pointing out the risks???

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Apr 9th 2016, 9:29 AM

Billions were stolen from your treasury and nobody went to jail
    Now you want to put people in jail for 20 bob.

I wonder if it is a result of inbreeding.

Mute Aidan Davern
    Favourite Aidan Davern
    Apr 10th 2016, 10:58 AM

Legalise it regulate it and tax it. All that banning it will do is drive it deeper underground and make it more difficult to police trafficking.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Apr 9th 2016, 9:21 AM

What will ugly people do for sex then?

Apr 8th 2016, 6:53 PM

Nothing worse than a prostitute with Fallen Furniture Syndrome, the disease where her chest has fallen into her drawers…

Mute Caroline Roche
    Favourite Caroline Roche
    Apr 9th 2016, 4:05 AM

Very creepy that at present the poll is 60% voting that it should not be a criminal offence to pay for sex.